Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 09:48:30 AM

Title: pintsofguinness
Post by: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 09:48:30 AM
Todays Gaelic Life page 8... Jarlath Burns wants to know who "pintsofguinness " is. As a matter of fact all of Silverbridge wants to know.
Title: Re: pintsofguinness
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2010, 09:53:14 AM
Lol...r u serious? Haven't bought the paper yet but def will get it at lunch time...sure didn't some other guy (think it may have been sixinchnail) come one time before and tell him to F**k off and stop ruining the good name of Silverbridge as he does not represent the club nor do the club want anything to do with him!!!
Post by: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 09:57:33 AM
might be Jarlath himself ????
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 08, 2010, 10:39:09 AM
its not Jarlath Ha Ha !

I think POG is a decent fella. Dont agree with him all the time but he has his opinions and will voice them.
No one person is representative of their clubs though - only the petty idiots trying to take cheap pot shots at the GAA.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 08, 2010, 10:53:02 AM
Why should all of Silverbridge want to know who he is? Hasnt he got the right to anomity (or whatever that word is) just like the rest of us? I dont always agree with pints but on here who really agrees with anyone. Hes entitled to voice his opinions or complain or whatever he wants without having to be held accountable to anyone in Silverbridge.
People have little to annoy them
Post by: Franko on January 08, 2010, 11:04:24 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 08, 2010, 10:53:02 AM
Why should all of Silverbridge want to know who he is? Hasnt he got the right to anomity (or whatever that word is) just like the rest of us? I dont always agree with pints but on here who really agrees with anyone. Hes entitled to voice his opinions or complain or whatever he wants without having to be held accountable to anyone in Silverbridge.
People have little to annoy them

Chill out woman.
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2010, 11:06:24 AM
Fair enough...i don't have much time for Pints but i can see where is club is coming from. This board has a big fan base and obviously a lot of people read it so his club weren't happy when he made numerous comments regarding a recent feud between Silverbridge and local rivals St Pats, Cullyhanna. They claim he added fuel to the fire and was seen as a nuisance whilst his comments on the GAA board did not represent the club in any way so if he could stop (talking keek it would be appreciated)
Post by: Muhammed McCarthy on January 08, 2010, 11:24:25 AM
He is a gobshite!! :D
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2010, 11:27:36 AM
I'd imagine it wouldn't be too hard to find out who Pints is afterall how many people from that part of the world is working in England, I'd say you could narrow it down plus there are a few guys on the board here who knows who is!!!
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 08, 2010, 11:29:31 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2010, 11:27:36 AM
I'd imagine it wouldn't be too hard to find out who Pints is afterall how many people from that part of the world is working in England, I'd say you could narrow it down plus there are a few guys on the board here who knows who is!!!

Maybe this has been an elaborate ruse all along to throw folks off the scent...
Post by: ziggysego on January 08, 2010, 11:36:40 AM
I agree, often clash with Pints over different subject, but he's a good bloke and you know where you stand with him.

I reckon it's just a matter of curiosity with the people of Silverbridge.... that or there's more to meet the light about his certain move to England. This could be our very own Robinsongate ;)
Post by: Lecale2 on January 08, 2010, 12:02:50 PM
5 Times knows who he is and where he is!
Post by: Treasurer on January 08, 2010, 12:09:33 PM
Quote from: Muhammed McCarthy on January 08, 2010, 11:24:25 AM

45 posts and you feel entitled to indulge in childish name-calling??

We can agree/disagree all we like with opinions, we can even disilike the board persona of individuals but people get carried way a bit - who cares who anyone is!
Post by: Treasurer on January 08, 2010, 12:10:34 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 09:48:30 AM
Todays Gaelic Life page 8... Jarlath Burns wants to know who "pintsofguinness " is. As a matter of fact all of Silverbridge wants to know.

What's the gist of the story anyway?
Post by: Celt_Man on January 08, 2010, 12:18:03 PM

Is this for real?  Has Jarlath not better things to be wondering about??
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 08, 2010, 12:19:14 PM
I can see both points of view but I do not like Jarlath's attempt to 'unmask' him if indeed that is what he has done (have not seen the article as yet).
Post by: Ulick on January 08, 2010, 12:24:25 PM
Jarlath knows rightly who pints is, he just has to think about it a little more.
Post by: mountainboii on January 08, 2010, 12:34:04 PM
Can't imagine there are too many regular visitors to the board from around the Bridge that wouldn't have figured it out by now.
Post by: Zapatista on January 08, 2010, 01:01:59 PM
Pints is to Silverbridge what Batman is to Gotham. Of course they want to know who he is.
Post by: supersub on January 08, 2010, 01:20:35 PM
Except batman helped out gotham!!
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 08, 2010, 01:24:02 PM
Reading far too much into the paragraph (as opposed to an article).

Jarlath just wanted to let us know that he reads this board unlike Mr McGee who prefers Hoganstand.
Post by: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 01:27:19 PM
havent seen it, but if he really is giving out about pints then it further verifies the fact that he is a complete arsehole.

Pints is entitled to say what he wants. I dont know the ins and outs of the feud illdecide refers to, but I'm sure anything pints was saying could have been heard from anyone with a cursory knowledge of it
Post by: mountainboii on January 08, 2010, 01:35:26 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 01:27:19 PM
havent seen it, but if he really is giving out about pints then it further verifies the fact that he is a complete arsehole.

Pints is entitled to say what he wants. I dont know the ins and outs of the feud illdecide refers to, but I'm sure anything pints was saying could have been heard from anyone with a cursory knowledge of it

Quality post.

Twice admitting you haven't a clue what you're on about, but ploughing through to give your opinion anyway.
Post by: stew on January 08, 2010, 01:39:19 PM

Joe what you are saying is that jarlath is an arsehole monitor? so if Jarlath wants to know who someone is they are automatically arseholes? you really are an idiot.

Jarlath would be better off worrying about the shinners in the club that have taken over the running of the club, the same shinners that gave him fits at this years agm. :-[

Silverbridge is in turmoil and they have more to worry about than who pog is ffs. I have family there and they say what is happening to their club is a disgrace.

Pints is a decent skin, I have known for years who he is and he has added a lot to this board over the years.
Post by: gerry on January 08, 2010, 01:41:38 PM
its nearly 2pm and where is pints to defend himself
Post by: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 01:42:43 PM
AFS:

How?
(1) I dont know the ins and outs of the feud - how does that affect my opinion that pints is unlikely to be coming out with anything that isn't widely known.

(2) 'I havent seen the article but if he really is giving out about pints then it verifies the fact that he is a complete arsehole...' - am I not allowed to speculate?

Perhaps coloured by my view on Jarlath Burns, but not invalid.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 08, 2010, 01:43:50 PM
I know who pints is.  In fact I've met him, but expct he doesnt know who I am (or probably care for that matter!)
Post by: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 01:45:22 PM
Stew, youre mixed up, I was saying its Burns whos the arsehole if hes being giving out about pints and looking to know who he is...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2010, 01:53:41 PM
Jarlath, if you are out there surely you should be doing some work instead of nosing in here!!!  You know me so that should be enough for you.  leave Pints alone, sure there was never anyone bad from Carnally!
Post by: Treasurer on January 08, 2010, 01:54:10 PM
Can anyone tell us what Jarlath actually said?
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 08, 2010, 01:55:53 PM
'GAA - good, GPA - Bad' or words to that effect.
Post by: Rav67 on January 08, 2010, 02:01:16 PM
I'm interested to hear about this 'feud.'  Could anyone fill me in about it?
Post by: ONeill on January 08, 2010, 02:03:41 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on January 08, 2010, 12:10:34 PM
Todays Gaelic Life page 8... Jarlath Burns wants to know who " " is. As a matter of fact all of Silverbridge wants to know.

What's the gist of the story anyway?

That is simply it - just one sentence at the end of an article of modern GAA. The last section was on internet/discussion rooms. Very innocuous and a wee bit of banter.
Post by: mountainboii on January 08, 2010, 02:10:28 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 01:42:43 PM
AFS:

How?
(1) I dont know the ins and outs of the feud - how does that affect my opinion that pints is unlikely to be coming out with anything that isn't widely known.

(2) 'I havent seen the article but if he really is giving out about pints then it verifies the fact that he is a complete arsehole...' - am I not allowed to speculate?

Perhaps coloured by my view on Jarlath Burns, but not invalid.

Normally, when people feel the need to insult others they at least go to the effort of finding out if they deserved it before so.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 08, 2010, 02:15:14 PM
Discussion Board

Ten years ago it didn't exist,but it has become the most significant barometer of GAA opinion there is, totally eclipsing the print media for its sheer immedicacy,irreverance, humour and honesty.

Not always a good thing; it's a must for all county players to avoid, particularly after a poor performance, but the first port of call for any self respecting gael after they log on. And if anyone finds out who 'pintsofguinness' is, let me know. The whole of Silverbridge is dying to find out!
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 08, 2010, 02:16:54 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 08, 2010, 02:15:14 PM
Discussion Board

Ten years ago it didn’t exist,but it has become the most significant barometer of GAA opinion there is, totally eclipsing the print media for its sheer immedicacy,irreverance, humour and honesty.

Not always a good thing; it’s a must for all county players to avoid, particularly after a poor performance, but the first port of call for any self respecting gael after they log on. And if anyone finds out who ‘pintsofguinness’ is, let me know. The whole of Silverbridge is dying to find out!
Sacre bleu indeed, a storm in a pint glass.
Post by: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 02:37:46 PM
That is pretty tongue-in-cheek - sorry Jarlath!

Further verification of the fact that you're an arsehole will have to wait for a bit.

AFS, normally people dont; particuarly on message boards and the like - I'm no different!  :P
Post by: Muhammed McCarthy on January 08, 2010, 04:40:38 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on January 08, 2010, 12:09:33 PM

Pints .....another alias!! ;)

We can agree/disagree all we like with opinions, we can even disilike the board persona of individuals but people get carried way a bit - who cares who anyone is!
Post by: Celt_Man on January 08, 2010, 04:52:46 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 08, 2010, 02:15:14 PM
Discussion Board

Ten years ago it didn't exist,but it has become the most significant barometer of GAA opinion there is, totally eclipsing the print media for its sheer immedicacy,irreverance, humour and honesty.

Not always a good thing; it's a must for all county players to avoid, particularly after a poor performance, but the first port of call for any self respecting gael after they log on. And if anyone finds out who 'pintsofguinness' is, let me know. The whole of Silverbridge is dying to find out!

Ahh jaysus, I retract any earlier comments made.... Tongue was firmly in the cheek when he wrote that...
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 08, 2010, 05:04:12 PM
Pints will have to come out and organise a press conference in his study with pictures of his beloved Silverbridge on the shelf behind, a little bit of waterworks and a staunch defence of his position should do the trick. :D
Post by: ha ha derry on January 08, 2010, 05:26:38 PM
It was just a bit of craic lads.
Post by: stiffler on January 08, 2010, 05:49:35 PM
Even the dogs on the street know who POG is!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2010, 06:19:38 PM
I don't understand why anyone cares who I am.   ???
Post by: stew on January 08, 2010, 06:29:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2010, 06:19:38 PM

The reason they want to know who you are Fintan is simple, you are to blame for all the shite that has happened in the bridge since you left, even Londoners were you work as a male nurse has issues with you, something to do with negativity and bad diet I believe. :P
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 08, 2010, 06:33:07 PM
Quote from: stew on January 08, 2010, 06:29:41 PM

The reason they want to know who you are Fintan is simple, you are to blame for all the shite that has happened in the bridge since you left, even Londoners were you work as a male nurse has issues with you, something to do with negativity and bad diet I believe. :P

You should remove that post. There is a rule about revealing posters' identities.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 08, 2010, 06:34:15 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 08, 2010, 02:37:46 PM
That is pretty tongue-in-cheek - sorry Jarlath!

Further verification of the fact that you're an arsehole will have to wait for a bit.

AFS, normally people dont; particuarly on message boards and the like - I'm no different!  :P

You should remove those offensive posts about Jarlath Burns. Is there not a rule about name calling etc
Post by: boojangles on January 08, 2010, 06:35:17 PM

Cause your a legend :P
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 08, 2010, 06:35:51 PM
Quote from: stew on January 08, 2010, 01:39:19 PM

Joe what you are saying is that jarlath is an arsehole monitor? so if Jarlath wants to know who someone is they are automatically arseholes? you really are an idiot.

Jarlath would be better off worrying about the shinners in the club that have taken over the running of the club, the same shinners that gave him fits at this years agm. :-[

Silverbridge is in turmoil and they have more to worry about than who pog is ffs. I have family there and they say what is happening to their club is a disgrace.

Pints is a decent skin, I have known for years who he is and he has added a lot to this board over the years.

Do you really think this post is helpful?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2010, 06:37:07 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2010, 09:53:14 AM
Lol...r u serious? Haven't bought the paper yet but def will get it at lunch time...sure didn't some other guy (think it may have been sixinchnail) come one time before and tell him to F**k off and stop ruining the good name of Silverbridge as he does not represent the club nor do the club want anything to do with him!!!
No it wasn't sixinchnail. I'd kick his hole for that and he knows it  :D

I could explain the whole thing for you, who that person is and why they didn't like my comments. I could also tell you about their mates posting here an odd time, who they are and why their online comments were a source of complaint for many people in the club.  But I'll not bother - I'll just advise you again, dont talk about stuff you know nothing about.

It's funny though, I'd say you nearly ejaculated when you thought Jarlath was giving out about me
Post by: stew on January 08, 2010, 06:45:36 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 08, 2010, 06:33:07 PM
Quote from: stew on January 08, 2010, 06:29:41 PM

You should remove that post. There is a rule about revealing posters' identities.

Don't worry Quinn, not one word of it was true.
Post by: RMDrive on January 08, 2010, 07:49:53 PM

How many posts does someone have to have before they can indulge in it?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 08, 2010, 07:50:57 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on January 08, 2010, 07:49:53 PM

How many posts does someone have to have before they can indulge in it?
Post by: Muhammed McCarthy on January 08, 2010, 09:17:21 PM
Yeah, you are my hero!! :D
Post by: The Gs Man on January 08, 2010, 09:50:06 PM
The Gs Man got this shit a few years back as well at the club (wooorst kept secret ever).  Don't worry Kirk, sorry, Pints.....your identity is safe.