GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:02:21 PM

Title: Football V Rugby - Which is better in Croke Park?
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:02:21 PM
After watching the Kerry/Mayo game I switched over several times and found the Rugby much better than the 'shit' (rather than puke) football served up by both teams.  I appreciate that its 'only' national league but compared with the all action nature of Rugby why do our games look so poor in comparison?What comparing the Dublin/Tyrone game against International rugby?
Title: Re: Football V Rugby - Which is better in Croke Park?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on February 04, 2007, 05:07:50 PM
The rugby was been played in an international stadium been watched by 70000 spectators with the roof closed. Castlebar had 6000 supporters,both Mayo and Kerry are playing their first game of the year. I could go on......
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 04, 2007, 05:09:45 PM

you're comparing international test rugby with the national league?

what if you compared an all ireland league game to an all ireland 1/4 final in a packed croke park? i hate to say it but ffs cop on.
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:30:34 PM
Quoteyou're comparing international test rugby with the national league?

what if you compared an all ireland league game to an all ireland 1/4 final in a packed croke park? i hate to say it but ffs cop on.

All Ireland 1/4 final - what might this be then?
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:49:10 PM
Posted by: 5iveTimes  
Insert Quote
Quote from: Cloc Mor on Today at 05:30:34 PM

The game before the Semi-Final perhaps?

Fair enough but I didn't realise that we had actual quarter finals in the GAA calender.  Perhaps you could forward these details to me from GAC where they are known as All Ireland quarter finals.
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2007, 05:56:11 PM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:49:10 PM
Posted by: 5iveTimes 
Insert Quote
Quote from: Cloc Mor on Today at 05:30:34 PM

The game before the Semi-Final perhaps?

Fair enough but I didn't realise that we had actual quarter finals in the GAA calender.  Perhaps you could forward these details to me from GAC where they are known as All Ireland quarter finals.

From the GAA website:

Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier Structure

Round 1 - This Round shall include all the counties that do not qualify for the Provincial Semi-Finals. An Open Draw shall be made to give eight pairings.

Round 2 - Each of the eight defeated teams in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against the eight winners from Round 1. A draw shall be made to determine the eight pairings.

Round 3 - The eight winners from Round 2 shall participate in this Round. An Open draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

Round 4 - Each of the four teams defeated in the Provincial Finals shall play against the four winners from Round 3. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Quarter-Finals: Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play one of the four winners from Round 4. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Semi-Finals: The All Ireland Semi-Finals shall be on a Provincial rots basis, initially determined by the Central Council. If a Provincial Championship winning team is defeated in its Quarter-Final, the team that defeats it shall take its place in the Semi-Final.
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2007, 05:57:23 PM
The relevant link: http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_qualifier_structure.html (http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_qualifier_structure.html)
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 05:58:50 PM
Just testing - good stuff & you may progress to the next level.   ;D
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 04, 2007, 06:03:22 PM

Jesus Christ
Post by: paddypastit on February 04, 2007, 06:03:45 PM
J70 just beat me to it but stricly speaking, according to the GAA calendar as per the GAA website, there is in fact no such competition at all known as the 'All Ireland' football championship. it is now the 'Bank of Ireland' football championship and I happen to know that the GAA has contracted with said sponsor to that effect.

Getting back to the point of the mail, surely a fairer comparison is the 'Bank of Ireland' championship final compared with Buccaneers vs. Shannon in the first weekend of the AIB League (as it is is contractually known, just to keep everything in proper order) Dubarry Park, both of which would be played around the middle of September.
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 04, 2007, 06:10:12 PM
Back to the business - was last night's game more exciting than the Rugby on the box today?
Post by: paddypastit on February 04, 2007, 06:41:09 PM
It's an entierly different question to what you first asked but - personal opinion - no, definitely not.

I was in Croke Park last night and it was nowhere near as exciting as watching today's match on the box.

In fact last night, up to the last fifteen minutes was dull but then there wasn't a lot at stake last night. Also a lot of the people there last night were only there so they could say that they were there and they weren't hugely committed - committed supporters are a big contributor to a sense of excitement at or around a match.

A fairer comparison would be a football or hurling championship semi final or final in Croke park with today's, or indeed next Sunday's, rugby match.  In that case I would suggest that there would be little or no difference, assuming that the match was between two resonably matched teams

Post by: paddypastit on February 04, 2007, 07:26:51 PM
Quoteour secondary competition got 82k into Croke Park in Feb

Eh... steady on.  A one off hyped event which just happened to be a NL game.

It could have been an inter - provincial match (there's an idea) or a club match
Post by: Canalman on February 04, 2007, 08:28:55 PM
From what I could glean after the match the vast majority of the punters enjoyed themselves despite the result going against the home team.

Paddypastit, you must be an overly critical indivdual,or heaven forbid not too familiar with the fare usually thrown up in the NFL in the first round. Don't  forget that the edge of a knockout game was not there and that it was both teams' first real competitive game(sorry O'Byrne and McKenna Cups) for circa 5 months.

I was at the Ireland/Wales rugby game last year in Lansdowne and it was the most insipid game I was ever at, my first and last rugby game I hasten to add.
Post by: paddypastit on February 04, 2007, 09:52:07 PM
Quotean overly critical indivdual,or heaven forbid not too familiar with the fare usually thrown up in the NFL in the first round
I'm all too familiar with the fare and form of the NFL - hell I spent years actively contributing to it in one form or other so guilty as charged on the first count I guess.

I'm sure the Dubs would love to play more leagues in Croker and although I'm not a Dub, I'd go given that I leive here, as I have done to Parnell for evening games as to be honest it is much easier to work into the family weekend than a Sunday afternoon. 

As for the GAA's marketing prowess, I'm not holding my breath. I think it was the GPA that were quoted in one of the papers last week saying "any eejit can give 100k to an ad agency - there's no strategy in that".  They mightn't be everybody's cupan tae but I'd be in agreement with that statement.  How many years of ignorance and ineptitude to the need to market the games has it taken to wake them up. What has changed suddenly that we should belive them now. We shouldn't believe it until we see it
Post by: ziggysego on February 04, 2007, 10:07:50 PM
I'd sooner watch Gaelic football of any level or skill in Croke Park, before any other sport.
Post by: haze on February 05, 2007, 12:13:59 AM
Hugely enjoyable game last night i thought with some high quality scores and great energy throughout.

But for sheer tension its impossible to compare the two games, as the rugby game was the first step of perhaps a historic grand slam. The only people who can answer the question fairly is Dublin or Tyrone supporters who are also strong rugby supporters, though even at that the rugby should win out.

As a game i will always prefer football but the fact that i was on the edge of my sit the whole through the rugby game praying Ireland would scrape through means that at the weekend the rugby was superior..

Post by: tayto on February 05, 2007, 01:38:37 AM
The rugby was exciting because it was close, i didnt think the standard of play was all that great to be honest. Wales didnt score for the whole second half. This is a key annual fixture in international rugby, can't really compare it to a neutral first round NFL game. The english and french rugby games were dull as ditchwater apparently.
Title: marketing gurus
Post by: realredhandfan on February 05, 2007, 10:23:19 AM
I thought the cameras were better positioned on Saturday, the replays looked deadly.  There was an improved expertise to our coverage.   The actual camera coverage of the game was better than ever before. Setanta have obviously acquired more expertise than RTE in shooting GAA in a short space of time., and theres still lots of room for improvement. Our games are not quite edited to the same standard as Premierships etc, but last weekend was a step in the right direction.  I would not fear our games not standing up to soccor and Rugby but from a personal preference even those 2 games are incomparable with Rugby a far better watch than anything but the very odd top class game of soccor.   
Secondly
The around the clubs feature attached to sunday sport last night was enjoyable.  It lloks like RTE are finally going to improve their attitude and coverage of our national sports as opposed to just changing theme tunes..Keep pulling up the socks folks. 
thirdly.
If thae national league and championship season were run off around the same time / or combined etc.  Less games with bigger crowds - there would be more special occasions in the futurew.  theres always a danger of overexposure. 
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 05, 2007, 10:25:07 AM
Croke Park was made for hurling.  Any of the other three sports, football, soccer and rugby are a bastardization of each other.  Throw in International Rules and it more or less explains all three.

Only hurling should be allowed into Croke Park and I am thinking of forming an alliance with the bearded one who is spokesperson for Croke Park Residents Group to make it so.

Also, the music events are a disgrace.  Every Dolan from Mullingar and Westmeath must have played in Croke Park except Joe who on one occasion had to drift to Russia to earn a crust, or worse, struggle against the wave in the Galtymore in Cricklewood to get the price of a game of golf in City West.

Not that I want to stir the manure now or anything but the GAA's interest in getting real hurling into Croker can be judged from the treatment, or lack of it, of the Cannings from Galway.   Of course for years to come the stupid question will be; Who was the first man to play in a Galway jersey in Croke Park and the equally stupid answer will be the f**king drummer with the Sawdoctors ::)

Ban every game in Croker except hurling and bring back Mairtin O'Conner and the squeeze box with the set dancers, thats what I say.
Post by: haze on February 05, 2007, 10:54:46 AM
Budwiser thank god you are not in charge of a Laois Hurling Revival..... with logic like that we can count ourselves lucky
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 05, 2007, 11:10:57 AM
Well thank God your not in charge of it or with an attuitude like that you would probably send all the players home.  We have been discussing the merits of hurling and football on this board for the last ten years, long before you came on it and most of us have learned one thing, how to take a joke which with your thick skull you obviously could not see.  Mind you, I wouldn't be trying too hard to get Clonaslee or Camross into Croke Park to hurl because they would probably make more of a show of Laois if as you say I would if I were in charge.   Lighten up, or are you from Camross and up for the row all the time?
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on February 05, 2007, 11:40:51 AM
I think if you were to ask alot of Mayo and Kerry people who were in Castlebar they would have found the game entertaing and a bit nerve wracking (considering it's only the league), I found it at least as entertaining as the rugby because my team was involved. How can you expect neutrals to get as engrossed in a Feb league match between two unfit and rusty teams and then compare it to watching your national team on the trail of a grand slam? strange logic. As it goes, I think rugby is a much better game to watch on tv than to watch in person, I find there are far too many periods of inactivity, and it's pretty hard at times to know what's going on amidst the rucks unless you have the tv cameras to help you out. I'd go watch a top Gaelic match any day ahead of rugby, rugby is a great tv sport, but that's it as far as Im concerned.
Post by: haze on February 05, 2007, 12:05:09 PM
jaysus Budwiser relax, i was being a bit sarcastic rather than attacking your very funny "joke". I apologise for not being as experienced a poster as you, you are obviously alot "wiser"....

And look i'm not from Clonaslee and i dont particularily like Clonaslee but i dont see Darren Rooney or James Young doing anything but repersenting their area with distinction.

judging by your recent whingeing about Donie Brennan being dropped off Laois panel, well may i guess you were joking that time aswell???

Post by: Bud Wiser on February 05, 2007, 12:21:18 PM
Darren Rooney is a garda here in Tallaght and he got sent off against the Dubs in the (Christy) Brown Cup Final.  If he had'nt Laois would have won.  If Donie Brennan was playing yesterday even as an impact sub Laois were worth at least another two points.

I agree with you about James Young, he is out on his own - literally but hopefully this year we will have a few more alongside him.

I'm relaxed now.
Post by: haze on February 05, 2007, 01:35:24 PM
Budwiser don't want to start an argument but Darren Rooney getting two yellow cards in the O Byrne Cup final is hardly a hanging offence, he is one player who gives 100% for both hurlers and footballers and for that he does not deserve to be run down..

And look i highly rate Donie Brennan, for natural talent only Brian McDonald is his equal over the past 10 years but his form has totally dried up. I dont know if it is possible to check but i think if you go back and try to find out how much Donie scored in helping Arles/Killeen get to county final and also in Leinser Championship you be absolutely shocked to see how little it was... Jason Enright easily outscored both him and Beano and Entight was also dropped off Laois panel but there is very few championing his case.

I've no doubt he will make his mark for the seniors again but at underage level players like Colm Kelly were every much as pivotal yet knowone kicks up a fuss because he was also dropped. The reason being is that most people will acknowledge he is not in good form.

Post by: tayto on February 05, 2007, 01:38:04 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on February 05, 2007, 12:21:18 PM
Darren Rooney is a garda here in Tallaght and he got sent off against the Dubs in the (Christy) Brown Cup Final.  If he had'nt Laois would have won.  If Donie Brennan was playing yesterday even as an impact sub Laois were worth at least another two points.

Lot of if's going on there. You might have won if he hadnt been sent off, we'll never know.
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 05, 2007, 02:50:37 PM
Jesus,   hold on, I stated that Darren Rooney was a garda in Tallaght and that he got sent of.  I am not "running him down" and in fact I have made several posts on this board about anyone making individual attacks on players.

What I am saying is that, it is my opinion,  if Darren had not been sent off at the precise time he was sent off, Laois may well have won the game. 
Post by: tayto on February 05, 2007, 02:54:42 PM
may well have indeed. sorry i was being pedantic this morning. did laois seem tired yesterday after extra time last week? [yes i'm desperately looking for excses for dublin poor second half on saturday]
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2007, 03:51:38 PM
I agree with ziggysego 100%. I mean, how could anyone think big men running after an over-sized eggshell is exciting.  :-\ Really, I just don't get it...
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 05, 2007, 04:46:52 PM
i love the international matches but went to my first match in donnybrook there 2 weeks ago.

jaysus it was some ball of shite. youd nod off.

id rather a league match any day.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2007, 07:09:19 PM
Why was my post deleted? I mean can you not criticise rugby anywhere now??? ???
Post by: Bogball XV on February 10, 2007, 05:19:34 PM
Having watched the Toomevara game and then followed it up with some of the england v Italy and Sco v Wales games, one would have to laugh very heartily at Cloc Mor's original comments - the hurling was brilliant entertainment, the two rugby games were worse than dire, unbelievable tripe.