Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 08:58:20 PM

Title: How to fill the day?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 08:58:20 PM
So I'm soon to be unemployed  :-\ 

I've only ever been unemployed once before, for a couple of months and you think it's going to be alright, all the free time to do the things you want, but it's not! It's awful!  I'm thinking the holiday period will end after a couple of days and boredom will strike so I need suggestions on filling my day and my new found free time. 

I'm determined not find myself sitting on the couch, in my boxers, watching "cash in the attic", eating cornflakes and wallowing in self pity at 4 oclock in the day.  Obviously some time will need to be spent on answering bullshit questions on application forms for jobs I'm completley unsuited or over qualified for just so that I can have a small glimmer of hope in my dark tunnell, only to have my hopes dashed when the days and weeks past and I never hear from anyone. 

Then I'll have to spend some time answering the phone from supposedly well meaning family and friends enquiring if I've found a job, as if I wouldnt think of telling them if I had! and from various contacts who never have any good news on the work front and seem to think giving me a list of everyone I know who is unemployed is some sort of comfort.  Then I'll need to set aside some time each day to feel sorry for myself and yous think I'm grumpy now......

...but after that what the hell am I going to do all day every day!!
Title: Re: How to fill the day?
Post by: tyrone girl on July 23, 2009, 09:00:57 PM
Is it permanent or being laid off for a while
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:02:34 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 23, 2009, 09:00:57 PM
Is it permanent or being laid off for a while

permanent
Post by: tyrone girl on July 23, 2009, 09:07:47 PM
Not good , hope something works out for u.

In the meantime , no advice on how to pass the day , ul know already about spending your time lookin for jobs etc etc and overqualified etc take what ya can get

Keep urself positive firstly , when ya get urself into bad frame of mind its worst thing ever. I know for me once i start thinking negatively its easy to get urself on a downer.

Keep the head up and try get up early in morns anyway and get urself in some kinda routine. Something will work out for ya all being well. Our jobs are dodgy enough at the min too so im hopin for best more than anything
Post by: milltown row on July 23, 2009, 09:15:41 PM
apply for a training course. usually you can get some training in various trades and be 'placed' with someone who usually gives you a few pounds extra 'tax free' and it wont affect your benefits (should you be claiming)

the Gov. at the minute are pushing for re-training the unemployed

if not piss off to the states and play football and get paid.
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:16:52 PM
Get as fit as you can. It's probably the last chance to find out what your body is capable of as age will dictate that you'll be rowing against the tide very soon, trying to keep your head above the water and fighting blocked arteries. Walk, run, weights, good food. Daily routine. The first 2 weeks will encounter moments of weakness and saying feck this. After that you'll see small progress. Soon you'll find your mind is unusually healthy and increasingly happy.

In between, learn things - on youtube etc. Art, cars, language, writing, sport, wiring, pcs, electonics. Turn off the TV.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:18:45 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 23, 2009, 09:07:47 PM
Not good , hope something works out for u.

In the meantime , no advice on how to pass the day , ul know already about spending your time lookin for jobs etc etc and overqualified etc take what ya can get

Keep urself positive firstly , when ya get urself into bad frame of mind its worst thing ever. I know for me once i start thinking negatively its easy to get urself on a downer.

Keep the head up and try get up early in morns anyway and get urself in some kinda routine. Something will work out for ya all being well. Our jobs are dodgy enough at the min too so im hopin for best more than anything

Oh I wouldnt be one for postive thinking, even at the best of times.  I'm determined to get up early in the mornings, not sure what I'm going to do when I do get up though.  thanks for the advice though! hope you hang on to yours, I've been hanging on to a job since about last october! 

Milltown, I've already got a trade.
Piss of to the states to play football? Are you taking the piss?  The under10s wouldnt have me!

Oneill, I like your ideas!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:19:54 PM
5ivetimes, why didnt you leave your laughing icon in?
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 23, 2009, 09:21:37 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: DownFanatic on July 23, 2009, 09:23:22 PM
Know a lad who applied there for a volunteering job and he was told he was overqualified for it.
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:26:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2009, 09:22:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:16:52 PM
Get as fit as you can. It's probably the last chance to find out what your body is capable of as age will dictate that you'll be rowing against the tide very soon, trying to keep your head above the water and fighting blocked arteries. Walk, run, weights, good food. Daily routine. The first 2 weeks will encounter moments of weakness and saying feck this. After that you'll see small progress. Soon you'll find your mind is unusually healthy and increasingly happy.

In between, learn things - on youtube etc. Art, cars, language, writing, sport, wiring, pcs, electonics. Turn off the TV.
100%

Or just drink wkd and realise we're all going to be wormfood no matter what and you'll be remembered for feck all after 3 months.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 23, 2009, 09:27:22 PM
Just think you will get to spend even more time on the board  :o
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 23, 2009, 09:38:16 PM
Think about starting something up yourself. I don't know what your trade is but is there something you'd like to do? Maybe they do start up grants up north? Do some research and if you suceed no f**ker will make you redundant again!
Post by: fred the red on July 23, 2009, 09:42:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 08:58:20 PM
Obviously some time will need to be spent on answering bullshit questions on application forms for jobs I'm completley unsuited or over qualified for just so that I can have a small glimmer of hope in my dark tunnell,

Tip- get someone to proof read your application forms before you send them in!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 09:45:27 PM
Is it possible to watch more tv/films than you do already?
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 23, 2009, 09:45:34 PM
http://www.joinpsni.co.uk/  ;D
Post by: slow corner back on July 23, 2009, 09:49:05 PM
Take up gardening pints, it has filled the time wel for me for the past six months. Thankfully I have at last got a job starting in August. By the way have you any kids? They find endless ways to keep you busy ( he hit me, she called me names etc etc)
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 23, 2009, 09:49:57 PM
Dunno if you are involved with a GAA club where you are but you could lend a hand out there. Maybe take up coaching if it interested you.
Become a mature student, never too late, plenty of courses out there.
Keep fit
Volunteer
Cooking
House work
DIY
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 23, 2009, 09:52:33 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 09:45:27 PM
Is it possible to watch more tv/films than you do already?

Porn, porn and even more porn...

Oj Take up Golf that will keep you busy and sort of fit at the same time....
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:53:43 PM
Quote from: fred the red on July 23, 2009, 09:42:49 PM
Obviously some time will need to be spent on answering bullshit questions on application forms for jobs I'm completley unsuited or over qualified for just so that I can have a small glimmer of hope in my dark tunnell,

Ha!  it's not the spelling that's the problem when it comes to application forms.

Been there done that myles, not really an option at the moment. 

Nail I've a big stack of xbox games unopened and about 30 unwatched films downloaded but I have to resist, constructive activities only. 

I am looking forward to finding out how unemployed people and students are the only ones that seem to be able to afford to drink all day everyday though, I promise I will share the information.   

SCB, no kids and no garden where I'm living at the moment.  There's a lot of squirrels and pigeons tough, I suppose I could go down tot he park with the strange man that feeds them....

Housework fitz? Have you been talking to my flatmate!
Post by: Over the Bar on July 23, 2009, 09:53:51 PM
Get down to the club and make a name for yourself as a trainer & coach.  Next stop the Armagh job.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 10:00:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:53:43 PM

Ha!  it's not the spelling that's the problem when it comes to application forms.

Nail I've a big stack of xbox games unopened and about 30 unwatched films downloaded but I have to resist, constructive activities only. 

I am looking forward to finding out how unemployed people and students are the only ones that seem to be able to afford to drink all day everyday though, I promise I will share the information.   

SCB, no kids and no garden where I'm living at the moment.  There's a lot of squirrels and pigeons tough, I suppose I could go down tot he park with the strange man that feeds them....

Buy 3 litres of cider, do the power hour and hey presto, your well and truely pissed!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 10:02:58 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 09:53:43 PM

When I was a student I would get a bottle and a half of Frosty Jacks a day... £2.69 a pop, you drink one and you're alright, drink half another and you're done. Wake up the nest day, drink the half you left and buy another half. And battered sausages from Bishops on Stranmillis. That was my fresher year... After I got kicked out of the halls!
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 10:04:24 PM
Lurgan.
Post by: leenie on July 23, 2009, 10:05:04 PM

dog walking/training
Post by: vav on July 23, 2009, 10:12:52 PM
Quote from: leenie on July 23, 2009, 10:05:04 PM
dog walking/training

there's supposed to be big money in dog grooming.. ok not the same thing but close enough!
Post by: Puckoon on July 23, 2009, 10:13:02 PM
Pints, having been gainfully unemployed with little or no ambition for the past 3 months, I may actually be over qualified to answer your question.

I have whiled away the hours by...

1. Finding out which establishments in Reno have the best happy hours (im regularly a little drunk by 5pm)
2. Golfing
3. Lounging by the pool looking at some of the sweetest asses in christiandom
4. Walking the dogs
5. Riding my bike to the grocery store instead of taking the car
6. Applying for jobs im over qualified for
7. Arguing with my ex wifes lawyers just so she gets billed for it
8. Going to the gym

In fact since I lost my job I spend little or no time on the gaaboard at all, however there is NOTHING wrong with eating cornflakes and watching tv in your underwear at 4 in the afternoon. Dont fall into the cultural beliefs regarding that. A man needs man time. Theres nothing better than a bowl of frosties while watching cold case files.

Have fun buddy.
Post by: The GAA on July 23, 2009, 10:13:22 PM
Get yourself home. there's bound to be plenty could be done round the club
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 10:47:29 PM
Quote7. Arguing with my ex wifes lawyers just so she gets billed for it

I like the sound of that puck! Have you got their number handy? We could take turns calling.  You could pass the number around here too, Evil Genius, Gnevin etc.   

Quote from: The GAA on July 23, 2009, 10:13:22 PM

Home not an option either.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2009, 11:15:37 PM
Is five times still after you?

Voluntary work? If you even got some part time voluntary work you could spend the rest of time searching for jobs, getting fit, reading books, posting on the gaaboard ;) etc.

I hope you get sorted with something soon. I was in the same situation a lot of years back and the novelty wears off after a couple of weeks.   
Post by: stephenite on July 24, 2009, 07:43:42 AM
I know it's the other side of the world, but I kow a lad out here that was unemployed for 10 months (a plumber) and he got involved in volunteer work with the homeless - when an opportunity eventually arose, he had this on his CV and used the crew he volunteered with as a reference. They rang them for the reference and the fact that he used his spare time to help out others is what landed him the job out of god knows how many others who had sat on their holes at home/in the pub.
Post by: full back on July 24, 2009, 08:05:54 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 10:47:29 PM

I like the sound of that puck! Have you got their number handy? We could take turns calling.  You could pass the number around here too, Evil Genius, Gnevin etc.   

Why isnt home an option pog?

I would say it would be easier to get work around home rather than in a place were you know very little people
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 24, 2009, 08:12:43 AM
Quote from: full back on July 24, 2009, 08:05:54 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2009, 10:47:29 PM

Why isnt home an option pog?

I would say it would be easier to get work around home rather than in a place were you know very little people

because herself has a job here, so it's either stay here with one of us unemployed or go home were we both can be unemployed.

and 5ivetimes is going to get me  :D  :D :D  :D  :D
Post by: full back on July 24, 2009, 08:18:47 AM
Catch 22 I suppose

Would you consider a job in a supermarket or something like that?

A few of them stores have jobs for people to work through the night, refilling shelves etc
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 24, 2009, 08:24:34 AM
Quote from: full back on July 24, 2009, 08:18:47 AM
Catch 22 I suppose

Would you consider a job in a supermarket or something like that?

A few of them stores have jobs for people to work through the night, refilling shelves etc

Yeah I've applied for anything that's available, not hearing anything back.
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 08:51:34 AM
POG i know exactly where your coming from. I was layed off for a couple of months see my thread 'the waiting is hell'.

It was ok at the start to get up early in the morning applying for jobs etc but when the weeks pass and you've heard nothing thats what the real c*nt is. I ended up starting to build my own house put in the foundations with a neighbour, had to get a big loan out of the credit union to start this was risk sh1te as i had no money coming in but borrowed so much.

Be warned as well application forms at the moment are a loada balls. Every answer is an essay, its due to the fact that so many people are applying for each job.

I applied for many of jobs that i was overqualified for but didnt even get shortlisted.

Sad times, hope you land on your feet.
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 08:54:39 AM
I applied for a job in ASDA in Enniskillen stacking shelves i didnt get an interview  :-\
Post by: illdecide on July 24, 2009, 09:45:43 AM
Well pints as much as we've had our differences i don't like to see anyman loose their job as it's not a nice thing to happen and with bills still to pay it's a big pressure on you. I would suggest getting up at the same time every morning as usual and go out for a walk/jog and get yourself into shape and just keep applying for every job that comes your way. Only yesterday we got a few jobs in that will keep us going for another few months (hopefully) but thats the first work we have had in over a year. (we were just lucky we were behind in work when the rescission kicked in)

P.S. what is your trade (not for being nossie, just to suggest options for looking for work)
Post by: The squinted eye on July 24, 2009, 09:51:17 AM
Set yourself a goal..........I remember you trying to lose weight a while back, enter a triathlon or 1/2 marathon for early next year. Join a tri/athletics club near you, costs very little to buy a wetsuit, runners and cheap bike. Its no secret the fittest members of my club are unemployed, they are out there every day swimming running or cycling together.

Your sense of self worth will increase with an improved level of fitness, a few of the friends are unemployed spending their time on playstation, sleeping in till late afternoon, watching movies till the early hours, they are wallowing in their misery.

Try and do an hour on something every day......as the weight comes off your confidence will improve
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2009, 10:01:32 AM

best advice so far

You need a goal but,something like training for a marathon/half marathon, learning and instrument, teach yourself a new skill that makes you more employable.its amazing what there are tutorials for on youtube!!

Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 10:05:44 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2009, 10:01:32 AM

I done weights, running, etc

the best thing i done was cycling. went 12 mile cycle one day would reccommend doing application forms etc in the morning then getting the fcuk out of the house for the rest of the day if possible!
best advice so far

You need a goal but,something like training for a marathon/half marathon, learning and instrument, teach yourself a new skill that makes you more employable.its amazing what there are tutorials for on youtube!!

Post by: Cúig huaire on July 24, 2009, 12:52:36 PM
In times like these companies simply get rid of the dead wood.
Post by: The Iceman on July 24, 2009, 01:36:01 PM
Losing your job wasn't your fault right? It was taken away from you and the blame is definitely on someone else.  Not your responsibility.

Your responsibility is how you choose to respond to it. 
If you laze around and respond negatively, if you feel sorry for yourself and spend your day watching TV then its all on you lad.
You can choose to respond positively and use the time constructively to make something happen - that's all on you too.

Nothing "bad" can happen to you unless you let it.....
Post by: Lecale2 on July 24, 2009, 01:52:08 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 24, 2009, 12:52:36 PM

No call for that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 24, 2009, 07:13:27 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on July 24, 2009, 01:36:01 PM
Losing your job wasn't your fault right? It was taken away from you and the blame is definitely on someone else.  Not your responsibility.

Your responsibility is how you choose to respond to it. 
If you laze around and respond negatively, if you feel sorry for yourself and spend your day watching TV then its all on you lad.
You can choose to respond positively and use the time constructively to make something happen - that's all on you too.

Nothing "bad" can happen to you unless you let it.....

That's motivating talk! 
Yeah you're right about the responding positively but it's easier said than done.

Illdecide, I was thinking along your lines alright, getting up at normal time and going out for walk or something.  I think a marathon/half maraton might be asking too much though! I'm liking the voluntary work idea.   
only trouble is, and I know from before, when you keep applying to places and here nothing it gets harder and harder to stay motivated.

Longball
QuoteBe warned as well application forms at the moment are a loada balls. Every answer is an essay, its due to the fact that so many people are applying for each job.
I know! There was one in particular I done, spent one saturday morning filling in a bastard of a form with the biggest load of shite, took me hours and of course I didnt hear a thing back from it.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 24, 2009, 10:40:57 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 24, 2009, 12:52:36 PM

You're an idiot.
Pints, i can only echo what most of the lads here have said,Get yourself into the gym,out running and into the best shape of your life.
Best of luck with the job hunting aswell,keep us informed.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 24, 2009, 11:07:11 PM
Little advice, none worth taking.

1) Get a hotdog cart and sell hotdogs.

2) Get a lady "friend" while she is at work.

3) Master the Rubik Cube under 1 minute.

4) Look into Green jobs.

5) Get a van and collect frying oil from restaurants and sell it.

6) Collect cans, scrap and such for money.

7) Stand outside and yell at kids going by.

8) Count how many times you blink in a day.

9) Throw some dirt on your face, buy some old torn up clothes and beg for money.

10) Steal the Crown Jewels.

Post by: Cúig huaire on July 25, 2009, 02:29:49 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on July 24, 2009, 11:07:11 PM
Little advice, none worth taking.

1) Get a hotdog cart and sell hotdogs. He would eat the profits

2) Get a lady "friend" while she is at work. He cant get any friends ffs

3) Master the Rubik Cube under 1 minute. He would sugar coar it and eat it

4) Look into Green jobs. Does he sound like he cares about the environment

5) Get a van and collect frying oil from restaurants and sell it. He`d cook his dinner in that

6) Collect cans, scrap and such for money. His Da does that for a living

7) Stand outside and yell at kids going by. For a chage?

8) Count how many times you blink in a day. Fat people dont blink so much

9) Throw some dirt on your face, buy some old torn up clothes and beg for money. Finally something he would be good at

10) Steal the Crown Jewels. Well he is a Brit after all, maybe he owns a share in them  ;)

Post by: new devil on July 25, 2009, 06:28:09 AM
Sorry to hear that pints hope something turns up for you..(f**k the boy above is a complete c**k) ::)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 25, 2009, 08:06:16 AM
If your living in London give me a shout we do the benefits in work for most areas of London....Do some volunteer work the guys who do that seem to get jobs faster....If you are in London get your name down for extra's jobs in television there's good money paid to people just standing about in shots of tv programmes...(i've seen payslips where people get up to £100 per day for just standing at a bar supping a pint)....But mist off all keep your head up and remember it not for ever!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2009, 08:58:17 AM
Not near London pat, thanks anyway.  I know about those extra jobs, it's mad.  Big enough tv show shot a few miles from me and boy that works with me has a couple of friends signed up as extras.  They go down and sit around all day, may not even be used and still get paid!! I don't know if they'd want me though  :D

thanks for the comments ND and BM - probably best not to call 5ivetimes/cuighuaire and idiot or a c**k though, he has the strangest overeaction to it  :D
(and you'd think he'd be use to it)

DH
QuoteGet a hotdog cart and sell eat hotdogs
not a bad idea
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 25, 2009, 01:43:52 PM
Didnt think you would be up so early tubby, just think you`ll be settling in to a life of Jeremy Kyle and Tricia, like the rest of your unemployable fellow countrymen.
Post by: muppet on July 25, 2009, 03:06:47 PM
1. Don't ask muppets like us for advice, we talk shite.
2. For someone else in the same situation you could give (and may already have given) reasonable advise to them, the hard part is taking your own advice.
3. TV destroys your soul, as O'Neill said, turn it off.
4. Best of luck (everyone needs a little sometime).
Post by: Tyrones own on July 25, 2009, 03:27:24 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2009, 03:06:47 PM
1. Don't ask muppets like us for advice, we talk shite.
2. For someone else in the same situation you could give (and may already have given) reasonable advise to them, the hard part is taking your own advice.
3. TV destroys your soul, as O'Neill said, turn it off.
4. Best of luck (everyone needs a little sometime).

To tie all the good points of this thread together... IMHO you make your own luck by keeping the head up,
perseverance and hustling at every opportunity....Drinking Harp taking it by the scruff a few months ago
is testament to how it's done!

QuoteThey go down and sit around all day, may not even be used and still get paid!! I don't know if they'd want me though :D

See that's gotta go Pints.....get your ass down there and remove any doubt, (I'd say you could sup Pints with the best of them ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2009, 03:38:53 PM
Oh but it's hard to keep the head up when you get rejection after rejection after rejection  :-\
Post by: Tyrones own on July 25, 2009, 03:44:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2009, 03:38:53 PM
Oh but it's hard to keep the head up when you get rejection after rejection after rejection  :-\

Yes and that brings you to my second point...Perseverance  ;)
Post by: Myles Na G. on July 25, 2009, 07:00:14 PM
http://www.armyjobs.mod.uk/jobs/pages/default.aspx

Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 25, 2009, 07:10:15 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on July 25, 2009, 07:00:14 PM

Yeh make yourself a moving target!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2009, 07:14:28 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on July 25, 2009, 07:00:14 PM

I dont think killing iraqi women and children would be for me.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on July 25, 2009, 09:28:56 PM

how about murering afghanis? That;s not even worth reporting over here so you could manage that?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2009, 09:43:59 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on July 25, 2009, 09:28:56 PM

how about murering afghanis? That;s not even worth reporting over here so you could manage that?

Hmm I dont think so. Although I'm pretty ruthless on the xbox I'm sure it'd be different in real life.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2009, 09:44:52 PM
Best of luck pints,keep the head up and keep positive
Post by: Square Ball on July 25, 2009, 09:52:34 PM
Just read this, not a lot I can add but keep your pecker up
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 25, 2009, 09:54:01 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 25, 2009, 09:52:34 PM

Another idea: Become a pornstar.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2009, 10:23:07 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 25, 2009, 09:54:01 PM

Its not as much fun as you might think
Post by: Square Ball on July 25, 2009, 10:34:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2009, 10:23:07 PM

see std thread
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 25, 2009, 11:29:09 PM

You obviously haven't seen the Relish Porno Bloopers DVD you get free when you order two or more DVDs off them then, have you?? They have a right laugh!
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 27, 2009, 12:22:25 AM
pints you should get a job on that swine flu hotline that you have been moaning about. Just think with your attitude you could actually manage to save your government a fortune, you would only issue medication on production of a death cert  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2009, 01:00:08 AM
Was reading a book in a shop today on applying for jobs (yes, I'm getting desperate) and it give examples of covering letters and one of them started with something like...
"congratulations on being one of best companies in southern California..."  :D  and it went on with the biggest load of shite, I was cringing. 

That's not the sort of shite you're suppose to be writing is it?

Ha, I will try - at appropriate times of course  ;)
Post by: stephenite on July 27, 2009, 01:13:59 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2009, 01:00:08 AM
Was reading a book in a shop today on applying for jobs (yes, I'm getting desperate) and it give examples of covering letters and one of them started with something like...
"congratulations on being one of best companies in southern California..."  :D  and it went on with the biggest load of shite, I was cringing. 

Steer clear of any American advice when applying for jobs - most good recruitment websites should have all this info online for you
Post by: longball on July 27, 2009, 09:06:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on July 27, 2009, 01:13:59 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2009, 01:00:08 AM

Steer clear of any American advice when applying for jobs - most good recruitment websites should have all this info online for you

My cover letter with application or CV was usually just something simple like:

Dear Sirs,

In reference to your advertisement in the _______ (local paper/website whereever) I wish to apply for the position of __________ within your company. I enclose my CV as per your request. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Many Thanks

Longball
078********
123 fakestreet
Post by: Lazer on July 27, 2009, 09:50:22 AM
Longball -

That cover letter is just what to send if it with an application form, however if it with a CV it shoud be specific to the company your applying for as the CV is usually generic.

Include a short paragraph, stating why you want to work for them - not the cheesy crap you've read though, keep it simple.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2009, 07:43:25 PM
Quote from: Lazer on July 27, 2009, 09:50:22 AM
Longball -

That cover letter is just what to send if it with an application form, however if it with a CV it shoud be specific to the company your applying for as the CV is usually generic.

Include a short paragraph, stating why you want to work for them - not the cheesy crap you've read though, keep it simple.

And I assume "I need the money" and "no one else seems to want me so I'm stuck with this" isn't what they're after?  I dont have much experience at this lark. 
Post by: Lazer on July 28, 2009, 09:46:30 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 27, 2009, 07:43:25 PM
Quote from: Lazer on July 27, 2009, 09:50:22 AM
Longball -

And I assume "I need the money" and "no one else seems to want me so I'm stuck with this" isn't what they're after?  I dont have much experience at this lark. 

Nope - they want you to lick up to them not tell the truth!

A good idea is to explain how your skills and experiences match the job criteria/requirements - but don't go into detail as this should be in the CV.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 28, 2009, 10:31:47 AM

How so RLL? You earning a bit on the side ;)

Not easy, hope all the lads unemployed and looking get a bit of luck.
Post by: ziggysego on July 28, 2009, 02:39:47 PM
I was unemployed for a year. I taught myself HTML. Once I was happy was that, I was going to improve my spelling and grammar... got a job though.
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2009, 06:58:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 28, 2009, 02:39:47 PM
I was unemployed for a year. I taught myself HTML. Once I was happy was that, I was going to improve my spelling and grammar... got a job though.

How to meet ladies?
Post by: orangeman on July 28, 2009, 07:01:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 28, 2009, 06:58:31 PM

How to meet ladies?

And it worked too if you can believe the stories that were circulating round Omagh and on this board a few weeks back.  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on July 28, 2009, 07:03:33 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 28, 2009, 06:58:31 PM

How to meet ladies?

(http://www.clipartof.com/images/thumbnail/1249.gif)

Didn't do too badly orangeman, although I'm emotionally scared.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 28, 2009, 07:08:21 PM

I'm an expert on meething ladies zigg, no room for improvement.  thanks anyway. 

Post by: ziggysego on July 28, 2009, 07:10:59 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 28, 2009, 07:08:21 PM

I'm an expert on meething ladies zigg, no room for improvement.  thanks anyway. 

Web designing Pints  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 28, 2009, 07:21:35 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 28, 2009, 10:31:47 AM

What happend in Thailand stays in Thailand thats all I'm saying............ ;)
Post by: ziggysego on July 28, 2009, 07:23:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 28, 2009, 07:21:35 PM

So the doctors got rid of it before you got back home? ;)
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2009, 07:40:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 28, 2009, 07:21:35 PM

In that line of work you are expected to spend most of your time north of Thailand.
Post by: ludermor on July 28, 2009, 08:38:07 PM
 Deepthroat TRLL
Post by: Orior on July 29, 2009, 12:56:07 PM
Probably the wrong thread... but fill your day with Spit the Dog!

http://www.carolgeescandles.com/games/spit_game/index.php (http://www.carolgeescandles.com/games/spit_game/index.php)
Post by: longball on July 29, 2009, 12:57:11 PM
Applied for many jobs yet POG?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 29, 2009, 10:44:41 PM
Quote from: longball on July 29, 2009, 12:57:11 PM
Well loads, lost count.  Applied for 3 this week I'm completely unsuited for - sent coverng letters and cv etc, of course I'll probably here nothing.

I have postiive days and negative days, today's definitley a negative one.   :-\
Post by: Tyrones own on July 29, 2009, 11:06:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 29, 2009, 10:44:41 PM
Well loads, lost count.  Applied for 3 this week I'm completely unsuited for - sent coverng letters and cv etc, of course I'll probably here nothing.

I have postiive days and negative days, today's definitley a negative one.   :-\

Ah come on now.......

"Man becomes what he thinks about"... an all that  :)
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on July 29, 2009, 11:07:51 PM
hit the gym
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 29, 2009, 11:12:50 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 29, 2009, 11:06:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 29, 2009, 10:44:41 PM

Ah come on now.......

"Man becomes what he thinks about"... an all that  :)

It's not being negative, its a fact. 

Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on July 29, 2009, 11:07:51 PM
hit the gym
I was going too, looked up their prices and well that ended that.  *head in hands*
Post by: Tyrones own on July 29, 2009, 11:15:06 PM
QuoteIt's not being negative, its a fact.

Alrighty then...you'll likely get what you're expecting then so :-\
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on July 29, 2009, 11:16:12 PM
with alot of free time on your hands, the gym is an obvious one, i was out of work a few years ago and thats wat i did. i thought if im guna be unemployed, i may as well be a buff unemployed man! and it workd, hit the club gym every other day, went for a run the others. granted, that was 3 years ago and iv gone badly backwards since.. :D..wait no, that should probly be :(..yeh, thats the one. cuz im actually really rippin with myself i stopped.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 29, 2009, 11:23:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 29, 2009, 11:15:06 PM
QuoteIt's not being negative, its a fact.

Alrighty then...you'll likely get what you're expecting then so :-\

What difference will me being postive make?  I started looking a couple of months ago and was very postive, but 3 or 4 dozen applictions later and only 2 rejections, nothing else, it's hard to keep it up!

You'll have to send me some postive vibes. 
Post by: leenie on August 07, 2009, 11:57:27 PM

play farmville on facebook!
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2009, 06:34:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 29, 2009, 11:27:03 PM
Here's a positive vibe:

If you keep applying, some fecker will employ you.

Some fecker has employed me, start in a couple of weeks!
Thank God!!! 

Not an ideal job at all but sure I'm lucky to get it.

TO's positive vibes must have worked. 

Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 18, 2009, 06:36:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 18, 2009, 06:34:48 PM
Here's a positive vibe:

Thank God!!! 

Good to hear
Post by: Tyrones own on August 18, 2009, 08:27:11 PM
Glad to hear it Pints...hope it works out for you and sure even if it's not ideal it'll do while you look for something more suitable!
Post by: Cúig huaire on August 20, 2009, 02:06:40 PM
Thank God!!! 

Did you apply to the PSNI?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2009, 10:29:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 11, 2009, 10:04:51 PM
Here's a positive vibe:

Thank God!!! 

Just wondering, how are you getting on?
He's out on foot patrol.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 11, 2009, 10:37:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 11, 2009, 10:04:51 PM
Here's a positive vibe:

Thank God!!! 

Just wondering, how are you getting on?
Dead on, I dont really like it though but beggars cant be choosers

Post by: pintsofguinness on October 11, 2009, 11:11:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 11, 2009, 10:53:09 PM
When you say you don't really like it.....is it a real ballix or can you get on with it alright?

You still applying like mad?
havent been appying in while, after xmas mayb if things dont improve there.  Its just not what I want to do and Ive been bit home sick latey - and Ive ony about 2 days holidays to take at xmas. :(

Better than sitting at home though
Post by: Canalman on October 12, 2009, 11:54:18 AM
Hope this is of some use. I saw a sign on a roundabout in Blanch advertising E10 rounds of golf for the "unemployed" at the City Council golf course in Dunsink (I think). Mon to Friday before 10am.

Good mate lost his job last June and decided to get fit. Jogs around the Phoenix Park every day and has lost 2 stone in weight. Reckoned that he needed to lose the weight to give himself a benefit at any possible job interviews (hasn't got any by the way).
Post by: muppet on March 16, 2011, 10:06:09 PM
Ex-Tribune journo has set up a blog which he hopes will tempt someone to give him a job (and probably to keep himself him sane).

http://diarmuiddoyle.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/ben-affleck-and-me/ (http://diarmuiddoyle.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/ben-affleck-and-me/)