GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: furboot on November 20, 2009, 03:47:34 PM

Title: Fair Play or Cheating in the GAA
Post by: furboot on November 20, 2009, 03:47:34 PM
With all the hoo-haa Henry La Cheat going on was just wondering of any great examples of cheating or fair play in GAA matches.

One example of fair play that springs to mind was the famous 1998 hurling s/f match Clare v Offaly when the ref blew up early and Clare won. Then generously Clare offered a replay and duly lost and Offaly went on to win the All Ireland - that 'fair play' cost Clare a place in the final and maybe a third All Ireland.

As for cheating a recent one was in 2008, I think, when Kerry's Aidan O'Mahony did his fake dive that fooled the referee and got Cork's Donnacha O'Connor sent off.

Any more ?

Title: Re: Fair Play or Cheating in the GAA
Post by: Canalman on November 20, 2009, 04:16:52 PM
We have been hard done by in club games in the past by wrong referee/umpiring decisions/ illegal players being played against us etc etc. Our club (like nearly every other club) just takes it, sulks for a while and then moves on. That's sport.

Btw, I don't think Clare offered Offaly a replay after referee blew up short. Think GAC ordered one. May be wrong though.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 20, 2009, 04:41:45 PM
If there were a few of us Biffos in Stade de France on Wednesday there'd be a replay no bother. 

I think in that instance Jimmy played less than the 70 minutes, so the game was null and void. I know Clare were generous enough in the aftermath, but I think it was always going to be replayed under rule.

Post by: eireogatron on November 20, 2009, 05:00:16 PM
as far as i remember the replay was imposed rather than offered.

cheating - "hard man" Philip Jordan Armagh vs Tyrone 2003. As well as a litany of dives etc during that campaign
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2009, 05:03:19 PM
Charlie Redmond in the 1995 AIF refusing to leave the field after being sent off.

Maybe a better set of examples would be Referees deciding the outcome of a game. Ultimately blame for Irelands defeat lies at the feet of the referee and his linesman in this instance.

So - Paddy f#$%king russell. The ball was off the ground when Peter fisted it to Sean Kavanaugh McLaughlin.
Post by: catchandkick on November 20, 2009, 05:21:05 PM
 ;D What about...

The time Peter Canavan jumped in to Mike McCarthy's elbow in the 2003 All-Ireland semi-final . McCarthy was taking a free and was holding his hands up looking for a forward to move, Canavan jumped into his elbow, cut his head open and soon after had to go off. Referee turned around, saw Canavan on the ground with a cut forehead and, naturally enough, gave a yellow card to McCarthy and a free to Tyrone or else a hop ball. Most bizarre incident I've ever seen at a GAA game.

And that did happen exactly as I've described it 
Post by: fairplay on November 20, 2009, 05:27:34 PM
 I wouldn't be on for any "fairplay" at all -Cheating is better ;D ;D
Post by: Rossfan on November 20, 2009, 06:04:09 PM
That ******  red Laythrum Aughnasheelin ***** of a Ref in Tuam 1998  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: furboot on November 20, 2009, 06:49:53 PM
don't know if it qualifies as 'fair play' or a 'cheat' or something else entirely but back in 1987 when Dublin played Cork in a league q-final I think and Cork refused to leave the dressing room for extra time. The Dubs did and, unopposed, they won the ball at the throw in and then moved it neatly upfield for Barney Rock to score a winning goal.
Should Barney have opted for 'fair -play' that day and kicked it wide ..... and then there would be no-one to kick it out?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 20, 2009, 07:03:17 PM
Ian Robertson of Dublin picking the ball off the ground v Laois in 1999 Leinster semi final and scoring a goal from it that brought the match to a replay,which Laois lost
Post by: heffo on November 20, 2009, 08:21:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 20, 2009, 07:03:17 PM
Ian Robertson of Dublin picking the ball off the ground v Laois in 1999 Leinster semi final and scoring a goal from it that brought the match to a replay,which Laois lost

Oh pulease..
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 20, 2009, 09:16:11 PM
Quote from: furboot on November 20, 2009, 06:49:53 PM
don't know if it qualifies as 'fair play' or a 'cheat' or something else entirely but back in 1987 when Dublin played Cork in a league q-final I think and Cork refused to leave the dressing room for extra time. The Dubs did and, unopposed, they won the ball at the throw in and then moved it neatly upfield for Barney Rock to score a winning goal.
Should Barney have opted for 'fair -play' that day and kicked it wide ..... and then there would be no-one to kick it out?

I remember Con Houlihan wrote, "The Cork keeper didn't see the shot from Barney Rock; he was standing in Euston Station."
Post by: rosnarun on November 20, 2009, 09:56:46 PM
the closest to the henry situation was surely the time Kerry hit the back stanchion of the goal and it came back into  play and they scored a vital goal . was it some murphy fella against Tipp late 90's
Post by: rosnarun on November 20, 2009, 10:01:17 PM
yeah found it

http://homepage.eircom.net/~kilmoyleygaa/funny/GAA%20cock%20ups.htm
Kerry's "goal" against Tipp (1999 Munster football c'ship) : After just eight minutes Kerry corner-forward Gerry Murphy kicked the ball wide but it came back into play off a stanchion and the Rathmore player finished the rebound to the net. Kerry won by 6 points and Tipp were not awarded a replay.

but also there is
The "point" that never was (1995 Leinster football tie) : Laois' Mick Turley kicked the  ball over his head with 42 seconds remaining and the ball was deemed to have gone over the Carlow bar. But video evidence showed that it had gone wide. Laois won by a point. Laois later offered Carlow a replay and won in the re-fixtur
and
Wrong team won (Connacht minor final 1989) : In the dying seconds of the game, Roscommon who are trailing Galway by a point, are awarder a penalty. Shane Curran sprints forward and drives the kick to the net. The whistle blows and Roscommon assume they have won and are presented with the cup. But it subsequently emerges that the ref disallowed the goal from the penalty and Galway are declared the official winners. Galway agree to a replay but lose.

some examples The FAI might use when they Bring this Tradegy to the UN security council or the UNHRC
Post by: sheelinside on November 20, 2009, 11:09:19 PM
i totally despise some forwards who, when in possession,  pull and drag a defender in on top of them and then collapse onto the ground, conning a ref into awarding a soft free in, and certain score.
i particularly remember owen mulligan giving an exhibition of this dark art in the ulster final a couple of years ago, against monaghan- everytime he went for a ball he was holding and pulling the defender, and then when his marker was close enough he simply fell, bringing the defender on top of him.
Post by: milltown row on November 20, 2009, 11:25:20 PM
i onced played in a senior championship match and the ball rolled behind the goal line but i lifted it quickly and cleared my lines, we won by a point in the end. did i give a fook? not at all, hated that team anyway.

as i got older i have found this yelp the odd time i get challenged for the ball. never had it when i was young......

oh i can remember that i knocked the ball over the end line and the referee give a wide ball not a 70' but i was glad.

am i a cheat?  couldn't care less cause if anyone comes on here and says they have not tried it on is a liar
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2009, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: milltown row on November 20, 2009, 11:25:20 PM
i onced played in a senior championship match and the ball rolled behind the goal line but i lifted it quickly and cleared my lines, we won by a point in the end. did i give a fook? not at all, hated that team anyway.

as i got older i have found this yelp the odd time i get challenged for the ball. never had it when i was young......

oh i can remember that i knocked the ball over the end line and the referee give a wide ball not a 70' but i was glad.

am i a cheat?  couldn't care less cause if anyone comes on here and says they have not tried it on is a liar

How much have you had? Was it on an empty stomach?
Post by: milltown row on November 20, 2009, 11:46:29 PM
i'm off the drink, playing Minders team on Sunday, aint as young as i used to be :o

need my wits about me
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 20, 2009, 11:48:31 PM

Yip-you're a cheat whether you could care less or not.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 20, 2009, 11:54:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 20, 2009, 11:50:36 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 20, 2009, 11:48:31 PM

I don't agree.

You're probably rite. I would have done similar. But wat is cheating then? It is like this cuteness is ok but diving is cheating. where do you draw the line?
Post by: milltown row on November 20, 2009, 11:55:32 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 20, 2009, 11:48:31 PM

you must have only started playing sport/games
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:05:17 AM
so are we just talking about diving or when two players fall and one holding and both falling and the referee gives it the other way.

yes i yelp. its defo an older thing, im starting to make a noise now when i pick up something on the floor
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 12:05:56 AM
The ethos seems to be try and get away with whatever you can and it is always ref's fault if not caught. Therefore aidan O'Mahony did well to con ref into sending off an opponent, kennelly was rite to take his man out... you are welcome to that mindset.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 21, 2009, 12:19:02 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 20, 2009, 09:56:46 PM
the closest to the henry situation was surely the time Kerry hit the back stanchion of the goal and it came back into  play and they scored a vital goal . was it some murphy fella against Tipp late 90's

There was a incident in a Laois v Offaly hurling match in the 80's where Offaly scored a "goal" where the ball actually went in through the side netting..
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:19:44 AM
Foxy, i referee and ya cant get everything. depends how crap a referee is. i'd like to think i get every call.

at the end of the day its the referee who can stop it.

over the years i've played senior hurling and football (reserve) close to 50 games a season for past twenty years i've won calls that i shouldn't have, and as i've said the have put clubs out of championship, it happens now stop getting on like some crusader
Post by: BennyHarp on November 21, 2009, 12:24:11 AM
I mind claiming a sideline ball during a juvenile championship match and i knew fine well rightly that it came off me!! We got the sideline kick - but nothing came of it!
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 12:25:01 AM
Quote from: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:19:44 AM
Foxy, i referee and ya cant get everything. depends how crap a referee is. i'd like to think i get every call.

at the end of the day its the referee who can stop it.

over the years i've played senior hurling and football (reserve) close to 50 games a season for past twenty years i've won calls that i shouldn't have, and as i've said the have put clubs out of championship, it happens now stop getting on like some crusader

For starters it is Fox not Foxy... I don't call you Milly  :-* Now, just beacuse it happens don't make it rite. I understand what you are saying and I am just asking where do you draw the line? If that is Milltown, Belfast, God help you refereeing there by the way. Some mouthing at refs down in the city...jees!   
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 21, 2009, 12:30:02 AM
The worst example of partisan refereeing was by a Paddy's man in West Belfast (multiple ex county hurling manager). The ref didn't turn up so he said he would do it. Usually a man officiating a match involving his own team will go too far in being seen to be fair.

Well not this boy - Jesus even the Sarsfields players were embarrassed by the decisions he made.
Post by: rosnarun on November 21, 2009, 12:31:33 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 20, 2009, 11:59:43 PM
1st one - he cleared the ball as soon as he could. Ref decided it wasn't a goal.
2nd one - he yelps...... :-\
3rd one - he knocked it out for a 70. Ref gave a wide.

Can't see how that's cheating. It's not as if he has conned the ref. Just a ref making a bad decision.
na its cheating coz he says so himself.
hes the only one who knows for sure. says he doesnt care but then come on here looking for our  acquiescence to ease his troubled soul.
henry  only fouled when he handled but when he say his fouling had serious consequence and stayed quiet thats when he cheated like wise milltown knows hes yelping like a baby coz it earns him a free he knows hes cheating.
no point in blaming the ref either if the ref didnt see it he couldn't give it . this is why we aree supplied with a conscience , to differentiate us from the animals . in some people it doesnt work.
these eople are variously known as scum, knackers criminals , evil bastards , but ultimately as SINNERS
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 12:34:23 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 21, 2009, 12:31:33 AM
1st one - he cleared the ball as soon as he could. Ref decided it wasn't a goal.

Can't see how that's cheating. It's not as if he has conned the ref. Just a ref making a bad decision.
hes the only one who knows for sure. says he doesnt care but then come on here looking for our  acquiescence to ease his troubled soul.
henry  only fouled when he handled but when he say his fouling had serious consequence and stayed quiet thats when he cheated like wise milltown knows hes yelping like a baby coz it earns him a free he knows hes cheating.
no point in blaming the ref either if the ref didnt see it he couldn't give it . this is why we aree supplied with a conscience , to differentiate us from the animals . in some people it doesnt work.
these eople are variously known as scum, knackers criminals , evil b**tards , but ultimately as SINNERS

I like that Rosarun. It is a very unpopular view but I have to say I agree. You will be called a crusader for this one but i think you are rite on. .
Post by: BennyHarp on November 21, 2009, 12:37:09 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 12:34:39 AM
I have admitted on this board that I have cheated in the past. Down like a sack of spuds after a challenge that shouldn't put me down. They were fouls though. I just made sure the ref knew.

You are a  disgrace! But i respect your honesty!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 12:37:59 AM
Yer man Kieran Shannon was on Matt Cooper show yesterday. he does sports psychology. interestingly he says players in team games won't call fouls on themselves (is very very unusual) but more likely in individual games like golf and snooker. Maybe is fear of reaction of the rest of the team
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 21, 2009, 12:38:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 12:34:39 AM
I have admitted on this board that I have cheated in the past. Down like a sack of spuds after a challenge that shouldn't put me down. They were fouls though. I just made sure the ref knew.
Have you spent exactly 50% of today on the internet and the rest of the time pulling your bar? Bingobus will be checking stats later.
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:53:56 AM

these eople are variously known as scum, knackers criminals , evil b**tards , but ultimately as SINNERS

so you'd not be happy when Mayo when a peno in the final when Mortimer goes down (like he does so easily) and they win the All Ireland cause of resulting score?

stop talking shite. serious crap talk after the Ireland game here.....
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 12:56:17 AM
Quote from: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:53:56 AM

so you'd not be happy when Mayo when a peno in the final when Mortimer goes down (like he does so easily) and they win the All Ireland cause of resulting score?

stop talking shite. serious crap talk after the Ireland game here.....

It seems anyone that thinks different to you is talking shite and gets personally insulted. I can see why cheating probably comes so easy to you.
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:59:29 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 12:27:39 AM
I was in nets one day (U16) against milltown's club. The same player scored 2 goals against me. The first went through a hole in the roof of the net. They were awarded with a point. The second went in but flew under the side netting. Was given as a wide. We won by 2. For the first time, I am openly admitting that they were goals. Da McGourty went mad and got rid of the St.Gall's umpire.

Player: Bap.
i tied the nets up that day!!! you should have come clean. cause the Johnnies Umpire (Gough) is the best at 'playing the game'

fox when did i say i cheated??  save me the crap about your honesty its boring Zzzzzzzzzz

Ireland are out cause they are shite, not because of Henry
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:05:07 AM
Quote from: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 12:59:29 AM
I was in nets one day (U16) against milltown's club. The same player scored 2 goals against me. The first went through a hole in the roof of the net. They were awarded with a point. The second went in but flew under the side netting. Was given as a wide. We won by 2. For the first time, I am openly admitting that they were goals. Da McGourty went mad and got rid of the St.Gall's umpire.

i tied the nets up that day!!! you should have come clean. cause the Johnnies Umpire (Gough) is the best at 'playing the game'

fox when did i say i cheated??  save me the crap about your honesty its boring Zzzzzzzzzz

Ireland are out cause they are shite, not because of Henry

CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT! CHEAT!  :-*
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 01:08:43 AM
Sure Ardboe cheated that day we played  them in Cookstown (Ulster club), got one of our men sent off after banging him in the gob and when our player reacted went down like a cheat.

was he a cheat or cute?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:13:53 AM
If that is the way it happened he was a cheat. Of course he was. What the f** is cute about that? I know you'll probably hit me with one of your insults or that is 'shite talk' comments but really is that we want to show kids who are playing Gaelic football?     
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:31:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 01:16:20 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:13:53 AM
If that is the way it happened he was a cheat. Of course he was. What the f** is cute about that? I know you'll probably hit me with one of your insults or that is 'shite talk' comments but really is that we want to show kids who are playing Gaelic football?   
Bollix. If I hit you a slap and you knocked me out, how can you say I cheated?

He said, "When our player reacted he went down like a cheat." I take that he meant he feigned to be hurt.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:40:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 01:37:44 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:31:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2009, 01:16:20 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 01:13:53 AM
Bollix. If I hit you a slap and you knocked me out, how can you say I cheated?

He said, "When our player reacted he went down like a cheat." I take that he meant he feigned to be hurt.
I actually wondered for a second whether you bought that or not. This happened so long ago that the story has obviously been altered manys a time in milltown. Their players wouldn't hit anyone.

I don't really give a f** about the teams involved I was just commenting on the details as he described them. Anyway goodnite... 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 21, 2009, 06:20:30 AM

these eople are variously known as scum, knackers criminals , evil b**tards , but ultimately as Tymoan bastards

I think there was a typo so I fixed it for you  ;D
Post by: Bogball XV on November 21, 2009, 10:34:27 AM
2000 All Ireland Minor Semi-final - Cork beat Derry by a point after the ref failed to realise that a second booking also incurs the penalty of a sending off.  Cork midfielder Kieran Murphy  received a 2nd yellow card with about ten minutes left, he stayed on and played a key role in the winning score.  Under the recently discovered Fifa precedent for a referee making a technical error, this should have resulted in a replay, but this was a GAA game, the GAC suggested to the Cork county board and a Mr. Frank Murphy of Cork that a replay be offered.  Needless to say, Frank declined the suggestion, suggesting instead that the first yellow card has been harsh and that maybe they would appeal that instead ;D.  Cork went on to beat Mayo by 5 points in the final.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 21, 2009, 10:52:15 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on November 21, 2009, 06:20:30 AM

these eople are variously known as scum, knackers criminals , evil b**tards , but ultimately as Tymoan b**tards

I think there was a typo so I fixed it for you  ;D

Must be a horrible feeling carrying around the awful realisation that your own county who you thought for years were infallible, just cant beat Tyrone! I am beginnning to understand how it may lead to the psychological issues you clearly have! Its a bit like seeing your dad getting beaten up i suppose! You'll always hate the man who did it for the rest of your life! Dont let it ruin your life Mikey!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 05:25:13 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 21, 2009, 10:34:27 AM
2000 All Ireland Minor Semi-final - Cork beat Derry by a point after the ref failed to realise that a second booking also incurs the penalty of a sending off.  Cork midfielder Kieran Murphy  received a 2nd yellow card with about ten minutes left, he stayed on and played a key role in the winning score.  Under the recently discovered Fifa precedent for a referee making a technical error, this should have resulted in a replay, but this was a GAA game, the GAC suggested to the Cork county board and a Mr. Frank Murphy of Cork that a replay be offered.  Needless to say, Frank declined the suggestion, suggesting instead that the first yellow card has been harsh and that maybe they would appeal that instead ;D.  Cork went on to beat Mayo by 5 points in the final.

No sportsmanship there at all... Murphy played a singnificant role in the last ten minutes too unlike Redmond who was on for very little time after getting sent off in 1995 and didn't have any influence on the play. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2009, 06:43:06 PM

I was in nets in a school game and was beaten at my near post but I screamed and shouted at ref that it went through the side netting, I shouted that much and my reaction was that strong he reversed his decision and give it as a wide. 

I'm not sorry.
Post by: down6061689194 on November 21, 2009, 07:45:05 PM
Cuteness is a part of the games.
I was playing minors, under the kosh in the championship, i was brought down, i went down rather easily. Time was near up so I lay on the ball, our captain came up to me looking te ball and I motioned to calm down and slow the play. Rolled about a bit and gave us time. When I was up we had all had a breather, got up the field. We took the free and scored to go 4 clear, game over.

The manager said to me after it was brilliant.

And its the same with standing on toes, pulling jersey and feeling his balls.

Something about the physical nature of the game as opposed to the technical side of soccer, rugby and Golf makes this a bit more acceptable. In my opinion anyway.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2009, 07:47:32 PM
I dont think standing on toes or feeling balls is acceptable
Post by: muppet on November 21, 2009, 07:59:31 PM
What about Tadhg Kennelly's admission? He should have been sent off in the 1st minute for his self confessed pre-meditated action. The game should be replayed with Kerry having only 14 men.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 10:30:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 21, 2009, 07:59:31 PM
What about Tadhg Kennelly's admission? He should have been sent off in the 1st minute for his self confessed pre-meditated action. The game should be replayed with Kerry having only 14 men.

I can't see it happening.
Post by: milltown row on November 21, 2009, 10:35:10 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2009, 07:47:32 PM
maybe in prison :D
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on November 21, 2009, 10:50:04 PM
Quote from: Canalman on November 20, 2009, 04:16:52 PM
We have been hard done by in club games in the past by wrong referee/umpiring decisions/ illegal players being played against us etc etc. Our club (like nearly every other club) just takes it, sulks for a while and then moves on. That's sport.

Yup.

I'm still sulking over that useless/blind/biased (delete as applicable) fecker Paudie Hughes last weekend...  >:( :'(
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 21, 2009, 11:01:28 PM

Btw, I don't think Clare offered Offaly a replay after referee blew up short. Think GAC ordered one. May be wrong though.

No way- sorry but I can't believe your club would not object if you found out later the oposition had an illegal player. You need to think out what your saying man  ;)
Post by: southsidejohnny on November 22, 2009, 03:09:48 PM
Well lets start with a theatrical dive in Hyde Park Connacht final 2001 and Mayos Ray Connelly wrongly sent off. Cost Mayo that final. A line ball for Mayo v Meath given against them that resulted in a dodgy penalty to Meath. Same game the Meath keeper caught the ball inside his goal line, no goal given. Poor decisions by officals but that ref was rewarded with being given the linesman job in the All-Ireland final. The ref v France will propably get to ref the World cup final. Soccer has cheating in it every week. Look at the Premiership. 
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 22, 2009, 03:12:35 PM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on November 22, 2009, 03:09:48 PM
Well lets start with a theatrical dive in Hyde Park Connacht final 2001 and Mayos Ray Connelly wrongly sent off. Cost Mayo that final. A line ball for Mayo v Meath given against them that resulted in a dodgy penalty to Meath. Same game the Meath keeper caught the ball inside his goal line, no goal given. Poor decisions by officals but that ref was rewarded with being given the linesman job in the All-Ireland final. The ref v France will propably get to ref the World cup final. Soccer has cheating in it every week. Look at the Premiership.

I'd rather not, thanks  :-\
Post by: down6061689194 on November 22, 2009, 04:22:48 PM
McGuigan when McCartan threw the ball up in Ulster Final
Post by: muppet on November 22, 2009, 06:45:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 21, 2009, 07:47:32 PM

Is this in the right thread?
Post by: The Worker on November 22, 2009, 07:54:47 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on November 22, 2009, 04:22:48 PM
McGuigan when McCartan threw the ball up in Ulster Final

Peter Canavan in the same game, dived for a penalty!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on November 23, 2009, 09:57:15 AM

Was going to mention that one. F Dolan got pushed in the chest and went down like a sack of spuds clutching his face. As Connelly gets sent off, up he jumps and runs over to the ref tellin him not to send him off!! What did he expect to happen FFS  ::) >:(
Post by: furboot on November 23, 2009, 06:10:07 PM
1989 - The Tony Keady affair - he was, in a way, cheated when inviterd to play in the US in good faith (everyone waas doing it but not legal apparently) and was then made an example of when he came back. His loss to that great Galway team and the furore that the controversy created possible unsettled the Galway camp and cost them an All Ireland that year - they lost the semi to Tipp and Tipp then had a soft one against Antrim in the final. A fine player and a fine team cheated by silly GAA rules !!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 23, 2009, 10:40:58 PM
Quote from: furboot on November 23, 2009, 06:10:07 PM
1989 - The Tony Keady affair - he was, in a way, cheated when inviterd to play in the US in good faith (everyone waas doing it but not legal apparently) and was then made an example of when he came back. His loss to that great Galway team and the furore that the controversy created possible unsettled the Galway camp and cost them an All Ireland that year - they lost the semi to Tipp and Tipp then had a soft one against Antrim in the final. A fine player and a fine team cheated by silly GAA rules !!!

It didn't end at that. In the All Ireland semi-final Galway against Tipp were absolutly robbed. Was such an obvious ref bias. In Laochra Gael of Tony Keady him or one of the other players said something like 'the ref was blind or cheating that day.... I think it was both.' It was disgusting and the programme showed incidents of blatent ref cheating. I remember the game. A sad day for hurling. 
Post by: Aerlik on November 24, 2009, 01:00:47 AM
1982 Ulster u-16 club hurling final, Lavey v. the Hallions.  (Derry v. Antrim) at Bellaghy.  The Ulster board decided to appoint an Antrim man (he of Cargin origin, that bastion of hurling if ever there was one) to ref as he was operating as a Tyrone official following a row with the Antrim board.  Well eff me Lavey were not only up against Dunloy they were up against an Antrim referee representing Tyrone.  Now all we needed were Donegal umpires and linesmen - only it was worse, we had Bellaghy umpires .  And so it came to pass that the hallions scored a goal that shouldn't have been - the lad was a mile inside the square.  And it stood. We lost by two points.  Little wonder I am still bitter and twisted when I think of Antrim and Tyrone and Bellaghy.

It's interesting reading all the stuff on here about referees.  As a new referee, I have strarted seeing things from a different perspective; the amount of cheating that goes on at the level over here is actually amusing.  I was cautioning one lad for pulling and dragging when the fella he fouled came up thought I couldn't see and punched him on the kidney.  Straight red.  Then he protested that it was only a light punch.  And the manager roared at me saying that that was acceptable over here.  Fcuk that, not any more it's not.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 24, 2009, 01:13:02 AM
Well lets start with a theatrical dive in Hyde Park Connacht final 2001 and Mayos Ray Connelly wrongly sent off. Cost Mayo that final.

Hardly cost Mayo the final. Ros were already down to 14 men for majority of second half. Mayo player trying a back flick the ball surely caused that last gasp goal for Ros. In anycase, if you are bringing that one up, Gabriel Irwin, Mayo goalie, feigned injury to get John Newton sent off in 1993 Connacht final. Probably regretted it in the All-Ireland semi-final though as goal after goal rained in on him.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 24, 2009, 01:44:20 AM

I'm coming in late on this one so I hope I haven't missed a good row or anything like that!
I just want to say that Clare did indeed offer to replay that game; I remember it well because Clare and their beloved manager had been building up quite a reputation for being awkward with everyone else and were decidedly unpopular outside their own borders and it was a completely unexpected gesture.
Post by: under the bar on November 24, 2009, 08:03:35 AM
Mickey Ned O'Sullivan's dive in the AI final and then feigning injury so he didnt have a to give a speech 'as gaelige' deserves a mention.
Post by: furboot on November 24, 2009, 09:19:29 AM
Quote from: under the bar on November 24, 2009, 08:03:35 AM
Mickey Ned O'Sullivan's dive in the AI final and then feigning injury so he didnt have a to give a speech 'as gaelige' deserves a mention.
sound like a bit of a bar stool story but an amusing one !!
Post by: furboot on November 26, 2009, 09:43:12 AM
Quote from: furboot on November 24, 2009, 09:19:29 AM
Quote from: under the bar on November 24, 2009, 08:03:35 AM
sound like a bit of a bar stool story but an amusing one !!

on second thoughts ...looking at the incident here loks like Mickey Ned had a fair case for not being able to speak !!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw&feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw&feature=player_embedded)