Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:44:33 PM

Title: RTÉ Sport: Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:44:33 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest.html)

'The Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever!' is a one hour television special that will be broadcast on RTÉ One this Christmas and will count down the TOP 10 Irish Sportspeople, as voted by YOU, the Irish public.

This is your chance to decide which sportsperson is our greatest ever.

We have produced a long line of great Olympians, footballers, hurlers, athletes, boxers, trainers and riders... but who in our pantheon of sporting greats reigns supreme? And how do the greats of today cut it with the greats of the past?

We want you to pick the individual you feel is Ireland's Greatest Sportsperson Ever! from the long shortlist of 'nominees' which we have put together... from Sonia to Padraig, from Gilesy to Christy Ring, from Brian O'Driscoll to Vincent O'Brien.

Your job is to simply VOTE for your FAVOURITE.

Once you have voted for your favourite, we'd like you to tell us what you think was the Most Memorable Moment in Irish sporting history - maybe it was Ray Houghton's stunning goal against Italy in New York in 1994 or maybe it was when Ireland finally completed the Grand Slam in 2009.

We would also like you to pinpoint the most heartbreaking 'So Near and Yet So Far Moment' in Irish sporting history - maybe it was Sonia's stomach upset at the 5,000m Olympic final in Atlanta in 1996 or possibly Wim Kieft's fluke against Packie Bonner at Euro '88. The choice is yours.

Voting will close on Sunday 27th September 2009 at 23:59.
Please be aware multiple votes will be discounted - voting is one vote per person.
Title: Re: RTÉ Sport: Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 05:45:40 PM
Will defiantly have to be either a Tyrone or Armagh footballer
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 08, 2009, 05:47:53 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:44:33 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/greatest.html)

'The Greatest Irish Sportsperson Ever!' is a one hour television special that will be broadcast on RTÉ One this Christmas and will count down the TOP 10 Irish Sportspeople, as voted by YOU, the Irish public.

This is your chance to decide which sportsperson is our greatest ever.

We have produced a long line of great Olympians, footballers, hurlers, athletes, boxers, trainers and riders... but who in our pantheon of sporting greats reigns supreme? And how do the greats of today cut it with the greats of the past?

We want you to pick the individual you feel is Ireland's Greatest Sportsperson Ever! from the long shortlist of 'nominees' which we have put together... from Sonia to Padraig, from Gilesy to Christy Ring, from Brian O'Driscoll to Vincent O'Brien.

Your job is to simply VOTE for your FAVOURITE.

Once you have voted for your favourite, we'd like you to tell us what you think was the Most Memorable Moment in Irish sporting history - maybe it was Ray Houghton's stunning goal against Italy in New York in 1994 or maybe it was when Ireland finally completed the Grand Slam in 2009.

We would also like you to pinpoint the most heartbreaking 'So Near and Yet So Far Moment' in Irish sporting history - maybe it was Sonia's stomach upset at the 5,000m Olympic final in Atlanta in 1996 or possibly Wim Kieft's fluke against Packie Bonner at Euro '88. The choice is yours.

Voting will close on Sunday 27th September 2009 at 23:59.
Please be aware multiple votes will be discounted - voting is one vote per person.

has to be colm coyles 65 yard kick that bounced over the bar otherwise mayo would have one the Ai in 1996 and be going for 14 in a row on sunday week. so near to winning sam yet so far
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 08, 2009, 05:48:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 05:45:40 PM

You should have posted that in the wind up the Nordies thread!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
Greatest Irish Sportsperson of all time

Vincent O'Brien for me. The only Irish person who could truly claim to be the best ever in the world at his sport (apart from Christy Ring and Mick O'Connell obviously!)

Greatest Irish Sporting Moment

Dawn Run's Cheltenham Gold Cup.

'So Near And Yet So Far' Irish Sporting Moment

1991 Rugby World Cup against Australia. The place went absolutely mental after Hamilton's try and only a minute later Michael Lynagh broke our hearts.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:57:09 PM

Why isn't Hughie Emerson in the running LL? Feckin Nordie bias!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 05:58:36 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:57:09 PM

No Leo Turley either
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:00:28 PM

Muhammad Ali....(he is from Clare  ;) )
If not him then some jockey or other I suppose..

1/4 Finals of Italia '90

Losing on peno's to Spain in 2002
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 06:03:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 05:58:36 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:57:09 PM

No Leo Turley either

The sight of that bald head bursting through the Kildare defence in '96 still haunts me!  :'(
Post by: mountainboii on September 08, 2009, 06:08:18 PM

Kieran McGeeney

2002 All Ireland Football Final, the day football was born!  ;D

So Near And Yet So Far' Irish Sporting Moment

2003 All Ireland Football Final, the day cheaters did prosper  >:(
Post by: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 06:23:23 PM
George best  :P
Post by: 5 Sams on September 08, 2009, 06:27:28 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 05:51:04 PM

Vincent O'Brien for me. The only Irish person who could truly claim to be the best ever in the world at his sport (apart from Christy Ring and Mick O'Connell obviously!)

1991 Rugby World Cup against Australia. The place went absolutely mental after Hamilton's try and only a minute later Michael Lynagh broke our hearts.

Have to disagree Donnelly's Hollow....the first man on the list would have a serious claim to being the best (excuse the pun) in the world at one stage.

WTF is Michelle Smith doing there though :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 08, 2009, 06:30:58 PM
I cant believe this thread is nearly a hour old and no one has mentioned Peter Canavan or organised a campaign to get him to win it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:31:09 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 08, 2009, 06:27:28 PM

Have to disagree Donnelly's Hollow....the first man on the list would have a serious claim to being the best (excuse the pun) in the world at one stage.

She won 3 Golds and 1 Bronze at the Olympics...Why wouldn't she be there?
She still has the medals she was never stripped of them
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:32:28 PM
wtf is Roy Keane doing on it ?
Post by: 5 Sams on September 08, 2009, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:31:09 PM

I think the Uisce Beatha in the piss and the muscles like Popeye put a minor doubt in my mind Laois Lad.
Post by: muppet on September 08, 2009, 07:04:56 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 08, 2009, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:31:09 PM

I think the Uisce Beatha in the piss and the muscles like Popeye put a minor doubt in my mind Laois Lad.

That and the fact that no one wanted to strip her of anything.

Oh and the drug Androstenedione.

As for Vincent O'Brien sorry I but can't see a fella standing leaning over a fence as a sportsman.

I'd nominate Brian Cowen, Offaly footballer who went on to win the World's greatest property company.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 08, 2009, 07:12:45 PM
The Champ Tony McCoy for me lads.
Post by: tyronefan on September 08, 2009, 07:46:54 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 08, 2009, 06:08:18 PM

Kieran McGeeney

2002 All Ireland Football Final, the day football was born!  ;D

So Near And Yet So Far' Irish Sporting Moment

2003 All Ireland Football Final, the day cheaters did prosper >:(

let it go man   :D :D

its 6 years later  move on
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 08:39:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 06:00:28 PM

Muhammad Ali....(he is from Clare  ;) )
If not him then some jockey or other I suppose..

1/4 Finals of Italia '90

Losing on peno's to Spain in 2002

Why the fcuk was Ireland losing to Italy the greatest Irish sporting moment?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 08:42:06 PM
getting that far
Post by: stew on September 08, 2009, 11:08:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 08:42:06 PM
getting that far

The mind boggles. ::)
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
Last eight in the world for a small nation, I think thats a great achievement.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 11:11:54 PM
Quote from: stew on September 08, 2009, 11:08:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 08:42:06 PM
getting that far

The mind boggles. ::)

Have you a problem?
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:16:58 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:11:29 PM

They never won a feckin game. Not one. I think they scored 2 goals in the whole tournament. Catch a grip of yourselves.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 11:18:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:16:58 PM

They never won a feckin game. Not one. I think they scored 2 goals in the whole tournament. Catch a grip of yourselves.

Ok to make you happy

Tyrone winning the All Ireland has to be the greatest and your country N.Ireland beating Spain in 1982 is 2nd
Post by: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:18:44 PM

They won the 2nd round game on penalties.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:19:20 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:18:44 PM

I was hoping some eejit would say that.
Post by: muppet on September 08, 2009, 11:19:32 PM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/img/pix2/bogsnorkelR020802_450x344.jpg)

We have other world champions.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:20:23 PM
I know that, I don't think the football was pleasing on the eye either, but they still got to the last eight in the world.  Now I don't think it would be our greatest sporting achievement as a nation but its not to be scoffed at either.
Post by: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:23:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:19:20 PM

You hope you got proved wrong ???
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:23:31 PM
Boxing, rugby, athletics world/European champions but don't give me the Irish soccer team as Ireland's greatest sporting achievement.

Ireland 1 England 1
Ireland 0 Egypt 0
Ireland 1 Holland 1
Ireland 0 Romania 0
Ireland 0 Italy 1

Fcuk me.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:23:50 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:23:11 PM

A win on pens is considered a draw....
Post by: oakleafgael on September 08, 2009, 11:26:26 PM

Tony McCoy is the greatest ever jockey to sit on a horse under National Hunt rules.
Post by: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:26:48 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:23:50 PM

ok il lay any match you want to finish in a draw after penalties!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2009, 11:26:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:23:31 PM
Boxing, rugby, athletics world/European champions but don't give me the Irish soccer team as Ireland's greatest sporting achievement.

Ireland 1 England 1
Ireland 0 Egypt 0
Ireland 1 Holland 1
Ireland 0 Romania 0
Ireland 0 Italy 1

Fcuk me.

Thats why its in your opinion what is,for me its Italia 90...I still have to hear what's it is in your opinion
So is it N.Ireland 1 Spain 0 or N.Ireland 1 England 0 ?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:40:20 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on September 08, 2009, 11:26:26 PM

Tony McCoy is the greatest ever jockey to sit on a horse under National Hunt rules.

You obviously never seen Tommy Carberry ride at his peak. I'm a huge fan of AP but you could argue that he's not even the best jock riding at the moment. Ruby has had a far better record at the bigger meetings over the past few years.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:40:56 PM
I'm not into 'greatest' anything but there are a few contenders if there needs to be.

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
List of horse racing achievements.
Phil Babb

These people won or were instrumental in winning the highest awards available. Not drawing with feckin Romania. At least the planters in '82 went to the backyard of the hosts and bate them.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:50:32 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 08, 2009, 11:26:48 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 08, 2009, 11:23:50 PM

ok il lay any match you want to finish in a draw after penalties!!!

Sorry?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:58:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:40:56 PM
I'm not into 'greatest' anything but there are a few contenders if there needs to be.

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

These people won or were instrumental in winning the highest awards available. Not drawing with feckin Romania. At least the planters in '82 went to the backyard of the hosts and bate them.

Presume that's Barry and not Frank you're referring to there O'Neill!

"five with the ri..................................................................."  ;)
Post by: stephenite on September 09, 2009, 12:13:52 AM

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 09, 2009, 12:40:36 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:58:56 PM

Grand Slam
Harrington
O'Callaghan
Delaney
Roche
Kelly
McGuigan
Best
Higgins/Taylor/Doherty
Macken
Phil Babb

Presume that's Barry and not Frank you're referring to there O'Neill!

"five with the ri..................................................................."  ;)

it was actually only 2 with the right  ;)
Post by: Harold Disgracey on September 09, 2009, 09:44:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 08, 2009, 11:19:32 PM

IIRC the world bog snorkling champion is a wee lad from Portadown called Conor Murphy.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 09:49:02 AM
Has to be Peter Canavan
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 10:00:08 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on September 09, 2009, 09:44:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 08, 2009, 11:19:32 PM

IIRC the world bog snorkling champion is a wee lad from Portadown called Conor Murphy.

The MLA Murphy ? Moved to Portadown ? For security reasons ?  ;)
Post by: oakleafgael on September 09, 2009, 12:18:33 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:40:20 PM

You obviously never seen Tommy Carberry ride at his peak. I'm a huge fan of AP but you could argue that he's not even the best jock riding at the moment. Ruby has had a far better record at the bigger meetings over the past few years.

DH,

Thats quite a presumption to make just because someone has an alternative opinion. I had the pleasure of seeing Tommy Carberry unsaddle L'Escargo when I was a cub and it made a lasting impression. Ruby has the better record over the last years as he has been on the better horses from Nicholls yard, would you not agree?

McCoy is capable of things on a horse that no other jockey riding today is. Walsh, Carberry and a few others are much more stylish but I know who I would want on a horse when the money is down.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 09, 2009, 12:24:10 PM
Has to be eamon coughlan or sonia. They were the best in the world in a sport which is played world wide.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 12:27:14 PM
Have to agree that McCoy was one of the Best National Hunt jockies ever. If we are talking today Walsh is doing better them him however.

Vincent O'Brien's achievements would make him my choice as greatest ever sportsman. Coughlan in his day was one of the most respected athletes this country ever had - But with no Olympic medal he can be ruled out
Post by: full back on September 09, 2009, 12:27:42 PM
Padraig Harrington
Sonia O Sullivan
George Best
Stephen Roche
Roy Keane
Tony Mc Coy
Eamon Coughlan
Mary Peters
Alex Higgins
Vincent O Brien

For & against cases for all of them but I would count them up there as the best
Post by: oakleafgael on September 09, 2009, 12:37:47 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 12:27:14 PM
Have to agree that McCoy was one of the Best National Hunt jockies ever. If we are talking today Walsh is doing better them him however.

Maroon Heaven,

Thats your opinion but Ruby is the media darling, helped by his father who should have been replaced on RTE a long time ago, and I think that has added to his repuation compared to McCoy who can be very dour and doesnt court attention as much.

If they where both on horses of identical ability and form, something that very rarely if ever happens, then imo McCoy would win 7/10.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 12:40:25 PM
No doubt about it Walsh has the good horses. I like Ted Walsh - One of RTE's best correspondent's
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 01:56:34 PM
Coughlan and OSullivan blew it when it mattered most ie the Olympics. As for Roy Keane! Catch a grip ffs you must be a united fan
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:05:41 PM
I can't see horse training as a sport in this context. Horse racing was a business long before some of the other sports were even sports. Whatever about the jockeys where there is at least real live rider against rider competition, trainers are in the same category to me as guide dog trainers etc. 

FFS you can be a trainer at 100 years old. 

If horse trainers are worthy nominees why don't we see Jack Charlton nominated here or Maurice Setters? Or Stephen Ireland's auld fella since he produced the footballer and coached Sonia O'Sullivan among others?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 02:14:03 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:05:41 PM
I can't see horse training as a sport in this context. Horse racing was a business long before some of the other sports were even sports. Whatever about the jockeys where there is at least real live rider against rider competition, trainers are in the same category to me as guide dog trainers etc. 

If horse trainers are worthy nominees why don't we see Jack Charlton nominated here or Maurice Setters? Or Stephen Ireland's auld fella since he produced the footballer and coached Sonia O'Sullivan among others?

For horse racing - O'Brien would have controlled breeding and nuturing a horse from a day old to a world class thoroughbred. Didn't see Charlton do that
Post by: Main Street on September 09, 2009, 02:18:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 09, 2009, 12:24:10 PM
Has to be eamon coughlan or sonia. They were the best in the world in a sport which is played world wide.

Neither Couglan, Sonia or John Tracy, won an Olympic gold,

Imo Ronnie Delaney is the greatest athlete, he had a magnificent career to accompany a truly superb gold medal race.

Stephen Roche the greatest sportsperson

I wouldn't consider
darts, bowls, snooker, horse trainers, car drivers, GAA or Nordies
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:19:12 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 02:14:03 PM

For horse racing - O'Brien would have controlled breeding and nuturing a horse from a day old to a world class thoroughbred. Didn't see Charlton do that

What about the guide dogs?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 02:25:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:19:12 PM

When was the last time a guide dog won a race at Ascot
Post by: Sandino on September 09, 2009, 02:34:23 PM
To be fair to Coughlan he was 4th in the Olympics twice. He became a world champion and he was a world record holder. I do think he is well up there. I would have to go for Roche just ahead of Delaney. Pat O'Callaghan also a strong contender.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 02:25:38 PM

When was the last time Vincent O'Brien ran anywhere, threw anything or won a game for striking a ball. He sends out animals to do it.

Great skill no doubt, but greatest sportsperson ever. Not for me.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 02:40:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:37:50 PM

When was the last time Vincent O'Brien ran anywhere, threw anything or won a game for striking a ball. He sends out animals to do it.

So who do you pick???
Post by: Hound on September 09, 2009, 02:41:04 PM
Harrington has to be up there.

Whatever you think of him personally, his achievements have far outshone any other Irish golfer (and we've had plenty of good ones down the years) and in terms of major wins, he's currently the best in Europe and overall third in Europe over the last 30 years or more - with a good chance of more to come.
Post by: redhugh on September 09, 2009, 02:45:45 PM
It always amazes me that Rinty Monaghan never seems to be considered when lists are being compiled of great Irish sportsmen- undisputed flyweight champion of the world. Surely he would be more deserving than some on that list.
Post by: Diet Coke on September 09, 2009, 02:48:02 PM
Terry Phelan ;), or Houlie ;D
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 02:52:50 PM
For me it would probably be Sonia.

World Cross Country Champion
World Track Athletics Champion
World record holder
Olympic Silver (Gold medal winner subsequently found with EPO in her car)
Robbed of a performance in Olympics at her peak by a virus
Robbed in World Championships by Chinese machines
Multiple European Champion

Despite all of the above she never complained or launched an outburst of any kind even in her autobiography.

In another life I would have put Stephen Roche up there but I'm afraid history won't juge the cyclists too kindly for a long time.

Harrington deserves to be close and looking at Roy Keane's career as a total he should be in the shake-up. (no I'm not a United supporter either)

We are ignoring the Ronnie Delaney's of this world which doesn't seem fair either.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 02:53:05 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on September 09, 2009, 12:18:33 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 08, 2009, 11:40:20 PM

DH,

Thats quite a presumption to make just because someone has an alternative opinion. I had the pleasure of seeing Tommy Carberry unsaddle L'Escargo when I was a cub and it made a lasting impression. Ruby has the better record over the last years as he has been on the better horses from Nicholls yard, would you not agree?

McCoy is capable of things on a horse that no other jockey riding today is. Walsh, Carberry and a few others are much more stylish but I know who I would want on a horse when the money is down.

AP is hindered by the fact that he is retained to ride all of JP and Jonjo's old goats but I still think it is a bit of an overstatement to say he is the greatest ever NH jockey. He has a fantastic ability to get a horse to run behind the bridle, similar to Fallon on the flat, but his style does not suit all horses. Henrietta Knight was very reluctant to let him ride Best Mate for example. There was a school of thought after the 2001 King George that Best Mate would have beaten Florida Pearl had Jim Culloty been in the plate. His never say die ride on Wichita Lineman at Cheltenham this year was praised to the hilt (I backed Maljimar! >:() and it was said many times that AP was the only jockey that would have one on him. This ignored the equally brilliant ride Timmy Murphy had given the same horse at Sandown previously when he kidded and cajoled the horse home. Similarly everyone said how Brave Inca and McCoy were a match made in heaven but when Ruby rode him in the Christmas Hurdle at Leopardstown in 2006 the horse travelled much better than he'd ever travelled for McCoy.

McCoy's strength in a finish and aggressive style appeals to punters but I don't think he's as good a horseman as Walsh. The number of winners he's ridden is certainly impressive but I think Ruby, Tommy Carberry, Tommy Stack, Adrian Maguire,  Francome and Dunwoody were as good if not better than AP.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 03:01:08 PM

MV O'Brien revolutionised a sport on his own. He was the greatest trainer (in both codes) that ever lived and you won't find many around the world that will dispute that opinion. You might not consider a racehorse trainer to be a sportsperson, but I don't think anyone else on that list (apart from Ring and O'Connell) could truly claim to be the best in the world ever at their chosen sport/profession.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:04:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 03:01:08 PM

MV O'Brien revolutionised a sport on his own. He was the greatest trainer (in both codes) that ever lived and you won't find many around the world that will dispute that opinion. You might not consider a racehorse trainer to be a sportsperson, but I don't think anyone else on that list (apart from Ring and O'Connell) could truly claim to be the best in the world ever at their chosen sport/profession.

If he didn't run anywhere, jump anything, lift anything, throw anything, play anything or actively take part in an event how could he be a sportsperson?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:10:25 PM
RTE will have to make a call on this. I'd put O'Brien down as a sportsman
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 03:10:46 PM
Horse racing is considered a sport and no man had a greater impact on that sport than MV O'Brien:

".....In the vote for the greatest figure in the history of horseracing hosted by the Racing Post newspaper, Vincent O'Brien came first with 28% of the total vote....." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_O'Brien (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_O'Brien)
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:13:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 03:10:46 PM
Horse racing is considered a sport and no man had a greater impact on that sport than MV O'Brien:

".....In the vote for the greatest figure in the history of horseracing hosted by the Racing Post newspaper, Vincent O'Brien came first with 28% of the total vote....." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_O'Brien (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_O'Brien)

I could argue that Micheál Ó'Hehir had a huge impact on the Gaa but I wouldn't nominate him as the Gaa's greatest sportsman.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:15:14 PM
How could a man who turned his back on his country be considered?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 09, 2009, 03:15:30 PM
Am i the only one that thinks because horse racing is not a mainstream sport worldwide, like golf & tennis then a world great in that is less than a runner, swimmer, soccer player, cyclist? Or maybe u can only beat whats in front of u. Coughlan was world champion & record holder in one of the, if not the most contested distances in athleatics.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:16:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:13:49 PM

I could argue that Micheál Ó'Hehir had a huge impact on the Gaa but I wouldn't nominate him as the Gaa's greatest sportsman.

What about Mick O'Dwyer then??
Post by: haveaharp on September 09, 2009, 03:17:29 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:15:14 PM

Don't think anyone mentioned Stephen Ireland, Barry McGuigan was mentioned a few times.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 09, 2009, 03:19:13 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:16:12 PM

He's nominated alright MH
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:19:23 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:16:12 PM

31 years of playing senior club football
17 years of senior county football
4 All Irelands as a payer
8 NFLS as a player
Footballer of the year 1969

Oh and not a bad manager either.

Yea, why not?
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:21:28 PM

I know I shouldn't but here goes:

Roy Keane states in his book that he was sent home.
Naill Quinn states in his book that Keane was sent home.
Mick McCarthy states in his book that he sent Keane home.

You of course know better.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:32:35 PM
he walked out then when he had his little sulk he decided to come back and tell his boss what he thought of him and was then rightly sent home but was asked back but refused he is a w**k stain of the highest order
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 09, 2009, 03:34:52 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:32:35 PM
he walked out then when he had his little sulk he decided to come back and tell his boss what he thought of him and was then rightly sent home but was asked back but refused he is a w**k stain of the highest order
Bit like yourself then
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:37:27 PM
I think Pat Spillane should get it he did win superstars after all
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:40:23 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 03:37:27 PM
I think Pat Spillane should get it he did win superstars after all

He didn't win he merely won the Irish section, your facts as usual are way off.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:40:36 PM
Definition of a Sportsman - A man who is active in sports.

Vincent O'Brien it is then
Post by: Hound on September 09, 2009, 04:21:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 03:21:28 PM

Indeed.
Sent home - went home
Asked back - stayed home

In the end, the final decision not to take part was Keane's.
Though personally I blame Quinn.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 04:28:36 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 09, 2009, 03:40:36 PM
Definition of a Sportsman - A man who is active in sports.

Vincent O'Brien it is then

But Sadly Vincent is no longer active.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 09, 2009, 04:35:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 11:23:31 PM

Ireland 1 England 1
Ireland 0 Egypt 0
Ireland 1 Holland 1
Ireland 0 Romania 0
Ireland 0 Italy 1

Fcuk me.

As Roddy Doyle memorably put it in 'The Van'

"we beat England 1 all, lost to Egypt nil nil and drew with Holland"
Post by: full back on September 09, 2009, 04:41:30 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest
Full Members Cup: 1992

Manchester United
Premier League (7): 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003
FA Cup (4): 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
FA Community Shield (4): 1993, 1996, 1997, 2003
UEFA Champions League: 1999[66]
Intercontinental Cup: 1999

Celtic
Scottish Premier League: 2006
Scottish League Cup: 2006

Individual
FWA Footballer of the Year: 2000
PFA Players' Player of the Year: 2000
English Football Hall of Fame: 2004
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul
Hard to look past him to be fair
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 05:02:00 PM

Its sad how most people seem to ignore these FACTS because of their hate for Keane.  ::)
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 05:07:52 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 05:02:00 PM

Its sad how most people seem to ignore these FACTS because of their hate for Keane.  ::)

Agreed, you can hate him for lots of things without having to make things up.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on September 09, 2009, 05:15:12 PM
Eh muppet you big eh muppet i meant irish superstars did i say world super stars. Well said hound on that fool Keane
Post by: The squinted eye on September 09, 2009, 05:32:06 PM
Harrington for me......... 3 majors,  only Sevvie and Faldo in recent times from Europe that has more than him
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 07:25:08 PM
Quote from: full back on September 09, 2009, 04:41:30 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest

Manchester United

Celtic

Individual
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul

Impressive club record alright
but IMHO Keane isn't even Irelands greatest soccer player so I dunno how he could be Irelands greatest sports man
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:09:46 PM

C'mon now, there is no need for that sort of thing. Roy did feck all wrong and shure it was all that english cnuts fault not Roys, Roy is like Chuck Norris, there is nothing he can do wrong. (in the eys of some muppets)
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:13:48 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:09:46 PM

C'mon now, there is no need for that sort of thing. Roy did feck all wrong and shure it was all that english cnuts fault not Roys, Roy is like Chuck Norris, there is nothing he can do wrong. (in the eys of some muppets)

That is like me arguing that everything bad is his fault from the financial crisis to swine flu. But that would be idiotic.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 09:14:30 PM

And in the eyes of others he is Satan himself who went and ended another players career which is not true.  Not condoning that tackle, it deserved a long suspension but some people like to ignore the facts.
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:19:44 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 09:14:30 PM

And in the eyes of others he is Satan himself who went and ended another players career which is not true.  Not condoning that tackle, it deserved a long suspension but some people like to ignore the facts.

He deserved to go to jail for that tackle on Alf, it was premeditated thuggery and did in fact end his career, he did come back but was unable to come close to the level of play he needed to and the injury effectively ended his career.

Saipan was not all Keanes fault, he had valid points however he let himself, his team and every supporter down and he effectively killed morale single handedly on the eve of the world cup, that takes some doing.
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:29:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 07:25:08 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest

Manchester United

Celtic

Individual
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul

but IMHO Keane isn't even Irelands greatest soccer player so I dunno how he could be Irelands greatest sports man

John Giles was a better player than Keane, Paul McGrath was a better player than Keane, George Best was ten times the player Keane ever was so how can Keane ever be considered Irelands greatest sportsperson ever, he isnt even top three in his own sport ffs.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 09:29:44 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:19:44 PM

He deserved to go to jail for that tackle on Alf, it was premeditated thuggery and did in fact end his career, he did come back but was unable to come close to the level of play he needed to and the injury effectively ended his career.

Saipan was not all Keanes fault, he had valid points however he let himself, his team and every supporter down and he effectively killed morale single handedly on the eve of the world cup, that takes some doing.

I agree with that part Stew.  Disgraceful challenge.  Now I'm open to correction here, but as far as I know it was an injury to Haalands other knee that ended his career.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:31:03 PM

You are light on facts there again stew. Haaland retired because of injury to his other knee but hey when you hate some one so much what has truth got to do with it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:37:59 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 09:29:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 07:25:08 PM

Player

Nottingham Forest

Manchester United

Celtic

Individual
FIFA 100

Not a bad haul

John Giles was a better player than Keane, Paul McGrath was a better player than Keane, George Best was ten times the player Keane ever was so how can Keane ever be considered Irelands greatest sportsperson ever, he isnt even top three in his own sport ffs.

Thats what I just said
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:41:34 PM
Giles, McGrath & Best combined don't have his CV.

McGrath & Best missed enough matches to make a career for some players. One destroyed his own career and the other was a walking miracle for Ireland, but Ireland won nothing.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:42:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:41:34 PM

McGrath & Best missed enough matches to make a career for some players. One destroyed his own career and the other was a walking miracle for Ireland, but Ireland won nothing.

If thats the case John O'Shea must be the 2nd greatest ever  ::)
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:43:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:42:30 PM

Why because some else doesn't view Keane the way you do?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:46:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:43:26 PM

If your going on the fact that Keane is the greatest by his cv of winning medals with a club team then you must think O'Shea is the 2nd greatest Irish soccer player ever? Would that be correct?
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:50:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:46:19 PM

If your going on the fact that Keane is the greatest by his cv of winning medals with a club team then you must think O'Shea is the 2nd greatest Irish soccer player ever? Would that be correct?

I pointed out that his CV was better than Giles', better than Best's and better than McGrath's all who were let go by the same successful club while all with good years ahead of them.

If you had any cop on you would have suggested Ronnie Whelan or even Denis Irwin as a reasonable counter argument against my point on CVs but then argument is not what you are about, it is your hatred of anything to do with Roy Keane.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:58:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:50:53 PM

I pointed out that his CV was better than Giles', better than Best's and better than McGrath's all who were let go by the same successful club while all with good years ahead of them.

If you had any cop on you would have suggested Ronnie Whelan or even Denis Irwin as a reasonable counter argument against my point on CVs but then argument is not what you are about, it is your hatred of anything to do with Roy Keane.

If I had any cop on  ::) You do love yourself sometimes don't you... ::)

I certainly don't hate the man,I think he was wrong in Saipan and was one of the best footballers ever to come out of this country,but he let himself and his country down to many times to be considered one of Irelands greatest ever sportsmen..
Or are you just incapable of seeing any wrong in him.
In my opinion there has been no greater player for Ireland than Paul McGrath..
His performance against Italy in USA'94 is the greatest by any player ever to play for Ireland,and while injury and the bottle ruined what could have made him into the best player in his position in the World I believe there has been no greater servant to the Irish team..
But thats my opinion maybe you don't like someone not picking the lord almighty Keano

btw O'Shea has just as many medals as Whelan or Irwin
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:05:37 PM

Forget CV's, McGrath, Giles and Best were more important players to their Country than Keane, it might have been different but for the fact that keane created a situation on the eve of the world cup and by behaving like the ballix he is got himself sent home by his manager, who btw had the backing of the entire squad of players.

McGrath for example played through pain for his country, he was brilliant even on dodgy knees, was as used to the professionalism of United as Keane was and even though he was subjected to the same ineptitude of the FAI was man enough to represent his country as befiting a professional footballer, pity Keane couldnt have done the same and ironed things out AFTER the fecking WC.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:09:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 09:58:39 PM

I certainly don't hate the man,I think he was wrong in Saipan and was one of the best footballers ever to come out of this country,but he let himself and his country down to many times to be considered one of Irelands greatest ever sportsmen..
His performance against Italy in USA'94 is the greatest by any player ever to play for Ireland,and while injury and the bottle ruined what could have made him into the best player in his position in the World I believe there has been no greater servant to the Irish team..
But thats my opinion maybe you don't like someone not picking the lord almighty Keano

You still rubbish this with John O'Shea. He has never been a starter. Do you think that is a bit different from being Captain of a dominating team like Whelan or Keane.

Where did I say Keane did no wrong? The anti-Keano brigade always seem to resort to straw man arguments.

Keane had his faults and they were highly visable but he was still Ireland's best ever footballer. The flaws of the others seem to be ignored entirely.

So did Sonia, who was my nomination, for example she wanted to run for Australia and there are muppets who castigated her for something about a flag. But to me she still would be my pick.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:10:44 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:05:37 PM

Forget CV's, McGrath, Giles and Best were more important players to their Country than Keane, it might have been different but for the fact that keane created a situation on the eve of the world cup and by behaving like the ballix he is got himself sent home by his manager, who btw had the backing of the entire squad of players.

McGrath for example played through pain for his country, he was brilliant even on dodgy knees, was as used to the professionalism of United as Keane was and even though he was subjected to the same ineptitude of the FAI was man enough to represent his country as befiting a professional footballer, pity Keane couldnt have done the same and ironed things out AFTER the fecking WC.

Stew, McGrath went on the piss missing an Ireland match and woke up in Israel. Read his book.
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:11:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:31:03 PM

You are light on facts there again stew. Haaland retired because of injury to his other knee but hey when you hate some one so much what has truth got to do with it.

Both knees were fecked, he was never the same player after Keano jobbed him in the cowardly way he did.
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:15:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:09:28 PM

You still rubbish this with John O'Shea. He has never been a starter. Do you think that is a bit different from being Captain of a dominating team like Whelan or Keane.

Where did I say Keane did no wrong? The anti-Keano brigade always seem to resort to straw man arguments.

Keane had his faults and they were highly visable but he was still Ireland's best ever footballer. The flaws of the others seem to be ignored entirely.

So did Sonia, who was my nomination, for example she wanted to run for Australia and there are muppets who castigated her for something about a flag. But to me she still would be my pick.

O'Shea cannot be compared to Keane as a player. Giles was better and so was McGrath. McGrath was magnificent for Ireland in every big game he ever played for them., especially in beating Italy, that was as good a performance as you will ever see from any player, anywhere.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:20:05 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:11:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 09:31:03 PM

Both knees were fecked, he was never the same player after Keano jobbed him in the cowardly way he did.

No one is denying it was a terrible tackle and no one denies it deserved to be punished. But he retired because of the left knee. Keane hit the right knee.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:20:16 PM

I really couldn't give a fiddlers who your pick is to be quite honest with you..
I certainly wouldn't pick O'Sullivan though  ;)
And I wouldn't have Keane in my top 4 of Ireland's greatest footballers but of course that means I'm anti-keano etc etc etc blah blah blah you sound like a fecking sciencetologist,if anyone dare not worship at  Church of Keano they must be all anti this and full of hate for that,change the record ffs your as bad as what you make us "anti-keanos" out to be

Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:24:58 PM
Quote from: stew on September 09, 2009, 10:15:17 PM

O'Shea cannot be compared to Keane as a player. Giles was better and so was McGrath. McGrath was magnificent for Ireland in every big game he ever played for them., especially in beating Italy, that was as good a performance as you will ever see from any player, anywhere.

Best I have ever seen anyway..
Gerrard in the 05 CL Final was the closet and Keane against Juventus in a semi final CL was also excellent,but I have never seen a performance as good as McGrath that day
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:27:44 PM
Laoislad some people have nominated Keane. You are the one attacking their opinions. You have done so since youhave been on this board.

To say you are not anti-Keane is hysterical, like Tony Fearon saying he loves OWC.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:32:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:27:44 PM
Laoislad some people have nominated Keane. You are the one attacking their opinions. You have done so since youhave been on this board.

To say you are not anti-Keane is hysterical is like Tony Fearon saying he loves OWC.

Im not anti anyone I am a lover not a fighter!
I dislike him yes but I admire him for the footballer he was,but I feel he let his country down badly and for that I don't think he should be anywhere near Irelands greatest sportsmen.
I also believe their are muppets(pardon the pun) who can see no wrong whatsoever in him and will defend his honour(like he gives a f**k)with every ounce of energy and they are just as annoying as what you make the other half out to be
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:37:29 PM
btw don't ever compare me to Tony Fearon again,that just makes me feel dirty and not in a good way
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:38:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:32:20 PM

To say you are not anti-Keane is hysterical is like Tony Fearon saying he loves OWC.

I dislike him yes but I admire him for the footballer he was,but I feel he let his country down badly and for that I don't think he should be anywhere near Irelands greatest sportsmen.
I also believe their are muppets(pardon the pun) who can see no wrong whatsoever in him and will defend his honour(like he gives a f**k)with every ounce of energy and they are just as annoying as what you make the other half out to be

Nah, I just think he was Ireland's best player. I'm sure he had to go to confessions once a month like every one else.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:41:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:38:00 PM

Nah, I just think he was Ireland's best player. I'm sure he had to go to confessions once a month like every one else.

Fair enough...I don't though
Goodnight
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:45:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:41:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2009, 10:38:00 PM

Fair enough...I don't though
Goodnight

Oíche mhaith

p.s. sorry about the Fearon reference.
Post by: stew on September 09, 2009, 11:13:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 09, 2009, 10:37:29 PM
btw don't ever compare me to Tony Fearon again,that just makes me feel dirty and not in a good way

C'mon laois, I could see you and the fearonator hitting it off. :o
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 09, 2009, 11:34:58 PM
They are about a likely couple as me and you Stew  :D