Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 02:09:15 PM

Title: What's your festive tipple?
Post by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 02:09:15 PM
Merry Christmas,happy Hanukkah and joyous kwanzaa to all!
I'm heading out tonight to do the Christmas drink shopping and was wondering what to buy.I always find it hard to know what to drink after a big feed when you're sitting in front of the fire with the meat sweats.No problems before dinner,a couple of beers or glasses of wine are the usual, but what would you knowledgeable lot recommend for the rest of the day?
Title: Re: What's your festive tipple?
Post by: Canalman on December 15, 2009, 02:29:04 PM
Personally find bottles of Heineken easy on the body and slower to drink towards the end of the night. Problem is that the bottles get warmer as the night progresses as the  pub fridge empties and is restocked. Wouldn't happen in NY or Oz.
Post by: bingobus on December 15, 2009, 02:34:35 PM
Festive tipple - coca cola!

Apart from an odd glass of red wine with the dinner, I never drink in the house or in other peoples house unless it is a house party (once a year maybe!) or after a night out.

I don't enjoy it for some reason. Even as a student, I'd always drink in the pub or not at all.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 02:35:43 PM
Brandy and Baileys.
Post by: Hereiam on December 15, 2009, 02:36:25 PM
I'm with you bingo, drinkin in the house just doesn't feel right. Maybe its because it was never done in our home house
Post by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 02:37:50 PM
I think the pubs around Christmas this year will be messy.A lot of pubs have forgotten what it's like to be busy,and will be in the shit very easily.I know it can often be messy at this time of year,but I think it will be worse this year. New staff brought in for Christmas,existing staff not used to being as busy,not enough glasses,running out of ice,nobody to clean up the broken glass ,not enough change ordered, that sort of crap.
Post by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 02:40:10 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 02:35:43 PM
Brandy and Baileys.

I'd be on me hole after 2 or 3 Billy.
Post by: Square Ball on December 15, 2009, 02:40:36 PM
all depends how drunk I am, but I do love a baileys to round off the night, even better with Bush in it
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 15, 2009, 02:45:58 PM
Brandy and Baileys.

You got a cast iron gut Billy?
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 02:55:12 PM
Wouldn't have thought so, but that stuff makes you pleasantly drunk all day - you couldn't drink them fast enough to do much harm (maybe). 
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on December 15, 2009, 03:03:00 PM
I'm normally a Jameson's man but during the festive season I'm partial to the odd Scotch (insert joke here)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 15, 2009, 03:05:39 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 02:55:12 PM
Wouldn't have thought so, but that stuff makes you pleasantly drunk all day - you couldn't drink them fast enough to do much harm (maybe).

More the brandy then the cream, it burns the throat of me, don't touch it at all.
Post by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 03:14:40 PM
I always take a notion for Crested Ten over Christmas, don't know why, but in my head it is synonomous with Christmas.There are only 3 pubs that I know of that sell it.

That grammar and punctuation thread has me all paranoid about my posts :(
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:16:07 PM
Brandy and Baileys.

Yum!  Or Baileys and Creme de Menthe.

Mulled Wine christmas Eve

Wine Christmas Day with a few baileys to finish off.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:22:36 PM
QuoteBaileys and Creme de Menthe.

Ah jaysus T, that's gross.  I don't think I could stomach that at all.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 15, 2009, 03:25:00 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:22:36 PM

thats because I think Treasurer is a gehrrul

Guinness and also red wine (pref bordeaux 2003 or 2005) are still my fav Christmas tipples - though they are my favourites the rest of the year round too.
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:29:13 PM

Try it Billy!  If you like Mint Choc Ice, you'll love it.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 15, 2009, 03:32:24 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:29:13 PM

So basically you spend your Christmas drinking choc pops?!
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:32:59 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:29:13 PM

I hate Mint Choc Ice, Mint Aero, Mint and Chocolate anything - that must be why.  :P

Quotebordeaux 2003 or 2005

Now yer talking - I was in France there at Halloween (that's when they have their wine sales) and I got some deadly haut medoc (2003) and graves (2005).
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:37:59 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha link=topic=14858.msg701015#msg701015So basically you spend your Christmas drinking choc pops?!

Something like that :)

Quote from: Billys Boots link=topic=14858.msg701016#msg701016
I hate Mint Choc Ice, Mint Aero, Mint and Chocolate anything - that must be why.  :P

Odd as...... :P
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:39:19 PM
I like Wine Gums.   :P
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on December 15, 2009, 03:41:31 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:16:07 PM
Brandy and Baileys.

Ugh!!
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:45:24 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on December 15, 2009, 03:41:31 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:16:07 PM
Brandy and Baileys.

Ugh!!

You haven't tried mine :)
Post by: Rois on December 15, 2009, 03:46:27 PM
I LOVE mulled wine.  I've already been through three bottles of mulled wine in the house over the last few weeks - just a wee glass or two here and there.

Similar option - Winter Pimms and hot apple juice...lovely...

A little glass or two of Pouilly Fume with the turkey Christmas day, then a Baileys in the eve. 

I can't wait.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:47:43 PM
There's something very wrong mixing citrus juices with fruits of the vine, very wrong indeed.  Even for you Treas.  :P
Post by: delboy on December 15, 2009, 03:48:39 PM
Home made sloe and damson gin  :)
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:48:45 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:47:43 PM
There's something very wrong mixing citrus juices with fruits of the vine, very wrong indeed.  Even for you Treas.  :P

Well I throw in a dollop of brandy to compensate
Post by: heganboy on December 15, 2009, 03:51:32 PM
a wee brandy and port is becoming a staple in this house after dinner. sets you up nicely for the night.

Partial to a good whiskey in the evening, irish style, same amount of room temp water as there is whiskey in the glass, crested 10 and if I'm celebrating a wee middleton goes over a treat- only the one or tow for me its a sipping drink...
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 15, 2009, 03:54:54 PM
Always have a wee Port or two with the Cheese board later on, on Christmas Day.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 15, 2009, 04:30:56 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 03:32:59 PM

Now yer talking - I was in France there at Halloween (that's when they have their wine sales) and I got some deadly haut medoc (2003) and graves (2005).
when we get out for a few pints in the not too distant future with SS and the three tyronies I'll get the info from you about the whole where to go in Bordeaux and these wine sales...
Post by: ha ha derry on December 15, 2009, 05:38:01 PM
Wolf Blass presidents selection chardonay before and during the dinner.
One shot of Rumpleminz after dinner and then...(http://www.anheuser-busch.com/images/Leffe%20Blonde%20bottle%20with%20glass.JPG)
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 05:39:42 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 15, 2009, 04:30:56 PM

when we get out for a few pints in the not too distant future with SS and the three tyronies I'll get the info from you about the whole where to go in Bordeaux and these wine sales...

Yer on.  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 15, 2009, 06:51:00 PM
What is mulled wine by the way?
Post by: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 06:55:10 PM
Wine simmered up with spices - nut meg, cinnamon, orange peel and a bunch of crap. House smells rotten and the mother gets shnockered.
Post by: ha ha derry on December 15, 2009, 06:59:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 06:55:10 PM
Wine simmered up with spices - nut meg, cinnamon, orange peel and a bunch of crap. House smells rotten and the mother gets shnockered.

When nobody is looking sneak in a quarter bottle of brandy... adds to the fun / meyhem.  ;)
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 07:04:21 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 15, 2009, 06:59:33 PM

When nobody is looking sneak in a quarter bottle of brandy... adds to the fun / meyhem.  ;)

No sneaking - it's as essential an ingredient as the cinnamon sticks!
Post by: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 07:07:54 PM
Having usually always bar tended on christmas night, Ive never really drank much that day.

Maybe a few beers or some rum.
Post by: ha ha derry on December 15, 2009, 07:19:13 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 07:04:21 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 15, 2009, 06:59:33 PM

No sneaking - it's as essential an ingredient as the cinnamon sticks!

With a Baileys head I suppose  :D :D
Post by: redhugh on December 15, 2009, 07:47:57 PM
Mulled wine is wrong!and boggin'.if it was nice we'd be drinking it all year round.
Just back in from the shops loaded with drink.Bought some nice Brunello di Montalcino,Masi Campofiorin and Tignanello - it's been a while since I splashed out on nice wines.A bottle of Frangelico jumped into the wife's basket, though what she plans to do with it I don't know.Hendrick's gin ,Grey Goose and Morgan's spiced were the choices I went for.We got some Goslings dark rum also - class with ginger beer and a twist of lime(Dark and Stormy).

I've decided that my post dinner tipple for Christmas day is ......Stardust- Vanilla vodka and champagne in shots.Followed by turbo shandy - half bottle of stella and half a bottle of smirnoff ice.....I know ,I know I'm a dorty bastid.

I'd like to just take this opportunity to apologise for any of my offensive posts that you may happen to come across over the festive period,as I will be quite squiffy for a sizeable chunk of the holidays.

Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2009, 05:23:35 PM
Hot rum! The idea just hit me when redhugh mentioned rum. I'm always stuck to know what to drink after the dinner, after Midleton in the morning (the neighbour's, so that's even better), sherry at the present opening - don't ask, it's just a tradition and a nice one - and a few colours of wine with the dinner.

The hot rum would be perfect for Christmas Day and it's now a plan. It's the same as hot whiskey, except with rum, like.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2009, 05:25:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 16, 2009, 05:23:35 PM
Hot rum! The idea just hit me when redhugh mentioned rum. I'm always stuck to know what to drink after the dinner, after Midleton in the morning (the neighbour's, so that's even better), sherry at the present opening - don't ask, it's just a tradition and a nice one - and a few colours of wine with the dinner.

The hot rum would be perfect for Christmas Day and it's now a plan. It's the same as hot whiskey, except with rum, like.

Hot buttered rum is a traditional favourite over here.

Ingredients

1 stick unsalted butter, softened
2 cups light brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
Pinch ground cloves
Pinch salt
Bottle dark rum
Boiling water

Directions
In a bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt. Refrigerate until almost firm. Spoon about 2 tablespoons of the butter mixture into 12 small mugs. Pour about 3 ounces of rum into each mug (filling about halfway). Top with boiling water (to fill the remaining half), stir well, and serve immediately.
Post by: no mo do yakamo on December 16, 2009, 05:46:46 PM
The non american way to do that would be to use salted butter and leave out the salt. But i guess people are more health conscious over there. ::)
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2009, 05:48:48 PM
Our it could be that unsalted butter doesnt have the salt in it to act as a preservative, and therefore it might be fresher.
Post by: redhugh on December 16, 2009, 05:49:14 PM
 Hot rum eh? Nice recipe Puck, cheers.I've never had it before,but it sounds like a nice wee warmer for Christmas eve.I'll give it a dart this year for sure .
Post by: no mo do yakamo on December 16, 2009, 05:55:10 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2009, 05:48:48 PM
Our it could be that unsalted butter doesnt have the salt in it to act as a preservative, and therefore it might be fresher.
Yeah. Thats probably it.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 16, 2009, 07:52:19 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 15, 2009, 05:39:42 PM

Yer on.  ;)
think the three Tyronies and myself are meeting up on sun night - phibsboro I think
are you and SS available for selection ?
Post by: Zapatista on December 16, 2009, 07:54:58 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 16, 2009, 07:52:19 PM

Yer on.  ;)
think the three Tyronies and myself are meeting up on sun night - phibsboro I think

That sounds quite a cocktail ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 16, 2009, 08:06:38 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on December 16, 2009, 07:54:58 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 16, 2009, 07:52:19 PM

Yer on.  ;)

That sounds quite a cocktail ;)
...of the molotov variety if Billy and one of the Tyronies lock horns again !!!

anyone else about ?
Red hugh?
Post by: redhugh on December 16, 2009, 08:16:21 PM
I'd love to ,but am on the rip in Donegal on Saturday night for a surprise 40th.....and I'd imagine what's left of me on Sunday night would'nt be up to much craic.I'm a quare humpy hoor with a bad head.
Post by: mournerambler on December 16, 2009, 09:56:39 PM
My good mate & I have, for this last few Christmas eve's, been taking the kids out for a good long walk to tire them out for Santa's imminent arrival, after the walk we end up in the local for a couple of McKibben's navy rum (dont no why) washed down with 1 or 5 pints of stout.
He then slips out on Christmas day for another 'walk' with the kids which ends up in my gaff (he has the wife from hell) sculling whatever beer is in the fridge & a few nips of good old 'redbreast' for good measure.
Kids enjoying what's important in their wee world & the adults doing likewise.
Carlsberg dont do Christmas but if they did ....................................................!
Post by: wallyman on December 16, 2009, 10:11:00 PM
buckfast
Post by: Fuzzman on December 17, 2009, 11:06:11 AM
Here Lyncho

I'm not sure I want to be mixing with those Mayo lads again
I met a squad of them in 2004 near the Barge when I was walking this Byrd home
THey saw my jersey and surrounded me like they were herding sheep

"Dont foul them lads, just SWARM"

Surprsiing enuf I didn't seal the deal that nite.
Was funny though.

Aye lads me (Fuzzo), Fearro, Zapo & Lyncho are all meeting on Sunday for a wee swalley Sunday evening if any of the rest of ye living in Dublin fancy a end of year review.
Post by: Rois on December 17, 2009, 11:10:25 AM
Ah Fuzz, if it was a month later I'd have joined yez, probably going on an extended trip across the border so apartment-hunting in the capital at the mo.

Make sure now and discuss Club Tyrone pixels and get signed agreements to purchase when the pints are in.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 17, 2009, 11:25:50 AM
Shite, would love to attend, but can't do Sunday.  Where are ye going - Hut or Diggers?  And SS won't be allowed to cross the Liffey, you know!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 17, 2009, 11:28:23 AM
The Hole in the Wall's the favourite at the minute BB (Blackhorse Avenue, Navan Road), and that's provided that Fuzzman's better half doesn't see sense and actually lock him up for the night.
Post by: Fuzzman on December 17, 2009, 11:37:23 AM
Ye don't miss a beat Rois do you?

R U coming down to the BIG BIG smoke to live for a while?
We'll soon need our own wee Tyrone village like the chinese have China town

Any other takers for Culchie nite in Dublin
Post by: Billys Boots on December 17, 2009, 11:44:12 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 17, 2009, 11:28:23 AM
The Hole in the Wall's the favourite at the minute BB (Blackhorse Avenue, Navan Road), and that's provided that Fuzzman's better half doesn't see sense and actually lock him up for the night.

That's a bit remote for the suburbanites - we'll have to organise something closer to the public transport organs for the future.  Mulligans/Palace are the usual haunts of the Longfordians for nights on the town. 
Post by: Fuzzman on December 17, 2009, 12:08:10 PM
Naw Fear
She lost those handcuff thingys or so she says :o

How many of ye lads live in Dublin then?
Post by: Zapatista on December 17, 2009, 02:54:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 17, 2009, 11:06:11 AM
Here Lyncho

I'm not sure I want to be mixing with those Mayo lads again
I met a squad of them in 2004 near the Barge when I was walking this Byrd home
THey saw my jersey and surrounded me like they were herding sheep

"Dont foul them lads, just SWARM"

Surprsiing enuf I didn't seal the deal that nite.
Was funny though.

Aye lads me (Fuzzo), Fearro, Zapo & Lyncho are all meeting on Sunday for a wee swalley Sunday evening if any of the rest of ye living in Dublin fancy a end of year review.

And then there was Darkness!! God will have to start working Sundays.
Post by: stew on December 17, 2009, 07:46:10 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on December 16, 2009, 09:56:39 PM
My good mate & I have, for this last few Christmas eve's, been taking the kids out for a good long walk to tire them out for Santa's imminent arrival, after the walk we end up in the local for a couple of McKibben's navy rum (dont no why) washed down with 1 or 5 pints of stout.
He then slips out on Christmas day for another 'walk' with the kids which ends up in my gaff (he has the wife from hell) sculling whatever beer is in the fridge & a few nips of good old 'redbreast' for good measure.
Kids enjoying what's important in their wee world & the adults doing likewise.
Carlsberg dont do Christmas but if they did ....................................................!

Cant he just tell her to go fcuk herself, that he is going for a few pints and if she doesnt like it she can repeat the process?

Why any man would stay with 'the wife from hell' is beyond me, life is too short to be taking shite from anybody.
Post by: stew on December 17, 2009, 07:48:35 PM
Wine, always wine but not buckfast, that is the vilest tasting shoite of all time.

Post by: fitzroyalty on December 21, 2009, 11:20:28 PM
Quote from: stew on December 17, 2009, 07:48:35 PM
Wine, always wine but not buckfast, that is the vilest tasting shoite of all time.
Excuse you  :o