Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on October 11, 2009, 01:16:30 AM

Title: best/favourite nightclub in ireland
Post by: ross4life on October 11, 2009, 01:16:30 AM
been to loads all around Ireland i can't decide which is best ??? which would be yours & why?

here's are some of my favorites

Rockfords Roscommon
Monsoon Ballyhaunis
QT Nightclub Castlebar
GPO Galway
Central Park Galway
Bozos Athlone
Karma Athlone
Quattro Ballina
cooper face jacks Dublin
Whelans Dublin
Earth Drogheda
Pvs longford

Title: Re: best/favourite nightclub in ireland
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2009, 01:18:09 AM
Dinn Ri in Carlow or Langtons Kilkenny
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 11, 2009, 08:23:04 AM
Have you not been to The Bot in Belfast or even the infamous Renshaws where many a gaaboarder learned their trade.
Post by: Rav67 on October 11, 2009, 02:42:10 PM
The Imperial Cavan
Copperface Jacks Dublin
The Elk Toome
Mandela Hall Belfast
Post by: gallsman on October 11, 2009, 03:23:31 PM
Anyone who says Coppers when talking about Dublin has obviously never been to McGowans. Times in Naas, CP's in Galway, The Wash and Reardon's in Cork are all brilliant. I've heard from several sources that the Forum in Monaghan is class, but a rip-off. Perhaps some of the Armagh boys could refute or confim.
Post by: ross4life on October 11, 2009, 04:45:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 11, 2009, 03:23:31 PM
Anyone who says Coppers when talking about Dublin has obviously never been to McGowans. Times in Naas, CP's in Galway, The Wash and Reardon's in Cork are all brilliant. I've heard from several sources that the Forum in Monaghan is class, but a rip-off. Perhaps some of the Armagh boys could refute or confim.

been to time naas few years ago the place is huge prolly the biggest nightclub i've been to?
Post by: maggie on October 11, 2009, 04:49:33 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 11, 2009, 03:23:31 PM

Maybe if you are 17/18.
Post by: boojangles on October 11, 2009, 06:39:31 PM
Crawdaddy and The POD in Dublin. Always good DJs playing.
Twisted Pepper-Middle Abbey Street, Dublin
Whelans-Camden Street Dublin
Cuba and GPO in Galway
Mulcahys in Clonmel is another memorable spot.
The Foundry in Carlow

Some super Niteclubs that are unfortunately no longer with us include:
The Temple Theatre-Dublin. Was a converted church.Student nites in there used to be unreal.
Spirit Niteclub-Middle Abbey Street Dublin.(Now The Academy) Another serious spot. Used to have pole dancers and all in there.Stayed open until after 5am.
The Oasis Niteclub in Carrickmacross was another mental spot for Pioneer discos.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 11, 2009, 09:22:52 PM
Wouldnt be a big niteclub man these days......but in retrospect I have to mention Cupids in Newry...The Coach in Banbridge (full of loose proddy weemen :D ;))

...but the daddy of the whole lot was The Marine in the Point....ah the memories :'( :'( :'(
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 11, 2009, 09:26:07 PM
ashburn lurgan quite obviously an institution in northern nightlife. carlingford although no real night clubs is a good spot
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2009, 09:27:26 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 11, 2009, 09:26:07 PM
ashburn lurgan quite obviously an institution in northern nightlife. carlingford although no real night clubs is a good spot

I was in Carlingford a few weeks ago,had a right aul time..
The "niteclub" was more like someones front sitting room with a DJ in the corner
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 11, 2009, 09:29:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2009, 09:27:26 PM

The "niteclub" was more like someones front sitting room with a DJ in the corner
we had some zuke djing in the one we were in, must have been playing his ipod  :D
Def have to get back down though
Post by: ross4life on October 11, 2009, 09:35:53 PM
rocky robbins i think it was called carrick on shannon was a gr8 spot & speaking of leitrim........ Freddie's Nightclub in ballinamore is more like a fight club than a nghtclub :D
Post by: nrico2006 on October 12, 2009, 10:16:08 AM
Katy Dalys in Strabane.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 11:16:43 AM
Club LA in waterford was great and also Muldoon's and Shefflin's
Post by: Onion Bag on October 12, 2009, 01:28:46 PM
The Arena in Armagh was the best spot in Ireland by a country mile, there was buses from everywhere at it every w'end,
Post by: magpie seanie on October 12, 2009, 01:40:50 PM
The Velvet Room is Sligo is the best I've been too.
Post by: gallsman on October 12, 2009, 02:20:34 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 12, 2009, 01:28:46 PM
The Arena in Armagh was the best spot in Ireland by a country mile, there was buses from everywhere at it every w'end,

I've heard lots of stories about 14 year olds getting into and doing very naughty thing both inside and outside the Arena!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 02:25:26 PM
CP's - Galway
The Warrick - Galway   :D
Reardons - Cork
Tramco - Rathmines, Dublin
Flannerys - Wexford St., Dublin
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
Matt The Miller's, Kilkenny
Roddys - Rathmines, Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin
The Ferrycarrig hotel - Wexford
Post by: lurganblue on October 12, 2009, 02:25:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 12, 2009, 02:20:34 PM

I've heard lots of stories about 14 year olds getting into and doing very naughty thing both inside and outside the Arena!

The arena was quality. packed and some talent. drink was expensive though as everyone was chinned to death.
tell us more about these stories gallsman  :)
Post by: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 02:35:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 02:25:26 PM
CP's - Galway
Reardons - Cork
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin

Another great spot no longer with us.Moved back up to Dublin last year and was shocked to see it closed.
Post by: bingobus on October 12, 2009, 02:36:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 12, 2009, 01:40:50 PM
The Velvet Room is Sligo is the best I've been too.

I'd agree on that one. Its a quality place.

Best spot I've been to a regular basis was the Glen in Blayney on a Sunday night about 10 years ago. It was serious craic.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 02:52:18 PM
Quote from: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 02:35:41 PM
CP's - Galway
Reardons - Cork
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin

Another great spot no longer with us.Moved back up to Dublin last year and was shocked to see it closed.

WHAT, Tramco is closed, used be some great sports under the stairs where you got a great view of some D4 girls who obviously had Scottish ancestory in their beliefs of how they should wear their skirts/kilts
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 03:19:11 PM
That one in Sligo that ye mentioned is a great one for picking up fellow Gays. The place is crawling with them i had many a good night there picking up hot Gay men like myself
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 03:44:49 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 03:19:11 PM
That one in Sligo that ye mentioned is a great one for picking up fellow Gays. The place is crawling with them i had many a good night there picking up hot Gay men like myself

Thought you said you didn't like Sligo.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 03:53:40 PM
No i said i wouldn't live there! I'd be sexed out from all the Gay loving
Post by: Celt_Man on October 12, 2009, 03:54:52 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 02:52:18 PM
Quote from: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 02:35:41 PM
CP's - Galway
Reardons - Cork
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin

WHAT, Tramco is closed, used be some great sports under the stairs where you got a great view of some D4 girls who obviously had Scottish ancestory in their beliefs of how they should wear their skirts/kilts
Possibly the best phased post I've read in a while!!!  ;D   ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on October 12, 2009, 03:57:52 PM
Canal Court. Jive 'til your heart's content!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 04:10:02 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 03:53:40 PM
No i said i wouldn't live there! I'd be sexed out from all the Gay loving

So the same goes for Roscommon, Carlow & Dublin too!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2009, 04:52:12 PM
CP's - Galway
Reardons - Cork
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin

Matt the Millers is a kip! FFS if your in Kilkenny there are dozens of better places to go to
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 05:02:33 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz
Post by: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 05:06:01 PM
I'm sure quite a few on here would be fond of the kremlin.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 05:08:34 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 05:02:33 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz

Full of Sharrrroooonnnss, Jacccciinnnnntaaaaas etc. you think you are pulling this stunner and then you hear her talk and then you realise why you have been batting way above your average, have to say this is one of the few times Im a snob, I just leave it as that because the accent would go through ya. Major Reason I avoid Redz.
Post by: Minder on October 12, 2009, 05:16:15 PM
Was in Yello in Belfast on Saturday night, wouldn't be in any hurry back to it.
Post by: camloughlad on October 12, 2009, 05:21:07 PM
lads yas are forgettin about LACEYS.it was the spot about 10years ago shut down now but.
voodoo letterkenny
copper face jacks dublin
Laceys (RIP)
silence dundalk
mcginn's castlewellan
canal court newry
the bank newry
Post by: ziggysego on October 12, 2009, 05:45:03 PM
Eddie's Crossroad, Greencastle.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 12, 2009, 05:46:42 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 05:06:01 PM
Being serious here, does/has anyone been there?
Heard its meant to be a good night out, relaxed atmosphere, no trouble, and plenty of females with little or no competition  ;)
Post by: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 07:00:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2009, 05:08:34 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz

Full of Sharrrroooonnnss, Jacccciinnnnntaaaaas etc. you think you are pulling this stunner and then you hear her talk and then you realise why you have been batting way above your average, have to say this is one of the few times Im a snob, I just leave it as that because the accent would go through ya. Major Reason I avoid Redz.

Redz,good luck,never took to that place.I wouldn't like to be over the 6ft mark either in there,The ceilings come down to meet ya. Fitzsimons is a good spot alright,but very fuckin pricey.
Letterkenny is another great spot for clubs-Voodoo and Milan. The Grill too but tink its since closed down?
Also The Dome in Bundoran used to b a classy spot while I will never forget The Dome (The Kilmore) in Cavan.Thems really were the days. :'( :'(
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 07:36:01 PM
 glenavon when the hooley is on
The Bot on Paddys day
Reardons in cork on sunday nites!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 07:53:48 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 12, 2009, 05:46:42 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 05:06:01 PM
Being serious here, does/has anyone been there?
Heard its meant to be a good night out, relaxed atmosphere, no trouble, and plenty of females with little or no competition  ;)
A fella I know went with his bird a few years back as she had a few mates who drank from the furry cup. Said it was full of straight blades and plenty of lookers too. Apparently the go there so they aren't pestered by drunken hallions. I'd say that incorporates about 90% of people from this board and 100% of people from Lurgan.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:09:33 PM
Quote from: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 07:00:01 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz

Redz,good luck,never took to that place.I wouldn't like to be over the 6ft mark either in there,The ceilings come down to meet ya. Fitzsimons is a good spot alright,but very fuckin pricey.
Letterkenny is another great spot for clubs-Voodoo and Milan. The Grill too but tink its since closed down?
Also The Dome in Bundoran used to b a classy spot while I will never forget The Dome (The Kilmore) in Cavan.Thems really were the days. :'( :'(

The Bouncers are like nazis outside Fitzsimons,most ignorant cants you could ever come across.
Boojangles how about The Sleepers? what a spot!!!  :D
There was about 8 people at the last outing in the Kilmore,some craic from what i heard
Post by: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 10:57:15 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:09:33 PM
Quote from: boojangles on October 12, 2009, 07:00:01 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz

The Bouncers are like nazis outside Fitzsimons,most ignorant cants you could ever come across.
Boojangles how about The Sleepers? what a spot!!!  :D
There was about 8 people at the last outing in the Kilmore,some craic from what i heard

The bouncers are like Nazis in alot of spots around Dublin-although Vision in town some nites can be just as bad.Some tossers working in there.One of the many reasons I avoid the place.
Believe it or Not BH Man I was never at Sleepers.my Pioneer days were the Kilmore,the Springs and The Russell. Heard some stories about the place though.
Indeed, they tried to re-open the Dome once a few years ago but it died a death.Such a shame :'(
Post by: nrico2006 on October 13, 2009, 05:27:20 PM
Foleys in Sligo is some spot.
Post by: gallsman on October 13, 2009, 08:23:32 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 12, 2009, 02:25:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 12, 2009, 02:20:34 PM

The arena was quality. packed and some talent. drink was expensive though as everyone was chinned to death.
tell us more about these stories gallsman  :)

Ex was a St. Catherine's girl, so had lots of interesting nuggets about the arena!
Post by: The Iceman on October 13, 2009, 09:34:35 PM
The Arena in Armagh was a great spot in its prime.

Also enjoyed Kellys in Portrush on a Wednesday night before they renovated.

Clubland in Cookstown before they renovated and closed down the outside part with the picnic benches.

Dormans in Magherafelt was a good spot when I frequented it on a Saturday night.

Stickys in Maghera of a Friday night and on to the hotel was always good value.

Never had a bad night in Queens Union, Belfast on a Friday night

Reminiscing here!!!!
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 13, 2009, 09:40:47 PM
Cupids, Newry circa 1990.  :D  The bar staff weren't up to much though.  ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 13, 2009, 09:40:59 PM
CP's - Galway
Reardons - Cork
D2 - Harcourt St. Dublin
The Lounge - Castlebar
Coxs - Castlebar
The Odeon - Dublin

Tell me you are not serious!? The Lounge is a depressing shithole!

I'd be a big fan of Halo in Galway, some spot. Velvet Rooms in Sligo too. C2 in Westport.
A lot of places in towns I've only been to once I can't remember the name of!
Post by: Gold on October 13, 2009, 10:53:12 PM
Barcode
Club M
Fitzimmon's
Redz

great shout!
Post by: Gold on October 13, 2009, 10:57:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 12, 2009, 05:16:15 PM

i was there to 6am too , as was Glentoran's own Keith Gillespie--never again!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2009, 11:26:07 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 13, 2009, 10:57:48 PM

6am? Is it still busy at that time? We left about 3.30? What time do they serve booze to?
Post by: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 01:35:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2009, 11:26:07 PM

6am? Is it still busy at that time? We left about 3.30? What time do they serve booze to?

Been in Yellow once and had a cracking night. Full of stunning women in a club where half the lads want nothing to do with them!

Is anyone aware of the places round the Cathedral Quarter that are just big empty old houses/business where a DJ comes along and they charge you a tenner in. It's open until 5 or 6 and it's BYOB. The time I was there people were smoking away and rolling joints while cop cars flew about outside and didn't care in the slightest. Think it's beside/above some gallery on Donegall Street and runs at least once a month. Place was mad!
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 01:38:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 01:35:55 PM

Been in Yellow once and had a cracking night. Full of stunning women in a club where half the lads want nothing to do with them!

Is anyone aware of the places round the Cathedral Quarter that are just big empty old houses/business where a DJ comes along and they charge you a tenner in. It's open until 5 or 6 and it's BYOB. The time I was there people were smoking away and rolling joints while cop cars flew about outside and didn't care in the slightest. Think it's beside/above some gallery on Donegall Street and runs at least once a month. Place was mad!

I think it's Belfast exposed you're on about, mad spot alright.
Post by: leenie on October 14, 2009, 02:45:54 PM

why?

and was does byob mean?
Post by: the scenic route on October 14, 2009, 03:21:25 PM

and was does byob mean?

BYOB is bring your own booze,

New place in belfast RAIN some spot but the bouncers seem to be dickheads very pushy on who they will let in, no groups of fella or any of that

It used to be hard to beat a tuesday night in limelight great music, go in with £30 and youd come out full as a gypseys tit with change for a bite to eat on the way home.
Then you had the reliable bot and shaws, Karma on a monday used to be a great but its finished up  now although scratch its replacement isn bad either

The Grill in letterkenny is a good spot went down with a load of mates to escape the 12th wkend over the summer there was some craic another good one is mint in cookstown and the glenavon for the hoolies

Post by: Whitehair on October 14, 2009, 03:40:22 PM
Circus Circus, Banbridge in the early nineties! ;)
Post by: Treasurer on October 14, 2009, 03:50:32 PM
The Palm Club in Ballinasloe about 20 years ago!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 14, 2009, 04:45:03 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on October 12, 2009, 04:19:22 PM
Sugar in Derry
Voodoo in L'Kenny
Coppers in Dublin
Bot, Box, Renshaws, Hatfield, Eg in Belfast
Elk in Newbridge

And finally..were most people in Derry Started off, Slaughtneil Discos!!  :D
Or for ones of an earlier vintage Ballymaguigan and Ballynease Discos
Post by: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 04:53:20 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 14, 2009, 02:45:54 PM

why?

and was does byob mean?

a) Because it used to be the Parliament, so still has a a substantial amount of gay clientèle.

b) Bring your own beer.
Post by: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 04:54:08 PM
Quote from: the scenic route on October 14, 2009, 03:21:25 PM

and was does byob mean?

BYOB is bring your own booze,

New place in belfast RAIN some spot but the bouncers seem to be d**kheads very pushy on who they will let in, no groups of fella or any of that

It used to be hard to beat a tuesday night in limelight great music, go in with £30 and youd come out full as a gypseys tit with change for a bite to eat on the way home.
Then you had the reliable bot and shaws, Karma on a monday used to be a great but its finished up  now although scratch its replacement isn bad either

The Grill in letterkenny is a good spot went down with a load of mates to escape the 12th wkend over the summer there was some craic another good one is mint in cookstown and the glenavon for the hoolies

RAIN is shit, and not new. Milk got ran into the ground, so it reopened as RAIN.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2009, 05:47:41 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 04:53:20 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 14, 2009, 02:45:54 PM

why?

and was does byob mean?

a) Because it used to be the Parliament, so still has a a substantial amount of gay clientèle.

b) Bring your own beer.
Really, I didn't see many overtly gay people on Saturday night - not unless you count Titty von tr**p. Also, as it used to be a gay club wouldn't the gay clientele go elsewhere as it is now obviously a straight crowd.

Isn't Rain where Milk used to be?
Post by: charlie stubbs on October 14, 2009, 07:15:07 PM
agree karma on monday in belfast was unreal

bot still hard to beat on a wed/thurs not bad on fri night now for the young professional ;)

like the canal court in newry 2

mint in cookstown pretty good 2
Post by: stiffler on October 14, 2009, 07:56:51 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on October 14, 2009, 07:15:07 PM
agree karma on monday in belfast was unreal

bot still hard to beat on a wed/thurs not bad on fri night now for the young professional ;)

like the canal court in newry 2

mint in cookstown pretty good 2

Hard to beat kellys  Portrush on a wednesday too charlie!

I hear the carpark was some niteclub! iii
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 14, 2009, 09:31:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2009, 09:27:26 PM

Was at a stag there a year ago, mighty craic that town. Hens and stags everywhere.
Post by: achadh gallain on October 15, 2009, 11:16:39 AM

The BX is a famous spot for this carry on (cant mind exactly where it is in the cathedral quarter) - an oul rap on the door jab when your gassed comin' out of kelly's cellars or the duke.. many a night after the bot on a saturday night aswell.
good craic in that place though i wouldn't be rushing to it  :-\ quite dodgy and you never remember a thing going into the place or coming out of it!!
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2009, 12:38:33 PM
The GAA in Omagh in the early 90s.
Ah, the memories.....
Post by: redhugh on October 15, 2009, 01:56:31 PM
7 Bells in Ardoyne on Saturday nights after work , what a fcukin' nuthouse. Some craic though.
Post by: the scenic route on October 15, 2009, 05:22:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 14, 2009, 04:54:08 PM

RAIN is shit, and not new. Milk got ran into the ground, so it reopened as RAIN.

I was in Millk when it was Shite but Rain isnt bad value
Post by: leenie on October 15, 2009, 08:35:11 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 15, 2009, 12:38:33 PM
Ah, the memories.....

feck i had forgot about the "gaa"...... a tin of coke and a packet of crisps...... 60p
Post by: downgirl on October 16, 2009, 01:27:17 AM
Havana Browns
Rafterz
(both part of Rearden's empire in Cork)

The Savoy Cork

Central/Coast in Newcastle whatever it's called now was good back in the day when you were underage!
Post by: gerry on October 16, 2009, 01:35:51 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 15, 2009, 08:35:11 PM
Ah, the memories.....

feck i had forgot about the "gaa"...... a tin of coke and a packet of crisps...... 60p

I was going to mention it, then i thought i would be showing my age so i didn't.  What about

Knock Na Moe over the years
Post by: maggie on October 16, 2009, 08:23:00 AM
Quote from: gerry on October 16, 2009, 01:35:51 AM
Ah, the memories.....

I was going to mention it, then i thought i would be showing my age so i didn't.  What about

Nah, never heard of it.
You are showing your age now Gerry  ;)
Post by: Zapatista on October 16, 2009, 08:45:03 AM

:D :D Mind that place. I was too young to go. Wasn't there a ghost story about it?
Post by: gerry on October 16, 2009, 10:48:48 AM
Quote from: maggie on October 16, 2009, 08:23:00 AM
Ah, the memories.....

Nah, never heard of it.
You are showing your age now Gerry  ;)

i know
Post by: gerry on October 16, 2009, 11:03:34 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 16, 2009, 08:45:03 AM

:D :D Mind that place. I was too young to go. Wasn't there a ghost story about it?

many a good sunday afternoon was wasted drinking about it. their was suppose to be a ghost about it alright and if memory serves me right it was a girl who hung herself.  used to be a great spot for bands like smokie (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcVLeUFW-AM&feature=PlayList&p=B08AE0FF896BE7C8&index=0) and luv bug (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8F2QR9U7SB0)
Post by: 5 Sams on October 16, 2009, 11:11:54 AM
Quote from: gerry on October 16, 2009, 11:03:34 AM

many a good sunday afternoon was wasted drinking about it. their was suppose to be a ghost about it alright and if memory serves me right it was a girl who hung herself.  used to be a great spot for bands like smokie (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcVLeUFW-AM&feature=PlayList&p=B08AE0FF896BE7C8&index=0) and luv bug (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8F2QR9U7SB0)

Ah the lovely June Cunningham...subject of manys an 80s schoolboy fantasy :-*
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2009, 11:17:25 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 16, 2009, 11:11:54 AM

They did the Freshers ball in 1996 at Jordanstown and they would have been 'mature' at that stage but we still though she was quality!  :P
Post by: 5 Sams on October 16, 2009, 11:21:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2009, 11:17:25 AM

They did the Freshers ball in 1996 at Jordanstown and they would have been 'mature' at that stage but we still though she was quality!  :P

They played at our Christmas do in the Canal Court last year Doogie........she's still quality :o Dunno about the music though :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2009, 11:28:42 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 16, 2009, 11:21:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2009, 11:17:25 AM

They played at our Christmas do in the Canal Court last year Doogie........she's still quality :o Dunno about the music though :D
'Luv Bug - the poor mans Bagatelle'  ;D
Post by: Canalman on October 16, 2009, 01:13:23 PM
Grill in Letterkeny I agree used to be a great spot. Used also to be a great spot on Leeson Street called Rios...... long gone I think. A real lively spot during the week.
Post by: Celt_Man on October 16, 2009, 02:34:00 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 16, 2009, 01:13:23 PM
Grill in Letterkeny I agree used to be a great spot. Used also to be a great spot on Leeson Street called Rios...... long gone I think. A real lively spot during the week.

Na Rios is still there... well I was in it a couple of years ago so definitely not long gone.  I haven't heard anything about it closing down since I was in it
Post by: Celt_Man on October 16, 2009, 02:39:24 PM
The Palace on Camden street in Dublin is a unbelievable spot.... dead as a door nail during the week but absolutely wedged at the weekend... and the amount of lovely ladies floating around in it is serious too
Post by: gallsman on October 16, 2009, 07:20:54 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on October 16, 2009, 02:39:24 PM
The Palace on Camden street in Dublin is a unbelievable spot.... dead as a door nail during the week but absolutely wedged at the weekend... and the amount of lovely ladies floating around in it is serious too

Would have agreed with you two years ago. Full of Trinity and UCD Law and business students. Place itself was a dive though. Has been redone over the summer apparently. It's now a tenner in and the club is upstairs.

Rios is still there but has had it's name changed I think.
Post by: leenie on December 29, 2009, 02:34:53 PM
 was in the glenavon last nite for more power... great nite

the new niteclub is class, they've done some job on it... was very impressed, not a carpet in sight..

and instead of the smell of puke it was fresh paint...
Post by: thebigfella on December 29, 2009, 03:00:59 PM
Quote from: leenie on December 29, 2009, 02:34:53 PM

the new niteclub is class, they've done some job on it... was very impressed, not a carpet in sight..

I can think of nothing worse, hardly in keeping with the title of the thread  :P
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 29, 2009, 03:33:02 PM
derryhirk inn, slug a bottle of buckfast in the carpark then into the wee place to find a dirtybirdy. take her to the magic garden and have your way with her, then walk home in the pissing rain!
Post by: thebandit on December 29, 2009, 05:29:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 16, 2009, 07:20:54 PM

Would have agreed with you two years ago. Full of Trinity and UCD Law and business students. Place itself was a dive though. Has been redone over the summer apparently. It's now a tenner in and the club is upstairs.

It called NV now
Post by: wallyman on December 29, 2009, 05:42:32 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 29, 2009, 03:33:02 PM
derryhirk inn, slug a bottle of buckfast in the carpark then into the wee place to find a dirtybirdy. take her to the magic garden and have your way with her, then walk home in the pissing rain!

Ahoy hoy sailor!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2009, 06:59:11 PM
Didn't something strange/sinister happn there about 10 years ago? Brits held the place up or something?
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 30, 2009, 10:31:17 AM
RIP Copper faced jacks

was in it the week before Christmas for the first time in nearly 10 years and it has gone from being brilliant to being a complete tip.
At least upstairs used to be a good spot, but upstairs is now exactly the same as downstairs and I wont be back.
I will hold on to the good memories and instead head to mcgowans in future.
Post by: thebigfella on December 30, 2009, 01:54:01 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 30, 2009, 10:31:17 AM
RIP Copper faced jacks

was in it the week before Christmas for the first time in nearly 10 years and it has gone from being brilliant to being a complete tip.
At least upstairs used to be a good spot, but upstairs is now exactly the same as downstairs and I wont be back.

Whats wrong, you upset cause you could pull in Dublin's premier meatmarket?   :D
Post by: wallyman on December 30, 2009, 02:01:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2009, 06:59:11 PM
Didn't something strange/sinister happn there about 10 years ago?

Something strange and sinister happens every wkend in that spot!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 30, 2009, 02:07:50 PM
Quote from: wallyman on December 30, 2009, 02:01:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2009, 06:59:11 PM
Didn't something strange/sinister happn there about 10 years ago?

Something strange and sinister happens every wkend in that spot!

The police came in dressed in black clothing fired shots at a few people and then took some guy away.

Unless your talking about the young girl who said she was raped outside it and then said she was making it all up..
Post by: leenie on December 30, 2009, 02:15:46 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 29, 2009, 03:00:59 PM

I can think of nothing worse, hardly in keeping with the title of the thread  :P

looks like myself and urself wouldn't get on...

but believe me when i say they have done some work on it ! 2nd floor is gone as is the top bar...

how could ya not like more power to your elbow in the glenavon... my favourite nites out (makes me feel like a young one again)
Post by: boojangles on December 30, 2009, 03:11:08 PM
RIP Copper faced jacks

Never liked the place at all.Never seen the reason how it became popular.
Mc Gowans is slightly better depending on the night.
Post by: ballinaman on December 30, 2009, 03:20:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 16, 2009, 07:20:54 PM

Yep, tenner into the palace upstairs now, some spot, spent serious money on the place with all the LED lights on the walls, class setup now.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 03:20:29 PM
Lynchbhoy, you say it was 10 years since you'd been there.  I think you've grown up.

My favourite nitespot in Dublin would have been FibberMcGees but I think I'll just live of the memories.  No desire to go there.

My favourite nitespot/ disco was Boom upstairs in the Lakeland Hotel in Cavan.  Lakeland gone and disco was an independent disco run by an old Club member of Boojangles back in the early 90's.
Post by: thebigfella on December 30, 2009, 03:29:55 PM
Quote from: leenie on December 30, 2009, 02:15:46 PM

but believe me when i say they have done some work on it ! 2nd floor is gone as is the top bar...

how could ya not like more power to your elbow in the glenavon... my favourite nites out (makes me feel like a young one again)

On the contrary I'd say we'd get on fine. If I hadn't agreed to work Tuesday, I'd probably been floating around there due to there being a lack of descent entertainment on anywhere this Christmas  >:( 

More Power to your Elbow bores me now, there is only so many times you can listen to Trip to Tipp etc... I wasn't a huge fan when they were first out, although the sunday night years ago (If I remember right, could have been thursday) in the Arena was some craic. They always atracted an element of imbicils at their gigs though, much like the same imbicils that frequented the Glenavon. Combine the 2 and you end up with nuckle dragging muck savagery chaos.

I try not regress back to that period of my life  :D

Post by: INDIANA on December 30, 2009, 03:33:20 PM
RIP Copper faced jacks

+1. Has become a complete kip. But due to the public sector doss centres its full mon- sun and has the highest profits in Ireland. Mc Gowans is a far better spot. Still Coppers is a good insight into the doss centres the public sector is.
Post by: boojangles on December 30, 2009, 03:54:23 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 03:20:29 PM
Lynchbhoy, you say it was 10 years since you'd been there.  I think you've grown up.

My favourite nitespot in Dublin would have been FibberMcGees but I think I'll just live of the memories.  No desire to go there.

My favourite nitespot/ disco was Boom upstairs in the Lakeland Hotel in Cavan.  Lakeland gone and disco was an independent disco run by an old Club member of Boojangles back in the early 90's.

Is that Fibbers on Parnell Street?? :o God I cant imagine how that was ever a good nitespot or maybe its just decayed alot since Denns days?? Altho it is about 5 years since I set foot in it.

The old Lakeland has been re-invented a few times. Scooby Booze being the last. I believe it in the process of being turned into a casino type premises at the moment.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 30, 2009, 04:31:24 PM
When I was younger, my idea of a gtood nitespot is a place with good music and cheap booze.  Fibbers had good music (indie, alternative) and the booze was cheap.  If fact this is still my idea of a good nitespot.

The Lakeland?  On the road opposite the Bus Station?  Now appartments?  Again Boom had great music and you'd be dancing so much you wouldn't get drunk.  A good thing with the stairs to negotiate.
Post by: Puckoon on December 30, 2009, 04:34:44 PM

I dont think Ive ever set foot inside the glenavon.
Post by: leenie on December 31, 2009, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 30, 2009, 03:29:55 PM

On the contrary I'd say we'd get on fine. If I hadn't agreed to work Tuesday, I'd probably been floating around there due to there being a lack of descent entertainment on anywhere this Christmas  >:( 

More Power to your Elbow bores me now, there is only so many times you can listen to Trip to Tipp etc... I wasn't a huge fan when they were first out, although the sunday night years ago (If I remember right, could have been thursday) in the Arena was some craic. They always atracted an element of imbicils at their gigs though, much like the same imbicils that frequented the Glenavon. Combine the 2 and you end up with nuckle dragging muck savagery chaos.

you wouldn't want it any other way!  :P
Post by: Celt_Man on December 31, 2009, 02:01:12 PM
RIP Copper faced jacks

Ahh no, Coppers is THE spot in Dublin... Guaranteed a crowd any day of the week.
Although I do agree with ya that the rooting around with upstairs was a balls and didn't improve things
Post by: thebigfella on December 31, 2009, 03:09:17 PM
Quote from: leenie on December 31, 2009, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 30, 2009, 03:29:55 PM

you wouldn't want it any other way!  :P

I think the only thing that could beat it is The Wolfe Tones at Galbally Community Centre :)
Post by: ross4life on December 31, 2009, 09:32:30 PM
RIP Copper faced jacks

how has it changed?

for me it's been the same packed place with horny mayo women & take's ages to get served, (beer or sex make your own mind up ;) ) been like this forever!
Post by: Minder on December 31, 2009, 09:39:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 31, 2009, 09:32:30 PM
RIP Copper faced jacks

how has it changed?

for me it's been the same packed place with horny mayo women & take's ages to get served, (beer or sex make your own mind up ;) ) been like this forever!

Beer or sex with a Mayo woman? Beer every time.