Well folks, Mayo were favourites to be there. Instead we have got Meath. I hope we dont lie down like 2001. Heres hoping we can extract some revenge for that dark day in 2001!
Lets hope both teams ware green and gold again :P
Meath complacency will probably be a factor in our favour. I think they will expect to hammer us again like 2001. Hopefully, our lads will show and give them a decent game.
We were hammered by Cork and both Sligo and Longford should have beaten us. The Dublin game tells us nothing so overall you'd have to be worried.
So over all I'm quietly pessimistic but, still ,its great to make the semi-final and hopefully everybody will have a great day out.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 09, 2009, 04:05:03 PM
Meath complacency will probably be a factor in our favour. I think they will expect to hammer us again like 2001. Hopefully, our lads will show and give them a decent game.
We were hammered by Cork and both Sligo and Longford should have beaten us. The Dublin game tells us nothing so overall you'd have to be worried.
So over all I'm quietly pessimistic but, still ,its great to make the semi-final and hopefully everybody will have a great day out.
Good one . You surely must in the running for cute hoor of the year now!
Meath are an unstoppable force right now.
Very true Mike. In '01 we were hammered by 15 pts. Keeping it to single digits this time will be an improvement.
Absolutely. Meath are very difficult to stop once they get a head of steam up. You'd have to be worried about guys like Sheridan running amok. Bray will be back for this as well won't he ? Also, I'm not convinced by Griffin at full-back the Mike McCarthy will be targetted as well, what with him not playing inter-county for 3 years. An AI semi will be a huge step up for him.
single digits is probably the best we can hope for I suppose.
ah yeah .. should be a walk in the park for meath.
Darragh gets his chance to beat one of two counties he has played against and not defeated in championship.
Can this thread be renamed to: Kerry V Meath AI SF Semifinal 30th August 2009 - The Art of Cute Hoorism
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 09, 2009, 04:30:23 PM
Can this thread be renamed to: Kerry V Meath AI SF Semifinal 30th August 2009 - The Art of Cute Hoorism
Remember - Meath turned youse boys over in 2007!
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 09, 2009, 04:35:05 PM
Remember - Meath turned youse boys over in 2007!
Aye, though it was a weakened Tyrone team and to listen to yourselves you'd swear that you'd no chance at all on the 30th. You've something better than that ;)
no, not meath their going to kill us. make us look like the dubs ;) whats with mayo tho? thought they'd win today
Kerry into 11/10 favourites for Sam now with Paddy Power due to their 'easy' semi final...
Quote from: Nailed On on August 09, 2009, 05:48:43 PM
Kerry into 11/10 favourites for Sam now with Paddy Power due to their 'easy' semi final...
Sure what do the bookies know - hadn't they the Dubs odds on last Monday.
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 09, 2009, 05:50:07 PM
Yeah you have said that a couple of times now, well done.
Quote from: Nailed On on August 09, 2009, 05:42:16 PM
Kerry now favourites with their so called easier semi final...
Odds from Paddy Power:
Kerry 11/10
Tyrone 13/8
Cork 4/1
Meath 12/1
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 09, 2009, 06:17:18 PM
Odds from Paddy Power:
Kerry 11/10
Tyrone 13/8
Cork 4/1
Meath 12/1
Thanks, means a lot getting a pat on the back from the board's resident p***k! I am guessing Frank can't speak for himself?
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 09, 2009, 05:50:07 PM
cant believe the bookies have cork at 7/4 against tyrone
Are Meath de real Mick Lyons deal or alternatively up to the standard of the rest of Leinster?
Have the Celtic tiger years sapped the Ur-Meath spirit or is it still there somewhere buried under the
concrete ?
Looking forward to another classic Royal encounter between 2 teams that try to play football the way it should be played, hard, fast, fair and long!
Kerry will be mad favourites, but if we can dominate midfield like we did today (and have bar the Dublin game, all year), then the Gooch mightn't get the amount of ball he needs to do the damage he can do. Stephen Bray will be back thankfully so hopefully we will be competitive and not like our last AI SF when a confident Meath got their arses kicked by Cork.
TBH I think Cork will beat whoever comes through this semi final.
Quote from: navanman on August 09, 2009, 07:39:22 PM
Looking forward to another classic Royal encounter between 2 teams that try to play football the way it should be played, hard, fast, fair and long!
Kerry will be mad favourites, but if we can dominate midfield like we did today (and have bar the Dublin game, all year), then the Gooch mightn't get the amount of ball he needs to do the damage he can do. Stephen Bray will be back thankfully so hopefully we will be competitive and not like our last AI SF when a confident Meath got their arses kicked by Cork.
jayas i thought cork had to play tyrone and the winners ..... "ah maybe not".
Quote from: kickingmule on August 09, 2009, 07:55:25 PM
Quote from: navanman on August 09, 2009, 07:39:22 PM
Cork will beat Tyrone. I've no doubt about that one.
jayas i thought cork had to play tyrone and the winners ..... "ah maybe not".
Judging by this thread I don't think too many Ky travellers for this one given as they have already thrown the towel in.
Sounds like there is an air of suprem confidence and supremacy in Queen Victoria's favourity holiday county.
Quote from: Nailed On on August 09, 2009, 06:47:37 PM
Odds from Paddy Power:
Kerry 11/10
Tyrone 13/8
Cork 4/1
Meath 12/1
Thanks, means a lot getting a pat on the back from the board's resident p***k! I am guessing Frank can't speak for himself?
Nailed On - I can - so there.
And when you've ploughed what Mike Sheehy has harrowed then you
can call him a p***k.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 09, 2009, 04:25:58 PM
Absolutely. Meath are very difficult to stop once they get a head of steam up. You'd have to be worried about guys like Sheridan running amok. Bray will be back for this as well won't he ? Also, I'm not convinced by Griffin at full-back the Mike McCarthy will be targetted as well, what with him not playing inter-county for 3 years. An AI semi will be a huge step up for him.
single digits is probably the best we can hope for I suppose.
Better get the tongue out of the side of your cheek pretty quick - those queues at A&E are getting longer and longer.
Of course Kerry will be favourites but Jack O'Connor will know that Meath will almost certainly give them a much better game than the Dubs. It will be great to have Stephen Bray back. I have a feeling that the players really did it for him today as he had been hard done by. o'Connor will have learned a lot about Meath and will be thinking up strategies to counteract their threats - not just relying on Kerry playing their own game to win it. I would be worried about the Gooch, O'Sullivan & Tommy Walsh up front - dont know what we can do to nullify them except stop the ball coming in. Also i am expecting a big game from Tadhg Kennelly - he didnt come home just to make up the numbers and could be a huge factor in the semi.
Anyway, I am glad we have this to look forward to. I was surprised that some Mayo posters were saying that they were happier to lose this one rather than be hammered by Kerry.I know what they are getting at but you should never think that. After all it's not over till the Fat Lady Sings - ask the Greek soccer team!
Quote from: navanman on August 09, 2009, 08:13:15 PM
And were you as certain that Kerry would beat Tyrone in 2003, 2005 & 2008?
Get your money on the 1st ever All Munster Football Final.
Apart from Kerry Cork the other year.
Is it true Dara O'Se has never played in a team that's beat Meath in the c'ship? Meath and Tyrone if I recall correctly?
Could be something in the stars for the perfect retirement...
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 09, 2009, 09:11:52 PM
Get your money on the 1st ever All Munster Football Final.
You're only 2 years too late! D'oh!
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 09, 2009, 09:02:06 PM
No I thought Tyrone would win the last 2 mentioned. I think Tyrone would beat Kerry or Meath in the Semi Final were they playing them, but have a feeling that the make up of this Cork team may prove a little too strong for them, as they are the type of challenge Tyrone won't have faced in a long time. big men, much taller, but also critically big characters (just like Tyrone have).
But that's for another thread. As for Kerry - Meath. Well we're happy to be the massive underdogs.
Quote from: navanman on August 09, 2009, 09:26:58 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 09, 2009, 09:02:06 PM
No I thought Tyrone would win the last 2 mentioned. I think Tyrone would beat Kerry or Meath in the Semi Final were they playing them, but have a feeling that the make up of this Cork team may prove a little too strong for them, as they are the type of challenge Tyrone won't have faced in a long time. big men, much taller, but also critically big characters (just like Tyrone have).
But that's for another thread. As for Kerry - Meath. Well we're happy to be the massive underdogs.
Wrong thread but thought I would respond to this. Despite what people think there is very little difference in the size of the 2 teams. Cork are very slightly bigger. Tyrone have the McMahons, Cavanagh, Hughes, McGinley, O'Neill, McConnell who are all 6 ft plus. Good few boys only an inch or 2 short of it. Cork have 1 or 2 very big men which make people think they are a far bigger team.
I think people are getting a bit carried away by putting in Kerry as raging hot favourites against Meath but you have to realise that this is a Kerry team that has got beaten by Cork, Very close shaves against Longford, Sligo and Antrim and played a training session against a Dublin team that were beaten and threw in the towel after 38 secs last Monday. This Kerry team will not get the room or movement against Meath or Tyrone or Cork as they did agin Dublin. As Jack O Connor said" One swallow dosent make a summer" !. Complacency could be a serious factor here but I think JOC will have his homework done and wont approach this without caution.
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 09, 2009, 08:50:33 PM
Quote from: Nailed On on August 09, 2009, 06:47:37 PM
Odds from Paddy Power:
Kerry 11/10
Tyrone 13/8
Cork 4/1
Meath 12/1
Nailed On - I can - so there.
And when you've ploughed what Mike Sheehy has harrowed then you can call him a p***k.
Well done on getting your fist out of his rectum long enough to type that reply.
I get a feeling that this Meath team is like the '96 team who came out of nowhere to win an All-Ireland.
Don't know whether it was the drink talking or not but a lot of very confident Royals around last night. Can't see them beating Kerry myself
Quote from: Declan on August 10, 2009, 10:57:53 AM
Don't know whether it was the drink talking or not but a lot of very confident Royals around last night. Can't see them beating Kerry myself
I can't either. their forwards will not the get the latitiude of no shadowing like they got from mayo yesterday. Kerry will not be as bad as mayo under the breaks either. Kerry by 6 for me. Only thing is Meath won't disgrace themselves . It'll be a good competitive game. Meath need to believe they can win.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2009, 11:08:07 AM
Quote from: Declan on August 10, 2009, 10:57:53 AM
I can't either. their forwards will not the get the latitiude of no shadowing like they got from mayo yesterday. Kerry will not be as bad as mayo under the breaks either. Kerry by 6 for me. Only thing is Meath won't disgrace themselves . It'll be a good competitive game. Meath need to believe they can win.
Like Dublin did?
can someone merge the two threads on this? 2 kerrry/meaths goin on!
What age are the Meath players? Anyone with a couple of minutes of spare time?
P O'Rourke ; E Harrington , A Moyles , C O'Connor ; M Burke , C McGuinness , C King ; N Crawford , B Meade ; P Byrne , J Sheridan , S Kenny ; D Bray , C Ward , B Farrell . (also S Bray).
Quote from: Nailed On on August 10, 2009, 08:50:57 AM
Well done on getting your fist out of his rectum long enough to type that reply.
Thats so funny ???
QuoteWell done on getting your fist out of his rectum long enough to type that reply.
No, I think we'll leave that kind of stuff to you and your boyfriend ONL...if what I read on other threads is to be believed.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 10, 2009, 08:26:58 PM
QuoteWell done on getting your fist out of his rectum long enough to type that reply.
No, I think we'll leave that kind of stuff to you and your boyfriend ONL...if what I read on other threads is to be believed.
i'd say the average age on this website is about 12 when you look at the juvenile stuff that appears here. Sad.!
Quote from: outthecountry on August 10, 2009, 08:52:36 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 10, 2009, 08:26:58 PM
i'd say the average age on this website is about 12 when you look at the juvenile stuff that appears here. Sad.!
f**k off then.
We can be treated to some right good inconsistency in refereeing !!
Sunday 30th Aug 2009
Time Venue Team 1 Team 2 Referee
3 30 PM Páirc an Chrócaigh Meath Kerry Gearoid O Conamha
So the minor will be at 1.30 I presume.
Very true. He made a bollocks of the game in Longford. Is there that much of a shortage of quality inter county referees that this fella has to get an AI semi final?
Quote from: blanketattack on August 10, 2009, 10:30:30 AM
I get a feeling that this Meath team is like the '96 team who came out of nowhere to win an All-Ireland.
Could well be . They have a low key manager and look well organised and do not panic . Semi Finals are only stepping stones to the final so Meath (or indeed Kerry0 will not be worried about performance . I can see the Meath half forwards playing a very deep role covering the space that Dublin did not close down .
Oh Gearóid! :o
Anois, tá mé buartha.
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 11, 2009, 10:17:20 PM
Very true. He made a bollocks of the game in Longford. Is there that much of a shortage of quality inter county referees that this fella has to get an AI semi final?
And every other venue he's reffed at >:(
Quote from: blanketattack on August 10, 2009, 02:15:36 PM
P O'Rourke 20 ; E Harrington 24, A Moyles 30ish, C O'Connor <25; M Burke <25, C McGuinness 23, C King 24; N Crawford 27ish, B Meade 23; P Byrne 24, J Sheridan 24, S Kenny 28ish; D Bray 23, C Ward 23, B Farrell 24. (also S Bray 26).
Its a young enough Meath team, still plenty of years in them for an All Ireland. The ages i put in might not be totally accurate but are close enough.
Meath shouldn't get past Kerry but stranger things have happened. I think alot depends on how the Meath players go into the Match. If they have the belief that they can win and play from the first minute, it could get very interesting.
Yup, he'll fcuk it this one up properly too
Quote from: Royalranter on August 12, 2009, 03:09:53 PM
P O'Rourke 20 ; E Harrington 24, A Moyles 30ish, C O'Connor <25; M Burke <25, C McGuinness 23, C King 24; N Crawford 27ish, B Meade 23; P Byrne 24, J Sheridan 24, S Kenny 28ish; D Bray 23, C Ward 23, B Farrell 24. (also S Bray 26).
Its a young enough Meath team, still plenty of years in them for an All Ireland. The ages i put in might not be totally accurate but are close enough.
Meath shouldn't get past Kerry but stranger things have happened. I think alot depends on how the Meath players go into the Match. If they have the belief that they can win and play from the first minute, it could get very interesting.
Welcome Royalranter.
Moyles is 32 (33 in November). Crawford is 29, I think.
yes Crawford will be 30 later this year. Its gonna be an interesting game. The big question is will be Donaghy be ready? I think our team believe they can beat Kerry on a given day, otherwise why bother showing up. looking forward to seeing what S Bray can show us in this semi. Between the suspension and the memories of 07 I think hes going for a big performance.
Donaghy may have some way to go next and bringing him back too soon only smacks of desperation. Even if (half) fit I cannot see Jack risking him to start. Could see Tadhg Kenneally starting at Tommy Walsh or Donncha Walsh's expense. Hard to change any of the others after Dubs demolition.
Really don't know if we can win this one. All depends on what sort of Kerry team shows up. We'll go in hope however.
Quote from: thejuice on August 12, 2009, 10:42:12 PM
Really don't know if we can win this one. All depends on what sort of Kerry team shows up. We'll go in hope however.
Of course we CAN win. Whether we will win is a different question. Why should Meath fear Kerry or anyone else in Croke Park? The form of the most recent game is always too highly regarded, in my opinion. I can't remember the last time any team produced two consecutive outstanding performances in the championship. The odds are that Kerry will not reach anything like the level they achieved against Duiblin. The question is whether our performance against Mayo was our peak or whether there's an outstanding performance in us.
Of course, if there is and we use it against Kerry and feckin win, we're doomed in the final.
Quote from: Hardy on August 12, 2009, 11:33:16 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 12, 2009, 10:42:12 PM
Of course we CAN win. Whether we will win is a different question. Why should Meath fear Kerry or anyone else in Croke Park? The form of the most recent game is always too highly regarded, in my opinion. I can't remember the last time any team produced two consecutive outstanding performances in the championship. The odds are that Kerry will not reach anything like the level they achieved against Duiblin. The question is whether our performance against Mayo was our peak or whether there's an outstanding performance in us.
Of course, if there is and we use it against Kerry and feckin win, we're doomed in the final.
I've watched it again twice since Sunday Hardy and there is serious scope for improvement.
I think we can play much better.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 13, 2009, 12:57:26 AM
I've watched it again twice since Sunday Hardy and there is serious scope for improvement.
I'm sure you're right, Jinxy. As people were saying on another thread, we tend to overlook a lot of deficiencies in victory. I thought we played at a much higher pace on Sunday and the support at pace ("off the shoulder" as the new cliché has it) was much improved, but neither the pace nor support were anything like Tyrone, Kerry or Cork levels. Also, our error/fumble count was way above what you see from Kerry/Tyrone. It was encouraging, though, that Eamonn O'Brien seemed to be aware of this - I seem to remember him mentioning it - and so has something to work on. But if we could improve so much on Sunday, maybe we can improve as much again.
One thing I'd be very happy with was that the aggression in the tackle and in sweeping up breaking ball was 100% better than earlier in the year
To get in the mood for the next three weeks, I took out the video of Meath-Kerry 2001 the other night, just after re-watching Sunday's game. To my eye, the contrast was remarkable. The 2001 team seemed to be playing at a pace about 50% above what we saw on Sunday, seemed to be hugely fit, even compared to Kerry and certainly compared to today's team and contested every ball with amazing aggression. Eamonn and the lads should spend a couple of hours in front of it this week and take it from there.
I'd love to see that 2001 game again. It was the peak before the fall however.
You did point out correctly that we do seem to spill the ball an awful lot, or lads not catching it first time, Cian Ward was particularly bad for this against Limerick and Joe as well. But it can be worked on, its all about technique.
Of course we CAN win, perhaps 'can' was the wrong choice of word.
QuoteI've watched it again twice since Sunday Hardy and there is serious scope for improvement.
I'd agree with that first sentence but I honestly don't think that Meath are anything other than a very average side. I've watched a number of their matches over the last couple of seasons and have seen a fair few of these lads playing for their clubs and just don't see how they can beat Kerry. Maybe I'll be proved wrong but I think they are operating at a level below the top tier. Agree with Hardy though re the huge improvement re aggression and breaking ball but unless Kerry go back to performing like they did against Longford after the first 20 mins and parts of the Sligo game I think they'll win by 5/6 points.
Even though Kerry are primed to be peaking now, I can't help but feel that they themselves will feel that they won't need the same level of performance against Meath (as they produced against Dublin), and this could make it a much tighter affair (in terms of scores anyway). Kerry (and O'Connor) may be only thinking of Tyrone at this point, however hard the Kerry machine are trying to (make them) avoid that mistake.
And there's no guarantee that Tyrone will have Cork's measure either. I still have a feeling that the Cork side may not have enough bottle for Tyrone (or Kerry post-July).
I agree with all of that Billy and Kerry's possible (and certainly inadvertent) eye-off-the-ball approach going into the game may be our biggest advantage - just as Mayo can't have been immune to complacency on Sunday and that undoubtedly helped us. The psychology matters hugely.
One interesting little thing from watching the 2001 video - Seán's selectors that day were Coyle and O'Brien - the last two county managers. More to the point and to our disadvantage, Jack O'Connor was on the sideline for Kerry that day. That may be a significant motor of motivation for the Kingdom.
yea the motivation is deffinitely there for the Kingdom after 2001, but for our lads the motivation comes from that bad loss in 07. A number of players commented on this straight after and in the papers since. They really felt sick after that defeat with Cork and felt that the team was muc better than that scoreline suggested and they wont want that happening this time. so as well as O Brien showing them the the 01 game, I think he'll be showing them the 07 one too.
Thanks for the info. That's almost the perfect age profile. Not too young or not too old. It's similar to the age profile of the Kerry team in 1978!
Quote from: blanketattack on August 13, 2009, 11:45:51 AM
Thanks for the info. That's almost the perfect age profile. Not too young or not too old. It's similar to the age profile of the Kerry team in 1978!
Its not a bad age for them. And a good few of them have been playing together with the county up through t he age groups and were on the minor team that reached All ireland Final circa 02. I don't think they're quite ready to win an All Ireland just yet but with a few more long runs in the championship, they could be a big threat in years to come
Quote from: meathie on August 13, 2009, 11:42:52 AM
yea the motivation is deffinitely there for the Kingdom after 2001, but for our lads the motivation comes from that bad loss in 07. A number of players commented on this straight after and in the papers since. They really felt sick after that defeat with Cork and felt that the team was muc better than that scoreline suggested and they wont want that happening this time. so as well as O Brien showing them the the 01 game, I think he'll be showing them the 07 one too.
But Mayo supposedly had plenty of motivation to beat us on Sunday.
And Tyrone in '07.
yes absolutely, but thats what I mean. There will always be motivation factor from somewhere, at the end of the day motivation alone will not get you through a game.
Quote from: Declan on August 13, 2009, 09:46:41 AM
QuoteI've watched it again twice since Sunday Hardy and there is serious scope for improvement.
I'd agree with that first sentence but I honestly don't think that Meath are anything other than a very average side. I've watched a number of their matches over the last couple of seasons and have seen a fair few of these lads playing for their clubs and just don't see how they can beat Kerry. Maybe I'll be proved wrong but I think they are operating at a level below the top tier. Agree with Hardy though re the huge improvement re aggression and breaking ball but unless Kerry go back to performing like they did against Longford after the first 20 mins and parts of the Sligo game I think they'll win by 5/6 points.
We have an above average forward line, a competitive midfield but defensively we aren't great.
I'd be worried that we dominated the midddle third of the field yet Mayo still scored 1-15.
If our defenders function better as a unit against Kerry we definitely have the attacking options to give them a fright.
I doubt it- most of the kerry team weren't playing that day. Those sort of defeats only have relevance to the guys who were actually playing.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 13, 2009, 01:09:24 PM
I doubt it- most of the kerry team weren't playing that day. Those sort of defeats only have relevance to the guys who were actually playing.
I agree, it's in the mists of time - it's only recent encounters that wind teams up, from a motivational perspective.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 13, 2009, 01:09:24 PM
Yeah, I think Darragh Ó Sé and Mike McCarthy are the only remaining players from that day. Tomás Ó Sé was suspended and Tom O'Sullivan came off injured early on.
2001 will be factor alright. Those oles may yet come back to hunt the royals.
Darragh has never played on a Kerry side that has beaten Meath in championship.
Miike McCarthy, Tom O'Sullivan & Darragh played. Tommy Griffin came on as a sub.
Kerry Selector Eamon Fitzmaurice played. Noel Kennelly can tell his brother about it.
OK, midfield. How do we stack up against the Kerry men. Crawford and Meade are having a good year, I wonder if things would have been different if they started against Dublin.
We've done reasonably well on winning breaks as well after the Dublin game with lads like King playing where he belongs and Peadar Byrne playing well. While we are 2nd best to Kerry I still think we should still come away with over 45% of the kickouts won.
So Kevin Reilly is out for deff. Its a pity. I wouldnt have started him anyway but it would have been good to have him on the bench if needed. well we'll have to make do, we can still win ;)
hey, why am I gone back to being a newbie??? :-[
Best of luck to both teams,i think that Kerry should be well equipped to complete the job that a naive Mayo team failed to do. Have great time for Meath and Meath people, have lots of friends in Trim and I'm down a fair bit. However, who i don't have time for are the 15-25ish year old Meath supporters who were on the hill the last day.They could only be described as Shamrock Rovers Wannabe supporters. Serious gloating went on the last day, Kerry hammered Mayo out the gate a few times and there was no gloating by Kerry supporters, just was disappointing to see.
Quote from: ballinaman on August 20, 2009, 02:49:15 PM
Best of luck to both teams,i think that Kerry should be well equipped to complete the job that a naive Mayo team failed to do. Have great time for Meath and Meath people, have lots of friends in Trim and I'm down a fair bit. However, who i don't have time for are the 15-25ish year old Meath supporters who were on the hill the last day.They could only be described as Shamrock Rovers Wannabe supporters. Serious gloating went on the last day, Kerry hammered Mayo out the gate a few times and there was no gloating by Kerry supporters, just was disappointing to see.
So True! I was on the Hill the day in 2001 when we got slaughtered by Meath and the antics of some of the Meath "supporters" was a disgrace. :(
I've been out with Dublin friends after matches and they've been on the receiving end of plenty of gloating by Kerry fans over the last few years.
Agreed, we seem to have got a fair share of these, wonder how many are out training & playing with their clubs?
Quote from: Jinxy on August 20, 2009, 10:26:47 PM
I've been out with Dublin friends after matches and they've been on the receiving end of plenty of gloating by Kerry fans over the last few years.
Gloating may be ok sometimes in the right context but downright bad manners and ignorance - no excuse for it!
Just want to make it clear that I'm not saying Meath are the only county with eejits like those on the hill, every county has their fair share that let themselves down on match days....just that there seemed to be a larger amount than usual gathered together the last day on the hill supporting Meath!!
Quote from: ballinaman on August 20, 2009, 10:54:13 PM
Just want to make it clear that I'm not saying Meath are the only county with eejits like those on the hill, every county has their fair share that let themselves down on match days....just that there seemed to be a larger amount than usual gathered together the last day on the hill supporting Meath!!
No larger that usual. The same little knot of soccer-inspired apes follows the team everywhere, with their synchronised finger-jabbing and inane chanting. Somebody mentioned there are15-25-ish of them. I'd say more than that, but he could have been talking about their age.
I don't think the 99% of sensible supporters feel the need to apologise for them - they have nothing to do with me anyway and I don't know what they think they're at. But anyone who upsets themselves about being "gloated" at by fifteen year-olds needs to give their head a shake.
I heard them singing 'come on you boys in (insert colour, i thought it was green?)'. It didn't work. It can't work.
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 07:39:01 AM
But anyone who upsets themselves about being "gloated" at by fifteen year-olds needs to give their head a shake.
Yeah, let them have their bit of fun.
Quote from: Zapatista on August 21, 2009, 07:54:10 AM
I heard them singing 'come on you boys in (insert colour, i thought it was green?)'. It didn't work. It can't work.
Indeed it was green. Never mind that the team was wearing gold. Take it as an indication of the level of originality, intelligence and feeling for the spirit of the game we're dealing with here. I just content myself with the fact that it's only the less sinister aspects of soccer culture that they feel the need to imitate.
Forgive me for going off topic here,
I remember the Laois fans in croker chanting Lee-eech over and over. It sounded really weird putting it in two syllables. It didn't work either.
Quote from: Zapatista on August 21, 2009, 07:54:10 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 07:39:01 AM
But anyone who upsets themselves about being "gloated" at by fifteen year-olds needs to give their head a shake.
Yeah, let them have their bit of fun.
Big time. Didn't bother me in the slightest, just was disappointing and just underlines how many jump on the band-wagon supporters are out there!! How many of them went to the league matches I'd love to know!! The finger pointing and chanting routine is obviously an attempt to imitate the Dubs, I heard one of them trying to get the chant "Hill 16 is Royal Only" going. I had to laugh, so many things wrong with that it's hard to know where to begin. Anyways, point has been made. Best of luck to both teams and may the real supporters of each team enjoy a victory!
Well, Donaghy is back training by all accounts. Not good news from our perspective but if he plays it wont be the full 70.
For us, Kevin Reilly is also rumoured to be back in the swing of things but considering he hasn't played since the Dublin game he'll be a bit rusty I'd imagine but might be brought in at some stage at full back and let Moyles out the field possibly.
It will be interesting to see how we try to play, like against Mayo will we persevere with a long ball into the forwards. Its that type of ball thte the kerry backs are well able to play, I guess we just have to trust our forwards have the beating of them.
Quote from: Zapatista on August 21, 2009, 09:05:32 AM
Forgive me for going off topic here,
I remember the Laois fans in croker chanting Lee-eech over and over. It sounded really weird putting it in two syllables. It didn't work either.
Sure we do the same. :D
MEE-AD.
Cork in a final are a scary prospect for any team. Hope Meath can do it, it would be a refreshing final if nothing else.
Meath won't be taking Kerry for granted. We'll be giving them the same respect we'd give any team. Kerry are in the semi-final on merit. Nobody can take that away from them and we know they'll put it up to us big time.
You've been practicing that for a while Hardy, I'd say. Impressive. :P
Just trying to bring a little balance to the debate, Billy. Not looking for a reaction or anything, of course.
I thought you might be trying to take the piss out of folk unlikely to visit this particular thread.
Moi?
Quote from: Hardy on August 24, 2009, 11:30:16 AM
Meath won't be taking Kerry for granted. We'll be giving them the same respect we'd give any team. Kerry are in the semi-final on merit. Nobody can take that away from them and we know they'll put it up to us big time.
Yerrah
You'll have to visit the 2010 McKenna Cup thread to get a reaction Hardy. Incidentally, I'm surprised no-one has started it up yet.
QuoteToday we are down but from Tomorrow I cant wait for the mc kenna cup. Congrats Cork and that fantastic Armagh minor team.
I stand corrected.
The sun never sets on Ulster football.
We know how glad Meath are that Tyrone didnt make the final as they'd have a month of 1996 whinging to distract them. Now they are focussed on meeting their true nemesis Cork. Only Kerry stand in their way and after 2001 and Kerrys dismal form this year (Dublin was a freak result) that shouldn't be much of a problem to them.
The Royals are on the March again. We'll be doing well to keep it kicked out to them.
QuoteI would like to see Jack O'Connor in another final, know he is not really liked in Kerry as they dont see him as one of their own.
Ah I don't think that's right DD12, AZ and the Kerry lads would know better, but I think that any Kerry manager will always be under pressure to perform from the other districts (Tralee and North Kerry especially, in his case), as they will want one of their own in the job.
will donaghy play any part or is he out for the season?
Quote from: Stimpy on August 24, 2009, 05:00:17 PM
will donaghy play any part or is he out for the season?
Not sure ,I dont expect him to figure this Sunday .
Just heard Aidan O'Mahony is out next weekend with suspected appendix. Will be a loss but he has been out of form most of the season and Mike McCarthy has made centre back his own since his return. Still we have other options with Padraig Reidy, Daniel Bohane and Aidan O'Shea all in contention
Can't see any changes to the line up from the Jackeen's game except perhaps Tadhg Kennelly in for one of the Walsh's.
Diarmuid Murphy will play in goal, has made some vital saves in games this year which has kept us afloat at times.
The full back line should be Marc O'Se , Tommy Griffin and Tom O'Sullivan and you will see some interchange between these positions Killian Young and Tomas O'Se will flank Mike Mc in the Half back and again all three will be swopping, and will all attack when possible.
Seamus Scanlon will partner the OAP making his 80th appearance in midfield, Scanlon and O'Se's fitness has improved and will be needed against a tall and physical Meath centre pairing. We need to gain a platform here. Mike Quirke has been an ideal sub all year will win ball when introduced and Anthony Maher if fully fit is a great option too.
The half forwards were excellent against Dublin and cleaned up an amount of breaking ball and Dublin kick outs, we need the same industry from them on Sunday. Paul Galvin has been having a fine summer and his concentration on football matters has to be commended.
One of Jacks big dilemmas will be playing Declan in the centre forward or full forward position where he did immense damage against the Dubs. I'd start him on the forty and let him attack.
The other wing position is up for grabs between Donnacha Walsh and Kennelly , and while Wash has been solid all year I might just give to nod to Kennelly who seems to be hitting form (whatever that is as he has no past form for Kerry)
Gooch, back in form, will be in the corner and be the free taker, with possible Tommy Walsh again on the edge of the square and Darren O'Sullivan did enough against the dubs to hold onto a starting spot. And Bryan Sheehan and Paul O'Connor while having good free taking abilities will not start but are good options off the bench as is Sean O'Sullivan, can't see Donaghy being fit this weekend he is only back training and would be a huge gamble to throw him in.
It will be a very tough game for us, the memories of the one sided Dublin game need to be forgotten about and any thoughts that creep in of playing Cork in the final will be punished by a very good but underachieving Meath team.
On the day its what matters though so Kerry will need their top performance to get through here.
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2009, 10:29:36 PM
Just heard Aidan O'Mahony is out next weekend with suspected appendix. Will be a loss but he has been out of form most of the season and Mike McCarthy has made centre back his own since his return. Still we have other options with Padraig Reidy, Daniel Bohane and Aidan O'Shea all in contention
Can't see any changes to the line up from the Jackeen's game except perhaps Tadhg Kennelly in for one of the Walsh's.
Diarmuid Murphy will play in goal, has made some vital saves in games this year which has kept us afloat at times.
The full back line should be Marc O'Se , Tommy Griffin and Tom O'Sullivan and you will see some interchange between these positions Killian Young and Tomas O'Se will flank Mike Mc in the Half back and again all three will be swopping, and will all attack when possible.
Seamus Scanlon will partner the OAP making his 80th appearance in midfield, Scanlon and O'Se's fitness has improved and will be needed against a tall and physical Meath centre pairing. We need to gain a platform here. Mike Quirke has been an ideal sub all year will win ball when introduced and Anthony Maher if fully fit is a great option too.
The half forwards were excellent against Dublin and cleaned up an amount of breaking ball and Dublin kick outs, we need the same industry from them on Sunday. Paul Galvin has been having a fine summer and his concentration on football matters has to be commended.
One of Jacks big dilemmas will be playing Declan in the centre forward or full forward position where he did immense damage against the Dubs. I'd start him on the forty and let him attack.
The other wing position is up for grabs between Donnacha Walsh and Kennelly , and while Wash has been solid all year I might just give to nod to Kennelly who seems to be hitting form (whatever that is as he has no past form for Kerry)
Gooch, back in form, will be in the corner and be the free taker, with possible Tommy Walsh again on the edge of the square and Darren O'Sullivan did enough against the dubs to hold onto a starting spot. And Bryan Sheehan and Paul O'Connor while having good free taking abilities will not start but are good options off the bench as is Sean O'Sullivan, can't see Donaghy being fit this weekend he is only back training and would be a huge gamble to throw him in.
It will be a very tough game for us, the memories of the one sided Dublin game need to be forgotten about and any thoughts that creep in of playing Cork in the final will be punished by a very good but underachieving Meath team.
On the day its what matters though so Kerry will need their top performance to get through here.
Eamon Fitmaurices piece in todays Examiner was interesting where he mentioned the heavy training Kerry under took between the replay with Dublin and the Meath match . I hope that kerry are a bit fresher than 2001 ? Meath are not going to give Kerry as much space as the Dubs did . I hope Jack has a plan B and Plan c and that the panel is ready
Well the Royal bandwagon is definitely back up and running. Talking to lads at the weekend who haven't been to a game in a couple of years all togged out and ready to bate the Kingdom!!
Can't see it myself but it depends a lot to me on what Kerry turn up on Sunday the lads that should have been beaten by Sligo or the lads who destroyed Dublin. I think it'll be somewhere in between myself and that will be enough to beat Meath by 3/4 points
looking forward to this, Meath have nothing to lose (apart from the game).
Kerry should beat them out the gate, but Meath will tear into them.
Meath are too light/short on firepower up front against the likes of Kerry , but they will give it a good go.
A cork v kerry or a cork v meath final will be good either way.
Cork are looking for revenge against them both and could falter to both too in spite of how fantastically talented they are !
will be very interesting to see how kerry go on sunday. overwhelming favourites. Think Meath could cause the kerry backs problems.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 10:29:53 AM
will be very interesting to see how kerry go on sunday. overwhelming favourites. Think Meath could cause the kerry backs problems.
on paper they shouldnt have a hope
but you are right, the meath forwards (and indeed team) are playing way above what a lot of my Meath friends think they are normally capable of.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 25, 2009, 10:46:25 AM
but you are right, the meath forwards (and indeed team) are playing way above what a lot of my Meath friends think they are normally capable of.
Meath need to flood the midfield area with bodies. They cannot afford another start like the Mayo game.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 25, 2009, 11:01:59 AM
Meath need to flood the midfield area with bodies.
Jayses reputations die hard.
QuoteJayses reputations die hard.
:D :D :D
In sharp form this morning Hardy
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 25, 2009, 10:18:19 AM
looking forward to this, Meath have nothing to lose (apart from the game).
Kerry should beat them out the gate, but Meath will tear into them.
Meath are too light/short on firepower up front against the likes of Kerry , but they will give it a good go.
A cork v kerry or a cork v meath final will be good either way.
Cork are looking for revenge against them both and could falter to both too in spite of how fantastically talented they are !
Yea but in fairness both Meath and Kerry are looking for revenge too. Meath 07, destroyed, and Kerry this year. Its all to play for. I think Meath will come out all guns blazing and Kerry may be slow off the mark. A cracking though scary second half to finish!
Quote from: Hardy on August 25, 2009, 11:13:41 AM
Meath need to flood the midfield area with bodies.
Jayses reputations die hard.
Ah now, there's something unsettlingly above-board and squeaky-clean about this version of Meath.
Don't believe it Billy. Despite the fact that they don't actually wear eye patches and have scars all over their faces, this is still a typically tough Meath team.
I played football with Anthony Moyles in San Diego, grand lad, but he was 'typically' Meath. Tough, but not dirty, and wouldn't spare his mother if she was going through for a score. A good footballer too by the way, often overlooked.
I think Meath will give Kerry socks of it. The winning of the game may well be in the Kerry full forward line. Whether they go with a mobile Declan O'Sullivan, or a towering Tommy Walsh, Anthony Moyles will face a big task in there. I don't believe he is a natural full back at all, more of a half back or midfielder. For that reason I think he'd prefer Walsh, it'd be uncomplicated, and if Walsh heads out the field, Moyles will be comfortable out there. If it's Declan O'Sullivan, I think his pace, movement and intelligence would cause a lot of bother.
Of course that depends on Kerry getting ball into them, and you can be sure that Meath won't be genuflecting at the alter of Paul Galvin, Darragh O'Se and co. Every ball will be hard fought. Also the Meath forwards will fancy their chances against the Kerry full back line.
I think this could be close, and I wouldn't be surprised if we're looking at a repeat of the Gore-fest finals of the late 80's.
QuoteDon't believe it Billy. Despite the fact that they don't actually wear eye patches and have scars all over their faces, this is still a typically tough Meath team.
I dunno, I kinda liked the pantomine antics of Coyle. Lyons, Foley et al., as opposed to the slyness that passes for 'hardness' nowadays.
QuoteI wouldn't be surprised if we're looking at a repeat of the Gore-fest finals of the late 80's.
Eeeeeh, they were grim, but Hardy will be delighted at the remasculation of the Gaels, after the nancy-boy Ulster dominance. ;)
Remasculation - good stuff - we have a theme for our championship campaign.
lets just see how remasculated Meath are on Sunday lads... I hope yes dont all get the scoots on Saturday night anway.
I hope there's no confusion here with remascualtion and re-emascualation.... since the former isn't a word! ;)
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 25, 2009, 01:30:01 PM
I hope there's no confusion here with remascualtion and re-emascualation.... since the former isn't a word! ;)
That's why we should retain the A Levels instead of Leaving Cert in 2016.
I knew that, I was applying the (George) Hamilton Principle; i.e. if there's no word for what you're trying to say, make one up.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 25, 2009, 10:46:25 AM
Meath need to flood the midfield area with bodies. They cannot afford another start like the Mayo game.
I think meath have to do both - get bodies into midfield and secondly way lay anything above grass.
I am looking forward to it. Esp if its a hark back to the meath football of old !
Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2009, 01:38:04 PM
That's why we should retain the A Levels instead of Leaving Cert in 2016.
And now for the correct spelling: remasculation & re-emasculation... D'oh!
CUTE HOOR :
Meath manager Eamonn O'Brien is hoping a different Kerry show up for Sunday's All-Ireland SFC semi-final having witnessed a near-perfect display from The Kingdom last time out against Dublin.
Kerry gave a masterful display of attacking football as they swept aside Dublin 1-24 to 1-07 on 3 August to book their place in the last four.
And speaking in today's Irish Independent, O'Brien admitted: 'I was at that game. Everybody saw it. The football was almost perfect. If that Kerry turns up, we won't live with them.
'Hopefully they mightn't be that good when they play us. To my mind it was near perfection in terms of football, in terms of execution of passes, movement off the ball, speed, creating scores, taking chances. Everything was there's that's great in Gaelic football so hopefully they don't produce another one like that.'
It is now, thanks to Billy and I'll thank you to have some respect for the principles it represents as we single-handedly take on the task of restoring the reputation of Northern hemisphere football.
Quote from: Hardy on August 25, 2009, 03:50:00 PM
It is now, thanks to Billy and I'll thank you to have some respect for the principles it represents as we single-handedly take on the task of restoring the reputation of Northern hemisphere football.
Glad to hear it, and gratitude duly proferred, though I probably won't be able to think of anything other than re-emasculation with that fecking Meath accent, though I'll do my best.
I can only see a comfortable Kerry win in this one, Meath had a very handy run to this stage and I expect them to find the step up in class to be way too much. Kerry by about 6.
Quote from: Zulu on August 25, 2009, 07:57:28 PM
I can only see a comfortable Kerry win in this one, Meath had a very handy run to this stage and I expect them to find the step up in class to be way too much. Kerry by about 6.
But will Kerry have the step up in class for 2 games in a row? Maybe the Dublin game was a one-off.
QuoteBut will Kerry have the step up in class for 2 games in a row? Maybe the Dublin game was a one-off
People were saying the same about Cork after the Limerick and then the Donegal games, Sunday will tell a lot about our real status.
See the bould Gearoid is charge on Sunday. Hope this won't affect the game
Quote from: Declan on August 26, 2009, 08:59:47 AM
See the bould Gearoid is charge on Sunday. Hope this won't affect the game
See there's a hurricane coming. Hope this won't affect the city.
- Mayor of New Orleans, August 2005.
anybody hear anything about Moyles??
just heard hamstring rumour, not overly reliable source, hard to know....
No mention of it, Shane O'Rourke and David Gallagher are back in the Meath squad though. They'll hardly get time on the field.
Moyles was on Newstalk last night.
Another interesting interview after the Cian Ward one a week ago.
No cliches or bullsh*t.
QuoteMoyles was on Newstalk last night.Another interesting interview after the Cian Ward one a week ago.
No cliches or bullsh*t.
It's the elocution lessons he's taken since moving to Plunketts
I hope there is one of those classic masculating Meath comebacks :)
Unlike those team of the decade pretenders last week
Are there any Kerry lads around?
Or are they all still over in the Cork/Tyrone thread? 8)
From the archives, in today's Irish Times:
Kingdom dismantled by rampant Meath
FROM THE ARCHIVE SEPTEMBER 3RD, 2001: It was sad to see a Kerry team so stripped of their dignity by a Meath side who showed the defending champions no mercy, reported Tom Humphries
BY THE time he came into the Meath dressingroom with a mouthful of gracious words, the colour had gone from Páidí Ó Sé's face. This was entirely new territory for any Kerry manager. To take a talented All-Ireland winning team to Croke Park and see them beaten by 15 points.
And see them poor Páidí did. The man who usually paces the sidelines with the ferocity of a caged animal spent most of the second half sitting in a forlorn shuddering huddle with his selectors.
Behind them in the Hogan Stand, Kerry people streamed out the exits as is their right, the Meath fans on the Hill cheered like a bullfight crowd every time Meath taunted Kerry with the ball. It was surreal, it was remarkable. It was the end of an era or the beginning of one, only time will tell.
"Last time I was in here after losing a game," said Páidí Ó Sé, "was in 1998 and that was to the bold Micko. That was a fairly difficult one, much more difficult than today. Today was simple, lads, we were beaten in every sector of the field, outclassed everywhere. You made this journey very easy for me today. What can we say? We were beaten."
Beaten? 61,292 spectators were stunned. The All-Ireland champions were humiliated, dismantled and posted home. It was sad to see a Kerry team so stripped of their dignity, poignant to see great heroes like Séamus Moynihan and Mike Frank Russell offering such resistance in the face of widespread collapse, almost unbearable to think that Maurice Fitzgerald might be bowing out in this manner. No way to say goodbye.
The credit, though, belongs to Meath, who won by 15, yet had nine wides, a disallowed goal and the luxury of an amount of clowning for the gallery in the last quarter. This was a superlative performance, one of those displays which every great team longs to coax out of itself, but seldom does.
They played with thought, with purpose and with passion. There hasn't been a better display of football seen in Croke Park in many years.
"Things like that happen in football sometimes," said Seán Boylan with typical grace.
Maybe they do. But they happen like comets or solar eclipses. Rarely and spectacularly.
For Boylan, yesterday will have been something special.
He remembers well the All-Ireland of 1970 when Meath's superb and progressive team was dismantled by a catch-and-kick Kerry side who went away cackling that it had been "a bad day for the professors of Gormanston".
He will certainly have had nightmares about the All-Ireland semi-final of 1986, his breakthrough year when a soft goal after two of his defenders collided heavily let Kerry in for a decisive goal.
Yesterday, Boylan got the crowning glory which every great and serious football manager yearns for.
He beat Kerry in Croke Park.
The victory was built on simple, but gorgeous football precepts.
Move the ball quickly, harry and hustle always, play the spaces, take the scores.
Kerry lived with it, matched it even, for 10 minutes.
Then it went away from them. They went from the seventh minute to injury-time in the first half without scoring.
They came back out after the break and went another 27 minutes scoreless.
At the other end of the field Meath strutted like matadors, picking and jabbing at the Kerry carcass. The shaven heads of Geraghty and Murphy danced in open prairies. Evan Kelly, Trevor Giles, Ray Magee and others kept digging and providing. The Meath defence, questioned publicly in inquests this year, was immense.
There wasn't a flaw to be picked from the whole afternoon.
For Ollie Murphy, whose duel with Johnny Crowley was one of the most anticipated aspects of a match billed as the game of the year, this was a moment which could scarcely be comprehended.
"Everyday you win in a Meath jersey is a good day, but that was fantastic.
"We came in at half-time and we were on edge thinking they were about to come back at us. We said 'it'll be tough out here now'. We went out and it was lads, kicking points for fun, it was unbelievable. It's weird.
"There's nearly an anti-climax in here in the dressingroom. It's the only way to win, though. No more heartstoppers.
"We were 10 points up and somebody said there's 10 minutes left. I think the concentration was gone by then. I was wandering a bit.
"Kerry fell asunder. It wasn't their day. It's bad for them. Tough. I don't know what went wrong for them. I was getting good kicking room all day. I was surprised; Mick McCarthy is a tight marker.
"They just knew, you could see it in their eyes, they were just going through the motions, like in a training match.
"It was one of those days. I was on the team when Offaly beat us like that a few years ago. It just goes and there's nothing you can do."
Meath progress to an All-Ireland final with Galway later this month. If there was a contest to see who might claim the coveted title of underdog, it ended yesterday.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 26, 2009, 01:08:33 PM
Are there any Kerry lads around?
Or are they all still over in the Cork/Tyrone thread? 8)
Let them at it it's been a while since they have had the opportunity.
Really getting excited now. By the sounds of it the Meath lads are confident and determined but not fooling themselves either.
http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=116909
http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=116925
http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=116885
Haven't heard much from the Kerry camp. Aiden O'Mahony is fit anyway.
AAAAAAAAAGGHHHHH!!
Hogan Stand!
My eyes, my eyes! :o
Does anyone know the odds on who will be the first Kerry blood sub? There'll be no red sauce needed on Sunday... :D
Quote from: thejuice on August 26, 2009, 11:51:26 AM
No mention of it, Shane O'Rourke and David Gallagher are back in the Meath squad though. They'll hardly get time on the field.
was o' rourke injured all year ?
Quotewas o' rourke injured all year ?
Has been injured on and off for 2 years. Great potential
Moyles fine. Great to see O Rourke on the panel, whether he gets a run out or not I dunno. Good to see Gallagher too. Paddy O Rourke has the best, biggest kick outs Ive seen this year but under the ball I get nervous of him. Was sitting beside 2 of the Meath players today, they were in great form, everyone up for this.
QuotePaddy O Rourke has the best, biggest kick outs Ive seen this year
He certainly has some thump off the ball but tends just to hammer it as far as he can rather than pick out a man.
The Kerry lads won't even discuss the match with us.
It's beneath them.
A foregone conclusion.
Sure they'll save money on trains & tickets and wait for the final.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 26, 2009, 05:43:50 PM
The Kerry lads won't even discuss the match with us.
It's beneath them.
A foregone conclusion.
Sure they'll save money on trains & tickets and wait for the final.
Quite the contrary actually. Meath will make it very tough for us. They will fight for every ball. They have some very good forwards so it will be tight.We wont underestimate ye like Mayo did.
From MunsterGAA
WHO WILL JOIN CORK IN FOOTBALL FINAL?
Cork are through to the GAA All-Ireland senior football final and,
barring a draw, their opponents will be known next Sunday when Kerry and
Meath meet in the second semi-final in Croke Park (3.30).
Kerry are bidding to reach the final for the sixth successive year and
for the 8th time this decade while Meath last reached the final in 2001
where they lost to Galway. If Kerry win, they will set up a repeat of
the 2007 All-Ireland final against Cork while Meath last met Cork in the
final in 1999.
Meath won that game by three points but the Rebels are now back in the
final after dethroning reigning champions, Tyrone in last Sunday's
semi-final. They won by 1-13 to 0-11 to book a place in the final for
the second time in three seasons.
KERRY v MEATH
Paths to the semi-final
Kerry
Kerry 0-13 Cork 1-10 (Munster semi-final)
Cork 1-17 Kerry 0-12 (Replay)
Kerry 1-12 Longford 0-11 (Qualifiers Round 2)
Kerry 0-14 Sligo 1-10 (Qualifiers Round 3)
Kerry 2-12 Antrim 1-10 (Qualifiers Round 4)
Kerry 1-24 Dublin 1-7 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Played 6, Won 4, Drew 1, Lost 1.
Kerry scorers
Colm Cooper......................1-25 (0-17 frees)
Tommy Walsh....................2-6
Declan O'Sullivan.............0-10
Paul Galvin........................1-7
Bryan Sheehan...................0-8 (6 frees)
Sean O'Sullivan.................0-6 (3 frees)
Darren O'Sullivan.............0-5
Donncha Walsh..................0-5
Tadhg Kennelly..................0-4
Paul O'Connor..................0-4 (3 frees)
Darragh O Se.....................0-3
David Moran.....................0-1('45')
Tomas O Se........................0-1
Tom O'Sullivan................0-1
Seamus Scanlon................0-1
Meath
Dublin 0-14 Meath 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
Meath 1-20 Waterford 0-8 (Qualifiers Round 1)
Meath 1-15 Westmeath 1-5 (Qualifiers Round 2)
Meath 2-12 Roscommon 0-11 (Qualifiers Round 3)
Meath 1-13 Limerick 2-9 (Qualifiers Round 4)
Meath 2-15 Mayo 1-15 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Played 6, Won 5, Lost 1.
Meath scorers
Cian Ward....................2-22 (0-15 frees, 0-5 '45s,'1-0 pen)
Joe Sheridan.................1-12
David Bray....................2-8 (0-2 frees)
Brian Farrell.................0-11
Peadar Byrne................1-8
Stephen Bray.................0-7
Jamie Queeney..............1-2
Cian O'Connor.............0-5
Shane McAnarney........0-3
Caoimhin King.............0-2
Cormac McGuinness....0-2
Nigel Crawford..............0-2
Mark Ward...................0-1
Seamus Kenny...............0-1
Brian Meade..................0-1
Previous Kerry-Meath championship clashes
Somewhat surprisingly, Kerry and Meath have met only six times in the
championship, three in All-Ireland semi-finals and three in finals.
Kerry won four to Meath's two.
2001: Meath 2-14 Kerry 0-5 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1986: Kerry 2-13 Meath 0-12 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1970: Kerry 2-19 Meath 0-18 (All-Ireland final)
1954: Meath 1-13 Kerry 1-7 (All-Ireland final)
1947: Kerry 1-11 Meath 0-5 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1939: Kerry 2-5 Meath 2-3 (All-Ireland final)
Last Championship Clash
Meath 2-14 Kerry 0-5 (2001 All-Ireland semi-final)
A truly remarkable scoreline as Meath overwhelmed the reigning
All-Ireland champions. Meath led by 1-6 to 0-4 at half-time but the
expected Kerry revival never came. A point by sub Declan Quill was
Kerry's only score in the second half while Meath added 1-8 to run out
15-point winners. It was Kerry's biggest championship defeat since
losing to Cork by 2-23 to 1-11 in the 1990 Munster final.
Meath: Cormac Sullivan; Mark O'Reilly, Darren Fay, Cormac Murphy; Donal
Curtis, Hank Traynor (0-1), Nigel Nestor (0-1); Nigel Crawford; John
McDermott (1-0); Evan Kelly (0-2), Trevor Giles (0-1), Richie Kealy
(0-1); Ollie Murphy (0-4), Graham Geraghty (0-1), Ray Magee (0-3).
Subs: John Cullinane (1-0) for Magee, Paddy Reynolds for Curtis; Mick
O'Dowd for Kelly, Jody Devine for Kealy.
Kerry: Declan O'Keeffe; Mossy Lyons, Seamus Moynihan, Michael McCarthy;
Mike Hassett, Eamonn Fitzmaurice, Tom O'Sullivan; Darragh O Se, Donal
Daly; Eoin Brosnan (0-1), Noel Kennelly Aodan MacGearailt; Mike Frank
Russell (0-1), Dara O Cinneide (0-1), Johnny Crowley (0-1).
Subs: Tommy Griffin for Hassett, Maurice Fitzgerald for O'Sullivan,
William Kirby for O Cinneide, John McGlynn for Daly, Declan Quill (0-1)
for MacGearailt.
Last Ten semi-finals
Kerry have won seven, drawn one and lost two of their last ten
semi-finals. Next
Sunday's game will be their 12th semi-final clash this decade, including
two draws.
They have reached the semi-final every year this decade.
2008: Kerry 2-14 Cork 1-13 (Replay)
2008: Kerry 1-13 Cork 3-7 (Draw)
2007: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 0-16
2006: Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10
2005: Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9
2004: Kerry 1-17 Derry 1-11
2003: Tyrone 0-13 Kerry 0-6
2002: Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7
2001: Meath 2-14 Kerry 0-5
2000: Kerry 2-15 Armagh 1-15 (After extra-time)
Played 10, Won 7, Drew 1, Lost 2
Meath
Meath have a good record in All-Ireland semi-finals, winning eight of
their last ten
since 1970. Meath's only semi-final defeats in that period were against
Cork in 2007
and Kerry in 1986.
2007: Cork 1-16 Meath 0-9
2001: MEATH 2-14 KERRY 0-5
1999: Meath 0-15 Armagh 2-5
1996: Meath 2-15 Tyrone 0-12
1991: Meath 0-15 Roscommon 1-11
1990: Meath 3-9 Donegal 1-7
1988: Meath 0-16 Mayo 2-5
1987: Meath 0-15 Derry 0-8
1986: KERRY 2-13 MEATH 0-12
1970: Meath 0-15 Galway 0-
With a clash of colours on the cards in this weekend's All-Ireland SFC semi-final, both counties will be wearing an alternative strip.
The Kingdom will be in the Royal Blue of Munster, a jersey that they have not worn in championship action since they co-incidentally played Meath in an All-Ireland semi-final back in 1986.
The last time Kerry underwent a change of jersey in championship action was also against Meath in the 2001 semi-final when they wore a once off white jersey, which was consigned to the bin after a 15-point loss.
Meath will be in the same yellow jerseys they have worn for the last two matches as they were also forced into a switch against both Limerick and Mayo.
so its:
(http://www.setanta.com/Global/Images/sport/gaa/Kerry/O'MahonyAidan_AwayJersey480.jpg)
Against:
(http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b51/tholynski/soleroawayt.jpg)
Well its Yella I suppose... Ole Ole Ole
Meath should play in white. Kerry usually dung them at the sight of white.
Quote2008: Kerry 2-14 Cork 1-13 (Replay)
2008: Kerry 1-13 Cork 3-7 (Draw)
2007: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 0-16
2006: Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10
2005: Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9
2004: Kerry 1-17 Derry 1-11
2003: Tyrone 0-13 Kerry 0-6
2002: Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7
2001: Meath 2-14 Kerry 0-5
2000: Kerry 2-15 Armagh 1-15 (After extra-time)
Played 10, Won 7, Drew 1, Lost 2
Er, did you not also draw in 2000, the extra time was in the replay.
Sheridan fully aware of scale of the task
GAVIN CUMMISKEY
KERRY AND Meath. The prospect of their meeting again represents such a titanic football collision that this paper yesterday reprinted the match report of the 2001 All-Ireland semi-final.
The one where Meath held their rivals to just five points, recording 2-14 for themselves so "the colour had gone from Páidí Ó Sé's face". Kerry players walked off the field in the same stunned fashion as Dublin players recently did.
An ugly day for those who dwell in the famed The Kingdom.
Mike McCarthy, Tom O'Sullivan and Darragh Ó Sé featured that day and return eight years later. They will not have forgotten. Noel Kennelly might even have a word in his younger brother Tadhg's ear.
If they continue to emulate the route taken by Tyrone last year, a less than impressive performance is required before peaking come the final dance with Cork.
The piseogs might be dispensed with for this one though. Kerry know better than most that Meath in Croke Park are a rare breed. Even if only Nigel Crawford returns from the former blitzkrieg gang. This Meath outfit let down the famed jersey, and rock-hard reputation of the former team, by failing to put Wexford away and then losing to Limerick last season.
"We just wanted to put a bit of pride back into Meath football after last year," said Joe Sheridan. "It was hard getting beaten by Wexford and the Limerick match was a nightmare for everyone. We just wanted to right a few wrongs. Get back to the basics and start winning games."
Dublin made Meath look weak and average in June. Kerry made Dublin feel these two words in August.
Form suggests an easy Kerry victory despite Meath's convalescence of downing Westmeath, Roscommon, Limerick and Mayo as they got back to basics and won some games. All soft touches, it might be said.
Sheridan and company are keenly aware of the embarrassment that will follow if McCarthy and O'Sullivan, men with axes to grind, are allowed to waltz upfield from deep and create.
The other O'Sullivans, Declan and Darren, must be smothered, the "Gooch" Cooper harassed. Even then, Sheridan concedes, some other Kerry man could rise and cause the damage.
Meath need to become Meath of old to stand any chance, this they know only too well. They must deny Kerry rhythm.
"Absolutely, plus we don't get the start we got against Mayo. They'd love that. We just have to put pressure on them in the first 15, 20 minutes.
"Dublin didn't really pressurise them. They let them run through from the back. If you let any team do that they'll kick 1-7, 1-8 in those first 15 minutes.
"We've been working on it. Trying to concentrate on getting that first 15, 20 minutes out of the way. Having said that, it may be the last 15, 20 minutes that the game is won so . . ."
If Sheridan has a major say in this contest, Meath have a chance. If he drifts in to the square's edge late on, Meath might just be in touching distance and seeking to create some havoc.
If the game is played at Kerry's preferred swiftness the big, central forward may well become a passenger. The year 2001 proved to be an anomaly; Meath losing the final to Galway without much commotion. The Royals require another glitch in the system this Sunday.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 27, 2009, 10:06:17 AM
GAVIN CUMMISKEY
KERRY AND Meath. The prospect of their meeting again represents such a titanic football collision ...
I'm all for promoting our games but this is unbeliveable tripe.
We'll do our best in the iceberg role, is all I can say.
Those Cumiskey lads talk some heaps of it!! ;D
Heres hoping for a close game at the weekend - great foot passing, fielding, no swarming defences, no diving or faking injuries, no puke football, plenty oif balanced and non - partisan commentating from Spillane, great refereeing and for Meath to knock the complete shite out of Kerry
Fascinating stuff - a county boasting a proud tradition of masculinity in their football against the self professed team of the decade, if such a thing existed, and in Dara o Se surely a contender for player of the decade. Bookies and Pundits wont tell you that Meath men traditionally are prepared to do anything at all to go further than any others to win an all ireland, but they will be telling you how twinkle toed Gooch is the best footballer in Ireland and how such a great athlete big Tadgh is. Why? because every bookie in Ireland knows the value of the kings ransoms which were placed on Kerry after they humiliated Dublin and after Cork took Tyrone out of the reckoning. They want us to spend our money on Kerry - but they know there can only be one winner. The last time the kingdom wore the blue jersey was when the great kerry goldenyears team tore into Meath in 86 prepared to do anything to get at a spindly legged, chubby bunch of nordies in the final. The only blood spilt that day was Meath blood, as Lyons came off on a door when Willie Maher sealed the deal. I just feel that the opposite could be the case on Sunday and my moneys on Meath, to renew their all ireland rivalry with the munster kingpins. When the team of the last quarter century argument is discussed ye'll have both these counties in the mix as well as those in the other semifinal. We can honestly say that with reference to the all ireland last-4 this year that the cream definitely rises to the top.
Any word on the teams yet ?
Is Donaghy back ?
Whats the craic back home lads. Are the fertiliser bags wrapped round the telegraph poles yet? Flags and bunting out? Blow-in Dubs a bit more inconspicuous round the town?
If Moyles is out we may as well not turn up.
It's no coincidence wasn't been playing when we were hammered by Cork in 2007 and Limerick in 2008.
He's the one that holds it all together.
What is the latest word on Moyles? I heard rumours on this as well but hope that they were just rumours.
I dont think that the team will capitulate as in 2007&2008 even without Moyles. Maybe not win but i think they have built up a steely determination to overcome setbacks and developed a confidence this year.
If Moyles is out you could see Harrington moving over to cever o'Xsullivan with McGill going on Gooch.
with Ward in the wings ready to come in early if we are losing out badly in the middle.
No matter the result on sunday, the hopeful return of reilly & O'Rourke next year allied to this years progress should put us in with a better shot of winning Leinster and take it from there.
I'd nearly bring in McGill specifically to mark Cooper. I remember the marking job he did on Matty Forde last year. It's forgotten now in the mayhem of what happened in the last 15 minutes, but all logic was out the window at that stage. Up until then, it was the best shackling of Matty I'd ever seen.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 27, 2009, 03:04:44 PM
If Moyles is out we may as well not turn up.
It's no coincidence wasn't been playing when we were hammered by Cork in 2007 and Limerick in 2008.
He's the one that holds it all together.
I'd agree with that. Even if he starts he won't be fit. Hamstring injurys are the worst type to be hanging over your head going into a game. Can't see meath winning now.
Jesus, this was nearly at the bottom of the page.
It's an All-Ireland semi-final FFS!
I agree with Hardy, if there is any doubt over Moyles I wouldnt start him. Bring in McGill with Harrington at full back.
Maybe keep Moyles in reserve if things are getting v bad.
Harrington hasn't the physical presence for full-back.
So there just the one change for us ,Kennelly in for Tommy Walsh and a return of Donaghy to the panel, I like the look of it.
Kerry team V Meath in All Ireland Semi Final 09
(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
(2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (4) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (6) Mike McCarthy (Kilcummin) (7) Killian Young (Renard)
(8) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow)
(10) Paul Galvin (Finuge) (11) Tadhg Kennelly (Listowel Emmett's) (12) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane)
(13) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes) (14) Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) (15) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (Captain)
Subs: (16) Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds)
(17) Aidan O'Mahony Aodán Ó Mathúna (Rathmore)
(18) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly)
(19) Bryan Sheehan Brian Ó Siocháin (St. Mary's)
(20) Micheál Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys)
(21) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare)
(22) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin)
(23) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's)
(24) Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane)
(25) Anthony Maher (Duagh)
(26) Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks)
(27) Aidan O'Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
(28) Barry John Walsh Barra (Kerins O'Rahillys)
(29) Maurice Corridan (Finuge))
(30) Kieran Quirke (Duagh)
(31) Ronán Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht)
(32) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
Bainsteoir: Jack O'Connor (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) Traenálaí: Alan O'Sullivan (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Roghnóirí: Ger O'Keeffe (Austin Stacks) Eamon Fitzmaurice (Finuge)
Pretty much as expected. Tadgh has played himself into a starting position. I think the big game days will suit him down to the ground. Great fire power on the bench too. Its good to see Donaghy make the panel - if the sh1t hits the fan he could be a vital player for 10 or 15 mins towards the end if its very tight.
Strong team when Tommy Walsh, one of the best young players in Ireland can't get on the team.
Kerry by 5 points.
I expect to see a scrappy, bad tempered affair with at least 2 men getting the line, with the odd flash of brilliance in football
Meath by 2
anymore news on Moyler? Thats a strong Kerry team. But we wont worry, we'll concentrate on our own. its Friday, start of the weekend and the excitement kicks in, looking forward to a great tough game.
I hear Moyles trained full tilt last night, having sat out Tuesday night. They were worried about his hamstring, but it seems he's OK.
I think if meath can get a good start and not let Kerry get a head of steam then they will there with 10 minutes to go and if they are within 2 points at that stage they can win it.
Why has Tommy Walsh been dropped?
I thought it was the switch of him out to centre half forward that had helped disrupt the Dubs kickouts? (I didn't see the game just heard bits and pieces) Did he not play well in that match?
Is he not a far better player than Darren O'Sullivan?
Is he injured?
Meath at +4 Evens looks good value. Kerry might win alright but it won't be by much I suspect. Meath have a decent forward line and if they get up a head of steam up Kerry could find it difficult to hold them.
Heart Meath / Head Kerry
Moyles starting, from the Irish Times:
Bray and Moyles start for Meath
Kerry v Meath team news : As expected, Meath captain Stephen Bray is back in Eamonn O'Brien's side for Sunday's All-Ireland football semi-final against Kerry. Bray missed the quarter-final win over Mayo through suspension.
With that four-week ban - arising from a red card in the qualifiers - now expired Bray returns to the half forward line with Mickey Burke making way.
Despite concerns over his fitness, Anthony Moyles is named at full back for the Royals. Moyles picked up a hamstring injury earlier in the week but has had extensive physiotherapy on the problem and is deemed fit enough to start against the Kingdom.
Kerry also named their side last night with Tadhg Kennelly returning to the frontline in place of Tommy Walsh.
Kerry : D Murphy; M Ó Sé, T Griffin, T O'Sullivan; T Ó Sé, M McCarthy, K Young; D Ó Sé, S Scanlon; P Galvin, T Kennelly, D Walsh; C Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, Darren O'Sullivan.
Meath : P O'Rourke; C O'Connor, A Moyles, E Harrington; S Kenny, C McGuinness, C King; N Crawford, B Meade; P Byrne, J Sheridan, S Bray; D Bray, B Farrell, C Ward.
QuoteWhy has Tommy Walsh been dropped?
I thought it was the switch of him out to centre half forward that had helped disrupt the Dubs kickouts? (I didn't see the game just heard bits and pieces) Did he not play well in that match?
Is he injured?
He was taken off against the jackeens, Kennelly did well when he came on, but then even I would have played well that day if I was brought on such was the pathetic dubs display. Not injured but Kennelly deserves his chance too and a day on the bench never did anyone any harm, Walsh will be bursting now to get on..
Darren is a good option to start I think its our strongest lineout for some time
JOC only picked Kennelly because Liam Hayes told him not to - cute hoors those Meath men :)
Remember this
So Jack O'Connor walks out of O'Connor Park and into an All Ireland quarter-final. What then? Will he know for sure even 10 of his starting 15? He might. Or he might not. O'Connor has made almost every mistake in the book since his return. But it is his indecisiveness in building almost every line of his team, more than his foolishness in deciding upon Tadhg Kennelly as a central component of his team, which must be so worrying for the demanding army of Kerry football supporters whom Jack O'Connor is also lecturing, in recent weeks on the subjects of patience and loyalty.
Allowing Kennelly to walk back onto the Kerry team, after spending the best years of his adult life as an Australian Rules footballer, was madness. Whether it was mild lunacy borne out of desperation, only O'Connor himself can honestly answer, but the manager made a horse's ass of the notion that Kerry had a large stable of young, trustworthy bucks only dying to prove to the entire country that Kerry were a sure thing to win another four, maybe five, All Ireland titles in the next decade – same as the last.
Due to injury Kennelly has only been a bit-player in the Kerry year to date, but by naming him in the very nerve-centre of his team – in the middle of the field of all places – at the start of the championship, Jack O'Connor proved himself to be as innocent, if not arrogant, as the summer is long. He also is in the process of demolishing, all on his own, the fairly stout reputation he held as being one of the game's very best managers.
It's beginning to look as though O'Connor was indeed very lucky in winning two All Irelands in his first run as Kerry team boss. The people of Kerry are privately convinced this is the case. Soon enough, they may make their opinion public.
I'm not so sure that Kerry can steer this season to a wholly safe place and neither am I sure that their manager can save his own neck by the end of 2009.
Gooch should be motivated too ...
Cooper's career is heading for a dead end and only he can do something about it. With Colm Cooper, we are back in the land of make-believe! Is he the real thing or is he a part-man, part-cartoon character? Jack O'Connor would like it to be the former. We'd all like it to be true. Gaelic football needs Colm Cooper to live up to his extraordinary and maddeningly superior classification as one of the greatest Gaelic footballers the game has ever seen.
These days, unfortunately, this still young man is not even one of this summer's greatest footballers.
I'm sure Hayes will have another rant at us this weekend.
He might be too hard on ye ...arent ye better in all 15 positions !
How afraid should mayo or Meath be of Kerry ?
On a scale of one to 10, Mayo should be a seven or eight. Meath should be a 10. Simple difference is that while this Meath team and its first-year management team have restored some pride to the jersey, the team's individual parts have not gelled into a body at work. Mayo has been hard work these past three years for John O'Mahony, but the time and gruelling effort of the number two football brain in the country (Mickey Harte being number one) has clearly been well spent, and there is an evident force and self-belief to Mayo.
In individual comparisons with this Kerry team, from one to 15, Mayo might lose 12 of them (Keith Higgins, Ronan McGarrity or David Heaney, and Alan Dillon might be considered of superior quality to their corresponding number), whereas I think Meath would lose all 15.
It will be no surprise, therefore, if I predict that Mayo will finally find some justice this afternoon for the savage inconvenience of losing the 1996 All Ireland title to Meath. That title should have been Mayo's, as in the drawn game and the infamous replay they showed themselves to be the superior football team.
Mayo lost that All Ireland because the team did not have the guts when the finishing post came into view, to throttle Meath in the individual physical battles. Mayo backed off.
Most Meath teams do not back off but we're not entirely sure whether this side is good, bad or indifferent. The jury is still out and therefore Mayo should not wait around and should make a decisive statement early in the game.
well last post till Monday morning. I hope its a great game and more importantly that the Royals win, dont care how!!! come on the Royal!!!!!!!!
It'll be a wet day.
Hit them hard and hit them often.
Quote from: timmykelleher on August 28, 2009, 10:07:21 AM
Why has Tommy Walsh been dropped?
Is he injured?
The answers to your 3 questions..no he wasn't brilliant against Dublin, he is not far better than Darran and he is not injured.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 28, 2009, 05:38:21 PM
It'll be a wet day.
Hit them hard and hit them often.
like 1986 leinster final jinxy?
A good piece on (our) Big Joe by Vincent Hogan in today's today's Indo - better than his usual guff. The Omagh part is absorbing. The word 'perspective' is over-used in these situations, but it's hard to avoid it here.
'It was hard. People were screaming, looking for loved ones'
Vincent Hogan talks to Meath's Joe Sheridan and discovers a footballer who loves the game as much as anyone but, having experienced the horror of the Omagh bombing at first hand, knows it's not a matter of life or death
Saturday August 29 2009
Sticks and stones. What's the worst thing they can call you? Slow? Lazy? Useless? They see you over-run a pass, jump too early for a high ball, kick a careless wide and you know exactly the sounds that will come spilling through the wire.
"Ya big @&*%$£ Sheridan!"
The voices never have a face. They just come at you, random and disembodied, digging for weakness. You remember that club game against Trim in 2007 just days before you walked out on inter-county football. How you were playing "atrocious" and ended up staring at your boots, as if there were riddles printed in the leather.
You heard none of it, mind. You could have been in outer space. But Mary, your sister and Seneschalstown's physio, said she was shocked by the depth of abuse that evening. It was as if you had been strolling the field with a sandwich-board declaring yourself God Almighty.
"Can't believe you didn't hear it..."
Look, you don't do precious. You've been cursed with this 'great white hope' thing since winning those two All-Ireland colleges with St Pat's and getting to the 2002 All-Ireland minor final with Meath. Back then, your opponents knew nothing but hardship and vapour trails. Sean Boylan even had you training with the Meath seniors at 18.
Your future was mapped out like the plot of a beautiful novel. All you needed to do was stay breathing.
Maybe these things are pre-written in higher places. You see, you made your senior Championship debut against Laois in 2004. You lost. Should have been against Wicklow in the first round, but you missed that through suspension. A little flare-up in an U-21 game. Gave a referee some aggro. Silly.
The year ended with an extra-time one-point defeat to Fermanagh in Enniskillen. You missed two frees from straight in front of the posts that, ordinarily, you'd almost back-heel over. Just tried too hard. Forced the thing. Froze.
"I'll never forget it," you smile now. "I was just worrying too much about it. Fermanagh came back to beat us and I had to take a lot of responsibility for that. A few people were getting on to me after. I suppose you take the good with the bad.
"Bottom line, I was expected to kick them over and we should have won. To be honest with you, it was my fault that we didn't."
Great white hope indeed.
THE red light probably saved them. They'd just stopped to ask directions to the GAA pitch. "You'd best go right up the town," said the woman. "But I'm not sure you'll be let. There's a bomb scare."
John Mitchells of Birmingham were playing a match in Omagh. Women's football. The Sheridans had seen it as an opportunity to catch up with old friends from across the water. They'd toyed with the idea of travelling that morning. Lobbed it about. Squeezed it for ripeness.
Eventually, Damien senior brought it to a head.
"Sure feck it, what else would we be doing?"
So there they were, engine ticking, at traffic lights on the corner of Market Street and Dublin Road in this nondescript Tyrone town. Just after three in the afternoon on a clammy Saturday. August 15, 1998. Muttering little curses about the looming inconvenience.
"Probably be sent around the houses now..."
And it happened. Joe Sheridan remembers the bang and the blast wave. He talks of "a gush of wind", of the roof of the family mini-bus being sucked in on top of them, then snapping back out to its normal shape like it was a biscuit tin. He remembers the shards of glass and metal, the lumps of flying masonry, the blizzard of bits and pieces go sweeping up past the traffic-lights.
And he remembers his father's voice, how Damien recognised the smell of explosive from his time working in the mines. He remembers the word "BOMB" and how, suddenly, everyone was mouthing it. Screaming it.
By a small miracle, the windows of the bus never shattered. All around them was a scene of splintered destruction, but the Sheridans hadn't a single graze between them. His mother, Geraldine -- a nurse by profession -- jumped out immediately and began tending the wounded. The mini-bus became a makeshift ambulance, ferrying wounded up to Tyrone County Hospital.
An ambulance with children sitting in silent witness of things children should never see.
"Just mayhem to be honest," remembers Joe, then a 14-year-old. "They were throwing people into the back of the van and trying to get them up to the hospital as quickly as possible.
"It was horrifying. One young lad who we've actually been up to visit a few times, his whole side was blown off him. A water main had burst and he was lying there, this flood of blood and glass spilling down over him. He had a couple of buckets of shrapnel pulled out of him and would need so many operations. An incredible character, he made a big recovery and is into stuff like go-karting now.
"It was hard. There were people lying on the ground and we were just making room for them in the back of the van. Unbelievable. We were among the first people up to the hospital. People screaming. Looking for someone missing. Wondering if their loved ones were dead.
"We just waited around the car park while mom and dad were inside. Stayed there 'til evening time. I remember there wasn't a word said in the van on the way home. Two and a half, maybe three hours. We were in shock. We went back up a while later for the blessing of the graves.
"But you never forget the faces. It took a while. You'd go to bed at night and you'd be thinking about what you saw."
Joe Sheridan loves football as much as anyone. His whole family loves it. He still gets a kick out of seeing his 85-year-old granny in the stand. But he knows it's not a matter of life and death.
He knows the difference between tragedy and a bad day on the frees.
MAYBE the worst thing about walking away was the epidemic of rumour spawned.
People's arithmetic got skewed. Two and two added up to six. If he couldn't play for Meath, it surely had to be because of a row. No 23-year-old turned his back on county football without some class of a ruction. Did they?
Except, there was no ruction, no dramatic splintering of his relationship with Colm Coyle. Joe Sheridan just stopped loving the game in '07. And the more he slipped out of love with it, the harder he tried to resuscitate things. He trained when he needed to rest. He tried to squeeze juice from a stone.
About three weeks before the first game against Dublin, he had considered leaving. All the sensors in his body registered trouble. He felt no freshness, no joy. His dad encouraged him against anything rash but, by the day of the replay, rashness seemed his only hope.
Coyle had hauled him off the field approaching half-time and, if Joe should have been mortified, all he felt was a terrible emotional and physical fatigue. Two days after the club game against Trim, he took himself to training in Navan.
The funny thing is he brought gear too. Why? He's not so sure. Maybe he imagined Coyle might talk him out of it when they spoke. But the manager didn't try to. "Colm, I can't do this anymore," said Joe. "I think I'm going to have to pull myself off the panel."
"Okay," said Coyle. "If you're not enjoying it, maybe you're better off."
"Well, to be honest, there's no point me being here. It's benefiting no-one. Myself or the team."
"Look, see how you go," said Coyle. "The door is always open. I appreciate you coming to me, it must be a hard thing to do. And I'm not going to pull and drag out of you to come back. Whenever you want to come back, come back."
Sheridan remembers, "I couldn't believe I was doing it, to be honest. But it just had to be done, simple as that. When I look back now, it probably improved me as a player.
"My head was pretty clear when I left. It was like a weight off my shoulders. As I walked out, I met Graham (Geraghty) coming down the corridor. 'Everything alright?' he asked. 'Yeah, yeah, grand.'
"I went one way, Colm went the other. I knew the players out on the pitch were watching and, probably, talking about what was happening. But I was clear in the head. I just got in the car, went home and told dad."
Two things happened in the days that followed. Team-mates rang, trying to encourage him to return. And rumour became rampant. The story ran of a row between player and manager. It was always going to.
"I knew that," sighs Joe. "Anyone (who) drops themselves off a panel, everyone is wondering, 'what's after happening there?' I knew people all over the place were talking. So many stories came back to me and my family. Ridiculous stuff about what was going on. You just had to laugh because, no, nothing happened between us."
Meath would accelerate spectacularly into late summer, before coming a cropper in the All-Ireland semi-final against Cork. Sheridan watched it all, never feeling the remotest bit of envy. Only the day of the Cork game, did he feel faint flickers of regret.
Consolation came with Seneschalstown. Against expectation, they would win the county title. The area was still in distress after the school bus tragedy that killed five local girls and, somehow, football offered a tiny and momentary prism of escape. For Joe Sheridan, the achievement had an intimate dimension.
His dad was manager, Mary was physio (assisted by his ma), brothers Brian and Damien junior and, maybe, half a dozen cousins were playing. His aunt was chairwoman of the club. Actually, the day they beat Navan O'Mahonys in the county final replay was, arguably, the most pleasing he's known in football.
It could have become a fairytale too. They took St Vincent's to a replay in the first round of the Leinster Club Championship. Should have beaten them, but didn't. And the following St Patrick's Day, Vincent's won the All-Ireland.
Inches.
IN A sense, few things define Joe Sheridan quite like his candour.
When he was named man of the match after Meath's recent All-Ireland quarter-final defeat of Mayo, not a single impulse in his body was triumphal. If anything, he felt relief. For, seven years after Boylan brought him in to train with marquee boys like Geraghty and Trevor Giles and Darren Fay, Sheridan sees his inter-county record as one of resolute under-achievement.
He wasn't even on Eamonn O'Brien's starting 15 at the beginning of this Championship and, if his four points from play in the Mayo game spoke of burgeoning confidence, Joe understands how frail the line is separating good days from bad.
If there is a difference in him this year, it's in his fitness. He's just trained smarter. With Colm Brady setting the schedules, Sheridan has shed almost a stone and a half in body weight. He looks pared down to a level of athleticism that was never previously apparent. If the weight loss suggests certain things about his past, Sheridan doesn't hide from the suggestion.
"It probably was, yeah," he agrees when it is proposed that losing the weight was maybe an imperative. "At the beginning of the year, I was a bit too heavy. I knew that myself. Colm and I just had a chat about it. He said he'd work with me.
"It's all about just pushing yourself harder more than anything. In years gone by, I might not have gone that extra step. This year I just got it into my head that this was what had to be done. It was make or break for me.
"The thing that Colm emphasised was that I'd need to rest too. It's just common sense really. In '07, I was probably training too much. I was just training almost to say I was training and not getting any benefit from it. You'd be doing stupid things just to be able to say, 'oh, I did an extra bit...'
"To be honest, I owe Colm a hell of a lot. He's taught me that everything should be done for a purpose. Looking back, I was training between sessions. I might just go to the gym or do an extra run. And you end up wasting all your energy levels. Your body is tired and you get fed up. I needed a rest in the end. Maybe that's the big difference this year. I wouldn't say I've done more. It's just probably I've done the right stuff.
"And I feel so much fresher."
HE was at Kerry's demolition of Dublin and remembers a Dublin fan get up with 25 minutes gone and take his four children from the stadium.
And he couldn't help think how that was a damn strange message to be giving to kids. What was the Dubs fan saying? That failure amounted to some kind of betrayal? A disgrace? Listen, this Meath team could write the book on bad days.
Just over a year ago, they fell 20 points behind in an All-Ireland qualifier against Limerick. Sheridan sat on the bench through the worst of it. He reckons they were "18 or 19 down" when he got the call. Humiliated.
Earlier in the season, Meath had spilled a 10-point lead against Wexford. Who could explain how a team can bookend such trauma with two All-Ireland semi-final appearances? But that's Meath. That's football. That's human.
Tomorrow, they give themselves a puncher's chance against Kerry. They are outsiders and that's fine.
Joe Sheridan has never been this high up the Championship mountain and senses a giddiness ripple through the county. The view is good. Meath, he says, are hungry and honest and ready to leave everything they possess on the Croke Park field.
And that's pretty much all that matters now. Beyond it, who can say how fate will take a hand?
Who can ever say?
- Vincent Hogan
John O'Keeffe in the IT has more or less written off Meath,I 'm surprised that he is so blunt,especially as they are playing
his own county.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0829/1224253464763.html
Yes - saw that. Surprising, but refreshing too. No ould plamás - just calls it as he sees it. He says Meath will have to "work their socks off" just to stay in the game - no chance of winning.
Quote from: Hardy on August 29, 2009, 12:01:30 PM
Yes - saw that. Surprising, but refreshing too. No ould plamás - just calls it as he sees it. He says Meath will have to "work their socks off" just to stay in the game - no chance of winning.
I hope he's right.
The Gooch is a doubt with a hip injury! :o
Heard Dara O Cinneide saying on RTE1 that the 'Gooch' has to have a fitness test before a decision is made about him playing.
No mention of it anywhere else though. Without the 'Gooch',its a different ball game !
It seems he has been in trouble for the past 8 days. Has been having physio on the hip but has not responded to treatment.Newstalk say Paul O Connor from kenmare is coming in for him.
Just heard about the Gooch ,I hope the late withdrawl of a key player does not impact the contest like last weeks match . I expect Meath to hit the ground running and not let kerry get any momentum going .Paul O Connor maybe included for his free taking .
What's the news John, is he definitely out?
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 29, 2009, 08:32:07 PM
What's the news John, is he definitely out?
I honestly dont know . He has the injury with a while but seem to be able to play on .I have texted one of sources to check it out
Stop trying to feck with our heads lads.
Quote from: Hardy on August 29, 2009, 09:17:35 PM
Stop trying to feck with our heads lads.
God we would never do that .
If Paul O connor starts that would be Donaghy and Gooch out and still no place for Tommy Walsh... Thats incredible
Im thinking about a bet for this match just for a bit of interest. With Cooper out who would be a good bet for 1st goal scorer?
Here's the prices on PP:
First Goalscorer Hide
C Cooper 11/2
No Goalscorer 11/2
C Ward 10/1
Declan O'Sullivan 13/2
B Farrell 11/1
T Walsh 7/1
J Sheridan 12/1
P O'Connor 7/1
David Bray 14/1
Tommy Walsh 15/2
Stephen Bray 14/1
Darren O'Sullivan 12/1
P Byrne 16/1
Donncha Walsh 14/1
B Meade 55/1
P Galvin 18/1
N Crawford 55/1
T Kennelly 22/1
S Scanlon 50/1
D O'Se 66/1
Each Way Odds 1/4 places 1,2,3
I think there's a big game in Brian Farrell, and at 11/1 for first goal, could be worth a score. Also Cian Ward to score first point at 6/1 seems generous.
An Royals Abu
Quote from: navanman on August 30, 2009, 10:35:55 AM
I think there's a big game in Brian Farrell, and at 11/1 for first goal, could be worth a score. Also Cian Ward to score first point at 6/1 seems generous.
An Royals Abu
Agreed Navanman. I've been saying that since the Limerick game. Brian is a big performance waiting to happen. He hasn't played to his potential yet this year, but there have been hints that he's coming into form.
Key man for me today is Seamus Kenny. He makes all the difference in winning loose possession and most of his work goes unnoticed. If he has a good game it will go a huge way to ensuring we have a competitive share of possession. If we can get that, our forwards will give us every chance.
Hitting the road now. It's great to be alive on days like this.
Can't believe I'm saying this....... really hope Meath win today
Quote from: stephenite on August 30, 2009, 11:01:54 AM
I can't believe you said that either.
Quote from: ballinaman on August 30, 2009, 11:09:16 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 30, 2009, 11:01:54 AM
I can't believe you said that either.
Time for someone else to win it!
What was the last game that went the way of the bookies odds?
Cork bate Tyrone
Meath bate Mayo
Kerry bate Dublin
Quote from: ONeill on August 30, 2009, 11:51:12 AM
What was the last game that went the way of the bookies odds?
Cork bate Tyrone
Meath bate Mayo
Kerry bate Dublin
They can hardly get another one wrong, 4 out of 4 wrong,would be an incredible record .
Does everyone like Mr Spillane's new hair-do today? He's a bit like Dustin the Turkey ;D
Hoping for both the underdogs today, C'mon Down & Meath!!
Pitch looks great today, seems as though all the aesthetic problems have been fixed, well done groundsmen!!!
any links for the game?
Quote from: Midman on August 30, 2009, 01:58:13 PM
any links for the game?
Try this link,I'm getting the Minor match here.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=47681&part=sports
Quote from: Halfquarter on August 30, 2009, 02:52:17 PM
Quote from: Midman on August 30, 2009, 01:58:13 PM
any links for the game?
Try this link,I'm getting the Minor match here.
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=47681&part=sports
Which link, I can't get anything today
The TVU/gaelic TV one is working for me
http://www.myp2pforum.eu/other-sports/38884-2009-gaa-all-ireland-hurling-football-championship.html (http://www.myp2pforum.eu/other-sports/38884-2009-gaa-all-ireland-hurling-football-championship.html)
PS. Thanks for the link Halfquarter, you've made my Sunday a lot more enjoyable ;D
That pitch is pathetic, players sliding all over the place.
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on August 30, 2009, 03:58:09 PM
That pitch is pathetic, players sliding all over the place.
The incessant rain would be a factor too
I know the weather is terrible but this game feels like a challenge match not an AI semi final!
Kerry are pathetic.
Listening to Marty you'd think Meath are brilliant but 0-2 and 9 wides in 31 minutes tell their story.
Hopefully they show the replay of the penalty incident at half time but Cooper seemed to go down spreadeagled after very little contact
Quote from: Minder on August 30, 2009, 04:06:55 PM
Hopefully they show the replay of the penalty incident at half time but Cooper seemed to go down spreadeagled after very little contact
I was thinking that myself. He wasn't going to get the ball anyway.
The story of the 1st half according to RTE:
Marty thought Kerry would wallop Meath.
Marty is astonished that he was wrong.
Marty is praising Meath to high heaven for their wonderful performance.
Marty is criticising Kerry for not performing to (his) expectations.
Oh and occasionally there is a bit of football being played.
Animals 1-3 Reptiles 0-4 HT
Gooch got a tap on the forearm and his legs went flying. Very suspicious.
Cooper getting a bit of stick for diving here.
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 30, 2009, 04:17:41 PM
I thought only Tyrone did that ::)... and O'Mahoney of course
and ..............................................Spillanes still a w**ker,,,,,,its alll about the conditions, everything other than the quality of the teams on display ::)
has there ever been a worse call than the umpire giving a 45 for that block by gooch on o'sullivan's shot??
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 30, 2009, 04:18:52 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 30, 2009, 04:17:41 PM
I thought only Tyrone did that ::)... and O'Mahoney of course
In Gaa it's a dive. In ladies football it's a dive. If it was soccer ::).
also, other breaking news..............some meath lad has just bursted Mike Sheehy in the Queens area of New York, after he thought that he was actually Pat Spillane :o
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 04:04:47 PM
Kerry are pathetic.
Listening to Marty you'd think Meath are brilliant but 0-2 and 9 wides in 31 minutes tell their story.
wtf? its pissing out there, kerry are always pathetic in every game until they turn it on for 10 minutes and the game is over. having said that i hate football on wet days as its a great leveler ;)
btw its not the pitches fault, its impossible to stay on your feet no matter what studs you've on in that rain. .
also , seem to remember a game or 2 in probably WORSE conditions, last August I believe, standard seemed ok those days :o
moyles on walsh, good thinking
GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Whats the score?
2-4 til 0-4
2-5 0-4
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 30, 2009, 04:28:37 PM
also , seem to remember a game or 2 in probably WORSE conditions, last August I believe, standard seemed ok those days :o
whats your point? 7 points in it now which is a pity as we needed a tough game, we've got the second best team in the country coming up in a few weeks
To kerry??
Carmen can you get it online?
2-6 0-5 (44 MINS)
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 30, 2009, 04:23:25 PM
also, other breaking news..............some meath lad has just bursted Mike Sheehy in the Queens area of New York, after he thought that he was actually Pat Spillane :o
:D :D
Here's hoping.
Quote from: magickingdom on August 30, 2009, 04:34:45 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 30, 2009, 04:28:37 PM
whats your point? 7 points in it now which is a pity as we needed a tough game, we've got the second best team in the country coming up in a few weeks
my point is , Spillane is a w**ker,,,if Kerry arent playing well , then there is some excuse, thats my POINT ;D
Marty reckons Enfield is in Dublin. Clown.
Joe Sheridan gone missing (again)
Cormac McGuinness missing
Kerry midfield on top too
Kerry just lacked patience up front early on - but they're obviously in a different league
yeah Kerry in front!
Meath 13 wides
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=47681&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=47681&part=sports)
Gaelic tv on TVU
Paddy O'Rourke has lost his composure now too
Was that another goal not given against Meath?
Edit: replay shows no goal this time.
Nope it didnt cross the line
cant believe you'd even mention mike sheehys name in a thread after the way you pulled down the thread you started about him last week when it didnt pan out your way ;D ;D
Quote from: magickingdom on August 30, 2009, 04:46:00 PM
cant believe you'd even mention mike sheehys name in a thread after the way you pulled down the thread you started about him last week when it didnt pan out your way ;D ;D
you Kerry boyos all stick together ;D
Darren O'Sullivan did an Eduardo there.
Darren O'Sullivan wouldn't get a ball in the falls of his trousers ;)
one of the worst all -ireland semi finals in living memeory. kerry are just piss poor today.
Awful game and you can't blame it all on the condtions. The passing and shooting is woeful.
Meath are very disappointing. Kerry doing enough.
... and still score 2-07 on a terrible Meath team
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 04:50:39 PM
I'll amazed if Meath finish with 15 men.
Good man Tadhg
8 points up and not a single ole ole ole out of the classy kerry supporters
Confirms what I knew. Went to see Meath against Dublin in Leinster... woeful team and would have been tanked in final by Cork. Right enuff so will Kerry...
Great saves by Murphy there
Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 30, 2009, 04:59:14 PM
Confirms what I knew. Went to see Meath against Dublin in Leinster... woeful team and would have been tanked in final by Cork. Right enuff so will Kerry...
kerry never get the respect they deserve
Quote from: nedman on August 30, 2009, 04:59:59 PM
Geddawayouttdat he'd have had to dive like a Gooch to get out of the way of them shots.
Look we are in a final, a position 30 counties would love to be in so quit the bitterness
Quote from: nedman on August 30, 2009, 04:59:59 PM
Lets be fair lads,,,Stevie Wonder would have saved both of those shots, commentators always glorifying everyday saves ???
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 04:56:23 PM
I won't
They're not the even cute enough to hit or start a row
McStay is a shocking commentator
Quote from: magickingdom on August 30, 2009, 05:00:55 PM
yeah, even their fans don't bother travelling to their games ;)
Is this part of a master strategy from O'Connor to lull cork into a false sense of maturity?
Goal - Murphy shows once again that he's not actually that good.
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 05:03:42 PM
I won't
Watching Reilly kicking Tommy Walsh and the ball I thought he would surely walk.
That was a bad act
Is it any wonder Spillane and the Kerry boys hate ulster football and the teams "style of play". When Kerry play a team from outside ulster the team shit themselves and lie down. Kerry won today playing none. Even at 6 points down in the 2nd half you'd have thought there was 20 points in it the way Meath gave up.
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 30, 2009, 05:04:42 PM
Is this part of a master strategy from O'Connor to lull cork into a false sense of maturity?
What is a false sense of maturity? ;)
you did until you showed how you behaved in defeat to Ulster teams. That aside... is your day...well done. Up The Rebels!!
Quote from: Redhand Santa on August 30, 2009, 05:06:46 PM
Is it any wonder Spillane and the Kerry boys hate ulster football and the teams "style of play". When Kerry play a team from outside ulster the team shit themselves and lie down. Kerry won today playing none. Even at 6 points down in the 2nd half you'd have thought there was 20 points in it the way Meath gave up.
True
But that Meath team is hardly in the top 4 teams in Leinster on ability - I'd have Dublin, Kildare and possibly Wicklow above them
Ok 3rd best in Leinster
the master strategy? this is our 6 final in a row (equals dublin and wexfords record) do you think they dont know were a good team. all bull aside cork and kerry players know each other inside out, no one is going to bluff anyone.
Meath were horrible, yet Kerry still needed an extremely dodgy penalty to pip them. Awful quality for a semi final.
Meath lay down today, the gave up early in the second half and the management team failed miserably to prepare their side for an AISF. This can only set Meath back and this game did little if anything to prepare Kerry for the powerhouse that is Cork.
I cant see kerry beating Cork, I think that Cork will banish the Croker demons when they play against kerry and I think they will run out comfortable winners.
I am putting 50 quid on an Armagh/Cork double on All Ireland Final day. ;D
Quote from: AFS on August 30, 2009, 05:10:56 PM
Meath were horrible, yet Kerry still needed an extremely dodgy penalty to pip them. Awful quality for a semi final.
Kerry were never in trouble
That goal for Meath in the end hides how bad they were
Quote from: stew on August 30, 2009, 05:11:39 PM
Meath lay down today, the gave up early in the second half and the management team failed miserably to prepare their side for an AISF. This can only set Meath back and this game did little if anything to prepare Kerry for the powerhouse that is Cork.
I cant see kerry beating Cork, I think that Cork will banish the Croker demons when they play against kerry and I think they will run out comfortable winners.
money from america stew ;D
Quote from: Estimator on August 30, 2009, 05:08:29 PM
What is a false sense of maturity? ;)
herself was giving out to me about my immaturity as i was typing - women eh, they've no respect for the serious work we do
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 05:13:04 PM
Dunno about that. I think Meath's diabolical shooting hides how bad Kerry really were.
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 05:05:34 PM
I won't
Watching Reilly kicking Tommy Walsh and the ball I thought he would surely walk.
He actually kicked the ball out of his hand
Quote from: AFS on August 30, 2009, 05:17:10 PM
Dunno about that. I think Meath's diabolical shooting hides how bad Kerry really were.
No way - they couldn't even get enough chances
Kerry were the ones kicking into Keepers hands and kicking wides
stew, consider the following before you do that bet
1) do you think kerry left 3rd gear today?
2) kerry drew with cork a few weeks ago
3) and if i'm right the only game kerry lost all year was to cork.
4) whats in it for cork, they'd rather play anyone but kerry in the ai final
not saying its going to happen but cork are very beatable
ahh, if there is one thing more satisfying than winning its reading all the bile from the bitter nordies as kerry cement their team of the decade status. 6 AI finals in a row while their pathetic rabble crash out once again.
what a wonderful week it has been ;D ;D
Joanne Cantwell swooning over O'Sullivan
again its the same old story afs, kerry did only what they had to do. they never left 3 gear today because they didnt need too. kerry have been described as pathetic, crap and poor on this thread yet they are in their 6 all ireland final in a row. you dont do that by peaking every day. . no disrespect to meath their a young team but if that were cork or tyrone today you'd see as different kerry
Quote from: magickingdom on August 30, 2009, 05:20:50 PM
I don't think you have a 5th gear. A resume of Kerry's season . they have beaten longford, antrim, sligo , dublin and meath. All poor sides.
Cork have beaten 3 time all-ireland champions Tyrone and Kerry.
This idea that Kerry are going to arrive on All-Ireland Final and produce a 5th gear performance simply at the click of the fingers is all media hype. Look a team on the wane to me. The only thing that came out of today is how bad the likes of Dublin and Meath truely are. Cork to win for me.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 30, 2009, 05:23:22 PM
ahh, if there is one thing more satisfying than winning its reading all the bile from the bitter nordies as kerry cement their team of the decade status. 6 AI finals in a row while their pathetic rabble crash out once again.
do any of you lads travel to matches?
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 30, 2009, 05:27:20 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 30, 2009, 05:23:22 PM
do any of you lads travel to matches?
waiting for the final. . . . which i'll be travelling to new york for! i've been to a least 6 kerry games this year but hate leaving munster to be honest, no respect anywhere else :D
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 05:19:28 PM
No way - they couldn't even get enough chances
Kerry were the ones kicking into Keepers hands and kicking wides
As bad as Kerry were in front of goal, there's no hiding the fact that Meath hit 17 or 18 wides. That dodgy penalty Kerry got at the start gave them a comfortable cushion they didn't deserve. Both teams were shite, Kerry slightly less so.
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 05:23:50 PM
Joanne Cantwell swooning over O'Sullivan
i love joanne, always have. . .
Perfect result really. Win playing badly in a poor game. Everybody tipping Cork to win.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 05:26:01 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 30, 2009, 05:20:50 PM
I don't think you have a 5th gear. A resume of Kerry's season . they have beaten longford, antrim, sligo , dublin and meath. All poor sides.
Cork have beaten 3 time all-ireland champions Tyrone and Kerry.
This idea that Kerry are going to arrive on All-Ireland Final and produce a 5th gear performance simply at the click of the fingers is all media hype. Look a team on the wane to me. The only thing that came out of today is how bad the likes of Dublin and Meath truely are. Cork to win for me.
i thought all the media hype was that we were sh1te and when we win were cute hoars who fooled everyone into thinking we were sh1te :D
Quotewhats in it for cork, they'd rather play anyone but kerry in the ai final
That's completely wrong, the only team Cork want in the AI final is Kerry.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 05:17:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 30, 2009, 05:05:34 PM
I won't
He actually kicked the ball out of his hand
In a kicking the man and ball sort of way.
i think kerry will win it, they've more options up front than Cork and they have the touch of class that the cork forwards lack.
Lads, setting all banter aside for one moment.
Kerry were very impressive today esp after they had dealt with the 1st half threat of Meath. After the early 2nd half goal they went into cruise control.
I now look forward to an gr8 AIF (better than today's fare I hope). The All-Munster thing adds spice. Cork are, for my money the best team in Ireland at the moment, but that doen't guarantee them an AI. Whilst my heart crys out for Cork my head tells me those cute Kerry wans have a hodoo over Cork when it really matters so Kerry will win.
I hope I'm wrong.
Quotei think kerry will win it, they've more options up front than Cork and they have the touch of class that the cork forwards lack.
Cork have at least 4 genuine options to come in upfront and Colm O'Neill and Goulding will be two of teh country's top forwards over the next 10 years.
Quote from: Zulu on August 30, 2009, 05:44:07 PM
Quotei think kerry will win it, they've more options up front than Cork and they have the touch of class that the cork forwards lack.
Cork have at least 4 genuine options to come in upfront and Colm O'Neill and Goulding will be two of teh country's top forwards over the next 10 years.
donaghy, cooper, o'sullivan are a class above anything cork have currently. Then you have the bit part kerry forwards like walsh and young o'sullivan (not counting galvin, kennelly etc as forwards for the purpose of this discussion).
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on August 30, 2009, 05:41:38 PM
Lads, setting all banter aside for one moment.
Kerry were very impressive today esp after they had dealt with the 1st half threat of Meath. After the early 2nd half goal they went into cruise control.
I now look forward to an gr8 AIF (better than today's fare I hope). The All-Munster thing adds spice. Cork are, for my money the best team in Ireland at the moment, but that doen't guarantee them an AI. Whilst my heart crys out for Cork my head tells me those cute Kerry wans have a hodoo over Cork when it really matters so Kerry will win.
I hope I'm wrong.
kerry may lose this all ireland to cork (and in this back door era they will eventually lose an ai to cork) but they will sweat themselves into the ground to win it. if they lose it wont be for hunger or want of trying.
I'd disagree, especially when you factor in Donaghy's injury and lay off and O'Sullivan and Cooper's form. I'd have O'Neill and Goulding over Darren O'Sullivan every time and Pierce O'Neill is a better center forward than Declan O'Sullivan this year, take out the Dublin game and many Kerry players have been poor. Factor in Cork's ability against Dublin's and the freak nature of that game and you have only one winner IMO.
Kerry were worthy winners. Had it been a dry day, there would have been a lot of daylight between the teams at the end and more than just 2 points at half time IMO. The rain before the throw in destroyed the game.
Why were so many commentators bliaming the new turf for the ball skidding off the surface and going wide ?? Baffled me that one.
Quote from: Zulu on August 30, 2009, 06:02:10 PM
I'd disagree, especially when you factor in Donaghy's injury and lay off and O'Sullivan and Cooper's form. I'd have O'Neill and Goulding over Darren O'Sullivan every time and Pierce O'Neill is a better center forward than Declan O'Sullivan this year, take out the Dublin game and many Kerry players have been poor. Factor in Cork's ability against Dublin's and the freak nature of that game and you have only one winner IMO.
Not as a conventional 11. O Neill is essentially a midfielder at 11 which Cork use to good effect but if he was matched up with a 6 of a similar size I don't think he'd be as effective at 11. i don't know why Cork don't use O Neill at midfield as its his best position.
Decent of Meath to get that 1-1 at the end as I had them at +5 :)
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 08:10:23 PM
Not as a conventional 11. O Neill is essentially a midfielder at 11 which Cork use to good effect but if he was matched up with a 6 of a similar size I don't think he'd be as effective at 11. i don't know why Cork don't use O Neill at midfield as its his best position.
I think you'll see him there for a bit in the final - even if it's just to wind up O'Se
... but there's no way he's a patch on O'Sullivan
Quote from: Logan on August 30, 2009, 08:38:59 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 08:10:23 PM
I think you'll see him there for a bit in the final - even if it's just to wind up O'Se
... but there's no way he's a patch on O'Sullivan
o Neills game is about fielding posession and running hard direct lines at the defence. Match him up for size at 11 and you'll negate him. Play him midfield and he's a different animal because he's an exceptional fielder of the ball.
Just home .Great to be in another final . Not a great game indeed a very poor one in parts but its only a semifinal . The surface did not play well today or did both teams take the wrong options ?..How wmay times did the ball go over the end line ans/or sideline . ? There was a breeze there but the shooting was bad by both teams .
Quote from: johnpower on August 30, 2009, 08:49:16 PM
Just home .Great to be in another final . Not a great game indeed a very poor one in parts but its only a semifinal . The surface did not play well today or did both teams take the wrong options ?..How wmay times did the ball go over the end line ans/or sideline . ? There was a breeze there but the shooting was bad by both teams .
Some boy from Kerry coined the phrase "puke football". Watching that today I n ow know whatr he means. Absolute dross start to finish with the "John O'Donoghue" of refereeing (i.e. arrogant tosser) in the middle. Ugh!
Backed kerry -4 today and was home in a boat til last minute. Fkn gutted now + hope cork stuff kerry now!
Yes I am taking it badly!
Quote from: Leo on August 30, 2009, 09:19:15 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 30, 2009, 08:49:16 PM
Some boy from Kerry coined the phrase "puke football". Watching that today I n ow know whatr he means. Absolute dross start to finish with the "John O'Donoghue" of refereeing (i.e. arrogant t**ser) in the middle. Ugh!
That would be Pat Spillane
Well, whats there to say. Game was dire. Some awful play, mostly by ourselves. Kerry looked comfortable enough in the end. We had plenty of possession, enough to have won the game, but our shooting and passing was very poor. Kerry's backs had our forwards well marshelled, but I still think we could have won that game, with the possession we had. The ball into Sheridan clearly wasn't working, it was bread and butter for the backs. It was so predictable. But I dont know if there was any changes that would have made a difference. Forwards were off form.
Moyles should have been moved, sure we all saw it coming, perhaps he shouldn't even have started there. We'll have Reilly fit again and playing in his proper possition. Paddy O'Rouke needs to tighten up his game. He made some poor decisions with the ball and had some other shakey moments. Peadar Byrne and Burke played well and we needed more men like them fighting for the ball, Moyles for instance should have been around the middle.
Anyway, 2009 wasn't a bad year, we can certainly improve our play. Tighten up the passing, get Reilly fit, Shane O'Rourke. Eamonn has done an alright job though some of his decisions were questionable during the year. Some good talent in the minor ranks that can be drafted into the senior team. Watching the analysis now and Colm is right in saying that we are lacking in really top class players.
Ok - we won but a far inferior performance to the dublin game. Then again the conditions weren't great. The pitch was like a skating rink. T o Se, Seamus, Tadgh, Paul and Tommy Walsh were our outstanding performers today. Thought Darragh was quiet especially in the 1st half. The free taking issue raised its ugly head again today - a 45 at one stage was taken short by the Gooch to no avail. All in all we are where we want to be - back in the final and theres no better place to be at the end of August. 8)
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 30, 2009, 09:33:27 PM
Ok - we won but a far inferior performance to the dublin game. Then again the conditions weren't great. The pitch was like a skating rink. T o Se, Seamus, Tadgh, Paul and Tommy Walsh were our outstanding performers today. Thought Darragh was quiet especially in the 1st half. The free taking issue raised its ugly head again today - a 45 at one stage was taken short by the Gooch to no avail. All in all we are where we want to be - back in the final and theres no better place to be at the end of August. 8)
why is there so much hatred for Kerry all over the country ?
reading through a couple of threads and it's all anti-Kerry, i don't understand it.
Is is because of Pat Spillane ? I think this Kerry team is fantastic. they weren't good to watch for most of today, but in general, over the last 10 years, they have been brilliant and AI final wouldnt be the same without them
Can we please now erase the Pure and utter MYTH that Meath teams are never Beat! They have been beat year in year out for the lasty 10 years and bar the old come back here and there they are no better at sticking in there than any other county! ;D
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on August 30, 2009, 09:34:26 PM
reading through a couple of threads and it's all anti-Kerry, i don't understand it.
Is is because of Pat Spillane ? I think this Kerry team is fantastic. they weren't good to watch for most of today, but in general, over the last 10 years, they have been brilliant and AI final wouldnt be the same without them
You're not alone in not understanding the anti-Kerry undercurrent on here HH. I've Kerry blood in me, so I am biased but I've nothing but admiration for this Kerry team. I can only presume it is due to the large Tyrone contingent on here.
The match today was cat but it could be the perfect way for Kerry to come into the final now. Semi-finals are for winning, it is all about the result. There's no point in playing exhibition football in a semi-final and then fail to show up at all in the AIF (remember 2001?). I got the impression at the match that Kerry had plenty left in the tank today. The final could be the last hurrah for a few of these Kerrymen (Darragh Ó Sé, Diarmuid Murphy, Tommy Griffin, Mike McCarthy). They won't want their last appearance in Croke Park to be an All-Ireland defeat to the greatest rivals.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 30, 2009, 10:03:26 PM
You're not alone in not understanding the anti-Kerry undercurrent on here HH. I've Kerry blood in me, so I am biased but I've nothing but admiration for this Kerry team. I can only presume it is due to the large Tyrone contingent on here.
The match today was cat but it could be the perfect way for Kerry to come into the final now. Semi-finals are for winning, it is all about the result. There's no point in playing exhibition football in a semi-final and then fail to show up at all in the AIF (remember 2001?). I got the impression at the match that Kerry had plenty left in the tank today. The final could be the last hurrah for a few of these Kerrymen (Darragh Ó Sé, Diarmuid Murphy, Tommy Griffin, Mike McCarthy). They won't want their last appearance in Croke Park to be an All-Ireland defeat to the greatest rivals.
Exactly ! - expect these boys to play like men possessed. Hope Darragh dosent get riled by O'Neill. JOC will be doing a lot of planning and scheming over the next few weeks. I can't see Donaghy starting as he's had no game time.However its great to have Tommy Walsh on song again.
We could have done without losing Stephen Bray after 2 mins as well.
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 30, 2009, 10:32:03 PM
Exactly ! - expect these boys to play like men possessed. Hope Darragh dosent get riled by O'Neill. JOC will be doing a lot of planning and scheming over the next few weeks. I can't see Donaghy starting as he's had no game time.However its great to have Tommy Walsh on song again.
I reckon Donncha won't start. Walsh will. Darren might be under pressure. Donaghy will feature at some stage if he doesn't start. Donaghy will have to really impress in the next weeks.
First of all, I hear that Brolly commented that the only reason that Meath were in the semi was that Christy Cooney picked the balls favourably at the diffferent rounds!! Do we really need to be paying our licence fee for this kind of drivel?
I am not really sure how to feel after this one. Looking back on the year we did well considering our base. Looking back on this game we were poor when kerry were not at their best and could have been beaten. I am not sure if a win would have done us a huge amount of good as Cork would have beaten us in the final.
Fair play to Kerry, they did what they had to do. They played a very defensive game at times but they were far more effective at getting and using the breaking ball. The ref did us no favours with the penalty, there was contact but it was soft. O Rourke could have possibly saved it.
Not going to do a post mortem but a few points:
Moyles should have been taken out of the full back line at half time, his experience would have been better utilised out the field and he was the cause of the penalty.
I have given up on Caoimhim King, his attempt at a point at the second half is not that of a senior inter co footballer, the kickout lead to the second goal. Why did he go for a point later on when we needed a goal and it was likely he would miss?
The management need to regroup and watch the club championship games in an effort to get a better set of defenders than we have now.
Quite a few players went missing today. It is hard when there is a tide against you but Mickey Burke and Queeney also did well when they came on.
Jury still out on O'Rourke in goals. He could well be good in the coming years but he is not up to it based on the games this year and his distribution tody was awful at times. I dont know the alternative though.
The jury is still out imo on the management team. The longer the year went on the more farcical the team selection against Dublin was. That was the most important loss of the year imo. It was always going to be nigh impossible for that panel to win the All-Ireland and Leinster should have been the goal - woeful team selection against the Dubs makes me wonder what other mistakes will they make. They will be kept on of course and hopefully the improvements will carry over till next year. Our aim for next year should be to compete well for Leinster with Kildare and Dublin. Leinster needs good competition and hopefully the big 3 of Dublin, Kildare and Meath will provide this next year. Maybe Laois will resurrect themselves as well.
As regards Kerry, they will hope that they are better than today and they will need to be.
Quote from: agorm on August 30, 2009, 11:38:43 PM
First of all, I hear that Brolly commented that the only reason that Meath were in the semi was that Christy Cooney picked the balls favourably at the diffferent rounds!! Do we really need to be paying our licence fee for this kind of drivel?
I am not really sure how to feel after this one. Looking back on the year we did well considering our base. Looking back on this game we were poor when kerry were not at their best and could have been beaten. I am not sure if a win would have done us a huge amount of good as Cork would have beaten us in the final.
Fair play to Kery, they did what they have to do. They played a very defensive game at time but they were far more effective at getting and using the breaking ball. The ref did us no favours with the penalty, there was contact but it was soft. O Rourke could have possibly saved it.
Moyles should have been taken out of the full back line at half time, his exoperience would have been better utilised out the field and he was the cause if the penalty.
I have given up on Caoimhim King, his attempt at a point at the second half is not that of a senior inter co footballer, the kickout lead to the second goal. The management need to regroup and watch the club championship games in an effort to get a better set of defenders than we have now.
Quite a few players went missing today. It is hard when there is a tide against you but Mickey Burke and Queeney also did well when they came on.
Jury still out on O'Rourke in goals. He could well be good in the coming years but he is not up to it based on the games this year and his distribution tody was awful at times. I dont know the alternative though.
The jury is still out imo on the management team. The longer the year went on the more farcical the team selection against Dublin was. That was the most important loss of the year imo. It was always going to be nigh impossible for that panel to win the All-Ireland and Leinster should have been the goal - woeful team selection against the Dubs makes me wonder what other mistakes will they make. They will be kept on of course and hopefully the improvements will carry over till next year. Our aim for next year to to compete well for Leinster with Kildare and Dublin. Leinster needs good competition and hopefully the big 3 of Dublin, Kildare and Meath will provide this next year. Maybe Laois will resurrect themselves as well.
As regards Kerry, they will hop that they are better than today and they will need to be.
Pat McEneaney should be a sure thing for the final, so hopefully that will make for a good match
Just pray it doesn't rain.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 30, 2009, 10:59:21 PM
We could have done without losing Stephen Bray after 2 mins as well.
Might have helped ... but wouldn't have changed the score at the end at all to be fair
Quote from: Jinxy on August 30, 2009, 11:42:05 PM
Just pray it doesn't rain.
Serious questions need to be asked about the pitch.
I know it rained but ffs it isnt as if we are strangers in this country to the rain. A club pitch needs 18 months to bed down but Croke Park can be ready in a week ???
There have been players falling for the last few weeks. Someone with time on their hands should get videos of previous games with the old pitch (before any development) and compare the amount of slippages. This could well have effected the players today and they may have been more circumspect in turning etc. It just seems that there are more players slipping recently in Croke Park than did previously or does in county grounds.
The powers that be need to investigate this and admit they were wrong to dig up the pitch the way they did if this is the case. I would hope that there isnt a head in the sand job and Croke Park becomes a pitch that is dug up every summer for some concert or other. I would far rather rugby & soccer be played there than concerts that require the pitch to be dug up irrespective of whether Croke Park say it has an effect or not.
Quote from: agorm on August 30, 2009, 11:38:43 PM
Fair play to Kerry, they did what they had to do. They played a very defensive game at times but they were far more effective at getting and using the breaking ball. The ref did us no favours with the penalty, there was contact but it was soft. O Rourke could have possibly saved it.
Moyles should have been taken out of the full back line at half time, his experience would have been better utilised out the field and he was the cause of the penalty.
I have given up on Caoimhim King, his attempt at a point at the second half is not that of a senior inter co footballer, the kickout lead to the second goal. Why did he go for a point later on when we needed a goal and it was likely he would miss?
The management need to regroup and watch the club championship games in an effort to get a better set of defenders than we have now.
The jury is still out imo on the management team. The longer the year went on the more farcical the team selection against Dublin was. That was the most important loss of the year imo. It was always going to be nigh impossible for that panel to win the All-Ireland and Leinster should have been the goal - woeful team selection against the Dubs makes me wonder what other mistakes will they make. They will be kept on of course and hopefully the improvements will carry over till next year. Our aim for next year should be to compete well for Leinster with Kildare and Dublin. Leinster needs good competition and hopefully the big 3 of Dublin, Kildare and Meath will provide this next year. Maybe Laois will resurrect themselves as well.
As regards Kerry, they will hope that they are better than today and they will need to be.
Leinster is a shambles mate. Dublin and Meath have proven that in the last few weeks. Kildare are the only side with any credentials to move to a higher level in the coming years.
Dublin were dreadful a few weeks ago. Meath were nearly as bad except they never gave up and they fought to the end . But in terms of class Meath have precious little of it.
As has been stated, it's nothing short of a disgrace that the pitch was taken up slap bang in the middle of the sporting high season for fecking music (and the only reason it had to be replaced was because of a previous concert). The GAA need to remember what they're about, I'd say just about every player on both teams was affected today by that surface.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 12:02:19 AM
Leinster is a shambles mate. Dublin and Meath have proven that in the last few weeks. Kildare are the only side with any credentials to move to a higher level in the coming years.
Dublin were dreadful a few weeks ago. Meath were nearly as bad except they never gave up and they fought to the end . But in terms of class Meath have precious little of it.
Leinster is a shambles
Kildare will not get the same level next year
Agreed,
Other 3 provinces represented on AIF day (again). It will now be at least 9 years since a Leinster team was in the AIF and no Leinster winer of Sam in the decade.
This will be the sixth All Ireland Final day in a row that Leinster have no representative in either game with the last minor teams from the province in the final being Laois and Dublin in 2003. And Leinster surely has the biggest population by far.
For all their travails mayo seem be going in a far more positive direction than any of the Leinster teams!
Quote from: agorm on August 31, 2009, 12:25:42 AM
Agreed,
Other 3 provinces represented on AIF day (again). It will now be at least 9 years since a Leinster team was in the AIF and no Leinster winer of Sam in the decade.
This will be the sixth All Ireland Final day in a row that Leinster have no representative in either game with the last minor teams from the province in the final being Laois and Dublin in 2003. And Leinster surely has the biggest population by far.
For all their travails mayo seem be going in a far more positive direction than any of the Leinster teams!
Mayo are in as big a trouble in my view. They couldn't beat Meath. I think dublin, meath, mayo etc are on a par. No systems of play, precious little structure and poor execution of the skills of the game on the big day.
Leinster are in big trouble
Who is going to come out of Leinster and do anything? Dublin are the Mayo of the province and Kildare, Westmeath and Meath are a league below the big teams.
Mayo are just being Mayo
Promising and pretending but not going to win anything - even that minor team should have been beaten out the gate.
Armagh will eat them.
In my view Kildare with Mc Geeney there have a chance. The rest are 2/3 years behind the top teams.
Quote from: Logan on August 31, 2009, 01:01:55 AM
Who is going to come out of Leinster and do anything? Dublin are the Mayo of the province and Kildare, Westmeath and Meath are a league below the big teams.
Mayo are just being Mayo
Promising and pretending but not going to win anything - even that minor team should have been beaten out the gate.
Armagh will eat them.
How so? You say Dublin, WM, Meath and Kildare are below the big teams. This I wouldn't dispute. But, the reality is that there are only three big teams at the moment - Kerry, Cork and Tyrone. Dublin, Meath and Kildare are more than capable of beating the best of the rest as this championship season has proved. Kildare could and maybe should have beaten Tyrone as well but inexperience got the better of us.
Pundits are constantly trotting out the line that the Leinster Championship is useless but there's not much basis to that argument. Granted there's no outstanding teams but is the overall standard any worse than the other three provinces? The rest of Ulster have simply been hanging onto Tyrone's coat tails since Armagh's demise a few years ago. Wicklow put out three Ulster counties in their qualifier run. Kerry Cork is the only game in town down south. Mayo came with high expectations from Connacht but Meath got the better of them when the going got tough.
Kerry, Cork and Tyrone are a country mile ahead of the pack at the moment but none of these teams are getting any younger. Looking ahead to next year it wouldn't surprise me to see the gap beginning to close.
Dreadful game in poor conditions. Meath very poor but I never thought they were good enough anyway. Kerry did enough to win but I'm not sure whether they can pick it up again for the final - they'll improve no doubt but not sure if it'll be enough to beat the rebels.
Is it just me or is it ridiculous to have O'Rourke and Spillane on the panel when their own counties are playing??
two words - mike sheehy
Tyrone are off the hook. puke football was created by gerry kinneavy.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2009, 01:25:02 AM
Mayo are just being Mayo
Armagh will eat them.
How so? You say Dublin, WM, Meath and Kildare are below the big teams. This I wouldn't dispute. But, the reality is that there are only three big teams at the moment - Kerry, Cork and Tyrone. Dublin, Meath and Kildare are more than capable of beating the best of the rest as this championship season has proved. Kildare could and maybe should have beaten Tyrone as well but inexperience got the better of us.
Pundits are constantly trotting out the line that the Leinster Championship is useless but there's not much basis to that argument. Granted there's no outstanding teams but is the overall standard any worse than the other three provinces? The rest of Ulster have simply been hanging onto Tyrone's coat tails since Armagh's demise a few years ago. Wicklow put out three Ulster counties in their qualifier run. Kerry Cork is the only game in town down south. Mayo came with high expectations from Connacht but Meath got the better of them when the going got tough.
Kerry, Cork and Tyrone are a country mile ahead of the pack at the moment but none of these teams are getting any younger. Looking ahead to next year it wouldn't surprise me to see the gap beginning to close.
Leinster football makes no impact at all-ireland level unfortunately DH, thats as good a sign as any. I'm not convinced that even Dublin and Meath will have been beaten by the winners . Only Kildare for me look to be setup in the correct manner for this level.
2003 all ireland semifinal was a classic compared to that rubbish. Forget about puke this was crap.
Not really Kerry's fault. They just played a team that wasn't at that level and also didn't play well . Meath had to play at the limit of their ability yesterday.
I think we can just discount that game when we are considering the final. 3 weeks is a long time, so I'll be concentrating on the hurling first (can't wait for that one, I think we should have 2 good senior finals this year). Kerry looked very lethargic and sloppy yesterday, but I wonder were there a combination of factors at play? The conditions were certainly one, but that doesn't excuse the lack of movement by likes of Gooch, Dec O'Sullivan and Darren O'Sullivan, especially in the first half. I think complacency may have set in. They were winning ball in the middle of the field, and got off to another flier. Meath never looked like being able to keep the scoreboard ticking over, and I think it just fed into one of those types of games. We've all been involved in them. You're roaring at each other to keep going, but deep down you know you are going to hang on and win. They are the type of game where if the momentum does shift, you get it awful hard to shift it up, and if Meath had managed a goal with maybe 10 minutes left instead of 10 seconds, it might have been very nervy.
However, as much as Cork want a chance to right wrongs against Kerry in Croker, Kerry will be absolutely up for this one as well. If Kerry can stay with the Cork runners (and Galvin and co will have a lot of work to do there), I think Cork might start to doubt themselves again.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 09:33:28 AM
Not really Kerry's fault. They just played a team that wasn't at that level and also didn't play well . Meath had to play at the limit of their ability yesterday.
I dont think Meath played to their limit actually but neither did Kerry obviously. I think our limit is somewhere in the last ten mins of the Mayo game. Forwards yesterday couldnt click at all but then ball in was awful and thats when the ball actually came in to them. The over passing,sidelines, mis placing was awful. I would imagine as a neutral this must have been the worst game this year?? Think P O Rourke cost us at least 3,4 points. I feel sorry for him in a way and maybe he would be alot better in 3 or 4 years (he's 20) but we cant have a goalie like that next season. Felt for Bray as well. I would imagine he had a big game in him and to see your captain goin off that early has to have an affect on the team.
overall, Im happy with the progress we've made this year. the Kerrys, Tyrones Corks have worked on their teams for years to get them to this level. We've had one year with this team and I dont think its bad going in that regard. Back to the drawing board, a few changes need to be made for next year but the bones and passion are there again. Realistically we should be looking at Leinster first and foremost. And a few years time we will be up there. Duiblin have had those years to get it right and have not done so. Thats the difference between them and the top 3, nothing to do with coming from poor Leinster province, you have it or you dont.
as a btw, it realllly annoys me that Tony Davis sat there last night pointing out the difference between Kerry and Meath in forward line. Kerry he said use that terrific diagonal ball, the way it should be done. Meath on the other hand kept kicking high ball hopelessly into the forward line who didnt have the capability of getting their own ball. Roll back to meath Mayo game, Tony Davis.. this is one of things I really like about this Meath team , that direct high ball into the forward line, all of who can catch their own ball.!!!!! sorry but that annoyed me. make up your mind! :-\
Kerry never looked uncomfortable yesterday, which suited them down to the ground. Cork now don't really know what to expect from Kerry in the final, whereas Cork showed what they're capable of in the first 20 against Tyrone. Cork also showed that they can shut-down a game, which I would have thought is worrying Kerry most about them.
Quoteit realllly annoys me that Tony Davis sat there last night pointing out the difference between Kerry and Meath in forward line. Kerry he said use that terrific diagonal ball, the way it should be done. Meath on the other hand kept kicking high ball hopelessly into the forward line who didnt have the capability of getting their own ball. Roll back to meath Mayo game, Tony Davis.. this is one of things I really like about this Meath team , that direct high ball into the forward line, all of who can catch their own ball.!!!!! sorry but that annoyed me. make up your mind!
That's because they don't analyse Meathie, they simply look at the result and the team that wins did everything right and the team that loses did it all wrong. O'Cinneide said the same thing after the Mayo game, he said Meath stuck to their tactic and it worked out, whereas the reality is it was predictable and Meath required more variation and subtlety to their attacks. But because Meath won the two boys thought everything was fine, which surprised me in Dara's case. While on the topic of Tony Davis did anyone else find him ignorant and limelight hogging last night, he cut across the other two analysts on more than one occasion.
Quote from: meathie on August 31, 2009, 10:03:08 AM
The over passing,sidelines, mis placing was awful. I would imagine as a neutral this must have been the worst game this year?? Think P O Rourke cost us at least 3,4 points. I feel sorry for him in a way and maybe he would be alot better in 3 or 4 years (he's 20) but we cant have a goalie like that next season.
Next season, hopefully Kevin Reilly and Shane O'Rourke will be back and we have certainly learned from this year. Paddy is one for the future but, as you say, he may not be at the level still next year. We conceded too many goals this year and they were a combination of full-back-line & goalie errors.
I think they should try & see if Brendan Murphy would come back in. I can tell you he is playing v well for Trim - even ask some of the Dunshaughlin guys whom they beat in the Feis Cup at the weekend. Brendan would also help develop Paddy. Paddy has a great long kickout but I think he panicked a bit yesterday. With Murphy back in and Reilly, O'Rourke and some of the new players we have seen this year I think we would have a chance to give Leinster a reasonable rattle next year.
"While on the topic of Tony Davis did anyone else find him ignorant and limelight hogging last night, he cut across the other two analysts on more than one occasion."
Yep. What makes it worse is he never adds anything meaningful when he does interrupt. I thought Tommy Lyons was cutting across Brolly once or twice as well.
I don't always agree with Brolly but he makes some interesting points and you can tell he has actually thought about the game. Or a least they would be interesting if he had a chance to make them fully.
Anthony Tohill can be decent enough at times as well. However with the likes of Davis bleating incessantly and with Tohill having the manners not to cut across other he rarely gets enough time to speak.
Quote from: agorm on August 31, 2009, 11:42:45 AM
The over passing,sidelines, mis placing was awful. I would imagine as a neutral this must have been the worst game this year?? Think P O Rourke cost us at least 3,4 points. I feel sorry for him in a way and maybe he would be alot better in 3 or 4 years (he's 20) but we cant have a goalie like that next season.
Next season, hopefully Kevin Reilly and Shane O'Rourke will be back and we have certainly learned from this year. Paddy is one for the future but, as you say, he may not be at the level still next year. We conceded too many goals this year and they were a combination of full-back-line & goalie errors.
I think they should try & see if Brendan Murphy would come back in. I can tell you he is playing v well for Trim - even ask some of the Dunshaughlin guys whom they beat in the Feis Cup at the weekend. Brendan would also help develop Paddy. Paddy has a great long kickout but I think he panicked a bit yesterday. With Murphy back in and Reilly, O'Rourke and some of the new players we have seen this year I think we would have a chance to give Leinster a reasonable rattle next year.
I believe 100% that Brendan Murphy would have saved both those goals yesterday.
At least get him back in as a goalkeeping coach.
QuoteI can tell you he is playing v well for Trim - even ask some of the Dunshaughlin guys whom they beat in the Feis Cup at the weekend
Heard he played well alright agorm though did we have a weakened team out?
But I dont think he wants to come back at all thats the problem. Maybe he could be coaxed but I heard not.
Really? I may sound bitter here but I have to laugh at the different reactions to games depending on who plays in them. The game yesterday was imo a far poorer game than the 03 semi final between Tyrone and Kerry and the quality was much lower. Kerry won the game scoring ten times (3 fewer than Tyrone in 03) including a penalty that was a dive.
The reaction above is typical of the general reaction. Spillane said it was a very poor game etc. But excuses were made. Kerry didnt get out of 3rd gear, it sets them up perfectly for final etc. In 03 you would have thought Tyrone had destroyed football with the over the top reaction from Spillane and the rest of the southern media. Tyrone continue to get abuse to this day about that game. There's no way this game will be mentioned for years to come. The only thing Tyrone did wrong in 03 was show hunger and refuse to stand back and let the Kerry players do what they wanted like the likes of Meath/Dublin/Mayo do. Hopefully Cork will show up for the final.
A very disappointing game for an AI SF.
Despite all the informed denials, those disturbances to the surface for the music concert have to be seriously suspect, to the extent of a GAA version of sporting harakiri.
Last year we had a top class exciting game at this level in the pouring rain with Galway and Kerry.
This year a few drizzles ruined the surface for even basic bog standard play.
Quote from: Main Street on August 31, 2009, 12:52:07 PM
A very disappointing game for an AI SF.
Despite all the informed denials, those disturbances to the surface for the music concert have to be seriously suspect, to the extent of a GAA version of sporting harakiri.
Last year we had a top class exciting game at this level in the pouring rain with Galway and Kerry.
This year a few drizzles ruined the surface for even basic bog standard play.
Croke Park stadium manager Peter McKenna has conceded that the pitch surface in Croke Park was less than ideal for yesterday's All-Ireland semi-final, but he insisted that it will be ready for Sunday's All-Ireland hurling final between Kilkenny and Tipperary.
The weather affected the play of Kerry and Meath throughout yesterday's clash, with both sides struggling to shine in the conditions.
'In the first half certainly there was slipping that you wouldn't be entirely happy with, particularly with the penalty,' remarked McKenna in the Irish Examiner.
'Some of that you come to expect with a squally, wet day. What you get with light rain like we had today, it sits on top of the grass. If the grass is lush like it is there, you will get a greasy interface. It's something for us to look at, no doubt about it.
'I talked to some of the players and any of the Kerry guys that were wearing six stud boots had no issues. Fellas wearing moulded boots or blade boots certainly did have issues. But we'd like to think that the surface wouldn't be boot-dependant, so we've got some work to look at during the week.'
McKenna ruled out scarifying the pitch before Sunday's final, but reckons that spiking the surface could be helpful.
'I was down on the surface there with our pitch people. One suggestion is that the grass cover is too lush, that we could do with thinning it out somewhat. That's not something we're going to do between now and the finals obviously.
'Ideally we'd look at scarifying it if we had more time, but I'm not inclined to do that, I think that could change the characteristics of the pitch. During the week, we did a lot of spiking on the surface. That breaks it up and gives it a little more traction for the studded foot. We'll do a little bit more of that this week.'
McKenna insisted that laying down a new pitch during the middle of the championship had been a success overall.
'No, the positives we've had from the pitch and the work we've done have been very, very strong.
This is the first time we've had criticism.'
Quote from: Jinxy on August 31, 2009, 12:07:30 PM
Quote from: agorm on August 31, 2009, 11:42:45 AM
I believe 100% that Brendan Murphy would have saved both those goals yesterday.
At least get him back in as a goalkeeping coach.
Gallagher even
Peter McKenna
"This is the first time we've had criticism"
This is the first time the surface had been tested under very mild damp conditions.
edit,
I see there is another thread for the pitch conditions
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 01:09:55 AM
In my view Kildare with Mc Geeney there have a chance. The rest are 2/3 years behind the top teams.
With respect - I think you're overrating them
McGeeney has done nothing Micko hasn't done already or another high profile coach coming in might do - it is relatively easy to do what he's done so far - get them fit, focused etc.
Next year is his proper test to see if he's any good and I don't think he'll do anything like he did last year (Grimley leaving will be another blow to him).
On the whole I see Dublin back again next year and it remaining the same.
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 09:16:32 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2009, 01:25:02 AM
Mayo are just being Mayo
Armagh will eat them.
Leinster football makes no impact at all-ireland level unfortunately DH, thats as good a sign as any. I'm not convinced that even Dublin and Meath will have been beaten by the winners . Only Kildare for me look to be setup in the correct manner for this level.
Yes
My point exactly
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2009, 09:33:28 AM
I dont think Meath played to their limit actually but neither did Kerry obviously. I think our limit is somewhere in the last ten mins of the Mayo game. Forwards yesterday couldnt click at all but then ball in was awful and thats when the ball actually came in to them. The over passing,sidelines, mis placing was awful. I would imagine as a neutral this must have been the worst game this year?? Think P O Rourke cost us at least 3,4 points. I feel sorry for him in a way and maybe he would be alot better in 3 or 4 years (he's 20) but we cant have a goalie like that next season. Felt for Bray as well. I would imagine he had a big game in him and to see your captain goin off that early has to have an affect on the team.
overall, Im happy with the progress we've made this year. the Kerrys, Tyrones Corks have worked on their teams for years to get them to this level. We've had one year with this team and I dont think its bad going in that regard. Back to the drawing board, a few changes need to be made for next year but the bones and passion are there again. Realistically we should be looking at Leinster first and foremost. And a few years time we will be up there. Duiblin have had those years to get it right and have not done so. Thats the difference between them and the top 3, nothing to do with coming from poor Leinster province, you have it or you dont.
as a btw, it realllly annoys me that Tony Davis sat there last night pointing out the difference between Kerry and Meath in forward line. Kerry he said use that terrific diagonal ball, the way it should be done. Meath on the other hand kept kicking high ball hopelessly into the forward line who didnt have the capability of getting their own ball. Roll back to meath Mayo game, Tony Davis.. this is one of things I really like about this Meath team , that direct high ball into the forward line, all of who can catch their own ball.!!!!! sorry but that annoyed me. make up your mind! :-\
The question you have to ask though is did Meath get there by planning or by design or by accident?
I think it might be the latter sadly and if that's the case they won't be winning Leinsters anytime soon.
John O'Keeffe in today's Irish Times, not impressed by the Gooch's theatrics:
The penalty was a contentious award that underlines the folly of a defender making any contact with a forward in front of his own goal. The referee made a split-second decision without the benefit of a replay and was conned by Colm Cooper's dramatic dive.
It's something that shouldn't be borrowed from other sports.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 31, 2009, 01:13:04 PM
John O'Keeffe in today's Irish Times, not impressed by the Gooch's theatrics:
The penalty was a contentious award that underlines the folly of a defender making any contact with a forward in front of his own goal. The referee made a split-second decision without the benefit of a replay and was conned by Colm Cooper's dramatic dive.
It's something that shouldn't be borrowed from other sports.
[/quote
RTE boys more less said that they had criticised Mulligan the previous week for diving so they supposed they had to criticise Gooch to. Nice of them.
Any views on Dara ó Sé's jab to the Meath full-forward's nose?
What was the meath full-forward running into him (twice) for when the ball was out of play?
How did the panel brush over it so quickly?
How did the referee miss it when it happened right beside (/behind) him? (I think he was noting the score)
The Kerry lads put on a big show of pushing and shoving once yer man went down.
Were they rattled that Dara could have been given the line?
Dara DID strike Farrell in the face.
I wouldn't want to see Dara miss the final and I don't want the incident to be looked at in more detail.
The thing that annoyed me though was the sunday game panel (Brolly in particular) accusing Farrell of diving.
He must have busted his nose on the way down so. ::)
Quote from: Jinxy on August 31, 2009, 02:33:51 PM
Dara DID strike Farrell in the face.
I wouldn't want to see Dara miss the final and I don't want the incident to be looked at in more detail.
The thing that annoyed me though was the sunday game panel (Brolly in particular) accusing Farrell of diving.
He must have busted his nose on the way down so. ::)
Surprised he didn't claim it was another 'Bloodgate' straight from the Harlequins handbook on substitutions.
Quote from: Jinxy on August 31, 2009, 02:33:51 PM
I wouldn't want to see Dara miss the final.
Its not the first year I have heard this comment!
whats this about the gooch diving?
there were fellas sliding and falling all over the place in those conditions without even being touched yet gooch who was pulled can't go down without it being considered a dive ::)
anyone who knows the man knows he doesn't dive and would have much preferred the chance to put the ball in the back of the net.
Would you go way outta that!
Quote from: timmykelleher on August 31, 2009, 11:48:03 AM
"While on the topic of Tony Davis did anyone else find him ignorant and limelight hogging last night, he cut across the other two analysts on more than one occasion."
Yep. What makes it worse is he never adds anything meaningful when he does interrupt. I thought Tommy Lyons was cutting across Brolly once or twice as well.
I don't always agree with Brolly but he makes some interesting points and you can tell he has actually thought about the game. Or a least they would be interesting if he had a chance to make them fully.
Anthony Tohill can be decent enough at times as well. However with the likes of Davis bleating incessantly and with Tohill having the manners not to cut across other he rarely gets enough time to speak.
Hard to beat the northern boys when it comes to manners ;D
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 31, 2009, 04:21:00 PM
Quote from: timmykelleher on August 31, 2009, 11:48:03 AM
Hard to beat the northern boys when it comes to manners ;D
::) Aye right!