Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: leenie on October 24, 2009, 01:46:35 PM

Title: classic gaa one liners
Post by: leenie on October 24, 2009, 01:46:35 PM
 i'm looking for a thread that was on a while back... it was things overheard at football matches, i have put it into search and trawled through several pages but can't find it can anyone help?

and if there is any gaa quotes thread? pundit quotes in particular?

cheers
Title: Re: can't find a thread...
Post by: ziggysego on October 24, 2009, 01:48:39 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7604.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7604.0)
Title: Re: classic gaa one liners
Post by: leenie on October 24, 2009, 02:08:43 PM

cheers zig...

now i need one liners, gaa, history , current affairs, culture etc....

all input is appreciated...
Post by: ziggysego on October 24, 2009, 02:14:54 PM
What you up to leenie?
Post by: leenie on October 24, 2009, 02:17:22 PM

just interested............!  ::)    ::)    ::)
Post by: muppet on October 24, 2009, 02:22:01 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 24, 2009, 02:08:43 PM

cheers zig...

When Tiger Woods played in the American Express Golf World Championships in Mount Juliet in Kilkenny a few years ago, after holing a long putt a spectator was heard to say:

"Jees he's some player to hole that shot"

to which some wit replied:

"sure why wouldn't he, there was no one marking him".
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2009, 03:08:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 24, 2009, 02:22:01 PM

cheers zig...

When Tiger Woods played in the American Express Golf World Championships in Mount Juliet in Kilkenny a few years ago, after holing a long putt a spectator was heard to say:

As old as the hills. My uncle Joseph used to say that about golf fifteen years ago.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 24, 2009, 03:51:24 PM
If you do not believe you can do it then you have no chance at all.

Some are wrong because they are not strong enough to fight temptation and some some are wrong because they do not know

We didn't think he would play on Sunday because he was suspended - that makes me think he has all the qualities to join Arsenal!

Of the nine red cards this season we probably deserved half of them
(so 4 1/2 then Arsene)

All quotes from Arsene Wenger.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 24, 2009, 04:18:20 PM
Dublin fans on Hill 16 during Dublin Gaa matches

"come on number 8 "etc etc
"offside Ref"
"Im off to the jacks to do some Coke"
"Stop fuckin pissing on me leg ya bleedin sc**bag"
"What colour are Dublin?"
"How many points for a goal?"
Anto -"Where the bleedin hell is Westmeath anyways?" Deco - "I think its near the red cow roundabout"

Post by: anglocelt39 on October 24, 2009, 04:42:33 PM
"Yis could do with a few more Texans out there"

Down supporter towards the end of a late 1970's Ulster Final in Clones as a Cavan team overly dependent on Ollie (Texas) Brady ran out of steam.
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 07:28:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 24, 2009, 04:18:20 PM

"offside Ref"
Anto -"Where the bleedin hell is Westmeath anyways?" Deco - "I think its near the red cow roundabout"

Maybe they're funny in Laois   ???
Post by: Denn Forever on October 24, 2009, 07:49:52 PM
The thread you are looking for is up front and centre in the GAA discussion leenie.
Post by: muppet on October 24, 2009, 10:02:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2009, 03:08:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 24, 2009, 02:22:01 PM

cheers zig...

As old as the hills. My uncle Joseph used to say that about golf fifteen years ago.

She didn't put a time limit on it.
Post by: new devil on October 24, 2009, 10:06:11 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 07:28:24 PM

"offside Ref"

Was thinking the same  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 24, 2009, 10:20:25 PM

"offside Ref"

Say bye bye to your playoff ticket Fox  :)
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 11:12:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 24, 2009, 10:20:25 PM

"offside Ref"

That's the second time you told me you aren't getting me a play off ticket... like the Fox was at Ireland-Italy in the Giants Stadium, All Blacks in Croke Park, Celtic 6 Rangers 2 in the directors box, at least 30 All Ireland (football and hurling finals), loads of soccer internationals in Lansdowne Road, Ireland and Wales in the Grand Slam decider in the Millenium Stadium, seen Barry McGuigan box the fight before his World title shot and drank with the Undertones... and you really think I am depending on you for a play-off ticket?  :P   
Post by: The Gs Man on October 25, 2009, 12:10:38 AM
"There'll be no cows milked for a week."

(Said after any counties win in a provincial championship final or possibly an All-Ireland final)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 25, 2009, 07:41:49 AM

"offside Ref"

I'll have it then... ;)

I'm depending on ticketmaster because i got a complementary ticket last time and give my ticket away and therefor dont have the stub... Unless of course my cousin makes the squad then were sorted.... ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2009, 08:55:07 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 24, 2009, 11:12:10 PM

"offside Ref"

That's the second time you told me you aren't getting me a play off ticket... like the Fox was at Ireland-Italy in the Giants Stadium, All Blacks in Croke Park, Celtic 6 Rangers 2 in the directors box, at least 30 All Ireland (football and hurling finals), loads of soccer internationals in Lansdowne Road, Ireland and Wales in the Grand Slam decider in the Millenium Stadium, seen Barry McGuigan box the fight before his World title shot and drank with the Undertones... and you really think I am depending on you for a play-off ticket?  :P

Well stop f**king pming me looking for a ticket then !
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2009, 09:20:43 AM

"offside Ref"

Quick, someone give that man a biscuit.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 25, 2009, 10:24:58 AM
"Will ya take the hair out your eyes ref" a classic by one of my well club members after ref gave a free against us, the whole 30 of us were in stitches including the opposition fans, The ref gave wily old look up at the small stand.

The ref was bald.. :D

Post by: longrunsthefox on October 25, 2009, 02:17:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2009, 08:55:07 AM

"offside Ref"

Well stop f**king pming me looking for a ticket then !

That's how I get into these things, I ask everyone and usually come up with at least half a dozen  :P Am on course as usual-if you need one give me a shout  :o Also I have been guareented that ticket I promised you for when Laois reach the All Ireland senior football final. You will be able to get the reduced pensioner rate  :-*   
Post by: longrunsthefox on October 25, 2009, 02:23:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2009, 09:20:43 AM

"offside Ref"

Quick, someone give that man a biscuit.

...and f** the begrudgers  :o
Post by: leenie on October 25, 2009, 02:59:00 PM
does any of ye know quirky/cheesy one liners

for eg.   man 1= say 3 hail marys
            man 2 =i only know the one!

Post by: JUst retired on October 25, 2009, 05:42:07 PM
Who called the ref a fu$^%r. Who called the fu$%r a ref. :D
Post by: muppet on October 25, 2009, 10:56:32 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 25, 2009, 02:59:00 PM
does any of ye know quirky/cheesy one liners

for eg.   man 1= say 3 hail marys
            man 2 =i only know the one!

What has that to do with Gaa?

Look up Micheál's quotes for oneliners such as:

"Anthony Lynch would be the last man to let you down, his people are undertakers"
Post by: the scenic route on October 25, 2009, 11:37:53 PM
Cork fan coming out of hurling match

"theres two things would drive you to drink, the cork hurlers would drive you to drink, and the price of drink would drive you to drink"
Post by: Caid on October 27, 2009, 03:25:04 AM
"If I owned Tyrone and Hell I'd rent out Tyrone and move into Hell"
Post by: JUst retired on October 27, 2009, 08:20:37 AM
Good one Caid, I wish I thought of that,I married a Tyrone woman. ;D ;D ;D