Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: irunthev on August 21, 2009, 11:04:44 AM

Title: Most unusual job you ever had
Post by: irunthev on August 21, 2009, 11:04:44 AM
I once had the job of counting the white lines, cat's eyes, drains and lamp posts along stretches of the M4 and A40 outside of London. Apparently the Roads Agency do a inventory of the road every five or six years, so I spent my days walking along the grass verge entering information into a hand held computer. The guy I was working with had been doing this for 25 years and his other role was tightening bolts on the central reservation barriers on motorways when they were closed for maintenance. I lasted a week before the boredom got the better of me.
Title: Re: Most unusual job you ever had
Post by: Aerlik on August 21, 2009, 11:40:36 AM
I used to do a bit of work for the uncle of a certain very well known up and coming Derry senior footballer.  When I was 18 he had me and a mate go out with him to bag round bales of silage.  It was the worst weather and the shittiest job.  I got drenched and covered in clabber.  When I came home my mum was furious.  My sister piped in that it was character building.   ::)
Post by: cavan4ever on August 21, 2009, 11:45:04 AM
Say this on another forum, though it was quite funny.

(http://www.sniffpetrol.com/wp-content/uploads/spad_moderator.jpg)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2009, 11:46:24 AM

Quote from: cavan4ever on August 21, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

:D :D :D :D :D explains alot...

Picking Mushrooms as 14/15 yr old for pocket money.
Post by: redhugh on August 21, 2009, 11:54:33 AM
Dungin' out stables in Florida in 100 degrees heat...............only lasted 2 weeks.
Post by: na cleirigh on August 21, 2009, 11:56:54 AM
When at school I worked in a meat company on a Saturday and Sunday. Had to get up at 5.30. Was packing meat then moved onto being a trimmer. Done it for three years would doubt if I would last three days at it now.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 12:00:25 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on August 21, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

NOT AN ADVERTISEMENT  :D :D :D :D ;D ;D ;D
just in case someone was interested!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 21, 2009, 12:33:32 PM
Labor Day in USA in 1987 I donned a shovel to help in the construction of a car wash in some God forsaen place called Tannersville in upstate NY. I think I got 50 dollars for my efforts. Stiff for a week after  :-[

My one and only time on construction!
Post by: ONeill on August 21, 2009, 12:41:07 PM
I was a stripper in Belfast in 1993.
Post by: RMDrive on August 21, 2009, 12:49:43 PM
I spend a day working at the masons lodge in Sydney and one of my memorable jobs was to clean the birdsh1t off a section of the walls at the front if the building.
[BTW, a bucket of hot water and a yard brush are not effective tools for removing said excrement. It was more a relocation excerise than a removal one.]
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:55:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 21, 2009, 12:41:07 PM

Paint Stripper?
Post by: ONeill on August 21, 2009, 01:03:33 PM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:55:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 21, 2009, 12:41:07 PM

Paint Stripper?

Yep. For 3 men.
Post by: Over the Bar on August 21, 2009, 01:08:38 PM
Chicken catching team in Moy Park summer 1983.  Possibly the hottest, most gruelling and initially stomach-curdling work you could imagine.   You had to catch & carry 10 chickens at a time in the worst imaginable conditons on a 12 hour shift in chicken-houses toppoing 130 degrees in the sweltering summer heat.   Made a man of me fore sure
Post by: ziggysego on August 21, 2009, 01:09:51 PM
I was a Libyan gun smuggler
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:20:50 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 21, 2009, 01:09:51 PM
I was a Libyan gun smuggler
I was a Libyan gun dealer.
Post by: irunthev on August 21, 2009, 01:30:47 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 21, 2009, 01:08:38 PM
Chicken catching team in Moy Park summer 1983.  Possibly the hottest, most gruelling and initially stomach-curdling work you could imagine.   You had to catch & carry 10 chickens at a time in the worst imaginable conditons on a 12 hour shift in chicken-houses toppoing 130 degrees in the sweltering summer heat.   Made a man of me fore sure

If it was good enough for Rocky.....
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:43:11 PM
Russian Hitman.
Post by: downredblack on August 21, 2009, 01:47:27 PM
Cleaning fish boxes with a power hose , bits of fish guts and maggots flying everywhere . When I think of it .
Post by: irunthev on August 21, 2009, 01:49:52 PM
Quote from: downredblack on August 21, 2009, 01:47:27 PM
Cleaning fish boxes with a power hose , bits of fish guts and maggots flying everywhere . When I think of it .

Sounds like a gynaecologist to me
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 21, 2009, 06:54:01 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 21, 2009, 11:40:36 AM
I used to do a bit of work for the uncle of a certain very well known up and coming Derry senior footballer.  When I was 18 he had me and a mate go out with him to bag round bales of silage.  It was the worst weather and the shittiest job.  I got drenched and covered in clabber.  When I came home my mum was furious.  My sister piped in that it was character building.   ::)
Ach dont be so previous though I HATE any farm work.

Most unusual - standing with the brother in a field while the oul boy drove a tractor around us spraying fertilizer.  Apparently we were required to stand and mark where he'd sprayed.  I still don't get it.  That and gathering stones or putting the cover over the silage.  These jobs never lasted long and tended to turn in to shouting matches with a grape (that's not a piece of fruit townies)  or tyre being flung at someone.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 21, 2009, 07:01:22 PM
There's a fella who is constantly scraping the chewing gum of the ground outside my local sainsbury's while everyone walks past him, that has to be up there with the worst job.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 21, 2009, 07:17:51 PM
There is a lad who played for us at the start of the year, he is a student, and couldn't train of a Wednesday night as he works.  A few weeks ago I was driving home past a city centre Centra and there the lad was walking out in front with a sandwich board over his shoulders advertising the shop.  I have to say i felt for the lad, it was sweltering warm and it was rush hour traffic.  If that was why he was missing training I instantly forgave him for the embarressment of it.
Post by: Puckoon on August 21, 2009, 07:27:38 PM
I once had to use a contraption called an electroejaculator on a group of monkeys.
Post by: The Iceman on August 21, 2009, 08:34:09 PM
I cleaned out snail trays.  Local Armagh man was breeding and pickling snails and did well at them for a while. I lasted half a day by myself cleaning the trays before i did a walk off.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 21, 2009, 09:53:30 PM
Worked as a bouncing castle fellow 2 Summers ago. Christ it was hilarious, we'd pack the castles into the van and we could end up anywhere!! From Omey Beach in Conamara, to Charleville and all the various shows every weekend, to just plain old Westport during the week. At the time I thought it was a pile of crap (it was) but the craic was 90 in the van!! :D
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 21, 2009, 10:01:00 PM
I had to sort boxes of oranges in a warehouse in australia.  Basically take out the blue mould ones and refill the box with decent ones.  tedious, monotonous 3 days work
Post by: FermGael on August 21, 2009, 10:39:06 PM
When i was in sydney i got a job as a gardener.once a week i got to cut the lawns of the biggest losser show on channel 7.
Post by: Orior on August 21, 2009, 10:40:00 PM
I spent a whole summer cutting grass for some big girl...

(http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/5839/bestsummerjobever.jpg)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 21, 2009, 10:41:34 PM
I was a cook at Hooter's for a summer  :) :)

Another summer I cleaned up hazardous waste  :o

Post by: Tyrones own on August 21, 2009, 10:45:20 PM
Washed dishes in a Greek restaurant in New Jersey at the start of my illustrious career in the US :)
Post by: mountainboii on August 21, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
Catching seagulls and making them puke.
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 21, 2009, 11:13:11 PM
Heard Eastern Pride was a fluffer once upon a time.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 11:15:21 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on August 21, 2009, 11:13:11 PM
Heard Eastern Pride was a fluffer once upon a time.
More the person on the other end... ;)
Post by: dillinger on August 23, 2009, 12:09:00 AM
Killing and plucking turkys at Christmas. Not nice, although i still eat them.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on August 23, 2009, 08:37:41 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 21, 2009, 10:45:20 PM
Washed dishes in a Greek restaurant in New Jersey at the start of my illustrious career in the US :)

Do greeks not just smash the dishes when they are finished?

I used to make coleslaw one summer....Fcuk me i hated the good weather the orders went through the roof!
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 24, 2009, 03:18:23 AM
Quote from: AFS on August 21, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
???
May I ask why?
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2009, 04:31:08 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on August 23, 2009, 08:37:41 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 21, 2009, 10:45:20 PM

Do greeks not just smash the dishes when they are finished?

I used to make coleslaw one summer....Fcuk me i hated the good weather the orders went through the roof!

Na..only in the movies Pat!
Post by: stephenite on August 24, 2009, 07:42:54 AM
I was a dancer with the Spice Girls
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2009, 07:51:35 AM
I humped Bananas
Post by: john mcgill on August 24, 2009, 08:27:30 AM
Three of us were given a bucket ONE hand shovel and put on the roof of Brinton's carpet factory in Kidderminister cleaning the drains.  The foreman who was afraid of heights would climb the ladder and say in a Black country accent "I can never catch youse working but you get the job done".  It helped that i was such a good summer.
Also worked in a cake factory in Brum putting 4 almonds on each iced cake!
Post by: mountainboii on August 24, 2009, 07:36:12 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 24, 2009, 03:18:23 AM
Quote from: AFS on August 21, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
???
May I ask why?

In the name of science  :)
Post by: gawa316 on August 24, 2009, 07:45:48 PM
Didn't want to go home after uni so got a job in a Coat-hanger recyling factory outside Chester...jaysus what a job and some of the scobers I had to work with were think as f**k
Post by: nrico2006 on August 25, 2009, 10:50:38 AM
I worked in Portstewart one summer looking after the bouncy castles and big inflatable slides and go-karts.  It was good craic.  A few summers before wasn't as fun, was in Dungannon Meats.  Knew the man in charge of the boning hall so lived in his house for the summer, but we ended up being late one Monday and it was no big deal I thought as it was his fault, but when we got in someone else was packing instead of me and my mate so we ended up in sorting the hydes for a day - never forget it.  My mate pulled the fly one, well he got hit by a side (skinned cow) that was zooming by him on a hook and he got to nave home.  I had to stay and a few times I got the end of a cow hyde in the mouth as they were everywhere, mist disgusting day of work ever.  Some jobs out there seem handy, I know a fella who works for the roads service and he gets good money but all he does is setup traffic counters or go around and count how many cars are in a car park every 30 minutes. 
Post by: tbrick18 on August 25, 2009, 11:23:48 AM
I worked for two full summers in the turf...6 days a week...killer.
Then I went into business for myself and cut my own turf...did a bit of door to door turf sales around Ballyclare, Glengormley and the like...most of them didnt know what turf was until you told them it was cheaper than coal. You could get twice the price around there for a bag of turf than you could around home.
I've also cleaned out cattle-houses...power hosing. Talk about a messy job.
I worked for a number of years in a factory making DIY garden sheds....crap work but the craic was good.
Worked in a timber yard for a summer stacking various sizes of timber coming off a sawmill...sounds easy but it was the hardest job I ever did.
Post by: boojangles on August 25, 2009, 12:06:47 PM
Worked on a roof on a school in Boston one summer.There was a 1 in a million chance of debris falling down below into the Sports Hall which was deserted anyway. Health and Safety officer demanded that we get a Ground Guy to make sure nobody came into the Sports Hall while work was going on overhead. Got some quality reading time in that week. ;D