GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Redgreenery on February 04, 2007, 10:03:59 PM

Title: Donegal v Mayo
Post by: Redgreenery on February 04, 2007, 10:03:59 PM
Thought I'd start this and my first question is where exactly in Donegal is this game been played?
Title: Re: Donegal v Mayo
Post by: mannix on February 04, 2007, 10:32:31 PM
Ballybofey, and we should have a win there.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 04, 2007, 10:41:02 PM
Thanks for that mannix, would expect Mayo to win especially after their form today!
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2007, 10:55:31 PM
Home match in Ballybofey. I'll be disappointed if we don't get the points here. Hopefully Neil Gallagher will be fit to start.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 04, 2007, 11:11:57 PM
Munster has no worries for us, Leinster pah give me a challenge, Connaught sure youse are only waiting til Galway get a decent team!  Donegal to win by one-two points.
Post by: J70 on February 05, 2007, 03:30:25 PM
bump for Mayo4Sam's benefit. :P
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 05, 2007, 03:42:29 PM
Sorry bout that!

Think this will be very hard game, i fancy donegal to do well this year and their win yesterday was impressive
Post by: J70 on February 05, 2007, 04:21:33 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 05, 2007, 03:42:29 PM
Sorry bout that!

Think this will be very hard game, i fancy donegal to do well this year and their win yesterday was impressive

I'd say it will a nice game of football, weather permitting. Should get a decent enough crowd for a February league game.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2007, 07:05:29 PM
It's gping to be a tough game for Mayo to play. Donegal would be favourites because they shocked Cork in Cork. They could be a surprise team this year later on in the year as well. If Mayo are to win, the forwards will have to be a lot more economical in their possession. I think if they don't overdo the handpassing we should do it, but if the old handpassing over and back in front of goal goes on I'd expect Donegal to win. Hopefully the referee won't be as whistle happy either.
Post by: Tatler Jack on February 05, 2007, 09:10:06 PM
QuoteIt's gping to be a tough game for Mayo to play. Donegal would be favourites because they shocked Cork in Cork.

More of the Beal Bocht this week again Farrandeelin!!  ;D Last week you were giving Mayo no chance aginst Kerry. Is this some form of reverse psychology that your shrink has advised you to adopt!!! Should be one of the best games of the weekend - Donegal are a good outfit and would not count them beating Cork as a shock. Nevertheless Mayo are one of the top 3 or 4 teams in the country with a lot of good young players. It helps when bringing in new players that they are coming in to an experienced and settled team and they develop much faster. Could be a draw or Mayo by a couple of points.

Who are ye playing the following week Farrandeelin (preferred Cnoc Mor) - I suppose ye will be underdogs anyway!!

If you make the trip enjoy it
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2007, 09:29:28 PM
Haha, I suppose you'll be scrutinising all of my posts for every game Mayo play this year Tatler Jack! Ah no it's not reverse psychology, it's just that if I say Mayo will win handy I would have the same effect on my team as Fearon!! And God knows we wouldn't want that to happen. PS, we play Limerick the following week.
Post by: rosnarun on February 05, 2007, 11:43:07 PM
Its the games against the likes of the limericks and donegals you have to watch out for . the temptation is there to experiment  but these team have the pluck to cause an upset
Post by: MacDanger on February 06, 2007, 03:55:49 AM
QuoteIts the games against the likes of the limericks and donegals you have to watch out for . the temptation is there to experiment  but these team have the pluck to cause an upset

With all due respect to Limerick, I don't think you can class Donegal in the same category as them. Donegal are far more than a team with "pluck"; they made the Q/F's last year and they had a good win away to Cork last weekend. Sweeney, Devenney, Roper et al would make a lot of county teams and if they could get a bit of unity and discipline into the team, they could be serious challengers come next august/september.

I reckon the game next weekend away to Donegal along with the game in Omagh on the last day of the league are our hardest games in the league. If we get out of there with a point, we'd be happy enough.
Post by: Bod Mor on February 06, 2007, 04:59:00 AM
Is that Doherty lad that was playing for Sligo IT featuring for Donegal in the league? He sounds like a real prospect.
Don't think Mayo will beat Donegal this weekend, Donegal are flying at the moment and as someone said they have already beaten Armagh this year.
It sounds like Kilcullen is our answer at full back. I'd like to see Kilcoyne start as many games as possible in the league, we all know he has got real talent, he has to show O'Mahony what he is capable of in places like Bllybofey.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 07, 2007, 10:47:24 PM
'A basketball date in Dublin may rule Ronan McGarrity out of Mayo's NFL clash with Donegal this coming Saturday night.

The All-Star nominee is scheduled to play for Team Merry Monk against St. Vincent's and Mayo manager John O'Mahony is set to have a chat with the player about the clash of interests.

It is possible that the Ballina clubman could travel the 160 miles to Donegal late on Saturday night after his basketball commitment.'

I hope he'll be able to play on Sunday for Mayo as we have yet to really see him playing good football alongside D Brady. Although Harte is able to play midfield i'd like to see McGarrity back.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 07, 2007, 11:49:15 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on February 06, 2007, 04:59:00 AM
Is that Doherty lad that was playing for Sligo IT featuring for Donegal in the league? He sounds like a real prospect.
Don't think Mayo will beat Donegal this weekend, Donegal are flying at the moment and as someone said they have already beaten Armagh this year.

Yes Doherty played against Cork, didn't really get into the game, but a great prospect with a few games under his jersey.
Post by: J70 on February 08, 2007, 12:08:37 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 07, 2007, 11:49:15 PM

Yes Doherty played against Cork, didn't really get into the game, but a great prospect with a few games under his jersey.

We didn't get a proper look at him last year due to the injury, but is his form against Down or Derry more typical?

He's an excellent free taker, but will that be enough to earn him his place, with Devenney and McFadden back on the scene?
Post by: From the Bunker on February 08, 2007, 12:40:44 AM
Donegal and Mayo Had similar Ghosts to banish last weekend. Donegal handed Cork an AI semi final last year. Even Morgan in his post match interview said so and with another tie with Kerry to come he looked as if he would have been happy with his Munster title and a narrow loss to an ULSTER team. Mayo, well we all know that annual story. Anyway With the divisional changes who ever comes out with the points out of this tie will have the balls of the work done to secure league status and will be licking their lips at possible League KO later.
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on February 08, 2007, 10:46:49 AM
It sounds like Kilcullen is our answer at full back.

Bit early for statements like that Bod....
Post by: Redgreenery on February 08, 2007, 08:40:24 PM
QuoteBallybofey, 1.30pm: Donegal v Mayo

Donegal and Mayo both heightened their league ambitions with not inconsiderable victories over Cork and Kerry respectively last weekend and a victory for either at Ballybofey on Sunday could see a real title contender emerge.

The Tir Chonaill men came from behind against 13-man Cork to take the points, despite seeing Brendan Devenney sent off, and their confidence will be high for this clash with the All-Ireland runners-up.

Mayo were less taxed for their win over the side that destroyed them in last September's All-Ireland final. Kerry were there for the taking and boss John O'Mahony would be foolish to think that that win - which was secured by a late Pat Harte goal - will be easy to follow up.

Derby games like this are always hard to call, but with their extra physical approach, Donegal may just be able to close down the Westerners in a better fashion than Kerry achieved last weekend.

If so, they should take the points - just, but it will be a tight affair and with a McKenna Cup final also in their sights, the hosts will be loathe to lose any players.

VERDICT: Donegal
DONEGAL TEAM: TBC
MAYO TEAM: TBC

I'm a bit surprised to see Donegal as favourites, but then again I havent seen them play and it sounds like they have a good team as do Mayo.
Post by: Mayo Mick on February 08, 2007, 08:45:50 PM
Donegal are a team we could come up against in the later stages of the c'ship this year so lessons learned on Sunday will be as important as result.
Post by: stephenite on February 09, 2007, 03:30:35 AM
Unchanged Mayo team named
Post by: Bod Mor on February 09, 2007, 04:33:01 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 09, 2007, 03:30:35 AM
Unchanged Mayo tram named

Thats not a good sign at all, or is it. I mean how is O'Mahony going to experiment if he's not actually going to experiment?
I would really like to see Kilcoyne start, I think he needs to be blooded now.
Post by: stephenite on February 09, 2007, 04:40:55 AM
With the new leagues kicking next year, it is imperative that we survive in Division 1. Johnno will not want his second year starting off in Division 2. Experiment away after we know we're safe, until than, best available 15 every week.
Post by: Bod Mor on February 09, 2007, 05:38:28 AM
Wouldn't be bad starting off his second year in Division 2 with Sam under his belt  ;)
Post by: StoneWall on February 09, 2007, 08:57:02 AM
MAYO (SF v Donegal) - D Clarke; L O'Malley, J Kilcullen, K Higgins; D Heaney, BJ Padden, P Gardiner; P Harte, D Brady; A Moran, T Mortimer, A Dillon; C Mortimer, K O'Neill, A O'Malley.
Post by: rosnarun on February 09, 2007, 12:00:06 PM
i think we found out to our fustation last year how muc you can experiment without chaging personell remember the nut?
may be he trying to find a style 1st and then fit the players into it. last year was chais at time s looking shi£ while doing the nut and then abandoing it it and winning the games
Post by: baoithe on February 09, 2007, 12:35:59 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 09, 2007, 12:00:06 PM
i think we found out to our fustation last year how muc you can experiment without chaging personell remember the nut?
may be he trying to find a style 1st and then fit the players into it. last year was chais at time s looking shi£ while doing the nut and then abandoing it it and winning the games

What is this new tongue you speak with?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 09, 2007, 01:15:54 PM
I think it makes sense to name an unchanged side.
By now Johnno must have some idea of his first choice personnel and of the style of play he wants them to adopt. One of the positives from last Sunday's match was the success of Jimmy Kilcullen and BJP in their new roles.  Another was the way the corner backs, O'Malley especially, were quick to scoop up loose ball when Kilcullen broke it down in his aerial tussles with Quirke.
He has made minimal positional changes involving Harte, Heaney and Andy Moran and I can see some logic in this switching about – I don't see a compelling reason to replace any of them. The full forward line was playing together as a unit for the first time and they need another chance to get their acts together.
I imagine he feels that the need for wholesale changes and tinkering about is over.
Title: Donegal team
Post by: J70 on February 09, 2007, 01:24:05 PM
Three changes for Donegal: Neil McGee, Rory Kavanagh and Michael Doherty out, Neil Gallagher, Paddy Campbell and Rory Bradley in.

From the Donegal website:           

Pol O'Durcain                          Na Ceithre Maistri        Paul Durcan

Tomas O'Donnchu                   Naomh Conaill             Thomas Donoghue

Padraig O Cathmhaoill              Naomh Conaill             Paddy Campbell

Carol De Lasa                          Na Ceithre Maistri        Karl Lacy

Eamann Mac Aoidh                  Gaoth Dobhair              Eamon McGee

Barri O'Muineachain                Na Ceithre Maistri        Barry Monaghan

Barri O'Duinin                          Na Ceithre Maistri        Barry Dunnion

Caoimhin O'Casaide                Gaoth Dobhair              Kevin Cassidy

Nial O'Gallchoir                       Gleann Sulai                 Neil Gallagher (Capt)

Christoir O'Tuaith                     Naomh Michael            Christy Toye

Ciaran O'Cnaimhsi                   Gleann Sulai                  Ciaran Bonner

Brian O'Ropier                         Aodh Ruadh                 Brian Roper

Caoimhin Mac Meanman          An Tearmon                 Kevin McMenamin

Brendán O'Duibheannaigh        Naomh Adhamhain       Brendan Devenney

Rian O'Brolchain                      Buncrannaigh                Ryan Bradley
Post by: Redgreenery on February 09, 2007, 05:50:51 PM
I guess McGarrity wont make the long trip up from Dublin if he isn't on the starting panel so.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 09, 2007, 07:25:39 PM
QuoteMayo football boss John O'Mahony is expecting to his side to meet a confident and resilient Donegal side at Ballybofey on Sunday for their NFL clash.

"Away wins in the National League are very rare and it's seldom that a visiting side comes away from Cork with two points," said O'Mahony.

"Donegal had to travel from one end of the country to the other, and the way they battled back after conceding two goals was very impressive. So their confidence will be really up for Sunday.

"Compared to last year, Donegal have been strengthened by the return of Brendan Devenney, Kevin Cassidy and Colm McFadden, and along with Tyrone, I feel that Donegal could be the team to look out for in Ulster this year."

Interesting words there by JOM and I suppose Donegal would be fairly confident but then again so will Mayo!! ;)
Post by: J70 on February 09, 2007, 07:33:14 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on February 09, 2007, 07:25:39 PM
QuoteMayo football boss John O'Mahony is expecting to his side to meet a confident and resilient Donegal side at Ballybofey on Sunday for their NFL clash.

"Away wins in the National League are very rare and it's seldom that a visiting side comes away from Cork with two points," said O'Mahony.

"Donegal had to travel from one end of the country to the other, and the way they battled back after conceding two goals was very impressive. So their confidence will be really up for Sunday.

"Compared to last year, Donegal have been strengthened by the return of Brendan Devenney, Kevin Cassidy and Colm McFadden, and along with Tyrone, I feel that Donegal could be the team to look out for in Ulster this year."

Interesting words there by JOM and I suppose Donegal would be fairly confident but then again so will Mayo!! ;)

I'd imagine its just typical building up the opposition from O'Mahoney. He knows it should be a tough game, but I'm sure he thinks Mayo are well capable of taking the points.

He's right about Cassidy. Whether Devenney and McFadden make a big difference remains to be seen. They certainly can't hurt, as the full forward line was far and away the weakest line on the Donegal team last year. Even the loss of Cassidy was somewhat nullified last year by the form of Barry Dunnion on the left wing, although his presence might have solved our other big problem last year i.e. a partner for Neil Gallagher.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2007, 10:03:22 PM
Both counties will have to hurry on with installing the floodlights! ;) The game could be over now instead of having to wait for tomorrow.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 11, 2007, 03:47:10 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2007, 10:03:22 PM
Both counties will have to hurry on with installing the floodlights! ;) The game could be over now instead of having to wait for tomorrow.

Ahhh the joy is in the waiting and anticipation...!  ;)

Come on  Donegal
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2007, 02:10:20 PM
Allianz NFL Division One A (1330) Donegal 0-06 0-07 Mayo
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2007, 02:40:16 PM
Donegal 1-08 0-09 Mayo
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2007, 02:42:36 PM
Donegal 1-10 0-09 Mayo
Post by: mayo51 on February 11, 2007, 03:00:50 PM
donegal 1.13  mayo 1.10   f.t
Post by: Redgreenery on February 11, 2007, 10:24:03 PM
Congrats to Donegal.
Very disappointed with the final result. I made the long trip up to the game in Ballybofey. Mayo didn't play well at all. Trevor Mortimer had a very poor game as did Pat Harte. Mayo's best players were probably David Brady and BJ Padden. Peadar Gardiner had a very good second half and made a few good runs. Conor Mortimer played better than last week but still wasn't at his best. Andy Moran probably scored the point of the game and he played fairly well. Mayos goal was very lucky as none of the Mayo team had a big hand in scoring it, three Donegal lads fumbled with the ball and it ended up in the back of their own net after a bad free by Conor Mortimer. The referee was crap and made some stupid decisions (same old story) need I say anymore. Overall Mayo was very disappointing even though they got into the game late in the first half and scored four good points in a row. One more thing I'll say though was that it took Mayo a good while to get into the game and it looked like it was because of their little or no pre-match training, while Donegal were out doing hard training a good 10 minutes before the Mayo team even came out!!
Post by: Tyrones own on February 11, 2007, 10:33:42 PM

Great result for Donegal, Things seem to be shaping up nicely for them this year.
Did that look to be a near championship starting 15 that Mayo had out?
Post by: Bod Mor on February 11, 2007, 10:54:32 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on February 11, 2007, 10:24:03 PM
One more thing I'll say though was that it took Mayo a good while to get into the game and it looked like it was because of their little or no pre-match training, while Donegal were out doing hard training a good 10 minutes before the Mayo team even came out!!

Now where did we see that happening before  ::)
Post by: J70 on February 11, 2007, 11:24:36 PM
I only caught the first few minutes of the second half on Highland as I was working, but in that time Martin McHugh was hoping that the Donegal players would hit some high balls in on top of the Mayo keeper, who he reckoned was looking a little vulnerable in the first half. Prophetic words!

Good win again. Five or six more points from the last five games and we should be staying in Division 1. I hope the lads don't get too cocky though (not unheard of in Donegal teams after a good win or two!): there's a lot of tough games left in this division.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 11, 2007, 11:33:23 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on February 11, 2007, 10:54:32 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on February 11, 2007, 10:24:03 PM
One more thing I'll say though was that it took Mayo a good while to get into the game and it looked like it was because of their little or no pre-match training, while Donegal were out doing hard training a good 10 minutes before the Mayo team even came out!!

Now where did we see that happening before  ::)

The unmentionable day in September 2006!! Don't remind me. I just hope we are not gone back to our old ways!! ;)
Post by: thejohnharanexperi on February 12, 2007, 09:40:21 AM
A well deserved two points yesterday against a fairly full strength Mayo side.All 19 players used fought tigerishly and were the hungrier for victory especially in the last 10 minutes with the sides level after our fumbled own goal.Mc Iver's tactically astute substitutions clinched the game with all of our subs making an impact.Conditions were good with only light rain and very little wind.The large crowd (about 4000) saw a game of football largely destroyed by yet another poor performance by Joe Mc Quillan.This so called directive from HQ to refs to clamp down on fouls is causing stoppages for every single infringement with no allowance for letting the game flow much to the annoyance of players and supporters from both teams.
We started well with Devenney prominent from receiving quality early ball inside and one sweeping move the length of the pitch that saw Ryan Bradley narrowly miss.However we lost our way in the last 20 minutes and allowed Mayo to go in at the interval a point ahead helped in no small part by some soft frees.Paddy Mc Conagely replaced Mc Gee at half time and started to pose an attacking threat with some excellent passes into the FF line.We were beginning to dominate although our supremacy was negated by somewhat by our failure to pick up any breaking ball in midfield.After they equalised thru the own goal,Mayo should have had the upper hand but the lads rallied led thru big Neilly battling in midfield.The decisive moments were the introduction of Sweeney for Toye and Mc Fadden for Roper.Colm Anthony moved into the corner with Bradley switching to the right wing.Adie remained in midfield with Cass pushing on to the 40.A free was cooly dispatched by Wappa and along with Devenney thrived off the pinpoint accuracy of the passes delivered by Sweeney.The two closing points by Wappa and Colm Anthony were sheer class both receiving ball on the turn before swinging over left footed points with their backs to goal.

Positives:-  Tactical switches, Devenney's overall contribution, Neil Gallagher's full return, the ferocity of the marking and tackling as exemplified by a MOTM performance by Barry Dunnion, the impact from substitutions

Negatives:- conceding soft goal and failure to win any breaking ball

Paul Durcan 6.5 Had no saves to make but really should have reacted quicker to the incident with Neil Gallagher
Paddy Campbell 7.5 Best game yet in the corner with Mc Iver experimenting with Tommy D at full back.Closed out O Malley threat and made some great diving blocks in first half.
Tommy Donoghue 7.0 Stood up well to challenge of full back duties and can only assume was subbed due to knock.
Karl Lacey 7.0 May have been feeling effects of lot of games in last couple of weeks with county and college but still did enough to limit Mortimer's threat.
Barry Dunnion 8.0 Brilliant display yet again.Should have gone off midway thru second half after getting heavy knock in brave tackle.In fact recovered to score one of his trademark points.Never stopped.
Barry Monaghan 7.5 On hindsight I was overly critical of Barry last week but a player of his calibre is judged on very high standards.All of the half back line attacked when the opportunity arose and was unlucky with a point effort in second half.
Eamonn Mc Gee 6.0 Looked out of sorts from the start and was struggling badly to keep up.Replaced at half time by Mc Conagely.
Kevin Cassidy 7.5 Not to be found wanting with some fine fielding although can feel disappointed that little breaking ball was picked up around him.An absolute concrete horse of a young fella who is beginning to show a confidence and ease in his new midfield role.
Neil Gallagher 7.5 First full match and worried that he would'nt last the pace.Showed up more prominently in last 10 minutes when midfield possession was vital.
Brian Roper 7.0 Used all his experience and in attempting a point off the outside of the boot created the chance for Bradley to pounce for the goal.
Ciaran Bonner 7.5 Kicked fine point into the river end from an acute angle and chased bacxk constantly.Like Dunnion can always be counted on to give his all.
Christy Toye 7.0 Feel he was unlucky to be subbed midway thru second half but a change was required.
Kevin Mc Menamin 7.5 Wappa's stock continues to grow and if quality fast quick ball chest high can be delivered consistently then along with Devenney an effective partnership will develop.Kicked his final free with composure and and his last point from play was a gem.
Brendan Devenney 7.5 Showed greater team ethic than hitherto and was always available and first to every ball.Father time means he no longer always skins his man but is a vital part of Donegal 2007.
Ryan Bradley 7.0 Glad to see him start and followed in Roper's high ball instinctively resulting in his goal.
Subs:
Paddy Nc Conagely 7.5 Showed experience yesterday and firmly staked a claim for a starting berth with a commanding performance
Adrian Sweeney 7.5 Got a double Mayo welcome when introduced and took a while to recover.His kick passing from picking up midfield breaks was exquisite and worth the entry fee alone.This position between midfield and the 40 appeared in the Championship last year and could be a very effective way of utilising Adie's passing ability as the 'impact sub'.
Colm Mc Fadden 7.5 Missed a free with his first kick of the game but made up for it with a beautiful point to end the contest.
Post by: J70 on February 12, 2007, 01:10:21 PM
Nice to hear Eddie did well when he came on, JHE. He played in the half-forwards for the first few years of his career and had a great game using his passing skills from centre-forward when we beat Tyrone in 2004. From the sounds of Devenney and McMenamin, and the return of McFadden, along with the likes of Bradley, Thompson and Doherty getting a bit more experience, we may have some good options in the full forwards this year (and we'll need options against Armagh's full-back line!). Will Conal Dunne make it back for championship time? Interesting point about the breaks: from the radio commentary, it sounded like that was where we ran into trouble against the Armagh seconds a few weeks back. Roper used to be a wee terrier gathering the breaks, but I suppose you can't expect him to do it all on his own at this stage. Maybe there'll be a reprieve for Michael Hegarty yet!
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 12, 2007, 03:01:59 PM
Lads, I listened to the game on the radio yesterday. How did Marty McNicholas play when he came on, he was barely mentioned and he went on to replace Andy Moran redgreenery? Brady was supposed to be immense and it's a pity the forwards had to work so hard to get every score, maybe that was down to the Donegal backs I don't know. Fair play to Donegal however, they could be darkhorses for the AI this year if they keep up the work.
Post by: Marooned on February 12, 2007, 03:38:16 PM
McNicholas was quiet enough when he came in, made no major influence. Brady was excellent at Midfield and was well able for tougher stuff that Donegal were throwing out. Well impressed with Donegal who are obviously goin all out this year. Very tight indefence and worked very hard to regain any lost possession throughout entire game. Thought Austin O'Malley tried very hard but things just didn't seem to be breaking for him. Heard O'Mahoney say afterwards that the forward line hadn't really gelled yet and this sums up performance yesterday. Donegal def a force to be reckoned with.
Post by: rosnarun on February 12, 2007, 04:29:55 PM
Donegal a force to be reckoned with untill they get their hands on the forewater and then things go a bit pear shaped. too many loose canons
Post by: Redgreenery on February 12, 2007, 04:43:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 12, 2007, 03:01:59 PM
How did Marty McNicholas play when he came on, he was barely mentioned and he went on to replace Andy Moran redgreenery?

He came on and created one or two chances and made one or two good runs, but was not of any major influence.
McNicholas actually replaced K O Neill.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 12, 2007, 05:12:16 PM
Well after the unfortunate loss Mayo are no longer on top of the table.

Team    Played Won Drawn Lost   For   Against   Diff  Pts.
Tyrone       2      2       0      0       25      18         7     4
Donegal     2      2       0      0       31      26         5     4
Mayo         2       1      0      1       27      27         0     2
Dublin        2      1       0      1       24      24         0     2
Kerry          2      1       0      1       22      22        0      2
Limerick     1       0       0     1       13       14       -1      0
Cork           2      0       0      2       21      26       -5      0
Fermanagh 1      0       0      1       8        14       -6      0
Post by: armaghniac on February 12, 2007, 05:31:17 PM
This is a tough group, Donegal and Mayo still have every chance of being in the top 4, most likely with Tyrone and Kerry. The larger urban centres are due for the drop methinks.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 12, 2007, 06:04:52 PM
I'd take a 4th place. Even if it meant missing out on the playoffs so be it.
Post by: Redgreenery on February 12, 2007, 06:17:36 PM
I'd say Mayo could finish in 2nd easily, though I think it'd be very unlikely for them to come in 1st. I can see them coming in second or third, with Tyrone and Donegal in there, and possibly Kerry.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 12, 2007, 06:23:17 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 12, 2007, 04:29:55 PM
Donegal a force to be reckoned with untill they get their hands on the forewater and then things go a bit pear shaped. too many loose canons

Those days are gone my friend,
we thought they'd never end....

Seriously I was saying this last year, McIver's brought discipline to the Donegal set-up, this and some young talent and the return of some experienced players makes for Sam for the Hills 07!
You heard it here first.  8)
Post by: J70 on February 13, 2007, 12:10:16 AM
Settle down lads! Two weeks ago we were being dismissed as no-hopers after struggling to beat Armagh's Junior B team in the McKenna Cup!
Post by: AMayoSheep on February 13, 2007, 12:31:47 AM
How did young ronaldison  do when he came on?

Post by: Redgreenery on February 13, 2007, 05:05:18 PM
Quote from: AMayoSheep on February 13, 2007, 12:31:47 AM
How did young ronaldison  do when he came on?

Who exactly is 'ronaldison'?
Post by: mannix on February 13, 2007, 05:33:07 PM
ronaldson is one of 2 brothers that play for shrule glencorrib. their father is the manager and the lad that played yesterday i a short lad with a lot of football in him.
mayo will do well to survive the drop because tyrone a nd dublin are well aware of the jom factor, and limerick and fermanagh are both able combatants on the day.JOM is good alright but its all out of his hands when the leather is kicked at the posts.
Post by: misterroscommonman on February 13, 2007, 08:01:29 PM
mayo lose once agin!!! wat a surprise ::) mayo will neva win anythinig hahahahaha!!!
Post by: Redgreenery on February 14, 2007, 04:46:28 PM
I think in the last few decades anyway Mayo have won much more games than Roscommon, for the record!!
Glad to see 'misterroscommonman' gone!