Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:07:06 PM

Title: What do you waste the most money on?
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:07:06 PM
I got mad the other day - I continue to buy yoghurts and then never eat them, but every time I am in the grocery store I frigging buy a 12 pack. Between them and lettuce, I continue to buy and throw these things out on a regular basis.

What do you waste your money on that never gets eaten regularly or often thrown out?
Title: Re: What do you waste the most money on?
Post by: tyssam5 on December 14, 2009, 07:14:11 PM
I was going to say drink, but I don't 'waste' that as defined above.

Have to go with fruit then.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2009, 07:24:44 PM
Houses and shares.

After that nothing matters.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 14, 2009, 07:32:37 PM
Good quality golf balls. Never get any value out of them.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2009, 07:33:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 14, 2009, 07:24:44 PM
Houses and shares.

Actually my biggest waste of money is tax.
Post by: gerry on December 14, 2009, 07:37:27 PM
Porn, but is that a waste.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2009, 07:38:56 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 14, 2009, 07:37:27 PM
Porn, but is that a waste.

Normally below the waste.
Post by: Family guy on December 14, 2009, 07:39:21 PM
condoms,keep buying them but getting no action ;)
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:40:13 PM
Quote from: Family guy on December 14, 2009, 07:39:21 PM

But you're a family guy. You shouldnt want them.
Post by: ha ha derry on December 14, 2009, 07:40:22 PM
Online poker... just can,t pickup their "tells" ;D >:( :'(
Post by: gerry on December 14, 2009, 07:42:15 PM
Quote from: Family guy on December 14, 2009, 07:39:21 PM

Atleast with porn you know where you stand
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:46:24 PM
You stand Gerry?  :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 07:52:11 PM
I wouldnt say I wasted any money, I do spend quite a bit of it on games and toys....
Post by: ha ha derry on December 14, 2009, 07:55:19 PM
(http://images.google.co.uk/url?source=imgres&ct=tbn&q=http://www.popartuk.com/g/l/lgimpss091%2Bthe-rest-i-just-squandered-george-best-quote-art-print.jpg&usg=AFQjCNHfbVjxOLAMhxwUvWWKcI1nc7v7RQ)

Or if you,re Georgie.
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 07:55:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 07:52:11 PM
I wouldnt say I wasted any money, I do spend quite a bit of it on games and toys....

Of a sexual nature?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 07:56:41 PM
Quote from: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 07:55:47 PM

Of a sexual nature?
:D No, of an electronic/gadget nature. 
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 07:58:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 07:56:41 PM
Quote from: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 07:55:47 PM

Of a sexual nature?
:D No, of an electronic/gadget nature.

Just wondering ;)
Post by: Orior on December 14, 2009, 08:09:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:07:06 PM
I got mad the other day - I continue to buy yoghurts and then never eat them, but every time I am in the grocery store I frigging buy a 12 pack. Between them and lettuce, I continue to buy and throw these things out on a regular basis.

What do you waste your money on that never gets eaten regularly or often thrown out?

Great question, and wish you'd asked it long ago.

I regularly throw out ham, apples, vegetables all bought with good intentions. I buy far too many sweets, crisps and chocolate.

I've paid car insurance, house insurance, holiday insurance, but never cashed in.

I collect air miles on every airline, and points at various hotels, but never go back for free.

I also hate the bartering thing. I'm the only that will hand over my money to get out of the shop as quick as I can.

And if any of your arseholes start sending me begging letters then I'll publish your email address in this thread.
Post by: gerry on December 14, 2009, 08:09:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:46:24 PM
You stand Gerry?  :-\

no bother to me

(http://viagraorder.info/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/viagra.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 08:10:47 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 14, 2009, 08:09:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 07:07:06 PM

Great question, and wish you'd asked it long ago.

I regularly throw out ham, apples, vegetables all bought with good intentions. I buy far too many sweets, crisps and chocolate.

I've paid car insurance, house insurance, holiday insurance, but never cashed in.

I collect air miles on every airline, and points at various hotels, but never go back for free.

I also hate the bartering thing. I'm the only that will hand over my money to get out of the shop as quick as I can.

And if any of your arseholes start sending me begging letters then I'll publish your email address in this thread.

My arsehole is illiterate.
Post by: gerry on December 14, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
heard this on the way home on radio ulster.  coming from working in retail it's a disgrace the amount of food that goes in the bin because it is past its display date but still within it best before date.

link (http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/news/news.asp?id=1950)

Food for Thought

14 December 2009

Celebrity chef, Stephen Jeffers, is serving up a delicious lunch with a difference today – using food which would normally go to landfill.

The `Food for Thought` event used ingredients diverted from the food waste chain to highlight an innovative food sharing concept.

Council for the Homeless NI now hope to lobby both the food industry and government to establish FareShare NI, pointing out that the project will work with local food producers and retailers to meet social need as well as providing a real environmental benefit.

All three of Belfast`s civic dignitaries – the Lord Mayor, Deputy Lord Mayor and High Sheriff – attended today`s event to demonstrate their support for such an exciting vision.

Lord Mayor, Councillor Naomi Long, said: "The sad reality is that people in Belfast and beyond are going hungry while edible food is going to waste. If this project becomes a reality then it will make a very real difference by diverting food destined for landfill and redistributing it to those in need.

"By serving lunch after talking about those who are suffering food poverty, we are highlighting the real commodity at the centre of this issue – food – and showing how this can be put to its rightful use to feed families and keep people healthy rather than adding to landfill.

"It highlights just how seriously we are taking this issue that all three civic dignitaries are uniting today in support of this scheme. We are appealing to the food industry to agree to join us in supporting the establishment of FareShare NI".

Alison Upton of Council for the Homeless NI pointed out the success of the FareShare food sharing model in Britain.

"This is proof of how the redistribution of food can be achieved efficiently and effectively when the food industry works with the voluntary sector and is in turn supported by government at local and regional level," she added.

"Now we are calling on the food industry to agree to work within a FareShare NI framework to supply food for redistribution and work with us to ensure that the same high standard in codes of practice employed by NI Food industry can be translated to the regional food sharing project".

Chef, Stephen Jeffers, commented: "I am delighted to be involved with today`s initiative.

"It is important that we highlight the plight of homeless people at Christmastime when so many of us take a full tummy and a warm home for granted. The concept of putting this otherwise unwanted food to good use, feeding those who need it most, is fantastic. I wish this venture every success," he said.
Post by: venter on December 14, 2009, 09:10:10 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 14, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
heard this on the way home on radio ulster.  coming from working in retail it's a disgrace the amount of food that goes in the bin because it is past its display date but still within it best before date.

I was in dunnes earlier and I got some nice baby potatoes in basil and sundried tomato butter. They  were only 29c and probably a few hours from going in the bin. They are usually sold at 2.99 or something like that. The odd visit to the "reduced to clear" section can be worth it.

The spuds were grand by the way!!
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 09:29:23 PM
I know it's stating the obvious ,but best before means just that and no more.It does'nt mean that after this date it will do you any harm. Are people really so stupid that they don't know what bad food smells, tastes or looks like?
How the fcuk can a bottle of water for example have a best before date? "Filtered through volcanic rock for 2000 years" and then underneath this line "Best before Dec 09."
Post by: gerry on December 14, 2009, 09:41:36 PM
your right, but you cannot sell anything after its BBF date
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 09:45:44 PM
Quote from: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 09:29:23 PM
I know it's stating the obvious ,but best before means just that and no more.It does'nt mean that after this date it will do you any harm. Are people really so stupid that they don't know what bad food smells, tastes or looks like?
How the fcuk can a bottle of water for example have a best before date? "Filtered through volcanic rock for 2000 years" and then underneath this line "Best before Dec 09."
I use to think like, one evening there was chicken in the fridge that was a day or two out of date, I ate it and I spent most of the next day on a toilet! Followed by several days on the couch. I think it was undercooked as well but it give me a phobia - I'd hardly eat anything if it was on the sell by date, and everything I cook has to be burned.
Post by: muppet on December 14, 2009, 09:48:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 09:45:44 PM
I use to think like, one evening there was chicken in the fridge that was a day or two out of date, I ate it and I spent most of the next day on a toilet! Followed by several days on the couch. I think it was undercooked as well but it give me a phobia - I'd hardly eat anything if it was on the sell by date, and everything I cook has to be burned.

I went to boarding school. I have a stomach like a cement mixer but I examine everything very carefully before I cook and or eat it.
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 09:54:00 PM

I'm sure if you'd smelt it pints,you'd have known it was gone - I have a fairly strong stomach,but off chicken makes me hurl every time I smell it. I'm not saying it's all safe,and I know that the rule of "if in doubt throw it out" stands true, all I'm trying to say is that not all food past it's BBF(cheers Gerry),is inedible and that common sense should play a part. Do we really need someone to tell us when produce is unsafe?(Apart from your good self pints)
Post by: Orior on December 14, 2009, 09:56:10 PM
Quote from: venter on December 14, 2009, 09:10:10 PM
Quote from: gerry on December 14, 2009, 08:39:25 PM

I was in dunnes earlier and I got some nice baby potatoes in basil and sundried tomato butter. They  were only 29c and probably a few hours from going in the bin. They are usually sold at 2.99 or something like that. The odd visit to the "reduced to clear" section can be worth it.

The spuds were grand by the way!!

When I was a nipper and out on slave labour gathering spuds, we would throw them baby spuds away. We called them "chats".

Another good hobby, was impaling the odd spud on the end of a stick and seeing how far you could project it. Great craic, until the owner or target caught you. And then there was the farmer who "laid" eggs shortly after the spuds were planted. Pity the person who got a six month old egg down the back off their shirt.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 14, 2009, 10:00:23 PM
Quote from: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 09:54:00 PM

I'm sure if you'd smelt it pints,you'd have known it was gone - I have a fairly strong stomach,but off chicken makes me hurl every time I smell it. I'm not saying it's all safe,and I know that the rule of "if in doubt throw it out" stands true, all I'm trying to say is that not all food past it's BBF(cheers Gerry),is inedible and that common sense should play a part. Do we really need someone to tell us when produce is unsafe?(Apart from your good self pints)
All raw meat smells off to me! though it may be the complete paranoia I have from that experience.
Milk's another thing, always smell off to me.  I dont know why. 
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 10:07:32 PM
A Chinese chef I used to work with once told me that to them ,we all smell of sour milk,because of the amount of dairy we consume.
Post by: wallyman on December 14, 2009, 10:14:39 PM
aftershock!
Post by: redhugh on December 14, 2009, 10:16:07 PM
Quote from: wallyman on December 14, 2009, 10:14:39 PM
aftershock!

Some first post Wally! ;D - Go on ,explain.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 14, 2009, 10:19:05 PM
Beer, training gear, stag dos.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 11:19:46 PM
Cars..I've had 11 in 8 years
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 11:21:46 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 11:19:46 PM

Holy crap.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2009, 11:46:49 PM
Jesus you must have burned some cash on depreciation. I knew you hoors were getting too much money!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 15, 2009, 12:04:03 AM
1. Mortgage
2. Tax (put money away each month to pay Revenue in Oct)
3. Pension (ditto, lump sum each Oct
4. Food etc
Post by: lurganblue on December 15, 2009, 09:08:23 AM
Mortgage
car hp, tax, insurance and fuel
rates
food
alcohol
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 15, 2009, 09:19:12 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 14, 2009, 11:46:49 PM
Jesus you must have burned some cash on depreciation. I knew you hoors were getting too much money!

3 of them got wrote off, one was my own fault the other two times it wasn't my fault so that's 6 cars right there between the crashed ones and having to replace them
Post by: theskull1 on December 15, 2009, 09:21:19 AM
You have to ...
Pay a mortgage
Run a car (although car share might lower costs)
pay your rates
buy food (although where makes a difference)

The average joe at the end of all that doesn't have much to waste
Post by: thebigfella on December 15, 2009, 09:37:52 AM
Houses and shares.

Not very good investments then if you consider it a waste.
Post by: tyrone girl on December 15, 2009, 09:39:52 AM
Dont really get how mortgage is wasting money - fair enough its shyte having to pay it but for me wasting something is paying for something you arent getting any use out of - or maybe im on another planet altogether.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 15, 2009, 11:55:56 AM
Fruit, also the  Irish News, buy it every day but rarely get round to reading it!
Post by: Canalman on December 15, 2009, 02:25:24 PM
Buying coffees in petrol stations etc I'm afraid.

Waste alot of money buying film magazines also.
Post by: JohnDenver on December 15, 2009, 03:18:28 PM
no word on sammy maguire posting on this thread?  :P
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:21:07 PM
Screenclick.com - takes me forever to send back the films, really must cancel my sub.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 15, 2009, 03:25:33 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:21:07 PM
Screenclick.com - takes me forever to send back the films, really must cancel my sub.

not creme de menthe and baileys then ??
Post by: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:28:14 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 15, 2009, 03:25:33 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 15, 2009, 03:21:07 PM

not creme de menthe and baileys then ??

Baileys and creme de menthe could never be considered a waste :)
Post by: screenmachine on December 15, 2009, 03:32:09 PM
Without a doubt - alcohol.  I could never figure out the fact that lets say you stay on the beer all night.  Lets say it's a late one and there's maybe a good 15 pints drunk.  15 * £2.60 = £39.  Lets say £40.  Box of smokes and my maximum spend should be around £45 yet I go out with maybe £100 and come home with about £3.67 change.  Where the f**k does the rest of my money go?  Buying rounds is a mugs game, there's always some miserable hoor doesn't chip in or clears before its his round..normally ScreenExile if I'm being honest... :D
Post by: muppet on December 15, 2009, 04:03:51 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 15, 2009, 09:37:52 AM
Houses and shares.

Not very good investments then if you consider it a waste.

Today's Sesame Street has been brought to you by the number -50% and by the word 'Negflation'.
Post by: laceer on December 15, 2009, 04:12:12 PM
Weed
Post by: thebigfella on December 15, 2009, 04:48:56 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 15, 2009, 04:12:12 PM
Weed

You consider that a waste? I'd consider that an investment in good times.
Post by: Mario on December 15, 2009, 05:20:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 15, 2009, 12:04:03 AM
1. Mortgage
2. Tax (put money away each month to pay Revenue in Oct)
3. Pension (ditto, lump sum each Oct
4. Food etc

I work in Pensions, its definitely not a waste of money!
Post by: laceer on December 15, 2009, 05:40:15 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 15, 2009, 04:48:56 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 15, 2009, 04:12:12 PMWeed
You consider that a waste? I'd consider that an investment in good times.

Don't consider smoking weed a waste but def have spent/wasted a lot of money on it over the years. Don't drink every weekend but like nothing better than smoking a joint when i get home from work on a friday
Post by: nifan on December 15, 2009, 06:00:42 PM
Buying lunch during work days.
Id save a fortune if i just made it at home the odd day, but I cant be arsed.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 15, 2009, 06:16:34 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on December 15, 2009, 03:18:28 PM
no word on sammy maguire posting on this thread?  :P

alright, I have the odd flutter JD. 

I have loads of football jerseys too, gaelic and soccer, only wear them playing sport so really no need to have the likes of Holland away 2010, Offaly 1997 (real cloth), Barcelona home 2005, Hamburg, Atletico Madrid, an old Dublin jersey (spit)...
Post by: stew on December 15, 2009, 06:47:07 PM
I would say golf, between fees, travel to and from courses, drink and food on the course I would have to say golf.
Post by: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 06:49:36 PM
Quote from: nifan on December 15, 2009, 06:00:42 PM
+1 (*5 days a week, 50 weeks a year).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 15, 2009, 06:52:36 PM
Sunday News papers. Feck all in them

the odd chippy at lunch time (bring a bloddy lunch with me)

Buying petrol in Belfast, robbing fookers

defo bookies, i've a tenner online every sat (odd win) and venture into local bookie to give them another tenner.

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2009, 06:55:04 PM
I stopped buying lunch out years ago, costs a fortune!
Post by: 5 Sams on December 15, 2009, 10:32:25 PM

+2

Need to start making sambos....costing a f**king fortune :-\
Post by: Minder on December 15, 2009, 10:34:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2009, 10:32:25 PM

+2

Need to start making sambos....costing a f**king fortune :-\

I was that soldier, i just buy a subway or sandwich on a Friday now.
Post by: Puckoon on August 10, 2010, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 06:49:36 PM

Still not making any inroads with this. The month is 10 days old and I just calculated that I've spent 163$ on lunch and dinner outside of the house since the month started. I think I just get the need to get out of the office for 15 minutes during the day. Can't get any money (worth talking about) saved away at all.
Post by: ballinaman on August 11, 2010, 06:28:21 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 10, 2010, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 15, 2009, 06:49:36 PM

Still not making any inroads with this. The month is 10 days old and I just calculated that I've spent 163$ on lunch and dinner outside of the house since the month started. I think I just get the need to get out of the office for 15 minutes during the day. Can't get any money (worth talking about) saved away at all.
I make extra when i'm cooking dinner in the evenings and then lob it in a lunch box and stick it in the fridge to bring to work with me.
Stir frys and pasta dinners work best for reheating, steak and mash and the like would be stink reheated. Saving a fortune not having to buy lunch out.