Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: blewuporstuffed on July 30, 2009, 01:18:09 PM

Title: best gig you've been to
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 30, 2009, 01:18:09 PM
i see the debate is going on the u2 thread, who is better live, springsteen or U2, so i thought i'd ask, whats the best gig you've been to/whos the best live act you've seen?
was at U2 on the monday night and although it was a great spectacle, for me it was nowhere near the best gig i've seen

I saw Radiohead in marlay park (supported by Beck) a few years ago which i would rate as probably the best

others which were class

Kings of leon last year in melbourne- seen them 4 times in otal , but this was by far the best
the frames- , Glen Hansard is a great frontman esp in a small venue
Rage against the machine last year at oxegen
the flaming lips a few years ago at oxegen, bizarre show, but great!
Red hot chilis at slane in 2003
Title: Re: best gig you've been to
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 01:21:30 PM
St. Anthony's Parish Hall, Craigavon c. 1996: Scooter
Post by: leenie on July 30, 2009, 01:28:50 PM

Morrissey last yr in cork marquee .... perfect sized crowd....

Post by: heineken_on_tap on July 30, 2009, 01:30:32 PM
U2 last friday night. thought it was top quality
Post by: SidelineKick on July 30, 2009, 01:43:09 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 01:21:30 PM

Unfortunately Nail I know you were actually there!!
Post by: deiseach on July 30, 2009, 01:46:22 PM
Super Furry Animals, T in the Park 2003. Rock and roll.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 30, 2009, 01:48:02 PM
Probably Red Hot Chilli Peppers at City of manchester stadium a few years ago! Went to see them at sheffield two years ago and it was spoiled by w*nkers pissing in plastic beer bottles and chucking them away into the crowd - has anyone else experienced this? seen a few times at gigs in england over the years!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 01:49:06 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 30, 2009, 01:43:09 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 01:21:30 PM

Unfortunately Nail I know you were actually there!!

Course I was, I'm not a liar!! I was very proud that Scooter would come to Craigavon to play a gig, in our parish hall no less such was the fan base they had in the Lurgan/Craigavon area at the time!

They only played about three songs though and were completely baked.
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 01:54:01 PM
Bowie in the point a few years ago was top quality.
The Stunning came on after Brian Adams in Féile in 1992 and blew the place apart.
Been to Radiohead and loved them live.
I've seen the Chillis live twice, 1 good, 1 poor (Phoenix Park).
Agree about the Frames live but Vicar Street isn't Croker.
Saw Oasis in Lansdowne 1999 (?) very good also.

U2 Saturday night is up there with anything I've seen (that may fade with time).
Post by: tyrone girl on July 30, 2009, 01:55:21 PM
Boyzone in Dungannon Leisure Centre in 96  or was it 95
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 30, 2009, 01:58:19 PM
For entertainment alone it is Rod Stewart, Odyssey November 2007, two and a half hours non-stop of cheesy hits.
For craic and novelty factor, Oasis in Prehen - September 2002.
Post by: stephenite on July 30, 2009, 01:59:28 PM
Violent Femmes in Vicar st - 2003
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 30, 2009, 02:00:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 30, 2009, 01:54:01 PM
Bowie in the point a few years ago was top quality.
The Stunning came on after Brian Adams in Féile in 1992 and blew the place apart.
Been to Radiohead and loved them live.
I've seen the Chillis live twice, 1 good, 1 poor (Phoenix Park).
Agree about the Frames live but Vicar Street isn't Croker.
Saw Oasis in Lansdowne 1999 (?) very good also.

U2 Saturday night is up there with anything I've seen (that may fade with time).
agree with that, seen them at slane and though tthey were first class, coulnt wait to see them again, then at the phoenix park gig and they were very poor and sound was a bit off
Post by: bingobus on July 30, 2009, 02:04:51 PM
Sunstroke in Dalymount back in 1994 or 1995 - great line up - Black Frank, Terrorvision, Hemlet, Ice Cude, Therapy and RedHotChilliPeppers to finish. Complete mayhem all day at the front. Therapy were brillant and stole the show.

U2 - RDS 1993 (?) for Zoo Tv was a sight to behold at the time. Took concerts to a different level.
Oasis in point, the time Liam cried off and Noel took lead viocals. Crazy atmosphere that night.
U2 - Croke Park 360 tour.
Bruce  - RDS gig on The rising tour.
Title: best gig you've been to
Post by: 5 Sams on July 30, 2009, 02:06:58 PM
Springsteen in Slane 1985.....streets ahead of everything else I have seen....

Followed by U2 last Saturday night and both of the last U2 Slane concerts.....

Closely followed by Queen in the RDS in, I think, 1983......they were suspiciously good if you know what I meant...i.e. note perfect in every song ???
Post by: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 02:07:15 PM
http://www.folk.ee/festival/en/XVII-Viljandi-Folk-Music-Festival/

Folk music festival in estonia, we were touring around estonia and stumbled upon this, never had as much craic in my life. There was an irish band playing that we never heard so myself and my mate told all teh locals that we were the. All went well till we met them! They were all young lads from dublin and they were great craic, we ended up showing about 300 locals girls irish dancing while they were playing. Surreal! Ended up having dinner with the irish ambassador ( who said he had heard of our antics)
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 30, 2009, 02:09:15 PM
My brother was at Slane in 1992 ( I think) for Guns n Roses, some of the oul hands here were there I am sure, he says that was a great gig.
Post by: longball on July 30, 2009, 02:10:54 PM
The Coronas are the best band ive seen live.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 30, 2009, 02:32:27 PM
T'Pau in the Glenavon in 91-unforgettale(unfortunately)
Post by: tyroneman on July 30, 2009, 03:13:34 PM
Tom waits in dublin, soul asylum <pre runaway train days> in london, joe pernice in dublin and soundgarden in manchester. No particular order 
Post by: thebandit on July 30, 2009, 03:20:18 PM
I'd have to say that I really enjoyed ACDC against all odds!
Post by: full back on July 30, 2009, 03:22:07 PM
Date: Wednesday 28th November 1990
Venue: Newry Sports Centre
Band: Status Quo

Killer concert
Rossi stole the show ;D
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 03:26:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 30, 2009, 02:06:58 PM

Closely followed by Queen in the RDS in, I think, 1983......they were suspiciously good if you know what I meant...i.e. note perfect in every song ???

I think Queen were that good. All top quality musicians in the Bowie (& band) vein. I had a job at Slane '86 but wasn't allowed go!
Post by: The Gs Man on July 30, 2009, 03:31:36 PM
Couple of class gigs:

Rolling Stones ~ Slane
Old Crow Medicine Show ~ Open House Fstival 2007
Prodigy ~ Kings Hall, 1996

But 1st time seeing Oasis was my favourite gig.  Cork, 1996
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 30, 2009, 04:10:12 PM
U2 Leisureland Galway January 1982 there was only about 300 at thew concert, I still have the ticket with 3 autographs on the back the only one I didn't get was Larry due to him being to busy chatting to 2 females from the audience.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 04:57:41 PM
U2 in Lansdowne Rd on the night princess Diana died. Unreal concert. Last weekends concets were almost as good though.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:01:36 PM

u2 on sat night was not a great concert! i was there! the man singin in the temple bar was better!
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 05:03:33 PM
This man in Temple Bar must be brilliant. Did he play to 240000 people over the weekend?
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 05:06:30 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:01:36 PM

u2 on sat night was not a great concert! i was there! the man singin in the temple bar was better!

Do you think that those who suggest it was the best gig they were at, weren't there?  ::)
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:08:23 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 05:03:33 PM
This man in Temple Bar must be brilliant. Did he play to 240000 people over the weekend?

no, was bout 60.  ;D

was unreal tho. was actually going to phone the bar to find out more bout him. if he would be up this direction some time in the future!
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 05:23:24 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 30, 2009, 05:08:23 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 05:03:33 PM

no, was bout 60.  ;D

was unreal tho. was actually going to phone the bar to find out more bout him. if he would be up this direction some time in the future!

He probably doesn't play Jupiter.
Post by: red hander on July 30, 2009, 05:41:03 PM
That Petrol Emotion at The Limit in Sheffield, 1986 ... awesome
Post by: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 05:59:04 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 30, 2009, 04:57:41 PM
U2 in Lansdowne Rd on the night princess Diana died. Unreal concert. Last weekends concets were almost as good though.
One of my mates was working as a bellboy in the Clarence Hotel that night, Naomi Campbell was staying with a shit load of stars. When she got word Diana had dies she broke down and my mate had to carry her to her room and 'comfort' her for about 20 mins. Dont know if he dropped the paw or not.
Post by: red hander on July 30, 2009, 06:12:14 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 05:59:04 PM
One of my mates was working as a bellboy in the Clarence Hotel that night, Naomi Campbell was staying with a shit load of stars. When she got word Diana had dies she broke down and my mate had to carry her to her room and 'comfort' her for about 20 mins. Dont know if he dropped the paw or not.

Great story... she didn't assault him did she?
Post by: vav on July 30, 2009, 09:24:15 PM
Band: Snow Patrol
Date: 23rd May 09
Venue: Columbiahalle, Berlin, Germany
Capacity: 3500

front row, brilliant concert
Post by: nifan on July 30, 2009, 09:27:36 PM
Okkervill River, downstairs in McHughs.
Small gig but was brilliant
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 30, 2009, 09:49:33 PM
I saw Pearl Jam at Southside Festival in Germany 2 years ago and it was head and shoulders the best gig I was ever at. After that..

New model Army 07 in Temple Bar
ACDC in Punchestown was top notch
System of a Down at Ozzfest a couple of years ago were some craic
Tool at Ozzfest same year was unreal
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 09:55:57 PM
Noone's beat Scoooter
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2009, 10:39:11 PM
Best gig I was at, by a long deep puff, was the Grateful Dead, 3 nights x 4 hour sets at Alexander Palace London in mid 70's
A few of us wandered innocently into the soundcheck jams a few days beforehand and didn't leave until 5 days later.
There was a c&w singer with us, he ended up on stage during the soundchecks  singing Whisky in the Jar while the band picked up the tempo.

Went to a few music festivals but not really my scene. Though Van Morrison, Captain Beefheart and Tim Buckley in the afternoon over 2 Knebworth festivals stand out.
Post by: fred the red on July 30, 2009, 10:43:20 PM
Gareth Brooks, Belfast circa 2000
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 30, 2009, 10:46:46 PM
1.Big country 95 (96?) village (or whatever the fcuk it was called - wexford st Dublin
2. Davin Lee Roth - Point depot 1991
3. Ac/Dc - Point June 26 1996
4. Sepultura - SFX
5. BB King - Point
6. George thorogood - Point

Worst
1.Morrossey - point
2. bowie - point
3. bruce - rds the other week
4. bruce/seegar sessions - point
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2009, 10:56:20 PM
What's the name of the singer who played with Philomena in the mid 70's?
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2009, 10:58:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 30, 2009, 10:39:11 PM
Best gig I was at, by a long deep puff, was the Grateful Dead, 3 nights x 4 hour sets at Alexander Palace London in mid 70's
A few of us wandered innocently into the soundcheck jams a few days beforehand and didn't leave until 5 days later.
There was a c&w singer with us, he ended up on stage during the soundchecks  singing Whisky in the Jar while the band picked up the tempo.

Went to a few music festivals but not really my scene. Though Van Morrison, Captain Beefheart and Tim Buckley in the afternoon over 2 Knebworth festivals stand out.

We have a winner.
Post by: kickingmule on July 30, 2009, 11:03:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 30, 2009, 10:56:20 PM
Dan O'hara....
Post by: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 11:04:28 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 30, 2009, 06:12:14 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2009, 05:59:04 PM

Great story... she didn't assault him did she?
Nah she was much too emotional!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2009, 11:05:53 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 30, 2009, 10:56:20 PM
Ray Lynam. Wiki is your friend.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2009, 11:10:43 PM
The Rolling Stones, Bangalore, 2003. Front row tickets for about twenty quid. It started raining for the first time in about two months and continued for the whole concert!

The Boss and Oasis concerts a couple of years back in the Odyssey stand out too.
Post by: rolloutking on July 30, 2009, 11:20:19 PM
It's funny how everyone is listing practically every gig they have ever attended to make it look like they are 'into' music.

Best one I've been to was Slane this year. Gem Archers Don't Look Back In Anger Solo was amazing. The Prodigy were probably better than Oasis
Post by: kumquat on July 31, 2009, 01:12:45 AM
Oxegen 07 Green Room

ocean colour scene

Queens of the stonage

Post by: rosnarun on July 31, 2009, 03:08:05 AM
the 1big one s nearly always the e  mine was croke park '86
didnt like them them  dont like them now but what a show , i dont think they've bettered it .
t yb iiiiiiiiiiii ol our debs was on the night before and most of us continued the party on to the train and all day during the concert . can you imagine the stae of us that evening,

next best was the maimin ceile band and sean keane et al in the tabhdhearc in 1997 a session of the highest calibre
Post by: Chrisowc on July 31, 2009, 07:22:18 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 30, 2009, 02:09:15 PM
My brother was at Slane in 1992 ( I think) for Guns n Roses, some of the oul hands here were there I am sure, he says that was a great gig.

I was at that myself but was disappointed.  Axel was up his own hole by this stage of their career.  I have seen Velvet Revolver 3 times and enjoyed those concerts far more.
Post by: full back on July 31, 2009, 08:12:24 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 30, 2009, 09:55:57 PM
Noone's beat Scoooter

The Quo beats Scooter hands down
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 31, 2009, 10:08:42 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 30, 2009, 10:46:46 PM
1.Big country 95 (96?) village (or whatever the fcuk it was called - wexford st Dublin
4. Sepultura - SFX
5. BB King - Point

Worst
1.Morrossey - point
2. bowie - point

Would you believe I was at that one too. Paradise lost supported that day. Jaysus it was a rough one, there was all sorts of rows going on outside and that SFX was some shite hole. Great Gig. We should have had our religion debate back then and got it out of the way.
Title: Best gig you've been to
Post by: 5 Sams on July 31, 2009, 10:17:23 AM
I forgot to mention.....any time I have seen Christy Moore....absolutely brilliant every time.
Post by: ludermor on July 31, 2009, 10:17:37 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 31, 2009, 10:08:42 AM
4. Sepultura - SFX
5. BB King - Point

Worst
1.Morrossey - point
2. bowie - point

Would you believe I was at that one too. Paradise lost supported that day. Jaysus it was a rough one, there was all sorts of rows going on outside and that SFX was some shite hole. Great Gig. We should have had our religion debate back then and got it out of the way.
Would that have been around 94? I remember walking with one of my mates to the queue and never been as scared in my life! He was all decked out in the gear but i would have been in my wollly jumper and jeans. My mate was there with all his mates from Cavan, you werent there with any boys from Ballyjamesduff by any chance?
Title: Re: Best gig you've been to
Post by: SidelineKick on July 31, 2009, 10:19:28 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 31, 2009, 10:17:23 AM
I forgot to mention.....any time I have seen Christy Moore....absolutely brilliant every time.

I would have agreed up until last year. Seen him in Silverbridge and he did not want to be there.  Very poor.  Banter to a minimum, straight through his set. Game over.

Would be reluctant to go back and see him after that. Probably will though  :-\
Post by: mc_grens on July 31, 2009, 10:41:00 AM
Bruce on his last night last year, and on Sunday this year.

Roll on Giants Stadium!

Non Springsteen honourable mentions-

REM in the Olympia 2 years back were excellent too.
CSS are class live.
The Strokes in the Point about 3 years back were savage.
Chilli Peppers in Slane.
The Stones in the point About 5 years ago.
KOL last year in the O2.
Saw Primal Scream in the Limelight back in the ould student days and ended up on the piss with Mani... MAD.
Oh... And the Stone Roses and REM, who started my love of live music in the glorious Summer of 1995!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 31, 2009, 10:45:15 AM
Quote from: ludermor on July 31, 2009, 10:17:37 AM
4. Sepultura - SFX
5. BB King - Point

Worst
1.Morrossey - point
2. bowie - point

Would that have been around 94? I remember walking with one of my mates to the queue and never been as scared in my life! He was all decked out in the gear but i would have been in my wollly jumper and jeans. My mate was there with all his mates from Cavan, you werent there with any boys from Ballyjamesduff by any chance?

Could have been. I was with a few lads from home that went to St Pats in Cavan (didn't go there myself) and there were other lads with them - they could've been from Ballyjamesduff. I remember as well one lad thought he got prodded with a needle at the gig and was shitting it afterwards - think he ended up going to hospital and getting checked out for it. When you think back it was awful spot to go. Some amount of scum hanging around looking for a row, robbing tickets and the like outside.
Post by: Main Street on July 31, 2009, 11:19:57 AM
Did anybody see Queen when they came to Ireland.
I didn't, just curious how they got on.

Post by: bingobus on July 31, 2009, 11:32:13 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 31, 2009, 10:45:15 AM
Quote from: ludermor on July 31, 2009, 10:17:37 AM
4. Sepultura - SFX
5. BB King - Point

Worst
1.Morrossey - point
2. bowie - point

Could have been. I was with a few lads from home that went to St Pats in Cavan (didn't go there myself) and there were other lads with them - they could've been from Ballyjamesduff. I remember as well one lad thought he got prodded with a needle at the gig and was shitting it afterwards - think he ended up going to hospital and getting checked out for it. When you think back it was awful spot to go. Some amount of scum hanging around looking for a row, robbing tickets and the like outside.

My brother was a hairy mama in his day into early Metallica, Megadeath, Slayer and all that stuff. He still talks about the gigs in the SFX and the Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire. It would say that anything could and did happen at those gigs and the venues would be closed on the spot nowadays.
Post by: INDIANA on July 31, 2009, 11:40:14 AM
Any of the Irish Springsteen concerts.

U2 pre 2001 and saturday night this year ( if you skip the opening quartet of songs)

The killers - in the 02 this year

chillis in slane- can't remember the year

oasis- this year and when liam wasn't there a few years back

Metallica in the RDS a few years ago- can't remember the exact year.

Post by: hectorsheroes on July 31, 2009, 11:49:13 AM
U2 - Zootv 1993 Dublin
U2 - Slane 2001
Damien Rice (very surprisingly brilliant) about 2004 in Belfast
AC/DC in Punchestown
Doves - Belfast - 2009
Oasis and Prodigy - Cork 2007
Radiohead - Punchestown about 2002
Sigur Ros - electric picnic 2008
Neil Young - Finsbury Park Flaeadh - 2000/2001
Frames - Belfast 2006
Super Furry Animals - Belfast 2007 - Mandela - Brilliant
Queens of the Stone Age - Belfast 2008
Damien Dempsey - Empire - Belfast everytime
Springsteen - everytime he has played especially the Seger Sessions
Jinx Lennon - everytime!

Worst
Blur - Belfast 1999 or so - just going through the motions
REM Belfast - just a poor show
Verve - Slane - just poor
Down - terrible every time since 1994!
Post by: ardmhachaabu08 on July 31, 2009, 01:00:46 PM
Conal Gallen in 2008 was sum craic in waterfront
Also Christy Moore in same year/venue (mighty nights craic) Sounds just as gud as on the tapes/cds
Guns n Roses 2006 RDS Dublin (not the original lineup i know but still a hell uva gud show)

Going to Metallica/Avenged Sevenfold tomorrow (FINGERS CROSSED IT WILL TOP THE LOT)
Post by: mhacadoir on July 31, 2009, 01:18:41 PM
daft punk in marlay park in 2006.
mgmt at oxegen last year, when they had to stop because people were climbing up the stantions.
ocean colour scene at oxegen in 2007 as already mentioned.
flogging molly any time they have played here
foy vance when he played the new stage at oxegen was unreal too
Post by: Sandino on July 31, 2009, 01:24:25 PM
I no order;

Springsteen @ Slane
Springsteen Seeger Sessions in Belfast
Neil Young at the Point mid 90s
Billy Joe Shave Letterkenny late 90s
Highwaymen Belfast 1992
U2 @ Slane
Christie Moore Omagh many times 80s, IMHO still as good as ever.
Post by: ardmhachaabu08 on July 31, 2009, 01:28:51 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on July 31, 2009, 01:18:41 PM
daft punk in marlay park in 2006.

Speaking of marlay park...what is this place like?  im going tomorrow and have never been and no1 seems to know anything. Wud imagine its something like Phoenix Park??
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 31, 2009, 01:30:20 PM
Quote from: Sandino on July 31, 2009, 01:24:25 PM
I no order;

Springsteen @ Slane
Springsteen Seeger Sessions in Belfast
Neil Young at the Point mid 90s
Billy Joe Shave Letterkenny late 90s
Highwaymen Belfast 1992
U2 @ Slane
Christie Moore Omagh many times 80s, IMHO still as good as ever.
Didn't even know they played Belfast, I have watched them on youtube so many times - brilliant songs and great music.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 31, 2009, 01:34:22 PM
Springsteen and the E streets at RDS this year, last year, four years ago.

Have Seen Christy on a few occasions when he has not been at his best. Saw him at Sydney Town Hall late 80's and he was absolutely on fire,

Thin Lizzy one Easter Monday in Dundalk god knows how many years ago, Saint Philo Lives on.

Glen Tilbrook (formerly of Squeeze) in the Waterford Forum last year, almighty crack and christ does he have a top class catalogue.

And of course the Ziggy Stardusts of provincial Ireland in the late 70's, Horslips at too many venues to reproduce around the Cavan/Monaghan area.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 31, 2009, 02:47:48 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 31, 2009, 10:19:28 AM

I would have agreed up until last year. Seen him in Silverbridge and he did not want to be there.  Very poor.  Banter to a minimum, straight through his set. Game over.

In fairness you cant blame Christy for not wanting to be in Silverbridge.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 01, 2009, 03:14:01 PM
My top 10

1) Melissa Ethridge and the Eagles (Hell Freezes over tour) 1994

2) Jimmy Buffett  All Concerts

3) Bodeans and U2 1987

4) Prince and the Revolution Purple Rain Tour 1985

5) Pink Floyd 1987

6) David Allen Coe 1999

7) The Cult and Billy Idol 1987

8) John Cougar Mellancamp Scarecrow Tour 1986

9) Stevie Nicks and Dan Henley 2007

10) The Monkees 1988

Post by: screenmachine on August 01, 2009, 04:29:11 PM
General Fiasco and Deep Fried Funk at Glasgowbury 09.  General Fiasco are bound to make it big within the next year or two!  And Deep Fried Funk had the place absolutely bouncing with beats pumping all night...bonkers...
Post by: Rav67 on August 01, 2009, 05:10:09 PM
Chilis 01 or 03 at Slane were probably the best
Oasis or U2 at Slane both excellent, Green Day at T in the Park were brilliant too.
For sheer craic hard to beat the Pogues live, Saw Doctors too.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 01, 2009, 06:38:34 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 31, 2009, 02:47:48 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 31, 2009, 10:19:28 AM

In fairness you cant blame Christy for not wanting to be in Silverbridge.

He was probably put off by the weirdo sneaking around the car park foaming at the mouth and ranting about someone calling him an idiot on the interet  :D  :D  :D    ;)
Post by: mortified on August 03, 2009, 01:19:14 PM
Best gig I was at was System of A Down in Brixton Academy, London June 2005. Hardcore
Post by: The Gs Man on August 03, 2009, 03:02:46 PM
Quote from: screenmachine on August 01, 2009, 04:29:11 PM
General Fiasco and Deep Fried Funk at Glasgowbury 09.  General Fiasco are bound to make it big within the next year or two!  And Deep Fried Funk had the place absolutely bouncing with beats pumping all night...bonkers...

Have to agree.  They're a great band. 
Post by: boojangles on August 03, 2009, 04:38:44 PM
Underworld- Tripod October 2007- By a mile
Kings of Leon -The 02-December 2008
MGMT-Oxegen 2008
Alabama 3- The Quays Galway rag week 2003
Japanese Popstars-Button Factory- January 2009
Post by: heganboy on August 03, 2009, 05:35:47 PM
U2 in botanic gardens - more about the event
christy in the point march 17 '94- never had a day like it
luka bloom free gig in the mandela hall belfast '93 (with about 15 other people due to the promoters putting wrong dates on tickets and posters)
simple minds / texas RDS August '89
the 4 of us- belfast last summer
thats the top 5 - honorable mentions to:

springsteen giant stadium
coldplay giant stadium
u2 croke park

worst gig  - scooter rds arena babysitting little brother...

Post by: laceer on August 03, 2009, 08:03:22 PM
Quote from: boojangles on August 03, 2009, 04:38:44 PM
MGMT-Oxegen 2008

these boys are looking like they're going to make it big - seen them a few times and they've had the whole place pumpin'
Post by: boojangles on August 03, 2009, 08:41:05 PM
Quote from: laceer on August 03, 2009, 08:03:22 PM
Quote from: boojangles on August 03, 2009, 04:38:44 PM
MGMT-Oxegen 2008

these boys are looking like they're going to make it big - seen them a few times and they've had the whole place pumpin'

Yes, lads from Derry,play around Galway alot.They were at Oxygen and at the Picnic this year. One of my mates who is mad into all the new music reckons they will be huge in the next few years.I was very impressed with them that nite and they seem to have a right following already.
Post by: peterquaife on August 04, 2009, 11:28:48 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on July 30, 2009, 11:20:19 PM
It's funny how everyone is listing practically every gig they have ever attended to make it look like they are 'into' music.

Best one I've been to was Slane this year. Gem Archers Don't Look Back In Anger Solo was amazing. The Prodigy were probably better than Oasis

your obviously not 'into' music

best: radiohead @ the SEC, OK 'puter tour 97ish
or anytime I've see the frank and walters