Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DennistheMenace on August 11, 2009, 10:03:08 PM

Title: Ships that are tall
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 11, 2009, 10:03:08 PM
Anyone going to see the tall ships in Belfast at the end of the week ?

Never seems to be off the news.

http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/tallships/ (http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/tallships/)

Title: Re: Ships that are tall
Post by: red hander on August 11, 2009, 11:28:01 PM
I'm sick to death of it ... the hype is desperate.  I see a couple of Dutch matelots got a lovely warm welcome to Province last night in Ballycastle when they were battered by yobs wielding golf clubs ... plus ca change
Post by: armaghniac on August 11, 2009, 11:34:31 PM
QuoteI see a couple of Dutch matelots got a lovely warm welcome to Province last night in Ballycastle when they were battered by yobs wielding golf clubs ... plus ca change

Golf clubs, that's posh. Things are on the up.
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 11:46:03 PM
How tall are the tall ships? Are they tall?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 12, 2009, 12:07:38 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 11:46:03 PM
How tall are the tall ships? Are they tall?

http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=how+tall+are+the+tall+ships%3F&meta=&aq=f&oq=
Post by: Maguire01 on August 12, 2009, 12:14:44 AM
I think the continental market is on - some great food there. There's also live music.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 12, 2009, 12:24:33 AM
More info here

http://www.gotobelfast.com/tall_ships_2009/tall_ships_event_highlights.aspx (http://www.gotobelfast.com/tall_ships_2009/tall_ships_event_highlights.aspx)
Post by: Maguire01 on August 12, 2009, 12:28:58 AM
You can't please everyone. It's going to be middle of the road and family orientated.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 12, 2009, 12:37:26 AM
Ah the tall ships they really are the best thing in the world at the moment, if you had ever sailed on one of these things you would understand the might and majesty and brilliance of these sailing craft.................but I haven't and I certainly don't they were in Dublin once and I hope they never come back.
Post by: ziggysego on August 12, 2009, 12:38:03 AM
I'm sure it's a grand wee day out for the family, but it was overkill on the telly. Live satellite link up to the Europa, which rarely worked.  ::)
Post by: Maguire01 on August 12, 2009, 12:45:21 AM
It's overkill on the TV alright - keeping Newsline in 'news'. At the same time, they're expecting a few hundred thousand people over the weekend, which is a massive amount of people. In that context, and considering the coverage of the Irish League, the Tall Ships should have blanket coverage for the next 15-20 years!
Post by: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:22:56 AM
Sure its something different

Sitting looking at the ships here & at least it keeps me entertained
They reckon there will be up to 400,000 visitors between Thurs & Sun

Stalls, Continental markets, amusements, tall ships & I think there is a strongman competition on as well so there is plenty on.

BTW, them boys on the ships do some work
Some boy is on the speaker to them just after 7am & they are scrubbing decks by 7.30am after their morning prayers

No GAAboard for them
Post by: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 09:30:43 AM
Quote from: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:22:56 AM

Stalls, Continental markets, amusements, tall ships & I think there is a strongman competition on as well so there is plenty on.

Some boy is on the speaker to them just after 7am & they are scrubbing decks by 7.30am after their morning prayers

No GAAboard for them

I'm on my way.
Post by: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:32:39 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 09:30:43 AM

No GAAboard for them

I'm on my way.

Good man sk
They are looking someone to steer the lorry they are pulling
Post by: Lazer on August 12, 2009, 09:44:20 AM
I love them!

Its something different to stare out the window at when i'm "working".

They were building the funfair yesterday and the continential market going up today. Can't wait for it to open tomorrow!
Post by: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:47:04 AM
Quote from: Lazer on August 12, 2009, 09:44:20 AM
I love them!

They were building the funfair yesterday and the continential market going up today. Can't wait for it to open tomorrow!

:o :o
Dont tell me you work in the same office as me ???
Post by: Lazer on August 12, 2009, 09:50:43 AM
Quote from: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:47:04 AM
Quote from: Lazer on August 12, 2009, 09:44:20 AM
I love them!

:o :o
Dont tell me you work in the same office as me ???

I think i do!
Post by: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 09:57:44 AM
Quote from: full back on August 12, 2009, 09:32:39 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 09:30:43 AM

No GAAboard for them

I'm on my way.

Good man sk
They are looking someone to steer the lorry they are pulling

:D very good!
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 12, 2009, 10:00:54 AM

No GAAboard for them

Not forgetting the harbour police. They can play at being real police for 3 - 4 days as well ;)
Post by: full back on August 12, 2009, 10:02:56 AM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 12, 2009, 10:00:54 AM

No GAAboard for them

Not forgetting the harbour police. They can play at being real police for 3 - 4 days as well ;)

Correct, because for the rest of the year the are glorified traffic wardens >:( ::)

Where do you work Lazer?
Are you in the policing board? :o
Post by: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 10:05:55 AM
There's plenty of good local bands playing at the event.

QuoteThursday

5.50 - 6.20 - Nakatomi Towers

6.40 - 7.10 - Silhouette

7.40 - 8.10 - Olympic Lifts

8.30 - 9.00 - Cutaways

Friday

5.50 - 6.20 - The Farriers

6.40 - 7.10 - Queer Giraffes

7.40 - 8.10 - Benedict LA

8.30 - 9.00 - John D'arcy

Saturday

4.10 - 4.40 - Uber Glitterati

5.00 - 5.30 - Silhouette

5.50 - 6.20 - Queer Giraffes

6.40 - 7.10 Nakatomi Towers

7.40 - 8.10 The Farriers

8.30 - 9.00 Benedict LA

Sunday

1.50 - 2.20 Benedict LA

2.40 - 3.10 Cutaways

3.30 - 4.00 A Plastic Rose

I think they are all at the Lavery's stage.  You should try and catch Jackson Cage and John Shelly and the Creatures at the Clarendon Dock stage as well.
Post by: Lazer on August 12, 2009, 10:09:12 AM
The glorified traffic wardens are having fun this week anyway - its even harder to park than usual!

I think for the inconvenience and the distraction the tall ships are causing - all staff in my building shoudl be given a free beer and funfair token!

Fullbak - just pm'd you
Post by: Yes I Would on August 12, 2009, 02:40:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 12, 2009, 12:38:03 AM
I'm sure it's a grand wee day out for the family, but it was overkill on the telly. Live satellite link up to the Europa, which rarely worked.  ::)

OTT on Radio Ulster these days as well. Wendy Austin getting very excited!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 12, 2009, 02:43:57 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 10:05:55 AM

QuoteThursday

6.40 - 7.10 - Silhouette

8.30 - 9.00 - Cutaways

Friday

Saturday

5.00 - 5.30 - Silhouette

7.40 - 8.10 The Farriers

8.30 - 9.00 Benedict LA

Sunday

1.50 - 2.20 Benedict LA

2.40 - 3.10 Cutaways

I think they are all at the Lavery's stage.  You should try and catch Jackson Cage and John Shelly and the Creatures at the Clarendon Dock stage as well.

Captain Kennedy not?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 04:30:18 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 12, 2009, 02:43:57 PM

Captain Kennedy not?

Our drummer broke his hand last week! 
Post by: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 04:31:54 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 04:30:18 PM

Captain Kennedy not?

Our drummer broke his hand last week! 

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_fw7iF68JR8k/R9ibARJZgFI/AAAAAAAAMQ8/I22ILckVpRI/s400/moveme15.jpg)

And?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 04:33:12 PM
 :D  I was expecting that!
Post by: SidelineKick on August 12, 2009, 04:34:48 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 04:33:12 PM
:D  I was expecting that!

Post by: Will Hunting on August 12, 2009, 05:24:36 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 12, 2009, 02:40:51 PM

It's because they've got fcuk all else to be getting excited about!
Post by: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 11:39:03 AM
Its getting exciting today

The smell of the food is great
Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2009, 11:44:01 AM
Can someone report back on how lanky the ships are?
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 13, 2009, 11:46:25 AM
I think this is a good festival, does no harm to have some positive press about the place.  Will be some sight in the Lough the next few days.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on August 13, 2009, 11:54:06 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on August 13, 2009, 11:46:25 AM
I think this is a good festival, does no harm to have some positive press about the place.  Will be some sight in the Lough the next few days.

i agree but by god  over kill is putting it mildly

Post by: full back on August 13, 2009, 11:55:16 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 13, 2009, 11:44:01 AM
Can someone report back on how lanky the ships are?

Few lanky ones alright, but at the minute the majority of the boats are pretty small

About 7 or 8 big hoors in so far
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 13, 2009, 11:57:44 AM
Was going to head up today, but too tired.
Might head the mora. It's more for the surrounding festival to be honest.
Post by: ONeill on August 13, 2009, 12:01:52 PM
I'm being forced to go today.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 13, 2009, 12:06:03 PM
Thre press saturation is working well then beacuse I have been speaking to three different people this morning who are going up too.  The only reason I am not going up is becase I know I would be forced to go to Ik*a again.
Post by: ziggysego on August 13, 2009, 01:17:11 PM
Were they ever in Dublin? I seem to have some sort of vague memory of seeing these ships before.
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 13, 2009, 01:19:26 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 12, 2009, 02:40:51 PM

That would be tasty :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 13, 2009, 01:22:16 PM
will there be stalls, music, entertainment etc... looks rubbish but maybe will take kids... good idea or not?...
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 13, 2009, 01:24:19 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 13, 2009, 01:22:16 PM
will there be stalls, music, entertainment etc... looks rubbish but maybe will take kids... good idea or not?...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8199387.stm

Be careful if you are taking public transport!  Obviously going to be loads of people going.
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 13, 2009, 01:24:52 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 13, 2009, 01:22:16 PM

yea good enough to pass a few hours. Might take a run in myself Saturday or Sunday.
Post by: johnneycool on August 13, 2009, 01:25:43 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 12, 2009, 10:05:55 AM

QuoteThursday

6.40 - 7.10 - Silhouette

8.30 - 9.00 - Cutaways

Friday

Saturday

5.00 - 5.30 - Silhouette

7.40 - 8.10 The Farriers

8.30 - 9.00 Benedict LA

Sunday

1.50 - 2.20 Benedict LA

2.40 - 3.10 Cutaways

Captain Kennedy not?

No Chevy's either FFS!! ;)
Post by: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 01:35:03 PM
It is good craic down at the continental market and funfair.

There is loads of people about it too
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 13, 2009, 01:44:09 PM
Quote from: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 01:35:03 PM

Only had a quick peek, is the market along the same lines  as the one thats around City Hall from time to time Lazer?
Post by: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 02:06:20 PM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 13, 2009, 01:44:09 PM
Quote from: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 01:35:03 PM

Only had a quick peek, is the market along the same lines  as the one thats around City Hall from time to time Lazer?

yeah - the market seems to be pretty mauch the same, its at 3 different sites - only seen the one yet though
Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2009, 02:19:10 PM
Watch out for the three card trick. Don't be fooled. The clue is in the name.
Post by: under the bar on August 13, 2009, 02:23:39 PM
Julian Simmons has volunteered for the part of Roger the Cabin Boy
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 13, 2009, 02:41:01 PM
As always.... in this country we f**k it up.

Apparently 500 people turned up for the Derry to Belfast train this morning. NIR only had 3 carriages on. Hence all the children had to sit on the floor, and they put passangers into the toilets for space purposes. A lot of people could not get onto the train.

Only one bus from Coleraine to Belfast this morning, and 400 people in the queue.

A spokesman for Ulsterbus said, 'Sure they can wait for the next one'?

Typical....
Post by: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 03:02:33 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8199387.stm

Hundreds of people hoping to travel to Belfast to see the Tall Ships have been left stranded at stations.

Typical of our public transport system!
Post by: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:18:42 PM
ulsterbus and translink are a joke of an organisation, refuse to use them!
if i ever have any power or money in this country ill be sure to destroy the monoply they currently hold...
Post by: full back on August 13, 2009, 03:22:06 PM
Is the strongman on today?
Post by: Mario on August 13, 2009, 03:25:57 PM
Why anyone would get the train between Derry and Belfast is beyond me, takes a ridiculous amount of time and a stupid route around the north coast.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 13, 2009, 03:29:22 PM
Quote from: Mario on August 13, 2009, 03:25:57 PM
Why anyone would get the train between Derry and Belfast is beyond me, takes a ridiculous amount of time and a stupid route around the north coast.

Usually I'd agree, but it's only 2 hours. I usually drive but was going to train it today as I thought they'd have been a lot of traffic on the road.
Post by: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:35:41 PM
Quote from: full back on August 13, 2009, 03:22:06 PM

obviously not as i am online! ;)
Post by: MasterShake on August 13, 2009, 03:39:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 13, 2009, 01:17:11 PM
Were they ever in Dublin? I seem to have some sort of vague memory of seeing these ships before.

Yeah, they were in Dublin back in 1998. I was in college in Dublin then. Myself and the bird (at the time) hid on the biggest ship of the race (a Russian ship called the Sedov) and came back up on deck for the fireworks display. Everyone was supposed to have left the ships before the fireworks. The Russians saw us but passed no remarks.  :)
Post by: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:52:36 PM
Quote from: MasterShake on August 13, 2009, 03:39:30 PM

Yeah, they were in Dublin back in 1998. I was in college in Dublin then. Myself and the bird (at the time) hid on the biggest ship of the race (a Russian ship called the Sedov) and came back up on deck for the fireworks display. Everyone was supposed to have left the ships before the fireworks. The Russians saw us but passed no remarks.  :)

well did you do the deed?
Post by: MasterShake on August 13, 2009, 04:02:37 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:52:36 PM

;)  Should have put that in the "What's the weirdest place you've ever..." thread. Good times.
Post by: Lazer on August 13, 2009, 04:03:44 PM

yeah - meant to be starting at 4!
Post by: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 04:06:58 PM
Quote from: MasterShake on August 13, 2009, 04:02:37 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:52:36 PM

;)  Should have put that in the "What's the weirdest place you've ever..." thread. Good times.

still not over her then mastershake?  :D :D
Post by: MasterShake on August 13, 2009, 04:11:33 PM
Nah OTB. Some things a man just doesn't forget...  8)
Post by: full back on August 13, 2009, 04:26:47 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 13, 2009, 03:35:41 PM

obviously not as i am online! ;)

Well if sk is driving the lorry for the truck pull, the closest you would get to the strongmen is blowing the whistle for them to start ;)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 13, 2009, 11:03:58 PM
Seems to be popular so far anyway

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8200580.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8200580.stm)
Post by: red hander on August 13, 2009, 11:08:26 PM
I think Paul Clarke actually creamed his trousers tonight on the 10.30pm News, such was his panting excitement at the presence of a few boats on the Lagan  ::)
Post by: ONeill on August 13, 2009, 11:12:55 PM
I just didn't get it at all.
Post by: ziggysego on August 13, 2009, 11:25:57 PM

Before that though? Or else where in Ireland? The 80s sometime.
Post by: ONeill on August 13, 2009, 11:57:50 PM
They were in Belfast in '91 or '92.
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 12:44:38 AM
Maybe then. If it was then, I was kinda bored.
Post by: Roger on August 14, 2009, 01:13:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 13, 2009, 11:57:50 PM
They were in Belfast in '91 or '92.
Wasn't my thing then or now.  But a mate of mine said it was Fanny City at the time.  If Paul Clarke et al want to hype it up, there'll be a quare lot of boys get their hole down at the docks.  It's been a while in that location and good luck to them all, I say. 
Post by: johnneycool on August 14, 2009, 03:27:16 PM
any traffic reports from those in and around the odyssey area before i head home?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on August 14, 2009, 03:28:44 PM
14/08/2009    15:11    Traffic Conditions, Greater Belfast Area.
(Information supplied by Roads Service)
  Traffic is moving well this afternoon with no delays in the Greater Belfast area...The right turn from Sydenham By-pass into Dee St has been closed...All 3 Tall Ships Park & Ride car parks still have spaces available. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

14/08/2009    11:02    Tall Ships Event Road Closures
(Information supplied by Roads Service)
  During the Tall Ships event Queen's Quay, M3 Lagan Bridge Off Slip to the Sydenham Road, Sydenham Road, Donegall Quay and the left lane of the Queen Elizabeth Bridge are all closed for vehicular traffic. 
Post by: Lazer on August 14, 2009, 03:41:25 PM
It doesn't seem anywhere near as busy today - seems people don't like the rain!

Is anyone going to dress up like a pirate on sunday?

http://www.gotobelfast.com/default.aspx?page=7636
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 14, 2009, 04:01:40 PM
Was up the day. Got soaked. Went home.

Shite.
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 14, 2009, 04:04:30 PM

What a glowing recommendation in a nutshell.
Post by: Keyser soze on August 14, 2009, 04:17:07 PM
Can't understand this shite at all. It seems to just be an excuse for Beeb and Utv to big up 'ar wee province' and make like Norn Iron is cosmopolitan. They were claiming that they were expecting a half million people to attend!!  Pile o' w**k.

The same oul bollocks was wheeled out at George Best's funeral with outrageous claims about the number that would be attending, of which about actually 10k turned up. Same for the NW 200 which has an annual attendance of 250k according to the local press. Laughable. The coverage by the 2 ni stations in relation to certain events stands in stark contrast to their treatment of GAA. SMS.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 14, 2009, 04:21:08 PM
 Can see your point on talls ships hype but George Best was a  legend and it was big story and deserved the coverage and just because he was playing for norn iron doesn't change that.
Post by: SidelineKick on August 14, 2009, 04:33:26 PM
Or the fact that he was a wife beating alcoholic.

Oops, wrong thread.
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 14, 2009, 04:35:10 PM
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 14, 2009, 04:47:09 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on August 14, 2009, 04:33:26 PM
Or the fact that he was a wife beating alcoholic.

Oops, wrong thread.

Didn't stop her going to the funeral and living off his name  ::)... as for alcoholism, it is a disease and our graveyards are full of its victims including great GAA players... doesn't diminish what they achieved. 
Post by: armagh leg-end on August 14, 2009, 05:05:58 PM
wel the hype by the media has attracted alot of people attention.

news reported between 120,000 to 150,000 people there yesterday! thats some crowd for a few boats!
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 14, 2009, 05:23:12 PM
I think there are too many begrudgers over here, enjoy it for what it is, a bloody bit of positive press for over here! I have been speaking to people who have been at it and they have said it was a great bit of craic.
Quote from: Keyser soze on August 14, 2009, 04:17:07 PM
Can't understand this shite at all. It seems to just be an excuse for Beeb and Utv to big up 'ar wee province' and make like Norn Iron is cosmopolitan. They were claiming that they were expecting a half million people to attend!!  Pile o' w**k.

The same oul bollocks was wheeled out at George Best's funeral with outrageous claims about the number that would be attending, of which about actually 10k turned up. Same for the NW 200 which has an annual attendance of 250k according to the local press. Laughable. The coverage by the 2 ni stations in relation to certain events stands in stark contrast to their treatment of GAA. SMS.
Would you rather there where no festivals like this then until Ireland is free?
There is a thread on the GAA section about the shameful treatment of the GAA by the media up here, I suggest you keep it in there.
I have no doubt the numbers would have reached 300-400k it is only a shame the weather is so poor. 

Just seems to me there are too many people only too glad to run down anything that can be deemed as 'beneficial' to our community, enjoy it for what it is FFS.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 14, 2009, 05:48:18 PM
I would have no interest in it at all, but good to see large numbers turn out. Id say it's mostly families with young children heading to it as the big attraction is the boat from the Pirates of the Carribean is there. That and the continental market and it's rip off prices that the city council bring to the city 3 or 4 times a year.
Post by: Keyser soze on August 14, 2009, 05:58:31 PM
I wasn't commenting on the event in itself really, rather on the completely over the top commentary by the local TV stations on the importance of it and hyping up the numbers attending. I didn't run down the event nor did i mention freeing ireland. I'm perfectly entitled to juxtapose this with their coverage of any other event without some snotty c**t telling me what thread i should be posting in. 

Was not in any way disrespecting George Bests memory rather the incredible hype which BBC & ITV generated about his funeral which turned out to be a damp squib.
Post by: ziggysego on August 14, 2009, 06:00:41 PM
I have to agree with Keyser, the report was way over the top.
Post by: delboy on August 14, 2009, 06:29:04 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on August 14, 2009, 05:58:31 PM
Was not in any way disrespecting George Bests memory rather the incredible hype which BBC & ITV generated about his funeral which turned out to be a damp squib.

There was a lot of hype surronding the GB funeral, the amount of scaremongering by the beeb etc about huge traffic snarl ups and not being allowed to park within x amount of miles from stormount etc was largely responsible for the lower than expected numbers, most people i talked to wanted to go but decided to stay at home and watch it on telly to avoid the traffic jams etc, maybe that was the beebs plan all along?
Post by: Yes I Would on August 14, 2009, 10:15:42 PM
Fella from work down last nite with his kids, Said it was a pile of shite, and even his young ones were bored to tears after half an hour.
People prancin around like lost sheep, who wouldnt know one end of a f**king ship from the other! I never realised this god for saken place had so many ship lovers!!
If people can derive enjoyment from it, good luck to them, and if generates a few quid into the economy all the better, but i just wish to god BBC & UTV would give it a break for a bit.
Its hardly the f**king Olympics or The World Cup we are hosting!!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 14, 2009, 10:43:23 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 14, 2009, 10:15:42 PM
Fella from work down last nite with his kids, Said it was a pile of shite, and even his young ones were bored to tears after half an hour.
People prancin around like lost sheep, who wouldnt know one end of a f**king ship from the other! I never realised this god for saken place had so many ship lovers!!
If people can derive enjoyment from it, good luck to them, and if generates a few quid into the economy all the better, but i just wish to god BBC & UTV would give it a break for a bit.
Its hardly the f**king Olympics or The World Cup we are hosting!!
No, but we're never likely to host either of those, simply due to our size. For this place, this festival is probably as big as it will ever get, in terms of visitor numbers.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 15, 2009, 09:16:55 PM
Had a quick dander down this afternoon. Stayed for about half an hour. Just far too many people about! If you haven't gone yet, don't bother.
Post by: Armin Tamzarian on August 15, 2009, 09:39:45 PM
real protestant entertainment from what i could see.  A big pile of people standing lookin at f*ck all, like at a parade.
Post by: fitzroyalty on August 15, 2009, 10:35:33 PM
Quote from: Armin Tamzarian on August 15, 2009, 09:39:45 PM
real protestant entertainment from what i could see.  A big pile of people standing lookin at f*ck all, like at a parade.
Down football fans do that every year
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 02, 2015, 09:50:20 AM
These ships that are tall are back, will you be going?
Post by: Over the Bar on July 02, 2015, 08:44:29 PM
There's a pirate ship with huge-chested, scantily-clad, hot she-pirates this year apparently.  Deffo one for the dads. 
Post by: winghalfun on July 03, 2015, 12:21:59 PM
Has anyone been down to this yet?

Could I chance driving to the Odyssey complex to park? Don't really want to go but have to take someone else tomorrow morning.

Thanks
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 03, 2015, 12:39:48 PM
Dont drive anywhere near it unless you go at 5 in the morning. Use one of the park & rides.
Post by: winghalfun on July 03, 2015, 03:05:36 PM
Thanks J C.
I assume the Boucher Playing Fields for the Park & Ride is the one on the Boucher Road and not the Boucher Playing fields behind St Galls.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 03, 2015, 03:47:50 PM
Quote from: winghalfun on July 03, 2015, 03:05:36 PM
Thanks J C.
I assume the Boucher Playing Fields for the Park & Ride is the one on the Boucher Road and not the Boucher Playing fields behind St Galls.

As the crow flies, Boucher Road playing files are only a stow throw away from St Galls. but yes head for Boucher road.
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2015, 09:32:18 PM
Jaysus fcukin Cristo. The price of the rides.
Post by: Orior on July 05, 2015, 10:29:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2015, 09:32:18 PM
Jaysus fcukin Cristo. The price of the rides.

Yes, but what about the kids. Is there anything for them?