Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Myles Na G. on October 21, 2009, 10:16:22 PM

Title: The OFFICIAL Ulster Rugby Thread
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 21, 2009, 10:16:22 PM
Is it not about time this Board had its own Ulster Rugby thread?

Top of the table derby match against Leinster at Ravenhill this Saturday with Ulster looking to bounce back from the disappointing defeat at Edinburgh last week in the HC. Should be close to a capacity crowd for this one, especially with a kick off time of 6.00pm.
Title: Re: The OFFICIAL Ulster Rugby Thread
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2009, 10:58:28 PM
O'Neill started an Official Ulster Rugby Thread a while back. It must have been popular.
Post by: ziggysego on October 21, 2009, 10:59:02 PM
Nice try Myles
Post by: mountainboii on October 21, 2009, 11:08:02 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2009, 10:58:28 PM
O'Neill started an Official Ulster Rugby Thread a while back. It must have been popular.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=14065.0

What's so 'official' about these threads anyway? Has anyone ever started a rival 'unofficial' thread?
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 22, 2009, 07:02:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2009, 10:58:28 PM
My mistake - I didn't see it. If someone wants to delete this one, I'll be happy to use O'Neill's.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2014, 09:12:21 PM
Great match tonight, fair play to the Ulster lads, thought Munster were going to steal a draw at the end and a bonus point
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2014, 09:49:26 PM
How do you fcukers know who started what? I can't remember 5 minutes ago.
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 03, 2014, 10:05:52 PM
Had forgotten about this thread.  :) Just back from the match. Great game marred by some fairly atrocious refereeing, both sides suffering at different times. Added bonus was the weather - nice evening, if a bit windy, when everyone was predicting the end of the world.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2014, 10:30:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 03, 2014, 09:49:26 PM
How do you fcukers know who started what? I can't remember 5 minutes ago.
I hang on your every word.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2014, 10:36:37 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 03, 2014, 10:05:52 PM
Had forgotten about this thread.  :) Just back from the match. Great game marred by some fairly atrocious refereeing, both sides suffering at different times. Added bonus was the weather - nice evening, if a bit windy, when everyone was predicting the end of the world.

In fairness there was some decisions that the referee didn't see but the the lines man should have seen it. They will take some stopping at Ravenhill so will need to win that that home draw
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2014, 02:47:24 PM
Early bid for the Ignorant Bollix of the Year 2014 award made by the stadium announcer at Ravenhill last night. Reading out the Munster team, he pronounced Donncha O'Callaghan's first name as 'Dun-cha'. He repeated the dose when DOC was being substituted. An embarrassment to Ulster Rugby.
Post by: michaelg on January 04, 2014, 07:01:41 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2014, 02:47:24 PM
Early bid for the Ignorant Bollix of the Year 2014 award made by the stadium announcer at Ravenhill last night. Reading out the Munster team, he pronounced Donncha O'Callaghan's first name as 'Dun-cha'. He repeated the dose when DOC was being substituted. An embarrassment to Ulster Rugby.
To be fair, he also mispronounced the Ulster replacement hooker's surname too and it sounded like he was saying Ryan Piennar too -  I think he is just a bit of a numpty.  In his defense though, Donncha is a hardly terribly common name, although if he knows a bit about rugby, you'd imagine he would have made a better stab at pronouncing it correctly.
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2014, 10:02:00 PM
Quote from: michaelg on January 04, 2014, 07:01:41 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 04, 2014, 02:47:24 PM
To be fair, he also mispronounced the Ulster replacement hooker's surname too and it sounded like he was saying Ryan Piennar too -  I think he is just a bit of a numpty.  In his defense though, Donncha is a hardly terribly common name, although if he knows a bit about rugby, you'd imagine he would have made a better stab at pronouncing it correctly.
It's his lack of rugby knowledge that surprises me. He may not have come across the name Donncha too many times, but if he had even a passing interest in the game he'd know who DOC is and how his name is pronounced. Numpty is right.
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 19, 2014, 07:13:48 AM
Fantastic performance from Ulster last night. Home quarter against Saracens now - the ground will be finished by then, so there'll be 18,500 packed in for that one.
Post by: orangeman on January 19, 2014, 09:08:32 AM
Any black cards ?
Post by: gawa316 on April 05, 2014, 06:31:12 PM
Any links to the game?
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 06:53:02 PM
Poor decision by ref to red card Payne. The intention wasn't there with his eyes fixed on the ball.
Post by: screenexile on April 05, 2014, 06:54:48 PM
Can any Rugby heads explain to me how that was a red??

Ridiculous decision his eyes are on the ball the whole time and absolutely no malice in it whatsoever. Looks like the 1 away victory in the Heineken QF is about to happen ... Good luck Leinster!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2014, 07:12:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 05, 2014, 06:54:48 PM

Ridiculous decision his eyes are on the ball the whole time and absolutely no malice in it whatsoever. Looks like the 1 away victory in the Heineken QF is about to happen ... Good luck Leinster!
According to my sourced (Brian Moore on twitter) there is nothing in the law about intent therefore it can't come into the ref's decision.
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 07:15:27 PM

It was a yellow. A red was a shocking decision. His eyes are fixed on the ball to the very split second before impact.
Post by: screenexile on April 05, 2014, 07:17:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2014, 07:12:47 PM

According to my sourced (Brian Moore on twitter) there is nothing in the law about intent therefore it can't come into the ref's decision.

Moore wouldn't be known for his impartiality now ... And he's a twat!
Post by: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 07:28:25 PM
It was reckless and showed no duty of care for his opponent - he could easily have paralysed him from the neck down, like happened to that Australian rugby league player last week.

When I saw it I immediately thought red.
Post by: screenexile on April 05, 2014, 07:38:32 PM
Ah here! Chalk and cheese!! The Aussie player was lifted and pushed head first into the ground.

Payne had his eyes on the ball the whole time and obviosuly didn't see the guy in the air til the last minute as he smashed his head against your mans thigh. Foul and yellow all day long but a red was ridiculous. Its a fast paced high intensity game. The ref allowed himself to be influenced by the outcome rather than the act itself.

Having said that it will be interesting to see if Ulster hold out. Fascinating 2nd half in store!
Post by: Celt_Man on April 05, 2014, 07:40:34 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 05, 2014, 06:31:12 PM
Any links to the game?

http://cricfree.tv/sky-sports-2-live-stream-id2.php
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 07:50:00 PM
Quote from: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 07:28:25 PM
It was reckless and showed no duty of care for his opponent - he could easily have paralysed him from the neck down, like happened to that Australian rugby league player last week.

Sidney on the wind yet again.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 05, 2014, 08:16:56 PM
It was red, intent doesnt come into it!, same sort of incident the welsh lad done in the world cup with a dump tackle, wasnt intentional but was very dangerous, it ruins the game though
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 08:22:34 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 05, 2014, 08:16:56 PM
It was red, intent doesnt come into it!, same sort of incident the welsh lad done in the world cup with a dump tackle, wasnt intentional but was very dangerous, it ruins the game though

Nonsense, not even comparable to the Warburton tackle. For one there was no tackle or lift. Yellow card.
Post by: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 08:23:00 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 07:50:00 PM

Nothing windy about it. Goode landed on his head. The opponent has a duty of care to his opponent in such a situation, and malice or no malice intended, he neglected it.
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 08:23:55 PM
Quote from: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 08:23:00 PM

Nothing windy about it. Goode landed on his head. The opponent has a duty of care to his opponent in such a situation, and malice or no malice intended, he neglected it.

For a man who has no interest in the game of rugby you have plenty of answers!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 05, 2014, 08:32:27 PM
"They died with their boots on" at least!!
Post by: screenexile on April 05, 2014, 08:34:02 PM
No way you could fault any Ulster player there... Some performance in adversity the whole team stood up there. Phenomenal effort!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 05, 2014, 09:19:17 PM
Fantastic game- I really thought they were going to do it at the end.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2014, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 08:23:55 PM

He's full of shite, was with an ex Ulster player in my house tonight watching the game (next door neighbour) he said, while a bad tackle it wasn't red, this guy teaching P.E and coaches the local school rugby, but Sid knows best.......
Post by: Minder on April 05, 2014, 10:49:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2014, 10:39:10 PM

He's full of shite, was with an ex Ulster player in my house tonight watching the game (next door neighbour) he said, while a bad tackle it wasn't red, this guy teaching P.E and coaches the local school rugby, but Sid knows best.......

Brian Moore reckoned it was "arguable but no travesty".
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2014, 11:33:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 05, 2014, 10:49:01 PM

Brian Moore reckoned it was "arguable but no travesty".

I wonder would Brian have the same view if it was someone from his own team? Again I said it was a bad tackle collision but been a while since I seen a red card in rugby for that type of incident. I'm glad he's ok after the hit but I think the had he got up right away the card colour would have been different.

All about opinions, the main one that matters was the referees, thems the breaks, in a lot of sports (gaelic games soccer) you can work with one less player, in rugby it seems that you can't (at that level)
Post by: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 11:42:30 PM

Yeah and I'm sure the ex-Ulster player wouldn't have been at all biased in his view.

You can say all you want that Payne had his eyes on the ball, but he has a duty of care to know where he is in relation to his opponent. He didn't, and that's reckless. 

There's no question that Goode could easily have been paralysed. Once hit he was out of control of his body, rotating in the air, with his head travelling at speed towards the ground with no time to break his fall. It was more dangerous than what Sam Warburton did as it happened at greater speed and from a greater height. Once a player puts an opponent in that position, he can't complain if it's a red.

With regard to the tackle which seemingly has paralysed McKinnon for life, it's a standard tackle that is taught and encouraged by NRL teams - a three man tackle. I find it incredible how this type of stuff is considered acceptable, and they need to look urgently at the law which allows it, because it's an ass. They could actually learn from rugby union in this regard - the clamping down on spear tackles and other dangerous tackles which can lead to spinal injury is one of the few things to admire in the game.
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 11:46:01 PM
Sidney have you ever played the game? From your anti rugby posts after the 6 nations I'm guessing no. So then you have limited knowledge of what's involved in both chasing and fielding an up and under. Past your bedtime!
Post by: Sidney on April 05, 2014, 11:50:33 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 05, 2014, 11:46:01 PM
Sidney have you ever played the game? From your anti rugby posts after the 6 nations I'm guessing no. So then you have limited knowledge of what's involved in both chasing and fielding an up and under. Past your bedtime!
Yes, unfortunately I have played it.
Post by: J OGorman on April 05, 2014, 11:56:55 PM
Yellow for me. If he had taken his eye off the flight of the ball for a second, but he didnt. 2 men going cleanly for the ball. With so much bravado in chasing and catching the big up n under (incredible skill when ball is taken clean and setup under fierce pressure) there will be plenty of big knocks and injuries.

What a game tonight. Against all odds they nearly pulled it out of the fire....Incredible effort
Post by: T Fearon on April 06, 2014, 08:46:57 AM
Suppose you could say,No Payne,No Gain for Ulster?
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2014, 01:36:54 PM
That was  a late, reckless and dangerous collision. What kind of fool goes running in with his hand outstretched, waiting for manna to drop in to them, blindly ignorant of a flying elephant heading his way?

(http://f2.thejournal.ie/media/2014/04/payne-3.gif)

Post by: Denn Forever on April 06, 2014, 02:02:02 PM
I thought you couldn't tackle someone while they in the air?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2014, 03:02:43 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 06, 2014, 02:02:02 PM
I thought you couldn't tackle someone while they in the air?
http://www.irblaws.com/index.php?law=10.4&language=EN (http://www.irblaws.com/index.php?law=10.4&language=EN)
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2014, 03:27:29 PM
That cannot be accurate described as a tackle of any kind.
It's a collision.

If that's a tackle, then it has to be one of the dumbest tackles ever made in the rugby field.
Post by: AQMP on April 06, 2014, 06:35:55 PM
First I've seen of it.  That can't be a tackle as Payne didn't use his arms.  I was following the game on the BBC website and interestingly when it happened they described it Payne's hit as "horrendous".  I suppose it's on the edge of yellow/red but as Roy Keane would say he gave the ref the opportunity to send him off.
Post by: Myles Na G. on April 06, 2014, 07:36:12 PM
Was at the game yesterday. Didn't for a moment think it was a red card. After watching the replays, I was even more convinced that it was a collision, not a tackle. In fact, Payne was fortunate he didn't do himself serious damage, when you look at how his head and neck take the force of the impact. The Ulster player was focused so intently on getting under the ball that he wasn't aware of Goode's position. It wasn't a mistimed tackle, or a poorly executed tackle, or a reckless tackle. It was a collision.

Great game, otherwise. Ulster so nearly pulled it off.
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2014, 10:52:49 AM
Things not well at "Kingspan Stadium" it would seem. First Humphries goes then Anscombe . . .

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/rugby/ulster-rugby/ulster-coach-mark-anscombe-knew-game-was-up-after-david-humphreys-left-30395698.html
Post by: Myles Na G. on July 01, 2014, 05:15:45 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 01, 2014, 10:52:49 AM
Things not well at "Kingspan Stadium" it would seem. First Humphries goes then Anscombe . . .

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/rugby/ulster-rugby/ulster-coach-mark-anscombe-knew-game-was-up-after-david-humphreys-left-30395698.html
Anscombe, from what I hear, wasn't popular with a lot of the players. His management style could be described as abrasive. The only thing that kept him in his job was the fact that he was a Humphries appointment - as soon as David decided to take off, Anscombe's days were numbered. The appointment of Les Kiss is a good move. He's well respected and liked by Ulster's Ireland players, so he'll start off with a fair wind at his back. I wouldn't read too much into Humphries' departure either. He got made an offer which he felt he couldn't turn down - happens all the time in professional sport. Good luck to him.
Post by: theticklemister on September 12, 2014, 09:19:29 PM
Jim Neilly has just described the weather in Ravenhill in his words " This is like that Irish song, the Foggy Dew". He'll be getting his p45 in the morn
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2014, 09:35:26 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 12, 2014, 09:19:29 PM
Jim Neilly has just described the weather in Ravenhill in his words " This is like that Irish song, the Foggy Dew". He'll be getting his p45 in the morn
Paisley and Jim Branning are the glorious dead he refers to.
Post by: stiffler on November 19, 2014, 09:59:40 PM
What's best way from city centre out to ravenhill?

Are there any public transport options specifically for the games?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2014, 10:48:55 PM
Quote from: stiffler on November 19, 2014, 09:59:40 PM
What's best way from city centre out to ravenhill?

Are there any public transport options specifically for the games?
Bus from Europa leaves an hour before kick off.
Post by: michaelg on November 19, 2014, 11:00:47 PM
Taxi up the Ormeau Road to the Errigle or Big House for a pre match pint would only be about a fiver from city centre.