GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: corcaioch on November 13, 2009, 06:05:40 PM

Title: Peter Canavan
Post by: corcaioch on November 13, 2009, 06:05:40 PM
Collection of footage of Peter the Great in action:

http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=8E4E5411755595A5
Title: Re: Peter Canavan
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 13, 2009, 06:19:24 PM
Quote from: corcaioch on November 13, 2009, 06:05:40 PM
Collection of footage of Peter the Great in action:

http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=8E4E5411755595A5

Thanks for that.............Peter ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 13, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
Any footage anywhere of his point v Donegal in the 1994 ulster semi final?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 13, 2009, 10:09:02 PM
...and then sometimes the camera doesn't see Peter...  ;)
Post by: under the bar on November 13, 2009, 11:28:31 PM
Quote...and then sometimes the camera doesn't see Peter...  ;)

and I'm sure it didn't see everything you got up to either
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 13, 2009, 11:53:32 PM
Quote from: under the bar on November 13, 2009, 11:28:31 PM
Quote...and then sometimes the camera doesn't see Peter...  ;)

and I'm sure it didn't see everything you got up to either

I didn't say he got up to anything? Did he?  :o
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 14, 2009, 05:51:49 AM
Well, I suppose he was an effective player in his own way but he wouldn't have had the natural talent and genius of say, a Maurice Fitzgerald now would he ?

I'd say he might have made the subs bench on the Kerry team of the 80's and would probably have been a league regular while Jacko and the lads were on the piss for the winter. So yeah, he was decent enough I suppose.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 14, 2009, 06:48:47 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on November 14, 2009, 05:51:49 AM
Well, I suppose he was an effective player in his own way but he wouldn't have had the natural talent and genius of say, a Maurice Fitzgerald now would he ?

I'd say he might have made the subs bench on the Kerry team of the 80's and would probably have been a league regular while Jacko and the lads were on the piss for the winter. So yeah, he was decent enough I suppose.

yawn!!  ::)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 14, 2009, 10:06:52 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 14, 2009, 06:48:47 AM

yawn!!  ::)

yeah, he was kind of a dull player alright..wasn't he ..?

....come on Bennyharp..as one of the more obvious Tymoan wums I would have expected a bit better than a weak emoticon in response,
but, then again, I've always had tymoanie wums like you like you for breakfast............................................burp !

Kingdom abu !
Post by: Zapatista on November 14, 2009, 10:13:54 AM

Even towards the end of his career he was staring on Tyrone teams that were better than the Kerry teams of the time. I suppose there's no harm in a little fun guessing at what he would have been like playing for Kerry in the 80s.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 14, 2009, 10:28:00 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on November 14, 2009, 10:13:54 AM

Even towards the end of his career he was staring on Tyrone teams that were better than the Kerry teams of the time. I suppose there's no harm in a little fun guessing at what he would have been like playing for Kerry in the 80s.

"Tyrone teams that were better than the Kerry teams of the time".....nahh, moe cynical and systemized but better ? ...no. Not a hope.

yes, your right, it is a bit of fun. I would never seriously entertain the idea of Canavan as part of that kerry panel, nerver mind the first 15.
Post by: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 10:38:14 AM
Best player the game has ever had. No argument.
Post by: Minder on November 14, 2009, 10:48:21 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 10:38:14 AM

Not within Tyrone anyway.............
Post by: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 10:49:45 AM
Quote from: Minder on November 14, 2009, 10:48:21 AM

Anybody that understands the game knows he is...
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 14, 2009, 11:07:16 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 10:49:45 AM

Frank McGuigan was the best but as you are from Ballygawley and probably on Peter's panel or related to him you will say that  :o
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 14, 2009, 11:23:37 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 14, 2009, 11:07:16 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 10:49:45 AM

Frank McGuigan was the best but as you are from Ballygawley and probably on Peter's panel or related to him you will say that  :o

So McGuigan was the best player ever and Canavan was the second best?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 14, 2009, 11:28:42 AM
No-Peter wasn't the second best  8)
Post by: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 12:21:39 PM
 He done it consistently for about 14 years for club and county. He stared for Tyrone in 95 scoring all but one of Tyrone's points that day and 10 years later starred again in the all Ireland final scoring a superb goal!!  The man was a genius that has no equal. Some players came close ie Maurice Fitz, SON,etc but did not equal him in consistency.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 14, 2009, 12:29:19 PM
No doubt Peter won far more and was more dedicated than McGuigan. This would be down to Frank's drink problem (which he has publically spoke about) and lack of same drive. On the field however Peter was not in the same class. McGuigan was playing senior county football when he was a minor, he played midfield and forwards and at the age of 30 well overweight  scored 11 points from play in an Ulster final. Ten of Canavan's points in 1995 final were from close in frees. Still I don't want to try to diminish Peter's class... he is of course a legend but having seen both for many years, given the choice of who to go and watch... the King. Did you ever see Frank McGuigan playing and I am talking about in his prime... in the seventies? a natural genius and I ain't from Ardboe... Ballygawley unique   ;)       
Post by: stew on November 14, 2009, 07:05:24 PM

he was the equal of maurice fitz and better I'd say though there was not much in it.

Ach fcukit, i'd say he was the single greatest GAA player ever and i despise the cnut.
Post by: haranguerer on November 14, 2009, 07:26:57 PM
Quote from: stew on November 14, 2009, 07:05:24 PM

he was the equal of maurice fitz and better I'd say though there was not much in it.

Ach fcukit, i'd say he was the single greatest GAA player ever and i despise the cnut.

Right you are stew - and i depise tyrone.

I only saw him in intercounty games (and marked him in soccer a few times), but he was pure class - the best ever is a matter of opinion, and he was the best ever imo.

Longrunsthefox - seen f mcg replays, and fair enough you can only deal with whats in front of you, but the scores i saw, he was given that much space i thought it was the warm up...
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 15, 2009, 01:28:19 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 14, 2009, 07:26:57 PM

I only saw him in intercounty games (and marked him in soccer a few times), but he was pure class - the best ever is a matter of opinion, and he was the best ever imo.

Longrunsthefox - seen f mcg replays, and fair enough you can only deal with whats in front of you, but the scores i saw, he was given that much space i thought it was the warm up...

So why didn't the other players do what he did? Frank made his space... they couldn't get a hand near him.  Anyway if someone who saw Frank playing during his career thinks Canavan was better I can agree to disagree but to go by video clips... forget it.   
Post by: bigpaul on November 15, 2009, 02:16:19 AM
This debate has been rehearsed in just about every pub in Tyrone over the last 15 years and it still intrigues me!My own opinion is that Frank was the George Best of Gaelic football.However,if you were to give me the choice of a player for my team Canavan would always be the man.Peter Canavan contributed more to Tyrone football by his 22nd birthday(he wasn't even legal at the time) than Frank did in his whole career.When it comes to raw talent Johnny Corvan beat them all !!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: haranguerer on November 15, 2009, 09:37:44 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 15, 2009, 01:28:19 AM

So why didn't the other players do what he did? Frank made his space... they couldn't get a hand near him.  Anyway if someone who saw Frank playing during his career thinks Canavan was better I can agree to disagree but to go by video clips... forget it.   

cos they were f**king shite.

and to come out with this bollocks about his drink problem as thought it was a mitigating factor is a joke. Sure I know a lad who was the best footballer ever, but he didn't bother his hole turning out for the county... ::)

You think possibly there was trick photography involved in the footage? Canavan is ten times the player frank was. In the future, there will be players who will be ten times better than canavan was. If players werent getting better generation by generation, there'd be something wrong.

And btw, m fitz is also over rated - class, granted, but best ever, not a chance. His treatment by kerry managers (a) should tell you a lot, and (b) serves now to protect his legend.

Sidelines arent that hard to put over.  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 15, 2009, 11:12:37 AM
Quote from: bigpaul on November 15, 2009, 02:16:19 AM
This debate has been rehearsed in just about every pub in Tyrone over the last 15 years and it still intrigues me!My own opinion is that Frank was the George Best of Gaelic football.However,if you were to give me the choice of a player for my team Canavan would always be the man.Peter Canavan contributed more to Tyrone football by his 22nd birthday(he wasn't even legal at the time) than Frank did in his whole career.When it comes to raw talent Johnny Corvan beat them all !!!!!!!!!!!!

Frank had captained Tyrone to minor, U21 and senior Ulster titles by the time he was 19  ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 15, 2009, 04:57:23 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 15, 2009, 09:37:44 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 15, 2009, 01:28:19 AM

cos they were f**king shite.

and to come out with this bollocks about his drink problem as thought it was a mitigating factor is a joke. Sure I know a lad who was the best footballer ever, but he didn't bother his hole turning out for the county... ::)

You think possibly there was trick photography involved in the footage? Canavan is ten times the player frank was. In the future, there will be players who will be ten times better than canavan was. If players werent getting better generation by generation, there'd be something wrong.

And btw, m fitz is also over rated - class, granted, but best ever, not a chance. His treatment by kerry managers (a) should tell you a lot, and (b) serves now to protect his legend.

Sidelines arent that hard to put over.  ;)

Hey! angry head, Peter was a great player but not in the same class as the King... get over it  :-* You're another one who probably never saw McGuigan playing 
Post by: haranguerer on November 16, 2009, 11:19:06 AM
 :D ;)
Post by: Sandino on November 16, 2009, 02:24:49 PM
I would like to comment on this issue. As others have said it's a pretty pointless discussion much like the team of the decade debate. Yet is a topic that will be chatted about in bars on high stools for years to come, at least until someone better that Frank and Peter come along. I have had the pleasure of seeing both men play, in the flesh so to speak, so I feel that I have the right to comment. For me Peter was the best player I have ever seen at least on a par with Jacko.  Fitz was a great player also but to my mind he was no way near as good as Matt Connor. To say one player is/was a great player should not imply that another was anything less that a great player. Comparisons are sometimes foolish!
Post by: redhugh on November 16, 2009, 03:04:27 PM
Some quare dung talked about these two legends that our county was blessed with.We were lucky to have either one of them wear the red hand never mind both.I for one would not be fit to lace the boots of either and I'm sure they could both still roast me on any given day, now or at any time in the future. ;D
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 16, 2009, 08:12:46 PM
Quote from: Sandino on November 16, 2009, 02:24:49 PM
I would like to comment on this issue. As others have said it's a pretty pointless discussion much like the team of the decade debate. Yet is a topic that will be chatted about in bars on high stools for years to come, at least until someone better that Frank and Peter come along. I have had the pleasure of seeing both men play, in the flesh so to speak, so I feel that I have the right to comment. For me Peter was the best player I have ever seen at least on a par with Jacko.  Fitz was a great player also but to my mind he was no way near as good as Matt Connor. To say one player is/was a great player should not imply that another was anything less that a great player. Comparisons are sometimes foolish!

Well Sandino, as you have seen both players I certainly think your opinion is very valid. While I don't agree with it, it is of course a matter of opinion. But others who never saw Frank seem to get very angry when I suggest he was better than Peter, and I too have seen both players.   
Post by: redhugh on November 16, 2009, 08:17:14 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 16, 2009, 08:12:46 PM

Well Red Hugh, as you have seen both players I certainly think your opinion is very valid. While I don't agree with it, it is of course a matter of opinion. But others who never saw Frank seem to get very angry when I suggest he was better than Peter, and I too have seen both players.

Whatchew talkin' 'bout Willis??You taliking about me or Sandino?
Post by: Zapatista on November 16, 2009, 08:20:31 PM
Comparisons are sometimes foolish!

In comparison they are sometimes wise ;)
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2009, 08:25:18 PM
The standard of boot lacing in this country is appalling, from what I can see.
Post by: redhugh on November 16, 2009, 08:47:39 PM
As is the standard of bootlegging unfortunately.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 16, 2009, 11:06:37 PM
Quote from: redhugh on November 16, 2009, 08:17:14 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 16, 2009, 08:12:46 PM

Well Red Hugh, as you have seen both players I certainly think your opinion is very valid. While I don't agree with it, it is of course a matter of opinion. But others who never saw Frank seem to get very angry when I suggest he was better than Peter, and I too have seen both players.

Whatchew talkin' 'bout Willis??You taliking about me or Sandino?

Oops! Ure rite-Sandino. I've corrected it.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 16, 2009, 11:40:21 PM
I was unfortunate to miss Franks best years and only really saw him play in 1984 but i must say he was an absolute joy to watch! I always remember my dad telling me that it was impossible to give Frank a bad pass!! But i agree with Fox in the respect that unless you have seen both in there prime it is impossible to pass judgement on which was best! All i can say is that Peter was far and away the best footballer i have ever seen grace a football pitch, but i say that knowing that i didnt see enough of Frank to do him justice!
Post by: LeoMc on November 17, 2009, 10:13:56 PM
These sorts of arguments are pointless.
Would Peter have survived the more physical games of the 70's?
Would Frank have the commitment to make the team of today?
Would Jack O have stood out with the fitness levels of today?
Would Maurice Fitz have walked onto Kerry teams of earlier years where there was less emphasis on work rate and more on the individual?

Post by: ONeill on November 17, 2009, 11:17:50 PM
Would Maurice have the knackers to walk into the opposing team's showers and deck someone?
Post by: oakleafgael on November 17, 2009, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on November 17, 2009, 10:13:56 PM
These sorts of arguments are pointless.
Would Peter have survived the more physical games of the 70's?
Would Frank have the commitment to make the team of today?
Would Jack O have stood out with the fitness levels of today?
Would Maurice Fitz have walked onto Kerry teams of earlier years where there was less emphasis on work rate and more on the individual?

He would have revelled in it. People talk about poor wee Peter getting his retaliation in first but he was as much a sinner as sinned against.

He is as good a footballer as I have seen in the flesh.
Post by: stephenite on November 18, 2009, 12:22:14 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 17, 2009, 11:17:50 PM
Would Maurice have the knackers to walk into the opposing team's showers and deck someone?

Knackers? Quite an apt choice of word given the content of the rest of the sentence
Post by: muppet on November 18, 2009, 01:02:58 AM
Peter was a grate plare.....
Post by: corcaioch on December 02, 2009, 12:19:47 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 14, 2009, 12:21:39 PM
He done it consistently for about 14 years for club and county. He stared for Tyrone in 95 scoring all but one of Tyrone's points that day and 10 years later starred again in the all Ireland final scoring a superb goal!!  The man was a genius that has no equal. Some players came close ie Maurice Fitz, SON,etc but did not equal him in consistency.

Maurice Fitz but not Mick O'Connell or Pat Spillane?
Post by: DCR on December 02, 2009, 11:00:05 AM
Was once present during a Canavan v McGuigan debate in an Ardboe hostlery and a McGuigan disciple's final (and he felt defining) question was "could Peter Canavan play football when he was drunk"?
Post by: rosskarr on December 02, 2009, 11:08:41 AM
  DCR, could I suggest you remove this as it is offensive although I do get your point.
Post by: cookstownblue on December 02, 2009, 12:59:31 PM
Why should he remove it, he simply stated what he heard in a debate?
Post by: DCR on December 02, 2009, 02:03:24 PM
Quote from: rosskarr on December 02, 2009, 11:08:41 AM
  DCR, could I suggest you remove this as it is offensive although I do get your point.

Please spell out to me in what way you are offended.