GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: snappiered on January 30, 2007, 02:07:56 PM

Title: Who is going to win the All Ireland Football title this year?
Post by: snappiered on January 30, 2007, 02:07:56 PM
I Knows its early days yet people but im sure we have all discussed this topic since the beginning of the year? Any thoughts?
Title: Re: Who is going to win the All Ireland this year?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 30, 2007, 02:09:11 PM
Put your house on Tyrone...they can't be beat!  ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on January 30, 2007, 02:11:17 PM
Purely on the basis of a full strength side Tyrone will win it, or be close.  If they have their best 15 out and they are showing no real side effects from the injuries then they should win as they have the best side.  Armagh will go far enough, but will rue the loss of ronan clarke.  Again Mayo and Dublin have the potential to win it, as do kerry. 
Post by: Hound on January 30, 2007, 02:13:15 PM
What happened to Ronan Clarke?
Title: Re: Who is going to win the All Ireland Football title this year?
Post by: Candyman on January 30, 2007, 02:19:20 PM
Have you been away hound or in hibernation?? ???
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 30, 2007, 02:30:08 PM
He had knee surgery in January
Post by: snappiered on January 30, 2007, 02:32:12 PM
Everyone have a stab at a prediction and have a look back at it come the end of September!!!! See how many got it right
Post by: intoDwest on January 30, 2007, 02:38:17 PM
It pains me to say it but Tyrone will win it.................................I wish to god Mayo would win it though!!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 30, 2007, 02:40:58 PM
Cavan  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on January 30, 2007, 02:52:25 PM
i don't think Tyrone will win unless they can persuade PTG back, other than that, I don't have a feckin clue, but might back Dublin as being a bit of value.  Have to go off and have a big think about it all.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2007, 02:58:07 PM
Tyrone.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 30, 2007, 03:01:27 PM
If the winner comes from outside or Tyrone, Kerry Dublin or Armagh I will eat this discussion board. 
If Brian McGuigan is back to his best then I think we can do it.

If we don't win it I would love to see Mayo do it, but I fear they have blown all their chances.
Post by: laughinpaddy on January 30, 2007, 03:06:07 PM
People are teanding to over look Armagh like previous years I would rite them off at your own peril :o  However Dublin and tyrone at the minute one suggest that any of them could win it.
Also expect a big year from Cavan ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 30, 2007, 03:23:54 PM
I think, and at the risk of writing Kerry off purely on the basis that no team has retained Sam in almost 20 years, that Mayo, Dublin & Tyrone will be the 3 to watch this year.
If Mayo can avoid meeting Dublin i think we will have a fair shot at it, i think we have nothing to fear from tyrone & seem to have a jinx over them and the only place we will meet the dubs is in the final and they will have their tails up, even though they will be hyped out the gate..........again  ;)

I said it last year and i maintain it again that armagh are too old & lack a midfield
Cork could be a turn up for the books & i expect donegal, fermanagh, wicklow, sligo, roscommon & louth all to do reasonably well given their respective ambitions
Post by: David McKeown on January 30, 2007, 03:36:58 PM
Im not sure about this Armagh are too old thing.  Last years Armagh team I remember reading had an average age three months younger that the 2002 all ireland winning team, but I would think the lack of scoring forwards might hurt us.

That being said I am going to make the same cop out predicition I made last year.  The team to eliminate Armagh will win Sam this year.
Post by: Star Spangler on January 30, 2007, 03:40:36 PM
Considering Tyrone did nothing in 2006 I'm surprised so many are tipping them for 2007.

Dublin needs to put up or shut up this year.  They've been there or there abouts for a few years now and they can't go on saying they're building or that they're one or two players short.  They've been saying that for too long now and if they don't get there this year I can't see the current crop ever doing it.  I think they can though and they'd be my favourites this year.  Kerry have to replace a few players and they need the time to do that before they can have another tilt.  Tyrone have a lot to prove before they can be seen as real contenders.  They haven't won a major game since PTG retired and that's something that must be addressed.  Armagh have flattered to deceive since 2002 - 5 years ago now.  I can't see them doing it this year.
Post by: haze on January 30, 2007, 03:45:06 PM
This hurts considering i think Laois will give the Dubs a mighty rattle in the Leinster final but i think Dublin might just bridge the gap and rekindle memories of 1995
Post by: Spiritof98 on January 30, 2007, 03:47:03 PM
I think Mayo are a good bet

Head says Tyrone, heart says armagh

Post by: darbyo on January 30, 2007, 04:01:08 PM
Think Tyrone will win it this year but Cork are real dark horses, only team to beat Kerry in last years championship and have more young quality players comming through than most.They have the backs and midfield if some of their young forwards step up to the mark they'll really give it a good go.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 30, 2007, 04:24:00 PM
I find it hilarious when posters state idiotic comments on Tyrone having not performed since the 2005 AIF and quotes such that they relied on PC etc.  Yes, they did nothing last year, and everybody knows why.  We've been into it many a time before, but it seems that posters are either dense or have the memory of a goldfish.  Tyrone and Kerry are the two top teams in Ireland, Fact.  Tyrone lost the services of 7 or 8 KEY men last summer, so their performances can be put into perspective.  In 2005 they won most matches without Canavan, and showed that they do not need him.  If they have a fully fit side this year they will do well.  Will take a great performance to beat them when they are in full flight.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 30, 2007, 04:26:53 PM
Tyrone
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2007, 04:31:34 PM
Mayo
Post by: Mid Mon on January 30, 2007, 04:34:50 PM
Tyrone league and championship double.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 30, 2007, 04:47:06 PM
Tyrone or Dublin.

Think Kerry might have lost one or two important players that might stop them retaining.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 30, 2007, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 30, 2007, 04:24:00 PM
Yes, they did nothing last year, and everybody knows why.....  In 2005 they won most matches without Canavan, and showed that they do not need him. 
Indeed, they did nothing last year cos they had no PTG, now, they may have won most of their matches without PTG in 2005, but imo they would not won any of the big matches, say their last 2 games of that series for example.
Tyrone will go close, but, i don't think they will win just yet, will O'Neill ever be that good again, will McGuigan be able to regain full fitness, will Dooher be able (physically and mentally) to recapture the hunger, will some of the young lads actually nail down a place on the starting 15........
There are too many questions about Tyrone imo, they may be the best in Ulster, but that may not be good enough this season.
Post by: Will Hunting on January 30, 2007, 04:58:29 PM
Maybe I do have the memory of a goldfish, but can someone please name me the 8 KEY men Tyrone had missing last year?

I agree that Tyrone people are optimistic about their chances - but they have every right to be I suppose, considering what they've done over the past 4 years. Last year proved though that they can be beaten (missing Canavan etc. and he won't be back), so I won't pin them down as my favourites this year until I see them produce some sort of Championship winning form. Something (as people have rightly said) they have been woefully short of since Sept '05.
Post by: mouview on January 30, 2007, 05:03:35 PM
Much of a muchness innit? Easy to make excuses for who won't win it; Kerry have lost several players, Daragh O'Se may never reach the heights again and Donaghy will suffer difficult second season (and third, fourth and fifth as well). Tyrone will be solid but won't have a PTG to direct the forward play, Dooher works hard but hasn't the quality while Mugsy is very hit and mostly miss from now on. Hard to see Armagh doing anything, where are the players going to come from? They had to use an over-the-hill McGeeney to shore up midfield at times last year. Dublin still lack a couple of scoring forwards but home advantage, momentum and hunger may carry them a long way. Mayo's year could depend a lot on the result in Pearse stadium; defeat could induce doubts while victory will set them up nicely for a 1/4 tilt. Still need a few new players in defence and attack.

As for the rest, Galway will have an improved defence this year, a very middling midfield and a labouring attack. Ja's presence will improve things but not even he could carry a forward line if it includes Nicky, Matt Clancy and Cormac Bane. Paul Clancy will be a big loss again but PJ will probably return at some stage. A win at home over Mayo won't suffice for the year though. Laois are never going to be any better than they are; Cork lack a lot of players but have a good spine. Donegal may be the dark horses to keep an eye on.

Ultimately it looks like Dublin and Tyrone have the fewest answers to find IMHO.
Post by: lordylordy on January 30, 2007, 05:06:33 PM
Well if Tyrone winning the AI is depending on Doohers hunger they have it in the bag already!! His dedication/hunger is unreal, plus I hear he's pulling them injured boys through training by the hair at times!! A real leader! But it wont be that simple unfortuantely!
As for Canavan, I think Tyrone have yet to get out of a real tight one without Canavan. When you look at the times Tyrone really could have lost it, most of them involved a bit of magic from Canavan - penalty in drawn game against Down in Ulster Final 2003, the lift of him coming on in AIF 2003, the last chance free he pointed against Armagh in semi 2005, his goal in AIF 2005, to mention just a few!Of course the rest of the team are well capable of doing these things too, its just always been that when Canavan was there it was always him that accetped the burden. But what the Tyrone players now have as an advantage is that they've learned a hell of a lot from him.
But as for predictions - every team needs their luck, and this time last year Tyrone were looking pretty good too, and we all know how it panned-out!
Dublin this Saturday will be a big clue!
I wouldn't be writing-off Kerry though!

Post by: nrico2006 on January 30, 2007, 05:09:24 PM
Tyrone were missing brian dooher, brian mcguigan, colin holmes, conor gormley, gerard cavlan, stephen o'neill and enda mcginley for all or most of last years championship.  People asking will O'Neill be as good, why would he not.  The lad is about 26 and has plenty of years in him.  As for not winning the big matches in 2005 without canavan, I recall them beating the Dubs without him, and fair enough he hit the winning free against armagh.  But Im sure that if mugsy or someone else had hit it, they would have scored it.  McGuigan will be back, and he will be the key.  But the deciding factor will be his condition, will he be at his best or not.  Maybe he will, or maybe it will take him th guts of 7/8 months to get back to his best.  People asking will Dooher have the hunger, he is the most driven man Ive ever seen.  He is training flat out himself, he is such a dedicated and determined man.  Apparently he is training with the injured players, and he is running them into the ground.  Not saying tyrone will win it this year, but on their day they are untouchable
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 30, 2007, 05:38:41 PM
The Dream of a two-in-a-row lives on and why can't it happen in 2007. So I stick my neck out and go for Kerry.

Kerry will use the league as a bedding in period for the new management and to try out some new players and if they get that hunger and focus right they wont be far away come championship time.

Kerry have a very strong panel of players from last year and alot of those extra 15 lads will be bursting a gut to make the starting 15 this year. Pat O'Shea I believe will give all lads a decent chance.

The motivation of beating Cork in Munster will be great this year after our debacle last year in Munster and then its down to the luck of the draw in the 1/4 finals, and we have yet to lose a 1/4 final.

Other than us, In Ulster I think Armagh may be at their last chance with most of the 2002 team still in place, Clarke will be a huge loss, and does McGeeney have the legs, but if they can blood some of their U21 they will have a chance, but will their focus be on winning Ulster again and not on the bigger prize.
Big year for Armagh, the Kerry defeat will hurt from last year, but its now time to shit or get off the pot if that team is to match Tyrone in winning a second AI..

Tyrone will be there but can they return to former glories of 03 and 05 and without the Great Bald Eagle will they have a leader. This is a huge year for Tyrone.

As for the rest of Ulster, I cant see an All Ireland winner amoungst them. Donegal and Fermanagh have potental but will fall short, Ross Carr has a huge task in Down but its will take more than one year, for personal reasons would like to see Monaghan progressing but they dont seem to have built on their recent advancement.

Mayo will need radical surgery if they are to get over last years final drubbing, and I cant see it with the players Mayo have, John O'Mahoney needs to get control of the dressing room which M&M seemed to lose last year and needs to get the players playing to a team winning system.

Galway have the talent but need to produce a team capable of taking on from their last winning team of 01.
Roscommon will take a few years to see the benifit of their fine minors.

Dublin were the most hyped team last year and if their bandwagon starts rolling again it will be the same this year, but its time they start delivering on the field and stopped strutting to the gallery on Hill 16. Leinster looks piss poor Dublin included, Laois had their chances but dont look to have the strength needed to push on for Sam. Meath, Kildare and Offaly dont seem to be progressing and Wexford and Westmeath seem to have gone backwards from their highs.

As for my neighbours from the east coast of Kerry, beating us in Munster is one thing but losing a 3rd AI semi final to us must hurt badly. Can Billy do the miracle, I dont think they have it in them mentally to win an All Ireland.

So there you have it Kerry for 2-in-a-row, but what the feck would I know.
Post by: Redgreenery on January 30, 2007, 05:48:01 PM
Oh I'm going to say Mayo for Sam 2007!!!!
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 30, 2007, 06:53:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 30, 2007, 05:09:24 PM
Tyrone were missing brian dooher, brian mcguigan, colin holmes, conor gormley, gerard cavlan, stephen o'neill and enda mcginley for all or most of last years championship.

I think you should check the team sheet again v Laois (who dumped Tyrone out in a horrible day in Portlaois) Holmes, Gormley, Cavo, O'Neill all featured that day if memory serves me right!

However...they mightn't have been at full fitness...that's a different argument.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 30, 2007, 07:22:06 PM
Cork
Post by: realredhandfan on January 30, 2007, 08:14:24 PM
A good Question.  To say Tyrone by a mile would be arrogant as they are my own team, so Im just going to say Tyrone.   
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 30, 2007, 09:09:34 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on January 30, 2007, 08:14:24 PM
A good Question.  To say Tyrone by a mile would be arrogant as they are my own team, so Im just going to say Tyrone.   

Sure if you can't be arrogant about your own team then who can you be arrogant about.!.  ;)

To win the AI outright possibily Tyrone or Kerry, but Donegal to get to the semi's, with a good draw, the final, 15 years is a good space between winning Sam's.  8) ;) 8)
Post by: sam03/05 on January 30, 2007, 09:22:09 PM
I think Tyrone will win League and Championship double just like they did in 2003.
Post by: Square Ball on January 30, 2007, 10:01:15 PM
What about every one should post who they think will win it, one post only with no reasoning to it and no second attempts, or should this be left to closer to the start of the campaign and a separate thread?
Post by: stephenite on January 30, 2007, 10:05:24 PM
Bit early, but a bit ofc crack. Dublin had only Alan Brogan playing in their forwards last year, if two out of, his younger brother, O'Callaghan, Connolly or Vaughan step up and prove to be genuine score taking forwards they won't be too far away, some concerns for them at midfield also.
Cork - Won't be too far away, neither will Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry or Armagh.
The league will tell a few tales and sure there may be a few long term injuries following the spring. Too early to say really
Post by: RP Macmurphy on January 30, 2007, 10:10:38 PM
Galway!  I just have a sneaky feel for the tribesmen in 2007!

Maybe because Loghnane will inspire a new belief into the hurlers and the footballers will want to keep pace!
Post by: Square Ball on January 30, 2007, 10:13:09 PM
Hard to look past Antrim sorry looking at Tyrone at the minute and see what the league brings up
Post by: RP Macmurphy on January 30, 2007, 10:15:05 PM
Well that goes without saying!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 30, 2007, 10:48:02 PM
Well Dublin look to be building a fair bit of depth this year....hopefully Connolly/Brogan/Vaughan will come through with O'Mahony

Cluxton/                                                                         Copeland

Griffen O'Se  Henry/                                                  Shocko Christie Cahill

Casey  Moran  Brennan/                                               Goggins Cullen Magee

Magee O'Mahony/                                                           Whelan Ryah

Murray  Brogan  Connolly/                                              Lally Quinn Cosgrove

O'Callaghan Bonnar  Keaney/                                         Brogan Vaughan Sherlock
Post by: esmonde on January 30, 2007, 10:55:47 PM
Cant see passed Tyrone, kerry or Dublin except maybe Armagh. If the dubs can get the full back position sorted I think they have a great chance
Post by: realredhandfan on January 30, 2007, 10:58:41 PM
11 years is tto long for the dubs not to have been in a final.  I fancy them to be playing either Tyrone, Mayo or Armagh in the final.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 30, 2007, 11:07:12 PM
Not at all my Ardee Dreamer,  Unless that is you beat us in the semifinal again  :'(
Post by: esmonde on January 30, 2007, 11:21:45 PM
I think Louth could be the dark horses in Leinster this year
Post by: ziggysego on January 30, 2007, 11:46:48 PM
Louth? You having a laugh??

London will win the All Ireland this year.
Post by: esmonde on January 30, 2007, 11:51:04 PM
Louth had a good season last year, won Division 2 of the league and the Tommy Murphy cup. While not earth shattering enough to build on. And lets face it outside Dublin and Laois there ain't much in Leinster
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on January 31, 2007, 02:43:20 AM
This last four years it has been Tyrone, Kerry, Tyrone, Kerry so this year has to be Tyrone again. I hope it is because they are a brilliant team to watch when they all click and when they are going full of the pipe.
Post by: cavan4ever on January 31, 2007, 08:38:55 AM
After seen tyrone against cavan with only 3-4 regulars i'm going for them.  They look the buisness and i have them backed to win the league and all-ireland at 20/1 with boylesports.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2007, 08:51:04 AM
QuoteI think you should check the team sheet again v Laois (who dumped Tyrone out in a horrible day in Portlaois) Holmes, Gormley, Cavo, O'Neill all featured that day if memory serves me right!

True, but as you say they werent at full fitness. O'Neill had been out for a while with the hamstring while Holmes and Gormley went off in the previous game and werent seen again.  Cavlan along with O'Neill hadnt really played the whole summer and were nowhere near where they normally would be.
Post by: loughshore lad on January 31, 2007, 09:02:50 AM
I think its very early in the year for this crack. From our own counties point of view (Tyrone) be under no illusions the return of McGuigan and Conor Gormley is key. Mcguigan is THE man in the tyrone setup, ask any of the managers and players of opposition counties who is Tyrones most influential player and you will get one answer. Gormley for me is the best defender about and irreplacable I would not swap him for anyone.
If these two guys are up and running again this season Tyrone will de very difficult to stop.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 31, 2007, 09:25:25 AM
QuoteMcguigan is THE man in the tyrone setup

Undoubtedley.  He can make average forwards look great with is distribution.  Whilst PTG is a irreplaceable, BMG was a greater loss in 2006 as he makes Tyrone tick.
Post by: SlimShady on January 31, 2007, 09:32:09 AM
i fancy the Dubs this year. saying that, i fancied them last year as well.

Its hard to see past Kerry but if there is going to be an upset it will be the Dubs me thinks.
Post by: bennydorano on January 31, 2007, 09:38:38 AM
For some reason I don't think Tyrone are going to count this year.  Kerry or the Dubs if I were betting at the minute.
Post by: SlimShady on January 31, 2007, 09:40:50 AM
Realistically speaking, (though no doubt the respective fans on here will disagree) every other county really have to step up a gear or two before looking at challenging Kerry.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2007, 09:44:27 AM
To slim, as you said there will be fans disagreeing.  But apart from the semi and final last year, Kerry were pretty ordinary and struggled to beat the like of waterford and lost against cork.  Put the loss of a few players on top of that and really Kerry will have a lot to do this year
Post by: SlimShady on January 31, 2007, 09:47:18 AM
the key line in your post is-

'apart from the semi and final last year'

therefore they reached the semi of the AI playing ordinarily before upping it a step for the last 2 games.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on January 31, 2007, 10:06:45 AM
I would probably put my money on either Dublin or Tyrone to win it out this year.  However, going for Tyrone is dependent on Brian McGuigan getting himself back to at least 85% of what he produced 2 years ago.  He WAS / IS the key man in that tyrone team.

Post by: mannix on January 31, 2007, 10:07:45 AM
Dublin have started well and with a few new faces could win it but I reckon the hype definetly gets to them and pillar is not very good strategy wise.My favourite to land Sam.
Tyrone are well able too provided they avoid mayo who have no fear of them.Last year showed a lack of panel strenght and the league will show how well they can live without peter cananvan.Tied with Mayo in my mind for Sam.
Kerry had the best players but lost a few of the really good ones and will do very well to retain Sam, in fact I doubt they will.
Mayo have been in 2 finals in 3 years and lost both to kerry, new management team with great backup and some quality players coming through could be enough to give them Sam if they were to avoid kerry in the final.
Armagh, I will get abuse but I think the goose is cooked.Kernan should have given the reins to a new man for a fresh attack and that would have been the best bet for armagh.Do not think they will win.
Cork, lack firepower and not a contender.
Galway have a chance if they could get a run with the quality they posess.
Laois,donegal and maybe fermanagh will do damage to the front runners in the qualifiers.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on January 31, 2007, 10:51:50 AM
It's hard to look beyond the Big Three.
Tyrone / Armagh and the champions.

Tyrone belief comes from the fact that football has not moved on since September '05 when they were the best team in the country with a really deep talented subs bench. That myth was ended last year when their sub's bench was shown not to be at the races. Canavan is gone, bad injuries don't always clear up etc. They are under pressure this year. Still they have some of the most gifted footballers in the Country. Hope McGuigan comes back to full fitness, he gave an exhibition in '05, his point is the final was pure class.

The champions may have lost two players (Shemo/Mike Mac) from the '06 campaign but we also lost 3 from the '05 campaign (Hassett,O'Cinneide and Kirby). Change is inevitable and we do seem to have a stream of good young talent coming through. Killian Young, Padraig Reidy to step up to the plate this year. Donaghy will have another big year, Gooch hasn't gone away you know. Still think we will be around at the business end - I feel it's time football titles were put back to back.....

Armagh - yet another last chance saloon year. They were not that far away last year. They should have had us buried at half time last year. The down side is that father time caught up with a number of the players in the second half (especially McGrane). Ronan Clarke almost single-handily kept them in it in the second half. If Clarke misses the championship I would rule Armagh out.

Of the rest:
Cork are not that far away. Their defence is excellent, Midfield is good but forward are not great. Donnagh O'Connor is scoring heavily in the McGrath cup if he steps up to support Masters you never know. Will never win a high scoring game so hard to see then stringing three hard win together to win the All-Ireland. If they beat us in the semi final last year they would have beaten Mayo.

Dublin, need to prove there is something behind the hype. Average Defence, Overrated midfield and poor forward....but worst of all very dodgy temperament.

Mayo - Would love to see them win one, remind me of the Munster rugby team, After the final last year they have question marks all over the field. 1 point from play in an all-Ireland final is very poor. Still as I said after the final last year, Kerry lost to Meath by 15 in the semi final in 2001 and were unlucky to lose the final in '02. Tyrone lost to Sligo in '02 and won the All-Ireland in '03. Always believe.

Galway, Donegal, Fermanagh, Derry, Laois and Meath not good enough.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 31, 2007, 10:57:07 AM
If Mayo were to get to the All Ireland Final and Tyrone were to make it as well.  Id back mayo  In My experiences of Tyrone V Mayo stretching back to 89 Tyrone have only beaten Mayo in one majorly important game - the national league semifoinal in 2002l
Post by: magpie seanie on January 31, 2007, 11:08:35 AM
Sligo for Sam! Well everyone else is at it so why not me?!!!

If by some twist of outrageous bad luck that doesn't happen then you're left with obvious candidates in Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin and even Armagh and possibles like Laois and Donegal. The two in a row will be done again some time and Kerry are possibly better placed to do it than in 2004. There are loads of question marks yet about Tyrone but they are capable if the likes of Dooher, Gormley & McGuigan return close to their best. Funnily enough scoring forwards could be an issue here with only O'Neill reliable (if Mulligan hits form then him too but thats another "if"). Everyone seems to think the Dubs need more forward talent but I reckon there are a few too many weak links in their backs and midfield. Still - it will take a good team to beat them and they really score heavily when on top. Armagh, the old dogs of war will also be hard beaten. They're like Rocky - you can hit them as much as you like and they still keep coming at you. Would be foolish to write them off at this stage. Laois - I expect that with a proper manager they will improve this year and if they unearth a few hefty lads could be contenders. Donegal will be good too, though the qualifier route probably beckons for them.
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 31, 2007, 11:10:03 AM
Kerry-Tyrone-Mayo seems to be a bit of a strange triangle in recent years

Tyrone can't beat Mayo but can beat Kerry
Mayo can't beat Kerry but can beat Tyrone
Kerry can't beat Tyrone but can beat Mayo

Something has to give, maybe this year hopefully it will be us getting rid of that ugly annoying Tyrone monkey ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 31, 2007, 11:28:29 AM
I'd say we've a slightly bigger monkey to rid ourselves of mike!

Seanie glad to see that ur not even contemplating the unimaginable with no mention of ur neighbours.

JOM gave an interview, on the mayo news, about how there wouldn't be that many scars from last year and that he would deal with each player individually but that he didn't expect it to be a problem this year
Post by: forkinknife on January 31, 2007, 11:55:42 AM
The Boys in Blue.
Post by: J70 on January 31, 2007, 01:14:39 PM
Assuming everyone is fit, its Tyrone or Kerry for me. Armagh will miss Clarke badly, and the miles on the clock had to catch up on some of their key veterans sometime (been predicted for years, I know!). The Dubs and Mayo will probably push for a semi-final or even a final spot, assuming they avoid the really big guns. Wouldn't give the rest much hope of going all the way. Donegal will give anyone a tough game, but we may struggle for scores again, as last year, and won't be able to stay with a team like Kerry who can run up a big score very quickly when they get a period on top.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 31, 2007, 01:38:07 PM
I think 2005 was a very special year for football.  As someone said the loss of Clarke fecks up Armagh, the loss of Moynighan takes a little out of this year wheras in 2005 Armagh Kerry and tyrone  were all firing on full cylinders and the Dubs were hot if naive,  Only a kick of the ball beween the top 3 teams in the country whilst they were playing at their best. 
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 31, 2007, 01:38:14 PM
tyrone will be hard beaten
Title: you heard it here first
Post by: heganboy on January 31, 2007, 01:44:32 PM
armagh vs mayo tyrone vs cork semis, with mayo beating tyrone in one of the great AI finals. CMD as man of the match with Brian McGuigan running him very close for it. 2007 to go down as one of the best years for football in a long long time.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 31, 2007, 02:40:26 PM
Tipped Armagh last year and I'd tip them again if Clarke was fit. Not much between them, Tyrone and Kerry. Dubs have the players to win Sam but not the management. They still have an outside chance with Mayo and Cork. I'd have ourselves in the chasing group after them with Donegal, Fermanagh, Laois and Gaillimh.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 31, 2007, 04:42:39 PM
QuoteI'd have ourselves in the chasing group after them with Donegal, Fermanagh, Laois and Gaillimh.

;D ;D ;D ;D

That's cos you're deluded - the wheels will be coming off your ass and cart in Longford.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 31, 2007, 05:45:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 31, 2007, 04:42:39 PM
QuoteI'd have ourselves in the chasing group after them with Donegal, Fermanagh, Laois and Gaillimh.

;D ;D ;D ;D

That's cos you're deluded - the wheels will be coming off your ass and cart in Longford.

Yous are robbing the wheels now instead of slashing them??? Jaysus, no wonder the Dubs didn't want to set foot in the ahem, county, last summer...  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 31, 2007, 05:47:20 PM
Quote from: forkinknife on January 31, 2007, 11:55:42 AM
The Boys in Blue.

Laois,Cavan? ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2007, 05:47:57 PM
Mayo4sam, calm down. Magpie is just saying what everyone in the media is saying. And I'm loving every minute of the lack of coverage so far in the media regarding Mayo's chances in the AI this year. It's only when I read this discussion board and listen to a few people whenever I get home do I hear or read any hopes for Mayo.  
Post by: Billys Boots on January 31, 2007, 08:44:31 PM
QuoteJaysus, no wonder the Dubs didn't want to set foot in the ahem, county, last summer

They were blessed to get away last year - that's not gonna happen with you shower.  ;)
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 31, 2007, 09:46:14 PM
Does anyone really know the situation about Ronan Clarke? I was lead to believe that he will be fit for the championship but some here seem to have written him off. Brian Mallon's return would do our chances no harm. Armagh to give it a lash!
Post by: Dell Boy on January 31, 2007, 10:19:19 PM
I don't think we will find out how serious Clarke's injury really is, as Armagh have a knack of keeping these things covered up (with the exception of Toal). They seem to use alleged injuries like a propaganda tool coming up to C'SHIP every year. Remember how we were told in 04 that Mc Conville was 1 game away from never walking again!! and Mc Geeney the fittest man in the world is always an injury doubt the week before any match.

Clarke and Armagh will be there or there abouts again this year, but I don't think anyone will match Kerry's talent or Tyrones hunger.
Post by: ONeill on January 31, 2007, 10:52:59 PM
Good man TYP. Now tune into Flight of the Earls on the Beeb to see how the best laid plans can go awry.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 01, 2007, 08:46:20 AM
TYp you are onto something there, albeit the BEEBs battle of the bosses a few years ago, but for Ulster only,  What Ulster manager has won the most silver and Im talking National titles in particular. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 01, 2007, 09:39:14 AM
QuoteThey were blessed to get away last year - that's not gonna happen with you shower.  Wink

Sure the Dubs were spotted drinking Dutch Gold in the car park before the match and yous still couldn't put them away... Lakers by double scores  ;D
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 01, 2007, 10:11:49 AM
TYP, keep off the magic mushrooms!
Post by: Billys Boots on February 01, 2007, 10:22:04 AM
Quoteyous still couldn't put them away

We scored more than 5 points.  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 01, 2007, 12:20:07 PM
Ah but how did yous get on in the Dubs backyard the year before???  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 01, 2007, 12:25:07 PM
Still scored more than 5 points  ;D
Post by: Bogball XV on February 01, 2007, 12:28:32 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 31, 2007, 10:46:19 PM
Is there really anyone other than Tyrone?
And ye wonder why the rest of Ulster don't like ye??
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 01, 2007, 12:33:00 PM
QuoteStill scored more than 5 points

Ah but Bertie, what's the other side of the story???
Post by: CoolHandLuke on February 01, 2007, 12:42:40 PM
Tyrone all the way for me. Kerry won't have hunger after winning last year, Armagh in transition, Mayo will beat a good team but don't have enough to go all the way, Cork / Donegal good sides but not sure they have all round quality required. Nearest thing to Tyrone this year will be the Dubs, well drilled & physical, if they can find a forward they will be close. Surprise packet possibly Cavan
Post by: supersarsfields on February 01, 2007, 12:43:30 PM

:D Now Bogball, Derry are hardly the darlings of Ulster either!!
Post by: Bogball XV on February 01, 2007, 12:49:19 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 01, 2007, 12:43:30 PM

:D Now Bogball, Derry are hardly the darlings of Ulster either!!
Aye, but we're not as disliked, in fact I sense a growing pity amongst other counties for us :'( :'(
Post by: snappiered on February 20, 2007, 01:17:16 PM
Well any more suggestion lads (and Lassies) now that there are 2 Rounds of the Naional League gone.
Post by: AN other on February 20, 2007, 01:52:22 PM
I'm going with Mayo...
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 20, 2007, 01:58:25 PM
Reckon Armagh will win it.

Tyrone maybe for ulster
Mayo out west
Cork in Munster
Laois in Leinster

Can you all stop tipping Cavan for the "suprise packet" too. It won't be a surprise otherwise!!! :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 20, 2007, 02:04:03 PM
even more convinced that its going to be tyrone now...
Post by: off the laces on February 20, 2007, 02:17:22 PM
i think a Dublin Donegal final with dublin to win
Post by: Bogball XV on September 27, 2008, 03:39:56 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on January 30, 2007, 02:09:11 PM
Put your house on Tyrone...they can't be beat!  ;)
Great call!!

Only a year early though :D