GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: randomtask on October 20, 2009, 06:07:12 PM

Title: who are you Paddy Heaney?
Post by: randomtask on October 20, 2009, 06:07:12 PM
anyone read the irish news today where he quotes many people on this very site. So paddy are you goin to tell us who you are?
Title: Re: who are you Paddy Heaney?
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on October 20, 2009, 06:10:03 PM
what did he say?
Post by: randomtask on October 20, 2009, 06:21:39 PM
he quotes several people from the thread "Donal Og is gay". the article is an interesting read actually
Post by: screenexile on October 20, 2009, 06:41:09 PM
Lad you are absolutely kidding yourself if you don't think every journalist in the North and a fair whack of ones in the south are not on this board regularly!!! Whether they post or not is a different story but they most certainly see most of what's happening.
Post by: mountainboii on October 20, 2009, 06:46:10 PM
Some plagiarist from Gaelic Life stole my joke about Down and 7s football a few weeks ago  >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 07:49:37 PM
Where is the Donal og is gay thread anyway? Paddy mentioned Cuaig Huaire and a specific post of another poster.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 20, 2009, 07:56:19 PM
Can anyone post the article?
Post by: Caid on October 20, 2009, 08:05:37 PM
Sport - Against the Breeze - Donal remains a Rebel for the right reasons
Paddy Heaney
1094 words
20 October 2009
The Irish News
IRISHN
Pg. 71
English
(c) 2009, The Irish News Ltd. All Rights reserved.

A few days ago a friend of mine thought he had spotted an opportunity to break the ice with a girl at work who had caught his attention.

She was sitting at her desk reading a book. My friend has a keen interest in literature and he reckoned the book would provide him with the opportunity to display his kind and sensitive nature. Some girls love that sort of thing.

"What's the book?" he enquired as casually as he could.

She didn't answer. Instead, she lifted the tome from the table so he could read the cover: 'Harte: Presence Is The Only Thing.'

He was shocked. She was completely engrossed. "It's only out today. I couldn't wait to get it," she informed him in a strong Tyrone accent.

My friend was beaten. A robust heterosexual, born and raised in the GAA tradition, he has zero interest in Gaelic games. At that, he knew the wedding, or even a more short-term arrangement, was off.

This vignette illustrates the dangers of making assumptions in today's society. People are free to pursue their own interests. Not every girl reads 'Chick Lit' and not every boy loves football. It also underlines the increasing popularity of 'the GAA biog.'

And if Mickey Harte and Brian Cody were all the talk during the past month, then Donal Og Cusack will command the headlines for the next few days. His autobiography 'Come What May' will certainly challenge a few preconceptions.

Those who have not been on the planet for the past few days should know that Cusack has used his forthcoming book to reveal that he is a homosexual.

Extracts from the book dealing with his sexuality were published by The Irish Mail on Sunday at the weekend.

While Donal Og's preference for men was widely known in journalistic circles, and the chattering classes of the GAA, it's fair to say that the average gael had no idea about the Cork goalkeeper's sexuality.

The really amazing aspect to Cusack's revelation is that it has taken 125 years for the GAA to produce a gay sportsman.

This of course prompts the question: is the GAA the straightest sporting organisation on earth or have some boys not been entirely true to themselves?

One suspects that Cusack is not the first gay GAA man. Social scientists reckon that anything from two to 10 per cent of all men are homosexuals. Even by the most conservative figure, this means that in every four county squads, there will be at least two gay men. Not that this information is going to cause much hysteria. The sober and measured reaction to Cusack's revelation suggests that the new wave of GAA members accept that not everyone is the same.

The online response to the Cork goalkeeper's announcement was particularly informative. At the time of writing, the subject entitled 'Donal Og Cusack is gay' had prompted just six pages of replies on the most popular GAA discussion board.

To provide some context, the topic: 'Paddy O'Rourke is the new Armagh manager' had provoked 44 pages of frantic comment and debate.

The tenor of most of the posts about Donal Og was of admiration for his courage to publicly confirm his sexuality.

While the cloak of anonymity would have permitted contributors to vent hostility and prejudice, the overwhelming attitude was summed up by 'Cuig Huaire,' who wrote: "It's no big deal."

Due recognition and praise was also heaped on Donal Og's father. A crane driver who worked in the non-PC world of the building site, he initially struggled to come to terms with the news that his son was gay.

While trying to articulate this difficulty, he said to his son: "Like f*** it, Donal Og, the abuse you're going to get about this. I thought it was hard defending your short puck-outs, but f*** it, this one."

Fortunately, it seems that for many people the 'short puck-out' is still a much greater cause for concern. This speaks volumes about our mania for football, hurling, and the broad church of the GAA.

OF course, the GAA has a history of tolerance. There is a stadium on the Andersonstown Road which provides concrete proof that the GAA will not automatically damn a man solely because of his sexual inclinations.

Roger David Casement hailed from Protestant stock in Ballymena. He was also a homosexual.

Ballymena. Protestant. Gay. It's not exactly the recipe for a GAA icon. But he fought against the British and that was good enough for the Antrim gaels who in 1953 successfully argued against the new stadium in west Belfast being named Slemish Park.

Casement was viewed as a traitor by the British and a hero by the Irish. Donal Og should be able to empathise with the Irish rebel. He elicits a similarly mixed response.

Cusack was a leading voice in a group of Cork hurlers who won three All-Ireland titles. His zeal, fervour and dedication for perfection set the benchmark for his colleagues.

But while this fanaticism helped to secure success on the playing field, it also contributed to the chaos which has afflicted Cork GAA during the past decade.

Yes, there have been three All-Ireland titles, but there have also been three strikes and Donal Og has been a pivotal figure in each one. A zealous advocate of the Gaelic Players' Association, he represented the body when they declared their intention to strike over the grants' scheme.

The overall effect of his contribution to the GAA is still a matter for debate. There are those along the Lee who will regard him as a saviour of Cork hurling. But there are many who will see him as a disaffected and selfish agitator who pursued his own agenda regardless of whatever damage it wreaked upon the GAA.

People can decide for themselves, and reading the book may lead to a more balanced assessment. But perhaps the most pleasing outcome of this watershed moment for the GAA is that gaels are not allowing his sexuality to cloud their opinions of Donal Og Cusack, the man.

One message on the discussion board was particularly apt. Reacting to the weekend's big news, one contributor summed up the thoughts of many when he wrote: "Was bound to happen some day. Fair play, it took courage to come out. He's still a bollocks though."
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 08:07:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 20, 2009, 06:46:10 PM
Some plagiarist from Gaelic Life stole my joke about Down and 7s football a few weeks ago  >:(

Basterd.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 08:09:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 08:07:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 20, 2009, 06:46:10 PM

Basterd.
Woods?
Post by: Caid on October 20, 2009, 08:11:09 PM
I feel there is probably more chance of me getting sued for copyright for posting the article above than there is of Paddy Heaney or the Gaelic Life Massive coming out and saying they take their material from the Board.  Handy job being a sports journalist in the modern day?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 20, 2009, 08:12:14 PM
One message on the discussion board was particularly apt. Reacting to the weekend's big news, one contributor summed up the thoughts of many when he wrote: "Was bound to happen some day. Fair play, it took courage to come out. He's still a bollocks though."
Where did the thread go?

I'm pretty sure that was me that said that. 
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 08:13:24 PM
Yep, it was you.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 08:15:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 08:13:24 PM
Yep, it was you.
You at the Galls match?
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 08:17:27 PM
No, prize night.
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 08:20:13 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 20, 2009, 06:41:09 PM
Lad you are absolutely kidding yourself if you don't think every journalist in the North and a fair whack of ones in the south are not on this board regularly!!! Whether they post or not is a different story but they most certainly see most of what's happening.

Joe Brolly once stole a joke of mine.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:20:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 08:20:13 PM

Not surprised by that at all.
Post by: Trevor Hill on October 20, 2009, 09:24:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 08:20:13 PM

And where did you get "steal" the joke from ziggy?
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:31:55 PM
The one and only joke I made up and that fecker took it for his own. I was gonna sue Brolly, but figured he has more experience in the courtroom than me and I'd end up being taken to the cleaners.
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 09:34:13 PM
What was the joke?
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:39:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 09:34:13 PM
What was the joke?

A Marcel Marceau joke. Trying to find it, but think it was on the old board. What's the URL for it?
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:48:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 23, 2007, 06:24:14 PM
I hear that France is going to have a minute of noise for him on Tuesday.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:50:12 PM
Ok. That wasn't bad.
Post by: Trevor Hill on October 20, 2009, 09:52:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:48:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 23, 2007, 06:24:14 PM
I hear that France is going to have a minute of noise for him on Tuesday.

Dont give up your day job Ziggy
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:53:26 PM
I didn't ;D

Just sayin', Joe nicked it!
Post by: Square Ball on October 20, 2009, 09:55:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:53:26 PM
I didn't ;D

Just sayin', Joe nicked it!

and hes still on TV?
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 09:57:29 PM
But I've seen that joke elsewhere.
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:59:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 09:57:29 PM
But I've seen that joke elsewhere.

Yeah, in the Gaelic Life after Joe Brolly stole it!!!  >:(
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:00:46 PM
Check 2007-09-26 05:45:37 PM on http://www.fark.com/cgi/comments.pl?IDLink=3094518&hl=Hundreds-gather-to-see-Marcel-Marceau-try-escape-from-opaque-box

Now, I think you're telling fibs Ziggy-imposter.
Post by: Main Street on October 20, 2009, 10:03:00 PM
Still doesn't take away from Ziggy's glory, his Francie version being ripped off by Joe Brolly.
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:05:14 PM
This is not Ziggy.

Either:

a) He gave his password to someone
b) Every word he types is being monitored.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 20, 2009, 10:07:46 PM
I AM PADDY HEANEY

READ ME EVERY TUESDAY IN THE IRISH NEWS 'AGAINST THE BREEZE'.
Post by: Zapatista on October 20, 2009, 10:14:59 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 20, 2009, 10:07:46 PM
I AM PADDY HEANEY

READ ME EVERY TUESDAY IN THE IRISH NEWS 'AGAINST THE BREEZE'.

You trying to up stage Donal og by coming out in a bigger fashion?
Post by: Main Street on October 20, 2009, 10:17:08 PM
This is going to turn into a Spartacus thing.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 20, 2009, 10:22:37 PM
we haven't had a true Spartacus here in a long while.  would be funny,
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 20, 2009, 10:23:36 PM
Im outing myself, I am Paddy Heaney!!!!!!!!

Believe me!!!!!
Post by: Caid on October 20, 2009, 10:33:51 PM
Dirty Dozen age = 25

Paddy Heaney age ~= 2 * DD12 age

Case dismissed
Post by: crossfire on October 21, 2009, 12:06:57 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 20, 2009, 08:12:14 PM
Where did the thread go?

I'm pretty sure that was me that said that.

Probably !!. You would know one alright.
Post by: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 07:37:11 AM
Well one person definitely isn't Paddy Heaney is Logan.

Has the inside track in Ulster football that's for sure - he had the Armagh Manager correctly named a full month before anyone else - even though I told him he was daft, and then he named the backroom staff one by one as they agreed long before anyone else.

Heaney would be lucky to be a month late
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on October 21, 2009, 07:50:17 AM
here if paddy heany is on this board a good bit should we make up a ridiculous/thread rumour and hope it makes the IN?  ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on October 21, 2009, 08:03:19 AM
I reckon Paddy is 'Cuig Huaire' - If he is going to quote anyone in his column, he's most likely to quote himself!!
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on October 21, 2009, 08:39:27 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 21, 2009, 08:03:19 AM
I reckon Paddy is 'Cuig Huaire' - If he is going to quote anyone in his column, he's most likely to quote himself!!

fair point
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2009, 08:51:02 AM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on October 21, 2009, 08:39:27 AM

fair point
Paddy Heaney in Pints threat shocker! :o
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 21, 2009, 09:59:24 AM
He better mention me the next time! ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 21, 2009, 12:11:34 PM
Some fella called Coilín Duffy robbed an aul line off me before & stuck it in a programme...
Post by: bennydorano on October 21, 2009, 01:24:13 PM
Jarlath stole a joke form the joke thread(or maybe it was a GAA true stories thread) for the Armagh Harps Gala Night - RE the club amalgamation in Glaway and the priest stands up saying we need to work together etc... and the chairman stands up and says thank you father but thats the sort of shite that sickens my hole :D

I was quoted(unattributed) in the Gaelic Life too!
Post by: blanketattack on October 21, 2009, 02:22:08 PM
Quotewho are you Paddy Heaney?

I reckon he's Kerrymike
Post by: crossfire on October 21, 2009, 02:23:03 PM

Is Cuig Huaire the Irish for Cute Hoor. ;) ;D
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2009, 04:01:43 PM
Quote from: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 07:37:11 AM

Has the inside track in Ulster football that's for sure - he had the Armagh Manager correctly named a full month before anyone else - even though I told him he was daft, and then he named the backroom staff one by one as they agreed long before anyone else.
A correct prediction the Armagh manager thread?
I'd have to see it to believe it
Post by: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 04:40:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 21, 2009, 04:01:43 PM

Yes. Definite.

I got the pm and I think a few others did too.
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2009, 04:45:11 PM
So it was in the Armagh thread for definite?
I just remember the Aidan O'Rourke  one there
and a multitude of names from Logan before that.
Post by: mountainboii on October 21, 2009, 04:52:23 PM
Another person he definitely isn't/ wasn't is corn02. No newspaper would employ someone with such atrocious spelling.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 21, 2009, 05:23:48 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 21, 2009, 04:52:23 PM
Another person he definitely isn't/ wasn't is corn02. No newspaper would employ someone with such atrocious spelling.

:D :D
Post by: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 05:44:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 21, 2009, 04:45:11 PM
So it was in the Armagh thread for definite?
I just remember the Aidan O'Rourke  one there
and a multitude of names from Logan before that.
Pm on the 5th of Sept
Post by: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 05:45:18 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 21, 2009, 05:23:48 PM

:D :D
Spellcheck is great in Word!
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 21, 2009, 08:24:50 PM
Quotewho are you Paddy Heaney?

I reckon he's Kerrymike

I'm Paddy Heaney  :o my poor Mother will be shocked to have an even bigger bollix as a son  :P

Post by: crossfire on October 21, 2009, 09:46:54 PM

I think he emigrated after Granemore beat them. :) :)
Post by: irunthev on October 21, 2009, 10:06:41 PM
Quote from: JMohan on October 21, 2009, 04:40:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 21, 2009, 04:01:43 PM

Yes. Definite.

I got the pm and I think a few others did too.

All credit to Logan, totally on the ball when it comes to Ulster GAA. If you want to know anything the week before the IN get it, Logan's the man. He's got more sources than Swine flu.
Post by: thewanderer on October 22, 2009, 10:44:57 AM
paddy heaney must be the biggest bollix in any paper. and he tries to say he was a good player in the past . rubbish!!! ps i think he,s corn in disguise :D
Post by: laoisgaa on October 22, 2009, 11:04:17 AM
QuoteSome fella called Coilín Duffy robbed an aul line off me before & stuck it in a programme...

I'm near certain I referenced who it came from - I definitely mentioned the GAA Board anyhow - that was the whole idea, to give this place some publicity
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 22, 2009, 11:25:27 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on October 22, 2009, 11:04:17 AM
QuoteSome fella called Coilín Duffy robbed an aul line off me before & stuck it in a programme...

I'm near certain I referenced who it came from - I definitely mentioned the GAA Board anyhow - that was the whole idea, to give this place some publicity

Probably should have included this  :P

By the way, you don't have any inside information (as in the names) on the Leinster squad/team for the Interprovincial game???
Post by: Forgot me Boots on October 22, 2009, 11:27:53 AM
If he is registered here is he one of the Bredagh balloxes? he took their seniors for a few years so it could be one of them?
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 22, 2009, 02:38:30 PM
On one of the previous incarnations of the board, a poster decided that I was Paddy Heaney and sent me a couple of PMs, one of which included a picture of Take Your Points.

Quite strange I felt.
Post by: Square Ball on October 22, 2009, 03:03:02 PM
Quote from: Forgot me Boots on October 22, 2009, 11:27:53 AM
If he is registered here is he one of the Bredagh balloxes? he took their seniors for a few years so it could be one of them?

Tis not I
Post by: umgolaarmagh on October 24, 2009, 10:24:37 AM
Im certain he is Logan on the board

Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 24, 2009, 10:55:18 AM
he couldn't be Logan, Logan gets things right!