GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2009, 08:53:55 PM

Title: Mayo v Down Minor thread
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2009, 08:53:55 PM
Yes, it's hard to pick ourselves up after another disappointing defeat yesterday but some of us intend to do that and why not start off with the minors. We had a good win over Galway, believed the hype machine against the Rossies and beat them in a replay in two poorish games it must be said. Then the lads travelled to Tullamore to beat Tipp minors comfortably in the end. The question is, can Mayo minors go all the way this year?? Saying that, they need to overcome this hurdle that is put in their way first to be talking about that stuff.
Title: Re: Mayo v Down/Dublin Minor thread
Post by: macdanger2 on August 10, 2009, 09:00:56 PM
After Down minors all being down with the flu, you'd expect the Dubs to win the other Q/F
Title: Re: Mayo v Down/Dublin Minor thread
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2009, 09:07:05 PM
Dublin have been idle for 3 weeks. Whoever gets through will be up against versus Mayo. Mayo are very strong at this level . Down might have too much for us. We've a team of lovely footballers but I'm not sure how they'd fare against a bigger more physical outfit and Down are sure to present a major physicla challenge.
Title: Re: Mayo v Down Minor thread
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 15, 2009, 09:48:41 PM
Down it is then...
Post by: ross4life on August 15, 2009, 10:16:44 PM
so it's the repeat of the Minor All ireland final of 2005 ;) i already said the team that Beat roscommon will win this years All ireland, 2007 Galway & 2008 Tyrone did that so for me it's kerry or Mayo
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 15, 2009, 11:57:43 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 15, 2009, 10:16:44 PM
so it's the repeat of the Minor All ireland final of 2005 ;) i already said the team that Beat roscommon will when this years All ireland, 2007 Galway & 2008 Tyrone did that so for me it's kerry or Mayo

If only! Armagh won't be quaking about that stat . . .
Post by: western exile on August 15, 2009, 11:59:31 PM
Paddy Power don't give Down much of a chance

Mayo       7/4
Armagh    7/4
Kerry    10/3
Down    9/2
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 16, 2009, 12:09:41 AM
Quote from: western exile on August 15, 2009, 11:59:31 PM

Mayo       7/4
Armagh    7/4
Kerry    10/3
Down    9/2

I'm sorry but I just don't see why Mayo are such a short price. They're a decent team but no more. Armagh surely deserve to be outright favourites.
Post by: ross4life on August 16, 2009, 12:29:03 AM
Armagh have not won the Minor All ireland since 1941 (only time) which in my opinion would be a bigger shock than us winning it in 2006

& for the record Mayo last won it 1985 & kerry 1994
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 16, 2009, 01:09:33 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 16, 2009, 12:29:03 AM
Armagh have not won the Minor All ireland since 1941 (only time) which in my opinion would be a bigger shock than us winning it in 2006

& for the record Mayo last won it 1985 & kerry 1994
That would be a burden only if they had won very little at any level - like if Fermanagh made a minor final. But Armagh have won senior and under 21 this decade. That has much more relevance. It's hardly the end of a famine.
Post by: western exile on August 16, 2009, 01:33:33 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 16, 2009, 12:09:41 AM
Quote from: western exile on August 15, 2009, 11:59:31 PM

Mayo       7/4
Armagh    7/4
Kerry    10/3
Down    9/2

I'm sorry but I just don't see why Mayo are such a short price. They're a decent team but no more. Armagh surely deserve to be outright favourites.
Those prices probably reflect who they play in the semi-finals. The bookies reckon that Mayo have easier chance of making the final than Armagh or Kerry,  whereas to win it, Armagh and Kerry would have to beat each other AND Mayo. Hence the odds at this stage.  That is my guess anyway...
Post by: ross4life on August 16, 2009, 01:51:12 AM
Minor Football can't be compared to u21 or senior only Tyrone have used all levels to become the success they are today, Kerry 1994 last Minor title proves that,
as for the odds Ulster & Connaught Teams have been strongest at this grade for the last 4/5 years!

but it's wide open this year any of these 4 teams can win it! Down will really fancy there chances now vs Mayo especially the way they Beat a Good Dublin Team today
Post by: Barney on August 16, 2009, 09:19:31 AM
No more than the bookies the minor football all of us have seen this year is limited.

I don't know anything about Down other than we have an awful record against them in underage football. Lost the u21 semi this year to them, and two minor finals in 99 and 2005 to them also.

This Mayo team do not appear to have any top class forward, and unless they pick it up like last years team did at this stage, they are nowhere near the quality of that team .

however, Ray Dempsey is doing a very good job at the helm and it would be nice to be involved on Final Day.
Post by: ross4life on August 16, 2009, 01:18:24 PM
Quote from: Barney on August 16, 2009, 09:19:31 AM
No more than the bookies the minor football all of us have seen this year is limited.

I don't know anything about Down other than we have an awful record against them in underage football. Lost the u21 semi this year to them, and two minor finals in 99 and 2005 to them also.

This Mayo team do not appear to have any top class forward, and unless they pick it up like last years team did at this stage, they are nowhere near the quality of that team .

however, Ray Dempsey is doing a very good job at the helm and it would be nice to be involved on Final Day.

with those stats alone i'm sure you would have preferred the Dubs
Post by: western exile on August 16, 2009, 08:57:10 PM
If the Down team that played in the Ulster final show up against Mayo, then it will be an easy win for Mayo.  That day they could only manage 1-5 in a scrappy game, and in truth Armagh were only in second gear and just did enough to keep ahead of Down.
However, if the team that beat Dublin show up, Mayo are in trouble.  They scored 2-16 against Dublin, and hit no wides.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 16, 2009, 09:07:08 PM
I suppose it depends on ow Mayo react to the longer break than Down had. You could put Down down as favourites for the match based on playing some breathtaking football against the Dubs and not shooting any wide only 2 weeks before their next game. However, I'm sure Ray Dempsey will be looking to guide the minors to another All-Ireland final and I wouldn't rule Mayo out yet either.
Post by: moysider on August 16, 2009, 10:02:22 PM
Quote from: Barney on August 16, 2009, 09:19:31 AM

Would have to disagree there. We have at least one top class forward on O Connor. Aiden walsh too except necessity often has him grafting far from goal. It s hard to be more than hopeful with any Mayo team - especially when you see what happened to U21 and seniors when they left the province - the minors win over Tipp not withstanding.
Post by: Trevor Hill on August 17, 2009, 12:19:07 AM
Cracking game yesterday, thought that Down had snatched defeat from the jaws of victory yet again, but they battled back well. This team have come a long way, no one thought they would be in an All Ireland semi at the start of the year. While I would have Mayo as favourites I wouldnt write this Down team off either. An All Ireland Final against the Kingdom would be a nice way to end the year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 17, 2009, 10:17:56 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 17, 2009, 12:19:07 AM
Cracking game yesterday, thought that Down had snatched defeat from the jaws of victory yet again, but they battled back well. This team have come a long way, no one thought they would be in an All Ireland semi at the start of the year. While I would have Mayo as favourites I wouldnt write this Down team off either. An All Ireland Final against the Kingdom would be a nice way to end the year.

What about Armagh, and IF ye manage to beat us losing an AIF isn't too nice is it? ;)
Post by: Trevor Hill on August 18, 2009, 12:27:48 AM
What about Armagh?
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 19, 2009, 03:29:46 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 18, 2009, 12:27:48 AM
What about Armagh?

Should've known that'd be the response I'd get. ;)
Post by: ross4life on August 19, 2009, 03:35:03 PM
What about Armagh?

Yes Armagh Minors looking to win there 2nd All ireland (last win 1946)

it's a shame we didn't beat kerry & then we would have the chance of revenge for 1991 vs Armagh
Post by: PatDaly on August 19, 2009, 06:29:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 19, 2009, 03:35:03 PM
What about Armagh?

it's a shame we didn't beat kerry & then we would have the chance of revenge for 1991 vs Armagh

Armagh beat a Dermot Washington led Roscommon in 1992 on their way to heartbreak against Meath in the All-Ireland minor final. What ever happened to him?

Also it was 1949 exactly 50 years ago this year since Armagh won their one and only All-Ireland minor title by beating Kerry in the final

http://ulster.gaa.ie/landofthegiants/2009/06/01/moment-in-history-armagh/
Post by: macdanger2 on August 20, 2009, 12:51:05 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on August 19, 2009, 06:29:26 PM

Also it was 1949 exactly 50 years ago this year since Armagh won their one and only All-Ireland minor title

60 years ago maybe? ;)
Post by: ross4life on August 20, 2009, 03:37:17 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 20, 2009, 12:51:05 PM

Also it was 1949 exactly 50 years ago this year since Armagh won their one and only All-Ireland minor title

60 years ago maybe? ;)

as they say in the usa "poor math"

as for Dermot Washington he never made it as a senior because he was to small & light, one of the main worries i have about the 2006 minors :-[
Post by: western exile on August 24, 2009, 01:24:57 AM
Armagh showed their class v. Kerry.   And Down people know that they were second best to Armagh so far this year, but nevertheless would love another crack at them in the final.   Would Mayo beat Armagh?
Post by: moysider on August 24, 2009, 12:44:37 PM

Mayo got a good walloping from Armagh in a challenge in the Spring. I would suspect that we would have it all to do.
Post by: ross4life on August 24, 2009, 03:34:41 PM
After yesterdays Game Armagh will now be odds on favorites going into the All Ireland final, which is Huge pressure for under 18s to carry! there first final since 1992 i might add to ;) Mayo & Down have got to quiet a few minor finals since then & with Minor we all know you can play well one day awful the next, any of these three remaining teams are more that capable of winning the All Ireland
Post by: stew on August 24, 2009, 04:59:22 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 19, 2009, 03:35:03 PM
What about Armagh?

Armagh beat a Dermot Washington led Roscommon in 1992 on their way to heartbreak against Meath in the All-Ireland minor final. What ever happened to him?

Also it was 1949 exactly 50 years ago this year since Armagh won their one and only All-Ireland minor title by beating Kerry in the final

http://ulster.gaa.ie/landofthegiants/2009/06/01/moment-in-history-armagh/

Kerry seem to be the only team we can beat in an AIF. :'(
Post by: mountainboii on August 24, 2009, 06:26:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 24, 2009, 03:34:41 PM
After yesterdays Game Armagh will now be odds on favorites going into the All Ireland final, which is Huge pressure for under 18s to carry! there first final since 1992 i might add to ;) Mayo & Down have got to quiet a few minor finals since then & with Minor we all know you can play well one day awful the next, any of these three remaining teams are more that capable of winning the All Ireland

Would be surprised if that happened this team. They're unbeaten in 12 competitive matches this year, winning the last 11.
Post by: western exile on August 24, 2009, 07:03:50 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 24, 2009, 06:26:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 24, 2009, 03:34:41 PM

Would be surprised if that happened this team. They're unbeaten in 12 competitive matches this year, winning the last 11.
So are you saying that you would be surprised if they lose the AI Final regardless of whom they are playing?
Post by: mountainboii on August 24, 2009, 07:10:38 PM
I'd be surprised if they were 'awful'.
Post by: western exile on August 24, 2009, 07:32:26 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 24, 2009, 07:10:38 PM
I'd be surprised if they were 'awful'.
Ah.. okay.  It has the makings of a good final
Post by: lroberts680 on August 24, 2009, 07:37:49 PM
Would you be able to land down to Croke park on Sunday and pay at the gate?
Post by: ross4life on August 25, 2009, 12:33:21 AM
i only have to refer to last years minors, after tyrone beat us i said no team will get close to them (they were that good that day) but in the All Ireland final Mayo Could have beaten them, same goes for this Armagh team before Sundays game they just sneaked past a average Kildare team, as for this years final Mayo will want to Win the All Ireland after losing the Final last year while Down will want revenge for the Armagh Defeat in Ulster
Post by: stew on August 25, 2009, 01:58:08 AM
All the best of luck to Mayo come Sunday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2009, 02:44:13 PM
Quote from: lroberts680 on August 24, 2009, 07:37:49 PM
Would you be able to land down to Croke park on Sunday and pay at the gate?

No, but there'll be the usual ticket places for you to pay there if that's what you mean.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 25, 2009, 04:43:18 PM
One of the boyos at work here was saying that a down minor got an awful kicking at the weekend, and as a result won't be able to line out.  Anybody else hear this?
Post by: western exile on August 25, 2009, 05:21:23 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on August 25, 2009, 04:43:18 PM
One of the boyos at work here was saying that a down minor got an awful kicking at the weekend, and as a result won't be able to line out.  Anybody else hear this?
Yes, it is sad but true.  Paddy Boyle is the Full-back.  He was driving into Castlewellan to pick up  his friend who had just finished working in a bar.  His friend was set upon by  a bunch of thugs at a chipshop and he got assaulted too when he went to his friends rescue.  Apparently the lowlife were on a bus coming from a cage fight and stopped in the town.
http://www.irishnews.com/appnews/540/5860/2009/8/25/625831_391664439562Latenight.html (http://www.irishnews.com/appnews/540/5860/2009/8/25/625831_391664439562Latenight.html)
and
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/psni-investigate-serious-assault-in-co-down-423644.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/psni-investigate-serious-assault-in-co-down-423644.html)
Post by: stew on August 25, 2009, 07:25:02 PM
That is disgusting, i hope the get the tramps that did this and put them were they belong for a while, intensive care. Cnuts.
Post by: bennydorano on August 25, 2009, 07:30:26 PM
I'd be suprised if Mayo dont beat Down.  I'm not sure what a lot of Armagh wans are fearful of meeting Down again for, a very average team who only kept the score respectable against Armagh by playing a GAA brand of Ranger's type anti-football, they didn't try to win IMO, they tried not to get stuffed.  If we meet Down again I'd be Muy confident.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2009, 08:51:55 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 25, 2009, 07:30:26 PM
I'd be suprised if Mayo dont beat Down.  I'm not sure what a lot of Armagh wans are fearful of meeting Down again for, a very average team who only kept the score respectable against Armagh by playing a GAA brand of Ranger's type anti-football, they didn't try to win IMO, they tried not to get stuffed.  If we meet Down again I'd be Muy confident.

I hope you're right. We'll see on Sunday. Terrible loss to Down if the full-back is out. Just shows the type of society we live in nowadays.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 25, 2009, 09:11:27 PM
Cheers WE, I picked up a copy of the IN on the way home from work.  Terrible news for the lad, and the team.  Crowds of hoods on the way home from a cage fighting event, desperate stuff.  The young fella Boyle and another 2 are injured.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 25, 2009, 10:04:09 PM

Keep it coming lads :D
Post by: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:26:39 PM
2005 all over again. ;)
Post by: mountainboii on August 25, 2009, 10:54:16 PM
I'd be surprised if Mayo dont beat Down.  I'm not sure what a lot of Armagh wans are fearful of meeting Down again for, a very average team who only kept the score respectable against Armagh by playing a GAA brand of Ranger's type anti-football, they didn't try to win IMO, they tried not to get stuffed.  If we meet Down again I'd be Muy confident.

I'd agree with that, I want Down in the final too. Not only will it create a bit of a buzz around the area but from an Armagh perspective, we know what we're gonna get with them, having already put them away twice this year (once by a cricket score). They were poor enough in the Ulster final, and I can't see how they'd have improved a lot since then. Mayo are still an unknown quantity, inching their way to the final without anyone paying much notice of them.
Title: Mayo v Down Minor thread
Post by: 5 Sams on August 25, 2009, 11:03:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 25, 2009, 10:54:16 PM
I'd be surprised if Mayo dont beat Down.  I'm not sure what a lot of Armagh wans are fearful of meeting Down again for, a very average team who only kept the score respectable against Armagh by playing a GAA brand of Ranger's type anti-football, they didn't try to win IMO, they tried not to get stuffed.  If we meet Down again I'd be Muy confident.

I'd agree with that, I want Down in the final too. Not only will it create a bit of a buzz around the area but from an Armagh perspective, we know what we're gonna get with them, having already put them away twice this year (once by a cricket score). They were poor enough in the Ulster final, and I can't see how they'd have improved a lot since then. Mayo are still an unknown quantity, inching their way to the final without anyone paying much notice of them.

I love it lads...
Post by: mountainboii on August 25, 2009, 11:11:39 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 25, 2009, 11:03:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on August 25, 2009, 10:54:16 PM

I love it lads...

Right, I'm actually not trying to wind anyone up, but what was the Down take on the Ulster final? Did yous feel that your team underperformed that day and have a lot more in the tank? My honest appraisal, having watched all 5 Armagh minor games this year, is that Down were about the third best team we've faced, behind Tyrone and Kildare but better than Monaghan and Kerry. I honestly feel, from what I saw of Down on that day, that Armagh should be well fit for them if they meet again.
Post by: Zapatista on August 26, 2009, 07:34:15 AM
BBC are saying Boyle has a broken jaw.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2009, 08:36:23 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on August 25, 2009, 10:26:39 PM
2005 all over again. ;)

Well I might as well not bother showing up if that's the case then. ::)
Post by: moysider on August 26, 2009, 01:25:53 PM

The only form guide seems to be Kerry. They beat Ros aet and we needed a replay to beat Ros, and they could have walloped us the first day. then  Kerry get a bit of a doin v Armagh.

Down were close to Armagh in UF. AFS however thinks the gap between Armagh and Down much greater.

As I posted earlier Armagh beat Mayo up in a challenge pre championship. Down and Mayo could be close enough.

Post by: thewobbler on August 26, 2009, 01:54:44 PM
Having watched a fair dose of club minor football this year, I'd say one thing this Down team has going for it is that the forward line is very, very capable of winning a game even if the rest of the team aren't performing, and that there's a couple of very useful forwards on the bench if one or two of the starters aren't at the races.

Which means they're capable of beating anyone, even Armagh (who it seems have been anointed in some quarters as the greatest minor team in the history of the world ever).

I wasn't at the Ulster final so don't know how things panned out the way they did that day, but should Down make the AI final, I'd imagine a score of 1.09 aginst them will be a long way off a winning ticket.
Post by: ross4life on August 26, 2009, 03:52:36 PM
challenge pre championship you should check out the Rossies Results in 2006 then (we were getting hammered in every game)

the Tyrone minor team of last year are better than any this year imo, Mayo lost the Final Replay to them, my question is How would you compare this Mayos team with last years(not as many good forwards & light in midfield)?

Post by: ballinaman on August 26, 2009, 04:01:47 PM
Don't think Mayo are as strong this year as they were last year, could have/should have won both the final and replay. Will be interesting to see how they fair on Sunday as the quarter isn't really a form guide...
Post by: bobbiesoxer on August 26, 2009, 05:51:34 PM
thewobbler 1 09 will always beat a miserly 1 05 which is what ur great forwards scored in the final
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 26, 2009, 09:18:43 PM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

Caolan Crowe and Daryl Herbert in for Michael McCormack and Brian Ruttledge
Post by: DownFanatic on August 26, 2009, 09:31:44 PM
This Down Minor team have come up against a lot of adversity this year and they have generally pulled through with flying colours bar the Ulster Final.

I fully believe that Down will beat Mayo on Sunday and that they will defeat Armagh in the Final. We have a measly defence who can surprisingly merge tackling and marking with attacking instincts.

All six starting forwards are natural scorers while as the Wobbler stated we have more natural flair players in the wings to come in when required.

Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2009, 09:46:28 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 26, 2009, 09:18:43 PM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

Nice to see Daryl Herbert in the team anyway. He's good at running at opponent's goals anyway and is handy at picking up scores. Pity about Ruttledge as he is having a very good club season for us at minor level. Hopefully downgirl won't be too upset about a Mayo victory if it comes to pass. :P
Post by: downgirl on August 26, 2009, 10:03:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2009, 09:46:28 PM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

Nice to see Daryl Herbert in the team anyway. He's good at running at opponent's goals anyway and is handy at picking up scores. Pity about Ruttledge as he is having a very good club season for us at minor level. Hopefully downgirl won't be too upset about a Mayo victory if it comes to pass. :P

The key word there being 'if' Farrandeelin!!!  I think this Down team can do what Down teams usually do against Mayo...beat them!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2009, 10:05:33 PM
Well we don't like getting too ahead of ourselves anyway, unlike some. ;)
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 26, 2009, 10:43:49 PM
Some Down comments on this thread are away ahead of themselves.  The present team has punched above its weight to get to an AI semi.  They will be fortunate to get further but it is not impossible.

Talk of a rematch with Arma is totally premature and imho unlikely.  Should I be proved wrong I dread to think what the colosus that is this year's Arma side would do to us ??? ??? ???.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 27, 2009, 12:07:05 AM
Quote from: downgirl on August 26, 2009, 10:03:01 PM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

The key word there being 'if' Farrandeelin!!!  I think this Down team can do what Down teams usually do against Mayo...beat them!!

I hope ye aren't watching the game together?!
Post by: downgirl on August 27, 2009, 10:56:49 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 27, 2009, 12:07:05 AM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

Yeah we are, he is getting the tickets though so I will be in the middle of a crowd of Mayo people.  If thes result goes the wrong way he knows not to gloat!!!
Post by: Tubberman on August 28, 2009, 08:47:39 AM
Are there many from Mayo coming up for the match?
I have to head home this evening but plan on being back up in Dublin for the match. It will be far from a sell-out (40k expected) so even people who decide to head up on the day will have no problem getting tickets.
It would be great to see a decent Mayo support - the minors last year were fantastic, their commitment and confidence was great to see, here's hoping for more of the same.
And seeing as most of the Down posters are viewing this as a formality and are looking at the rematch with Armagh, it would be no harm to bring them down to earth  :P ;)
Post by: gorm agus bui on August 28, 2009, 09:03:01 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 28, 2009, 08:47:39 AM
Are there many from Mayo coming up for the match?
I have to head home this evening but plan on being back up in Dublin for the match. It will be far from a sell-out (40k expected) so even people who decide to head up on the day will have no problem getting tickets.
It would be great to see a decent Mayo support - the minors last year were fantastic, their commitment and confidence was great to see, here's hoping for more of the same.
And seeing as most of the Down posters are viewing this as a formality and are looking at the rematch with Armagh, it would be no harm to bring them down to earth  :P ;)
Have had a quick scan thru the thread and do not see where anyone sees it is a formality. Looking for a rematch with Armagh is alluded to three times maybe but that does not infer an easy passage,
Post by: AbbeySider on August 28, 2009, 09:45:13 AM
I heard this week that Mayo minors had a challenge game, they won well scoring
2-15

No wides....
Post by: Barney on August 28, 2009, 10:02:04 AM
Here's hoping the lads can do it.

Impossible to know what would happen but being involved in final day again would be great.

Mayo have had a team competing on Final day in each of 96, 97, 99, 00, 04, 05, 06, and 08 to the best of my recollection which is a great achievement in itself. With u21 teams playing in Finals in 01, 04 and 06 as well it just highlights where are problems lie!
Post by: Armamike on August 28, 2009, 11:29:34 AM
Quote from: Barney on August 28, 2009, 10:02:04 AM

Impossible to know what would happen but being involved in final day again would be great.

Mayo have had a team competing on Final day in each of 96, 97, 99, 00, 04, 05, 06, and 08 to the best of my recollection which is a great achievement in itself. With u21 teams playing in Finals in 01, 04 and 06 as well it just highlights where are problems lie!

It could indicate that Connaught isn't the hardest of routes to an AI final?
Post by: ballinaman on August 28, 2009, 11:41:35 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on August 28, 2009, 09:45:13 AM
2-15

No wides....

Against who??? I'll be at the match anyways, the football never stops in Mayo thankfully!
Post by: Barney on August 28, 2009, 12:36:50 PM
QuoteIt could indicate that Connaught isn't the hardest of routes to an AI final?

It could.. but then we have never faced a western team in the semi-finals.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 28, 2009, 11:09:39 PM
It will be interesting to see how this Mayo team gets on. Very hard to judge them up to now. While Roscommon were a good side, the games were so negative that it is hard to tell how good Mayo were. Down will be a step up for them. Hopefully we'll have a September day to look forward to.
Post by: western exile on August 29, 2009, 11:36:56 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 27, 2009, 12:07:05 AM
Mayo minor team picked

www.mayogaa.com

I will know that pain on Sunday, as I will be sitting beside the Other Half of Western Exile at the game, who will be wearing opposing colours!
I attended the '99  AI Final with some friends from Crossmolina and Kilala,  and in '05 with friends from Co. Down. But this time I am taking a bigger risk  ;D
The water was tested with the under 21 semi final in Longford earlier this year, and that was a quiet journey back West that night  ;)
Post by: western exile on August 29, 2009, 11:57:25 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on August 28, 2009, 09:45:13 AM
2-15

No wides....
Down scored 2-16 against Dublin in quarterfinal, with NO wides.
Could be a good game on Sunday...
Post by: ross4life on August 29, 2009, 04:55:01 PM
Quote from: Barney on August 28, 2009, 10:02:04 AM

Great achievement only if you win finals! history only remembers the winners (u21 2006 is your only win from those finals)
shocking stats
Post by: Mister_Mayor on August 29, 2009, 11:00:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 29, 2009, 04:55:01 PM
[Great achievement only if you win finals! history only remembers the winners (u21 2006 is your only win from those finals)
shocking stats

Shocking as it may be, its still great to be there...our time will come, hopefully sooner rather than later. Looking forward to two great games tomorrow. And a word to the Mayo supporters...someone pointed out earlier this will be far from a sell out, so tickets will be easy to come by....go and support them!
Post by: TonesAbú on August 30, 2009, 01:28:16 PM
Sorry guys does anone know of an English radio commentary for this game, don't really want to listen to Irish :-\
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 01:29:02 PM
Best of luck to the 2 teams, here's hoping for a cracking game of football which I think it will be, C'mon Down!!

Also have to say the pitch is looking fatastic 2day!!!

You may get the comentary on Five fm the newry radio station!
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 01:34:10 PM
Commentary is live on five fm here, but it is around 30 seconds behind the pictures.
Post by: criostlinn on August 30, 2009, 01:38:38 PM
http://www.midwestradio.ie/MWR/radiomwr.htm

Also behind the picture
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 01:41:34 PM
First 10 minutes very encouraging, think we're in for a very good game 3-2 for down
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 01:50:29 PM
Down lead 5-3 McGarry from Warrenpoint very impressive footballer.  Down look much better and more threatening when attackin and should probably be up by more than 2, hope they keep it up!
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:00:11 PM
Possession Down 69% Mayo 31%

Down have all the play and have had 6 wides to mayos 1, we really should be up by more than 2 whic is a slightr concern if mayo get an early goal in 2nd half
Post by: mountainboii on August 30, 2009, 02:04:25 PM
Down a bit wasteful, should be much further ahead considering they've had 70%+ of the possession. A couple of those goal chances weren't really on, should've taken points. Can't see Down losing this though, much the better team.
Post by: mountainboii on August 30, 2009, 02:22:53 PM
And what do I know  :-[
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:23:04 PM
Mayo 2-6 Down 0-5! What did I say about goals at start of the 2nd half?
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 30, 2009, 02:24:20 PM
Good work D4S... keep us posted on the score... thanks
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 30, 2009, 02:25:11 PM
Down shooting themselves in the foot here. Should have been about 5 or 6 clear at half-time only for some poor decision making. They've got a bad case of goal fever.
Post by: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 02:27:04 PM
god help either of these against armagh.
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:29:24 PM
I don't know why Down insist on going for goals, a couple of points would settle them again!

44mins mayo 2-7 down 0-7
Post by: mountainboii on August 30, 2009, 02:29:48 PM
Someone would wanna tell those Down lads that you can score points too. Thats 4 or 5 easy points gone cuz they were going for goals that weren't on.
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:31:02 PM
And ANOTHER! Mayo keeper Slingerman is excellent

scoring chances down 7/23 mayo 9/13  says a lot about the game
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:32:01 PM
2-7 to 0-8 come on lads!
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:36:35 PM
51mins 2-8 to 0-8
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 30, 2009, 02:37:56 PM
What the hell is going on here?!

I'd nearly given up at half time.

Slingerman again!
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:39:28 PM
Down hit another goal chance straight at the keeper..keeper is man of the match without a doubt though very confident and very efficeint when in possession

54mins 2-9 to 0-8
Post by: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 02:39:41 PM
in the bag for mayo at this stage. How I don't know. Poor enough fare all round though-pitch looks very slippy
Post by: Greenabovethered on August 30, 2009, 02:40:15 PM
Down are trying to kill the Mayo keeper, they keep thumping the ball at him :D
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 30, 2009, 02:42:35 PM
How do we keep stumbling into All-Ireland finals at different grades? You couldn't have seen this coming after the first game against Roscommon.

Any spare tickets?!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 30, 2009, 02:46:19 PM
That's it - another all ireland final! I guess Armagh will be the hottest favourites ever, but we'll turn up anyway.

Time for me to hand some more dosh over to Michael O'Leary then...
Post by: stephenite on August 30, 2009, 02:46:43 PM
Fair play to the lads ;D
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 02:50:32 PM
Final Score Mayo 2-9  Down   0-9   

Game was decided by Mayo's 2 goals within the 1st 7 minutes of the 2nd half and the outanding Slingerman iin goals for them.  Outside of that Down had the majority of possession and played the better football but the insistence on going for goal probably cost them dearly.  Inexperience being the key, but fair play to Mayo they hung in there and waited for their opportunities and well done.  They will need to improve considerably though to beat a very strong armagh team but best of luck to both teams!  Hard luck to Down, it just wasn't our day.
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 30, 2009, 02:52:04 PM
Is good result...  two provincial winners. Down and Armagh already played anyway. the back door thing in minors is  a bit daft as is only provincial runner-ups get back in.
Post by: rosnarun on August 30, 2009, 02:53:20 PM
another meaningless all iireland semi final win. If only we didnt ways get the easy side pf the draw.

At pitch side pitch is a disgrace had a major role in the minor match
Post by: longrunsthefox on August 30, 2009, 02:55:06 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 30, 2009, 02:53:20 PM
another meaningless all iireland semi final win. If only we didnt ways get the easy side pf the draw.

At pitch side pitch is a disgrace had a major role in the minor match

Wat  ???
Post by: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 02:55:28 PM
Well done to Mayo + Ballaghadereen Co Roscommon. :P
If Ros(-Ballagh) only had a few forwards ........ :-\
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 30, 2009, 03:00:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 02:55:28 PM

If Rossies only stopped banging on about the chunk of your county we stole from you 100 odd years ago ........ :-\

Sorry, I had to fix your post, it was making me nauseous.
Post by: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 03:03:55 PM
Not half as nauseous as I am when I see my money that I pay to Ros Co Co being given to a club that wont play in its own County.
Anyway best of luck in the final ...hopefully a few more all Ireland medals will come to our County.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 30, 2009, 03:06:44 PM
Well, we'll be massive underdogs (as usual), but we'll give it a lash.
Post by: bobbiesoxer on August 30, 2009, 03:11:21 PM
well done mayo great win,down were looking too far ahead thought they only had to show up but as i said on an earlier post their forward line is poor and it cost them today c,mon armagh
Post by: Mister_Mayor on August 30, 2009, 03:12:19 PM
ahh...what a great win....showed massive maturity in the second half. And what about the Slingerman? Unbelievable..! Underdogs ....no problem.
Post by: stew on August 30, 2009, 03:16:05 PM
Congratulations to Mayo, Down disappoint again and I was amazed at the fact they just drilled shots at the keeper instead of mixing in an odd attempt for a point.

Down fair dominated play but the management must come under fire for not telling these boys to stick it over the bar from time to time instead of going for glory.
Mayo will be tough and hopefully Armagh will be well prepared for them and we finally win another minor AI.
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 03:25:20 PM
Quote from: bobbiesoxer on August 30, 2009, 03:11:21 PM
well done mayo great win,down were looking too far ahead thought they only had to show up but as i said on an earlier post their forward line is poor and it cost them today c,mon armagh

Definitely not true sayin as down were underdogs with the bookies ::)
Post by: PatDaly on August 30, 2009, 03:28:45 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on August 26, 2009, 09:31:44 PM
This Down Minor team have come up against a lot of adversity this year and they have generally pulled through with flying colours bar the Ulster Final.

I fully believe that Down will beat Mayo on Sunday and that they will defeat Armagh in the Final. We have a measly defence who can surprisingly merge tackling and marking with attacking instincts.

All six starting forwards are natural scorers while as the Wobbler stated we have more natural flair players in the wings to come in when required.

Good man "DownFanatic" typical Down slabber.  :D :D :D :D ;D ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 30, 2009, 03:29:10 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 03:03:55 PM
Not half as nauseous as I am when I see my money that I pay to Ros Co Co being given to a club that wont play in its own County.
Anyway best of luck in the final ...hopefully a few more all Ireland medals will come to our County.
Geez, Ross, I am always a bit suspicious that you and Sligonian are one and the same poster.   ;D

Long before county councils became local govt. administration units, Ballagh was playing football in Mayo and may they continue to do so for as long more.
You sheep aficionados (I been waiting to use that word for a long time!) seem to ignore the fact that it says nowhere in any GAA rule book that the GAA should base its county boards on what local politicians come up with. If that was the case, Dublin should be split in three.
I say that Ballagh opted to play in Mayo and only Ballagh has the right to decide if it wants to leave.
Forget it and give Mayo (and Ballagh) due credit for what the lads did today.
That second half fightback was mighty and I hope all the senior players were watching and maybe learn a thing or two.
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2009, 04:24:12 PM
Well done Ray Dempsey and the lads.

Ross you can't change history, you were born in Ros and that's it. 

Post by: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 05:38:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 04:24:12 PM

Ross............... you were born in Ros and that's it.

Which is why I always go around with a permanent smile  :D and thank the good Lord every day.

Anyway I'll refer to ye as Mayo/West Ros from now on. ;)
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2009, 05:44:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 30, 2009, 05:38:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 04:24:12 PM

Ross............... you were born in Ros and that's it.

Which is why I always go around with a permanent smile  :D and thank the good Lord every day.

Anyway I'll refer to ye as Mayo/West Ros from now on. ;)

You do that and whatever else you therapist prescribed.  ;D
Post by: ballinaman on August 30, 2009, 05:46:35 PM
The 1st half display by Mayo was one of the worst i've seen by a Mayo team at any grade......EVER.
Post by: Zulu on August 30, 2009, 06:09:49 PM
The second wasn't great either. I'd worry for that Mayo team against Armagh, although they battled extremely hard all through, showed tremendous pride in the jersey and had some decent performers they aren't able to think on their feet and haven't even one real quality player. In fact like Kerry the week before they have some very poor footballers for this level of football.
Post by: bennydorano on August 30, 2009, 06:13:32 PM
Amazing that a team can get beat by 6 points and (genuinely) feel that they should have won.  First half Mayo just let Down do what they pleased and they really should have been out of sight.  Few sleepless nights ahead for the Down lads.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 30, 2009, 06:54:10 PM
I thought the Mayo full forward won that game on his own. Apart from the 2 goals one of which he made and finished himself. He won a couple of frees, won his own possession, set up others for points. Slingerman at the other end was classy although a lot of the shots were straight at him. also the midfielder who took the frees was a nice player, but they will need more players to play well to beat Armagh.

The Mayo full forward looks young as well, does he have another year to go at this grade?
Post by: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 07:49:29 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 30, 2009, 06:09:49 PM
The second wasn't great either. I'd worry for that Mayo team against Armagh, although they battled extremely hard all through, showed tremendous pride in the jersey and had some decent performers they aren't able to think on their feet and haven't even one real quality player. In fact like Kerry the week before they have some very poor footballers for this level of football.

Can never tell with minors though. Sometimes they just freeze in Croke Park. i've seen bad Kerry minor teams produce all-ireland medalists a couple of years later.

I thought todays minor semi was especially bad. And again doesn't say much for Dublin if they lost to that Down team. Must complment Mayo's fighting spirit and never say die attitude but if Armagh turn up at 75% they should win.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 30, 2009, 08:03:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 07:49:29 PM

Can never tell with minors though. Sometimes they just freeze in Croke Park. i've seen bad Kerry minor teams produce all-ireland medalists a couple of years later.

I thought todays minor semi was especially bad. And again doesn't say much for Dublin if they lost to that Down team. Must complment Mayo's fighting spirit and never say die attitude but if Armagh turn up at 75% they should win.

I disagree with zulu about no real quality players on the Mayo team. Goal keeper and full forward seem to have plenty of quality. After the 1992 all Irleland semi final between Donegal and Mayo Dublin were made favourites after one of the worst games I ever saw. However that counted for nothing in the final and I think the same will apply here. Scrappy games do not determine the quality of the teams.
Post by: Dubh driocht on August 30, 2009, 08:14:49 PM
Poor game in slippy conditions, but so was the senior game.As stated above, Mayo's keeper and full-forward were the stand out players , although Down's best were two 16 year olds- O'Hanlon and Mooney.No surpise that the management gave no direction and to be fair the lads did better than most in Down were expecting this year.I hope the County Board can harvest the potential in Down underage players by bringing in a management team who will play the best players , regardless of their clubs.Good luck to Mayo but they will need to up their game to beat Armagh.
Post by: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 08:25:25 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on August 30, 2009, 08:03:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 07:49:29 PM

I disagree with zulu about no real quality players on the Mayo team. Goal keeper and full forward seem to have plenty of quality. After the 1992 all Irleland semi final between Donegal and Mayo Dublin were made favourites after one of the worst games I ever saw. However that counted for nothing in the final and I think the same will apply here. Scrappy games do not determine the quality of the teams.

You don't get to an all-ireland final without quality in some departments. They won't give up easily either . Might make better seniors because of it. Because thats one quality all Mayo teams have lacked.
Post by: north down on August 30, 2009, 08:28:32 PM
Quote from: stew on August 30, 2009, 03:16:05 PM
Congratulations to Mayo, Down disappoint again and I was amazed at the fact they just drilled shots at the keeper instead of mixing in an odd attempt for a point.

Down fair dominated play but the management must come under fire for not telling these boys to stick it over the bar from time to time instead of going for glory.
Mayo will be tough and hopefully Armagh will be well prepared for them and we finally win another minor AI.

Totally agree with this. If Down had of taken their points in the first half instead of trying for goals they would have been well head at halftime. Even after Mayo scored their first goal in the second half Down persisted with the shots on goals when they should have been taking their points - there was still more than 20 minutes left and there was plenty of time to get back iinto the game. I don't know whether or not management told them to go for goals or not but imo thats what lost them the game - take your points and the goals will come!!!!!
Post by: BRIDGE LAD on August 30, 2009, 08:46:27 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on August 30, 2009, 06:54:10 PM
I thought the Mayo full forward won that game on his own. Apart from the 2 goals one of which he made and finished himself. He won a couple of frees, won his own possession, set up others for points. Slingerman at the other end was classy although a lot of the shots were straight at him. also the midfielder who took the frees was a nice player, but they will need more players to play well to beat Armagh.

The Mayo full forward looks young as well, does he have another year to go at this grade?

Agree 100%! Thought he was the difference second half. Couldnt believe the management left no 2 Ryan Doran on him as long as they did.  Young mooney and OHanlon are ones for the future. still two years left too. Kevin McClorey also played well.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 30, 2009, 10:28:38 PM
Cillian O'Connor (Mayo number 14) is underage again next year. Serious talent. Danny Kirby (number 8) is underage again also. Aidan Walsh, Schlingermann and Shane McDermott are serious players. Impressed too with Gavin, Ml Walsh, Rogers and Farrell. Mayo will do alright in the final, believe me.
Post by: orangeman on August 30, 2009, 10:31:37 PM
That German / Irish goalkeeper was excellent today. Last year's keeper was unreal too. Whatever happened him ? Did he go to soccer or is he still playing GAA ?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 30, 2009, 10:35:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 30, 2009, 10:31:37 PM
That German / Irish goalkeeper was excellent today. Last year's keeper was unreal too. Whatever happened him ? Did he go to soccer or is he still playing GAA ?

Robert Hennelly was Under 21 goalkeeper this year and third choice keeper for the seniors behind Kenneth O'Malley and David Clarke. We're spoilt for choice with keepers!
Post by: orangeman on August 30, 2009, 10:41:06 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 30, 2009, 10:35:54 PM

Robert Hennelly was Under 21 goalkeeper this year and third choice keeper for the seniors behind Kenneth O'Malley and David Clarke. We're spoilt for choice with keepers!

Does he still play the soccer or is it GAA only ? You definitely have some class keepers alright.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 31, 2009, 12:01:09 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 30, 2009, 10:41:06 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 30, 2009, 10:35:54 PM

Does he still play the soccer or is it GAA only ? You definitely have some class keepers alright.

Rob plays soccer with Castlebar Celtic too.
Post by: Pangurban on August 31, 2009, 01:56:50 AM
Congrats to Mayo, on well deserved win. You took your chances, we did not, simple as that. Armagh will prove formidable in Final, but with Minor football, it is very much all on the day. Best of luck
Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 09:17:57 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 30, 2009, 10:28:38 PM
Cillian O'Connor (Mayo number 14) is underage again next year. Serious talent. Danny Kirby (number 8) is underage again also. Aidan Walsh, Schlingermann and Shane McDermott are serious players. Impressed too with Gavin, Ml Walsh, Rogers and Farrell. Mayo will do alright in the final, believe me.

I think they will as well. All the pressure is on Armagh. You don't get to an al-ireland final without being a good side.
Post by: Zulu on August 31, 2009, 10:28:57 AM
I think this is the exception Indiana, yesterday was a freak result and if the two counties played 10 times I think the Down lads would win the other 9. Outside of the keeper none of the Mayo players looked impressive, the number 7 and the full forward looked decent at times but the jury is still out as to their senior potential for me. Other than that the only positives Mayo can take is that the lads have a great deal of heart and courage and I hope they do well on AI final day but I'd doubt there is a senior county footballer of note in the panel.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 31, 2009, 11:04:30 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 31, 2009, 10:28:57 AM
I think this is the exception Indiana, yesterday was a freak result and if the two counties played 10 times I think the Down lads would win the other 9. Outside of the keeper none of the Mayo players looked impressive, the number 7 and the full forward looked decent at times but the jury is still out as to their senior potential for me. Other than that the only positives Mayo can take is that the lads have a great deal of heart and courage and I hope they do well on AI final day but I'd doubt there is a senior county footballer of note in the panel.
Their full forward, Cillian O'Connor, has a lot of potential.  Only 17, minor again next year and he has put in a lot of impressive performances for that team this year.  Seems to be a very natural forward and always creates a lot of time and space for himself when in possession.  He will need a lot more support from his forward colleagues in the final though as his influence this year will not have gone un-noticed by Armagh I'm sure.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 31, 2009, 12:28:00 PM
Even though Mayo won im very disappointed with the performance.

I thought Mayo were very lucky to win against Down for a number of reasons.

In the first half, both teams were bad but Down deserved to be ahead by more.

Maybe the underfoot conditions had something to do with it but the decision making and sloppy passing made it a terrible game to watch.

We were pounded mid-field; I dont recall winning a single kickout and very few breaks. Down seemed to be walking the ball up the pitch, our centre back always looked out of position.

Our half forward line was non-existent. They didnt even follow their men back and let Down up the pitch time and time again.

On the plus side we seemed to defend well and at least we didnt concede any goals.
Schlingermann kept us in it with some great saves and Cillian won it on his own.

If Down took their points in the second half instead of trying to work goals it could have been a different outcome.

I would have serious worries about the final...
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 31, 2009, 02:51:55 PM
Lads, we've had the same experience as Down had over the years failing to finish off matcches we should have won. Armagh will be absolutely overwhelming favourites in the final now. I suppose Mayo are lucky to be playing aginst the BEST MINOR TEAM IN THE HISTORY OF THE GAA in the final. Sure you never know Armagh might hit a few wides the next day...

Slingermann would have to be my motm yesterday. He saved the day in the end for us, but well done also to O'Connor as well, he took the goals at the right times.

As I said we're lucky to have reached the final.
Post by: Cúig huaire on August 31, 2009, 03:07:47 PM
Well done to Mayo, they took their scores yesterday whereas Down didnt. Down took the wrong option almost everytime when going for goal. They had more than enough chances to win the game and have only themselves to blame.
Good luck to Mayo in the final.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2009, 03:46:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 31, 2009, 02:51:55 PM
Lads, we've had the same experience as Down had over the years failing to finish off matcches we should have won. Armagh will be absolutely overwhelming favourites in the final now. I suppose Mayo are lucky to be playing aginst the BEST MINOR TEAM IN THE HISTORY OF THE GAA in the final. Sure you never know Armagh might hit a few wides the next day...

Slingermann would have to be my motm yesterday. He saved the day in the end for us, but well done also to O'Connor as well, he took the goals at the right times.

As I said we're lucky to have reached the final.

See nobody's said that, or indeed anything like that. If you really creating a fake siege mentality on the internet will help your minor team, fair enough but I doubt it'll have the slightest bearing on the result.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 31, 2009, 04:03:27 PM
Not until I did. ;)
Post by: Mourne Rover on August 31, 2009, 04:06:23 PM
Down should pretty clearly have beaten Mayo yesterday, but, on all known form, Armagh look significantly stronger than either of Sunday's semi finalists. The most frustrating aspect from a Down point of view was that the Mayo substitutions and tactical switches after half time all worked, while our changes either did not happen or made no impact. It is hard to blame our management for all the missed chances, but there are good reasons to believe that our squad selection, particiularly in defence, was questionable.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 31, 2009, 07:41:07 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on August 31, 2009, 03:07:47 PM
Well done to Mayo, they took their scores yesterday whereas Down didnt. Down took the wrong option almost everytime when going for goal. They had more than enough chances to win the game and have only themselves to blame.
Good luck to Mayo in the final.
Thanks for your good wishes and I think your analysis is spot on. It was up to Down to maintain the pressure in the second half but for a variety of reasons they were unable to do this. Mayo on the other hand took their chances when they got them and stayed focused enough to win. Neither Down slipping up or Mayo upping their game seemed possible at half time but they both came to pass. That's the way often with underage teams and no one can blame the Down lads for lack of effort. All in all, the game was played in a proper spirit throughout and all the lads and management on both sides concerned are to be commended.
I'll worry about the final when the time comes and not before that.
The supposed form line would suggest that we will be hockeyed off the field the next day but that was expected to happen yesterday as well. The game did the lads a power of good and I expect them to be willing and able to give it their best shot in the final.
That's all anyone can ask of them and I'm quite happy to see them put it up to Armagh and to hell with forecasts of doom and disaster.
Now, if it was trhe senior shower, I'd be feeling worried. ;D
Post by: moysider on August 31, 2009, 09:41:01 PM
Impossible to compare the 2 semi finals because the slippery conditions made even the senior players - many as good as we ve seen - look wretched at times yesterday.

We did nt show up in the first half though and such a lapse would be fatal the next day. When we got going in the second half we did well enough and Andrew Farrell had a great chance to put us 9 clear with about 15 to go. I thought we were comfortable enough in the end and I would nt  agree with those that claim the result was a fluke. From what I saw yeaterday if we were to play again I think we would win again. If we played both halves.

The big problem with this Mayo team is that we just dont have a midfield. Walsh is a quality forward but necessity means he has to be used in midfield. Kirby is still 16 I believe, so its a credit to him that he can compete there at all. For some reason Corduff has nt got the fitness to get around the field. This means that unless the workrate of the middle 8 is phenonemal we re bunched. Only 1 of the half forwards worked in the first half. Down runners were nt tracked and it resulted in some serious situations. Hats off to some great backs-to-the wall defending to save us. When we sorted it out at half time we were a different team. But the problem wont go away for the final. Dempsey has to make do with what he has. Usually fielders are a staple in a Mayo minor midfield but not this one. At least we wont be fooling ourselves with fielding nonsense and concentrate on winning breaks. We we re nt hungry enough yesterday and only won 1 of our first 9 kickouts. Overall we won something like 9 from 19 which showed we upped our game later.

I d be confident we ll get some players from this group whether we win or lose the next day. Schlingermann is the latest in a line of great German keepers like Sepp Maier, Harald Schumacher and Oliver Kahn. Michael Walsh is a warrior and the only thing he might lack is an inch or two. Kirby will be some minor next year. Walsh is quality and I would nt swap Cillian O Connor for any minor in the country, especially as he s minor again next year. Be great to win this one against the head. Win or lose I reckon we ll be pushing again next year.
Post by: rosnarun on August 31, 2009, 11:57:52 PM
the mixture of down delusion fueled by mayo pessimism here is hilarious.
down panicked when mayo got a few goals and took crazy shots at a keeper in top form . not  the hallmark of a quality team  .
since when are the gaa giving out credit for teams who 'should have won  but cant score' if that was the case mayo would be over burdened  with allireland medals and unlike those losers in tyrone some of them would have been back to back too
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 01, 2009, 09:15:33 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 31, 2009, 11:57:52 PM
down panicked when mayo got a few goals and took crazy shots at a keeper in top form . not  the hallmark of a quality team  .
since when are the gaa giving out credit for teams who 'should have won  but cant score' if that was the case mayo would be over burdened  with allireland medals and unlike those losers in tyrone some of them would have been back to back too
Good man, ros!
That just about sums it up. ;D
Post by: blast05 on September 01, 2009, 09:37:46 AM
Quotebut, on all known form, Armagh look significantly stronger than either of Sunday's semi finalists.

Known form doesn't count for even nearly as much in the minor grade.
Mayo fluked a draw in the Connacht final against Ros (and one would have said that Ros would win 99 out of 100 replays) but Mayo actually turned up for the replay and won comfortably.
Against Down, Mayo didn't show up in the first half but improved no end in the 2nd.
People saying Mayos defence is a bit weak are really looking at the stats either. I make it that in their last 4 games they have conceeded something like only 11 points from play.
Post by: ross4life on September 01, 2009, 12:49:03 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 30, 2009, 05:46:35 PM
The 1st half display by Mayo was one of the worst I've seen by a Mayo team at any grade......EVER.

2nd half in the connaught final (in salthill) was worse ;)

from what i seen this year Armagh & Cork  have been the best teams & deserve to win the All Ireland BUT.... i guess we'll wait & see what happens on All Ireland Final Day
Post by: AbbeySider on September 01, 2009, 12:55:01 PM

typical codswallop and bull
Post by: Foreverhopeful on September 01, 2009, 02:09:03 PM
michael walsh was impressive. Most promising corner back since ken mortimer. only lacks a few inches but more than makes up for it with his bravery and tenacity. Quality.
Post by: rosnarun on September 01, 2009, 04:33:28 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 01, 2009, 12:55:01 PM

From me or the rest of the self flageating mayo folk here. If we keep this up ray dempsey will have to offer poor down a replay after all we seem to have stolen the match and have no right to be in the final.
Time we copped ourselves on and counted our blessings
Mayo god help us

Post by: AbbeySider on September 01, 2009, 04:43:30 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 01, 2009, 04:33:28 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 01, 2009, 12:55:01 PM

From me or the rest of the self flageating mayo folk here. If we keep this up ray dempsey will have to offer poor down a replay after all we seem to have stolen the match and have no right to be in the final.
Time we copped ourselves on and counted our blessings
Mayo god help us

From you as usual