Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:02:34 PM

Title: ATM heists are cool
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:02:34 PM
Am I the only one who thinks these gangs tearing the ATMs out are pretty cool? I don't reslly get this thing about it being an attack on the whole community... bag of shite. Is audacious and no real victims and exiting like Jesse James and boys like that.   
Title: Re: ATM heists are cool
Post by: Minder on December 11, 2009, 07:06:34 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:02:34 PM
Am I the only one who thinks these gangs tearing the ATMs out are pretty cool? I don't reslly get this thing about it being an attack on the whole community... bag of shite. Is audacious and no real victims and exiting like Jesse James and boys like that.

Aye real heroes for the community, do you think an ATM is the only thing they would steal ?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 11, 2009, 07:08:10 PM
The only victims are the people who maybe have to travel 20/30 mile to reach an alternative ATM... oh wait...

The people responsible are no Robin Hoods.  Hoods yes and nothing more than that
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:10:33 PM
So why do we admire the gangsters in the movies and cowboys doing hold ups? is the same thing...  the banks are the real robbers...   Bob Dylan said it... 'some rob you with a shotgun and others with a fountain pen'     
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 11, 2009, 07:12:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:10:33 PM
So why do we admire the gangsters in the movies and cowboys doing hold ups? is the same thing...  the banks are the robbers  ;)  Bob Dylan said it... 'some rob you with a shotgun and others with a fountain pen'     

Because it's not real life.
Post by: dec on December 11, 2009, 07:14:41 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:02:34 PMno real victims
Do you have to practise being stupid or does it come naturally.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:15:10 PM
It depicts real life and often tells true stories about bank robberies. You see a serial killer in a movie you don't want him to get away. Anyway I kind of admire the ATM crew.
...and don't you be cheeky Dec.
Post by: tyssam5 on December 11, 2009, 07:16:03 PM
So why do we admire the gangsters in the movies and cowboys doing hold ups? is the same thing...  the banks are the real robbers...   Bob Dylan said it... 'some rob you with a shotgun and others with a fountain pen'   

So why don't they rob a real bank then if they're so tough? It's probably not very cool for the owner of the shop/pub etc that has half their place tossed.

Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 11, 2009, 07:18:22 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:15:10 PM
It depicts real life and often tells true stories about bank robberies. You see a serial killer in a movie you don't want him to get away. Anyway I kind of admire the ATM crew.
I have respected your stance on other things and agreed with you but on this you are way off.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:20:30 PM
I guess that answers my question, I am the only one admires them. Thanks for the feedback  :P
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:23:49 PM
...oh! if you knew who they were would you tell the police?   
Post by: screenmachine on December 11, 2009, 07:24:53 PM
I'm with you on this one Fox...Take all ye can from the banks...
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:26:38 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on December 11, 2009, 07:24:53 PM

Good man yourself Screen  8) ... hands across the divide. Top man  :P
Post by: ziggysego on December 11, 2009, 07:45:50 PM
Nearly as cool as the time you raided my chicken hut
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 08:00:28 PM
No reply to the police question. I assume most people would inform the police of a paedophile, someone who beats old people and robs them, a murderer...  would they tell if they knew the Hole in the Wall gang?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 11, 2009, 08:03:51 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:20:30 PM
I guess that answers my question, I am the only one admires them. Thanks for the feedback  :P
I am sure others admire them, I don't.  That's all I am saying  :)
Post by: imtommygunn on December 11, 2009, 08:05:29 PM
Could they not stick some kind of GPS tracking device on these things? By the time they get the things open they'll be able to be located...

(May be slight logistical issues with signal though I'm not sure...)
Post by: Puckoon on December 11, 2009, 08:19:03 PM
Id personally like to see a building collapse on these clowns. Then and only then would I find it cool  :)
Post by: armaghniac on December 11, 2009, 08:43:12 PM
What do you expect from a poster who likes to break into henhouses and eat the occupants.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2009, 09:42:02 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:26:38 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on December 11, 2009, 07:24:53 PM

Good man yourself Screen  8) ... hands across the divide. Top man  :P

Sometimes fox, you think with the brain the size of a...  well, fox's.

Who do you think is bailing out all the frigging banks at the minute (clue: eight letters, begins with t, third letter x, and last five letters 'payer'), north and south? And do you think that the banks are not going to recoup their losses somehow by penalising the ordinary joe in charges of some one description or another? D'oh! (And you can put that Derry man in your thought-bracket too -- D'ohs! across the Sperrins).
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 10:15:18 PM
Suprised youse are all so much with the establishment especially up in Strabane. Fair f** to them if they get away with the ATMs  :o
Youse must have done celebrating on the board when Ronnie Biggs was caught   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2009, 10:32:05 PM
No bother, you organise the claque to clap them as they rip the next ATM out of the wall, and perhaps, just to save them the bother, why don't you all carpet their way to the machine with the contents of your wallets. Would save a whole lot of broken masonry  ;)
Post by: Abble on December 11, 2009, 10:34:07 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 10:15:18 PM
Suprised youse are all so much with the establishment especially up in Strabane. Fair f** to them if they get away with the ATMs  :o

who do you think the money from these atm thefts is going to ?
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 10:55:13 PM
Quote from: Abble on December 11, 2009, 10:34:07 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 10:15:18 PM

who do you think the money from these atm thefts is going to ?

Jees! Abble, how the hell would I know? I know who I wish it was going to  :P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 10:56:58 PM

What a retarded post.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 10:57:45 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 07:23:49 PM

YES
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:03:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 10:57:45 PM

YES

Good to hear some-one in the Republic is prepared to go to the police about something  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:25:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 10:56:58 PM

What a well thought out post.

Gee! thanks garda boy

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 11:30:20 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:25:30 PM

Gee! thanks garda boy

Your a boody monkey's anus, changing what I posted and pretending its a quote, your a fckn arsehole of the highest order.

longrunsthefoxupagerbilsballsack
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:31:35 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 11:30:20 PM

Gee! thanks garda boy

Your a boody monkey's anus, changing what I posted and pretending its a quote, your a fckn arsehole of the highest order.

mayo dude- you are as funny as f**  :D
Post by: Jen Cui on December 11, 2009, 11:55:26 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:31:35 PM

Gee! thanks garda boy

Your a boody monkey's anus, changing what I posted and pretending its a quote, your a fckn arsehole of the highest order, I can suck my own penis if I want to!

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 11, 2009, 11:59:10 PM
Quote from: Jen Cui on December 11, 2009, 11:55:26 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 11, 2009, 11:31:35 PM

Gee! thanks garda boy

Your a boody monkey's anus, changing what I posted and pretending its a quote, your a fckn arsehole of the highest order, I can suck my own penis if I want to!

:D :D :D :D :D

Child

Stop changing my quotes, nimrod.

Go shove a hot poker up your arse. Then rotate on it.
Post by: Ulick on December 12, 2009, 02:43:30 AM
Fair play... though if it was the 'Ra (Northern Bank) we couldn't really approve...

Haul from Brazil Tunnel Heist Was $15.6 Million

SAO PAULO – The total amount of money stolen last weekend from an armored car company in Brazil's biggest city via a tunnel was 27.7 million reais ($15.6 million), almost three times the amount initially reported, authorities said on Thursday.

A new complaint presented Thursday by the Transnacional Transporte de Valores e Seguranca company to the Sao Paulo police department corrected the initially reported amount, which had been 10 million reais ($5.6 million).

The amount first had been calculated on the basis of information received from employees of the transport firm in their first contacts with police, but the numbers were later revised and corrected by a team of company auditors.

The thieves got into the company through a tunnel 150 meters (488 feet) long and 1 meter (3.25 feet) in diameter, dug from a nearby house in the Vila Jaguara neighborhood.

To avoid awakening suspicion, the thieves told area residents they were doing renovations.

Once the tunnel was finished, they waited until Sunday afternoon, when the attention of virtually all Brazilians was riveted on the national professional soccer championship, to break in and take the money.

One of the firm's security guards later told police that he heard a crash Sunday afternoon, but thought it was fireworks set off by fans after their team scored a goal.

Sao Paulo police on Tuesday announced the arrests of six suspects and the seizure of a briefcase containing cash bearing the logo of the firm that was the target of the heist.

The arrested men have denied their involvement in the robbery, but they tried to flee when they saw the police approaching. EFE
Post by: comethekingdom on December 12, 2009, 09:16:01 AM
What is it with nordies and criminality? - lots of people think its perfectly ok to rip off welfare, smuggle, pull atm's out of shops, banks etc, defraud electricity meters, run road going vehicles on red/green diesel? There's not a fraction of that sort of criminality down our part of the country!
Youse boys would need to brush up on yere morals and have some bit of a conscience.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 12, 2009, 10:06:50 AM
2 more ATM's ripped out of The BOI and Ulster Bank in Cootehill last night!! :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 12, 2009, 10:44:19 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 12, 2009, 09:16:01 AM
What is it with nordies and criminality? - lots of people think its perfectly ok to rip off welfare, smuggle, pull atm's out of shops, banks etc, defraud electricity meters, run road going vehicles on red/green diesel? There's not a fraction of that sort of criminality down our part of the country!
Youse boys would need to brush up on yere morals and have some bit of a conscience.
I think it's because in most of those we're ripping off the brits so no one cares. I dont think you'd get the same attitudes in the unionist community.
Post by: Minder on December 12, 2009, 11:00:00 AM
But it's not really the Brits that are getting ripped off. It is the tax payer getting ripped off. When benefit fraud takes place do people not realise this money is clawed back In different ways such as increased tax?

Who do people think foots the welfare bill, the fairies?
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 12, 2009, 11:18:13 AM

What an excellent thread .

I couldn't agree more with you . Every time I  hear about one of these ATM jobs I delight in it . The banks are the scum of the earth and deserve all the pain they get even if they do get their money back in other ways .

It has to be said though that they can seriously inconvenience and maybe sometimes very detrimentally inconvenience the local community that depend on the instant availability of cash .

That butcher on the news yesterday ,  you kind of felt for him and I'm sure there are others equally badly effected . If these guys could take out ATM's in a vicinity where there's a rake of them in the one area , as in 4 or 5 of them in the space of a hundred yards or so I would would willing to join up with their gang .  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 11:19:20 AM

Thanks for that lecture on criminality ... now run along to church and give yer bishops who hide paedophiles a standing ovation  :-\
Post by: EC Unique on December 12, 2009, 11:53:16 AM

Yep I would. The one in Ballygawley was done a few weeks ago and it did have an effect on local business, made the town a mess and the bank is now an eyesore. They are no better than the scum that rob old people in their homes.

Oh and the 25k reward would not go amiss. ;)
Post by: Tonto on December 12, 2009, 12:14:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 12, 2009, 10:44:19 AM
I think it's because in most of those we're ripping off the brits so no one cares. I dont think you'd get the same attitudes in the unionist community.
So common criminality is more acceptable in the nationalist community?
Post by: Tonto on December 12, 2009, 12:24:32 PM
Fox and his brother/dad's guide to stealing a bank machine:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vsm8j4SiLs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vsm8j4SiLs)
Post by: whiskeysteve on December 12, 2009, 01:07:19 PM
If folks are gonna describe these boys as scum thats fair enough but at the end of the day these boys face big jailtime if caught when their crime is merely making a nuisance of themselves in comparison to the corporate shenanigans of boys like Sean Fitpatrick etc who have effectively raided the equivalent of thousands of ATMs in the fallout from their behaviour. Wheres their penalty??

Its hard to feel pissed off at the ATM heists when the corporate elite has shafted the country for billions.

The institutions of Ireland in general have fucked the country over. Yet no jail time for bankers, politicians or bishops of course. Criminality is perfectly fine so long as you practice it in the upper echelons. This doesn't seem set to change.

So I'd feel a kind of apathy towards the ATM heists at this stage.
Post by: whiskeysteve on December 12, 2009, 01:13:06 PM
Quote from: Tonto on December 12, 2009, 12:14:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 12, 2009, 10:44:19 AM
So common criminality is more acceptable in the nationalist community?

The type that 'defrauds the crown', so to speak, is seen as distinctly more acceptable in republican areas i reckon
Post by: Asal Mor on December 12, 2009, 01:20:00 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 12, 2009, 01:07:19 PM
If folks are gonna describe these boys as scum thats fair enough but at the end of the day these boys face big jailtime if caught when their crime is merely making a nuisance of themselves in comparison to the corporate shenanigans of boys like Sean Fitpatrick etc who have effectively raided the equivalent of thousands of ATMs in the fallout from their behaviour. Wheres their penalty??

Its hard to feel pissed off at the ATM heists when the corporate elite has shafted the country for billions.

The institutions of Ireland in general have fucked the country over. Yet no jail time for bankers, politicians or bishops of course. Criminality is perfectly fine so long as you practice it in the upper echelons. This doesn't seem set to change.

Well said Steve
Post by: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 01:34:27 PM

I've actually wondered that myself. I came to the conclusion it was a border thing though. When I moved to belfast, I found that I had a much more relaxed attitude to the law than most of those around me, and they were all northerners too, while at home most around me had similar views, and a lot of them were from the south.

With regards to much of the above, I may not do it, but I wouldnt have a bad opinion on most who did, and certainly wouldnt report it.

I had a friend (not from round the border) who regularly came out (disparagingly) with - 'typical border mentality, take all you can get...': I think he hit the nail on the head.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 12, 2009, 01:38:55 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 12, 2009, 01:07:19 PM

My sentiments exactly .
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 12, 2009, 01:40:23 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 01:34:27 PM

I've actually wondered that myself. I came to the conclusion it was a border thing though. When I moved to belfast, I found that I had a much more relaxed attitude to the law than most of those around me, and they were all northerners too, while at home most around me had similar views, and a lot of them were from the south.

With regards to much of the above, I may not do it, but I wouldnt have a bad opinion on most who did, and certainly wouldnt report it.

I had a friend (not from round the border) who regularly came out (disparagingly) with - 'typical border mentality, take all you can get...': I think he hit the nail on the head.

Spot on again haranguerer .
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 01:53:21 PM
...."This is the story of two pretty good bad men. Hannibal Hayes and Kid Curry... together these gentlemen substantially altered the course of America's frontier. They did a lot to change railroad schedules, too.
And in all the trains and banks they robbed, they never shot anyone. This made our two latter day Robin Hoods very popular with everyone but the railroad and banks. Because unlike Robin Hood, Hannibal Hayes and Kid Curry robbed from the rich and kept the money for themselves.
...it was a good life. But times were changing. Safes were getting better, posses were getting bigger, sheriffs were getting smarter and modern communication made it only a matter of time until they were captured and maybe even killed...."

Sounds familar... EC UNIQUE you are the bounty hunter looking for them for the reward...
...'it's time to ride on out of here...   yee! haa!!'
Post by: redhugh on December 12, 2009, 02:09:48 PM
I think at the minute with the levels of hatred for the banks at an all time high, a lot of people see these heists and think - well that's one way of getting money off the cnuts.If this had been happening to this extent 3/4 years ago ,the appetite to catch these gangs would have been much greater IMO.I don't totally agree that they are cool fox, but I can see how people could think like that.
Post by: EC Unique on December 12, 2009, 04:06:09 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 01:53:21 PM

Sounds familar... EC UNIQUE you are the bounty hunter looking for them for the reward...
...'it's time to ride on out of here...   yee! haa!!'

:D :D Yee Ha Fox!

All I know is if I seen a JCB out at 4am I would take am interest in what it was been used for.

Might be a handy 25k...
Post by: imtommygunn on December 12, 2009, 04:42:21 PM
Would be very surprised if these boys weren't caught to be honest...

A lot of people seem to be making these boys out to be like Robin Hood here. It's kn**ker behaviour doing this kind of thing and should in no way be applauded.

It's also hardly the most sophisticated way in the world of performing a robbery but then again whatever works for you.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 04:48:39 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 12, 2009, 04:42:21 PM
Would be very surprised if these boys weren't caught to be honest...

A lot of people seem to be making these boys out to be like Robin Hood here. It's kn**ker behaviour doing this kind of thing and should in no way be applauded.

It's also hardly the most sophisticated way in the world of performing a robbery but then again whatever works for you.

It certainly works for them  ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on December 12, 2009, 04:56:17 PM
It does but they'll probably be caught.

Maybe I'll be wrong but such a primitive method is bound to be able to be caught. Or else you would have to question what the police are doing...
Post by: Oraisteach on December 12, 2009, 05:05:12 PM
Not familiar with this new "self serve" trend.

How exactly do they do it?  How many ATMs have been hit?  Has it been occurring across the North? Is it thought to be the same gang?
Post by: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 05:14:15 PM
Started around border areas anyway. I know at the start, and I assume still, they looked for ATMs close to where there was work going on, so they could break into a digger and use it to get the ATM - they werent driving around, as I think someone alluded, with a JCB on a trailer at 4 in the morning. Heres the first one (I think...)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heTHphRcsns
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 05:15:44 PM
Police investigating a series of cash machine robberies using diggers across Northern Ireland say they are following "definite lines of inquiry"  :D
In the latest incident, a filling station was badly damaged in Templepatrick, County Antrim.
The thieves used a mechanical digger to rip the ATM from the shop.
Eighteen ATMs have been targeted in recent months, damaging several banks and shops. No-one has been charged in connection with any of the thefts.
A police spokesman said detectives were working with the business community to identify and reduce the risks of such robberies.
The digger with a telescopic arm was abandoned at the scene, while it is understood police found part of the cash machine in a field a few miles outside the village.
However, no cash was recovered.
Andrew Crawford said one of his drivers was passing at the time of the robbery and called the police, only to be put through to officers in Derry.
"They put me through to the station in Antrim who spent more time getting my number and details when they should have been after these guys," he said.
A reward of up to £25,000 is being offered for anyone who can help catch the criminals targeting cash machines in Northern Ireland.

Sherriff EC UNIQUE is favourite to net the reward.

Has been ATMs done in the Republic too... with two in Cavan last nite.
Not one arrest yet  ::)

Exciting isn't it?... wat planet do you live on Oraisteach?
Post by: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 05:16:27 PM
And heres why the police arent great at catching them

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8135839.stm
Post by: imtommygunn on December 12, 2009, 05:28:55 PM
Either a) they're kacking themselves in that area or b) they're in having a kip

Post by: Oraisteach on December 12, 2009, 05:43:25 PM
I hail from the planet O-hi-o.

I might have progged the odd apple in my day, but not pounds and pounds and pounds of them.

Another question.  How much cash does the average ATM hold?

BTW, thanks for the video link.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 12, 2009, 05:54:51 PM
Hard to know. Wouldn't expect it to be in hundreds of thousands. Definitely thousands but whether it'd be in the tens of thousands I don't know. I would guess so though.

That's another thing they could do - put a lot lot less money in them to make sure it ain't worth thieves while. Thus average joe can't get any cash out and average joe suffers.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 12, 2009, 06:17:35 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 05:15:44 PM
Police investigating a series of cash machine robberies using diggers across Northern Ireland say they are following "definite lines of inquiry"  :D
In the latest incident, a filling station was badly damaged in Templepatrick, County Antrim.
The thieves used a mechanical digger to rip the ATM from the shop.
Eighteen ATMs have been targeted in recent months, damaging several banks and shops. No-one has been charged in connection with any of the thefts.
A police spokesman said detectives were working with the business community to identify and reduce the risks of such robberies.
The digger with a telescopic arm was abandoned at the scene, while it is understood police found part of the cash machine in a field a few miles outside the village.
However, no cash was recovered.
Andrew Crawford said one of his drivers was passing at the time of the robbery and called the police, only to be put through to officers in Derry.
"They put me through to the station in Antrim who spent more time getting my number and details when they should have been after these guys," he said.
A reward of up to £25,000 is being offered for anyone who can help catch the criminals targeting cash machines in Northern Ireland.

Sherriff EC UNIQUE is favourite to net the reward.

Has been ATMs done in the Republic too... with two in Cavan last nite.
Not one arrest yet  ::)

Exciting isn't it?... wat planet do you live on Oraisteach?
You see this is where people go wrong, they get greedy.  Wouldn't it be better for them to stop now, they must have plenty, then to keep going. 

btw fox, someones sophisticated robberies (which these aren't) catch people's imagination, that doesn't mean people suddenly think they're cool.  Most films and stories about characters such as Jesse James don't protray the true person.
Post by: Sandino on December 12, 2009, 07:53:26 PM
How can any idiot think that these robberies are cool?

Have these Robin Hoods given some of this money to people you know Fox? Like hell they have.

Lets get it straight most of these robberies are not courageous attacks against greedy banks. These are crimes against communities. Local people depend on these atm's for quick cash which is spent locally. Many small shop owners get these installed to try and halt the crowd of people going to the ASDA's and Tesco's of this world. These are local services for local people. You can now go from Omagh to Belfast and not find one atm to stop at one the main road.

Robin Hood my ar5e!!! Robbing Hoods just.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 08:06:10 PM
Its not the big boys at the top of the banks that this activity hurts, its the local community inconvenienced, local business, the staff of the shop/bank or pub that has to deal with the aftermath of this thuggery, its the shareholders of the bank or the owners of the shop, its the emergency services (often buildings become structurally unsafe), its you on the way in to the nightclub and you want another few pints, fck some bastard has robbed the bloody atm! Its the PSNI/Gardai that could be spending more time locking up terrorists or child molesters.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 08:23:34 PM
Dry your eyes... crimes against the community my arse. A few boys using their initiative in these difficult times... good luck to them. I never mentioned Robin Hood... that eejit gave the money away ::)
... as for you Mayo, you daft bollox, calm down talking shite about the Garda catching child molesters. Sure they had the names of them and covered it up.

'Moral indignation is jealousy with a halo'...H. G. Wells
The moral indignation from some here would make a billy goat puke.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 12, 2009, 08:58:03 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 12, 2009, 08:23:34 PM

Only John J. Rambo can eat things that'll make a billy goat puke LongR , according to Col. Trautman anyway .  ;) 8)
Post by: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 09:11:57 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 08:06:10 PM
Its not the big boys at the top of the banks that this activity hurts, its the local community inconvenienced, local business, the staff of the shop/bank or pub that has to deal with the aftermath of this thuggery, its the shareholders of the bank or the owners of the shop, its the emergency services (often buildings become structurally unsafe), its you on the way in to the nightclub and you want another few pints, fck some b**tard has robbed the bloody atm! Its the PSNI/Gardai that could be spending more time locking up terrorists or child molesters.

Alternatively, less time to catch eejits like you stopping on motorways for no good reason  ;)
Post by: boojangles on December 12, 2009, 09:20:51 PM
Bank of Ireland and Ulster bank ATMs lifted last nite in Cootehill. The whole operation took less than 15 minutes. Cootehill has only recently lost its permanent Garda,co-incidence I wonder?

Wheres CeltMan? I wanna know where you were between 5am and 530am this morning?? :D :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:31:07 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 12, 2009, 09:11:57 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 08:06:10 PM
Its not the big boys at the top of the banks that this activity hurts, its the local community inconvenienced, local business, the staff of the shop/bank or pub that has to deal with the aftermath of this thuggery, its the shareholders of the bank or the owners of the shop, its the emergency services (often buildings become structurally unsafe), its you on the way in to the nightclub and you want another few pints, fck some b**tard has robbed the bloody atm! Its the PSNI/Gardai that could be spending more time locking up terrorists or child molesters.

Alternatively, less time to catch eejits like you stopping on motorways for no good reason  ;)

;D Never said I stopped on any road, motorway or otherwise to ring the Gardai, I just mutter away in anger as yet another p***k risks the lifes of other road users.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:40:15 PM
Dry your eyes... crimes against the community my arse. A few boys using their initiative in these difficult times... good luck to them. I never mentioned Robin Hood... that eejit gave the money away ::)
... as for you Mayo, you daft bollox, calm down talking shite about the Garda catching child molesters. Sure they had the names of them and covered it up.

Good luck to them!!!!!, the stupid f**kers are c***ts, same as those c**tish fckrs that where on the boards of the banks and the dirty politicians. I'm not one bit jealous of the bastards I'm just angered and frustrated with the fact all these shite drivers, terrorists, criminals, bank board executives, brown bag brigade, dirty politicians (generally FF), fraudsters, joy-riders, drug dealers, pedos, pimps etc. are getting away with it.

I'd build a second Titanic (great jobs boast for Belfast) stick all those fckrs on it, and sail it into a bloody iceberg.

Christ Fox I seriously hope you are a WUM, otherwise you are just a fool.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on December 12, 2009, 09:49:42 PM
what horrible language
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:51:36 PM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on December 12, 2009, 09:49:42 PM
what horrible language

Sorry I would speak Irish if I where more competent  :D
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on December 12, 2009, 09:53:40 PM
what language are you 'competent' in?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:55:36 PM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on December 12, 2009, 09:53:40 PM
what language are you 'competent' in?

Post by: Celt_Man on December 13, 2009, 12:06:19 AM
Quote from: boojangles on December 12, 2009, 09:20:51 PM
Bank of Ireland and Ulster bank ATMs lifted last nite in Cootehill. The whole operation took less than 15 minutes. Cootehill has only recently lost its permanent Garda,co-incidence I wonder?

Wheres CeltMan? I wanna know where you were between 5am and 530am this morning?? :D :D

I was in a Grade A Drink induced coma... ya can't prove a thing!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 12:20:21 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:40:15 PM

Good luck to them!!!!!, the stupid f**kers are c***ts, same as those c**tish fckrs that where on the boards of the banks and the dirty politicians. I'm not one bit jealous of the b**tards I'm just angered and frustrated with the fact all these shite drivers, terrorists, criminals, bank board executives, brown bag brigade, dirty politicians (generally FF), fraudsters, joy-riders, drug dealers, pedos, pimps etc. are getting away with it.

I'd build a second Titanic (great jobs boast for Belfast) stick all those fckrs on it, and sail it into a bloody iceberg.

Mayo man, I'm really warming to you  :P  You are probably the maddest b******d on this board... which is good. Especially like it when you are angry and caling me a 'monkey's anus' and tell me to rotate on a hot poker... different class.
Are you a garda or a head master or a prisoner officer by the way? 
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 03:40:16 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 12:20:21 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 12, 2009, 09:40:15 PM

Good luck to them!!!!!, the stupid f**kers are c***ts, same as those c**tish fckrs that where on the boards of the banks and the dirty politicians. I'm not one bit jealous of the b**tards I'm just angered and frustrated with the fact all these shite drivers, terrorists, criminals, bank board executives, brown bag brigade, dirty politicians (generally FF), fraudsters, joy-riders, drug dealers, pedos, pimps etc. are getting away with it.

Mayo man, I'm really warming to you  :P  You are probably the maddest b******d on this board... which is good. Especially like it when you are angry and caling me a 'monkey's anus' and tell me to rotate on a hot poker... different class.
Are you a garda or a head master or a prisoner officer by the way?

None of the above, maybe I'm Paul Gogarty  :D
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 13, 2009, 04:00:05 AM
theres a howl in the wall these hueres could tackle in lugan!
Post by: stew on December 13, 2009, 05:37:03 AM
There's fcuk all cool about a few hoors stealing ATM's, there is no romance in it nor are tey right to do it, fair play to them me bollix, they should be in jail the thieving cnuts.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 02:13:58 PM
... with the bank managers, many people fiddling the DLA (our taxes) for years and f** all wrong with them, catholic hierarchy, gardai who covered for the priests, ... yip, a lot of people shud be in jail alrite... 
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 02:21:30 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 02:13:58 PM
... with the bank managers, many people fiddling the DLA (our taxes) for years and f** all wrong with them, catholic hierarchy, gardai who covered for the priests, ... yip, a lot of people shud be in jail alrite...
I dont think you'd get anyone hear standing up for those people (with the possible exception of DLA fiddlers) or objecting if they're threw in jail so what's your point?
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 04:13:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 02:21:30 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 02:13:58 PM
I dont think you'd get anyone hear standing up for those people (with the possible exception of DLA fiddlers) or objecting if they're threw in jail so what's your point?

Why is DLA fraud okay if people here reckon ATM robberies cost the tax payer. Who do you think keeps DLA fraudsters  ??? really pisses me off when I see someone (and is no shortage of them) working and claiming the DLA and I look at tax off my wages for genuine sick people and Health care. A hierarchy of criminals? and is not about doing the British govt... you can be sure they'd do the same if they were in a United Ireland. At least the ATM robbers have the balls to get the digger and rip the machine out.     
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 04:43:12 PM
I agree with you on DLA fraudsters.
Your talking about a hierarchy of criminals when you think these atm thieves are cool?

You never told me what your point was btw.
Post by: Hardy on December 13, 2009, 04:43:50 PM
On an important point of information - it wasn't Bob who wrote that, it was Woody.
Post by: shambo on December 13, 2009, 04:56:16 PM
I take it no one here download movies that you shouldn't or buys 'suspect' stuff. from a mate in the pub ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 04:57:49 PM
Quote from: shambo on December 13, 2009, 04:56:16 PM
I take it no one here download movies that you shouldn't or buys 'suspect' stuff. from a mate in the pub ;)
Why's the relevant?
Post by: shambo on December 13, 2009, 06:07:20 PM

Why's the relevant?

Posters seemed to be against robbing and stealing, i was just wondering if 'we' are against all forms of stealing.

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 06:44:42 PM
Quote from: shambo on December 13, 2009, 06:07:20 PM

Why's the relevant?

Posters seemed to be against robbing and stealing, i was just wondering if 'we' are against all forms of stealing.
Well all stealing is wrong, I download films and tv shows, I steal them, I'll face the consequences if caught.  I wouldnt buy anything dodgy from someone in a pub though. 

I still don't understand how that's relevant in the context of the thread and people not believing this atm gang to be cool
Post by: shambo on December 13, 2009, 06:52:10 PM
so is DLA fraudsters relevant?

Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 06:54:57 PM
No, it was fox who keeps mentioning other crimes and criminals, I've no idea why. 
Post by: mountainboii on December 13, 2009, 06:55:14 PM
The one in Camlough last night looked like a bit of an amateur job.
Post by: Sandino on December 13, 2009, 07:13:08 PM
The reason we are now talking about other crimes is to take us away from a silly initial statement.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 07:31:20 PM
It appears one of the main suspects in the ATM robberies is a MI5 spy, ha ha, wonder will Fox find it so cool now. Should people grass the grass  :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:13:36 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 07:31:20 PM
It appears one of the main suspects in the ATM robberies is a MI5 spy, ha ha, wonder will Fox find it so cool now. Should people grass the grass  :D

What Sunday rag did you read that in? Let me guess  the Sunday World or News of the World? 

I mention other crimes because people get on their high horse about ATM robbers but are ambivalent about jailing DLA fraudsters, the crooked bankers and as we've seen the garda cover up the church paedophiles... so there must be  a hierarchy of crime as I'm sure they wouldn't cover up the ATM robbers...
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 08:30:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:13:36 PM

What Sunday rag did you read that in? Let me guess  the Sunday World or News of the World? 

I mention other crimes because people get on their high horse about ATM robbers but are ambivalent about jailing DLA fraudsters, the crooked bankers and as we've seen the garda cover up the church paedophiles... so there must be  a hierarchy of crime as I'm sure they wouldn't cover up the ATM robbers...
Who's ambivalent towards that? Name the people here who'd object to any of those being jailed?
Post by: Dougal on December 13, 2009, 08:33:04 PM
im with fox on this one to a certain extent.some balls on them to drive into a town and rip an ATM out of the wall.its wrong,but if you look at it one dimensionally,its pretty f**king cool.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:39:57 PM

Fox I don't think many people are against gaoling the corrupt or those guilty of sex crimes, but You are the one defending one type of criminal, I think most other people here are against all crime. Heard it on i102-i104 I think or maybe it was RTE news cannot remember, more than likely one of the two, did not get a chance to read a paper today. These guys are also guilty of stealing the diggers.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:40:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 08:30:17 PM

Who's ambivalent towards that? Name the people here who'd object to any of those being jailed?

I'm talking about the attitude of society in general and these councillors and MLAs on TV after another ATM is robbed. They are very quiet on the other crimes I mentioned.
Pints... you did say, "I dont think you'd get anyone hear standing up for those people (with the possible exception of DLA fiddlers) or objecting if they're threw in jail so what's your point?"

Why are DLA fraudsters any better than ATM thieves? They have cost the tax payer much
more money and deprived people who are really disabled of their disability cars... one an MLA was highlighted  a few years ago.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:41:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:39:57 PM

Fox I don't think many people are against gaoling the corrupt or those guilty of sex crimes, but You are the one defending one type of criminal, I think most other people here are against all crime. Heard it on i102-i104 I think or maybe it was RTE news cannot remember, more than likely one of the two, did not get a chance to read a paper today. These guys are also guilty of stealing the diggers.

Jees! you're not serious... the diggers too  :P
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 13, 2009, 08:42:22 PM
its about time somebody started robbing banks instead of them robbing us!!!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:43:42 PM
Quote from: Dougal on December 13, 2009, 08:33:04 PM
im with fox on this one to a certain extent.some balls on them to drive into a town and rip an ATM out of the wall.its wrong,but if you look at it one dimensionally,its pretty f**king cool.

Pretty fckn dangerous, I wonder if you bumbed into them would you find it very fckn cool, I put these lads in the same category as the Tiger kidnappers and those that rob security vans, thugs, idiots, deviants and on a one way ticket to hells fire (and some of those pokers I was telling you about). Id remove their nails one by one and add battery acid, then make them listen to Bjork. ps I don't actually believe in Hell, but if there was one, it would be the place for them.
Post by: Dougal on December 13, 2009, 08:46:14 PM
the danger of bumping into them is second dimensional,if you take them things out of it,do you not think it's cool?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:49:28 PM
Quote from: umgolaarmagh on December 13, 2009, 08:42:22 PM
its about time somebody started robbing banks instead of them robbing us!!!!!

Not funny or smart to do that, I used to work in the banks and a had a gun held to me in a raid. If you find robbing banks acceptable, then this is my response to you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-fNPFfzHhU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-fNPFfzHhU)
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:51:48 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:43:42 PM

Pretty fckn dangerous, I wonder if you bumbed into them would you find it very fckn cool, I put these lads in the same category as the Tiger kidnappers and those that rob security vans, thugs, idiots, deviants and on a one way ticket to hells fire (and some of those pokers I was telling you about). Id remove their nails one by one and add battery acid, then make them listen to Bjork. ps I don't actually believe in Hell, but if there was one, it would be the place for them.

No harm on you Mayo man but your messages on the board are full of violence, torture and revenge and you sit in judgement of 'criminals.'  A bit like the priests who spoke of love and the word of God and then beat the children who stepped out of line. In other words... you're full of shit. 
By the way these boys with the diggers aren't holding guns to anyones heads... if they did I wouldn't be impressed at all. We're all tucked up in our beds when they strike. 
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:55:08 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:51:48 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:43:42 PM

No harm on you Mayo man but your messages on the board are full of violence, torture and revenge and you sit in judgement of 'criminals.'  A bit like the priests who spoke of love and the word of God and then beat the children who stepped out of line. In other words... you're full of shit.

I don't advocate violence against these people, but Im expressing my level of anger at criminals in general. I think they are pond scum.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 08:58:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 13, 2009, 08:40:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 13, 2009, 08:30:17 PM

I'm talking about the attitude of society in general and these councillors and MLAs on TV after another ATM is robbed. They are very quiet on the other crimes I mentioned.
Pints... you did say, "I dont think you'd get anyone hear standing up for those people (with the possible exception of DLA fiddlers) or objecting if they're threw in jail so what's your point?"

Why are DLA fraudsters any better than ATM thieves? They have cost the tax payer much
more money and deprived people who are really disabled of their disability cars... one an MLA was highlighted  a few years ago.
I never said DLA fraudsters were any better.  Although they steal from the govt and the tax payer they don't risk injuring or killing others like atm fools. 
You're posts on this are making less and less sense as you go on.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 09:17:17 PM
O I get it Fox these lads should be classed alongside the heroes that rustle cattle, or steal tools from the back of farmer/builders back yards, the boyos who siphon diesel/petrol from fuel lorries, cars or fuel tanks, the upright sons of Erin who only smash one window as they steal your car radio. The fellas who only knick one barrel of beer outside the pub, sure no one will miss it. The brave men who smash windows of schools in the deep night or the lads who road race at 4am. We cannot forget the funny men ringing doorbells of strangers in the middle of the night. Sure if there isn't a sinner about, it's not a crime and no one gets hurt.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 13, 2009, 10:01:29 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 09:17:17 PM
O I get it Fox these lads should be classed alongside the heroes that rustle cattle, or steal tools from the back of farmer/builders back yards, the boyos who siphon diesel/petrol from fuel lorries, cars or fuel tanks, the upright sons of Erin who only smash one window as they steal your car radio. The fellas who only knick one barrel of beer outside the pub, sure no one will miss it. The brave men who smash windows of schools in the deep night or the lads who road race at 4am. We cannot forget the funny men ringing doorbells of strangers in the middle of the night. Sure if there isn't a sinner about, it's not a crime and no one gets hurt.

your slightly over reacting there!!!
Post by: omagh_gael on December 13, 2009, 11:03:51 PM
I see another attempted heist in bessbrook early this morning...I don't know whether I'd say these boys are cool but by f*ck their busy! There'll be some Christmas in those homes!
Post by: omagh_gael on December 13, 2009, 11:19:26 PM
Isn't that every kids dream pressies HS?
Post by: tyssam5 on December 13, 2009, 11:34:58 PM

I heard they always leave a 20 under the seat for the diesel.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 11:42:00 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on December 13, 2009, 11:34:58 PM

I heard they always leave a 20 under the seat for the diesel.

What happens if you don't smoke?
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 14, 2009, 01:30:47 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 13, 2009, 08:55:08 PM

I don't advocate violence against these people, but Im expressing my level of anger at criminals in general. I think they are pond scum.

Nobody cares what you think .
Post by: stephenite on December 14, 2009, 02:00:27 AM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on December 14, 2009, 01:30:47 AM

Or you
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 14, 2009, 02:19:44 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 14, 2009, 02:00:27 AM

Or you

Well aren't you the clever boy.
Post by: stephenite on December 14, 2009, 04:54:53 AM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on December 14, 2009, 02:19:44 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 14, 2009, 02:00:27 AM

Or you

Well aren't you the clever boy.

No
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 14, 2009, 08:41:07 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on December 13, 2009, 11:34:58 PM

Fox I don't think many people are against gaoling the corrupt or those guilty of sex crimes, but You are the one defending one type of criminal, I think most other people here are against all crime. Heard it on i102-i104 I think or maybe it was RTE news cannot remember, more than likely one of the two, did not get a chance to read a paper today. [b]These guys are also guilty of stealing the diggers.[/u][/i][/b]

Yeah but sure there is plenty of diggers / plant machiery lying in yards doing nothing across the north and im sure the owners wouldnt mind the insurance money  ;D
Post by: Bing Crosby . on December 14, 2009, 11:21:21 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 14, 2009, 04:54:53 AM
No

It's a pity for you .

There are plenty of machine yards full up and down the country .At least these visionaries had the nous to get up off their arses and use them . 

Post by: Shortso79 on January 16, 2010, 11:11:53 AM

Digger used to rip ATM from bank in Crossmaglen

Thieves have used a digger to steal an ATM from a bank in Crossmaglen.

It happened at about 0600 GMT on Saturday. The digger was used to pull the cash machine from the wall of the Bank of Ireland at The Square.

They then burned the digger as well as a tractor and trailer used to transport it into the centre of the village.

The robbers took the ATM away in a flat-bed truck. Thirteen cash machines have been stolen across Northern Ireland over the last year.

A reward of up to £25,000 has been offered for anyone who can help catch the criminals targeting cash machines in Northern Ireland.

The money has been offered by Link, the operator of the UK's cash machine network.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8462970.stm
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 11:24:34 AM
Quote from: Shortso79 on January 16, 2010, 11:11:53 AM

It happened at about 0600 GMT on Saturday. The digger was used to pull the cash machine from the wall of the Bank of Ireland at The Square.

They then burned the digger as well as a tractor and trailer used to transport it into the centre of the village.

The robbers took the ATM away in a flat-bed truck. Thirteen cash machines have been stolen across Northern Ireland over the last year.

A reward of up to £25,000 has been offered for anyone who can help catch the criminals targeting cash machines in Northern Ireland.

The money has been offered by Link, the operator of the UK's cash machine network.

100 yards from a police station  :-\  - and I've just heard they drove past the police station on the tractor before burning it out up the road. 

They're getting very cocky. 
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 16, 2010, 11:28:30 AM
They'll not be Short of cash in the Cross tonight!
Post by: Minder on January 16, 2010, 11:52:24 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 16, 2010, 11:28:30 AM
They'll not be Short of cash in the Cross tonight!

Anyone that wasn't involved in stealing it might
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2010, 11:55:06 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 11:24:34 AM

100 yards from a police station  :-\  - and I've just heard they drove past the police station on the tractor before burning it out up the road. 

It's a bit mental alright. Is the Police Station in Cross manned during the night?  I know it's one of the ones not open to the public during the night, but is there anyone on duty there?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:06:18 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 16, 2010, 11:55:06 AM

It's a bit mental alright. Is the Police Station in Cross manned during the night?  I know it's one of the ones not open to the public during the night, but is there anyone on duty there?
I dont think it was ever confirmed public but I think it's confirmed now.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2010, 12:19:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:06:18 PM

The opening hours for all police stations is on the PSNI site (Cross open 8am to midnight) - i take it you're referring to whether they're manned or not when closed?

I wouldn't be familiar with Crossmaglen - do people live beside this bank machine? Would it be feasible that this could have happened without people being disturbed?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 16, 2010, 12:21:42 PM
(http://www.victims.org.uk/borucki.jpg)

It wouldn't have happened if they had kept this beauty :P

Ballsy or stupid, the only people this will effect though are the people of Cross who can't get money out of the machine and whose bank charges will rise in the future to cover extra insurance because of these "heroes" ::)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 16, 2010, 12:23:41 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 16, 2010, 12:19:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:06:18 PM

The opening hours for all police stations is on the PSNI site (Cross open 8am to midnight) - i take it you're referring to whether they're manned or not when closed?

I wouldn't be familiar with Crossmaglen - do people live beside this bank machine? Would it be feasible that this could have happened without people being disturbed?

There would be people living next door to the bank, it is hard to believe that they were not woken up by the commotion.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:30:13 PM
Yeah I meant manned maguire.

BC, carraghers had to be woken by that racket, there's a flat over the chinese as well isn't there, do they stay there or someone else?
You'd think the rest of the sqaure would hear it too though. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 16, 2010, 12:33:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:30:13 PM
Yeah I meant manned maguire.

BC, carraghers had to be woken by that racket, there's a flat over the chinese as well isn't there, do they stay there or someone else?
You'd think the rest of the sqaure would hear it too though. 

I would say the whole of the Square would have heard something but it wouldn't be the first time that something happened that no one saw.
Post by: haranguerer on January 16, 2010, 12:50:18 PM
I dont think it bothers them, or most people to be honest, I know that when they lifted the one in Newtownbutler half the town were watching them - but sure it took the cops over 12 hours to land anyway ( :D).....
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:58:21 PM
It might bother the people who can't get money out - and God knows how long it will take to get another one, if we ever do -  and I'm assuming it wasn't their own digger, tractor and trailor they burned out.
Post by: Ulick on January 16, 2010, 01:00:59 PM
Am I the only one who thinks these are so highly organised they are probably being carried out by our dissident friends?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 01:01:27 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8462970.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8462970.stm)

Looks like they used the tractor and trailor to block police access
Post by: Gaffer on January 16, 2010, 01:14:22 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:58:21 PM
It might bother the people who can't get money out - and God knows how long it will take to get another one, if we ever do -  and I'm assuming it wasn't their own digger, tractor and trailor they burned out.

Exactly !!! The people who are left with no machinery for their work and the hassle they ll have to got through to get them replaced. No one with any brain can say that this is a victimless crime.
Post by: haranguerer on January 16, 2010, 03:09:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 16, 2010, 12:58:21 PM

I meant in terms of trying to stop them - I think the perpretators know that most people, while aware that its going to cause them inconvenience, aren't going to feel strongly enough about it to risk intervening, so they can cause as much noise as they like.
Post by: Hardy on January 16, 2010, 04:05:27 PM
Quote from: Ulick on January 16, 2010, 01:00:59 PM
Am I the only one who thinks these are so highly organised they are probably being carried out by our dissident friends?

I'd imagine you are. If they are highly organised, they are probably not being carried out by the dissident morons.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 16, 2010, 04:16:49 PM
I'm saying nothing   ::)

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 19, 2010, 01:12:05 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/8467588.stm

About time they got someone, hopefully the rest will follow.
Post by: Aerlik on January 19, 2010, 02:04:27 PM
the banks are the real robbers...   Bob Dylan said it... 'some rob you with a shotgun and others with a fountain pen'   

My late uncle was a Garda officer and he used to say that banks weren't feckin robbed half enough (in his broad Cashel accent).  We used to crack up when he started.
Post by: Maiden1 on January 19, 2010, 02:25:54 PM
How to f&*k do you drive a digger down the main street and crash it into a wall then make a clean get away in a flat bed truck?  It just doesn't make sense and the police station is just down the road but they blocked the police from getting to them by parking the tractor in the road.  It wasn't like they escaped in a Ferrari or anything.  Is there only 1 road into town, even if one road was blocked surely there must be another road close by they could have used to get to the town centre.  If someone said to me lets drive into town in a tractor and steal a bank machine I would ask them to come back to me when they came up with a better plan.

Do these cashpoint machines not have some sort of GPS on them so that they can be located if anyone tries to drive off with one.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2010, 03:03:50 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 16, 2010, 04:16:49 PM

Too late fox, you've already registered your respect and admiration for these drugs-debts-funders.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 19, 2010, 03:10:09 PM
Quote from: Ulick on January 16, 2010, 01:00:59 PM
What, Republicans subverting their noble heritage and traditions by engaging in criminal activities? Hard to believe, surely... ::)

Anyhow, as Hardy points out above, these so-called Dissidents do not appear to be sufficiently well organised, if their past history is anything to go by.

No, if I were of a mind to construct some sort of conspiracy, I'd look to pin it on some other organisation which had a track record of Northern Bank robbery, as well as a reputation for efficiency of operation. Any suggestions at to who might fit such a description, DonaghUlick?
Post by: bingobus on January 19, 2010, 03:35:05 PM
As someone pointed out, a few years back the digger, tractor and trailer would have been worth a good few pound without have them to burn them out on the spot.

I wonder if a few builders/plant hire places have received a few quid in cash and an insurance claim for the "use" of their "stolen" plant*

* - disclaimer, pure idel speculation but makes for good reading  :o
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 19, 2010, 03:56:39 PM
Quote from: bingobus on January 19, 2010, 03:35:05 PM
As someone pointed out, a few years back the digger, tractor and trailer would have been worth a good few pound without have them to burn them out on the spot.

I wonder if a few builders/plant hire places have received a few quid in cash and an insurance claim for the "use" of their "stolen" plant*

* - disclaimer, pure idel speculation but makes for good reading  :o

It really does!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 14, 2010, 11:38:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2010, 03:03:50 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 16, 2010, 04:16:49 PM

Too late fox, you've already registered your respect and admiration for these drugs-debts-funders.

Speculation... you have no idea who is doing it.
Post by: gerry on February 18, 2010, 01:03:31 PM
i see foxs mates got out today, i bet he is glad

Four arrests follow ATM thefts

Police investigating the theft of ATMs and related criminal activity have arrested four men in County Tyrone.

Two men, aged 27 and 19 were arrested in Fintona and a 20-year-old man was arrested in Fivemiletown.

A 35-year-old man was also arrested in Dungannon.

Police said the four men were being held at stations in Dungannon and Omagh. The police said their investigations were continuing.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 23, 2010, 05:32:58 PM
No-one charged yet...

10.30 tonight BBC 1 Spotlight:  Hole in the Wall   Hard-hitting investigations on the major stories affecting life in Northern Ireland. Stephen Dempster investigates the real cost of the recent spate of ATM robberies.
The real cost... wow  :o
Post by: hairyhog on February 23, 2010, 05:44:48 PM
Quote from: gerry on February 18, 2010, 01:03:31 PM
i see foxs mates got out today, i bet he is glad

Four arrests follow ATM thefts

Police investigating the theft of ATMs and related criminal activity have arrested four men in County Tyrone.

Two men, aged 27 and 19 were arrested in Fintona and a 20-year-old man was arrested in Fivemiletown.

A 35-year-old man was also arrested in Dungannon.

Police said the four men were being held at stations in Dungannon and Omagh. The police said their investigations were continuing.

I would be surprised if any of these lads were linked to dissident republicans considering at least two of them are from the other side of the house so to speak. They are pretty notorious for other criminality so if they were involved in any ATM thefts i would presume it was more opportunistic or copycat style that direct orders from paramilitaries.  Questioning them will hardly help find the offenders in the border areas
Post by: leenie on February 23, 2010, 11:09:41 PM
had a good giggle at the 6 police landrovers driving past kellys inn while their was a heist in action....

longfox if ye think atm heists are cool, you should see eglish novelty act, they won the county there on sunday.... very funny!
Post by: ziggysego on March 06, 2010, 03:01:07 PM
The Russians are doing it their way!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/8553229.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/8553229.stm)
Post by: haranguerer on November 13, 2010, 10:38:41 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1113/castleisland.html
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 13, 2010, 11:01:19 PM
One down in Kerry now, robbing from the peoples banks  >:(
Post by: haranguerer on November 13, 2010, 11:09:44 PM
Its all the same gang - i dont know how you missed the main part of that story though - they've been caught
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 13, 2010, 11:11:18 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 13, 2010, 11:09:44 PM
Its all the same gang - i dont know how you missed the main part of that story though - they've been caught

Ya I heard they had got people for questioning alright.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 14, 2010, 07:07:02 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 13, 2010, 11:11:18 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 13, 2010, 11:09:44 PM

Ya I heard they had got people for questioning alright.

Two boys from the north charged...one from Mayobridge and the other's from Banbridge

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1114/atmraid.html
Post by: JUst retired on November 14, 2010, 08:33:55 PM
They were down trying to steal a big cup,but got the wrong county. ;D
Post by: twotwocharlie on November 14, 2010, 09:13:21 PM
they should have gone to www.winonehundredthousand.ie. Much safer for just  20euro.