Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Clown on November 17, 2009, 11:58:46 AM

Title: Best & Worst sports commentators
Post by: Clown on November 17, 2009, 11:58:46 AM
Jackie Fullarton and Jimmy Magee are now both in the same boat, so past their prime theyre now embarrassing - time they were gone. Magee and Dave Boy McAuley on the boxing commentary is terrible.

Motsons getting a bit passed it 2

George Hamilton is still a great commentator i think, the voice of irish soccer.
Title: Best & Worst sports commentators
Post by: 5 Sams on November 17, 2009, 12:06:00 PM
American ones are the best...

In this part of the world Darragh Maloney ar an telefís agus MÓM on the radio are the best.

Ger Canning is far and away the worst.......

In England Alan Green has to be the most biased, ABU, Liverpool fan, ever.
Title: Re: Best & Worst sports commentators
Post by: Onion Bag on November 17, 2009, 12:07:51 PM
The Worst has to be that clown Mark Sidebottom, f**k he would put years on you
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 17, 2009, 12:11:02 PM
Best:

Mícheal Ó Muircheartaigh
Weeshie Fogarty
Bill McClaren
Jim Carney (Purely for his commentary on the Kildare Meath first replay in '97)
Simon Holt
Brian Tyers
Mícheal Ó Sé

Worst:

Ger Canning
Ryle Nugent
Marty Morrissey
Brian Carty
Dessie Scahill
Peter Collins
Trevor Welch
Fred Cogley
Seán Bán Breathnach
Post by: thebandit on November 17, 2009, 12:12:38 PM
Cant have Jim Carney at all...... I find Darragh Maloney good though
Post by: bingobus on November 17, 2009, 12:15:30 PM
Andy Gray is the worst in the world, always calling players by their first names, "he tried to play his mate in...", he sickens my hole.

Prefer the old school ones who actually commentate, not talk about themselves or talk about whats happening on planet Zog.

Thats darts boy from Newcastle, mental. Can't listen after two legs.

Michael O Muirteartaigh is still the king.
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 12:16:51 PM
Ger "It's a huuuge one" Canning is brutal
Post by: Master Yoda on November 17, 2009, 12:19:00 PM
Jim Neily is without doubt the worlds worst.
Post by: Rafa on November 17, 2009, 12:27:59 PM
That Thomas Kane lad from BBC absolutely makes my skin crawl. Does he wear maskara?

Can this include pundits?

Alan Shearer and Jamie Redknapp.

For me the most annoying sports person on TV is Mark Bright. I can not describe the hatred I have for this man and his voice, he just points out the absolutely obvious all the time. He is worthless and adds nothing to any game or broadcast. I have gotten to the point now where, no matter how interested I am in whatever match he is covering I will just have to turn over because he annoys me that much. Surely someone out there must feel the same?

Post by: Onlooker on November 17, 2009, 12:32:18 PM
Michael Corcoran, RTE Radio Rugby commentator is fairly hard to listen to as well.
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 17, 2009, 12:33:18 PM
Martin Carney. The most repetitive purveyor of crap on the air. Very much so.
Post by: Rafa on November 17, 2009, 12:37:02 PM
I'm mixed up between Martin Carney and Jim Carney? Does one of them have grey hair?
Post by: lfdown2 on November 17, 2009, 12:39:47 PM
Thon armagh lad on 5FM (the tiger-damian something) is terrible

another awful one the irish lad on ESPN in the states that comentates on the soccer.....'onion bag'
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 17, 2009, 12:42:22 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 17, 2009, 12:11:02 PM
Best:

Mícheal Ó Muircheartaigh
Weeshie Fogarty
Bill McClaren
Jim Carney (Purely for his commentary on the Kildare Meath first replay in '97)
Simon Holt
Brian Tyers
Mícheal Ó Sé

Worst:

Ger Canning
Ryle Nugent
Marty Morrissey
Brian Carty
Dessie Scahill
Peter Collins
Trevor Welch
Fred Cogley
Seán Bán Breathnach
completely agree with all except sean ban - his infamous 'cul fuckin cul ag ciarrai' ranks him up there as one of the most entertaining if not best commentators !

the likes of hamilton and canning etc that dont know the rules or cant identify the players infuriates me !
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 17, 2009, 12:45:23 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on November 17, 2009, 12:39:47 PM

another awful one the irish lad on ESPN in the states that comentates on the soccer.....'onion bag'

Ah your man "Tigger" on 5FM is good gas, very funny.
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 17, 2009, 12:50:19 PM

was in the states during the world cup in 06', he was good craic for a while but it started to wear thin after a bit. Genuinely entertaining though, listening to the musings of Eric Wynalda, Marcelo Balboa and Julie Foudy - ''Great hook slide by the dee-fence''
Post by: ludermor on November 17, 2009, 12:51:13 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on November 17, 2009, 12:32:18 PM
Michael Corcoran, RTE Radio Rugby commentator is fairly hard to listen to as well.
I dont mind listening to him at all!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2009, 01:09:29 PM
Can't stand Darragh Moloney to be honest also the Setanta commentators are awful. I like Martin Tyler and John Motson
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2009, 01:10:54 PM
Oh and I like Alan Green aswell ;)
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 01:21:25 PM
Latin American commentators........Any chance of Marty Morrissey doing a GGGGGGGGGGGGGGOOAAAAAAALLLLLLL next year??
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2009, 01:25:18 PM
Surprised no-one has mentioned Mark Robson yet. He spoils Sky Sports coverage of the Heinken Cup. An absolute twat. during a Leinster match, Will Greenwood, his co-commentator, was on about a Leinster player using soccer skills. He said "I dont know any Irish footballers Mark" - David Healy was his Robsons response ! Greenwood said "i take your word for it MArk, i never heard of him :D
Post by: Stagmeister on November 17, 2009, 01:29:36 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on November 17, 2009, 12:50:19 PM

was in the states during the world cup in 06', he was good craic for a while but it started to wear thin after a bit. Genuinely entertaining though, listening to the musings of Eric Wynalda, Marcelo Balboa and Julie Foudy - ''Great hook slide by the dee-fence''

Tommy Smith, I think thats his name anyway, had to endure him again for the france game over the weekend, he said Ireland could have done with having Rory Dunlap there for his long throws...
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on November 17, 2009, 01:32:19 PM
None of the gaa ones annoy me that much.

Gareth cookes, the black fella on the BBC for the soccer is absolutely horible.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2009, 01:37:42 PM
Lou Macari on Setanta is a p***k
Post by: ballinaman on November 17, 2009, 01:39:28 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on November 17, 2009, 01:32:19 PM
None of the gaa ones annoy me that much.

Gareth cookes, the black fella on the BBC for the soccer is absolutely horible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cugYQ35vtvQ ;D :D
Post by: leenie on November 17, 2009, 01:50:25 PM

worst

paddy hunter!
Post by: TheGreatRambo on November 17, 2009, 01:59:27 PM
Quote from: Clown on November 17, 2009, 11:58:46 AM
Jackie Fullarton and Jimmy Magee are now both in the same boat, so past their prime theyre now embarrassing - time they were gone. Magee and Dave Boy McAuley on the boxing commentary is terrible.

George Hamilton is still a great commentator i think, the voice of irish soccer.

I think George Hamilton is terrible, and he's also a jinx!!!! If by some miracle Ireland happen to be 2-1 up on Wednesday with 30 mins left George would be giving it "We're almost there" cue Henry scoring an outrageous last minute goal.

Oh yeah Andy Gray too, what exactly does "i'm sorry but.............." mean?????
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2009, 02:17:23 PM
Laoislad still likes Alan Green though... Anyway I hate Morrissey, Jesus Christ he does my head in. Agree with whoever said Jimmy Magee is past his sell by date, he still thinks he's the best around imo. Ger Canning is shocking. Jim Carney goes a bit mental at matches when he's doing the highlights, he should be given the chance to do one match next year live so I could make a proper verdcit on him!
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 02:24:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2009, 01:10:54 PM
Oh and I like Alan Green aswell ;)

Must have been all his completely impartial commentaries on United games that won you over  :D
Post by: ziggysego on November 17, 2009, 02:28:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 17, 2009, 12:16:16 PM
Worst: Peter Canavan

I only ever heard him commentating on one match, when he was 12.
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 02:29:36 PM
Quote from: TheGreatRambo on November 17, 2009, 01:59:27 PM
Quote from: Clown on November 17, 2009, 11:58:46 AM

I think George Hamilton is terrible, and he's also a jinx!!!! If by some miracle Ireland happen to be 2-1 up on Wednesday with 30 mins left George would be giving it "We're almost there" cue Henry scoring an outrageous last minute goal.

Oh yeah Andy Gray too, what exactly does "i'm sorry but.............." mean?????

Its a widely known fact that George 'The Baggio brothers, of course, are not related' Hamilton is responsible for every Irish defeat in the last 25 years.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2009, 02:33:37 PM
I still like George Hamilton. If we don't qualify for SA, maybe we will be blaming him instead of Trap!
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 17, 2009, 03:34:41 PM
There is a website set up by Irish fans in George's honour 'Danger here', some of his nuggets...

"Real Madrid are like a rabbit in the glare of the headlights in the face of Manchester United's attacks. But this rabbit comes with a suit of armour in the shape of two precious away goals."
Simply the greatest sentence ever uttered.

"And Hyypia rises like a giraffe to head the ball clear."
George alludes to the giant African mammal renowned for its mighty leaps.

"Russia have beaten Ireland 4-2, Albania 4-1 and now Switzerland 4-1 at home. It would be a wise man who bet against them beating Georgia."
Bet George is a popular man down his local bookies.

"Let's hope that's a surgical staple gun."
George fears for wounded Dunner with FAI track record:

"What a goal. What a goal! Straight through the legs of Adams, it flew towards the roof of the net like a Wurlitzer!"
Hope that didn't go straight down the keeper's throat.

"The midfield are like a chef...........trying to prise open a stubborn oyster to get at the fleshy meat inside."
Reckon Keano would have got the hammer out.

"The orange tide is lapping against the green door which refuses to open."
George is all at sea with this maritime metaphor.

"Glum Oranges. In fact I think the fruit their feelings are more akin to is a lemon."
The coup de grace from Ireland's defeat of Holland.

"We could let them score one now and they wouldn't have time to score another."
George perhaps reveals why he choose commentary above coaching as he comes up with a novel way of running down the clock.

"Kevin Moran.....oldest man on the pitch today...35 years of age.....of course the referee could possibly be older than that ......and technically he's on the pitch too.....then again his linesmen could be even older than him... but are they technically 'on' the pitch."
George digs and digs 'til daylight is but a distant memory.

"That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!"
A familiar refrain.

"Poland have to score twice now to draw and they will not do so."
The Poles duly knock one in. Minutes later.....

"I might be tempting fate but I can't see the Poles Scoring...OH NOOOO they just have!!"
By DangerHere's calculations, George is directly responsible for 87% of the goals Ireland have conceded during his reign in the gantry.

George: "Roy Carsley has it"
Jim: "Lee Carsley, George"
George: "Ah yes, perhaps it's because his head reminds me of Ray Wilkins"

"Italy are preparing to make a substitution – and it is, the unmistakable figure............of Roberto Baggio"
George announces the arrival on the pitch of..... Gianluca Vialli. Unfortunately, the two subs had got their shirts mixed up.

"And Ireland have got to contain the brothers Baggio."
George surely was the only one not to know.

"The Baggio brothers, of course, are not related."
But at least he cleared it up. Or did he?

"The seeds of doubt that were sown at the weekend against Egypt have been doused by a dose of Jack Charlton's almighty weedkiller."
George goes green in Italia 90

"If that's not offside, I'm a Chinaman!"
George reveals his oriental background after a perfectly correct refereeing decision.

"You sir, are an idiot!"
George politely rebukes Lilian Laslandes after a red card offence.

"He's pulling him off. The Spanish manager is pulling his Captain off!"
Our George thinks THE George as Butragueno is replaced.

"Red Sky at night, good day tomorrow."
George reckons that the popular proverb needs a little simplification

"Bless my soul, he's missed it!"
George is disappointed in Simone Inzaghi's penalty taking skills.

"Two nil and the ability to score goals in seventeen consecutive matches, getting the ball in the net, it, the shape of what we're to expect, even if Iran are good, has to be positive."
George in succinct stylist mode

"And we're now watching a traditional Korean Drum Dance, performed by the appropriately named Kim Yung BONG"
George finds something of interest during the World Cup draw preliminaries.

"The ESB-sponsored Georgian special Olympics team will be in Dublin this year and maybe they will reflect on the night Ireland came to Tbilisi and provided more than power."
Pure George

"We're into the second moment of stoppage time of which there isn't one."
George breaks new ground to become the first commentator to enter a time vacuum

"The flags are waving, and no doubt at the foot of the Alps, the cow bells are chiming too. And it's going to take a lot for Ireland to turn it round and sour the chocolate."
The moment Ireland knew the World Cup game was up.

"...the industrious Czech, to the German Hamann, to Murphy, the quintessential Englishman."
I'm sure even Danny Murphy would doff his top hat to that one.

"They've really eked this one out. Like coal miners mining their seam until they finally reach the surface with their precious black gold."
Another George classic at the end of Arsenal – Kiev.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 17, 2009, 03:57:56 PM
Jackie Fullerton, especially when he says Healy. He must be pleasuring himself when saying it as he gets so excited.

Can't stand many of the MOTD or Sky Sports ones. Martin Tyler is ok though.

Also Ron Atkinson has to be up there.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 17, 2009, 04:03:21 PM
Classic stuff there Doogie.....my favourite on that site was "How to speak Ronglish".....brilliant.
Post by: TheGreatRambo on November 17, 2009, 04:04:58 PM
Quote"Poland have to score twice now to draw and they will not do so."
The Poles duly knock one in. Minutes later.....

"I might be tempting fate but I can't see the Poles Scoring...OH NOOOO they just have!!"
By DangerHere's calculations, George is directly responsible for 87% of the goals Ireland have conceded during his reign in the gantry.

These two quotes send shivers down my spine, we were on the brink of qualification for Euro 92 (A tournament we had a decent chance of winning) UNTIL George struck
Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2009, 06:54:39 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 17, 2009, 01:50:25 PM

worst

paddy hunter!

Paddy "So to speak" Hunter?

Shocking.
Post by: ziggysego on November 17, 2009, 06:57:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 17, 2009, 06:54:39 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 17, 2009, 01:50:25 PM

worst

paddy hunter!

Paddy "So to speak" Hunter?

Shocking.

Didn't Paddy win Irish regional radio sports presenter of the year recently?
Post by: red hander on November 17, 2009, 07:13:15 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on November 17, 2009, 12:07:51 PM

:D :D :D

Brian Carty ruins my Sundays on the way back from matches in the car ... he's brutal.  Gerry Armstrong is a weasely, totally biased f**k when he commentates on statelet matches, a spoofer of the highest order who has made a media career out of zero talent and one goal in 1982.

Post by: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2009, 08:01:53 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 17, 2009, 07:13:15 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on November 17, 2009, 12:07:51 PM

:D :D :D

Brian Carty ruins my Sundays on the way back from matches in the car ... he's brutal.  Gerry Armstrong is a weasely, totally biased f**k when he commentates on statelet matches, a spoofer of the highest order who has made a media career out of zero talent and one goal in 1982.

Can't suffer him either. Those Hamilton ones had me bursting my hole with laughter there doogie. :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2009, 09:43:16 PM
Quotethink George Hamilton is terrible, and he's also a jinx!!!! If by some miracle Ireland happen to be 2-1 up on Wednesday with 30 mins left George would be giving it "We're almost there" cue Henry scoring an outrageous last minute goal.

Oh yeah Andy Gray too, what exactly does "i'm sorry but.............." mean??

Would we not win on away goals  ;)
Post by: Yes I Would on November 17, 2009, 10:01:15 PM
As pundits go i never thought i could despise anyone as much as Jamie Lampard Redknapp until i had the misfortune of seeing Andy Townsend in action during Champions league coverage! Ball licking bastard..
Oh also forgot about that yolk Murray who does channel 5. If ever a face for radio!!

In fact some of the best about these days are the cricket guys, Lloyd, Botham and Warne.. Boycott can be ok in small doses!
Post by: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:08:14 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2009, 09:43:16 PM
Quotethink George Hamilton is terrible, and he's also a jinx!!!! If by some miracle Ireland happen to be 2-1 up on Wednesday with 30 mins left George would be giving it "We're almost there" cue Henry scoring an outrageous last minute goal.

No SS, because that would make it 3-2 on aggregate :D
Post by: Never beat the deeler on November 17, 2009, 10:10:49 PM

No, We'd lose 3-2 on aggregate

Love the George Hamilton-isms, and the Ronglish stuff, although it must be damn near impossible to commentate and not sound annoying! Nearly every commentator has annoyed someone on this board

Re: YIW, Michael Holding is a joy to listen to when the cricket is on!
Post by: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:13:36 PM
I love some of the American sports broadcasters. Harry Carrey from the Chicago Cubs had a great rythm for baseball. The College Football has/had some great ones, including Keith Jackson (Woah Nellie) and you'd go a long way to hear a better team than Pat Summeral and John MAdden in the NFL.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on November 17, 2009, 10:18:53 PM
Sid Waddell
Post by: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:20:55 PM
I can't listen to that Geordie hoor :D He makes my ears hurt, with the random manic shouted sentence enders.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 10:22:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:13:36 PM
I love some of the American sports broadcasters. Harry Carrey from the Chicago Cubs had a great rythm for baseball. The College Football has/had some great ones, including Keith Jackson (Woah Nellie) and you'd go a long way to hear a better team than Pat Summeral and John MAdden in the NFL.
The best.
Post by: stew on November 17, 2009, 10:33:43 PM
The worst commentator of all time, and I mean all time has to be that tube Tommy Smith who does CL matches, he is so dire he does not even qualify to be dire he is that bad.

Harry carrey was always full when commentating and was great craic altogether and the best commentator I have ever heard in any sport is the announcer for the Milwaukee Brewers, he is a master storyteller and is hilarious , his name is Bob Uecker. Legend.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:36:57 PM
Quote from: stew on November 17, 2009, 10:33:43 PM
The worst commentator of all time, and I mean all time has to be that tube Tommy Smith who does CL matches, he is so dire he does not even qualify to be dire he is that bad.

Harry carrey was always full when commentating and was great craic altogether and the best commentator I have ever heard in any sport is the announcer for the Milwaukee Brewers, he is a master storyteller and is hilarious , his name is Bob Uecker. Legend.

That's the guy in Major League the baseball comedy, isn't it stew?
Post by: sammymaguire on November 17, 2009, 10:38:29 PM
Worst
John McCririck
Claire Balding
Sue Barker
Barry McGuigan
Sam Torrance
John McEnroe

Best
Big Ron (shame he put his foot in it)
Peter O'Sullevan
Des Lynam
John Francombe
Gerry Armstrong (spanish soccer only)
Murray Walker
Clive Everton
David Vine
(whispering) Ted Lowe
Jim Rosenthal
Gary Lineker
Jeff Stelling
Matt Le Tissier
Paul Merson
Ray Stubbs
Adrian Chiles
Peter Alliss
Howard Clark
Steve Rider
Post by: Minder on November 17, 2009, 10:40:20 PM
I can't agree on Gerry "For me that isn't a foul" Armstrong Sammy, he is very poor.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2009, 10:48:13 PM
Sorry lads. It was a long day  :-[
Post by: nifan on November 17, 2009, 10:49:04 PM
Agree minder - armstrong is poor, but hes no fullerton who is awful.

I cant stand Tyldsely either.

Ray houton is a rubbish when hes on the commentary team as well
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 10:49:46 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on November 17, 2009, 10:38:29 PM
Worst
John McCririck
Claire Balding
Sue Barker
Barry McGuigan
Sam Torrance
John McEnroe

Best
Big Ron (shame he put his foot in it)
Peter O'Sullevan
Des Lynam
John Francombe
Gerry Armstrong (spanish soccer only)
Murray Walker
Clive Everton
David Vine
(whispering) Ted Lowe
Jim Rosenthal
Gary Lineker
Jeff Stelling
Matt Le Tissier
Paul Merson
Ray Stubbs
Adrian Chiles
Peter Alliss
Howard Clark
Steve Rider
Pundits, presenters or commentators? You've listed them all.
Post by: sammymaguire on November 17, 2009, 10:52:13 PM
they come under all umbrellas; i.e. those who comment on sporting affairs in a broadcasting medium  ;)

Gerry does go on a bit but he makes Deportivo v Valencia more interesting for me
Post by: mountainboii on November 17, 2009, 10:56:50 PM
Not really commentators, but the lads on Soccer Saturday on Sky are great. No goal ever really lives up to Chris Kamara's inimitable description.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5T-ItZc8TA
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2009, 11:01:19 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on November 17, 2009, 10:52:13 PM
they come under all umbrellas; i.e. those who comment on sporting affairs in a broadcasting medium  ;)

Gerry does go on a bit but he makes Deportivo v Valencia more interesting for me
If you are including pundits I'd say there are few better than Michael Johnson on athletics.
Post by: Fear Boirche on November 18, 2009, 03:51:42 PM
I actually don't mind Mark Sidebottom that much - at least if your listening to him, it means the BBC are showing some GAA. For me a lot of commentators, especially local ones, seem to try  be mimics of the greats like O'Hehir and Muircheartaigh - at least Sidebottom has his own style. I know it mightn't be everyone's cup of tea, but he sounds professional and often works well with his co-commentator.

As for the worst, it has to be Owen McConnon on Radio Ulster. He is appallingly bad at actually describing to the action or giving the score, for example he will say that someone is through on goal, but won't say who or at what and then say "oh what great save", leaving me screaming at the radio "Who, where?". Whenever something exciting happens, he normally just blurts out a load of excitable noises and it's left to Brian Canavan to describe to the listener what actually happened.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 18, 2009, 05:08:59 PM

An Accountant who can't count......interesting   :o
Post by: stew on November 18, 2009, 05:33:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 17, 2009, 10:36:57 PM
Quote from: stew on November 17, 2009, 10:33:43 PM

That's the guy in Major League the baseball comedy, isn't it stew?

Correcto AZ, I had forgotten about that. He is an amazing character.
Post by: Puckoon on November 18, 2009, 05:35:01 PM
Jesus stew Id forgotten about tommy smith!
Post by: stew on November 18, 2009, 05:43:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 18, 2009, 05:35:01 PM
Jesus stew Id forgotten about tommy smith!

I dont know how anybody could forget the boul tommy, I would like to believe me. He uses words during CL matches that I get but anyone that wasnt Irish would never get, at one point last year he said and I quote, " he hit him an awful dunder lookit" I nearly burst me arse laughing but he is an embarassment because he is nearly always wrong in his observations and is clearly out of his depth.
Post by: Puckoon on November 18, 2009, 05:45:04 PM
"And Thierry Henry has just bulged the auld onion bag"
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 18, 2009, 05:46:43 PM
The boul' Tommy  :D :D - listening to him blether on about GAA results during CL games

(http://i.a.cnn.net/si/2007/writers/richard_deitsch/04/24/smyth.qa/p1_smyth_0424.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 18, 2009, 05:48:27 PM
Have any of you ever heard that Geordie fella Ray Hudson who does football out here on GOL TV - he's a legend!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS6Np-g_h5w
Post by: JUst retired on November 19, 2009, 09:08:43 AM
Did you hear that cnut Hamilton last night talking about Nic Ol As An El ka. impressing with his knowledge of french,I presume. Just say it as it is ffs. ::)
Post by: sammymaguire on November 19, 2009, 09:17:46 AM
Quote from: JUst retired on November 19, 2009, 09:08:43 AM
Did you hear that cnut Hamilton last night talking about Nic Ol As An El ka. impressing with his knowledge of french,I presume. Just say it as it is ffs. ::)

I think he didn't know whether he wanted to say Nicola or Nicolas... toss pot
Post by: Canalman on November 19, 2009, 09:40:22 AM
The best by far John Motson. Like Martin Carney also for his enthusiasm and his obvious love of the game. Dara Moloney very good also.

The worst Ger Canning.
Post by: rolloutking on November 19, 2009, 10:01:11 AM
The boy that does the Rugby on RTE f**king makes me cringe. They way he growls out every sentance. He sounds like the man from them american action film trailers.

The best:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POHuXU01bOs

Eddie Moroney
Title: Worst sports commentators
Post by: 5 Sams on August 08, 2010, 10:29:03 PM
Ger Canning excelled himself today commentating on the AISF between Cork and Kilkenny.

Ben O'Connor took a score...he then went on to describe a great point by "Ben O'Sullivan" and then managed to mention his brother "Jerry O'Sullivan".

Jesus wept...how does he keep his job???
Post by: spuds on August 08, 2010, 10:58:00 PM
have this said earlier on hurling side
ger canning towards end of game today "heres michael cussen the 6ft 7in dinasaur"

and they repeated it on the sunday game
Post by: omagh_gael on August 09, 2010, 12:02:17 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 08, 2010, 10:58:00 PM
have this said earlier on hurling side
ger canning towards end of game today "heres michael cussen the 6ft 7in dinasaur"

and they repeated it on the sunday game

Noticed that myself. Although had a wee chuckle when the co-commentator quipped that yon Murphy fella for Cork must have forgot to pay Jackie Tryell his rent money after getting a hard hit (mentioned earlier that they used to be flat mates).
Post by: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 12:33:44 PM
Couldn't find a home for this....but I see ITV have given Adrian Chiles the boot and have refused to say why???
Post by: Boycey on January 23, 2015, 12:50:10 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 12:33:44 PM
Couldn't find a home for this....but I see ITV have given Adrian Chiles the boot and have refused to say why???

Possibly for crimes against football punditry... Funnily I quite enjoyed him when he introduced MOTD2 back in the day on BBC2 but he was truly awful on ITV. You could see Keano glowering at him every now and again  ;D
Post by: seafoid on January 23, 2015, 01:05:34 PM
did he have a run in with Keano or was he just out of tune with the Zeitgeist ?
Post by: NAG1 on January 23, 2015, 01:16:11 PM
You will go a long way in any sport before you will find a better commentator/ entertainer than the late Bill McLaren...pure class
Post by: screenexile on January 23, 2015, 01:28:32 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 23, 2015, 12:50:10 PM

Possibly for crimes against football punditry... Funnily I quite enjoyed him when he introduced MOTD2 back in the day on BBC2 but he was truly awful on ITV. You could see Keano glowering at him every now and again  ;D

Keano says in his book that he likes Chiles alright. That bruff Brummie thing he has going on does my nut in. Much the same way Colin Murray did for the English.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 01:45:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 23, 2015, 01:28:32 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 23, 2015, 12:50:10 PM

Keano says in his book that he likes Chiles alright. That bruff Brummie thing he has going on does my nut in. Much the same way Colin Murray did for the English.

He ended up going to the AI Hurling Final the year before last with Keane so they must get on alright.

(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTjU9sNimuHlEm0aT3yP6WJZt8PZbCsZ1VTofSNqUyNKnEyLPN2)
Post by: Club Rossa on January 23, 2015, 02:46:36 PM
Adrian Logan was awful when he commentated for UTV
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 23, 2015, 02:49:13 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 23, 2015, 01:16:11 PM
You will go a long way in any sport before you will find a better commentator/ entertainer than the late Bill McLaren...pure class

Jeez he sickened my hole. That Andrew Cotter boy is the worst for me!!
Post by: rodney trotter on January 23, 2015, 03:12:31 PM
Chiles was on a big enough salary apparently.  They no longer have the rights for the FA Cup and won't have Champions League games from next season, will be on Bt Sport.

Townsend gone too, so clearing the deadwood
Post by: Sidney on January 23, 2015, 03:35:03 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 17, 2009, 12:06:00 PM
American ones are the best...
They're rubbish. Give very little insight and some of them, like Joe Buck, are offensive to my ears.

Post by: Feckitt on January 23, 2015, 03:51:45 PM
The worst are anyone who does sport on BBCNI or UTV.  They are all Jackie Fullerton wannabees with weird fake Northern Ireland media accents.

The best, Micheal O'Muircheartaigh, and Bill 'They'll be dancing in the streets of Pontypridd' McLaren.
Post by: thewobbler on January 23, 2015, 04:14:42 PM
They don't seem to make them like they used to, or maybe we are just a tad more volatile these days as a listening public.

For vocal talent Eddie Butler is wonderful. Unfortunately he has Brian Moore often say beside him, who apart from his whining voice, cannot present an objective analysis of anything involving England.

Always enjoyed listening to Mark Nicholas. He has the unusual knack of making sense to both novices and experts.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 23, 2015, 04:19:38 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 23, 2015, 04:14:42 PM
They don't seem to make them like they used to, or maybe we are just a tad more volatile these days as a listening public.

For vocal talent Eddie Butler is wonderful. Unfortunately he has Brian Moore often say beside him, who apart from his whining voice, cannot present an objective analysis of anything involving England.

Always enjoyed listening to Mark Nicholas. He has the unusual knack of making sense to both novices and experts.

We have a winner for worst one anyway.
Post by: Keyser soze on January 23, 2015, 04:24:49 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on January 23, 2015, 03:51:45 PM
The worst are anyone who does sport on BBCNI or UTV.  They are all Jackie Fullerton wannabees with weird fake Northern Ireland media accents.

The best, Micheal O'Muircheartaigh, and Bill 'They'll be dancing in the streets of Pontypridd' McLaren.

Surely it was Kirkcaldy they were gonna be dancing in the streets of?
Post by: deiseach on January 23, 2015, 04:33:33 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on January 23, 2015, 04:24:49 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on January 23, 2015, 03:51:45 PM

Surely it was Kirkcaldy they were gonna be dancing in the streets of?

Nah, it was Pretoria.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 23, 2015, 04:37:14 PM
Peter Alliss is superb. Could listen to him all day. Ken Brown also very good in the golf. Shame they aren't on tv more.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 04:50:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 23, 2015, 04:37:14 PM
Peter Alliss is superb. Could listen to him all day. Ken Brown also very good in the golf. Shame they aren't on tv more.

I seem to remember David Feherty making a bit of a name for himself in the commentary box at the Golf in America...funny as well from what I hear..
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 23, 2015, 04:55:23 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 04:50:50 PM

I seem to remember David Feherty making a bit of a name for himself in the commentary box at the Golf in America...funny as well from what I hear..

Ah jeez nah 5 Sams. Faherty's sickening 'mid-atlantic' accent would put years on ya!
Post by: annapr on January 23, 2015, 04:57:44 PM
I think Martin Tyler on Sky is excellent. His co commentators aren't usually up to much but Tyler himself is very good.
Post by: seafoid on January 23, 2015, 05:10:56 PM
the old BBC commentators like Bill McClaren , Alliss and co were always top notch
Post by: Sidney on January 23, 2015, 05:15:03 PM
Alliss is one of the very last of the old school BBC commentators still around and it's still a pleasure to listen to him on the rare occasions he's behind the microphone. Himself and Alex Hay were a perfect partnership.

You really can't look far past the BBC when it comes to the great commentators. Every sport, they had it covered.

Davies for football (and tennis, rowing, hockey, gymnastics etc), Benaud for cricket, McLaren and Starmer-Smith for rugby, Carpenter for boxing, Coleman for Athletics, Lowe and Edmonds for snooker, Waddell and Green for darts, Walker for motorsport, Maskell for tennis.

Radio 5 has produced from fantastic commentators also. Bryon Butler, Peter Jones, Mike Ingham, Ron Jones and the wonderful Test Match Special team.

While I do like Eddie Butler who has a great voice for commentating (as did his fellow Welshman Cliff Morgan years ago), the BBC's current stable of football commentators is very poor - all virtually indistinguishable from each other apart from Jonathan Pearce, whose distinctiveness in his case not a good thing at all.

Post by: Billys Boots on January 23, 2015, 05:24:31 PM
No one has mentioned Eddie Waring - there's probably a good reason for that.  :P
Post by: bridgegael on January 23, 2015, 06:57:57 PM
steve cram is excellent on bbc athletics, knows the sport inside out.
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 23, 2015, 07:16:05 PM
Quote from: Sidney on January 23, 2015, 05:15:03 PM
Alliss is one of the very last of the old school BBC commentators still around and it's still a pleasure to listen to him on the rare occasions he's behind the microphone. Himself and Alex Hay were a perfect partnership.

You really can't look far past the BBC when it comes to the great commentators. Every sport, they had it covered.

Davies for football (and tennis, rowing, hockey, gymnastics etc), Benaud for cricket, McLaren and Starmer-Smith for rugby, Carpenter for boxing, Coleman for Athletics, Lowe and Edmonds for snooker, Waddell and Green for darts, Walker for motorsport, Maskell for tennis.

Radio 5 has produced from fantastic commentators also. Bryon Butler, Peter Jones, Mike Ingham, Ron Jones and the wonderful Test Match Special team.

While I do like Eddie Butler who has a great voice for commentating (as did his fellow Welshman Cliff Morgan years ago), the BBC's current stable of football commentators is very poor - all virtually indistinguishable from each other apart from Jonathan Pearce, whose distinctiveness in his case not a good thing at all.
+1, have often thought they blandly blended into eachother, none of them even remotely close to comparing to the likes of Davies or Moore.

Great shout on Benaud too, a master of the art.
Post by: mouview on January 23, 2015, 08:02:34 PM

The late Hay was excellent, but Alliss has gotten much worse and blathery with age. I've always preferred those for whom less is more, who don't feel the need to explain absolutely everything that appears on screen; thus, Barry Davies, Clive Everton in snooker, Bruce Critchley in golf (most of the Sky golf commentators are good in fairness). Murray Walker wouldn't be to everyone's tastes but I loved his knowledge of subject and unconcealed enthusiasm. Always rated Nigel Starmer-Smith for the rugger also. TV3 footie commentators are wicked.
Post by: seafoid on January 23, 2015, 08:36:29 PM
The Richie Benaud 12th man impersonations are very funny

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AiehJsN4HY
Post by: cadhlancian on January 23, 2015, 09:09:10 PM
There is a lad commentating on BEIN sports here in the US, I would strangle the bastard if I could get my hands on him! He's a Geordie , and holy f**k but he's one annoying w**ker ;D
Tries to make these stupid( trying to be funny) comments , every 30 seconds during the game. Anybody in the US know who he is??
Post by: Gaffer on January 23, 2015, 09:27:14 PM
What about this boyo??

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sioqXo6iRMU

Post by: annapr on January 23, 2015, 09:37:56 PM
He's a horrible dose of a man who should be put out to graze.
Can't stand listening to the old fool.
Post by: smort on January 23, 2015, 10:40:01 PM
I can understand your love of Peter Alliss' voice, but is actual commentary this last couple of years has been awful. He has lost it. Doesn't know half the players and some of the things he says are very outdated.
Post by: Shrewdness on January 24, 2015, 12:08:45 AM
How about Willie Hegarty on Shannonside radio?.. Famous for quotes such as ' a hairy Mary' and 'full duck or no dinner'.
Post by: Sidney on January 24, 2015, 12:53:26 AM
Quote from: mouview on January 23, 2015, 08:02:34 PM

The late Hay was excellent, but Alliss has gotten much worse and blathery with age. I've always preferred those for whom less is more, who don't feel the need to explain absolutely everything that appears on screen; thus, Barry Davies, Clive Everton in snooker, Bruce Critchley in golf (most of the Sky golf commentators are good in fairness). Murray Walker wouldn't be to everyone's tastes but I loved his knowledge of subject and unconcealed enthusiasm. Always rated Nigel Starmer-Smith for the rugger also. TV3 footie commentators are wicked.
I love the tangents Alliss goes off on. During the closing holes of the US Masters a couple of years back he inexplicably started talking about Charlie Tully who played for Celtic in the 1950s. I love that sort of stuff. When it comes to the back nine at the US Masters or the Open, Alliss is the only man you want behind the mike.

Cricket commentators are great for that sort of stuff, too. I was watching the first couple of hours of one the Australia-India test matches late at night there before Christmas and Shane Warne went off on a tangent about hurling and bizarrely mentioned the 1993 All-Ireland final between Kilkenny and Galway. Cricket commentary is often a joy to behold, and it's even better on radio with Aggers and Blowers.
Post by: DownFanatic on January 24, 2015, 02:41:03 AM
Aliss unreal.
His ramblings are addictive.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 24, 2015, 03:43:35 AM
F1 hasn't been the same since Murray Walker left.  He made a pig's ear out of a lot of it, but he was still great to listen to. Always enjoyed James Hunt's voice, the polar opposite. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khA67-r5lSQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khA67-r5lSQ)

Phil Ligget and Paul Sherwen are a great team in cycling. I met Ligget a few years ago. Told him his commentary on Stephen Roche's comeback at La Plagne was the best commentary since the Hindenburg. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQojh-wqL04 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQojh-wqL04)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 24, 2015, 05:48:12 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on January 23, 2015, 09:09:10 PM
There is a lad commentating on BEIN sports here in the US, I would strangle the b**tard if I could get my hands on him! He's a Geordie , and holy f**k but he's one annoying w**ker ;D
Tries to make these stupid( trying to be funny) comments , every 30 seconds during the game. Anybody in the US know who he is??

Ray Hudson, once or twice a game  maybe but every time the ball is touched he has something stupid to say.  The guy that commentates along with him is poor also.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 24, 2015, 07:33:12 AM
Regarding American sports commentaters John Madden and Pat Summerall were different class,I also like Marv Albert's NBA commentary.
Post by: Minder on January 24, 2015, 09:36:33 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 24, 2015, 07:33:12 AM
Regarding American sports commentaters John Madden and Pat Summerall were different class,I also like Marv Albert's NBA commentary.

Some of the NFL commentary is brilliant, great insight and puts the Premier League "he hit that one well" chancers to shame. Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth probably the best, not everyone likes Joe Buck & Troy Aikman but I think they are excellent too.
Post by: gallsman on January 24, 2015, 12:19:56 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 24, 2015, 09:36:33 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 24, 2015, 07:33:12 AM

Some of the NFL commentary is brilliant, great insight and puts the Premier League "he hit that one well" chancers to shame. Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth probably the best, not everyone likes Joe Buck & Troy Aikman but I think they are excellent too.

Collinsworth is fantastic, much superior to madden in my opinion, although I only caught the very tail end of Madden's career. Pity NBC is the night game.
Post by: maigheo on January 24, 2015, 02:13:42 PM
I think Jon Gruden is also very good .Did not like him at first but since he became the sole color guy on MNF I find him very good at explaining why things happen in a game
Post by: bridgegael on January 24, 2015, 03:08:49 PM
what do you guys think of michael carlson?
Post by: Aerlik on February 05, 2015, 11:11:52 AM
Australian commentators are horrendous.  There is one, Bruce McAvennie, who commentates on the Olympics, AFL and tennis.  Christ he'd annoy you.  Basil Zempalis used to play a bit of reasonable standard footy so knows a bit about what he's talking but the king of the cruds has to be Eddie McGuire, the Collingwood president who feckin commentates on HIS team on Fox Footy.  Talk about impartiality.

For me the best is an ex Collingwood player called Brian Taylor who has a wee bit of a soft spot for Fremantle it must be said.

The English soccer commentators for Australia's games are utter shite.
Post by: screenexile on February 05, 2015, 11:37:43 AM
Worst:
Mark Robson
Mark Sidebottom
Michael Owen
Jonathan Greene (I'd rather have a dose of the scour than listen to him)
Robbie Savage
Martin Carney (For the love of god get him off the TV)
Ryle Nugent
Jamie Redknapp ("triffick" aye f**k off)
Anybody on Highland Radio

Best:
G Nev (Pains me to say it)
John Champion (Dunno why but I like him)
Daragh Moloney
Martin Tyler
Miles Harrison
Michael Johnson (He's just coolness personified he's excellent)
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 08:04:30 PM
Among your "worst" I would give Sidey a bye ball. I actually enjoy his ramblings and off the wall comments...plus he actually knows what he is talking about...he is a GAA man and would rarely get players mixed up with others unlike Ger "an enterprising ball"Canning...as for Brian Carthy....I know the big noises in the GAA think he is the dogs bollix but listen to him commentating...Im sure he's a lovely man and all the rest...but mother of god its painful stuff listening to him.

Wee tip, might be showing my bias here, but tune in to Radio Kerry some afternoon when they are playing in the championship. You are in for treat with Weeshie and Gary Sullivan. I listened to them commentate on the Kerry Mayo replay in Limerick last year and it was brilliant. I'll get a link and put it up shortly.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 08:22:09 PM
Fill your boots lads...

This is brilliant..the last 5-10 mins is spectacular commentary. Also the bit with your Mayo man "invading" the pitch is class.

http://media.radiokerry.ie/mediamanager/embed/player/podcasts/26/item/27675
Post by: LCohen on February 05, 2015, 08:43:34 PM
A different era and a different sport but John Arlott was the greatest I have ever heard. Fantastic man and fantastic contribution to life outside of sport and giving a two fingered salute to the National Party of South Africa.

Fred Cogley was probably the worst I have been subject to - still going I hear.
Post by: andoireabu on February 05, 2015, 09:06:34 PM
Andrew Castle. The tennis lad from bbc. Wrecks my head the way he talks.
Post by: pullhard on February 05, 2015, 10:01:57 PM
Phil Neville is hopeless, sounds awful too
Post by: Gold on February 06, 2015, 12:02:46 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 08:22:09 PM
Fill your boots lads...

This is brilliant..the last 5-10 mins is spectacular commentary. Also the bit with your Mayo man "invading" the pitch is class.

Class
Post by: maigheo on February 06, 2015, 02:49:21 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 08:22:09 PM
Fill your boots lads...

not if you gave me a million euro could you make me listen to that >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: michaelg on February 06, 2015, 07:24:27 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on February 05, 2015, 09:06:34 PM
Andrew Castle. The tennis lad from bbc. Wrecks my head the way he talks.
Andrew Castle is a total p***k.
Post by: michaelg on February 06, 2015, 07:25:52 AM
Not sure if mentioned previously, but Danny Murphy always seems to talk a lot of sense.  Peter Drury is the worst / hardest to listen to football commentatorin my opinion.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 31, 2015, 08:23:38 PM
Pleasantly surprised with the BBC NI coverage of the Fermanagh Antrim game. Is that Thomas Kane commentating? Thought he did well. Clark knows his stuff.
Post by: Minder on May 31, 2015, 08:27:43 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 31, 2015, 08:23:38 PM
Pleasantly surprised with the BBC NI coverage of the Fermanagh Antrim game. Is that Thomas Kane commentating? Thought he did well. Clark knows his stuff.

Thomas Niblock commentating I think
Post by: 5 Sams on May 31, 2015, 08:31:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 31, 2015, 08:27:43 PM

Thomas Niblock commentating I think

OK ta. Came late to the game. Did a good job.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 01, 2015, 09:25:35 AM

I never seen the game but presume it was Thomas Niblock, he done the Donegal Tyrone game and was very good alongside the rambling McHugh.