Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Square Ball on July 21, 2009, 07:05:35 PM

Title: CCTV of Gerrard incident released
Post by: Square Ball on July 21, 2009, 07:05:35 PM
Looked at this a few times and cant see any "boxer speed punches" being thrown, or any digs for that matter. One thing I did notice, there was a lot of them wearing the same blue tops.
I did think he was doing a piss at one stage, but it was behind the bar.

make your own mind up

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8161848.stm?ls (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8161848.stm?ls)
Title: Re: CCTV of Gerrard incident released
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 21, 2009, 07:11:11 PM
Nothing much in that by the look of it..Though most of it seems to be off camera.
Post by: Square Ball on July 21, 2009, 07:15:41 PM
well if thats the only video evidence then its down to the credibility and testimony of the witness, Oh and who has the better legal teams
Post by: glens73 on July 21, 2009, 07:33:24 PM
Six of them admit affray.

I wonder would they get paid to do that?
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2009, 07:41:51 PM
I'd like to see more of the floosies
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 21, 2009, 07:47:20 PM
(http://www.chaosquake.de/files/temp/i-cant-see-shit.jpg)
Post by: slievegullion on July 21, 2009, 09:29:22 PM
You Tube has a slightly better video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UD7dPqkFbdE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UD7dPqkFbdE)

Another guy throws the first elbow and after that someone definitely tries to throw several upper-cuts in the scuffle, its hard to know whether it was SG or another guy who has come in off camara. I'm afraid he looks pretty guilty but it will not be enough to convict other wise he would not be pleading not guilty.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on July 21, 2009, 09:50:21 PM
Looks to me like Gerrard got hit first, no? Hard to tell what happens afterwards though
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 21, 2009, 09:51:06 PM
well for him the scouse tr**p!
Post by: corn02 on July 21, 2009, 10:00:07 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 21, 2009, 09:51:06 PM

Shut up you Lurgan gypsy.

See I can stereotype too.
Post by: fred the red on July 21, 2009, 10:00:39 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 21, 2009, 10:00:07 PM

Shut up you Lan gypsy.

wats a lan?
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2009, 10:05:02 PM
Quote from: fred the red on July 21, 2009, 10:00:39 PM

Shut up you Lan gypsy.

wats a lan?

lan means full - so a full gypsy.

BTW SG looks like a tight boyo.
Post by: curvey on July 21, 2009, 11:27:49 PM

:D :D :D Plenty of them in Lurgan alright :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2009, 11:40:36 PM
Wasn't a proper fight at all.  No tables broken, chairs over anyones backs.

He could be found guilty of Affray at its height, it is not clear if he struck anyone
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 22, 2009, 12:42:41 AM

Not too good at it though  ::)
Post by: full back on July 22, 2009, 08:44:38 AM
From the video evidence you couldnt convict Stevie G
It only seems to be a few slaps thrown in a bar

I thought it was a woman in the white with the silly half type jumper on that was going to go back for more & that also kicked the door on the way out :D

With Stevie G being held back it may be fair to presume that he was boxing, but he wont get done for it.

As you were Stevie G
Post by: David McKeown on July 22, 2009, 08:49:23 AM
Quote from: full back on July 22, 2009, 08:44:38 AM

I thought it was a woman in the white with the silly half type jumper on that was going to go back for more & that also kicked the door on the way out :D

With Stevie G being held back it may be fair to presume that he was boxing, but he wont get done for it.

As you were Stevie G

I would assume this case is going to be based on a lot more than cctv footage so it will be impossible to tell the result until the jury decides
Post by: full back on July 22, 2009, 08:51:20 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 22, 2009, 08:49:23 AM
Quote from: full back on July 22, 2009, 08:44:38 AM

As you were Stevie G

I would assume this case is going to be based on a lot more than cctv footage so it will be impossible to tell the result until the jury decides

What will it be based on then?

Eye witness accounts?
How good the legal team are?

The rest of Gerrards party have already admitted their guilt.
What does that say?
Post by: AbbeySider on July 22, 2009, 09:10:06 AM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on July 21, 2009, 09:50:21 PM
Looks to me like Gerrard got hit first, no? Hard to tell what happens afterwards though

I think so too. Gerard seem to take some sort of hit and fell back before going forward.
Post by: timmyot501 on July 22, 2009, 11:26:57 AM
Gerrard should maybe give Brolly a call.
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 11:35:24 AM
big of a sc**bag really by the looks of it....wouldnt really expect much more from the likes....
Post by: full back on July 22, 2009, 11:36:31 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 11:35:24 AM
big of a sc**bag really by the looks of it....wouldnt really expect much more from the likes....

By the looks of what?
Why would you say he is a sc**bag?
Post by: bingobus on July 22, 2009, 11:55:00 AM
Quote from: full back on July 22, 2009, 11:36:31 AM

By the looks of what?
Why would you say he is a sc**bag?

Come on Tankie, back up what you say?

The likes of a soccer player? Millionaire? Souscer? English person? White male?
Post by: isourboydownyet on July 22, 2009, 11:59:54 AM

how would you react to someone insulting your wife and child?it's very easy to sit back and make assumptions without knowing what really happened
Post by: EC Unique on July 22, 2009, 12:27:46 PM
Don't know about the fight but he deserves 6 months for those dance moves :D
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 12:56:59 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on July 22, 2009, 11:59:54 AM

how would you react to someone insulting your wife and child?it's very easy to sit back and make assumptions without knowing what really happened

so if someone insults you or your wife you should resort to fighting - what are we cavemen  ??? 
Post by: full back on July 22, 2009, 12:57:52 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 12:56:59 PM

so if someone insults you or your wife you should resort to fighting - what are we cavemen  ??? 

You havent told us why he is a sc**bag or what you mean by the likes of him??
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 12:58:55 PM
Quote from: full back on July 22, 2009, 12:57:52 PM

these lads are clearly your heroes....maybe I just expect more out of mine
Post by: full back on July 22, 2009, 01:00:29 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 12:58:55 PM

Eh ???

He certainly isnt my hero, but I dont know why you would call him a sc**bag or what you mean by the likes of him?
Post by: Lecale2 on July 22, 2009, 01:09:30 PM
Affray

Public Order Act 1986 section 3

Sentence Guildlines
A financial fine of up to £5,000 and/or 6 months custody for less serious cases of Affray, but if this case goes to the Crown Court there is a possibility of a greater sentence.

If the magistrates feel on the evidence their sentencing powers are sufficient they will hear the case. However, having heard the case and the offender's history they then feel their sentencing powers are insufficient they can send the offender up to Crown Court for sentencing only in front of a judge.

Custody is the starting point in their sentencing decision but there is power to reduce the sentence by up to 1/3 for an early guilty plea, which may mean that custody can be avoided by the offender co-operating at the earliest stages. As an alternative to custody, the sentence may be a community punishment e.g. community service, which is served in the community.

The magistrates or judge must also consider compensation for loss or damage caused by the offence to be paid by the offender to the victim(s). Whether or not the offence is regarded as serious depends on the aggravating and mitigating factors.

This case is being heard at the Crown Court so the magistrates must consider it serious. I'm surprised he didn't plead guilty along with the others who where present. To be guilty of Affray you don't actually have to throw a punch or kick the victim. Maybe he's hoping that the Jury will come down on the side of an England footballer in his home city.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 22, 2009, 01:16:57 PM
He'll get off with it if that is the only evidence they have.
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 01:31:55 PM
Quote from: full back on July 22, 2009, 01:00:29 PM

Eh ???

He certainly isnt my hero, but I dont know why you would call him a sc**bag or what you mean by the likes of him?

fighting in a bar, walking around as if you cant be touched, hasstling other people because you aint getting your own way, knowing you have a big group behind if you decide to throw a few digs....all the traits of a sc**bag in my view....

would you have a different definition?
Post by: corn02 on July 22, 2009, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 01:31:55 PM

Eh ???

fighting in a bar, walking around as if you cant be touched, hasstling other people because you aint getting your own way, knowing you have a big group behind if you decide to throw a few digs....all the traits of a sc**bag in my view....

What a weird post you hav to be a WUM.

Fitzroyalty why am I no good at stereotyping.
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 01:53:28 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 22, 2009, 01:37:44 PM

Eh ???

I just put up my view like anyone else but for some reason i kept being asked to explain them...but a fairly poor role model for kids anyway but yet thousands of Irish love him...what does that say about them..
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 22, 2009, 01:58:23 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 22, 2009, 01:09:30 PM
Affray

Sentence Guildlines
A financial fine of up to £5,000 and/or 6 months custody for less serious cases of Affray, but if this case goes to the Crown Court there is a possibility of a greater sentence.

If the magistrates feel on the evidence their sentencing powers are sufficient they will hear the case. However, having heard the case and the offender's history they then feel their sentencing powers are insufficient they can send the offender up to Crown Court for sentencing only in front of a judge.

Custody is the starting point in their sentencing decision but there is power to reduce the sentence by up to 1/3 for an early guilty plea, which may mean that custody can be avoided by the offender co-operating at the earliest stages. As an alternative to custody, the sentence may be a community punishment e.g. community service, which is served in the community.

The magistrates or judge must also consider compensation for loss or damage caused by the offence to be paid by the offender to the victim(s). Whether or not the offence is regarded as serious depends on the aggravating and mitigating factors.

This case is being heard at the Crown Court so the magistrates must consider it serious. I'm surprised he didn't plead guilty along with the others who where present. To be guilty of Affray you don't actually have to throw a punch or kick the victim. Maybe he's hoping that the Jury will come down on the side of an England footballer in his home city.

Not necessarily. Gerrard could have opted himself for a jury trial.
Post by: Rav67 on July 22, 2009, 02:04:40 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 22, 2009, 01:58:23 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 22, 2009, 01:09:30 PM
Affray

Sentence Guildlines

Not necessarily. Gerrard could have opted himself for a jury trial.

What would O'Rourke have advised him to do?
Post by: bingobus on July 22, 2009, 02:06:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2009, 01:53:28 PM

Eh ???

I just put up my view like anyone else but for some reason i kept being asked to explain them...but a fairly poor role model for kids anyway but yet thousands of Irish love him...what does that say about them..

It means they are entitled to form their own opinions and don't have to toe the line of the opinion of what anti-soccer agenda. Its doesn't mean they are any less of a person.

Stevie Gerard is 28 and has never been in the news for any incidents before. He made one mistake and will pay for it, when the full facts have been heard.

I challenge anyone to say they have not made a mistake that they regreat.

He does not deserve to be labelled a sc**bag because he made one mistake.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 22, 2009, 02:33:26 PM

Eh ???

surprised at you jumping to conclusions Tankie from looking at the video evidence if looks like he got the 1st slap also as regards calling some one a sc**bag, a member of the dublin gaa team got hit in a nightclub 3 years ago after a match is he also a sc**bag because some drunk fcuker didn't like who he was and decided to give him a slap, which one of them was the sc**bag ?
Post by: slievegullion on July 22, 2009, 02:40:25 PM
Does anyone know anymore detail about the ongoings of the case like when will they put forward gerards defence? Will be interesting to hear what they have to say. Im leaning closer to the idea that he probably should just admitted guilty and came away with a slap on the wrist, unless maybe he truly believes he did nothing wrong?
Post by: Lecale2 on July 22, 2009, 02:49:40 PM
He doesn't want a conviction. It could cause all sorts of problems down the line if he's travelling abroad. Now that it's at the Crown Court he'll take his chances.

Eye witness account from BBC:
Barman Nathaniel Lockie, 20, told the court Mr Gerrard used his left hand to pull Mr McGee's jumper over his head before launching uppercuts with his right. Mr Lockie, who was on duty on the night, claimed he thought Doran was the player's minder "by the way he presented himself".

Doran, 29, of Woodlands Road, Ian Gerrard Smith, 19, of Hilary Avenue, and Paul McGrattan, 31, of Linden Drive, all Huyton, admit affray.

Accrington Stanley footballers Robert Grant, 19, of Enstone Avenue, Litherland, and Ian Dunbavin, 28, of Guildford Road, Southport, have also admitted affray.

John McGrattan, 34, of Rimmer Avenue, Huyton, has admitted threatening behaviour after denying affray.

The trial continues.

CCTV, testimony from victim and eye witness and the others present plead guilty. Doesn't look good for him on the face of it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 10:31:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 22, 2009, 10:19:49 PM
Just saw the footage again on the news. It is very clear. Gerrard's mate elbowed yer man "off the ball". Yer man bent down and Gerrard clearly hammered a couple of digs into him.
Which news? Haven't seen it yet but the very fact that almost all his mates have admitted guilt would make me assume that he landed a few fly digs too.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 22, 2009, 10:43:27 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8163757.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8163757.stm)

about 36 seconds into the video, clear as day.

oh dear...
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 10:48:35 PM
No broadband here so tv it is.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 22, 2009, 10:51:56 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 22, 2009, 02:49:40 PM
He doesn't want a conviction. It could cause all sorts of problems down the line if he's travelling abroad. Now that it's at the Crown Court he'll take his chances.

Eye witness account from BBC:
Barman Nathaniel Lockie, 20, told the court Mr Gerrard used his left hand to pull Mr McGee's jumper over his head before launching uppercuts with his right. Mr Lockie, who was on duty on the night, claimed he thought Doran was the player's minder "by the way he presented himself".

Doran, 29, of Woodlands Road, Ian Gerrard Smith, 19, of Hilary Avenue, and Paul McGrattan, 31, of Linden Drive, all Huyton, admit affray.

Accrington Stanley footballers Robert Grant, 19, of Enstone Avenue, Litherland, and Ian Dunbavin, 28, of Guildford Road, Southport, have also admitted affray.

John McGrattan, 34, of Rimmer Avenue, Huyton, has admitted threatening behaviour after denying affray.

The trial continues.

CCTV, testimony from victim and eye witness and the others present plead guilty. Doesn't look good for him on the face of it.

How so ? Pennant didn't seem to have any problems.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2009, 11:51:51 PM
Saw it. Done him. His mate elbowed the fella and when he was offguard Gerrard got stuck in. No excuses should talk him out of it.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 22, 2009, 11:58:46 PM
The pikeys hang out in Craigavon, not Lurgan! :-*
Post by: David McKeown on July 23, 2009, 12:42:32 AM
The thing about the affray charge is if the prosecution can show that Gerard used or threatened to use any unlawful violence which would make any normal person fear for their safety then he is guilty of affray.  The problem though is if that if even a single punch being thrown by Gerrard  (not in self defence) can be proven then the actions of all the others in the fight are considered in other words, if Gerrard has even a tiny role in the actual violence, it wont matter, as the jury will have to consider whether or not the actions of all the fighters were such as to make a normal person fear for their safety.

Now given that Gerard apparently admitted at interview that he threw at least one connecting punch then his defence is likely to be one of the following.  Either a it was self defence or b the incident would not have made any normal person fear for their safety.  Id imagine its more likely to be a.  Jury trials are strange things so its hard to know how this one will go
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 23, 2009, 12:51:28 AM
I'd be surprised if he's found guilty. If his defense is any good they will introduce enough element of doubt for the jury to find him not guilty.
Post by: Bacon on July 23, 2009, 07:49:20 AM
I dobn't believe he'll be found guilty but if he is will he get a heavier sentence than his mates? They'll all get credit for pleading guilty won't they?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2009, 08:56:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 22, 2009, 11:56:00 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 22, 2009, 09:10:06 AM

I think so too. Gerard seem to take some sort of hit and fell back before going forward.

What the fcuk were you boys looking at?
Exactly! It's as clear as day that he fired in a few uppercuts when the fella was bent over after Gerrards mate elbowed him in the bake and therefore couldn't defend himself. Dirty action. If he gets off it is because he's Steven Gerrard.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 08:59:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2009, 08:56:50 AM

Exactly! It's as clear as day that he fired in a few uppercuts when the fella was bent over after Gerrards mate elbowed him in the bake and therefore couldn't defend himself. Dirty action. If he gets off it is because he's Steven Gerrard.

Is there different CCTV pictures available?
I cant see any of the above on the recording ???
Post by: Hound on July 23, 2009, 09:54:05 AM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 08:59:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2009, 08:56:50 AM

Is there different CCTV pictures available?
I cant see any of the above on the recording ???
The link posted by POG at the bottom of page 3 gives a better view than the first link posted.

Gerrard's mate gave McGee a pretty nasty and sly elbow in the head. Then Gerrard followed up with a couple of punches - looked like to the stomach of McGee, but as McGee was bending over it was hard to see if or where he connected. There was feck all in it really. If Gerrard wasn't famous I doubt very much the incident would even have been reported to the cops, never mind get to a trial. But it is, and I'd be nervous if I was him.
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 09:54:28 AM
Indeed, not much doubt on that clearer image, although not concrete either so he will probably get a bit of community service.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 10:07:31 AM
Cheers Hound

Seems to be a lot clearer, not much self defence there  :-\
Post by: David McKeown on July 23, 2009, 11:22:16 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 09:54:28 AM
Indeed, not much doubt on that clearer image, although not concrete either so he will probably get a bit of community service.

I'd be surprised at that the legislation seams to suggest that on a contest the minimum sentence is custodial. The other thing is if Gerard is convicted of affray then he is as guilty of the elbow as the man who through it.
Post by: EC Unique on July 23, 2009, 11:28:45 AM

Apology accepted :)
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:29:59 AM
Realistically, if he is found guilty what can he expect?
Post by: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 11:36:08 AM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:29:59 AM

He has to train at Man United for a week  ;)

I've read at worst it will be suspended sentence or community service. Very unlikely to do time.
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2009, 11:37:37 AM
Can't see him getting convicted. If he does, it will be a few hours community service. There wasn't much in it really.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:39:52 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 11:36:08 AM

I've read at worst it will be suspended sentence or community service. Very unlikely to do time.

Most scousers wouldnt be welcome at OT, but in the case of Stevie G we will make an exception ;)
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 11:45:04 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 23, 2009, 11:28:45 AM

No no, didn;t apologise.

You said unclear fotage was clear as day, this is clearer, so you were still wrong.

I await an apology.
Post by: EC Unique on July 23, 2009, 11:51:27 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

No no, didn;t apologise.

You said unclear fotage was clear as day, this is clearer, so you were still wrong.

I await an apology.

Now you are just getting ridiculous corn (http://jon44w.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/Doh.gif)
Post by: David McKeown on July 23, 2009, 11:52:48 AM

It's a bit early to say a lot will depend on factors such as previous record, liklihood to reoffend etc.  Here we have pre sentence reports which really dictate the sentence. They aren't as a common in England. My gut feeling is either a short custodial sentence or a suspended sentence
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 11:58:16 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 23, 2009, 11:51:27 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 11:45:04 AM

No no, didn;t apologise.

I await an apology.

Now you are just getting ridiculous corn (http://jon44w.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/Doh.gif)

???
Post by: Silky on July 23, 2009, 12:24:01 PM
What is mither? Stevie G is claiming self defence because he gets a lot of it.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 12:26:16 PM
Quote from: Silky on July 23, 2009, 12:24:01 PM
What is mither? Stevie G is claiming self defence because he gets a lot of it.

???
Post by: Silky on July 23, 2009, 12:32:11 PM
Its in the BBC report on his evidence this morning. I've no idea what it is either  ???

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8164559.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8164559.stm)
Post by: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 12:34:09 PM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 11:39:52 AM
Quote from: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 11:36:08 AM

Most scousers wouldnt be welcome at OT, but in the case of Stevie G we will make an exception ;)

Sure the place would be overrun with them  - Rooney, Owen and Gerard! Call Rentokill.  ;)
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 12:36:14 PM
We can but dream that Stevie G would become a fixture at OT  ;)

Any of you scousers help us out with a bit of translation?
Im assuming 'mither' is hassle or something ???
Post by: bingobus on July 23, 2009, 12:44:25 PM
Quote from: full back on July 23, 2009, 12:36:14 PM
We can but dream that Stevie G would become a fixture at OT  ;)

Any of you scousers help us out with a bit of translation?
Im assuming 'mither' is hassle or something ???

mither = bother (but hassle would also be acceptable).
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 12:45:49 PM
Verb. To fuss, bother, pester. Also occasionally spelt moither. [North West/Midlands use]
Noun. A complaining or persistently bothering person.
Post by: muppet on July 23, 2009, 12:49:06 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 12:45:49 PM
Verb. To fuss, bother, pester. Also occasionally spelt moither. [North West/Midlands use]

That's a great word with lots of potential for other uses:

moither fecker
sweet mither a jaysus

Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 12:50:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 23, 2009, 12:49:06 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 12:45:49 PM

That's a great word with lots of potential for other uses:

moither fecker
sweet mither a jaysus

Excellent.

I'm in a mither bother.

Post by: David McKeown on July 23, 2009, 12:52:46 PM
The problem with a self defence argument is that to relay on it Gerrard has to show an immediate fear of violence. That's very hard to prove when the guy appears to be doubled over before Gerrard appears to punch him. Hard to establish an immediate fear at the point especially if your in a group of mates
Post by: full back on July 23, 2009, 12:56:32 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 23, 2009, 12:52:46 PM
The problem with a self defence argument is that to relay on it Gerrard has to show an immediate fear of violence. That's very hard to prove when the guy appears to be doubled over before Gerrard appears to punch him. Hard to establish an immediate fear at the point especially if your in a group of mates

Not that hard
Go through a DVD of a few of his games last year & he is falling all over the place
No way a tough man would be falling at the merest of touches

Case dismissed ;)
Post by: bingobus on July 24, 2009, 12:59:24 PM
Stevie G not guilty of affray.

Never a doubt.  ;D
Post by: slievegullion on July 24, 2009, 01:05:47 PM
David McKeown must be a first year law student... at Jordanstown.  ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2009, 01:26:23 PM
A jury of reds it seems!  ;D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8167000.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8167000.stm)
Post by: Lecale2 on July 24, 2009, 01:53:09 PM
Parallels with OJ?
Post by: Minder on July 24, 2009, 02:00:17 PM
A just and fair verdict
Post by: David McKeown on July 24, 2009, 02:01:48 PM
Quote from: slievegullion on July 24, 2009, 01:05:47 PM
David McKeown must be a first year law student... at Jordanstown.  ::)

Worryingly I am a little more qualified than that.  I should have realised a long time ago to stop trying to second guess juries.  Well fair play to the defence team they must have been able to show that immediate fear of violence was there and/or that little weight could be placed on the cctv footage.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 24, 2009, 02:02:19 PM
All he wanted to hear was the 'Fields of Anfield Road' one more time.
Post by: deiseach on July 24, 2009, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2009, 01:26:23 PM
A jury of reds it seems!  ;D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8167000.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/merseyside/8167000.stm)

Final proof, if ever any were needed, that Evertonians are a distinct minority in the city of Liverpool.
Post by: Niall Quinn on July 24, 2009, 03:48:11 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 24, 2009, 01:53:09 PM
Parallels with OJ?

OJ was a much classier man on the dance floor.
Post by: deiseach on July 24, 2009, 04:31:18 PM
Classic Onion headline from the 1970's:

BUFFALO BILL'S OJ SIMPSON MERCILESSLY SLASHES HELPLESS DEFENDERS FOR 280 YARDS