GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2007, 12:35:10 AM

Title: GAA SPREADS - Final Reminder
Post by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2007, 12:35:10 AM
Just wanted to give you all a final reminder that if you want to enter the football competition you need to get your entries in by 3pm on Saturday....

The site is located at www.gaaspreads.com.  If you need to register all the info is contained on the menus on the left side of the page.

For those of you new to this lark, this is a competition we have for the league and championship, we place a spread on each game to try and make it more difficult to predict the winner so for example the spread on Sligo V Tipperary (sorry folks) is Sligo by 1.5 points.  You should only select Sligo if you think they will win by at least two points and cover the 1.5 point spread.  Each game correctly picked gives you one point with zero for an incorrect pick.  You can also pick one game as your bonus game where if you pick the winner (against the spread) you get three points instead of one, however if you pick the losing team 2 points are deducted from your score.

So far we have 174 entries which is excellent.  Good luck to all................

Title: Re: GAA SPREADS - Final Reminder
Post by: Spiritof98 on February 02, 2007, 08:13:36 AM
Thats me logged on, i'm on the Armagh table is there a gaaboard mini league

Went for Cavan as my bonus pick.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 02, 2007, 09:46:03 AM
Cheers Sligoman.  The only difficulty I'm having with it is wading through the tons of emails I get.  Most of them seem to be replicated.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2007, 02:26:46 PM
Yeah I know there's some problem with the mail system - Dicky Rock is working on fixing that..

If my calculations are correct there will be 118 games in the league so lots to look forward to.
Title: Well Dicky
Post by: realredhandfan on February 02, 2007, 03:18:16 PM
Ive entered but i dont have a clue what I actually did, nor do I know what a spread is yet.  And i think Ive entered the right mini league.  If Ive made mistakes maybe Im just not as clever as the rest of you except maybe that is for Armagh 4samagain
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 02, 2007, 03:24:14 PM
Is it to compicated. You should just be able to pick a winner or a draw istead of having to add all the 1/2 pts and so on.
Post by: heganboy on February 02, 2007, 03:31:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on February 02, 2007, 03:24:14 PM
Is it to compicated. You should just be able to pick a winner or a draw istead of having to add all the 1/2 pts and so on.
Are you kidding me?
maybe you should go try the disney discussion forum
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 02, 2007, 03:39:50 PM
Hey? what do you mean Haganbog?
Post by: Orior on February 02, 2007, 05:00:40 PM
You dont have to add anything ArmaghforSam.

Just decide if Kildare will win by 2 points or not. Its a yes or no answer!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on February 02, 2007, 05:09:31 PM
Rite so im with u now. the half pts dont really count.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2007, 10:59:12 PM
The half point is added to make sure that there is a winner for each game.

I forgot to mention that you can also choose a draw if you would like - If you choose a draw we ignore the spread and you get two points for a correct pick..

All the rules are on the site...

At this point we have 267 Entries which is way above prior competitions so we thank you all...............
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 03, 2007, 12:55:08 AM
Have entered now how the f*uk do i make my bets?????????????
Post by: Uladh on February 03, 2007, 10:19:37 AM

there should be a "change your picks" option at the bottom at the page where this weekend's fixtures are listed
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 03, 2007, 11:14:52 AM
Thanks Uladh, I managed to work it out last night, always a bad idea mixing beer and computers!!  ;)
Post by: Mac hinery on February 03, 2007, 05:29:28 PM
Sligoman2, I missed the 3 oclock close time can you add these in for me. Thanks.

Donegal     
Tyrone    
Kerry    
Fermanagh
Armagh    
Derry
Louth
Laois    
Carlow
Offaly    
Monaghan    Bonus
London
Antrim    
Sligo    
Waterford
Cavan    
Post by: Orior on February 03, 2007, 11:33:17 PM
Great start for me - NOT!. I had picked Cork, Dublin and bonused on Meath!
Post by: LaurelEye on February 05, 2007, 12:04:42 AM
Sligoman2, just looking at the spreads there - and good job in getting them up so quickly - but is the Cork-Donegal match not wrong? Surely the winner should be Donegal?
Post by: stephenite on February 05, 2007, 12:06:42 AM
Got hammered >:( Fecking Sligo not able to beat Tipp, great bonus selection there
Post by: Bod Mor on February 05, 2007, 12:09:30 AM
Deadly, bonused on Leitrim to beat Offaly!
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 05, 2007, 08:27:44 AM
SM2 Cork v Donegal wrong.
Post by: ardal on February 05, 2007, 08:52:03 AM
Ref Cork vs Donegal. SM2's decision should be final; feck whether it's correct or not, (of course I'm not saying this because I picked Cork!)
Post by: sligoman2 on February 06, 2007, 02:46:18 AM
Mac - someone has already input your picks.

Cork and Donegal result has also been corrected.

Brutal start for me as well.  5 points...  Lots of upsets
Post by: bennydorano on February 06, 2007, 08:59:10 AM
I had Fermanagh as my bonus, what's the story there, just added if they win?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2007, 09:09:47 AM
I was the same as Benny. Had Fermanagh as the bonus. The game is Sunday two weeks so I think, in fairness, the picks should be used here.
Post by: Orior on February 06, 2007, 11:51:49 PM
Message from GAASpreads - Bandwidth exceeded  :(
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 07, 2007, 12:46:10 AM
Quote from: Orior on February 06, 2007, 11:51:49 PM
Message from GAASpreads - Bandwidth exceeded  :(
What does this mean? Do they not have an elastic bandwidth? ???
Post by: DickyRock on February 07, 2007, 10:59:30 AM
Bandwidth problem sorted this morning. Few more coins in the meter.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 07, 2007, 11:47:58 AM
Allow me to be awkward but I think the original picks from last Sun should carry into the refixture of the Fermanagh v Limerick game to cater for the lads who missed out on the chance of +2 points (-2 as well so I may be shooting myself in the foot but I am willing to take the risk)

I'll throw a few bob into the meter later on.

(Nobody came back to me with my offer of a wee prize for the winner)

Post by: realredhandfan on February 07, 2007, 01:09:22 PM
Dicky.  Can i also be entered into the Tyrone mini table  Please.
Post by: Spiritof98 on February 21, 2007, 11:38:36 AM
Week 3 now in lads
Post by: paddypastit on February 25, 2007, 10:56:55 AM
Apologies - missed the deadline as was away Thurs and Fri and forgot the Sat game.

I would have gone fro Tyrone - one down!!

f possible can I be put down for the others as follows. If not - no worries

Laois,
Donegal (bonus)
Fermanagh
Mayo
Galway
Kildare
Down
Monaghan
Roscommon
Offaly
Leitrim
Waterford
Cavan
Sligo
Wicklow
Post by: DickyRock on February 26, 2007, 10:08:54 PM
Results are up. Very bad week for myself. Went from joint 2 to 29th

Sorry  about the delay - busy day at work.
Post by: Mid Mon on February 27, 2007, 11:04:06 AM
what happens with the london letrim match?
Post by: DickyRock on February 27, 2007, 12:26:42 PM
Postponsed as far a I know. Let me know if it wasnt
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 27, 2007, 07:12:23 PM
What about next weeks hurling spreads? When will they be up?
Post by: heganboy on February 27, 2007, 07:29:12 PM
Dicky rock, about the London game, I had it down for my bonus- what happens?
Post by: sligoman2 on March 01, 2007, 01:03:18 PM
Any game that has been postponed will be updated when the game has been played..
Post by: sligoman2 on March 08, 2007, 02:37:06 PM
Just a reminder that the spreads for week four of the NFL are now posted. It closes at 1 on Saturday
Post by: dubsnsubs on March 10, 2007, 01:20:42 PM
Just missed the deadline...much obliged if these pick could be included. Thanks in advance.

Limerick
Cavan (Bonus)
Meath
Mayo
Armagh
Kildare
Laois
Louth
Monaghan
Offlay
Roscommon
Antrim
Wicklow
Dublin
Donegal
Longford
Post by: Homer on March 10, 2007, 03:58:12 PM
Shite - missed em too. username is CavanHomer, cheers.

Kerry
Cavan
Meath (bonus)
Mayo
Armagh
Galway
Louth
Monaghan
Offaly
Roscommon
Wexford
Wicklow
Cork
Donegal
Longford
Post by: Mac hinery on March 10, 2007, 04:40:22 PM
Same story, any chance these can be added?  :)  Thanks

Kerry
Cavan
Tipperary    
Mayo
Derry    
Galway
Laois
Westmeath    
Monaghan (bonus)
Offaly
Roscommon    
Antrim
Waterford
Dublin
Donegal    
Longford
Post by: sligoman2 on March 21, 2007, 01:55:06 PM
I've posted the spreads for week 5.

MacHinery et al - did anyone update your picks?

Post by: Homer on March 21, 2007, 02:02:48 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 21, 2007, 01:55:06 PM

Not for me anyway but I only won about 9 points or so, so no worry on my part.
Post by: Spiritof98 on March 21, 2007, 02:47:24 PM
 I missed the last week there lads does it leave me out?
Post by: Mac hinery on March 22, 2007, 10:47:11 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 21, 2007, 01:55:06 PM

Nope, I thought maybe it was a management decision to shake up the last minute punters that miss the deadline by not updating their picks.  I think it cost me my knockout place too.
Post by: sligoman2 on March 24, 2007, 01:26:36 AM
I've updated everyones picks..

This is the last time as it probably has sent out a sight of emails

sorry in advance if it has
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 24, 2007, 11:10:31 AM
Is it just me or does the deadline get earlier every saturday????

By the way my apoligises to my Dun na nGall brethern, I missed a week and have made bad bonus choices causing our mini county league to suffer in the standings!
Post by: LaurelEye on March 28, 2007, 05:33:34 PM
Week 5 Spreads give Cork as the winner. (Cork +0.5).

Surely it's the wrong way round?
Post by: ONeill on March 28, 2007, 11:19:58 PM
Mmmmm and my self-defeating post about it was deleted.

How many weeks left?
Post by: J70 on March 28, 2007, 11:34:32 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on March 28, 2007, 05:33:34 PM
Week 5 Spreads give Cork as the winner. (Cork +0.5).

Surely it's the wrong way round?

I was wondering about that myself - I've that match down for Mayo and bonus points, but have been penalized two!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 29, 2007, 08:24:24 AM
This will also effect some of the knockout lads 0356484 V Duggan for 1
Post by: sligoman2 on March 29, 2007, 08:08:16 PM
Tis fixed
Post by: slow corner back on March 29, 2007, 08:14:37 PM
What about the hurling it is not updated yet?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 29, 2007, 09:55:30 PM
I've lost out on the knockout. Drew with Keeldrum yet have missed out on the next round.

13 all was a good score.
Post by: aontroim abu on March 30, 2007, 09:57:16 AM
when does the result from wednesday night get added to the hurling spreads
Post by: aontroim abu on March 30, 2007, 01:22:38 PM
whats going on with the hurling spreads? last weeks scores arent up yet and this weeks selections arent up either. not a lot of time left to get it sorted
Post by: Noname on March 30, 2007, 03:08:15 PM
c'mon whats happening with the Hurling spreads, cant get any work done with the worry  ???

Post by: Farrandeelin on March 30, 2007, 09:41:19 PM
Yes agreed about the hurling apreads. I'm going quite well in them and won't be able to do them now for the next 2 weeks. :(
Post by: sligoman2 on March 30, 2007, 10:20:47 PM
I'm only doing the football spreads...

If some posts what the hurling spreads should be - I'll try and get them in tomorrow..
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 31, 2007, 12:43:10 PM
Am I correct in assuming that the Hurling Spreads a write off for this week?
Post by: Mac hinery on March 31, 2007, 04:06:41 PM
lads you're closing the weekly competition too early, there's still a few hours before Saturday games start but the picks are closed down  2 hours ago.
Post by: DickyRock on April 01, 2007, 10:48:30 PM
Lads, Sorry about the hurling spreads.

One of the lads works them out and emails them to me to stick them on the site. I fucked up this week and headed to the Sister in laws wedding and didn't post them. Landed back in the house there and noticed the email.

This week will be written off. I'll get next weeks posted as soon as possible.

Cheers

Niall

Post by: LaurelEye on April 03, 2007, 03:10:31 PM
Lads,

The only Division 2A match being played this weekend is London vs Leitrim. All the others are being held over until next weekend.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 04, 2007, 01:30:06 PM
I understand but you must get your picks in before 2 on this Sunday.

The spreads will not change...

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.......................
Post by: LaurelEye on April 04, 2007, 03:45:19 PM
QuoteI understand but you must get your picks in before 2 on this Sunday.

The spreads will not change...

Not looking for an extension - just pointing out that there are 4 matches there for which there aren't going to be any results, so it seems pointless displaying them.
Post by: Noname on April 04, 2007, 04:00:43 PM
is the hurling spreads going to be updated?
Post by: aontroim abu on April 05, 2007, 02:03:06 PM
whats happening with the hurling spreads this week? a lot of boys are off work tomorrow and may not have access to them. ???
Post by: gortnaleck on April 07, 2007, 05:08:43 PM
The hurling wasn't available for very long.Can I still get the Sunday games ?
Post by: ONeill on April 07, 2007, 07:58:17 PM
If possible, could you add these Hurling spreads for tomorrow, as it was impossible to reach computer: (ignoring the Saturday game)

Galway
Tipperary
Derry (bonus)
Louth
Donegal
Post by: Mickeys beard on April 07, 2007, 11:53:09 PM
Yeah same here.
Laois
Galway
Waterford
Derry
Tyrone
Donegal
Post by: Mickeys beard on April 08, 2007, 12:08:32 AM
Oh, I am "the sweemer", by the way!
Post by: gortnaleck on April 08, 2007, 12:15:44 AM
Hi Dickey
  If possible could you add these also
Galway
Waterford
Derry   Bonus
Louth
Donegal
               Thanks
Post by: aontroim abu on April 11, 2007, 08:55:21 AM
just back in this morning to find a 4 hour warning that the hurling spreads are up and will be closing at 4.00 on Saturday past. you have really got to be taking the piss now. FFS do you not realise that some lads dont have access at home and cant see these emails? at the start of the competition you used to give plenty of notice but 4 hours on a Saturday, when i had assumed you would be doing what you done last week and "fucked up" as you said, this is just not on
Post by: Blacksheep on April 11, 2007, 09:41:53 AM
Quote from: aontroim abu on April 11, 2007, 08:55:21 AM
just back in this morning to find a 4 hour warning that the hurling spreads are up and will be closing at 4.00 on Saturday past. you have really got to be taking the piss now. FFS do you not realise that some lads dont have access at home and cant see these emails? at the start of the competition you used to give plenty of notice but 4 hours on a Saturday, when i had assumed you would be doing what you done last week and "fucked up" as you said, this is just not on

Give the man a break FFS!!! This isn't his job you know. I miss the hurling spreads as much as anyone but I haven't the time to run the bloody thing.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 12, 2007, 08:37:48 PM
Spreads for the league semi-finals (DIV 1) are posted...
Post by: dubsnsubs on April 15, 2007, 12:36:02 PM
As the spreads site is down I would appreciate if you could include these spreads.
I am trying to avoid a substantial payout to another board member

Donegal.....Bonus
Galway.

Thanks
Post by: Oraisteach on April 15, 2007, 03:31:56 PM
Unable to access the Spreads site.  Any ideas?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 16, 2007, 11:13:25 AM
It seems last years site is currently on view.  :-\
Post by: sligoman2 on April 16, 2007, 02:24:59 PM
Folks,

Sorry about that.  I sent an email to Dicky rock.  I just hope it's not something I did...

Apologies, this has not been one of our better years....
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 16, 2007, 02:53:32 PM
Not to worry - your efforts are appreciated!!