Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 10:46:49 PM

Poll
Question: Greatest Sportsman of All Time.
Option 1: Michael Jordan
Option 2: Muhammed Ali
Option 3: Usain Bolt
Option 4: Lance Armstrong
Option 5: Tiger Woods
Option 6: Pele
Title: Greatest Sportsmen of all Time/New Poll for top 5 to Agree on.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 10:46:49 PM
A few suggestions:(Edit....after other suggestions)

Pele
Jesse Owens
Roman Seblre
Usain Bolt
Tiger Woods
DJ Carey
Sachin Tendulkar
Kenenise Bekele
Hicham El-Gierruj
Bobby Moore
George Best
Brian Lara
George Sobers
WG Grace
Jonah Lomu
Jack Nicklaus
Leighton Glynn  ;D ;D ;D
Brian  >:( O'Driscoll
Jackie Kyle
Roger Federer
Muhammed Ali
Mike Tyson
Michael Schumacher
Haile Gebrselassie
Ayrton Senna
Michael Phelps
Tirunesh Dibaba

Who are yours?
Title: Re: Greatest Sportsman of all Time
Post by: stiffler on August 18, 2009, 10:50:48 PM
Ali.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 18, 2009, 10:53:33 PM
(http://unrealitymag.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/shooter-mcgavin-picture.jpg)
Post by: muppet on August 18, 2009, 11:02:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 18, 2009, 10:57:15 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 10:46:49 PM
Willie John McBride
Are you mad?

He meant Willie Joe.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:08:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 18, 2009, 11:02:51 PM
Willie John McBride
Are you mad?

He meant Willie Joe.
Did I?
Oh yeah, suggestions by the way, not definitive answers we might make a poll out of it.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:12:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 18, 2009, 11:09:53 PM
Aye, that's fair enough but Willie John McBride FFS!!
Yeah actually, thinking back on it....Saying that he was a Lions captain!
Post by: Gnevin on August 18, 2009, 11:15:33 PM
Jackie Kyle by all account was better than McBride
Post by: Orior on August 18, 2009, 11:16:18 PM
If you include Tiger in your list then you should have Roger Federa as well.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:17:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 18, 2009, 11:14:20 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:12:19 PM
A shoe-in then ::)

Come on for Jaysus sake.
I did agree with you...wil it make it better if I put in Mr. O'Driscoll and Jackie "Genius" Kyle.....
I
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2009, 11:19:30 PM
Did we not do this before or was in greatest sportsman to recover from a serious injury or something?

My money is on Clute McFetridge.
Title: Re: Greatest Sportsmen of all Time
Post by: Blindasabat on August 18, 2009, 11:20:24 PM
these guys
Post by: Blindasabat on August 18, 2009, 11:21:11 PM
not too sure on puttin up pictures yet.....my bad
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:24:28 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 18, 2009, 11:21:39 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:17:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 18, 2009, 11:14:20 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:12:19 PM
A shoe-in then ::)

Come on for Jaysus sake.
I did agree with you...wil it make it better if I put in Mr. c **t O'Driscoll and Jackie "Genius" Kyle.....
I
Shame you've ruined a decent thread with gutter talk .
Apologies, duly changed.
I'm sorry but I really despise the guy.
Post by: rosnarun on August 18, 2009, 11:31:14 PM
after kast night 10k Kenenisa Bekele has to be considered, the control and assurance of his running despite being a marked man with 3 teams tryng to tacticly out race him was the sporting event of the year so far .
Usain bolt too but i have growndo cynical of sprinter. i want to believe but lord its hard
Post by: thebigfella on August 18, 2009, 11:33:42 PM
michael schumacher
Post by: new devil on August 18, 2009, 11:43:04 PM
Roy keane
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 18, 2009, 11:43:43 PM
Quote from: new devil on August 18, 2009, 11:43:04 PM
Roy keane
No.
Post by: Orior on August 18, 2009, 11:47:38 PM
Haile Gebrselassie
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 19, 2009, 01:09:11 AM
Garry Kasparov
Michael Johnson
John Lowe
Greg Blaney
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 19, 2009, 01:15:48 AM
Willie John McBride
Are you mad?
If you were around to see him, HS, on the field or at the bar, you'd say he was something else. ;D
He was genuinely respected wherever rugby was played and he'd be in my top ten.
Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2009, 01:21:50 AM
Joe Louis
Sugar Ray Robinson
Roberto Duran
Eddy Merrckx
Roger Federer
Steffi Graf (feck it, I'm including women as well)
Gail Devers
Derartu Tulu
Tirunesh Dibaba
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2009, 02:35:39 AM
Cúchulainn

(aka Willie Joe)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 19, 2009, 02:51:59 AM
AP McCoy
Norman Williamson
Richard Dunwoody
John Francome
Timmy Murphy
Jonjo O'Neill
Ruby Walsh
Paul Carberry
Timmy Murphy
Barry Geraghty
Richard Johnson
Jim Culloty
Conor O'Dwyer

Basically all the NH jockeys. More or less risk their lives on a daily basis riding over fences at over 30 mph. Absolute nutcases!!
Post by: botman on August 19, 2009, 08:34:25 AM
Carlton Palmer  :D

In fairness only one winner Ali

Post by: JohnDenver on August 19, 2009, 08:49:05 AM
Eric "the Eel" Moussambani
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 08:49:44 AM
Willie Johnny McBride
Are you mad?

Fixed that for you Hardstation. I'm sure A'Nail will agree with me on that one.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 19, 2009, 08:52:10 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 18, 2009, 11:31:14 PM
after kast night 10k Kenenisa Bekele has to be considered, the control and assurance of his running despite being a marked man with 3 teams tryng to tacticly out race him was the sporting event of the year so far .
Usain bolt too but i have growndo cynical of sprinter. i want to believe but lord its hard
is running a sport as such? 
Post by: Bogball XV on August 19, 2009, 08:53:44 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 19, 2009, 01:15:48 AM
Willie John McBride
Are you mad?
If you were around to see him, HS, on the field or at the bar, you'd say he was something else. ;D
He was genuinely respected wherever rugby was played and he'd be in my top ten.
i'd be surprised if he made rugby's top ten
Post by: stevo-08 on August 19, 2009, 09:02:36 AM
A few suggestions:(Edit....after other suggestions)

Pele
Jesse Owens
Roman Seblre
Usain Bolt
Tiger Woods
DJ Carey
Sachin Tendulkar
Kenenise Bekele
Hicham El-Gierruj
Bobby Moore
George Best
Brian Lara
George Sobers
WG Grace
Jonah Lomu
Jack Nicklaus
Leighton Glynn  ;D ;D ;D
Brian  >:( O'Driscoll
Jackie Kyle
Roger Federer
Muhammed Ali
Mike Tyson
Michael Schumacher
Haile Gebrselassie

Who are yours?

you just have to include Michael Jordan on any list like this. And for me, he'd be right up there near the top...
Post by: Master Yoda on August 19, 2009, 09:08:01 AM
What about Phil "THE POWER" Taylor?
Post by: JohnDenver on August 19, 2009, 09:28:47 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 08:49:44 AM
Willie Johnny McBride
Are you mad? Good call

Fixed that for you Hardstation. I'm sure A'Nail will agree with me on that one.

Thats her settled now, we can close this thread.  ;)
Post by: Overthebar! on August 19, 2009, 09:31:32 AM
lance armstrong?
Post by: botman on August 19, 2009, 09:37:22 AM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 19, 2009, 09:31:32 AM
lance armstrong?

We all know how Lance became ahem .. "the greatest"

Cycling is an absolute rubbish sport, more cheating here than God knows what.
Post by: Overthebar! on August 19, 2009, 09:46:23 AM
wouldn't say it is a rubbish sport botman, at the top level it is prob one of the most difficult in the world in my eye. yes there are people who use performance enhancing drugs-but most of them are caught! sure there are plenty of sports where people take banned substances....
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on August 19, 2009, 10:18:00 AM
If we're including cricketers Don Bradman has to be there
Post by: stiffler on August 19, 2009, 10:31:46 AM
Michelle Smith

Cian O'Connor
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2009, 10:41:57 AM
Paula Radcliffe for the sport of skitter marathon running

Steve Davis for curing insomnia throughout most of the 80's albeit he was assisted by Cliff Thorburn.

Daly Thompson, the greatest sporting tash through the 80's

Brian Jacks, a horse of a man for the squats and push ups.

Paul Shelly of Tipp fame, no need to elaborate

Larry Bird for being one of the few decent white people at basketball

Borg, at ease on the centre court or a porn flick

Geoff Boycott, batting balls and his wife

Geoff Capes, monster of a caber tossing

Michelle Smyth (Debruin) for the biggest set of shoulders ever seen on someone living in Kilkenny, even bigger than Pat O'Neill's.

And the all time winner has to be Donal O'g Cusack for his unrelenting and near on obsessive pursuit of getting Club energise a greater market share of the highly competitve world of sports drinks.
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2009, 11:18:16 AM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 19, 2009, 09:46:23 AM
wouldn't say it is a rubbish sport botman, at the top level it is prob one of the most difficult in the world in my eye. yes there are people who use performance enhancing drugs-but most of them are caught! sure there are plenty of sports where people take banned substances....

The problem is that some of them are not caught. Hence we don't know which is which, that means there are likely to be great champions who are frauds while others do not get the respect they truly deserve. Cyclists are all to easily put into the former category.

The more eye-catching the story the more suspicious people become unfortunately.

Flo-Jo may just about deserve to be the greatest of all time looking at her records but no one ever mentions her, even though she never failed a test. Her career just doesn't look right even if it makes more sense than say Linford Christie or Kelly Holmes.

Bolt's times are out of this world but the world has seen him coming for years and predicted great things.

As for the thread the top decathletes to my mind are incredible men (heptathletes also) and the top one of those would be the world record holder Roman Šebrle.
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:22:30 AM
Rory McIlroy
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:22:57 AM
Oh, and David Healy too.
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2009, 11:24:30 AM
Quote from: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:22:57 AM
Oh, and David Healy too.

That's the very boy i was thinking of, get this couldn't remember his name and him a 'national' hero and all.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 19, 2009, 11:31:04 AM
more 'sportsmen'
Jockey wilson
David alcock
eddie the eagle edwards

well they are as valid as a lot of them on the above lists !
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:50:07 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 19, 2009, 11:31:04 AM
more 'sportsmen'
Jockey wilson
David alcock
eddie the eagle edwards

well they are as valid as a lot of them on the above lists !

That's a great shout there.  My first real hero, inspired millions.
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 11:54:42 AM
No way should Muhammid Ali be on this list. Hes a ****. He bit the hand that fed him. Without Joe Frazier he was a nobody. Frazier helped him out with money, somewhere to live, even got him his pro boxing licence back. and what did Ali do? call him al lthe names of the day Uncle Tom etc etc..taunting him..Muhammid Ali is a sc**bag. I like everyone else thought he was a legend just having seen him box, showmanship and all, but then i saw the documentary on the two of them, completely changed my mind. hes a ****.
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:56:29 AM
Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 11:54:42 AM
No way should Muhammid Ali be on this list. Hes a ****. He bit the hand that fed him. Without Joe Frazier he was a nobody. Frazier helped him out with money, somewhere to live, even got him his pro boxing licence back. and what did Ali do? call him al lthe names of the day Uncle Tom etc etc..taunting him..Muhammid Ali is a sc**bag. I like everyone else thought he was a legend just having seen him box, showmanship and all, but then i saw the documentary on the two of them, completely changed my mind. hes a ****.

He was pretty handy in the ring though. 

Sure didn't he knock out manys the man??
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 12:00:03 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:56:29 AM

He was pretty handy in the ring though. 

Sure didn't he knock out manys the man??

He did. But I still hate him. If people saw the documentary I'm talking about, it would change many a mind. I wanna see if i can find it on youtube or something..
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:03:02 PM
I've seen it.

It was presented totally from Frasier's point of view.

Maybe Frasier is bitter?
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 12:11:07 PM
found it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NANLS0tn14M
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 12:19:49 PM
U could have a point about bein bitter.
But Ali, called Frazier a gorilla and all, uncle tom and hes the enemy. he had no class. usain bolt is a showman, but he is that way because he has confidence in his ability, and he delivers. Ali talked down to other fighters, no class in that. ??
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:24:29 PM
Most boxers try to trash-talk their opponents.  Part of the aura surrounding Ali was that he did it so effectively.

Sledging occurs in every sport, and is very prominent in the GAA.  I've been called a lot worse than the 'enemy' on the pitch, and had grave insults about my family thrown my way.  I admit that in those times and in their social environment to be called a gorilla or an uncle tom would have been gravely offfensive, but is it any worse than what happens every sunday on GAA pitches throughout the country?

You might argue that it's worse because it is played out in the media, but each week premiership managers try to get into the head of opposing managers and players.  It's part and parcel of sport.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 12:29:10 PM
Ali is somewhat like Bolt in the way that he seemd to appear himself to be confident to give himself confidence in the whole. Being that way made him how he is. He was one of the greatest of all time and, maybe Ali is Bolt's idol, but Usain Bolt's last ever world record, whatever that may be, will never be broken.
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:30:13 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 12:29:10 PM
Ali is somewhat like Bolt in the way that he seemd to appear himself to be confident to give himself confidence in the whole. Being that way made him how he is. He was one of the greatest of all time and, maybe Ali is Bolt's idol, but Usain Bolt's last ever world record, whatever that may be, will never be broken.

You can't say that
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 12:35:04 PM
You make a good point alright, that it is part and parcel of boxing and even sport in general. What annoyed me so much was that he called himself the greatest, he gave himself that name, it was thrust upon the media and the world, and we ran with it. I had no idea that all the stuff in the background happend until i watched this docu. Im actually gunna watch it again now cuz iv got frig all to do 2day :). I have been called many a name by players on the feild, and insulted about my sisters and mother, but i show those people no respect, and they will get their just reward for such unsportsmanlike conduct.
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 19, 2009, 12:37:41 PM
part 2 of this documentery is the part all about frazier givin ali muny etc...
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on August 19, 2009, 12:37:52 PM
Papa Smurf
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:43:17 PM
Yeah he called himself the greatest and he was an unbelievable talker.  But sometimes when people have enough ability to back up their arrogance, people seem willling to let it go.  Ronaldo is a c*ck, no doubt about it.  But I absolutely adored seeing him in a United jersey. 

They say every genius is flawed.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 12:47:24 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 12:30:13 PM

You can't say that
Bolt will be the greatest sportsman who ever lived. Bolts run was car speed. He is truly phenomonal. I don't know if you understand just how amazing Tyson Gay ran that race, he was outstanding but 9.58 is like Kilkenny getting 50 points in this years All-Ireland Final
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on August 19, 2009, 12:49:46 PM
Elmo
Post by: Orior on August 19, 2009, 01:18:38 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 11:22:30 AM
Rory McIlroy

I sat in traffic yesterday beside boy-wonder yesterday and shouted over to him - he said hello back.

He's seems a small chap behind the wheel of a new Audi A4 estate.
Post by: Hereiam on August 19, 2009, 01:46:31 PM
Rocky

(http://www.sportcartoons.co.uk/caricatures/rocky.gif)
Post by: sammymaguire on August 19, 2009, 02:42:31 PM
boxers of all codes who get to the top of their profession (even Mike Tyson)
Post by: EC Unique on August 19, 2009, 02:50:17 PM
(https://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/26644337/049700.jpg)
Post by: moysider on August 19, 2009, 03:04:13 PM
Jack Johnson
Sugar Ray Robinson
Babe Ruth
Bobby Jones
Vincent O Brien
Ayrton Senna
Diego Maradona
Garrincha
Gareth Edwards
Reinhold Messner
Haile Gebresalaisse
Michael Phelps
Miruits Yifter
Valantino Rossi
Post by: Hardy on August 19, 2009, 03:13:24 PM
Can't let it go to the sixth page without a mention of Lester.

If we'll allow a broadish  definition of "sportsman", Vincent O'Brien challenges to rank as the greatest of all time, based on achievement and dominance of his sport on a worldwide basis. Certainly the leading Irishman by a country furlong.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on August 19, 2009, 03:49:22 PM
Michelle Smith...... What a legend
Post by: 118cmal on August 19, 2009, 03:52:51 PM
Audley Harrison
Robbie Savage
Joey Barton
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 04:01:40 PM

I dont know how anyone likes him either, apart from all that, he's racist too.

White men are the devil and all that  ::)
Post by: Diet Coke on August 19, 2009, 04:13:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 04:01:40 PM

I dont know how anyone likes him either, apart from all that, he's racist too.

Too much black pudding me thinks :D

White men are the devil and all that  ::)
Post by: delboy on August 19, 2009, 05:33:36 PM
Don bradman!!!
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 05:52:04 PM

Post by: stew on August 19, 2009, 06:26:10 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 05:52:04 PM

You have little to be doing, there are far too many touts on this site.

God forbid a mod read the site and decide for himself.

Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 06:27:30 PM
 :D if only you knew stew!

I have started posting simply saying "Reported" since the big "tout" debate!

I would not, and never have, reported anyone!

Each to their own!
Post by: Sandino on August 19, 2009, 06:45:03 PM
Personal opinion I know but George Best should be nowhere near this list.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 06:48:18 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 19, 2009, 06:45:03 PM

Post by: stew on August 19, 2009, 07:31:39 PM
Quote from: botman on August 19, 2009, 09:37:22 AM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 19, 2009, 09:31:32 AM
lance armstrong?

We all know how Lance became ahem .. "the greatest"

Cycling is an absolute rubbish sport, more cheating here than God knows what.

Lazy comment that, he is innocent until proven guilty, he was never caught and so he is clean, prove him otherwise.

As for me I would have to say Lance Armstrong. ;)
Post by: stew on August 19, 2009, 07:33:33 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 06:27:30 PM
:D if only you knew stew!

I have started posting simply saying "Reported" since the big "tout" debate!

I would not, and never have, reported anyone!

Each to their own!

Fair enough, made a call and got you now sideline. ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 07:34:50 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 19, 2009, 06:48:18 PM

Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2009, 08:27:19 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 08:28:15 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 19, 2009, 08:27:19 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?
probably more to do with him being a wife beater.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2009, 08:30:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 08:28:15 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Should someones private make a difference to them being regarded as a top Sportsman or not?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 08:36:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2009, 08:30:36 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Should someones private make a difference to them being regarded as a top Sportsman or not?
well to me, if I was thinking of great sportsman I'd consider everything. 

Even if you want to leave out his personal life how can he be considered a top sportsman when he destroyed his career with drink and never really reached his potential.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2009, 08:39:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 08:36:49 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Even if you want to leave out his personal life how can he be considered a top sportsman when he destroyed his career with drink and never really reached his potential.

I never said he was...
I do however think its unfair to judge who is or isn't a great sportsman by what type of person they are outside the sport.
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 19, 2009, 08:54:19 PM
Boxing
Sugar Ray Robinson
Ali
Joe Louis
Rocky Marciano

Football
Pele
(Discounted any player who took drugs like Maradona)

Basketball
Jordan

Golf
Tiger Woods
Jack Nicklaus

Tennis
Federer

Athletics
Bolt
Jesse Owens
Michael Johnson
Haile Gabrisellasie
Ed Moses

Cycling
Lance Armstrong

Swimming
Michael Phelps
Mark Spitz
Matt Biondi

Rowing
Steve Redgrave

Ice Hockey
Wayne Gretzky
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2009, 08:57:30 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on August 19, 2009, 08:54:19 PM

Football
Pele
(Discounted any player who took drugs like Maradona)

Rio Ferdinand will be gutted so
Post by: Sandino on August 19, 2009, 09:36:23 PM
To be the greatest sportsman of all time I think you would need to be the best in your choosen sport. George never made that level, again my opinion.
Post by: Family guy on August 19, 2009, 10:18:50 PM
Brian dooher at gaelc football
Title: Re: Greatest Sportsmen of all Time: New Poll for top 5 to Agree on.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 10:27:43 PM
I'm making a poll on this I need one person from 5 sports.......
This is the Provisional list: Top 5 we can agree on?

Pele
Michael Schumacher
Tiger Woods
Usain Bolt
Michael Jordan
Muhammed Ali
George Best
Post by: stew on August 19, 2009, 10:31:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 19, 2009, 08:36:49 PM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

He might not have pog but he was the worlds best player for quite a while imho. Her would have been a hero of mine and I was gutted to hear he was slapping the head off the wife, I am sure that was the drink as he was a gentle soul but that is no excuse. He was still one of the most exciting sportsmen of all time to watch and was a world class athlete in his own right.

Canavan to me is a bit of a G**** but he is in that class as well, absolutely sublime footballer and I think to be fair you have to set aside peoples shortcomings outside of the sport they played on a thread like this and judge them on their ability and performances.

Maurice Fitz is another genius, as good an athlete as I have ever seen.
Title: Re: Greatest Sportsmen of all Time/New Poll for top 5 to Agree on.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 10:35:18 PM
What's the criteria? Skill? Titles won? Athletic ability? How popular the sport is?

The horsey lads would tick all those boxes, but I reckon Michael Jordan is the greatest athlete I've seen, and he was undoubtedly a winner and had all the skills for basketball. The fact that he was good enough to be a professional minor league baseball player as well, albeit only for a short time, is another indication of his natural athletic ability.
Post by: No way ref on August 19, 2009, 10:44:05 PM
Daley Thompson and Jurgen the Kurgen
Post by: stew on August 19, 2009, 10:45:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 10:35:18 PM
What's the criteria? Skill? Titles won? Athletic ability? How popular the sport is?

The horsey lads would tick all those boxes, but I reckon Michael Jordan is the greatest athlete I've seen, and he was undoubtedly a winner and had all the skills for basketball. The fact that he was good enough to be a professional minor league baseball player as well, albeit only for a short time, is another indication of his natural athletic ability.

Dieon Saunders was a two sport stud, football and baseball, he was an incredible athlete.

Another wan has to be carl Lewis, phenominal athlete and a born winner and class act.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 10:56:24 PM
Quote from: stew on August 19, 2009, 10:45:32 PM

Dieon Saunders was a two sport stud, football and baseball, he was an incredible athlete.

Another wan has to be carl Lewis, phenominal athlete and a born winner and class act.

Aye, but 'Prime Time' didn't win as much as Jordan. Jordan basically won 6 NBA titles for the Bulls, and was MVP in all 6 finals, as well as league MVP 5 times. 14 times an All Star and 2 Gold Medals at the Olympics. Phenomenal in fairness.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 19, 2009, 11:01:30 PM
Jesse Owens for me...
Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 11:04:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 19, 2009, 11:00:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 10:56:24 PM

Jordan was a freak but people are still under selling the influence Scottie Pippen had on those teams.

Aye, but 'Prime Time' didn't win as much as Jordan. Jordan basically won 6 NBA titles for the Bulls, and was MVP in all 6 finals, as well as league MVP 5 times. 14 times an All Star and 2 Gold Medals at the Olympics. Phenomonal in fairness.

Without a doubt Pippen was class, but when Jordan went playing baseball for 2 years the Bulls weren't half the team. He came back, and they won 3 in a row again.

You don't win anything in a team sport on your own, but for his contribution to two 'three peats' I think Jordan was the best I've seen.
Post by: Minder on August 19, 2009, 11:09:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 19, 2009, 10:56:24 PM

The horsey lads would tick all those boxes, but I reckon Michael Jordan is the greatest athlete I've seen, and he was undoubtedly a winner and had all the skills for basketball. The fact that he was good enough to be a professional minor league baseball player as well, albeit only for a short time, is another indication of his natural athletic ability

Aye, but 'Prime Time' didn't win as much as Jordan. Jordan basically won 6 NBA titles for the Bulls, and was MVP in all 6 finals, as well as league MVP 5 times. 14 times an All Star and 2 Gold Medals at the Olympics. Phenomenal in fairness.
Not really a fair comparison as "Prime" could not influence what was happening on the offensive side of the ball. In fairness Jordan was the beat I have seen too, not just for talent but for doing it when it mattered.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 19, 2009, 11:10:32 PM
Tiger Woods for me
Title: Re: Greatest Sportsmen of all Time: New Poll for top 5 to Agree on.
Post by: stiffler on August 19, 2009, 11:15:50 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 10:27:43 PM

Pele
Michael Schumacher
Tiger Woods
Usain Bolt
Michael Jordan
Muhammed Ali
George Best

you need ali in there mate...
Post by: give her dixie on August 19, 2009, 11:30:09 PM
For me, Ayrton Senna was without doubt the best F1 driver I have seen. He was the fastest driver in an era of the finest drivers in the sport. Prost, Lauder, Mansell. His record of 63 poles is one that even Schumacher couldn't beat. (Although he beat every other record).

Magic Johnson gets the nod in front of Jordan. He was the complete player, and won 5 championships. His career was cut short due to HIV, and during the 80's, his duel with Larry Bird and the Celtics was just amazing. Majic winning 5 titles with the Lakers, and Bird 3 with the Celtics in the 80's. Magic's trademark "no look pass" was a sight to behold. Check out a few of his moments below:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5ftx7_magic-johnson-top-10-plays-career_sport

In golf, I would go for Jack Nickalus, however, Tiger is someting special.

Ali in boxing is a no brainer for me. Awesome.

Although drug cheating has tarnished cycling, I still regard Lance Armstrong as an incredible sportsman.

Colin McRae was something special, and to witness his driving on the stages was just mind blowing.
He was some driver, who only knew to go flat out, all the time!!!! May he rest in peace. Check him out in this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zwb-RNbdx5U

For his goal against England in '86, Maradonna gets my vote for soccer.

In GAA, as aTyrone man, Peter Canavan gets the nod all day long...................... Legend................

Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 19, 2009, 11:33:49 PM
Ali has to be in there.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 19, 2009, 11:35:53 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 10:27:43 PM

Pele
Michael Schumacher
Tiger Woods
Usain Bolt
Michael Jordan
Muhammed Ali
George Best

Why's Phil Taylor not on this list?? If Schumacher can get in for simply driving a car and Woods for hitting a small ball around a well maintained lawn then why not the Power!!
Post by: give her dixie on August 19, 2009, 11:42:33 PM
Why's Phil Taylor not on this list?? If Schumacher can get in for simply driving a car and Woods for hitting a small ball around a well maintained lawn then why not the Power!!

If you include Phil, what about Jockey Wilson?

To update my previous list, I have to include Alex Higgins. Genius on the green baize!
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2009, 12:00:33 AM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Would someone rue out an author for the Booker prize because they were crap at golf?

Ali should be in without question. Best should miss out simply because there were a couple better, Pele and Diego IMHO.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 20, 2009, 03:02:26 AM
Two definites then.

Boxing : Muhammed Ali
Basketball: Michael Jordan

One more for Athletics and two other major sports I,m thinking long distance runner or all round hero.

Sports Suggestions: Rugby, Soccer, GAA, Swimming, Ice Hockey, NFL, Baseball, Cricket, Cycling, Tennis, Golf, F1/Colin McCrae, Rowing
One from athletics and two from the list above, other sports  will not be considered unless overwhelmingly good examples
Post by: bcarrier on August 20, 2009, 07:37:46 AM
onepoll.com have already decided.

The top five Greatest Sportsman Ever are:

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele
5 Michael Schumacher(ANI)

Democracy doesnt work.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 08:16:42 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 20, 2009, 12:00:33 AM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Would someone rue out an author for the Booker prize because they were crap at golf?

Ali should be in without question. Best should miss out simply because there were a couple better, Pele and Diego IMHO.

I dont think you can be jailed, or looked down upon by almost all of society for being crap at golf.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on August 20, 2009, 11:22:37 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 20, 2009, 07:37:46 AM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

Redgrave. No chance. Fair play. 4 olympic golds. Sure Phelps lifted 8 last year?
Post by: Leo on August 20, 2009, 12:05:38 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on August 20, 2009, 11:22:37 AM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

Redgrave. No chance. Fair play. 4 olympic golds. Sure Phelps lifted 8 last year?

To delete Redgrave and leave Beckham in is farcical.

Possible football names are Pele, Ferenc Puskas and Beckenbauer - way ahead of all others.

Motorsport (which I like) is hard to justify because so much is about the car but if you want a driver it has to be Fangio or Jim Clark.

Michael Jordan and Eddie Merckx are contenders, surely.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 12:10:33 PM
Quote from: Leo on August 20, 2009, 12:05:38 PM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

To delete Redgrave and leave Beckham in is farcical.

Possible football names are Pele, Ferenc Puskas and Beckenbauer - way ahead of all others.

Motorsport (which I like) is hard to justify because so much is about the car but if you want a driver it has to be Fangio or Jim Clark.

Michael Jordan and Eddie Merckx are contenders, surely.

No chance. One of the worst baseball players I seen.
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2009, 12:16:25 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 08:16:42 AM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

I dont think you can be jailed, or looked down upon by almost all of society for being crap at golf.

Would being jailed or looked down upon change the fact that you were the best at what you did?
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 12:18:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 20, 2009, 12:16:25 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 08:16:42 AM

Why, 'cos he was a Prod?

Would being jailed or looked down upon change the fact that you were the best at what you did?

That depends on what that is.

If you're talking about football then no. But here's a stat for you:

Being good at football - not illegal
Beating your wife - illegal

:o
Post by: delboy on August 20, 2009, 12:27:46 PM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

Yeah but he won the 5 golds in five seperate olympics (edit to reflect it was five not four  :-[ ) and at one of the most gruelling sports there is.
Phelps got eight but look how many goals are up for grabs, all the different lengths, different styles, relays etc there is probably categories for with or without googles FFS.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 20, 2009, 12:29:34 PM
Quote from: delboy on August 20, 2009, 12:27:46 PM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

Yeah but he won the 4 golds in four seperate olympics and at one of the most gruelling sports there is.
Phelps got eight but look how many goals are up for grabs, all the different lengths, different styles, relays etc there is probably categories for with or without googles FFS.

Agree, four golds in four seperate Olympics is unbelievable.
Post by: 118cmal on August 20, 2009, 12:31:35 PM
Quote from: delboy on August 20, 2009, 12:27:46 PM

1 Muhammad Ali
2 Steve Redgrave
3 David Beckham
4 Pele

Democracy doesnt work.

Yeah but he won the 4 golds in four seperate olympics and at one of the most gruelling sports there is.

This definitely isn't true.  It is up to the individual athlete to decide whether or not to wear goggles.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 12:44:44 PM
What did David Beckham do to be mentioned in this thread?

And Steve Redgrave? No.

Have you boys been spending too long reading the Sun or something?

Muppet, even if you leave out George Best's off field antics he's still not in the list. 
Post by: thewobbler on August 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
Michael Jordan
Usain Bolt
Roger Federer
Tiger Woods
Don Bradman
Michael Phelps

Statistically and visibly the greatest sportsmen of all time in their respective fields, and each playing a popular sport. Almsot everyone else mentioned on this thread requires subjectivity or a lack of genuine competition to be placed on this list.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:25:51 PM

You forgot to mention drug user....
Post by: stiffler on August 20, 2009, 01:27:21 PM
Ali has to be no 1
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:28:38 PM
In boxing, both Robinson and Armstrong should be ahead of Ali.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:32:39 PM
The ignorance in this thread is beyond belief. People dismissing Redgrave offhand for no reason. Accept it or not, there'a a ridiculous bias against British sportsmen on this thread. Redgrave is without doubt one of the greatest. Also, he won five golds you dopes, at every Olympis from LA to Sydney, not four. OK, Phelpls won eight last year and six in Athens, but let's see if he's still winning gold medals wherever the 2020 games are held.
Post by: moysider on August 20, 2009, 01:34:37 PM
I think we need to look beyond just technical excellence. Henry Armstrong and Robinson arguably better at their craft and better champions than Ali but Ali captured the imagination of the globe.

Lester was a great jockey and Nijinsky a great athlete but it was Vincent O Brien that made it happen and redefined his sport.

Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 01:37:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:32:39 PM
The ignorance in this thread is beyond belief. People dismissing Redgrave offhand for no reason. Accept it or not, there'a a ridiculous bias against British sportsmen on this thread. Redgrave is without doubt one of the greatest. Also, he won five golds you dopes, at every Olympis from LA to Sydney, not four. OK, Phelpls won eight last year and six in Athens, but let's see if he's still winning gold medals wherever the 2020 games are held.
Why are you determined to turn this in to a political thread?

Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:37:45 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 20, 2009, 01:34:37 PM
I think we need to look beyond just technical excellence. Henry Armstrong and Robinson arguably better at their craft and better champions than Ali but Ali captured the imagination of the globe.

Lester was a great jockey and Nijinsky a great athlete but it was Vincent O Brien that made it happen and redefined his sport.

Sugar Ra was the greatest welterweight and middleweight of all time. Very nearly won the light-heavyweight as well except Joey Maxim was able to knock him out due to heat exhaustion after Ray boxed the ears off him.
Post by: stiffler on August 20, 2009, 01:37:58 PM

Very true..it depends on what you are judging as 'sportsman'. Ali admits himself that Robinson was the greatest boxer of all time, but Ali had the persona and exerburance to light up a sport.

Whoever mentioned Beckham needs wedged.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:39:40 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 01:37:38 PM

Because people's narrow-mindedness on this thread is limiting its scope. Feel free to disagree, but how some of the names mentioned here appear to be fine and then Redgrave's dismissed completely offhand is beyond me.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:41:38 PM
Quote from: stiffler on August 20, 2009, 01:37:58 PM

Very true..it depends on what you are judging as 'sportsman'. Ali admits himself that Robinson was the greatest boxer of all time, but Ali had the persona and exerburance to light up a sport.

Whoever mentioned Beckham needs wedged.

No-one mentioned Beckham. An external poll was quoted to show the ridiculousness of the whole thing. People were taking the piss out of the fact that Beckham was in it and then one poster who skimmed through the pages without actually reading the posts got indignant over Beckham's name.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 01:47:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:39:40 PM

Because people's narrow-mindedness on this thread is limiting its scope. Feel free to disagree, but how some of the names mentioned here appear to be fine and then Redgrave's dismissed completely offhand is beyond me.

What narrow-mindedness are you on about? Beckham? You think he's among the greatest sports men/women ever ffs? He's not among the greatest soccer players ever.  Similar to George Best, talent wise up there with the best but pissed it away and, in my eyes, goes out of the running.  How would you have him over Pele?

Redgrave, his success in his sport was  excellent yes, but doesnt deserve a place with some of the names listed here.  Rowing a boat takes stamina and endurance, not talent or skill. 

If we were all south americans none of those names would be mentioned in a discussion like this but sure lets add a british name for the sake of it to show there's no hard feelings and we're not narrow minded.

and btw, I know it was an external poll that quoted Beckham and Redgrave, I was talking about another poster leaving Beckham in.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:53:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 01:47:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 01:39:40 PM

What narrow-mindedness are you on about? Beckham? You think he's among the greatest sports men/women ever ffs? He's not among the greatest soccer players ever.  Similar to George Best, talent wise up there with the best but pissed it away and, in my eyes, goes out of the running.  How would you have him over Pele?

Redgrave, his success in his sport was  excellent yes, but doesnt deserve a place with some of the names listed here.  Rowing a boat takes stamina and endurance, not talent or skill. 

If we were all south americans none of those names would be mentioned in a discussion like this but sure lets add a british name for the sake of it to show there's no hard feelings and we're not narrow minded.

and btw, I know it was an external poll that quoted Beckham and Redgrave, I was talking about another poster leaving Beckham in.

Feel free to read my last post re Beckham. Then very carefully re-read the bit where I mentioned people skimming through the thread and not reading the detail in posts. Not once did I mention Beckham as a candidate.

Tell me this Pints, have you ever done any rowing? For some reason I suspect not, but I'm not quite sure why. Oh wait, maybe it's the bit where you said rowing needs neither talent nor skill. It's one of the most technical sports around FFS. If you're in a boat with seven others and mistime a stroke it's not as if the other seven can compensate for you- everything gets messed up.
Post by: delboy on August 20, 2009, 01:58:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 01:47:58 PM

POG i bet after a stint in a single scull boat you'd change your opinion, probably after the first 50 or 60 times falling in i would have thought  :D

Redgrave is certainly recognised as one of the greatest ever olympians, i would say that merits at least some discussion about his possible inclusion, im suprised that some are simply dismissing his acheivements.
Post by: bcarrier on August 20, 2009, 02:02:43 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
Michael Jordan
Usain Bolt
Roger Federer
Tiger Woods
Don Bradman
Michael Phelps

Statistically and visibly the greatest sportsmen of all time in their respective fields, and each playing a popular sport. Almsot everyone else mentioned on this thread requires subjectivity or a lack of genuine competition to be placed on this list.

Thats a good list Wobbler but is Woods better than Nicklaus ? A week ago he was going to be winning USPGA and equaling Nicklaus's record  by winning all majors up to an including next years open at St Andrews. Now you might begin to wonder if he will reach it at all. He probably will  but only because most of the rest top 20 are useless...saw this on another board ...

The reason Pod has won 3 majors is that they are all shyte.
Tiger won a major with a broken leg.
Pod's last major win was with an injured hand.
In other recent majors we have seen Greg Norman & Tom Watson leading for extended periods until they realised they needed a mid afternoon nap.
An amateur won the Irish Open & the current USPGA champion is a 37year old who only started playing golf when he was 19.
It all points to one thing.
They are all useless.

Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:03:39 PM
Delboy - I'd die in the boat after about 2 minutes! I'm not saying his success wasnt great, it was amazing but for me, he's not up there with some of the other people named. 

Gallsman, I cant be f**king arsed, you come on to this thread accusing people of being biased or anti british or some shite and accuse me or arguing. 

anyway, wobbler's list is close to the mark for me.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:09:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:03:39 PM
Delboy - I'd die in the boat after about 2 minutes! I'm not saying his success wasnt great, it was amazing but for me, he's not up there with some of the other people named. 

Gallsman, I cant be f**king arsed, you come on to this thread accusing people of being biased or anti british or some shite and accuse me or arguing. 

Hang on now. You definitively stated that rowing requires neither talent nor skill. I'm asking you to justify this from personal experience. I'll ask again. Do you have any experience of rowing that can justify your statement that rowing requires neither talent nor skill?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:12:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:09:28 PM

Hang on now. You definitively stated that rowing requires neither talent nor skill. I'm asking you to justify this from personal experience. I'll ask again. Do you have any experience of rowing that can justify your statement that rowing requires neither talent nor skill?

yeah, I rowed for cambridge.
Post by: thewobbler on August 20, 2009, 02:13:28 PM
In other recent majors we have seen Greg Norman & Tom Watson leading for extended periods until they realised they needed a mid afternoon nap.
An amateur won the Irish Open & the current USPGA champion is a 37year old who only started playing golf when he was 19.
They are all useless.

Given the ever-increasing technological, physical and mental strides taken by the human race, as well as the increasing global stature of the game, it would be a staggering anomaly if the current crop of golfers were anything other than the best ever. Golf is, after all, a sport that can be measured statistically. Every top-drawer course has had to be lengthened and tightened because of Woods and co.

Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:17:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:12:18 PM

I'll take that as a "no". That's fine, that's all I wanted to know. So what's the problem with rowing for you pints that you degrade it even though you've no experience of it. Is it that it's seen as a toff's sport?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:20:07 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:17:23 PM

I'll take that as a "no". That's fine, that's all I wanted to know. So what's the problem with rowing for you pints that you degrade it even though you've no experience of it. Is it that it's seen as a toff's sport?
Aye and English, I'm bigoted like that, there could be no other reason for me having an opinion on it.   ::)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 20, 2009, 02:20:37 PM

Vincent was probably the only Irishman to have ever truly dominated a sport on a world stage. He deserves to be nominated for that alone if we're being parochial.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:26:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:20:07 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:17:23 PM

Aye and English, I'm bigoted like that, there could be no other reason for me having an opinion on it.   ::)

I know you're a bigot, but that's not the point. You've already admitted you have no basis for dismissing rowing as a sport requiring no talent or skill, so you must have another objection to it. Perhaps this time you could answer the question instead of resorting to sarcastic juvenile drivel.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:29:24 PM
I see no point in discussing it further with you, it's my opinion, get over it.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 20, 2009, 02:32:31 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
Michael Jordan
Usain Bolt
Roger Federer
Tiger Woods
Don Bradman
Michael Phelps

agree with those plus lance armstrong
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 02:35:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 02:29:24 PM
I see no point in discussing it further with you, it's my opinion, get over it.

Baseless opinions. That's usually a foundation for bigotry, isn't it?! Oh, and we haven't been discussing anything- I've just been dissecting your ridiculous posts and you haven't answered any of the questions a put to you. Doesn't count as discussion.
Post by: bcarrier on August 20, 2009, 02:53:05 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 20, 2009, 02:13:28 PM
They are all useless.

Given the ever-increasing technological, physical and mental strides taken by the human race, as well as the increasing global stature of the game, it would be a staggering anomaly if the current crop of golfers were anything other than the best ever. Golf is, after all, a sport that can be measured statistically. Every top-drawer course has had to be lengthened and tightened because of Woods and co.

They have certainly proved that they are better fed and with current technology they can hit it further .Up until recently I would have probably believed that todays top sportsmen in whatever sport you choose are the best ever.  The Tom Watson thing has made me question that.

Post by: Sandino on August 20, 2009, 02:56:30 PM
Gallsman, when I expressed my opinion that George Best should not be included in this list your response was ''Why cos he's a prod'' That to me is a reply from someone who wants to make this a political and sporting issue. Phelps for me should not be on the list, his medal haul comes from a sport that has multipal chances to win medals in similar events at the olympics.

For me, Ray Robinson -  Ali - Jordan as always personal opinion.
Post by: Diet Coke on August 20, 2009, 03:01:37 PM
Jack Nicklaus ahead of Woods any day of the week.....based on the facts he won Majors over 3 decades, and equipment, plus he started as a pro with very little compared to Woods 20 million. 
Post by: Hardy on August 20, 2009, 03:13:38 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 20, 2009, 02:56:30 PMPhelps for me should not be on the list.

Is he a prod?

If we're talknig boxers, I have to put in a word for Rocky Marciano. Only man to retire undefeated as heavyweight champion - when the heavyweight championship was real.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on August 20, 2009, 03:36:06 PM
Jesus oh i wish i never had said no to Steve Redgrave. POG and Galls are going to meet for a boxing match after this.  ;D

Top 5 Sports People in my opinion:
1) Zidane (minus the headbutt)
2) Michael Jordan
3) Tiger Woods
4) Rocky Marciano
5) Ali

The reason for this is beacuse I have taken worldwide massive sports and put who I believe to be the best at each in numbers 1-4 then Ali as I just think he is a cool mofo. Dont think there has ever been the same persona in a sport. Having the cockyness yet the ability to back it up is class.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 20, 2009, 03:37:57 PM
QuoteJesus oh i wish i never had said no to Steve Redgrave. POG and Galls are going to meet for a boxing match after this.
Nah but Galls might throw his cucumber sandwich in my face.
Post by: mc_grens on August 20, 2009, 04:03:07 PM
I didn't trawl through the whole 11 pages to see if this has been said already...

How the Fek is Michael Jordan not on the original list!!!
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2009, 04:08:48 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on August 20, 2009, 03:36:06 PM
Jesus oh i wish i never had said no to Steve Redgrave. POG and Galls are going to meet for a boxing match after this.  ;D

2) Michael Jordan
3) Tiger Woods
4) Rocky Marciano
5) Ali

The reason for this is beacuse I have taken worldwide massive sports and put who I believe to be the best at each in numbers 1-4 then Ali as I just think he is a cool mofo. Dont think there has ever been the same persona in a sport. Having the cockyness yet the ability to back it up is class.

Gonna finalise a list.

1. Ali
2. Michael Jordan
3. Pele
4. Tiger Woods
5. Roman Sebrle (I just personally think the Decathletes are something else, truly the best athletes and his is still the world record holder and won 9 Golds at Euro/World/Olympic level along with 4 silver and 4 bronze)
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 04:47:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 20, 2009, 03:13:38 PM
Quote from: Sandino on August 20, 2009, 02:56:30 PMPhelps for me should not be on the list.

Is he a prod?

If we're talknig boxers, I have to put in a word for Rocky Marciano. Only man to retire undefeated as heavyweight champion - when the heavyweight championship was real.

Debatable. Lots of evidence that Marciano's manager doctored his record from earlier fights. Tough bugger though.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on August 20, 2009, 07:45:01 PM
Usain Bolt?
Post by: Tyrones own on August 20, 2009, 08:13:18 PM
Lance... beyond a shadow of a doubt 8)
Jordan
Woods
Phelps
Marciano.
Post by: moysider on August 20, 2009, 08:47:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 20, 2009, 04:08:48 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on August 20, 2009, 03:36:06 PM

2) Michael Jordan
3) Tiger Woods
4) Rocky Marciano
5) Ali

Gonna finalise a list.

1. Ali
2. Michael Jordan
3. Pele
4. Tiger Woods
5. Roman Sebrle (I just personally think the Decathletes are something else, truly the best athletes and his is still the world record holder and won 9 Golds at Euro/World/Olympic level along with 4 silver and 4 bronze)

I would have a problem with a decathlete. Undoubtedly great all round but very inferior to the specialists in each event. I suspect many end up as decathletes because they could nt make it as sprinters, jumpers or throwers. Jordan was a great but it was basketball which is about as worthy as volleyball or olympic handball.

I remember years ago [12-15] The Sunday Times did a wonderful series of magazines profiling the best sportspeople of all time. Should have kept them. I forget exactly how many profiled but there were hundreds anyway. Anybody remember? If memory serves me correctly - and it probably does nt - only 1 hurler and 1 footballer featured. Ring and O Connell. I think Henry VIII got mentioned for hawking/falconry.

Surprised nobody here mentioned Robin Hood or William Tell for archery.
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 09:18:00 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2009, 04:47:27 PMDebatable. Lots of evidence that Marciano's manager doctored his record from earlier fights.
Interesting, Gallsman. It seems there's been a long-standing controversy about this that I never heard of before. There's a good account of the story here (http://www.eastsideboxing.com/boxing-news/Rocky-Marciano.php). A good read. I don't know how authoritative the source is, but it presents a convincing case that Rocky's pro record was clean.

In summary, he conducted a "haphazard" amateur career, including competing in the Golden Gloves and the AAU championships. He lost four of these amateur fights. In the course of this amateur career, in 1947, Rocky fought one fight as a "pro" – really just a local tournament he entered to make a few bucks - under the name "Rocky Mack" (to prevent his mother finding out!). Contrary to the claims about the doctored record, he won this fight.

Here's a description of his amateur career from the piece:

Marciano's amateur career was a haphazard affair with no professional guidance. He didn't have a gym to train in, nor anyone to train him other than his childhood friend Allie Columbo. In fact, he didn't have a professional trainer until his 5th pro fight, when Charlie Goldman was assigned to train him under the management of Al Weil. He simply signed up to fight in major tournaments and did surprising well against men who were fighting very often as amateurs. He had 12 fights and lost 4, two because of hand injuries, once for disqualification, and one on a questionable decision.

It seems he never lost a fight as a pro, including the one he's most often quoted as losing as "Rocky Mack":

Long after he became famous as heavyweight champion, fight fans from the New England area confused some of his amateur losses with his pro fights, going so far as to insist that he'd been beaten under the name of Rocky Mack. The confusion is understandable, considering how he mixed in that single pro fight under the name of Mack with his amateur fights. But the record is clear on who he fought as Rocky Mack and who won the fight. Nat Fleischer investigated the fight record of Marciano and had no doubt that all his pro fights were on record and all were victories. Likewise, the losses he suffered as an amateur were all in sanctioned amateur tournaments, dispelling any suspicion that they were really pro fights.
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 09:23:24 AM
Hard to see Ali as the Greatest Sportsman of all time when he isnt even the greatest boxer of all time

He would be up there mind you, if we are talking about the Greatest Sporting Personality of all time

Post by: Main Street on August 21, 2009, 11:49:52 AM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 09:23:24 AM
Hard to see Ali as the Greatest Sportsman of all time when he isnt even the greatest boxer of all time

He would be up there mind you, if we are talking about the Greatest Sporting Personality of all time
He is regarded in most lists I have seen as the best heavyweight of all time.
In lists for best boxer of all time, it looks to between Ali and Sugar Ray as the most consistently voted boxers.

But shove the two of them in the ring at the same time at their peak, wouldn't most select Ali to be the winner :)

Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 11:59:01 AM
Provisional list for Poll.
(In no particular order)

Michael Jordan
Muhammed Ali
Usain Bolt
Tiger Woods
Pele.

Yeah?
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:09:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 21, 2009, 11:49:52 AM

In lists for best boxer of all time, it looks to between Ali and Sugar Ray as the most consistently voted boxers.

But shove the two of them in the ring at the same time at their peak, wouldn't most select Ali to be the winner :)

Sugar Ray & Rocky Marciano were as good as if not better IMHO
It was his persona along with his ability that made him who he is today

Surely it would be easier to pick the sports, then pick the best sportsman.
Only the most popular sports should be chosen
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 21, 2009, 12:11:40 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 11:59:01 AM
Provisional list for Poll.
(In no particular order)

Michael Jordan
Muhammed Ali
Usain Bolt
Tiger Woods
Pele.
You may have opened a can of worms with that one, many people would put Maradona before Pele, not me though.

Post by: Declan on August 21, 2009, 12:16:56 PM
QuoteSugar Ray & Rocky Marciano were as good as if not better IMHO

Robinson yes - Marciano No - IMO.

Would still have Nicklaus ahead of Woods though
Jordan - fair enough
Pele- Yes
Post by: gallsman on August 21, 2009, 12:17:55 PM

Shove them in the ring? Bit of a dodgy comparison to make due to the weight difference. On a pound for pound basis, Sugar Ray would be recognised as the best.
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:29:43 PM
As I said we should recognise the sports then the sportsmen
Post by: gallsman on August 21, 2009, 12:42:06 PM
This is an impossible poll to make due to there being at least another ten people who could be put on the list. As full back says, recognise the worldwide sports, and then select one from each. Here's my stab:

Soccerball - Pele
American Sports (I'll group them as one, mainly basketball considering a worldwide option) - Magic Johnson
Tennis - Rod Laver (Yes, Fed is great, but let's see him win the grand slam twice)
Golf - Jack Nicklaus
Athletics - Yifter/Gebreselaisse/Bekele/Tulu/Bolt/Zelezny/Riedl
Swimming - Michael Phelps
Cricket - Don Bradman
Cycling - Eddy Mercckx (more complete, all round rider than Lance)
Boxing - Sugar Ray Robinson

**Lol. The extent of his fame, Gebreselaisse isn't highlighted by the spell-checker!
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:55:02 PM
Soccer - Pele
Basketball - Jordan
Motor Sport - Schumacher/Fangio
Tennis - Federer
Athletics - Bolt
Golf - Nicklaus
Boxing - Sugar Ray Robinson
Cricket - Bradman
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:12:24 PM

Soccer - Maradona
Basketball -  ::)
Motor Sport - Schumacher
Tennis - Sampras
Athletics - Carl Lewis
Golf - Woods
Boxing - Ali
Cricket -  ::)
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:16:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:12:24 PM

Soccer - Maradona
Motor Sport - Schumacher
Tennis - Sampras
Athletics - Carl Lewis
Golf - Woods
Boxing - Ali
i would 1005 agree with you there except Carl Lewis was on drugs. A pity because he was a fantastic athlete.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:17:57 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:16:05 PM

Soccer - Maradona
Motor Sport - Schumacher
Tennis - Sampras
Athletics - Carl Lewis
Golf - Woods
Boxing - Ali
i would 1005 agree with you there except Carl Lewis was on drugs. A pity because he was a fantastic athlete.

In 2003, Dr. Wade Exum, the United States Olympic Committee's director of drug control administration from 1991 to 2000, gave copies of documents to Sports Illustrated which revealed that some 100 American athletes who failed drug tests and should have been prevented from competing in the Olympics were nevertheless cleared to compete. Among those athletes was Carl Lewis.
It was revealed that Lewis tested positive three times before the 1988 Olympics for pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine, banned stimulants and bronchiodilators also found in cold medication, and had been banned from the Seoul Olympics and from competition for six months. The USOC accepted his claim of inadvertent use and overturned the decision. Fellow Santa Monica Track Club teammates Joe DeLoach and Floyd Heard were also found to have the same banned stimulants in their systems, and were cleared to compete for the same reason.[71][72]
The positive results occurred at the Olympic Trials in July 1988 where athletes were required to declare on the drug-testing forms "over-the-counter medication, prescription drugs and any other substances you have taken by mouth, injection or by suppository."
"Carl did nothing wrong. There was never intent. He was never told, you violated the rules," said Martin D. Singer, Lewis' lawyer, who also said that Lewis had inadvertently taken the banned stimulants in an over-the-counter herbal remedy.[73] "The only thing I can say is I think it's unfortunate what Wade Exum is trying to do," said Lewis. "I don't know what people are trying to make out of nothing because everyone was treated the same, so what are we talking about? I don't get it
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:20:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2009, 01:17:57 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 01:16:05 PM

Soccer - Maradona
Motor Sport - Schumacher
Tennis - Sampras
Athletics - Carl Lewis
Golf - Woods
Boxing - Ali

In 2003, Dr. Wade Exum, the United States Olympic Committee's director of drug control administration from 1991 to 2000, gave copies of documents to Sports Illustrated which revealed that some 100 American athletes who failed drug tests and should have been prevented from competing in the Olympics were nevertheless cleared to compete. Among those athletes was Carl Lewis.
It was revealed that Lewis tested positive three times before the 1988 Olympics for pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine, banned stimulants and bronchiodilators also found in cold medication, and had been banned from the Seoul Olympics and from competition for six months. The USOC accepted his claim of inadvertent use and overturned the decision. Fellow Santa Monica Track Club teammates Joe DeLoach and Floyd Heard were also found to have the same banned stimulants in their systems, and were cleared to compete for the same reason.[71][72]
The positive results occurred at the Olympic Trials in July 1988 where athletes were required to declare on the drug-testing forms "over-the-counter medication, prescription drugs and any other substances you have taken by mouth, injection or by suppository."
"Carl did nothing wrong. There was never intent. He was never told, you violated the rules," said Martin D. Singer, Lewis' lawyer, who also said that Lewis had inadvertently taken the banned stimulants in an over-the-counter herbal remedy.[73] "The only thing I can say is I think it's unfortunate what Wade Exum is trying to do," said Lewis. "I don't know what people are trying to make out of nothing because everyone was treated the same, so what are we talking about? I don't get it
Fairly thorough answer. Retracted.
Post by: Main Street on August 21, 2009, 01:27:57 PM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:09:29 PM

You are referring to personal opinion which is what this thread is about.
I am referring to credible 'all time lists'  in response to you saying Ali "isnt even the greatest boxer of all time"

Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 01:29:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 21, 2009, 01:27:57 PM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 12:09:29 PM

You are referring to personal opinion which is what this thread is about.
I am referring to credible 'all time lists'  in response to you saying Ali "isnt even the greatest boxer of all time"

That is my personal opinion..........
Post by: muppet on August 21, 2009, 02:29:47 PM
Is it only me or is it daft having Bolt on any such list?

The other candidates were great champions who proved themselves over and over again, whereas brilliant as Bolt is, if someone beats those records next year is he then off the list?

We should judge him after many years at the top, not just one.

Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:49:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 21, 2009, 02:29:47 PM

The other candidates were great champions who proved themselves over and over again, whereas brilliant as Bolt is, if someone beats those records next year is he then off the list?

Enough said. I don't think you understand how momentous that is.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 21, 2009, 02:54:40 PM
Phil Taylor - World Champion 1990, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009

(http://www.mrdarts.co.uk/phil_taylor_350_350x240.jpg)

Usain Bolt eat your heart out!!
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:57:02 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 21, 2009, 02:54:40 PM
Phil Taylor - World Champion 1990, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009

(http://www.mrdarts.co.uk/phil_taylor_350_350x240.jpg)

Usain Bolt eat your heart out!!
Usain Bolt's faster than that dart.... ;D
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:10:30 PM

No - it would be daft having you on it too, heh heh.

Just a passing observation:
Motor"sport" -  ::)
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 03:12:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:10:30 PM

Why the eyes?
Is it not a sport in your mind?
Post by: muppet on August 21, 2009, 03:15:15 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:49:57 PM

I don't think you know how to think.
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:44:04 PM
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 03:12:45 PM

Why the eyes?

No.
Post by: full back on August 21, 2009, 03:51:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:44:04 PM

Why the eyes?

No.

Why?
Post by: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 04:00:57 PM
Loads
Quote from: full back on August 21, 2009, 03:51:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 03:44:04 PM

Why the eyes?

No.

Why?

Because I don't like it.

Seriously, many reasons. (I'm talking F1, mostly. Rallying I just don't get at all. Vroooommmmm! Five minutes later, Vroooommmmm! again. And you don't know who's leading or who's won until you go home.

F1 lacks the tension you'd normally associate with sport. Nothing happens. Any sport where the practice is given almost equal billing with the event has a problem, in my opinion. The most exciting event in any Grand Prix race is the tyre changing. Says it all. The driver doesn't seem to make much difference. It should be the engineers and the tyre changes on the podium I'd say. It doesn't seem to meet any definition of sport that most people would accept.

Worst of all, it's corrupt. People slow down to let others win. In any other sport, professional or amateur, when money is gambled on the outcome, that would be seen as fraud and people would go to jail.

As you can gather, I just can't stand it.
Post by: muppet on August 21, 2009, 04:06:30 PM

In my day I also also did 9.58 seconds (the time it took from start of alarm clock to alarm clock hitting wall) and 19.19 seconds (for the 100m).
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 21, 2009, 04:08:07 PM
Doesn't really matter if someone can't 'understand' F1, it's still a sport with a global audience.

I still wouldn't have any of them on the 'Greatest Sportsmen of all Time" poll, irrelevant of how good/successful they are in their own sport.
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 21, 2009, 07:58:34 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 19, 2009, 12:47:24 PM

You can't say that
Bolt will be the greatest sportsman who ever lived. Bolts run was car speed. He is truly phenomonal. I don't know if you understand just how amazing Tyson Gay ran that race, he was outstanding but 9.58 is like Kilkenny getting 50 points in this years All-Ireland Final

If Bolt were to hit 50 pts for the Cats in an AI final, he'd get my vote.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 11:01:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 21, 2009, 04:06:30 PM

In my day I also also did 9.58 seconds (the time it took from start of alarm clock to alarm clock hitting wall) and 19.19 seconds (for the 100m).
I honestly couldn't care less. Bolt is one of a kind. You and your single minded mind should not be listened o if Bolt isn't a great athlete. Now that I know you're an idiot, I'll know not to listen in future.
Post by: muppet on August 22, 2009, 05:43:34 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 11:01:42 PM

I honestly couldn't care less. Bolt is one of a kind. You and your single minded mind should not be listened o if Bolt isn't a great athlete. Now that I know you're an idiot, I'll know not to listen in future.

There is a big difference in disagreeing with saying Bolt is the greatest athlete of all time, which is the title of the thread which you yourself started and the gibberish you just posted. I doubt if you understand that though.  ::)
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 22, 2009, 06:25:25 PM
Any list without Jesse Owens is a farce in my opinion.
Post by: supersub on August 22, 2009, 06:57:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 21, 2009, 03:15:15 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 21, 2009, 02:49:57 PM

I don't think you know how to think.

Very very true. How can you put him on this list an leave out people like sir steve redgrave, jessie owens, jack nicklaus etc?

There is a far wider spectrum of sports people who need to be included in the poll. You cant put Bolt in the "all time" list just becuase hes broken a couple of world records. What about the other people who broke world records why arnt they there?

Who has done what steve redgrave has done FIVE olympic gold medals in an endurance event over 16 years? This is incredible- not to mention his other world titles.

Furthermore tiger woods is an exceptional talent but he hasnt event become the most successful golfer of all time yet never mind sportsperson! What about Jack Nicklaus then? Also jessie owens as someone else rightly mentioned. Too many forgotten about in my opinion. Nie impossible poll to cast a vote on in reality as it is very hard to pick just one!
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 23, 2009, 05:03:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 22, 2009, 05:43:34 PM

There is a big difference in disagreeing with saying Bolt is the greatest athlete of all time, which is the title of the thread which you yourself started and the gibberish you just posted. I doubt if you understand that though.  ::)
I never once said he is the best, but is one of the best you spanner, hence the f**king thread. 5 world records in a year?  Is ok I suppose the oly man in history ever to do it. Get your f**king facts right w**ker
Post by: muppet on August 23, 2009, 05:12:58 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 23, 2009, 05:03:13 PM

I never once said he is the best, but is one of the best you spanner, hence the f**king thread. 5 world records in a year?  Is ok I suppose the oly man in history ever to do it. Get your f**king facts right w**ker

You can't say that

Not very bright are you?

And aren't you supposed to be ignoring me?

Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 24, 2009, 03:21:31 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 23, 2009, 05:12:58 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on August 23, 2009, 05:03:13 PM

You can't say that

Not very bright are you?

And aren't you supposed to be ignoring me?
Here sorry about all that crap, had an almightily shite couple of days. Bolt will be in history, maybe not the best but will definitely be remembered. I know what you're saying and hoestly, you are talking a lot of sense., but he is making history.

mea culpa
And once again, I sincerely apologise.