Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ardal on September 20, 2009, 12:41:14 PM

Title: Tommy Tiernan
Post by: ardal on September 20, 2009, 12:41:14 PM
Just heard on the RTE that he's in the hotpot again. Sorry but one of the funniest things I've ever heard was his "Downs Sydrome" scatch. How's he insulted our over senstive hearts now? I understand it's something to do with WW2 and Jews. He's a hero no matter what
Title: Re: Tommy Tiernan
Post by: give her dixie on September 20, 2009, 02:46:47 PM
Front page in todays Sunday Tribune.

In fact, i'm to blame for getting Tommy into this current do do......

At the Electric Picnic, he was been interviewed in the Hot Press tent.
In general Q+A, I asked him if he was ever accused of been anti semitic,
given his joke about jews.
Well, he went off on  tiride about jews, which wasn't for the faint hearted.
He is now in a bit of hot water, but sure then again, he is no stranger
to hot water!!

Can someone post a link to the story?
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 07:27:41 PM

Look on the Sunday Tribune website for Sunday Tribune articles.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 20, 2009, 07:37:16 PM
Would this sort of chat keep him out of the US or would he have to be convicted of something?

A tool regardless. Didn't find any of his rant funny in the slightest.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 20, 2009, 07:42:11 PM
I've gone off him a lot recently. Used to love his stuff, but I don't think he's as funny anymore.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2009, 07:44:00 PM
The man is a knob
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 08:31:37 PM
http://www.tribune.ie/news/article/2009/sep/20/six-million-i-would-have-got-10-or-12-million-out-/

"Six million? I would have got 10 or 12 million out of that. No f**kng problem! F**k them. Two at a time, they would have gone. Hold hands, get in there! Leave us your teeth and your glasses"
Tiernan crosses line with Holocaust rant
Ken Sweeney, Entertainment Editor

Hundreds of pairs of glasses on display in Auschwitz concentration camp
Irish comedian Tommy Tiernan is no stranger to controversy but his comments about Jews in front of a clapping and laughing audience at the recent Electric Picnic festival crossed a new line and are sure to provoke outrage in Ireland's Jewish community.

The 40-year-old prefaced his outburst by saying that what happened on a comedy stage was "about allowing whatever lunacy is inside you to come out in a special protected environment where people know that nothing they say is being taking seriously".

He then continued: "But these Jews, these f**king Jew c**ts come up to me. F**king Christ-killing bastards. F**king six million? I would have got 10 or 12 million out of that. No f**king problem! F**k them. Two at a time, they would have gone. Hold hands, get in there. Leave us your teeth and your glasses."

Tiernan made the comments at the Electric Picnic music festival on Saturday 5 September while taking part in a question-and-answer session in the Hot Press chatroom.

Following an interview with Hot Press writer Olaf Tyar ansen, a member of the audience asked Tiernan if he had ever been accused of being anti-Semitic?

"Going by your Nazi joke and your odd Israeli joke, have you ever been accused of being anti-Semitic?" asked the audience member.

Tiernan replied: "Have I ever been accused of being anti-Semitic? I certainly have, yeah. In America, these two people waited for me after a show. I used to do this joke about... the Jews say they never killed Jesus, and the joke was, I would say the line, 'Well, it wasn't the f**king Mexicans,' was the joke, like. Yeah, Jewish people came up to me afterwards..."

He then continued with a stinging criticism of Jewish people: "Have you ever seen people whose eyes are so aflame with righteousness... The whites of their eyes are so pure and f**king white. They're just one-stream people, they're not people that have gaps for more than one train of thought. This one train of thought f**king purifies them. And these people were just that 'the Israelis are a hounded people'. And God, Olaf might have more to say about that than me, but... You know, whatever, I'm not here to hound anybody, but these people come up to me afterwards..."

Tiernan then referred to a recent comment attributed to Scottish comedian Frankie Boyle who said that he confronted any fellow comedian he heard "doing a piss-take of an accent" to tell them it was racist.

Tiernan went on: "And I thought to myself 'that kind of attitude doesn't belong on the comedic stage'. Because it's all about being reckless and irresponsible and joyful, it's not about being careful and Protestant and Scottish and mannered... It's trusting your own soul and allowing whatever lunacy is inside you to come out in a special, protected environment where people know that nothing they say is being taken seriously."

When Tiernan described Jews as "f**king Christ-killing bastards" and joked that he would have "got 10 or 12 million" during the Holocaust, the audience erupted into laughter with many applauding.

Fine Gael TD Alan Shatter, himself of the Jewish faith, said he was disappointed with the response of the crowd: "I would regard it as particularly sad that people found that sort of outburst in any way amusing."

Tiernan did not return phone calls from the Sunday Tribune this weekend.

The Trouble With Tommy

In 1997, Tiernan's first appearance on the Late Late Show, in which he mocked the crucifixion, resulted in 300 complaints to RTé.

Tiernan was unable to leave the studio for several hours for his own safety after several irate members of the public arrived at Montrose looking for him.

During his routine Tiernan used a string of expletives about the Catholic church and performed a comic routine which mocked Christ's crucifixion.

In late 2004, the Broadcasting Complaints Commission (BCC) upheld 17 complaints about another Late Late appearance by the comedian in which he described priests as "mainly white and mainly "s**te". The routine was judged to have breached taste and decency.

Last January, the BCC found Tiernan's jokes on yet another episode of the Late Late Show were beyond acceptable standards.

The BCC upheld eight complaints after Tiernan's appearance on 24 October 2008.

The complainants denounced the comic over a joke about a Traveller. The BCC ruled the joke derogatory to the Travelling community.

Tiernan's live performances have also been controversial. In 2008, he upset some members of his audience at the Kilkenny Cat Laughs festival by telling a joke about missing toddler Madeleine McCann.

In 2007, a string of gags he told about children with Down Syndrome at a performance in Dublin's Vicar Street prompted dozens of calls to RTé's Liveline.

Tiernan, who has supported Down Syndrome causes in the past, is alleged by callers to have recounted at the gig that he had run a marathon for Down Syndrome Ireland.

But the caller claimed Tiernan then went on to joke that he hoped they asked him to run a marathon – "because the way they spoke it was hard to understand them and that they could have been asking him simply to buy them a bar of chocolate in the shop".

In answer to his critics Tiernan said: "All my friends with Down Syndrome and their families think it's funny and they are delighted to be mentioned in the show instead of being ignored or treated with pity."

September 20, 2009
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 08:35:55 PM
Went to see Tommy in Ballina on Friday last. He was excellent. Can't condone what he said about killing jews although the points he made about their self righteousness is bang on,generally, in my opinion but mass murder should not be joked about. I think the problem with Tommy is that he pushes comedy to the edge and some times he goes over it. For me he is still the No 1 comedian in this country.

As for that pathetic cnut Shatter being upset, not as upset as I was when he was spouting his pro Israeli shite when they were bombing children in schools earlier this year. He is nothing but a piece of shit.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 20, 2009, 10:02:55 PM
What a little p***k he is, an embarrassment at this stage. 
Post by: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 10:05:51 PM
He's been likened to Bill Hicks. Bill had intelligences and a message behind his comedy.
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 20, 2009, 10:12:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 20, 2009, 10:02:55 PM
What a little p***k he is, an embarrassment at this stage.

report him to the Mods, Pints!  ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 10:49:43 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 10:05:51 PM
He's been likened to Bill Hicks. Bill had intelligences and a message behind his comedy.

By who? He is not even remotely like Bill Hicks. I can't think of one aspect of their style that is similar.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 20, 2009, 10:52:43 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 20, 2009, 07:44:00 PM
The man is a knob

Well said. A true gobsh1te of the highest order.
Post by: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 10:59:28 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2009, 10:49:43 PM

By who? He is not even remotely like Bill Hicks. I can't think of one aspect of their style that is similar.

I was watching a programme on More4 and a few comedian had likened him to Bill.
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 11:36:11 PM

What would the message be behind this sketch called "The Pope"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtJ9S6bbuuA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtJ9S6bbuuA)

Is there any or much difference between that and Tommy Tiernan's self righteous Jews rant.
Post by: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 11:39:42 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 11:36:11 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtJ9S6bbuuA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtJ9S6bbuuA)

Is there any or much difference between that and Tommy Tiernan's self righteous Jews rant.

Nothing there, but you should actually listen to a wider range of his material.
Post by: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 11:54:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 11:39:42 PM

I am familiar somewhat with Bill Hicks.
I have 270 of his sketches, some 17 hours worth of his material, on my iPod.
I am not comparing Tommy to Bill Hicks.
But I found one sketch which has enough similarity with the type of rant Tommy might have against a religion.

Post by: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 11:59:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 20, 2009, 11:54:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 20, 2009, 11:39:42 PM

I am familiar somewhat with Bill Hicks.
I have 270 of his sketches, some 17 hours worth of his material, on my iPod.
I am not comparing Tommy to Bill Hicks.
But I found one sketch which has enough similarity with the type of rant Tommy might have against a religion.

I'm not actually comparing him to Hicks either... Jeezs. I'm saying he has been compared to Hicks... again, NOT by me.
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2009, 12:10:07 AM
Are you feeling victimised?

Post by: ziggysego on September 21, 2009, 12:13:02 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 21, 2009, 12:10:07 AM
Are you feeling victimised?

By a WUM, yes.
Post by: Main Street on September 21, 2009, 12:39:23 AM
Comparisons are part of the discussion and you did mention something about a message behind Bill's comedy.

Generally I wouldn't take Tommy Tiernan's attempts at comedy at face value. A lot of it is context, and expression/delivery. Appreciation of how he does it, is up to personal taste.

My point, if I have one, is not directed at you.
Bill Hicks often enough has said outrageous enough things but the accent he says it in as well as delivery, defines the context

Post by: lynchbhoy on September 21, 2009, 10:12:48 AM
Tommy T can be funny and I like him.
In his early years he lambasted the catholic church a lot with his jokes and I found a bit of it went over the edge , but thats comedy really.
A lot of older catholics didnt like TT for that reason.
Contoversial on purpose I think, He will love the PR that goes with this. It will prob help sell more tickets and DVDs !

my missus hates him because she thinks he just isnt funny !
Post by: ziggysego on September 21, 2009, 10:21:52 AM
My Mum and I went to see him in Cookstown a few years ago. Talk about cringe worthy, not the sort of comedian you should go and see with your mother...
Post by: ross4life on September 21, 2009, 09:53:34 PM
was at the Tommy Tiernan Gig in Claremorris last night & he laughed off the Jew media nonsense to quote it's called joking!! "what next every Kerry man to complain about jokes about them"

sure he's not someone you would bring your granny to but the Facts remains he sells out every show! (tell me another Irish comedian that can do that?)

P.S it's been a while since i was out in Mayo on a sunday night, but since when did everywhere close at 11pm  :o thankfully i found a Pub in Roscommon opened till the wee hours  :P
Post by: Maguire01 on September 21, 2009, 10:07:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 21, 2009, 10:12:48 AM
Tommy T can be funny and I like him.
In his early years he lambasted the catholic church a lot with his jokes and I found a bit of it went over the edge , but thats comedy really.
A lot of older catholics didnt like TT for that reason.
Contoversial on purpose I think, He will love the PR that goes with this. It will prob help sell more tickets and DVDs !

my missus hates him because she thinks he just isnt funny !
Like my own mother.
Post by: tyroneman on September 22, 2009, 10:13:07 AM
As long as jason byrne is about the most any other comedian can ever aspire to is 2nd biggest gobshi!e in irish comedy
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 12:19:03 PM
I'd rank Ed Byrne as the biggest gobshite.

Tiernan went so far down in my estimation after the Downs Syndrome debacle that he really cannot get much lower.
Post by: man in black on September 22, 2009, 12:32:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 12:19:03 PM

Tiernan went so far down in my estimation after the Downs Syndrome debacle that he really cannot get much lower.

What was the downs syndrome incident ?
Post by: stephenite on September 22, 2009, 01:10:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 21, 2009, 09:53:34 PM
P.S it's been a while since i was out in Mayo on a sunday night, but since when did everywhere close at 11pm  :o thankfully i found a Pub in Roscommon opened till the wee hours  :P

They don't - everyone hid 'cos there was someone from Roscommon in town. Everywhere opened up again after you left - just like a travellers wedding :D
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on September 22, 2009, 01:33:50 PM
Bill Hicks - Genius, possibly God.
Tommy Tiernan - talented comedian who covers up his limited talent by shouting and the now familiar Irish comedian act of telling his audience how Irish people behave. It's funny but tiresome this stage.

I was at the Electric Picnic gig (not the interview afterwards) and some his audience are beyond belief. He started a joke about the famine (it ended up with reference to the Irish people starving because they refused to eat anything but potatoes) but before he got anywhere near the punch-line parts of the crowd were cheering the mention of the famine. As in just the mention of it.
Maybe the Irish public are the reason comedy is so sub-standard. We get pissed and shout and laugh at anything.

On the Jewish subject, I guess it's hard to draw lines as you're bound to offend somebody somewhere. I have to say from reading the interview though I didn't find it funny and, unlike Hicks, he didn't have any genuine basis for what he was saying.
Post by: botman on September 22, 2009, 01:42:02 PM
Quote from: man in black on September 22, 2009, 12:32:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 12:19:03 PM

What was the downs syndrome incident ?

Did he do a Glenn Hoddle? Now that was a funny incident.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 01:42:14 PM
As Tommy says it's okay if you don't get the Down Syndrome reference as you can always come and have a laugh about the Romanians, duck sex, Offaly and Travellers.

Tommy ran the marathon in aid of the Down Syndrome charity.

Post by: AbbeySider on September 22, 2009, 02:26:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 01:42:14 PM
As Tommy says it's okay if you don't get the Down Syndrome reference as you can always come and have a laugh about the Romanians, duck sex, Offaly and Travellers.

I happened to watch "Ok baby" last night with references to those jokes.
He was on the edge with a lot of the jokes. Its mostly shock humour... and I laughed a few times.

But for the most part it was a shite DVD
He has lost his story telling and ability to see the really funny things in life.
Instead he goes too far with insults and pushes the boundaries of who can be insulted.
He has lost the run of it, and just isnt as funny as he used to be.

I have seen him live twice and would have seen most of his DVDs and that show in America and him walking around Ireland.
Post by: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 03:02:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 22, 2009, 02:26:50 PM

He was on the edge with a lot of the jokes. Its mostly shock humour... and I laughed a few times.

He has lost his story telling and ability to see the really funny things in life.
Instead he goes too far with insults and pushes the boundaries of who can be insulted.

I have seen him live twice and would have seen most of his DVDs and that show in America and him walking around Ireland.

And some of his best friends are jews

Any one who rememmbers the lunch time plays in the kings head will have a fair ideaa about the talent level of TT. Zilch zero nada
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 03:12:41 PM
He just had a routine in his show making fun of those with Downs (like eg how good they's be as drug mules etc).

I know he does charity work but, imo, that does not give him a licence to slag.

Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 03:55:15 PM
And what was the point behind the drug mule reference?
If you take comments at face value and also you take offense easy, then ignore Tommy Tiernan.

Go listen to Hal Roach or Bottler instead  ;D

Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 04:09:10 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 03:02:54 PM

Talk is cheap.
Running a marathon is not.
Post by: ziggysego on September 22, 2009, 04:15:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 04:09:10 PM
Talk is cheap.

So running a marathon gives you a free rein to say what you want, no matter the offense it may cause? No!
Post by: puskas on September 22, 2009, 04:38:02 PM
If you're funny you can get away with it. Tiernan isn't and deserves all he gets over this.
Post by: ross4life on September 22, 2009, 05:54:26 PM
Quote from: puskas on September 22, 2009, 04:38:02 PM
If you're funny you can get away with it. Tiernan isn't and deserves all he gets over this.

i think you should change that to in my opinion ;) unless you can tell me why he sells out every show for not been funny  ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 22, 2009, 05:56:33 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 03:12:41 PM
He just had a routine in his show making fun of those with Downs (like eg how good they's be as drug mules etc).

Indeed
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 05:56:41 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 22, 2009, 04:15:59 PM
Talk is cheap.

So running a marathon gives you a free rein to say what you want, no matter the offense it may cause? No!
Who said that ;D
What utter claptrap.
Check back and read the words I have written before, with your intelligence not your emotions.
Post by: ross4life on September 22, 2009, 05:58:18 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 22, 2009, 01:10:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 21, 2009, 09:53:34 PM

They don't - everyone hid 'cos there was someone from Roscommon in town. Everywhere opened up again after you left - just like a travellers wedding :D

ha ha we have a real comedian here! i guess losing all those finals would have to give you a great sense of humor fair play to ye :D
Post by: Maguire01 on September 22, 2009, 06:39:33 PM
Context is everything(?)

QuoteA Statement from Tommy Tiernan concerning accusations of anti-Semitism

Firstly, I would like to say that as a private individual I am greatly upset by the thought that these comments have caused hurt to others as this was never my intention; yet, the Electric Picnic public interview with Hot Press Magazine has been taken so far out of context that I am quite bewildered.

The things that I said in front of a live audience were in an attempt to explain my belief that one of the duties of the comic performer is to be reckless and irresponsible and that the things that they say should NEVER be taken out of context. If you read the full transcript or listen to the podcast you will see that I preface my rant by saying that it should not be taken seriously and as such, the rant took place as an example of my argument. While it is out of context, which it most definitely is now, it seems callous cruel and ignorant.

This is not the first time that something like this has happened and it probably won't be the last. However, as a public performer I can only hope that whatever wild, irresponsible and reckless things that come into my head will be taken in the context in which they were said.

According to Hot Press editor, Niall Stokes: "if you see or read it in context, there is a comment in there about people who are fanatical and who can't take a joke. But to interpret it as anti-Semitism is wrongheaded in the extreme. The way I see it, he is satirising anti-Semitism, while making a more general point that we should all be able to laugh at ourselves."

Post by: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 06:52:12 PM
Some of ye should stick to listening to Niall Tobin - oh wait he slags Cavan people without out any reason - what a bastard.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 22, 2009, 06:53:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 22, 2009, 06:52:12 PM
Some of ye should stick to listening to Niall Tobin - oh wait he slags Cavan people without out any reason - what a b**tard.

What a langer!!
Post by: ross4life on September 22, 2009, 11:19:58 PM
A Statement from Tommy Tiernan concerning accusations of anti-Semitism

Firstly, I would like to say that as a private individual I am greatly upset by the thought that these comments have caused hurt to others as this was never my intention; yet, the Electric Picnic public interview with Hot Press Magazine has been taken so far out of context that I am quite bewildered.

The things that I said in front of a live audience were in an attempt to explain my belief that one of the duties of the comic performer is to be reckless and irresponsible and that the things that they say should NEVER be taken out of context. If you read the full transcript or listen to the podcast you will see that I preface my rant by saying that it should not be taken seriously and as such, the rant took place as an example of my argument. While it is out of context, which it most definitely is now, it seems callous cruel and ignorant.

This is not the first time that something like this has happened and it probably won't be the last. However, as a public performer I can only hope that whatever wild, irresponsible and reckless things that come into my head will be taken in the context in which they were said.

According to Hot Press editor, Niall Stokes: "if you see or read it in context, there is a comment in there about people who are fanatical and who can't take a joke. But to interpret it as anti-Semitism is wrongheaded in the extreme. The way I see it, he is satirising anti-Semitism, while making a more general point that we should all be able to laugh at ourselves."
Tommy Tiernan
Post by: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 11:39:37 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 03:02:54 PM

Talk is cheap.

Depend a lot of people would run 26  milles to save their career. still it all part of the PR machine Insult some one , cry foul make amends all undeer the gare of publicity.
first the  handicapped  then the Jews next the I presume it'll be the Poles
Wasnt there a funny guy with a small moustache around in the 30's and 40's who had a similar routine,
not Chaplin liked his women a bit older
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2009, 11:50:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 22, 2009, 11:39:37 PM
Depend a lot of people would run 26  milles to save their career. still it all part of the PR machine Insult some one , cry foul make amends all undeer the gare of publicity.
first the  handicapped  then the Jews next the I presume it'll be the Poles
Wasnt there a funny guy with a small moustache around in the 30's and 40's who had a similar routine,
not Chaplin liked his women a bit older

A career move?  ;D

As for the rest of that juvenile garble, you haven't a clue what you are waffling on about.

Post by: Eoghan Mag on September 22, 2009, 11:55:42 PM
I don't think it is funny ranting about Jews who died back then. It should only be about Jews right now!  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on September 23, 2009, 08:28:08 AM
Some of ye should stick to listening to Niall Tobin - oh wait he slags Cavan people without out any reason - what a b**tard.
You can always find a reason to slag Cavan people.
:P
Post by: Main Street on September 23, 2009, 10:57:22 AM
Sure, Tóibín knows that Cavan is about the only county that Cork can be compared to and come out looking cleaner.
Post by: JohnDenver on September 25, 2009, 09:48:28 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 20, 2009, 02:46:47 PM
Front page in todays Sunday Tribune.

In fact, i'm to blame for getting Tommy into this current do do......

At the Electric Picnic, he was been interviewed in the Hot Press tent.
In general Q+A, I asked him if he was ever accused of been anti semitic,
given his joke about jews.
Well, he went off on  tiride about jews, which wasn't for the faint hearted.
He is now in a bit of hot water, but sure then again, he is no stranger
to hot water!!

Can someone post a link to the story?

You wouldn't half sink a man GHD  :D :D

here's the link to the interview, GHD's question is at 27.40.  The whole interview itself i find good craic.  A fair few boys would need to lighten up a bit and wind their necks in.

http://www.hotpress.com/Tommy%20Tiernan/news/Storm%20erupts%20over%20Tommy%20Tiernan's%20Hot%20Press%20Chatroom%20interview/5829623.html (http://www.hotpress.com/Tommy%20Tiernan/news/Storm%20erupts%20over%20Tommy%20Tiernan's%20Hot%20Press%20Chatroom%20interview/5829623.html)
Post by: Main Street on September 25, 2009, 10:10:35 AM

Tommy's reply went way above some peoples head,
only those people, their eyes aflame with pure righteousness, could accuse Tommy of anti-semitism.

"It's obvious that Tommy is taking the piss," Hot Press editor Niall Stokes comments. "If you see or read it in context, there is a comment in there about people who are fanatical, and who can't take a joke. But to interpret it as anti-Semitism is wrongheaded in the extreme. The way I see it, he is satirising anti-Semitism, while making a more general point that we should all be able to laugh at ourselves."

Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2009, 11:08:18 AM
The guy is a complete idiot. He somehow makes a living as a comedian which is testament to how many gormless idiots there are in this and other countries who just laugh when everyone else does. Not witty, not intelligent - just a sad man trying to hold on to the fading spotlight.
Post by: Capt Pat on September 25, 2009, 11:11:23 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 23, 2009, 08:28:08 AM

Sure aren't Cavan people the same as jews in a lot of ways
Post by: SidelineKick on September 25, 2009, 11:28:54 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on September 25, 2009, 11:11:23 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 23, 2009, 08:28:08 AM

Sure aren't Cavan people the same as jews in a lot of ways

You're right. Big nosed fcukers.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2009, 11:50:34 AM
Its quite amusing that those on here who find TT joke on jews to be offensive in many occassions have posted outright rascist things about travellers on seperate threads. At least TT is trying to be funny while the posters I have in mind were just plain bigots.
Post by: JohnDenver on September 25, 2009, 12:02:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2009, 11:08:18 AM
The guy is a complete idiot. He somehow makes a living as a comedian which is testament to how many gormless idiots there are in this and other countries who just laugh when everyone else does. Not witty, not intelligent - just a sad man trying to hold on to the fading spotlight.

Well i watched the interview this morning on my own, and it made me laugh.  That must make me a gormless idiot.  Take the poker from your hole and lighten up a bit.  ;)
Post by: Main Street on September 25, 2009, 12:45:06 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 25, 2009, 11:50:34 AM
Its quite amusing that those on here who find TT joke on jews to be offensive in many occassions have posted outright rascist things about travellers on seperate threads. At least TT is trying to be funny while the posters I have in mind were just plain bigots.

The self righteous don't like Tommy because he takes the píss out of them as well as they are incapable of laughing at themselves.
Post by: give her dixie on September 25, 2009, 05:54:50 PM
John Denver, you're right, I fairly sank Tommy this week all right!!

I have been following this argument closely all week, and to be honest,
I can see both sides to it.
To read in the papers what he had said, would make your skin curl.
However, been there at the time was slightly different.
If anyone has watched the video, you will understand where i'm comming from.
Before he went off on his rant, he talked about recklssness, and not holding back.
Everyones interpretatiion of this will be different, however, at the time it
braced us for what he came out with, and the humor in the rant was more to
do with the shock of what he had said. Everyone in the tent was laughing, and
no one to my knowledge was offended by it there and then.
I bet if you took the same group of people, and assumed they wern't there,
showed them the transcript in the papers, the majority would be shocked at his words.

Lets face facts folks, we all have been guilty at times for laughing at either black, Indian, Paki
jew, Irish, American (acceptable though), Nazi, traveller, sick or other racial or ethnic joke in our time.
The Holocaust is about the only subject that is out of bounds for comedy.
Apart from a few radicals who deny it, practically everyone in the world accepts that it was
probably the single worst thing to happen in the 20th century.

When Alan Shatter says that those who laughed at it in the tent were as guilty as Tommy for laughing,
well, by his logic, he is as guilty as Israel for war crimes, given his support for them during the massacre in Gaza.

This was my 1st time to see Tommy Tiernan, and I will probably be barred for life now......

P.S.  The fact that I was wearing a Viva Palestina tee shirt probably set him off.........
Post by: ardal on September 25, 2009, 10:27:36 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 22, 2009, 03:12:41 PM

Is this the one were the President of Downs Ireland; or whatever it's called, watched the show with people who had Downs, and then came out and supported Tommy for his approach / stance / Downs awareness campaign?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 27, 2009, 06:39:28 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on September 25, 2009, 12:02:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2009, 11:08:18 AM

Well i watched the interview this morning on my own, and it made me laugh.  That must make me a gormless idiot.  Take the poker from your hole and lighten up a bit.  ;)

I stand over my view and as for myself I'm quite able to have a laugh without descending to beneath the gutter like Tommy Tiernan. No matter how he tries to justify it there are just some things that are just too much. I've been to Auchwicz and there is no way talk of leaving your glasses and teeth there is acceptable to anyone with a shred of decency.