Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: moysider on August 20, 2009, 09:06:36 PM

Title: Favourite Cartoon Series.
Post by: moysider on August 20, 2009, 09:06:36 PM

Probably been done before.

Just that my kids seem to enjoy the old ones the best. The stuff I used to watch - still do.

My favs are The Pink Panther[including The Inspector and Ant and Aardvark] and Foghorn Leghorn.

Should I be worried?
Title: Re: Favourite Cartoon Series.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on August 20, 2009, 09:16:23 PM
Scooby Doo was my favourite until they introduced Scrappy, he was annoying.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on August 20, 2009, 09:16:59 PM
Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles
Batman
Ghostbusters
The Simpsons

All great cartoons back in the day
Post by: Billys Boots on August 20, 2009, 09:20:01 PM
I loved the Pink Panther, but hated the in between bits (Ant and Aardvark etc.), though I did like the Inspector.  My kids like his Pinkness too.
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 09:43:53 PM
Ivecollected most of the loony toons, which I don't think will ever be beaten

my little girl has a soft spot for Mickey mouse and Tom and Jerry.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 20, 2009, 09:44:48 PM
Dungeons and dragons. Superb.
Post by: turkey+ham on August 20, 2009, 09:45:30 PM
Foghorn Leghorn - i say, boy!
Post by: Denn Forever on August 20, 2009, 10:47:39 PM
Tom and Jerry the old ones directed by Fred Quimbey.

There was specific series of Cartoons that had a quite quitrky, lefh of centre feel.  Again directed by a specific director who gave his name to the series. 

What a wonderful thing this Google.  Tex Avery was the guys name.  Check him out.

In book form, Calvin and Hobbs. 
Post by: Tyrones own on August 20, 2009, 10:52:23 PM
Tom & Jerry was great alright but for me Foghorn Leghorn was the best of them ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 20, 2009, 10:57:12 PM
I always thought that Pink Panther was too gay for my liking.  The in betweeny bits annoyed me too.  I love the naked barbarism of Tom and Jerry.  Roadrunner I loved.  Foghorn was great too, your man Fred from Coronation street as so like him with his repetition of his words :D

I also like Ulysses, Dungeons and Dragons(the Dungeon Master is the spitting image of our old groundsman in Cross), and latter the Animaniacs were class.
Title: Favourite Cartoon Series.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 20, 2009, 11:11:41 PM
The Simpsons would be the Kerry of cartoonland...way ahead of everything else and no chance of anyone catching them. But apart from them my favourites are The Flintstones and Topcat.
Post by: mountainboii on August 20, 2009, 11:34:05 PM
Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles

Captain Planet

The Hurricanes - awesome theme tune
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxTw0g8F6Qk
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 11:39:44 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 20, 2009, 10:57:12 PM
I always thought that Pink Panther was too gay for my liking.  The in betweeny bits annoyed me too.  I love the naked barbarism of Tom and Jerry.  Roadrunner I loved.  Foghorn was great too, your man Fred from Coronation street as so like him with his repetition of his words :D

I also like Ulysses, Dungeons and Dragons(the Dungeon Master is the spitting image of our old groundsman in Cross), and latter the Animaniacs were class.
You were an advanced child.

My fav is Scooby doo  :)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 21, 2009, 12:22:29 AM
Anyone remember those awful Czechoslovakia ones that RTE used to show in the 70s or early 80s?

Made in the 50s in black and white.

Desperate desperate shite. Made Daithi Lacha look ground-breaking!

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2009, 12:27:15 AM
I liked Ulysses, that Cities of Gold one, Dogtanian and when I was younger Scooby Doo, Yogi Bear and Top Cat!

My eldest is a big fan of Ben 10 and I have to admit to liking it too! Can't really think of many modern cartoons I like apart from it.
Post by: T O Hare on August 21, 2009, 02:24:05 AM
The Racoons was a great show!!!!
Post by: Tyrones own on August 21, 2009, 03:38:45 AM
Happened upon this lad...any of ye remember him?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kon4czfAHu4&NR=1
Post by: vav on August 21, 2009, 09:18:59 AM
Gummi Bears & Raggy Dolls definitely rank up there with my favourite cartoons!
Post by: JohnDenver on August 21, 2009, 09:23:43 AM
Hard to beat a bit of Superted and Bananaman!
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 09:36:34 AM
Some real connoisseurs here. Foghorn Leghorn and Quimby's and Avery's Tom and Gerrys - great stuff. I used to think I was almost alone in being a Foghorn fan. I thought The Pink Panther was sublime. Surreal stuff. I loved the one where his vacuum cleaner runs amok, gobbling up everything, including cars, buildings, etc. Finally, he turns the nozzle around to look into in and it swallows him and then itself and disappears.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2009, 09:39:31 AM
Thunder Thunder Thunder Thundercats WHOOOOOW Classic, theyre making a CGI movie at present. Cant wait.

Gummi Bears, Racoons, captain planet, speed racer, scooby doo, transformers, tom and jerry, road runner, inspector gadget, Ghostbuster, Batman, craggy rock.........love cartoons, those were the days.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 21, 2009, 09:46:46 AM
Roadrunner... beep! beep!
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 09:58:23 AM
Ulysees
Tazmanian Devil
Batfink
Superted
He-Man
Thundercats
Racoons
Muppet Babies
Transformers
Tom & Jerry
Top Cat

Jaysus, I must have watched a lot of cartoons :-\
Post by: No1 on August 21, 2009, 10:02:53 AM
Battle of the Planets.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 21, 2009, 10:05:42 AM
From what I can see, I dont think anyone has mentioned BILL AND TED!! Excelllllennnnt!!!
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:07:45 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 21, 2009, 10:05:42 AM
From what I can see, I dont think anyone has mentioned BILL AND TED!! Excelllllennnnt!!!

This is the favourite cartoon thread sk, not least favourite

The cartoon was like the film...............shite
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 21, 2009, 10:10:10 AM
Great thread!
Top Cat
Dogtanian
Masters of the Universe
The Jetsons
80 days around the world
Wacky Races
Speedy Gonzales
Laurel & Hardy
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2009, 10:18:32 AM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 09:58:23 AM
Ulysees
Tazmanian Devil
Batfink
Superted
He-Man
Thundercats
Racoons
Muppet Babies
Transformers
Tom & Jerry
Top Cat

Jaysus, I must have watched a lot of cartoons :-\

I have the POWER !!! loved he-man one of a few people who has Masters of the Universe 80s movie in my dvd collection, love it though.
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:28:39 AM
Dangermouse
Defenders Of The Earth (class theme tune)
The Smurfs
Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers

Really hated Fraggle Rock  >:(
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2009, 10:40:16 AM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:28:39 AM
Dangermouse
Defenders Of The Earth (class theme tune)
The Smurfs
Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers

Really hated Fraggle Rock   >:(

Why?

Loved Chip and dale aswell and Danger mouse, Count Duckula, and DuckTales.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 21, 2009, 10:44:31 AM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:07:45 AM

Ah I see whats happened, I forgot that when Bill and Ted (Boggggusss!) was on, you were about 20 or 21  ;) :D
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:49:51 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 21, 2009, 10:44:31 AM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 10:07:45 AM

Ah I see whats happened, I forgot that when Bill and Ted (Boggggusss!) was on, you were about 20 or 21  ;) :D

Your bollix, sure it must have been on here in the early 90's
Regardless it was still crap

Dont know why I disliked Fraggle Rock so much, but I really hated watching it & dont even get me started on the theme tune >:(

Post by: stpauls on August 21, 2009, 10:50:04 AM
any of the ones Full Back mentioned!! too many to pick a favourite!!
Post by: SidelineKick on August 21, 2009, 10:53:50 AM
Chip n Dale was another good one.

Dont think the Turtles could be beat.

The old Tom and Jerry cartoons were great, do they be on anymore at all?

The Hurricanes too. A cartoon about football! It was a dream come true.

What was the one with the wrestlers in it??
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 21, 2009, 11:05:03 AM
Hard to look past Turtles and Tom and Jerry.

For a new cartoon, Spongebob Squarepants is quality.
Post by: supersarsfields on August 21, 2009, 11:08:06 AM
Anyone remember the Ewalks (sp)?. Think it was based on those boys outa Star wars that lived in the trees.
Post by: johnneycool on August 21, 2009, 11:17:31 AM
Wacky races (is catch the pigeon a different cartoon spinoff?)
Tom and Jerry
Yogi bear
Top cat
Dangermouse
Hong kong phooey
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 21, 2009, 11:19:05 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 21, 2009, 11:08:06 AM
Anyone remember the Ewalks (sp)?. Think it was based on those boys outa Star wars that lived in the trees.

Ewoks, ya watched that cartoon aswell, bears that lived in the trees high up to avoid the giants down below, 2 movies made aswell but werent hits and featured in Return of the Jedi.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 21, 2009, 11:41:25 AM
The Animaniacs.

Pinky and the Brain.

Cartoons for Adults!
Post by: botman on August 21, 2009, 12:31:20 PM
Thundercats
Olly the OX

Mysterious Cities of Gold is a really good shout. I had to go shopping with my Mum and missed the last episode. I have yet to forgive her for that! To this day still haven't seen it, is it on YouTube?
Post by: Square Ball on August 21, 2009, 12:40:24 PM
all the greats have already been mentioned, I will go with Denn Forever with the older Tom and Jerry cartoons, again Ulysses (nono), Dungeons and Dragons and Foghorn leghorn from the older cartoons. Hated thunder Cats

the newer ones, Jonny Bravo, Dexters Lab and Sponge bob
Post by: Galwaybhoy on August 21, 2009, 12:41:45 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 20, 2009, 10:47:39 PM
Tom and Jerry the old ones directed by Fred Quimbey.

There was specific series of Cartoons that had a quite quitrky, lefh of centre feel.  Again directed by a specific director who gave his name to the series. 

What a wonderful thing this Google.  Tex Avery was the guys name.  Check him out.

In book form, Calvin and Hobbs.

I still love Calvin and Hobbs.  Smart kid.
Post by: ziggysego on August 21, 2009, 01:05:57 PM
These were my favourite growing up

Dogtanian and The Muskahounds (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELbhKL0Qm2E)

Jamie And The Magic Torch (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-B_FQKHQDYk)

Thundercats (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uA8yIXcY8HI)

He-Man (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yeA7a0uS3A)

Ducktales (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUxuvs9vhKg)

Dungeons and Dragons (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfif5DiGMYc)

Around the World in 80 Days (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nGrYEFG6Ho)

Ulysses 31 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZ4c1X5ene8)

The Simpsons (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZGz1Ajg7QU)

Family Guy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtgbjB0GpTQ)

Post by: moysider on August 21, 2009, 01:06:24 PM
Anybody remember Deputy Dawg. Then there was Lolek and Bolek.

That was during the Cold War. Charles Mitchel still read the news with a big black telephone on his desk as a prop.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:09:53 PM
Top Cat
Tazmanian Devil
Post by: redhugh on August 21, 2009, 01:11:03 PM
Deputy dawg
Huckleberry hound
...............ah it's all coming back.
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 02:31:57 PM
Daithí Lacha anyone?
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:52:24 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 02:31:57 PM
Daithí Lacha anyone?
Back in the days before television.....Did Cú Chulainn and Fionn McCumhaill tell you that one? ;D
Post by: Bogball XV on August 21, 2009, 03:00:57 PM
they're all up above, I wouldn't have been a fan of Fraggle Rock either - didn't like puppets.  Never took to He-Man either.
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:11:20 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:52:24 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 02:31:57 PM
Daithí Lacha anyone?
Back in the days before television.....Did Cú Chulainn and Fionn McCumhaill tell you that one? ;D

"Aililiú", arsa Hardy.
Post by: stew on August 21, 2009, 03:31:18 PM
My girls loved hey arnold growing up, Doug as well so they are favourites but for me Top Cat was brilliant as was Tom and Jerry.
Post by: na cleirigh on August 21, 2009, 03:36:12 PM
Quote from: stew on August 21, 2009, 03:31:18 PM
My girls loved hey arnold growing up, Doug as well so they are favourites but for me Top Cat was brilliant as was Tom and Jerry.

Doug for me as well.
Hey Arnold.
Rugrats.
Fragle Rock.
Fairy Odd Parents.
Recess.
Spiderman.
Post by: Diet Coke on August 21, 2009, 03:37:20 PM
Captain Pugwash and Magic Roundabout.......god I'm showing my age ;)
Post by: rrhf on August 21, 2009, 04:04:43 PM
TIM
Post by: Santino on August 21, 2009, 09:51:12 PM
Teddy ruxpin!
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 21, 2009, 09:54:57 PM
Flintstones, Jetsons, Turtles, Muttley the Sniggering hound, Wacky Races. I only watch the Simpsons now. I used like Farthing Wood as well.
Post by: fitzroyalty on August 21, 2009, 10:04:31 PM
turtles
captain planet
buckey o hare
earthworm jim
babar
the racoons
the chipmunks