Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:39:53 PM

Poll
Question: What do you call the 26th December?
Option 1: St. Stephen's Day votes: 27
Option 2: Boxing Day votes: 15
Option 3: Other votes: 1
Title: St. Stephen's Day,Boxing Day
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:39:53 PM
St. Stephen's Day for me
Title: Re: St. Stephen's Day,Boxing Day
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 02:41:50 PM
This again, who cares?

I'd say boxing day because it rolls of the tongue easier than St stephen's day.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:43:12 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 02:41:50 PM
This again, who cares?

I'd say boxing day because it rolls of the tongue easier than St stephen's day.

Who cares about any poll that is added to this forum?
I'm just curious if thats alright with you
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 02:44:29 PM
Was always the wren's day in my house growing up.

I've come around to calling it the King George day at Kempton in recent years though!  ;)
Post by: comethekingdom on December 05, 2009, 02:46:14 PM
Boxing day seems to be a real British/Nordie thing.
Cant stand St Stephens day being called 'Boxing Day' myself.
Heard Matt Cooper on Today FM correcting some manager (who is English) of a dept store opening on 26th December about not calling St Stephens day Boxing day in Ireland.
Post by: ballinaman on December 05, 2009, 02:47:57 PM
Stephens-a-z-s Day always!!.........Boxing Day?? It's defined as "the Anglo-Saxon tradition giving seasonal gifts (in the form of a "Christmas box") to less wealthy people and slaves. In the United Kingdom this was later extended to various workpeople such as labourers, servants, tradespeople and postal workers."
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on December 05, 2009, 02:48:48 PM
if we hadn't have been sold out we maybe wouldn't be calling it boxing day
Post by: redhugh on December 05, 2009, 02:49:25 PM
Going on the lash in the Moy day.Best rip of the year. ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:49:45 PM
Quote from: windyshepardhenderson on December 05, 2009, 02:48:48 PM
No we all might have been
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:57:01 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 02:44:29 PM

I've come around to calling it the King George day at Kempton in recent years though!  ;)

Looks like Donnelly's Hollow has got this one right... pagans  :o

St. Stephen's Day is a national holiday in Ireland, but, the celebrations have little connection to the Saint.
In Ireland, St. Stephen's Day is the day for "Hunting the Wren" or "Going on the Wren." Originally, groups of small boys would hunt for a wren, and then chase the bird until they either have caught it or it has died from exhaustion. The dead bird was tied to the top of a pole or holly bush, which was decorated with ribbons or colored paper.
Early in the morning the wren was carried from house to house by the boys, who wore straw masks or blackened their faces with burnt cork, and dressed in old clothes.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 02:58:04 PM
Took the words out of my mouth.

Quite ironic the only time the freestaters embrace their Irishness is when someone calls the 26th December boxing day. 
Post by: armaghniac on December 05, 2009, 03:03:25 PM
There is a touch of the Celtic jersey outside Croke Pk about this, the North is full of Sinn Féin "patriots" going on about "Boxing" day.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 05, 2009, 03:03:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 02:58:04 PM

Quite ironic the only time the freestaters embrace their Irishness is when someone calls the 26th December boxing day.

And the nordies embrace their Britishness :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 05, 2009, 03:08:47 PM
Always been St Stephen's Day around here. Or Wren's day although that is dying out a little.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 03:09:29 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:57:01 PM

St. Stephen's Day is a national holiday in Ireland, but, the celebrations have little connection to the Saint.
In Ireland, St. Stephen's Day is the day for "Hunting the Wren" or "Going on the Wren." Originally, groups of small boys would hunt for a wren, and then chase the bird until they either have caught it or it has died from exhaustion. The dead bird was tied to the top of a pole or holly bush, which was decorated with ribbons or colored paper.
Early in the morning the wren was carried from house to house by the boys, who wore straw masks or blackened their faces with burnt cork, and dressed in old clothes.

Bout the only thing I've ever got right Fox!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 03:10:36 PM
don't be hard on yerself... that's what we are here for  :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:14:38 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 05, 2009, 03:03:25 PM
There is a touch of the Celtic jersey outside Croke Pk about this, the North is full of Sinn Féin "patriots" going on about "Boxing" day.
Bigger battles to be fought and won than a name on some day. 
Freestaters going on about st stephen's day when referring to English soccer teams as "we", wearing English soccer shirts, reading the sun and the mirror, watching emerdale and eastenders or some game show that seems very similar to an english game show.  ::)
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 05, 2009, 03:17:36 PM
pints you seem a right cranky hoor! :D
Ye nordies get upset over the smallest things
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:18:38 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 05, 2009, 03:17:36 PM
It's not the nordies getting worked up over the name of some day.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 05, 2009, 03:19:40 PM
Toy meltdown day.

Never called it anything but it was the day we went on the Ran.  Later realised it was the Wren not the Ran
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 05, 2009, 03:21:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:18:38 PM

The only one getting worked up is you  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:25:42 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 05, 2009, 03:21:17 PM

The only one getting worked up is you  :D
Hardly
Post by: comethekingdom on December 05, 2009, 03:38:32 PM

I dont think I've ever heard a nordie call it anything other than 'Boxing' day
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:40:32 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 05, 2009, 03:38:32 PM

I dont think I've ever heard a nordie call it anything other than 'Boxing' day
I have
Post by: turk on December 05, 2009, 03:40:55 PM

How did they catch these wrens? Surely the wren would just fly away or go up a tree?
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 05, 2009, 04:01:47 PM
Is known as St Stephens day about our country but some of the protestants often call it boxing day, makes no odds to me what it is called. The wren boys still goes on about many places in Cavan, always found them more scary than the halloween trick or treaters for some reason. Never seen them with a wren though!
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on December 05, 2009, 04:14:06 PM
I call it boxing day, cuz thats what it says on the top of the page in the TV guide!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 04:16:31 PM
Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on December 05, 2009, 04:14:06 PM
I call it boxing day, cuz thats what it says on the top of the page in the TV guide!!

... when you are checking out wat time Match of the Day is on at  ::)
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 04:39:23 PM

No you lot get worked up about when the southern state is called Ireland .
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 05:16:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 04:39:23 PM

Hardly worked up, just point out how stupid it is and only a dip shit would refer to part of the country as "Ireland"
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 05:18:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 05:16:22 PM

Hardly worked up, just point out how stupid it is and only a dip shit would refer to part of the country as "Ireland"

Well call a vote and call your part of the Island what ever the hell you like but down here in Ireland I'm happy enough to call it Ireland.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 05:22:43 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 05:18:14 PM

Well call a vote and call your part of the Island what ever the hell you like but down here in Ireland I'm happy enough to call it Ireland.
What  ???
Post by: redhugh on December 05, 2009, 05:28:54 PM

WTF is that supposed to mean??
Post by: ballinaman on December 05, 2009, 05:30:23 PM

Bollox.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 05, 2009, 05:31:21 PM

What is wrong with you, apart from the obvious that is?
Post by: comethekingdom on December 05, 2009, 05:31:55 PM
For me Ireland is Ireland - whether you are in Co Kerry or Co Antrim. I'd treat all people that live on the island as Irish although you'll have a minority in the 6 counties who will never acknowledge themselves as Irish only ever as Northern Irish or British but sure thats their own loss isn't it.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 05, 2009, 05:34:34 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 05, 2009, 05:31:55 PM
For me Ireland is Ireland - whether you are in Co Kerry or Co Antrim. I'd treat all people that live on the island as Irish although you'll have a minority in the 6 counties who will never acknowledge themselves as Irish only ever as Northern Irish or British but sure thats their own loss isn't it.
I'd say that's the way sensible people look at it, whatever their nationality and whereever they live
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 05:38:43 PM
What has all this got to do with the Wren's Day?!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 05:39:08 PM

Strange then when you did have a vote you elected a president from another country  :D
Post by: Rossfan on December 05, 2009, 05:40:32 PM
Mary Leneghan is on of us ( Rossie ;))
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 05:40:35 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 05:39:08 PM

Strange then when you did have a vote you elected a president from another country  :D

I think Gnevin would have been too young to vote back then
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:22:51 PM

Sure it's a fact that nobody can deny. In Mayo its St.Stephens day or sometimes Wren Day ("Wran Day"), you would probably get spit on in Mayo for calling it Boxing Day. Counldn't believe my ears when a friend told me he saw a GAA club up in Belfast with a sign advertising GAA Boxing Day fundraising a few years back.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:25:10 PM

Its the countries name FFS, look Bunreacht na hEireann and you will see its Ireland or Eire, the Republic of Ireland is a soccer team not a country and the Irish Free State does not exist anymore. Stick to the facts.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:30:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:25:10 PM

Its the countries name FFS, look Bunreacht na hEireann and you will see its Ireland or Eire, the Republic of Ireland is a soccer team not a country and the Irish Free State does not exist anymore. Stick to the facts.
Irleand has 32 counties, not the 26 you're talking about.  It doesnt even make sense. I don't care what sell outs and dip shits think. 

Btw, you'd get spat on in Mayo for referring to the 26th December as boxing day?  That's funny. Where were all you true Irish boys when there were real causes to fight for?
Post by: Celt_Man on December 05, 2009, 06:31:32 PM
It'd be Stephen's Day around my part of the country, it's only boxing night after the disco in the early hours of the next day  ;D - drinking all day doesn't agree with some people and then the rows start!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:38:11 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:30:01 PM

Irleand has 32 counties, not the 26 you're talking about.  It doesnt even make sense. I don't care what sell outs and dip shits think. 

Btw, you'd get spat on in Mayo for referring to the 26th December as boxing day?  That's funny. Where were all you true Irish boys when there were real causes to fight for?

Makes perfect sense, Ireland has two correct definitions, Ireland is a country, Ireland is also an Island. FACT. I really don't care what someone with 24-7_365 male version of PMS thinks either.

Yawn, make love not war, shag more & out vote them, don't out shoot/bomb them.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 05, 2009, 06:41:22 PM

That'd go well with your current religious views fox.  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:42:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:38:11 PM

Makes perfect sense, Ireland has two correct definitions, Ireland is a country, Ireland is also an Island. FACT. I really don't care what someone with 24-7_365 male version of PMS thinks either.

Typical cowards response but I suppose it'd be easier to brag about spitting at someone for using the term "boxing day"  ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:47:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:42:30 PM

Typical cowards response but I suppose it'd be easier to brag about spitting at someone for using the term "boxing day"  ::)

I always considered those who resort to or support violence as the coward.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:52:48 PM
Really? So those who fought in wars, home and abroad  were all cowards?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:54:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:52:48 PM

Yip yip yip whatever Pints, your some grumpy git.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:55:31 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:54:44 PM

::) I think you're up there with Gnevin
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:56:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:55:31 PM

Don't you mean down here.
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 06:57:41 PM

Ireland the island has 32 historic counties. You lot are more than welcome to join us in Ireland the state when you are ready.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 07:02:21 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:56:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 06:55:31 PM

Don't you mean down here.
No, up there - in cloud cuckoo land
Post by: takeyourownpath on December 05, 2009, 08:37:14 PM
to get this poll back on track!
i would normally call it boxin day, just cause i'm a nordie, accordin to some of the people on here.. ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 08:40:15 PM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on December 05, 2009, 08:37:14 PM
i would normally call it boxin day, just cause i'm a nordie, accordin to some of the people on here.. ::)

Well it must be because you are a Nordie,as I don't know one Southern Irish(or free stater as the nordies like to call us) person that would call it Boxing Day...
Is there anyone out there from the 26 that does? please step forward..........

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 08:44:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 08:40:15 PM

Well it must be because you are a Nordie,as I don't know one Southern Irish(or free stater as the nordies like to call us) person that would call it Boxing Day...

I met one once, I was shocked  :o  Then again they were a Celtic jersey wearing, Premiership fanatic, anti-GAA, anti-Irish lanuage individual from a certain East Coast Leinster county.
Post by: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 08:47:03 PM

Actually quite a few do round here, I always thought it much less of a mouthful
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 08:47:53 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 08:47:03 PM

Where is round here?
Post by: takeyourownpath on December 05, 2009, 08:50:00 PM
there's a few that have stepped forward from the great 26.
there's plenty of people from the north that call it st. stephens day too you know, it's not all that unheard of! SHOCKER
Post by: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:18:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 08:47:53 PM

Where is round here?

Its in the 26 u talk about, further north and a smidgen to the right. I use both regularly, I do remember the auld fella correcting me every time a said "Boxing Day" when I was a kid though  :)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:20:02 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:18:45 PM

Where is round here?

Its in the 26 u talk about, further north and a smidgen to the right. I use both regularly, I do remember the auld fella correcting me every time a said "Boxing Day" when I was a kid though  :)

Smart man your Da,you should listen to him more often
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:22:55 PM

Thats a classic line  :D :D
Post by: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:25:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:20:02 PM

Where is round here?

Died 5 years ago mate...

SeeI can use the emotive stuff too
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:27:37 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:25:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:20:02 PM

Where is round here?

Died 5 years ago mate...

SeeI can use the emotive stuff too

I'll change it to "should have" listened to him so..
Still sounded like a smart man though
Post by: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:47:50 PM
Does it annoy you to hear it called Boxing Day? There are loads of things from our colonial past that annoy me but I can say with my hand on my heart that Boxing Day isn't one of them. One thing that does annoy me though is that I'll be back at work at 10.30 that morning!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:49:40 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:47:50 PM
Does it annoy you to hear it called Boxing Day? There are loads of things from our colonial past that annoy me but I can say with my hand on my heart that Boxing Day isn't one of them. One thing that does annoy me though is that I'll be back at work at 10.30 that morning!!!

Couldn't give a f**k what anyone calls it to be totally honest  :D
I was just bored....
Post by: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:55:44 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 09:49:40 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on December 05, 2009, 09:47:50 PM

Couldn't give a f**k what anyone calls it to be totally honest  :D
I was just bored....

Hilarious
Post by: Premier Emperor on December 05, 2009, 11:43:52 PM
Any Southerner who calls it "Boxing Day" should be whipped.
In the North it is coming at you from all the British tv stations, so people are bound to accidentally use the phrase.
There is no excuse down South though!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 11:58:15 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on December 05, 2009, 11:43:52 PM
In the North it is coming at you from all the British tv stations, so people are bound to accidentally use the phrase.

I spent a while in that great bastion of Irishness, south Tipperary  ::) with its Gladstone and Queen Streets in Clonmel and Norman Festival in Cahir. Everyone wearing their English premiership tops and soccer more popular than Gaelic games... more English than Croydon  ;)
Post by: Premier Emperor on December 05, 2009, 11:59:35 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 11:58:15 PM

I spent a while in that great bastion of Irishness, south Tipperary  ::) with its Gladstone and Queen Streets in Clonmel and Norman Festival in Cahir. Everyone wearing their English premiership tops and soccer more popular than Gaelic games... more English than Croydon  ;)
And how many people did you hear say Boxing Day?
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on December 06, 2009, 12:08:37 AM

Fox you are a awful idiot :D 

I think people saying boxing day is as bad as saying LondonDerry
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 06, 2009, 12:16:38 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on December 05, 2009, 11:59:35 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 11:58:15 PM

And how many people did you hear say Boxing Day?

Was hard to understand a word they said, 'dis and dat and I tink and the sham with de gammy glimmer'  ???
Post by: Gnevin on December 06, 2009, 12:34:25 PM

We get the British Channels  down south .While the majority of them up north can get RTÉ so that doesn't really fly
Post by: Mario on December 06, 2009, 12:42:32 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 06, 2009, 12:34:25 PM

We get the British Channels  down south .While the majority of them up north can get RTÉ so that doesn't really fly
In the last 10 years this is the case, i remember when i was younger most households wouldn't have access to RTE, similarly when i went on Holidays to the South, very rarely had you access to British TV.

Post by: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:16:38 PM
Why would anyone from Ireland call it Boxing Day???
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2009, 01:19:18 PM
Quote from: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:16:38 PM
Why not? Who cares?
Why would someone who's not religious call it St Stephen's day?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:22:08 PM

Its always boxing day(and stabbing/shooting day) around your area of Finglas  :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 06, 2009, 01:24:19 PM
Quote from: Mario on December 06, 2009, 12:42:32 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 06, 2009, 12:34:25 PM

In the last 10 years this is the case, i remember when i was younger most households wouldn't have access to RTE, similarly when i went on Holidays to the South, very rarely had you access to British TV.

Last ten years my arse... there were all the stations including SKY in the 'south' way back 20 years ago... I remember watching 1989 Liverpool - Arsenel last league game live in Tipperary and it wern't on RTE.  Also have watched RTE up here for far longer than 20 years... some great movies on Boxing day too  8)
Post by: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:27:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2009, 01:19:18 PM
Why not? Who cares?

because its not boxing day, this is the first time i've ever heard people talkinga bout this...maybe for the northern lads its a bit different i guess
Post by: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:28:12 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:22:08 PM

Its always boxing day(and stabbing/shooting day) around your area of Finglas  :D

is that not every day in Finglas?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:28:40 PM
Quote from: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:28:12 PM

Thats what I said...
But you live there so you should know
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2009, 01:32:10 PM
Quote from: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:27:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 06, 2009, 01:19:18 PM
Why not? Who cares?

because its not boxing day, this is the first time i've ever heard people talkinga bout this...maybe for the northern lads its a bit different i guess
and everyone who calls it St Stephen's day has a lot of heed on St Stephen? e.g. Gnevin

btw it's not boxing day or wren day anywhere anymore either
Post by: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:28:40 PM

Thats what I said...

yeah LL they have broadband in Finglas  ;)   you'd fit in well out there though as its quite like the English city of Liverpool you love so much except they aint shot any kids in finglas yet
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:34:44 PM
Quote from: Tankie on December 06, 2009, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 06, 2009, 01:28:40 PM

Thats what I said...

yeah LL they have broadband in Finglas  ;)   you'd fit in well out there though as its quite like the English city of Liverpool you love so much except they aint shot any kids in finglas yet

I don't love the City of Liverpool where have I ever said that?