Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: orangeman on October 30, 2009, 10:37:19 AM

Title: Only in America !
Post by: orangeman on October 30, 2009, 10:37:19 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8333198.stm
Title: Re: Only in America !
Post by: Bud Wiser on October 30, 2009, 11:05:42 AM
QuoteBut an industry spokesman said it was not gravely concerned about Wal-Mart's move because he said the firm could not offer bereaved families the human touch.
I take it  Kennelly will be one of their first customers to get his order in before he plays Cork again?
Post by: thejuice on October 30, 2009, 11:11:20 AM
Gene Simmons got there first before Walmart.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/1394576.stm
Post by: Denn Forever on October 30, 2009, 11:36:31 AM
Will they coming to ASDA soon
Post by: The Iceman on October 30, 2009, 01:45:55 PM
Why should coffins only be sold by funeral directors for ridiculous markups?
Post by: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 01:58:45 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 30, 2009, 01:45:55 PM
Coffins are not about the price its about the person who is lying inside it. Sure if money was such an important factor  we would all be making our own. It is not right to the person's memory to bury them via Wal-Mart.
Post by: Caid on October 30, 2009, 03:23:10 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 01:58:45 PM
Coffins are not about the price its about the person who is lying inside it. Sure if money was such an important factor  we would all be making our own. It is not right to the person's memory to bury them via Wal-Mart.

The Person has no memory if they're dead
Post by: Overthebar! on October 30, 2009, 03:32:40 PM
only in america:

http://www.heartattackgrill.com/menu.html

instead of mayo they use lard-worst is the man that runs it is a doctor.....
Post by: orangeman on October 30, 2009, 03:36:06 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on October 30, 2009, 03:32:40 PM
only in america:

Jesus - only in America alright.
Post by: Aerlik on October 30, 2009, 03:40:24 PM
Precisely the reason I am going to be cremated.

Here in Oz there's an insurance company called 'Real Insurance'.  During day-time TV it is on flogging shite to unsuspecting retirees and one of the most sickening recent campaigns was that for funeral cover insurance.  It starts off nice and casually with the auld bloke reminiscing about his youth, parenthood, grandparenthood and as the advert progresses the intensity of his voice increases almost to the point where he is panicking that (and I paraphrase) he doesn't want to be a burden on his family after he dies.  For fcuk sake, most parents have sacrificied so much for their children; yet the insensitive b**tards in advertising are flogging the guilt complex.  How the fcuk can a parent who has given their all in parenthood and grandparenthood even begin to think that way?
Post by: thejuice on October 30, 2009, 04:05:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 30, 2009, 03:36:06 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on October 30, 2009, 03:32:40 PM
only in america:

Jesus - only in America alright.

Makes business sense if he's a doctor though. Smart man.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 30, 2009, 04:51:51 PM

Coffins are not about the price its about the person who is lying inside it.
Sure if money was such an important factor  we would all be making our own. It is not right to the person's memory to bury them via Wal-Mart.

I could care less what type of box they put me in
Post by: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 04:56:50 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 30, 2009, 04:51:51 PM

Sure if money was such an important factor  we would all be making our own. It is not right to the person's memory to bury them via Wal-Mart.

Unfortunately not everyone is as narrow-minded as you are.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 30, 2009, 04:58:55 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 04:56:50 PM

it seems to be just you
Post by: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 05:02:44 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 30, 2009, 04:58:55 PM

it seems to be just you
Uh-huh I'm sure it is. Im fairly sure you wouldn't want to be so cheap as to go to Wal-mart for everything, even the end of your days. This is Trailer Trrash material.
Post by: muppet on October 30, 2009, 05:07:27 PM
Didn't Walmart take out life assurance on their staff and claim the money for themselves if the staff died? There was a huge tax break and the added bonus of a windfall if any staff died?

http://moneycentral.msn.com/content/Insurance/P64954.asp  (http://moneycentral.msn.com/content/Insurance/P64954.asp)
Post by: Caid on October 30, 2009, 05:08:36 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 05:02:44 PM

it seems to be just you
Uh-huh I'm sure it is. Im fairly sure you wouldn't want to be so cheap as to go to Wal-mart for everything, even the end of your days. This is Trailer Trrash material.

Who's to say they won't make a better quality product for cheaper?  Its supply and demand.  They wouldnt sell it if there wasn't a market for it.  Personally I don't see anything wrong with it and as someone said before a bit of competition would do no harm to the undertakers. With the ageing global population there is def. a market there
Post by: Eastern_Pride on October 30, 2009, 05:14:07 PM
Quote from: Caid on October 30, 2009, 05:08:36 PM

it seems to be just you

Who's to say they won't make a better quality product for cheaper?  Its supply and demand.  They wouldnt sell it if there wasn't a market for it.  Personally I don't see anything wrong with it and as someone said before a bit of competition would do no harm to the undertakers. With the ageing global population there is def. a market there
I agree with the competition bit and i suppose with the current sitiuation it could be financially viable but it just dosen't seem right. I take in your argument but I would like you to recognise that although it saves money, what I'm trying to say is relevant as well.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 30, 2009, 07:35:57 PM
It's as well Tesco's don't do 'em - it would be a bit difficult getting a coffin into 1 of the recyclable bags I bring with me every week.

On 2nd thoughts, just shove me in 1 of the bags & I'll be worth an extra clubcard point.
Post by: JUst retired on October 31, 2009, 07:46:14 AM
Imagine pushing one in a trolley accross the carpark. You would`nt have room for the beer or groceries. ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 31, 2009, 08:30:47 AM
Only in America

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/americas/dumb-american-criminals-attempt-robbery-with-lsquopermanent-marker-pen-disguisesrsquo-1929630.html    :D
Post by: J70 on October 31, 2009, 02:30:04 PM

it seems to be just you

What is wrong with selling cheap coffins? Funerals are a big financial burden on families and who the f**k are you to label someone who would buy a coffin at Walmart to save hundreds of dollars as "trailer trash". Do you look down on those who do their shopping at Lidl? I agree with GH - I would be happy if they stuck me in a pine box and put the savings to use in some better way. The beetles, worms, bacteria and fungi are going to consume you sooner or later.
Post by: The Iceman on November 01, 2009, 12:50:49 PM

What of the funeral director bought the coffin from wal-mart and then sold it to you for 4 times the price - would that be ok?
Post by: haranguerer on November 01, 2009, 01:49:39 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 30, 2009, 03:40:24 PM
Precisely the reason I am going to be cremated.

Here in Oz there's an insurance company called 'Real Insurance'.  During day-time TV it is on flogging shite to unsuspecting retirees and one of the most sickening recent campaigns was that for funeral cover insurance.  It starts off nice and casually with the auld bloke reminiscing about his youth, parenthood, grandparenthood and as the advert progresses the intensity of his voice increases almost to the point where he is panicking that (and I paraphrase) he doesn't want to be a burden on his family after he dies.  For fcuk sake, most parents have sacrificied so much for their children; yet the insensitive b**tards in advertising are flogging the guilt complex.  How the fcuk can a parent who has given their all in parenthood and grandparenthood even begin to think that way?

That sounds terrible aright. It also why I'm against euthanasia, think it if it was brought in it would only be a matter of time before old people would be volunteering for it because of the guilt factor the likes of this ad implants.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 02:18:28 PM
Eastern Pride

What would be wrong with shopping at wal-mart or somewhere like it?

Prices range from a "Mom" or "Dad Remembered" steel coffin for $895 (£540), to a bronze model at $2,899.
I dont think 540 quid is cheap for a coffin! How much would a coffin be from an undertaker?
Post by: stew on November 01, 2009, 03:39:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 02:18:28 PM
Eastern Pride

What would be wrong with shopping at wal-mart or somewhere like it?

Prices range from a "Mom" or "Dad Remembered" steel coffin for $895 (£540), to a bronze model at $2,899.
I dont think 540 quid is cheap for a coffin! How much would a coffin be from an undertaker?

The average funeral in the states today costs ten grand. If wal mart are going to flog coffins for under 600 dollars fair play to them, honest to God there are some amount of snobby gobshites on here.

I am getting cremated and the cheaper the better, i want to leave a legacy for my wife and kids and the more spent on burying my arse means less for them so I wont care what my coffin costs are nor will I feel like a discount corpse because my feckin coffin was bought at wally world.

By the way, I have yet to see a man hanging dead on the front page of a newspaper here in the states, can you lot say the same???/
Post by: orangeman on December 21, 2009, 12:23:24 PM
http://edition.cnn.com/2009/CRIME/12/20/snowball.fight.police.gun/index.html

You have to watch the video to appreciate how ridiculous this story is !!

US policeman 'draws gun' at Washington snowball fight 

Washington has been hit by one of the biggest snowstorms in its history
Police in the US are investigating a detective who appears to draw his gun during a mass snowball fight on the streets of Washington DC.

Video taken at the scene shows people pelting a man with snowballs after his car, a Hummer, gets stuck in the snow.

The man - not in uniform at the time - then appears to pull out a gun while an angry crowd gathers and chants: "Don't bring a gun to a snowball fight."

DC police refused to comment, telling the BBC an investigation was under way.

'Don't shoot'

At one point on the video - shown on YouTube - the man identifies himself as a "detective", but refuses to give his full name.

Then he proceeds to admit to pulling his gun.

"Yes I did because I got hit by snowballs," he tells angry residents who demand to know his badge number.

Images and video appear to show him exposing his gun briefly, always pointing towards the snow on the ground.

Panicked residents shout, "He's got a gun," but others continue to lob snowballs his way.

The confrontation, which took place on Saturday, ended only when other policemen were despatched to the scene, and managed to calm everyone down.

A spokesman for the Metropolitan police, Det Kenny Bryson, told the BBC on Sunday that he would not comment on the allegations and refused to identify the officer involved.

Det Bryson said the department was looking into the allegations of misconduct but that there was "nothing further" to report.

Post by: magickingdom on December 21, 2009, 09:21:53 PM
thanks orangeman, love the song ;)

Only in America
Can a guy from anywhere
Go to sleep a pauper and wake up a millionaire

Only in America
Can a kid without a cent
Get a break and maybe grow up to be President

Only in America
Land of opportunity, yeah
Would a classy girl like you fall for a poor boy like me

Only in America
Can a kid who's washin' cars
Take a giant step and reach right up and touch the stars

Only in America
Could a dream like this come true
Could a guy like me start with nothing and end up with you

Only in America
Land of opportunity, yeah
Would a classy girl like you fall for a poor boy like me

Only in America (poor boy like me)
Only in America (only in America)
Only in America
Post by: Family guy on December 24, 2009, 03:37:55 AM
Just home from mcdonalds and say the funniest thing,i parked up and was walking in and looked over at the drive tru,they drive tru the same was as we do in ireland but they have right hand drive vehicles and the woman hada get up and walk round to collect her order,kinda defeats the purpose of the drive tru
Post by: The Iceman on December 24, 2009, 06:20:01 PM
Where was this family guy?
Vehicles are left hand drive here in the states
Post by: Family guy on December 24, 2009, 07:06:59 PM
Thats what i meant 2 say left hand drive,in yonkers av in the bronx,god i hada laugh
Post by: magickingdom on December 26, 2009, 07:41:58 PM
Quote from: Family guy on December 24, 2009, 03:37:55 AM
Just home from mcdonalds and say the funniest thing,i parked up and was walking in and looked over at the drive tru,they drive tru the same was as we do in ireland but they have right hand drive vehicles and the woman hada get up and walk round to collect her order,kinda defeats the purpose of the drive tru

was that burger 1) soakage after 10 pints? 2) any good? ;)