Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the colonel on August 20, 2009, 01:42:46 PM

Title: Ipswich's Irish keeper retires at 22!
Post by: the colonel on August 20, 2009, 01:42:46 PM
Had heard good things about him previously. Mad

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/i/ipswich_town/8211586.stm
Title: Re: Ipswich's Irish keeper retires at 22!
Post by: supersarsfields on August 20, 2009, 01:46:00 PM
Does he not know there's a recession on.
Post by: Minder on August 20, 2009, 01:52:12 PM
Fair play to him for having the conviction to pack it in.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:11:07 PM
Very brave decision, fair play for havign the balls to do it.

Hope he doesnt regret it in a couple of years.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 20, 2009, 02:19:48 PM
So which county might benefit?

But all credit to him.  Strenght of conviction.
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2009, 02:21:02 PM
I'm reminded of the scene in Fever Pitch: "Orient . . . I'd play for Orient". 99.9% of adult males would think he is mad. But fair play to him for his single-mindedness.
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 03:52:07 PM
That man is completely nets.
Post by: ludermor on August 20, 2009, 03:52:58 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on August 20, 2009, 03:23:24 PM
The ungrateful hoor, id swap jobs with him anyday  >:(

I can see this being a decision he deeply regrets in years to come, although he will probably never admit to this.  Sure we all get a little pissed off playing football from time to time especially if we have a few bad games but cant believe he is walking out at 22 on a pro soccer career. 

I can only assume he is going to take a job in the porn industry as thats probably the only thing that 'cums'  ;) close to being the greatest job in the world, bar being a pro soccer player.

in your opinion of course, obviously not to him!
Wasnt there a goalie with the offaly hurlers who had no interest in the sport , he said he never watched any games and know f**k all players from other clubs/counties.
Post by: Maiden1 on August 20, 2009, 04:12:19 PM
Sounds a bit like when Mark King quit snooker to go and work on a building site with his brothers as he had fallen out of love with the game.  I think he lasted about a month before he fell out of love with mixing cement.
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 04:18:06 PM
You never know what's around the corner, sometimes the goalposts change and you give one career the red card and kick off a new one. Provided he has all his angles covered, he'll be in safe hands.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 20, 2009, 04:39:41 PM
I wonder was there a difference between what keano wanted to say to him and what he actually said to him...

Fair play to him but I'd say he will regret it.
Post by: ludermor on August 20, 2009, 04:58:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 04:18:06 PM
You never know what's around the corner, sometimes the goalposts change and you give one career the red card and kick off a new one. Provided he has all his angles covered, he'll be in safe hands.
FFS Puck, my head hurts!!
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 05:09:14 PM
Then you'd better not drop the ball at work luder!
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 05:19:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 04:18:06 PM

:D class.

Good to see a stud like you tackling important issues. He sounds like a bit of a header to be honest but at least now he can start applying for new posts and he'll certainly have a different goal in life. He sounds genuine and not like he had a chip on his shoulder, just hope he saved a bit for a rainy day.
Post by: Puckoon on August 20, 2009, 05:26:33 PM
I wonder will his pension be subject to a penalty after this, or will he still be able to save it now that he is no longer working? Maybe he'll have to put in a transfer request for his money, and it is hard to find a free transfer in this recession.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 05:32:46 PM
Not sure but he's made his decision so the gloves are off and he'll have to live with it.  He could always hit the bar but drink is never the solution. The balls are up in the air now but in fairness he seems to have his head screwed on and will be a great catch for a lucky girl.  He requested his P45 but it was taking too long so in the end up he sent off for it. He's waiting for it in the post.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 12:57:54 PM
He shouldn't leave his goals behind and his priorities lie firmly in his own hands
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:05:03 PM
The way Ipswich are going he would have being playing in the 3rd Division next year,I don't blame him for quiting  :)
Post by: irunthev on August 21, 2009, 01:33:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:05:03 PM
The way Ipswich are going he would have being playing in the 3rd Division next year,I don't blame him for quiting  :)

Just like Laois!!!!
Post by: Leo on August 21, 2009, 01:58:40 PM
Keano hasn't set Ipswich alight just yet but reassuring to see that his "I Quit" philosophy has got through to at least one player.
Post by: the colonel on September 16, 2009, 02:12:03 PM
Apparently Supple played for his club in the Dublin championship and wants to make the Dublin squad, tough to get cluxton out! according to hoganstand.com we also wants to join the guards
Post by: Leo on September 16, 2009, 07:41:47 PM
Quote from: the colonel on September 16, 2009, 02:12:03 PM
Apparently Supple played for his club in the Dublin championship and wants to make the Dublin squad, tough to get cluxton out! according to hoganstand.com we also wants to join the guards

Guards?
Cul baire?
Custodian?

Supple is subtle.
Post by: the colonel on March 04, 2010, 07:17:19 PM
Shane Supple called into the Dublin Squad for this weekend. fair play to him
Post by: magickingdom on March 04, 2010, 08:50:48 PM
Quote from: the colonel on March 04, 2010, 07:17:19 PM

good for him, dublin have a good goalie tho
Post by: stew on March 04, 2010, 11:42:16 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 04, 2010, 08:50:48 PM
Quote from: the colonel on March 04, 2010, 07:17:19 PM

good for him, dublin have a good goalie tho

They have a better one now, or for the future at least.

I dont care how good he is come to think of it, he could play for them for the next fifteen years and they wont get past the AISF. ;)