GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: PatDaly on July 21, 2009, 04:21:01 PM

Title: Ard Mhacha U18 v Cill Dara U18, Páirc Bhreifne, 2pm, Satharn, 1ú Lúnasa
Post by: PatDaly on July 21, 2009, 04:21:01 PM
Date and Venue confirmed for Minor Quarter Final clash with Kildare
21/07/2009

Venues for Minor Quarter Finals announced

http://www.armagh-gaa.com/Football/News/Date-and-Venue-confirmed-for-Minor-Quarter-Final-c.aspx

Armagh will take on Leinster runners up Kildare in Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday 1st August in a double header with the Dublin v Down game.

The fixtures for the ESB GAA Football All Ireland Minor Championship Quarter Finals are as follows:

Saturday, August 1st at Kingspan Breffni Park, Cavan:

2.00 pm Armagh v Kildare

4.00 pm Dublin v Down

Monday, August 3rd at O'Moore Park, Portlaoise:
2.00 pm Winners of Mayo/Roscommon v Tipperary

4.00 pm Kerry v Losers of Mayo/Roscommon
Title: Re: Ard Mhacha U18 v Cill Dara U18, Páirc Bhreifne, 2pm, Satharn, 1ú Lúnasa
Post by: T Fearon on July 21, 2009, 04:25:34 PM
Great venue for Armagh underage teams, remember we won the AI U21 title there in 2004
Title: Re: Ard Mhacha U18 v Cill Dara U18, Páirc Bhreifne, 2pm, Satharn, 1ú Lúnasa
Post by: PatDaly on July 23, 2009, 04:47:19 AM

Armagh are now the favourites to win the Tom Markham cup

All Ireland Minor Football Sunday 26th July 2009, 17:00

Outright Betting    Hide All Quoted

Armagh    11/4
Dublin    4/1
Kerry    9/2
Mayo    9/2
Roscommon 6/1
Down    8/1
Kildare    10/1
Tipperary    25/1

Post by: Orior on July 23, 2009, 08:54:04 AM
Not good making Armagh favourites.
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 09:07:18 AM
Here we were third or fourth favourites a few weeks back weren't we?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 23, 2009, 12:12:59 PM
3rd favourites at 4/1. I'd noticed that on the morning of the Down game that we'd been backed into 3/1 favourites even before that match. Kildare seem long odds given that their games against Dublin were very close.
Post by: corn02 on July 23, 2009, 12:16:53 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 23, 2009, 12:12:59 PM
3rd favourites at 4/1. I'd noticed that on the morning of the Down game that we'd been backed into 3/1 favourites even before that match. Kildare seem long odds given that their games against Dublin were very close.

Does seem strange that six beting points seperate two teams who could not be seperated in 140 minutes.
Post by: bennydorano on July 23, 2009, 07:54:38 PM
Does seem a ridiculously big price for Kildareat 10/1. 

Armagh beat Dublin by 6 or 7 points in the 'Ulster' minor league and it's formlines have been a decent enough gauge of form so far, so hopefully it will continue like that.  A repeat performance of the Down game would see us out on our assess I'd imagine, but a repeat of the performance v Monaghan should be enough for victory.
Post by: thebandit on July 24, 2009, 08:24:19 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 23, 2009, 07:54:38 PM

Armagh beat Dublin by 6 or 7 points in the 'Ulster' minor league and it's formlines have been a decent enough gauge of form so far, so hopefully it will continue like that.  A repeat performance of the Down game would see us out on our assess I'd imagine, but a repeat of the performance v Monaghan should be enough for victory.

I could be wrong, but I think that was a Dublin U17 development squad team
Post by: PatDaly on July 28, 2009, 01:38:45 AM
Anyone know if live commentary will be available on this game? I think its safe to assume there's no possibility of live TV coverage.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2009, 01:58:13 AM
KFM will have live commentary:

http://www.kfmradio.com/ (http://www.kfmradio.com/)
Post by: thebandit on July 28, 2009, 09:43:46 AM
Will Tigger and Marty not be covering it?
Post by: harlechman on July 28, 2009, 10:36:28 PM
Quote from: thebandit on July 24, 2009, 08:24:19 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 23, 2009, 07:54:38 PM

I could be wrong, but I think that was a Dublin U17 development squad team

I was at that game, as far as I can remember Armagh "only" won by 4.
Post by: bennydorano on July 30, 2009, 05:44:18 PM
Was hoping TG4 were going to show this and save me the bother of a trip, not happening by the looks of it.  Weather not looking too good, which might make up my mind for me.
Title: Oisin brought in to help the Armagh minors
Post by: PatDaly on July 31, 2009, 03:45:42 AM
Armagh's youngsters still have lessons to learn

Friday, 31 July 2009

Armagh's victory over Down in the Ulster Minor football final earlier this month delighted their manager Paul McShane — but it also provided him with a sharp lesson to absorb.

While the orchard county certainly upset the formbook in claiming the provincial crown, their tame surrender of hard-won possession on too many occasions caused grave concern to their management team.

Now when the team goes in against Kildare in tomorrow's All Ireland quarter-final at Cavan (2.00pm), McShane is hopeful that his players will not facilitate the opposition to quite the same extent that they did in the Ulster showdown.

"You would have to say that we gave the ball away too often in that game," admits McShane. "But these boys are on a learning curve and I have no doubt that they will be sharper tomorrow. Kildare might not just let us off the hook so easily. We know they are a good side and my players are aware that they simply cannot afford to make mistakes."

It was a stirring finish that eventually took Armagh to their provincial triumph and if McShane can manage to have this effort replicated for the duration of tomorrow's match, then his team will be in with a big chance of reaching the semi-finals.

Peter Carragher and James Donnelly form a durable midfield while up front the full-forward line of Robbie Tasker, Eugene McVerry and Gavin McParland is a particularly lively unit.

Indeed, the trio have landed the lion's share of Armagh's championship scores to date but while manager McShane will again hope they come up trumps tomorrow, he is even more anxious that his defence should remain solid.

"Kildare have shown that they can break quickly and manufacture scores. We have to keep our guard up," says McShane who has brought in former Armagh ace Oisin McConville in the recent past to help spur his side along.

Former Kildare player Brian Murphy is in charge of his county's Minor side and, while disappointed that they fell to Dublin in the Leinster final after extra-time, believes they will have reaped benefits from this experience.

"We missed a few chances in that game which did not help us," explains Murphy.

Aussie Rules target Paul Cribbin, Cian Reynolds and Darrock Mulhall are their key players.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 31, 2009, 02:03:11 PM
I see that Armagh are favourites for the All-Ireland so we'll be up against it tomorrow. Both teams played a challenge match in Celbridge around March or April which Armagh won by two points so that suggests that there might not be too much between them. Difficult to guage how much you can read into these challenge matches though.

Kildare should have beaten Dublin the first day out in Croke Park. They started very slowly but once they got used to their surroundings they were more than a match for the Dubs. Darrock Mulhall pointed a free from under the Cusack Stand with the Hill roaring at him going into injury time to put Kildare ahead but Dublin equalised with the last kick of the match. Kildare started the replay in Carlow very badly. They kicked a load of wides during the first ten minutes that seemed to drain their confidence. Dublin were six points up at half time but Kildare showed great heart to come back and draw level in the second half. They had put so much into the come back that they had nothing left to give in extra time and Dublin won comfortably enough in the end.

The team is built around a good solid defence and midfield, with a handful of excellent individuals in the forwards. Our first choice full-back went off injured at Croke Park and he's been badly missed since. Whether he's fit for tomorrow I don't know. Tomás Moolick is the driving force in midfield. Darrock Mulhall and Paul Cribbin provide the bit of class up front. Mulhall is a first cousin of Tadhg Fennin and he possesses a similar eye for goal. Cribbin was on the Edenderry team that made the Hogan Cup Final and is a great talent. He had trials in Australia a few months ago and apparently has been offered a contract with Collingwood to start when he turns eighteen. Kildare won't be found wanting in a battle but they probably lack enough free-scoring forwards to go far in the All-Ireland series.
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 02:08:02 PM
18 mins gone Cill Dara 1-2 Ard Mhacha 0-8

Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 02:20:18 PM
19 mins gone Cill Dara 1-2 Ard Mhacha 1-8
Post by: Armamike on August 01, 2009, 02:28:02 PM
Now 6 in it. Armagh 1-9 Kildare 1-3
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 02:32:39 PM
Half-Time: Cill Dara 1-3 Ard Mhacha 1-10
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2009, 02:37:45 PM
Well done, Armagh, only the regular first half goal conceded to keep it interesting. I doubt if the wind favours either side much but Armagh had any benefit there was.
Post by: armagh leg-end on August 01, 2009, 02:45:34 PM
seem to be doing well here! hope they can keep it up!
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:00:49 PM
Cill Dara 1-7 Ard Mhacha 1-12 about 15 mins to go
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:05:52 PM
Cill Dara 2-7 Ard Mhacha 1-13 about 10 mins to go
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:10:24 PM
Cill Dara 2-8 Ard Mhacha 1-13 only 2 points in it and about 5 mins left. Armagh under serious pressure
Post by: Armamike on August 01, 2009, 03:16:33 PM
own goal by Kildare. game over
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:20:11 PM
Full-Time: Cill Dara 2-8 Ard Mhacha 2-14
Post by: Harpo on August 01, 2009, 03:28:10 PM
Great stuff!!!  Well done to the minors and all involved.   ;D
Post by: armagh leg-end on August 01, 2009, 03:32:30 PM
brilliant win! they were under plenty of pressure towards the end.

was listening on fivefm and the line cut off with 2mins to go..worst!lol

who they play now?
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2009, 03:43:23 PM
Kildare certainly put it up to Armagh, their back had hard luck with the own goal, but he he hadn't got a hand to it Armagh would surely have scored.
Post by: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:47:29 PM
Armagh likely next play Kerry on Sunday August 23rd in Croke Park. This will be an opportunity for revenge for 1994 when Kerry gave Armagh minors a bit of a hiding in the All-Ireland semi-final. Kerry went on to win the Tommy Markham cup that year. This was the last time Kerry were All-Ireland minor champions.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 01, 2009, 04:06:05 PM
Armagh worth their win but Kildare kicked it away.  When two points down, Kildare went for a goal again which brought off a flying save.

Note to forwards, no goalkeeper like to be beat by the same type of shot!

Some brilliant fielding by the armagh players and their forwards always looked the most dangerous especially No. 13.
Post by: Armamike on August 01, 2009, 04:45:41 PM
From the radio it sounded like a greatt 15 min spell in the first half won the game for Armagh. It was getting hairy with 5 mins to go, Armagh getting a lucky break with the Kildare own goal and a couple of missed scores. The experience will have done them no harm at all, and they should be battle hardened for the semi.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 01, 2009, 05:07:57 PM
Just in the door. Delighted with the result  ;D. Good game of football with an exciting finish - well worth the trip.

First half was as fine a half's performance as I've seen from any Armagh side for 4 or 5 years. Armagh were completely on top with some excellent scores particularly from Eugene McVerry who gave an absolute exhibition of scoring. The left half back from Cross scored an excellent point after a great move and Gavin McParland showed his soccer skills for the goal. Armagh led 1-10 to 1-3 at half time and probably should have been even further ahead, missing a few good cahnces late in the half.

To be fair to Kildare, they refused to let Armagh pull away and there 6 points in it when they got a great goal which took them within 3. They got another score and were completely on top at midfield wth 5 minutes to go and looked like salvaging at least a draw. Kildare couldn't get any closer though as they kicked 3 or 4 very bad wides and had a goal effort well saved. They came the own goal which finished the match. Felt desperately sorry for the Kildare lad who passed it into his own net, especially as his interception had saved a certain goal. Awful way to lose a match but I think Armagh just about deserved it. If they can replicate their first half form they should have a great chance in the rest of the competition. Thought McVerry was superb and midfield was very good until the last 15, particularly Carragher from Silverbridge, possibly they began to tire a little after that. Good to see that it seems to be different players who are starring in each game.

I noticed from the programme that Kerry have won all 7 quarter finals they've played in. Hadn't realised they've not won the All Ireland sine 94. How strong is the Roscommon team epected to be? I think they only lost the Connacht final after a replay?
Post by: Minder on August 01, 2009, 05:08:52 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:47:29 PM
Armagh likely next play Kerry on Sunday August 23rd in Croke Park. This will be an opportunity for revenge for 1994 when Kerry gave Armagh minors a bit of a hiding in the All-Ireland semi-final. Kerry went on to win the Tommy Markham cup that year. This was the last time Kerry were All-Ireland minor champions.
If i remember right it was on before the Down v Cork AISF, 15 years later it is the only two football matches I have seen in Croke Park
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 01, 2009, 05:11:24 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 01, 2009, 05:08:52 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on August 01, 2009, 03:47:29 PM
If i remember right it was on before the Down v Cork AISF, 15 years later it is the only two football matches I have seen in Croke Park

That was it alright Minder. Remember going as a kid. That was back when they were starting to clamp down on children being lifted over the turnstiles so my da was questioned about whether I had a ticket and said I hadn't, a Garda gave us one for free! Never seen that before or since.
Post by: bennydorano on August 01, 2009, 05:22:29 PM
Very exciting game and as usual Armagh put you through the ringer everytime.  We were holding on with about 5 minutes to go and a Kildare backpass meant for the goalie went in to seal the game.  

Have to say I though we more than deserved the win, the first half performance was good as your likely to see for the rest of the year, totally bossed the game and the forwards ran riot on the possession that was being won around the middle, Kildare scored 1-3 in about the first 15 mins and didn't register again until the second half.  Hard to pinpoint individuals as it was a fantastic team performance in the first half, but McVerry absolutely tortured the FB, who incredulously stayed on him for the full 60mins. MCParland(goal) and Grugan chipped in with some good scores.  

The wind seemed to be swirling more than favouring any team but the run of the second half probably did show that there was a fair advantage.  Kildare definitely upped their game in the second half, but  helped by some soft refeering decisions. Near the end we were hanging on for dear life as Kildare fired wide after woeful wide, then the own goal and another point to wrap it up.

Good performance but the second half shows there's plenty to work on, the number 9 Donnelly and 6 rowland looked a bit at sea in the second half IMO.  Think the CHB & FB positions are a concern as Deccie McKenna was asked to do a firefighting job in both positions on ocassion.  Carragher in MF, MCParland, Grugan and McVerry were VG with Tasker working very hard too.  Think the N7 tagged on a coule of points as well.   Murnon? wearing 11 but playing MF had an excellent game as well, his best yet by a long way.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2009, 05:57:19 PM
First off, well done Armagh. Better side won on the day without a doubt.

Kildare's lack of natural forwards came back to haunt us again. We couldn't get Cribbin and Mulhall involved in the match in the first half and we paid the price for it. To give them their due though, they showed great heart again to battle their way back into it just like the Meath game and the two Dublin matches. With a few minutes to go when we got it back to two points, I thought we might sneak it but the goal at the end was cruel and unfortunate. Seán Dowling was badly missed at full-back and he would have made a better fist of curbing McVerry.

Armagh looked equipped to go all the way but most of this Kildare team are eligible again next year and the experience will benefit them in the long run. No reason why they can't give the All-Ireland a decent rattle next year if they unearth one or two more scoring forwards.
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2009, 06:25:24 PM
The lube on the RTE radio sport at 5.30 said that Armagh were playing the winners of Dublin and Down in the final! The tv sport didn't even give the score!
Post by: mountainboii on August 01, 2009, 07:17:26 PM
Really glad I went to this one, these young lads are doing a pretty good job of salvaging something from a crappy year for Armagh football.

First half performance was magnificent, but for the sloppy goal given away it probably would've been curtains there and then for Kildare. But we left them just within reach and nearly paid for it.

The big positives for me were the way we looked physically much superior to Kildare in the first half, bossing midfield and running straight through their defence. Not many have really mentioned him, but I thought Murnin was fantastic in that first half. He must've taken 6 or 7 kickouts, along with chipping over a point or two and getting in a last ditch block at the other end. His performance was a huge surprise to me as he'd looked ordinary enough in the games to date. McVerry was awesome too, had the beating of his man every single time. He looks the real deal if he can be kept at it over the next few years. Tasker was a pest for the Kildare defence too but he needs to produce a bit more end product for me, some of his decision making is very poor but maybe that'll come with age.

Despite the win there were also plenty of negatives, some of which have crept up in other games too. The obvious one is the continued concession of goals - 7 in 4 games now. Sooner rather than later we're gonna pay for this. Not for the first time I thought there were big problems in defence, with Kildare getting a lot of joy from both running down the middle of us and from hitting high balls in on top of the FB line. Don't wanna be too critical of the young lads but I think there is a serious lack of physical presence in the middle of the defence with neither the FB and CHB being particularly big. The two corner backs and the keeper are small men too, and this compounds the problems faced when high balls are hit in. I was also concerned about the general fitness of the team. This is an issue I remember raising after the Tyrone game too. A lot of Armagh lads, especially those around the middle, looked out on their feet less than half way through the second half. The number nine, Donnelly I think, was visible shattered for most of the second half yet stayed on until there were only 2 or 3 minutes to go. This leads me to my next concern, Kildare were on top for a good 20 minutes in the second half but no changes were made on the Armagh team until the game was nearly over. I can't understand why changes weren't made earlier when so many lads looked tired and we were beginning to take a tanking at midfield.

Good win but plenty to work on - suppose thats not a bad position to be in really :)
Post by: Throw ball on August 01, 2009, 07:41:19 PM
One of the best games I have seen this year, although the rain tried to spoil it for the second half. Although McVerry will rightly get the plaudits I thought some of the passing from Grugan were top notch. He really can find a man. Also the forward running off the ball was very good. I was also surprised to see no subs introduced until so late in the game. Overall I think Armagh had the better forwards and Kildare the better defence. McKenna played well in every position, Murnin and Carragher did well until they tired. Up front apart from McVerry and Grugan I thought McParland played well. Actually thought Tasker had one of his poorer games, although he obviously has bags of ability. For Kildare I thought the number 11 (Cribben?) looked a real star.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on August 01, 2009, 09:34:09 PM
Great game.Great result. Dismal crowd.
Firstly a note on Kildare who desrve great credit , never gave up and suffered one of the most bizarre own goals I've ever seen in 35 years watching football.The poor lad who "scored" it was distraught at the end. Was'nt his fault Kildare lost.
Armagh dazzling in patches, some scores of real class. We faded for long periods in the second half though. Winning margin flatters us 2/3 points would have been a fairer reflection.
Still an AISF to look forward to.
Post by: mackers on August 03, 2009, 09:07:26 AM
The first half was good a performance from an Armagh side as I've seen in a long time. The lad McVerry reminds me of Stevie McDonnell, Tasker had a quiet first half but won a number of frees when all the Kildare backs could do with him was foul him in the second. What I like about this team is different players stand up to be counted in different games with the lad Murnin outstanding. He has some spring and got up a number of great catches in the first half.  Croke Park will suit this set of forwards.
However as other posters have said we have weaknesses, with the keeper being a very small lad and no physical presence at FB. This has to be addressed before the semi and Paul McShane has to trust his bench more and fire on the subs earlier.

Post by: David McKeown on August 04, 2009, 04:42:35 PM
Extended highlights available here http://www.armagh-gaa.com/Football/News/Armagh-2-14-Kildare-2-08.aspx