GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:54:29 PM

Title: Best Personal Moment of your under-age Career
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:54:29 PM
A few for me ;D but the best had to be geting the ball at corner back, seeing wide open space ahead of me and scoring one of few goals I ever got
U16 as I recall!
Title: Re: Best Personal Moment of your under-age Career
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 19, 2009, 07:51:06 AM
My God, what an achievement !  How did you bottle it all up without telling anyone until now?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 08:03:03 AM
I scored 3-5 (2-3 from play) in a Sligo schools minor semi final, a game we drew, I didnt hit one wide, we won replay.

Also in u14 we were 11pts down in championship game and I came on with 10 mins to go, I scored 3-0 and made another goal for us to win by a point, got carried off the field by the players and my Dad watching ;D, kept my place for the rest of the year.

Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 08:25:32 AM
Perhaps you should have just called the thread:

"Best Personal Moment of my Playing Career in corner back at U16s"
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on August 19, 2009, 09:38:45 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 08:25:32 AM

Maybe alright, but it's only a bit of craic. We weren't all wonderful footballers.
1-8 at full forward in a hard fought U16 championship win. One of the few highlights in a short and undistinguished playing career.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 09:46:37 AM
Quote from: TirEoghaingodeo on August 19, 2009, 09:38:45 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 08:25:32 AM

Maybe alright, but it's only a bit of craic. We weren't all wonderful footballers.
1-8 at full forward in a hard fought U16 championship win. One of the few highlights in a short and undistinguished playing career.

Impressive in any game!

I dont even have any  :'(
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2009, 09:49:05 AM
I'm too young for U-16 yet. Next year hopefully, will ye be over-age then?
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 09:51:00 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2009, 09:49:05 AM

Is that technically possible?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 09:55:54 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 09:51:00 AM

Well Muppets still in nappies and sucking his dodo so probably would be considered too young....id say.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 09:57:58 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 09:55:54 AM

Well Muppets still in nappies and sucking his dodo so probably would be considered too young....id say.

Sure stick him in the corner, he can feed off TirEoghaingodeo. (That's if he'll pass it).
Post by: irunthev on August 19, 2009, 10:01:32 AM
Corn na nOg quarter final against St  Pats Maghera 1984, played in Brockagh, made a great save in the final few minutes and we got through to the semi-final by a couple of points. Went on to win semi and played in final against St Colmans, a final we failed to score in.
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2009, 10:03:58 AM

We have so much in common.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 19, 2009, 10:59:16 AM
thinking about the subject of this thread sends me into near depression !
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 11:10:27 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2009, 10:03:58 AM

What else do we have in common beside wearing nappies and sucking on dodo? :-[
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2009, 11:20:18 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 11:10:27 AM

We both start school shortly, we both think Tom Parsons is great and neither of us can fry an egg.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 19, 2009, 11:24:28 AM
I took SidelineKick to the cleaners in a primary school friendly game.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 11:55:22 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on August 19, 2009, 11:24:28 AM
I took SidelineKick to the cleaners in a primary school friendly game.

No chance!

You're just jealous you never catpained your U14s and B** L** did!
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:02:04 PM
U16 championship final played in Brewster park just before the senior decider.  I was injured for the final but 7 points down with 10 minutes to play, I was thrown in to FF.  I won two penalties(which a current county player scored) and scored 1-1.  Still gets mentioned in the local.  Always makes me smile thinking about it.
Post by: talktothehand on August 19, 2009, 12:30:24 PM
scoring 4-2 in a championship semi final for the u16s
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 12:33:04 PM
Actually now that I think of it there was a better one....

Playing in a friendly for a tipp team(minor, I think it was) i was playing centre forward and scored 4-8....that was magical, I never played with them again but it was so easy....
Nearly scored a goal from a 45 as well!
(A 45 not a 50)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 19, 2009, 12:38:32 PM
Captaining the school team when we won the Dalton Cup or winning the Community Games All Ireland.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 01:47:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2009, 11:20:18 AM

We both start school shortly, we both think Tom Parsons is great and neither of us can fry an egg.

Right except for one I can fry an egg ;)
Post by: amallon on August 19, 2009, 01:51:28 PM
3 mins 40 seconds into this clip easily the highlight of whole career underage and overage!  :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lusDiu97VI  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lusDiu97VI)
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 01:57:51 PM
Quote from: amallon on August 19, 2009, 01:51:28 PM
3 mins 40 seconds into this clip easily the highlight of whole career underage and overage!  :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lusDiu97VI  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lusDiu97VI)
What a point I have to admit fair play!
Post by: dodo on August 19, 2009, 02:46:50 PM

Pardon me ??  :o
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 04:52:50 PM
Quote from: dodo on August 19, 2009, 02:46:50 PM

Pardon me ??  :o

Dodo, Dummy,  Tomato, Tomatoe ;)

Im sure thats what you named yourself after..