Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eastern_Pride on August 04, 2009, 03:41:03 PM

Title: Best Irish movie of all time....
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 04, 2009, 03:41:03 PM
My top 3.....
In Bruges
The Commitments
War of The Buttons
Title: Re: Best Irish movie of all time....
Post by: irunthev on August 04, 2009, 03:44:46 PM
Ryan's Daughter
The Commitments
In Bruges

Anyone every seen The Garage with Pat Shortt?...... not a brilliant film by any means but quite deep and tragic
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 04, 2009, 03:45:30 PM
The Van.
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2009, 03:49:54 PM
The Field and My Left Foot would have to be right up there as well!
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 04, 2009, 03:51:37 PM
Quote from: irunthev on August 04, 2009, 03:44:46 PM
Ryan's Daughter
The Commitments
In Bruges

Anyone every seen The Garage with Pat Shortt?...... not a brilliant film by any means but quite deep and tragic
Garage was almost an experiment for Pat Shortt....just to see if he could do a serious role and even if the film was average he filled the role admirably
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 04, 2009, 03:52:36 PM
Bloodfist VIII: Hard Way Out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xdkk2qCshjI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xdkk2qCshjI)

Filmed in Galway. ;D
Post by: longball on August 04, 2009, 03:59:24 PM
ONCE
IN BRUGES
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 04, 2009, 04:03:20 PM
the van
the commitments
once
in bruges
the field
the general
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2009, 04:05:34 PM
Yeah have to say I really enjoyed Once as well.

My favourites:

The Commitments
My Left Foot
Once
The Field
The General
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on August 04, 2009, 04:07:54 PM
Michael Collins
The Field
The General
Post by: The squinted eye on August 04, 2009, 04:13:50 PM
Watched that Garage film with the missus, the both of us looked quizzically at each other at the abrupt ending. It wasnt bad i suppose but it was like a slow burner that never got going, I though Pat Shortt was quite good in it
Post by: Quagmire on August 04, 2009, 04:16:23 PM
Did anybody ever see The Run of the Country?? There's some great laughs in it!
Post by: longball on August 04, 2009, 04:19:02 PM
Quote from: Quagmire on August 04, 2009, 04:16:23 PM

Where'd you get them cattle?
there from across the border

Ever seen a man tarred and feathered.

Think i was about 11 when i seen this film. only seen it once. theses are the only two things i can remember about it.
Post by: red hander on August 04, 2009, 04:21:50 PM
The Blue Max
I Went Down
The Snapper
Post by: longball on August 04, 2009, 04:23:26 PM
Quote from: red hander on August 04, 2009, 04:21:50 PM
The Blue Max
I Went Down
The Snapper

Lets keep this thread clean please
Post by: irunthev on August 04, 2009, 04:25:30 PM
Quote from: The squinted eye on August 04, 2009, 04:13:50 PM
Watched that Garage film with the missus, the both of us looked quizzically at each other at the abrupt ending. It wasnt bad i suppose but it was like a slow burner that never got going, I though Pat Shortt was quite good in it

Agree, I thought Shortt's character was well thought out and he played the role brilliantly. It was about 20 minutes too long though. How many times can you show a man putting out and bringing in cans of oil in one movie? Not a bad effort though.
Post by: Quagmire on August 04, 2009, 05:03:32 PM
I've the video here in the house Longball, if you're ever about the smoke I'd give you the lend of it! It's definately worth watching a few times to get the one liners!!

The scene with the Priest and the dead pig was priceless!!!!  :D
Post by: fred the red on August 04, 2009, 05:06:37 PM
Man about dog
Post by: 5 Sams on August 04, 2009, 11:42:02 PM
Quote from: fred the red on August 04, 2009, 05:06:37 PM
Man about dog
Class :D :D

Post by: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 12:11:42 AM
Quote from: longball on August 04, 2009, 03:59:24 PM
ONCE

Quote from: screenexile on August 04, 2009, 04:05:34 PM
Yeah have to say I really enjoyed Once as well.

Noooooooooooooooo

I can't believe that nobody's mentioned The Quiet Man, nor Darby O'Gill, nor even The Fighting Prince of Donegal (although I'd have to see it again to be sure it's good).
Post by: boojangles on August 05, 2009, 12:14:36 AM
Cant believe nobodys mentioned Intermission. :o :o
Intermission
The Field
My Left Foot
The Snapper
Michael Collins
Veronica Guerin
Post by: armagh leg-end on August 05, 2009, 12:26:49 AM
the commiments on now on film4
Post by: No way ref on August 05, 2009, 12:39:00 AM
How come ricky nixoncolin meaney is in every irish film ever made
Post by: qub la la la on August 05, 2009, 12:40:42 AM
into the west
some mothers son
in the name of the father
Post by: stephenite on August 05, 2009, 12:47:39 AM
Quote from: longball on August 04, 2009, 04:19:02 PM

Where'd you get them cattle?
there from across the border

Ever seen a man tarred and feathered.

Think i was about 11 when i seen this film. only seen it once. theses are the only two things i can remember about it.

You were 11 and that's what you remember.

Not Victoria Smurfitts tits? You were 11 FFS, that's all you should remember
Post by: aontroim on August 05, 2009, 01:14:37 AM

Say nothing 'til ya hear more  ;)
Post by: Aoise on August 05, 2009, 01:37:52 AM
Kineo, kineo, kineo!!!!

- Run of the Country
- Man about dog
- In Bruges
- The Field
- The Quiet Man
- The Butcher Boy

My all time Fav though has to be 'The Wind that Shakes the Barley'. Emotionally, I was ready to continue a war after I seen that film.  I don't think another Irish film has touched it.
Post by: Quagmire on August 05, 2009, 02:07:34 AM
Her foot? Ye kissed her foot?? Trust the College boy for dirty tricks.....

The Butcher Boy is another great film too, it's tragic in ways but the humour in it is brilliant and makes it one of those you watch again for the craics in it.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 05, 2009, 02:08:12 AM
Lads it was a nice little move and all but with all due respect "Once" was enough :P.

In Bruges and My Left Foot would be top of the class imho.
Post by: Quagmire on August 05, 2009, 02:11:04 AM
Angela's Ashes deserves a mention too
Post by: Lecale2 on August 05, 2009, 11:05:00 AM
Quote from: Quagmire on August 05, 2009, 02:11:04 AM
Angela's Ashes deserves a mention too

I thought it was awful.

Man about Dog & Wind that shakes the Barley for me.
Post by: Orior on August 05, 2009, 11:36:18 AM
Cal
My Left Foot
The Commitments
The Field
Into the west
In the name of the father
Wind that shakes the Barley
Post by: ziggysego on August 05, 2009, 01:40:11 PM
Been a long time since I saw it, but if you get a chance... Fatal Deviation. So bad, you have to watch. A Co. Meath Martial Arts film, with Mikey Graham (Boyzone).
Post by: bcarrier on August 05, 2009, 03:10:54 PM
Kings

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kings_(film) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kings_(film))

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0889136/

Post by: Doogie Browser on August 05, 2009, 03:16:48 PM
Lamb
The Commitments
The Field
Post by: gallsman on August 05, 2009, 03:16:54 PM
Taffin.

If you haven't seen it you're missing out. Comedy at its finest.
Post by: T O Hare on August 05, 2009, 03:48:45 PM
The quiet man is the best!!!!!!!!!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 05, 2009, 04:22:07 PM
I am waiting for this

Crossmaglen (2010) More at IMDbPro »

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
advertisementOverview
MOVIEmeter: Down 22% in popularity this week. See why on IMDbPro.
Writer:Stuart White (writer)

Contact:View company contact information for Crossmaglen on IMDbPro.
Release Date:2010 (Ireland) more
Genre:Drama more
Plot:IRA gunner Dermot McGarvey is a hunted man - by both the British and his own. In hiding on a Christmas Eve stakeout to ambush British soldiers... more | add synopsis
Plot Keywords:One Word Title | Irish

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Production Notes from IMDbPro
Status:Pre-production | See complete list of 12,000 in-production titles »
Status Updated:26 June 2009
More Info:See more production information about Crossmaglen (2010) only on IMDbPro.
Note:Because this project is categorized as being in production, the data is subject to change; some data could be removed completely.

Cast 

Claire Forlani ...  Kathy Monihan

Thora Birch ...  Nulla McGarvey
Brenda Fricker ...  Aunt Kathleen

Timothy V. Murphy ...  Liam

Tom Archdeacon ...  Ruraigh
Darren Keefe ...  Colm (as Darren Reiher)
Paul Hardiman ...  Seamus
more
Create a character page for: Kathy MonihanNulla McGarveyAunt KathleenLiamRuraighColmSeamus-----------more... 
Post by: Mr. Nakata on August 05, 2009, 04:26:48 PM
Can anyone remember a bizarre movie called "Eat the Peach" about erecting a Wall of Death in rural 80's Ireland. It's not my favouite Irish movie, but I definitely enjoyed it.
Post by: John C on August 05, 2009, 04:43:19 PM
1. In the Name of the Father
2. The Van
3. Bloody Sunday

Not an Irish made one but love Gangs of New York : )
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 05, 2009, 07:17:30 PM
Quote from: No way ref on August 05, 2009, 12:39:00 AM
How come ricky nixoncolin meaney is in every irish film ever made
The man loves to act....but can only do an Irish accent?
Post by: Bogball XV on August 05, 2009, 09:08:46 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 05, 2009, 03:10:54 PM
Kings

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kings_(film)

very good show alright
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 05, 2009, 10:13:34 PM
Can't believe the butcher boy is not in everyones list. A masterpiece of a dark comedy. The wind that shakes the Barley also excellent. Intermission also amazingly missing of many lists. I didn't see In Bruge but many people told me it was only average. I thought angelas ashes was terrible and so was eat the peach. Honary mention to Run of the country "Next time tie a knot in your dangler". Some great Cavan slang in it!
Post by: Aoise on August 06, 2009, 12:28:59 AM
Forgot to mention 'Breakfast on Pluto' as well.  That one scene on Wimbledon Common had me doubled up!!!
Post by: Eoghan Mag on August 06, 2009, 12:29:24 AM
Wild about Harry (My brother was an extra in this film shot in Belfast.)
Moondance (Check out the love connection bird in this film she's the spit of what my wife looked like when I married her!)
This is my Father
The most fertile man in Ireland (Actually this is an awful film but has the odd funny scene)
Spin the bottle
Man about dog
Crackle and Buzz.
Post by: No way ref on August 06, 2009, 01:25:13 AM
Did anyone ever see an irish film starring Cillian Murphy where he plays a mentally disturbed teenager who has a girlfriend who lives next door who he calls pig. Great show but i cant remember the name
Post by: Donagh on August 06, 2009, 02:40:53 AM
Okay I kinda promised the wife I wouldn't be on the Interwebs while we are on holiday but this one is too hard to resist, even more so that the war movies thread. Sure she's in bed and no one will tell her...

So far we have:

In Bruges
The Commitments
War of The Buttons
Ryan's Daughter
The Van
The Field
My Left Foot
Once
The General
Michael Collins
The Blue Max
(I don't get the Irish connection)
I Went Down
The Snapper
Man about dog
Intermission
Veronica Guerin
Into the west
Some mothers son
Run of the Country
The Quiet Man
The Butcher Boy
Eat the Peach
Bloody Sunday
Gangs of New York
Breakfast on Pluto

And for No way ref - the movie is 'Disco Pigs'
The Wind that Shakes the Barley
Lamb

Bar one in that list, the things they all have in common are they are all in colour and have been made in the last thirty years. A few that I can think off from the top of my head that have been missed are: Cal, Angel, A Further Gesture, Hunger and H3. (Stephen Rea in most of those). 

But if you want to discuss the 'best' Irish movies of all time you need to cast your net further. Don't get me wrong, there are some fine movies in that list (particularly Lamb & The Wind...) but my personal top five six would be, in order of preference:

1. Odd Man Out
2. Darby O'Gill and the Little People
3. The Rising of the Moon
4. Shake Hands With the Devil
5. The Crying Game
6. The Molly Maguires

Others for honourable mention that haven't got a shout:

Borstal Boy
Elephant
Pavee Lackeen
Trojan Eddie
A Terrible Beauty
Contact
Adam and Paul
The Quare Fellow
Fist Full of Dynamite (I know but hard not to include)
The Informer
Inside I'm Dancing
The Boys and Girls from County Clare

Post by: Quagmire on August 06, 2009, 03:35:15 AM
I was just going to mention Inside I'm Dancing, just because I noticed it hadn't been brought up and alot of my mates enjoyed it and told me to watch it. Personally it wasn't for me but then there's been no great praise for Angela's Ashes on here and I thought it was very good.

Whilst being far from the best, Mickey Bo and Me was enjoyable enough, I don't think it's been mentioned yet?
Post by: Orior on August 06, 2009, 08:39:08 AM
Here's one you all missed, and I remember seeing it on black&white telly.

Rooney (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0052147/)

The scene I remember is Rooney racing down Croke Park with the sliothar on the caman.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on August 06, 2009, 01:06:28 PM
Has "Hear My Song" got a mention? The movie about Irish tenor Josef Locke. That was watchable. Tara Fitzgerald was in it. Always like a gleek at Tara, she never has any bother disrobing in a movie.
Post by: stephenite on August 06, 2009, 02:26:27 PM
Far and Away?

:P
Post by: SidelineKick on August 06, 2009, 02:30:46 PM
Quote from: stephenite on August 06, 2009, 02:26:27 PM
Far and Away?

:P

Leave the Autralian soaps out of it.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 06, 2009, 06:20:19 PM
I'm surprised* no-one has mentioned this fillum, if for no other reason that it is indisputably a hell of a sight more "Irish" than some of the nominations:

(http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMTcwNTk3NDI1MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDA2MzE5._V1._CR0,0,337,337_SS100_.jpg)
(A Love Divided)

It may not be the greatest film ever made, but it has some good lines in it, it deals with important issues and besides, it has Orla Brady in the lead role - never a bad thing in my book (regardless of the bloody film)!

Coincidentally, the woman on whom the story was based died recently:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/obituaries/2009/0711/1224250460821.html

P.S. Someone mentioned the ubiquitous Com Meaney elsewhere, without listing his (and Ireland's) seminal work - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0205214/

* - Or am I?  ;)
Post by: Eoghan Mag on August 06, 2009, 09:59:25 PM
I have 'Hear my song' on video and the soundtrack on cassette tape!

Anyone see Accelerator? I heard that all the racing scenes shot inside the cars in this film were actually of half a car on a flat bed truck.

'All dogs go heaven' and 'Help I'm a Fish'  were two cartoon movies made in Ireland. 
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 06, 2009, 10:56:47 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 06, 2009, 02:40:53 AM
Okay I kinda promised the wife I wouldn't be on the Interwebs while we are on holiday but this one is too hard to resist, even more so that the war movies thread. Sure she's in bed and no one will tell her...

So far we have:

In Bruges
The Commitments
War of The Buttons
Ryan's Daughter
The Van
The Field
My Left Foot
Once
The General
Michael Collins
The Blue Max
(I don't get the Irish connection)
I Went Down
The Snapper
Man about dog
Intermission
Veronica Guerin
Into the west
Some mothers son
Run of the Country
The Quiet Man
The Butcher Boy
Eat the Peach
Bloody Sunday
Gangs of New York
Breakfast on Pluto

And for No way ref - the movie is 'Disco Pigs'
The Wind that Shakes the Barley
Lamb

Bar one in that list, the things they all have in common are they are all in colour and have been made in the last thirty years. A few that I can think off from the top of my head that have been missed are: Cal, Angel, A Further Gesture, Hunger and H3. (Stephen Rea in most of those). 

But if you want to discuss the 'best' Irish movies of all time you need to cast your net further. Don't get me wrong, there are some fine movies in that list (particularly Lamb & The Wind...) but my personal top five six would be, in order of preference:

1. Odd Man Out
2. Darby O'Gill and the Little People
3. The Rising of the Moon
4. Shake Hands With the Devil
5. The Crying Game
6. The Molly Maguires

Others for honourable mention that haven't got a shout:

Borstal Boy
Elephant
Pavee Lackeen
Trojan Eddie
A Terrible Beauty
Contact
Adam and Paul
The Quare Fellow
Fist Full of Dynamite (I know but hard not to include)
The Informer
Inside I'm Dancing
The Boys and Girls from County Clare

Does "Hidden Agenda" qualify?
Post by: MasterShake on August 06, 2009, 11:04:54 PM
Does Barry Lyndon qualify? Great film by Kubrick (even tho Ryan O'Neill's accent is a pain in the hole).
Post by: red hander on August 06, 2009, 11:10:55 PM
Re: The Blue Max ... The movie, with its trench warfare scenes and aerial battle scenes (some of the best ever committed to film) were shot in Ireland using Irish extras as WWI soldiers
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2009, 11:22:44 PM
The Snapper
Post by: Bogball XV on August 07, 2009, 12:47:50 AM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on August 06, 2009, 09:59:25 PM
I have 'Hear my song' on video and the soundtrack on cassette tape!

Anyone see Accelerator? I heard that all the racing scenes shot inside the cars in this film were actually of half a car on a flat bed truck.

Yeah, not bad too either actually.

Were a fe of those Colin Bateman books made into movies too (think i remember watching one of them - not great, books were okay though)
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on August 07, 2009, 05:20:34 AM
Surprised no one mentioned Martin McDonaghs short film 6 shooter (available in 3 parts on youtube). Really liked that film.

Intermission, the opening scene is brilliant alone.
in the name of the father
wind that shakes the barley
inside i'm dancing i thought would be on more peoples list.
the van
the snapper
the general (not ordinary decent criminal - why did spacey try and do an irish accent)

Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 07, 2009, 07:13:52 AM
Micheal Collins
The General
The Snapper
The Field
Post by: Eoghan Mag on August 11, 2009, 01:07:59 AM
BogballXV 'Divorcing Jack' was one of Bateman's. The language is fierce in it!
Post by: clarshack on August 11, 2009, 10:23:45 AM
2. The Van
3. Michael Collins

I thought In Bruges was one of the most depressing films i've ever seen.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 11, 2009, 11:49:21 AM
Quote from: clarshack on August 11, 2009, 10:23:45 AM
2. The Van
3. Michael Collins

I thought In Bruges was one of the most depressing films i've ever seen.

I got In Bruge out the other night on DVD and contrary to what others told me I thought it was very good, with some real Dark humour but a troubling under current.
Post by: Canalman on August 11, 2009, 12:20:16 PM
For Me:

1 Adam and Paul
2 The Committments
3 Ryan's Daughter
4 The Garage...... seriously disturbing imo
5 The Informer

Remember as a kid seeing a James Mason film about an IRA man on the run in Belfast........ from memory it was a good flick.

Fave films filmed here are the Blue Max and Excalibur.

"Irish" themed favourite would have to be State of Grace.

Contrary to alot I really liked The Devil's Own.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 02:11:48 PM
Can't believe no one has mentioned (or maybe they have) The Most Fertile Man in Ireland starring a Jerome Quinn lookalike. Think James Nesbitt's in it too.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 02:19:06 PM
.....and an oul black and white docu-drama called Man of Aran I think. Was supposed to be a documentary but yer man added a bit of artistic licence.   
Post by: ludermor on August 11, 2009, 02:43:34 PM
The Butcher Boy is a classic!
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 11, 2009, 04:01:53 PM
Fcked In Ireland II
Post by: leenie on August 11, 2009, 07:44:04 PM
 does anyone remember the name of an old film set in ireland in a castle type hotel... with the peter o toole and Steve Guttenberg about an haunted castle in ireland....

i loved it as a kid!
Post by: ardmhachaabu08 on August 11, 2009, 08:09:58 PM
1. Man About Dog
2. Michael Collins
3. The Van
4. Accelerator
5. The wind that shakes the Barley

Yer man that plays Larry in the Van...Think its Colm something --  Hes brilliant craic
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 11, 2009, 09:43:24 PM
Colm Meaney I think.
Post by: MasterShake on August 11, 2009, 09:46:54 PM
Quote from: leenie on August 11, 2009, 07:44:04 PM
does anyone remember the name of an old film set in ireland in a castle type hotel... with the peter o toole and Steve Guttenberg about an haunted castle in ireland....

i loved it as a kid!

Its called HIGH SPIRITS Leenie.

Shamefully, I remembered the name  :-[