GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 11:03:49 PM

Title: Kerry V Antrim
Post by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 11:03:49 PM
so is this the start of kerrys revenge against our northern brothers? tho i'm annoyed its at a neutral venue its a novel pairing. cant remember kerry meeting antrim in the championship before (tho i'm not 125 years) so it'll be interesting....
Title: Re: Kerry V Antrim
Post by: Gold on July 19, 2009, 11:09:25 PM
we'll be taking revenge for your rough -house tactics in 1946
Post by: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 02:40:42 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 11:03:49 PM
so is this the start of kerrys revenge against our northern brothers? tho i'm annoyed its at a neutral venue its a novel pairing. cant remember kerry meeting antrim in the championship before (tho i'm not 125 years) so it'll be interesting....

1912  Jones' Road August 25 Semi-Final Antrim 3-5 Kerry 0-2.
1946 Croke Park  August 18th Semi-Final Kerry 2-7 Antrim 0-10.

They're playing for keeps.
Post by: laoisgaa on July 21, 2009, 05:30:01 PM
The GAA has confirmed that the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifier between Antrim and Kerry will have a 2pm throw in on Sunday at O'Connor Park, Tullamore.

The game will be refereed by Donegal official Jimmy White
Post by: AZOffaly on July 21, 2009, 05:31:28 PM
2 pm!!! Bollox. Ferbane have a championship game on Sunday at 12 in Ballycumber. It'll be tight.
Post by: laoisgaa on July 21, 2009, 05:38:35 PM
Yeah amazingly I was thinking the same AZ. I think i'm down to cover both games!!!!!!
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2009, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 21, 2009, 05:31:28 PM
2 pm!!! Bollox. Ferbane have a championship game on Sunday at 12 in Ballycumber. It'll be tight.

Kerry and Antrim might be late in starting anyway.
Post by: paulmacc on July 23, 2009, 01:49:37 PM
Saffron manager Liam Bradley has already hit out at the choice of venue for the qualifier against the Kingdom.

Following discussions between Antrim and Croke Park on Tuesday, an earlier start time was announced.

Bradley believes the game should be staged at Parnell Park in Dublin after the Saffrons hurling side play Offaly.

"It's a disgrace - you've got these bureaucrats at Croke Park who haven't a clue," Bradley told the Irish News.

"You would have got 7,000 or 8,000 Antrim fans going to Dublin but you'll be lucky to get 1,500 at Tullamore."

He added: "Antrim hurlers are playing Offaly at Parnell Park and it was obvious to put the footballers on after them for a double-header.

"I hear they're using the U2 concert at Croke Park as an excuse and the Kerry supporters will have trouble getting into Parnell Park. Sure

there'll be no Kerry people at it anyway."

I think your right Liam!!!
Post by: stew on July 23, 2009, 06:58:56 PM
Quote from: paulmacc on July 23, 2009, 01:49:37 PM
Saffron manager Liam Bradley has already hit out at the choice of venue for the qualifier against the Kingdom.

Following discussions between Antrim and Croke Park on Tuesday, an earlier start time was announced.

Bradley believes the game should be staged at Parnell Park in Dublin after the Saffrons hurling side play Offaly.

"It's a disgrace - you've got these bureaucrats at Croke Park who haven't a clue," Bradley told the Irish News.

"You would have got 7,000 or 8,000 Antrim fans going to Dublin but you'll be lucky to get 1,500 at Tullamore."

He added: "Antrim hurlers are playing Offaly at Parnell Park and it was obvious to put the footballers on after them for a double-header.

"I hear they're using the U2 concert at Croke Park as an excuse and the Kerry supporters will have trouble getting into Parnell Park. Sure

there'll be no Kerry people at it anyway."

I think your right Liam!!!

He is right, there will be a few Kerry wans there but this decision is a disgrace, it would make far more sense to have the footballers and hurlers from Antrim play at the same stadium and it would boost the size of the crowd. Somebody needs to shake the decision makers on this fiasco.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2009, 07:17:25 PM
It isn't that easy, the two games would not fit in Parnell Pk without tickets, and I presume that Antrim did not wish to move the hurling to Tullamore.
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 07:38:51 PM
mods, any chance ye'd merge this with the other kerry v antrim thread? i didnt realise one was open (by only a few minutes in my defence!) when i started this one
Post by: paulmacc on July 24, 2009, 01:45:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 23, 2009, 07:17:25 PM
It isn't that easy, the two games would not fit in Parnell Pk without tickets, and I presume that Antrim did not wish to move the hurling to Tullamore.

Why not? Parnell Park holds 13500. It 's highly unlikely Offaly and Kerry will bring more than 3 or 4 thousand between them and Antrim at most might bring 7 or 8 thousand.
Post by: armaghniac on July 24, 2009, 02:10:02 PM
QuoteWhy not? Parnell Park holds 13500. It 's highly unlikely Offaly and Kerry will bring more than 3 or 4 thousand between them and Antrim at most might bring 7 or 8 thousand.

it is difficult to say, there are quite a few people with Kerry connections in Dublin as well as any travelling support and there were a more than 7000 Antrim people in Clones. The point is that if the crowd might be more than 80% of the capacity then tickets are required, which is hard to manage. Of course everything would have fitted into Navan or Portlaoise.
Post by: BerfArmagh on July 24, 2009, 03:32:41 PM
Never thought i'd see the day, Rte is backing antrim for an upset

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0724/antim_kerry.html
Post by: tyssam5 on July 24, 2009, 07:39:53 PM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on July 24, 2009, 03:32:41 PM
Never thought i'd see the day, Rte is backing antrim for an upset

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0724/antim_kerry.html

To be honest I didn't think Antrim were great at all in the their last game. There defence was no where near the level of what Sligo put up to Kerry in the last game. Kerry by 5.
Post by: Antrim lad on July 25, 2009, 02:39:16 PM
Is the game being shown anywhere on t.v?
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 25, 2009, 02:42:22 PM
Quote from: Antrim lad on July 25, 2009, 02:39:16 PM
Is the game being shown anywhere on t.v?

being streamed live on rte.ie i believe.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 25, 2009, 03:02:51 PM
any unblocked RTE links out there? PM me if someone has one....thank you
Post by: haranguerer on July 26, 2009, 12:46:01 PM
As above - anyone know any sites which will work in the north?
Post by: comethekingdom on July 26, 2009, 12:58:21 PM
The rte.ie link is supposed to work for the Island of Ireland!
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 26, 2009, 01:11:44 PM
Supposed being the operative word
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 01:14:13 PM
Quote from: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 26, 2009, 01:11:44 PM
Supposed being the operative word
[/quote

Mine doesn't work either.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 01:16:21 PM
any unblocked links pass my way
cant believe this game is not live on tv
Post by: Rav67 on July 26, 2009, 01:20:09 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on July 25, 2009, 03:02:51 PM
any unblocked RTE links out there? PM me if someone has one....thank you

as above, any link would be appreciated
Post by: Deal_Me_In on July 26, 2009, 01:32:38 PM
PM me the link too
Post by: Doire abú on July 26, 2009, 01:33:52 PM
pm me too! thanks.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 01:40:14 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on July 26, 2009, 01:33:52 PM
pm me too! thanks.

I'd take a link if someone had it as well please. I've never got RTE's player to work up here.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 01:42:13 PM
Post the link or PM me please.
Post by: cornerback on July 26, 2009, 01:47:41 PM
I'll take a link too if there is one going...
Post by: joemamas on July 26, 2009, 01:48:00 PM
likewise please a link
Post by: Irelands32 on July 26, 2009, 01:49:17 PM
And again.

Thanks
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 01:51:26 PM
Link! Link! Link!

Rav I am looking at you... If you get one and I don't I won't be happy...
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 01:55:08 PM
feck sake not a sausage
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 01:56:10 PM
Any radio stations carrying commentary?
Post by: stibhan on July 26, 2009, 01:57:48 PM
link me please
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 01:59:01 PM
I've got RTE to work using the RealPlayer link.
Post by: Irelands32 on July 26, 2009, 02:01:06 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 02:01:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 01:59:01 PM
I've got RTE to work using the RealPlayer link.

So have I!!
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:03:40 PM
Go to RTE.ie and launch the GAA Media Player. Gives you all the options of what to watch. Under the description of Antrim Vs. Kerry, there's a WMP link, or a Real Player link.
Post by: mick999 on July 26, 2009, 02:05:20 PM
http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/32gb/rsw2-450.asx?name=WEBONLY_LIVE_Antrim_v_Kerry (http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/32gb/rsw2-450.asx?name=WEBONLY_LIVE_Antrim_v_Kerry)

Windows Media limk working for me , as abover
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:06:36 PM
Anyone else have a terrible feed?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 02:08:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:06:36 PM

Mine is cat. I am gonna try this other one posted above.
Post by: Fluffysocks on July 26, 2009, 02:08:52 PM
yeah me too terrible feed

Post by: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:09:06 PM

very pixilated?
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:09:44 PM
Right, now any time I click the link I'm given the Dublin-Limerick match. This is a joke.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 02:10:17 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:09:06 PM

very pixilated?

Yeah... was beginning to think maybe it was my internet connection but it couldn't be as I had been downloading stuf there at good speeds... Now I have them closed and the RTE player is only thing opened.

Second link is worse than the original.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 02:12:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:09:44 PM
Right, now any time I click the link I'm given the Dublin-Limerick match. This is a joke.

f**k sake this is happening to me as well... Just gona listen to it on Radio Ulster or something.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 26, 2009, 02:12:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:09:44 PM

I get the same as that. Absolutely useless. They shouldn't advertise it as live on the net if they can't get it to work properly.
Post by: supersarsfields on July 26, 2009, 02:13:17 PM
Same happening me!!
Post by: comethekingdom on July 26, 2009, 02:13:37 PM
goal for Tommy Walsh!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:13:53 PM
Mine has no crowd noise, it's very offputting
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:17:47 PM
no pictures now at all.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 02:18:05 PM
Jaysus I can't even get a radio station link to work ???
Post by: stibhan on July 26, 2009, 02:18:34 PM
TS Express!
Post by: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:18:52 PM
get fecking in there
Post by: comethekingdom on July 26, 2009, 02:19:09 PM
Goal for Antrim! - Tony Scullion.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:19:58 PM
Does anyone have a working link?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:21:03 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 02:18:05 PM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features)
Click on the real player option and it's working for me - well when I say working, the picture is freezing and there's no crowd noise.
Post by: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:22:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:19:58 PM
Does anyone have a working link?

rte one goosed and ducked as well
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:23:12 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:21:03 PM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/mediaplayer.html?features)
Click on the real player option and it's working for me - well when I say working, the picture is freezing and there's no crowd noise.

I'm losing patience, it's like watching a slide show.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:24:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:21:03 PM

Still gives me the hurling!
Post by: The Subbie on July 26, 2009, 02:25:24 PM
Commentry is sh1te as well, why does the hoor keep buffering and freezing >:( >:(
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:26:48 PM
Is there radio coverage anywhere? Radio Ulster has Hugo f**king Duncan on.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 02:27:02 PM
this is a fking joke
keep getting the hurling which is on the fking tv
listening on the radio now
useless cnts
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2009, 02:27:30 PM
got about 10 seconds of the match at the start and then the connection went. anytime i've tried the link since i'm getting the hurling also. what a fiasco  >:(
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2009, 02:28:01 PM
Refreshed and it's now showing (sort of) Kerry-Antrim on the RealPlayer link.

Muppets.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:28:12 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2009, 02:27:30 PM
got about 10 seconds of the match at the start and then the connection went. anytime i've tried the link since i'm getting the hurling also. what a fiasco  >:(

Ditto.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 02:28:26 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/default.stm

radio ulster link
quality coverage to be fair
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:29:22 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 26, 2009, 02:25:24 PM
Commentry is sh1te as well, why does the hoor keep uffering and freezing >:( >:(
He keeps repeating the same stuff on mine as well.

Ive still got the football.

You're not missing anything, if this doesnt improve I'm turning it off, it's winding me up.
You've  no crowd noise, complete silence apart from the commentary and absolutely no running footage because it's freezing that much, just like watching a slide show - and the commentary is about 30 seconds ahead of the pictures.  

(and my internet connection is EXCELLENT - so that is not the problem!)

What an absolute pathetic effort by RTE.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:29:39 PM
Picture is (kind of) back on the RTE site.
Post by: gallsman on July 26, 2009, 02:33:28 PM
And to think I paid a licence fee in Dublin this year as well. Where's the refund desk?
Post by: theoriginalmup on July 26, 2009, 02:34:08 PM
rtsp://89.207.56.25/broadcast/rsw2-450.rm
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:34:15 PM
Right that's it, it's going off, patience lost! Commentary lost now as well.  
Post by: mick999 on July 26, 2009, 02:35:54 PM
realplayer link is crap..
Windows media player working better for me ..
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:36:19 PM
Draw at half time ? 1-3 a piece ?
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 02:38:07 PM
www.q101.2.fm
live commentary...paddy hunter....poor commentator but live all the same
Post by: supersarsfields on July 26, 2009, 02:38:59 PM
"one pleyer practicing sport is better than 50 people preaching sport"

Go feck of!!
Post by: Bensars on July 26, 2009, 02:39:09 PM
they are all crap.  Disgraceful from an organisation like RTE
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2009, 02:39:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 02:36:43 PM
Come on Antrim!!

Antrim up by a point

At work here, very low scoring??? and antrim missed chances??? Kerry there for the taking again? Is there a wind? Appreciate answers to all 4.
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2009, 02:39:52 PM
do antrim have the breeze for the 2nd half?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 26, 2009, 02:40:42 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 26, 2009, 02:39:09 PM
they are all crap.  Disgraceful from an organisation like RTE
It's a f**king joke! advertising web based coverage, HA!
Post by: Frank Casey on July 26, 2009, 02:42:22 PM
How many steps did Scullion take before popping the goal?
Post by: mick999 on July 26, 2009, 02:42:28 PM
according to the commentary, antrim won the toss and elected to play against the strong breeze ..
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 02:43:32 PM
Kerry there for the taking I guess but I reckon they'll just stick at it and know what to do late on. I hope I'm wrong. My God though it is hard to believe they were within a Declan O'Sullivan kick of winning the All-Ireland last year. If Antrim convince themselves that they can do it then they will. But that will be the problem.
Post by: downtown on July 26, 2009, 02:44:52 PM
can ya get this game on the internet live anywhere or even listen to it sum where
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:45:15 PM
This Antrim team have no fear. Not paying Kerry any respect.

Question is, can they hold it together ?

Wind won't win the game for them.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 02:46:17 PM
Quote from: downtown on July 26, 2009, 02:44:52 PM
can ya get this game on the internet live anywhere or even listen to it sum where

I'm watching it on windows media on the rte.ie website. I think it is island of Ireland only, which was the bane of my existence when I was in Australia.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 26, 2009, 02:46:38 PM
No cohesion to the Kerry side atall. Very worrying at this stage of the championship. I think we have disimproved from the Sligo game!
Post by: Rav67 on July 26, 2009, 02:46:49 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 02:38:07 PM
www.q101.2.fm

Can't find the link on that site! Cant listen to radio ulster either, my internet explorer stalls every time i visit any bbc site
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2009, 02:46:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 02:41:44 PM
1-04
1-03

Both teams missed chances.

Kerryb there for the taking alright.

Antrim have wind in the 2nd half.

Surely cant get let off the hook 3 weekends in a row. Come on Antrim. Just do it. Surely they will have learned from Sligo and Longfords mistakes, ie composure and ruthlesseness in the final quarter. Belief is key. Run at Kerry and Draw in the frees and Cunningham will finish....
Post by: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:48:12 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:45:15 PM
This Antrim team have no fear. Not paying Kerry any respect.

Question is, can they hold it together ?

Wind won't win the game for them.

hope it doesnt change the way they approach the secong half either
Post by: stibhan on July 26, 2009, 02:48:23 PM
C'MON ANTRIM!!!
Post by: blanketattack on July 26, 2009, 02:49:07 PM
Flags were blowing to the right a minute ago and now to the left so I'd say wind not favouring anyway, probably more across the field.
Post by: Bensars on July 26, 2009, 02:50:43 PM
Is the rte link down at the minute? ( i.e until the second half starts ?)
Post by: Square Ball on July 26, 2009, 02:51:24 PM
here we go
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 02:51:59 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 26, 2009, 02:46:49 PM
www.q101.2.fm

Can't find the link on that site! Cant listen to radio ulster either, my internet explorer stalls every time i visit any bbc site

Just click on 'listen live'....playing music at the mo.
Post by: supersarsfields on July 26, 2009, 02:53:16 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 26, 2009, 02:46:49 PM
www.q101.2.fm

I got if of this. Half time now so playing few songs. But will start back up with Paddy hunter for the second half.

http://www.q101west.fm/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=155&Itemid=54
Post by: mick999 on July 26, 2009, 02:53:26 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 26, 2009, 02:50:43 PM
Is the rte link down at the minute? ( i.e until the second half starts ?)
\\

rte link back for me,

Darragh was just doing the sound check ..

Come on Antirm !!
Post by: north down on July 26, 2009, 02:54:02 PM
C'mon Antrim its all about belief now - you have the skills and the ability. Kerry are there for the taking but can't be ruled out until the final whistle.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 02:55:28 PM
Didn't take long to get Gooch on.....that'll teach him!
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:57:50 PM
boxing
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 02:58:25 PM
He's going nowhere HS >:(
Did I hear that right..O'shea threw a box and he books both of them ??? FFS
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 02:58:58 PM
yellow cards only
Post by: north down on July 26, 2009, 02:59:38 PM
If it was boxing then why did he not walk????
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:01:10 PM
yellow for aodhan gallagher now too
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:01:31 PM
C'mon Antrim
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:02:04 PM
If Antrim win, and I think they might, I can see Darragh O Se losing the rag late on and having a Zinedine Zidane moment. Hope I'm wrong on that front.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:02:25 PM
when did the gooch come on?
Post by: north down on July 26, 2009, 03:02:42 PM
Gooch 1 O'Connor 0 - surely the decision to bring Gooch on is an indication that he shouldn't have been left off in the first place.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:03:41 PM
Tomas O Se on now as well, for O Mahony.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:03:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 03:02:57 PM
Quote from: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:02:25 PM
when did the gooch come on?
Just before half time.

Thanks. Tomas O Se on now aswell
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:04:23 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:02:04 PM
If Antrim win, and I think they might, I can see Darragh O Se losing the rag late on and having a Zinedine Zidane moment. Hope I'm wrong on that front.

He might do it anyway.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:05:09 PM
Kerry picking up everything in the middle now
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:05:28 PM
All square now, Gooch free
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:05:40 PM
a draw now
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:06:05 PM
And Kerry look like they're turning the screw around the middle.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:06:24 PM
Listening to Paddy Hunter, Kerry have been building a 'head-of-steam' 3 times now in 5 minutes.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:07:49 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:06:24 PM
Listening to Paddy Hunter, Kerry have been building a 'head-of-steam' 3 times now in 5 minutes.

aye....'there's no doubt about that...so to speak....' wait for that spake!
Post by: dodgy umpire on July 26, 2009, 03:08:46 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:07:49 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:06:24 PM

aye....'there's no doubt about that...so to speak....' wait for that spake!

:D :D
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:08:59 PM
Need next score
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:09:08 PM
Kerry in front, mike mc carthy driving forward, Galvin makes it 1-7 to 1-5, four poiints on the bounce. Antrim need to stop standing back and being so star struck
Post by: Puckoon on July 26, 2009, 03:09:29 PM
Paddy is a big fan of the "so to speak"!

Come on Antrim!
Post by: ogshead on July 26, 2009, 03:10:14 PM
Anyone know the proper score... rte.ie wouldn't let me watch the match, just showed advertisements
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:10:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 26, 2009, 03:09:29 PM
Paddy is a big fan of the "so to speak"!

Come on Antrim!

fond of the head of steam.

1 point game.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:10:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 03:10:20 PM
Good man Hands.

next one as well...
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:11:14 PM
Great kick Cunningham, didn't need to take the yards forward!
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:11:18 PM
Quote from: ogshead on July 26, 2009, 03:10:14 PM
Anyone know the proper score... rte.ie wouldn't let me watch the match, just showed advertisements

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0726/matchtracker.html
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:11:57 PM
Who is marking Mike McCarthy? He's running riot.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2009, 03:12:14 PM
Sounds like McCarthy is doing serious damage.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:12:30 PM
2 in it
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:12:49 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:11:57 PM
Who is marking Mike McCarthy? He's running riot.

They are saying in the second half he's back tracking Terry O'Neil
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 03:13:11 PM
What was the Antrim starting team? Much different than last week?

Seems Dara O'Se is up to his usual behaviour again. The Terry O'Neill role seems to be a problem for Antrim again as McCarthy running riot.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:13:24 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:12:30 PM
2 in it

needed that one
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:14:16 PM
I've a notion that Kerry are going to pull off a shock here.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:14:39 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:13:24 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:12:30 PM
2 in it

needed that one

This time
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:15:03 PM
back to one in it
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:15:22 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:14:16 PM

hat...win by more than a point??
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:17:41 PM
Oh my God Gooch not taking that free on himself is amazing. Kerry are so fucked. I hope we get them in the quarters.
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:18:07 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:17:41 PM
Oh my God Gooch not taking that free on himself is amazing. Kerry are so fucked. I hope we get them in the quarters.

provided they win!
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:18:43 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:15:22 PM

Well I just think if they believe in themselves they have the beating of Antrim here.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:19:13 PM

antrim will bate you lads   ;)
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:19:29 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:18:43 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:15:22 PM

Well I just think if they believe in themselves they have the beating of Antrim here.

aye...there's no doubt about that!
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:20:21 PM
draw
Post by: The Gs Man on July 26, 2009, 03:20:54 PM
Feck
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:21:07 PM
shit
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:21:17 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:19:13 PM

antrim will bate you lads   ;)

I'd sooner we had to play Kerry than Antrim! Still think Kerry will hold out here but not putitng the house on that
Ah f**k Kerry goal there ya go
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:21:24 PM
balls! >:(
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:21:38 PM
Game over
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:22:07 PM
goal for kerry

keery will be hard to bate from here
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:22:16 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:21:38 PM
Game over

'so to seak'
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 03:22:34 PM
Thanks for coming Antrim.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:22:46 PM
great mccann point
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:22:16 PM
Game over

'so to seak'

???
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:23:05 PM
yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss ;D ;D ;D
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:23:22 PM
back to 2
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:23:30 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:22:16 PM
Game over

'so to seak'

???

'speak..'   too excited!
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:24:36 PM
3 in it now
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:24:47 PM
Thaggew and goodnight
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:25:28 PM
5 mins left.
Post by: north down on July 26, 2009, 03:26:02 PM
C'mon Antrim there's still a chance.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 26, 2009, 03:26:23 PM
Is there a Seamus Darby on the Antrim team?
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:27:03 PM
it's slipping away.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:27:22 PM
only a goal will do it now

unlikely
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:28:31 PM
almost over
Post by: popinpoput on July 26, 2009, 03:28:37 PM
Quote from: Azzurri on July 26, 2009, 03:27:22 PM
only a goal will do it now

unlikely

still.......showed how weak kerry really are.....good effort all round
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:28:48 PM
Another point.

4 up now.
Post by: north down on July 26, 2009, 03:29:05 PM
Looks like that bit of inexperience is going to beat them.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:30:00 PM
Kerry pulling away, 5 in it now
Post by: Bensars on July 26, 2009, 03:30:17 PM
Is the draw for the QF on RTE ?
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:30:25 PM
Fair play to Kerry, should be an inspiration to any of the smaller teams in the country, if you believe anything is possible!
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:31:07 PM
off the cross bar by loughrey
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:31:59 PM
Kerry 2-12 Antrim 1-10 FT

Well played Antrim ye gave us a fright but we just got through in the end.
Post by: CoDeo2 on July 26, 2009, 03:32:57 PM
How many times did he say "engineer a score" too.
Post by: milltown row on July 26, 2009, 03:33:13 PM
had Antrim took those goal chances we'd have won. fair play to Antrim.

that was the worst biased commentry ever
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 03:33:29 PM
Only one team was going to win that in the end. The longer it went on the further ahead Kerry were getting.

The Kingdom survive again. It can't be luck every week lads...
Post by: Frank Casey on July 26, 2009, 03:33:40 PM
Time to change the jocks. Well fought Antrim.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:33:53 PM
Fair play to Antrim - never lay down. Kerry only pulled away in the last 10 minutes. Antrim can be proud of the effort they put in.

Kerry are in it and will probably draw Tyrone this evening.
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:35:09 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:30:25 PM
Fair play to Kerry, should be an inspiration to any of the smaller teams in the country, if you believe anything is possible!

No of AI Titles : Kerry  35  ;D ;D ;D
                     Tyrone 3

You must be inferring that Tyrone are a small team. . . . . . . . .  :P :P :P
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:35:27 PM
Love it the boys on Radio Kerry reckon that Kerry would not beat Tyrone or Dublin at the moment maybe not even Kildare, no mention of Mayo, hope to meet Kerry in the next round. They rating Sligo better than Antrim.

What time is the draw at in Ireland, is it soon? Its quarter to one in the morning here.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:36:13 PM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 03:33:29 PM
Only one team was going to win that in the end. The longer it went on the further ahead Kerry were getting.

Nope it not luck. There is no doubt that Kerry are marginally better than most Div 4 teams.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:37:15 PM
Quote from: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:35:09 PM

Tyrone 3

I might have been implying, but you are doing the inferring. Back to school for you son.
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:37:24 PM

ffs so you keep saying, i hope we get tyrone - because we need a good game and beating mayo again is a waste of our time
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 03:37:32 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:36:13 PM

Nope it not luck. There is no doubt that Kerry are marginally better than most Div 4 teams.

Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:38:42 PM
Can any of the Kerry lads tell us what happened that Gooch and Tomas were dropped ?
Post by: cadhlancian on July 26, 2009, 03:39:20 PM

Tyrone 3

lots of posts there , to be talking shite
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:39:47 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:37:24 PM

ffs so you keep saying, i hope we get tyrone - because we need a good game and beating mayo again is a waste of our time

You aren't in an arses roar of Mayo, think 1996 semi-final rather than our recent final meetings.
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:41:15 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:35:27 PM
Love it the boys on Radio Kerry reckon that Kerry would not beat Tyrone or Dublin at the moment maybe not even Kildare, no mention of Mayo, hope to meet Kerry in the next round. They rating Sligo better than Antrim.

What time is the draw at in Ireland, is it soon? Its quarter to one in the morning here.

kerry werent playing tyrone or dublin at the 'moment'

fair play to antrim, paddy cunningham is some player
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:42:58 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:41:15 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:35:27 PM

kerry werent playing tyrone or dublin at the 'moment'

fair play to antrim, paddy cunningham is some player

Wasn't my point, they rating Dublin and more suprisingly Kildare ahead of Mayo, another reason I hope we meet Kerry, hopefully their players will be under the same delusion too.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:43:26 PM
Managerial genius by Jack O'Connor. I think him not naming his team to the last minute was the winning of that game.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 03:43:49 PM
tyssam5, you might have me down as a Kerryman - I'm not - Mayo meself. I just think that today was Kerry's most convincing performance of the last three by a country mile, and they're not playing any worse than Tyrone were when they scraped past Mayo last year. It wouldn't surprise me if today was the launchpad for greater things from Kerry, just as that match was for Tyrone in '08.

Having said that, a Tyrone v Kerry draw this evening would be some craic  ;)
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 03:44:12 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:37:15 PM

Tyrone 3

I might have been implying, but you are doing the inferring. Back to school for you son.

My literary skills may leave a lot to be desired but your inital  atttempt at humour was weak in comparison ;)

Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:44:34 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:39:47 PM

You aren't in an arses roar of Mayo, think 1996 semi-final rather than our recent final meetings.

i will cry if kerry get mayo, the last thing kerry need is a repeat of that farce
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:45:19 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:44:34 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:39:47 PM

i will cry if kerry get mayo, the last thing kerry need is a repeat of that farce

Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:49:00 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 03:37:32 PM

what did tyrone beat antrim by?

kerry need to wake the fock up and now and tyrone are the team they'll wake up for. q/f is the perfect time for kerry to get tyrone with nothing expected from kerry. kerry will beat any off the other teams in the q/f but i'd rather get tyrone now then later
Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:49:22 PM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 03:43:49 PM
tyssam5, you might have me down as a Kerryman - I'm not - Mayo meself. I just think that today was Kerry's most convincing performance of the last three by a country mile, and they're not playing any worse than Tyrone were when they scraped past Mayo last year. It wouldn't surprise me if today was the launchpad for greater things from Kerry, just as that match was for Tyrone in '08.

Fair enough, if you want to put Mayo in the same bracket as Longford, Sligo and Antrim I'll not stand in your way.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:51:06 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:49:22 PM

Fair enough, if you want to put Mayo in the same bracket as Longford, Sligo and Antrim I'll not stand in your way.

Post by: tyssam5 on July 26, 2009, 03:53:33 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:49:00 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 03:37:32 PM

what did tyrone beat antrim by?

kerry need to wake the fock up and now and tyrone are the team they'll wake up for. q/f is the perfect time for kerry to get tyrone with nothing expected from kerry. kerry will beat any off the other teams in the q/f but i'd rather get tyrone now then later

Must have a new feckin alarm clock this year then!!
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 03:55:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 03:52:21 PM
:'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Hard luck Hardstation, sorry Mayo & Tyrone people already muscling in on your thread & the body is still warm.
Post by: milltown row on July 26, 2009, 03:58:03 PM
watch the Galway game first
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 03:58:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 03:55:55 PM
Fcuk it. I'm away to get blocked.

Wait for me !
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2009, 03:59:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 03:52:21 PM
:'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Here you go:
(http://www.dublin-inside.com/includes/guiness-storehouse-dublin_guinness-storehouse-pints.jpg)
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:59:36 PM

mayo can win the ai and i'd love to see them win it if kerry dont because imo after kerry no one loves their football more (try to get a ticket for an ai that involves mayo). however this kerry team has their number for better or for worse. tyrone dont have their number btw and mayo could well beat them. kildare and the dubs just make each other look good and donegal wont go any further. so imo the ai is between kerry/cork/tyrone and mayo (if they avoid kerry)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 04:04:07 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:59:36 PM

mayo can win the ai and i'd love to see them win it if kerry dont because imo after kerry no one loves their football more (try to get a ticket for an ai that involves mayo). however this kerry team has their number for better or for worse. tyrone dont have their number btw and mayo could well beat them. kildare and the dubs just make each other look good and donegal wont go any further. so imo the ai is between kerry/cork/tyrone and mayo (if they avoid kerry)

Thats exactly it though magickingdom, Kerry don't have the make of this Mayo team, this Mayo team is a new team. 6 Mayo players started their first Connacht Final in 2009.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 04:12:48 PM
You might be right SOS. Please God! Plenty of other threads on that topic around...

Anyway, - well done to Antrim on a serious championship run. Ye got the toughest draw going seven days after playing the best team in the country and didn't disgrace yourselves. Don't do a Fermanagh and disappear - come back again in 2010.
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:14:30 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 04:04:07 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 03:59:36 PM

Thats exactly it though magickingdom, Kerry don't have the make of this Mayo team, this Mayo team is a new team.

i bet john o mahony would rather avoid kerry in tonights draw. i bet jack o connor would like tyrone to disappear
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 04:15:23 PM
I want to get Kerry now, not in the Final  ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 04:17:21 PM
Logistically, what would the best possible draws for the GAA ?

Cork v Kerry
Tyrone v Donegal
Kildare v Meath
Dublin v Mayo
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:18:45 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 04:15:23 PM
I want to get Kerry now, not in the Final  ;)

ha ha course you do and wouldn't i look like some fool if mayo won. anyway we'll see soon enough.

Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 04:19:56 PM
What time is draw ? Has it taken place yet ?
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 04:20:36 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 04:17:21 PM
Logistically, what would the best possible draws for the GAA ?

Cork v Kerry
Tyrone v Donegal
Kildare v Meath
Dublin v Mayo

Mayo cannot play Dublin next, both provincial champions.
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:21:43 PM
seemed like a big crowd at the game today despite liam bradleys reservations. however how such a game was not on live on tv is beyond me. also it should have been in belfast or killarney - the home fixtures worked very well in the first 3 rounds so why not in round 4? if that game was in belfast in would help football there imo
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 04:34:16 PM
Listening to Kerry radio there and the thought is, the Kingdom aren't yet ready for Tyrone
and the hope is that they draw Mayo as they play "good open football like ourselves" ::)

Last I checked intentionally fouling the man coming out of defense to stop the momentum
and let their own defense get back into position is hardly "Good open football"
I'd like to see the free stats in the middle 3rd today against Kerry.
They really are as deluded as ever down there and that's OK :D
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 04:42:00 PM
Pity for Antrim... Galvin's goal was the killer.

Still they have came on leaps and bounds this season and are a good young team, playing division three football next year will help as well.

Could they do a Tipp?? Might check the odds when it comes out...
Post by: Midman on July 26, 2009, 04:45:56 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, had a great season and no shame in bowing out to Kerry. I was amazed at the number of frees hot so badly wide, was the wind that bad?  Kerry looked poor for first half but did what they had to in the last 10 minutes of the game. The longer they hang in there the more likely they are to put in a serious performance. I thing if they were drawn against Tyrone now they might catch them. Thread seems to have been hijacked by a few Tyrone lads rubbing it up Kerry, I'd wait til the end of September before starting that craic lads.  Anyway once again hard luck Antim , the two wing backs had quality games and but for a wee bit of cuteness and a bit more exeperinec could of been yours.
Post by: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 05:05:16 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, looked good for ye at halftime. Kerry poor overall but put together just enough passages reminiscent of old to pull through. Still very hopeful of this team clicking.

Some of the posters hijacking this thread leave a lot to be desired
Post by: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 06:33:48 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 05:05:16 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, looked good for ye at halftime. Kerry poor overall but put together just enough passages reminiscent of old to pull through. Still very hopeful of this team clicking.

Some of ye boys are fierce easy bothered....I'm sure you'll get over it Seamus
Post by: blanketattack on July 26, 2009, 06:48:06 PM
Fair dues to Darragh Ó Sé who is getting better and fitter with every game. Antrim were the 18th county he's defeated in the championship. 5 Munster, 4 Connaught, 3 Leinster, 6 Ulster. Meath and Tyrone the odd ones out.
Post by: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 06:52:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 26, 2009, 06:33:48 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 26, 2009, 05:05:16 PM

Some of ye boys are fierce easy bothered....I'm sure you'll get over it Seamus

Nothing to get over Tyrones, just thinking of the genuine Tyrone supporters who must hate to read that drivel
Post by: haranguerer on July 26, 2009, 07:13:51 PM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on July 26, 2009, 04:12:48 PM
You might be right SOS. Please God! Plenty of other threads on that topic around...

Anyway, - well done to Antrim on a serious championship run. Ye got the toughest draw going seven days after playing the best team in the country and didn't disgrace yourselves.
Don't do a Fermanagh and disappear - come back again in 2010.

???
Antrims year could prob be compared with Fermanaghs breakthrough year in 04. Disappear? They've been there or thereabouts every year since.

Any way, hard luck to Antrim. In a great position with such a young team to push on and get Antrim where it should be.
Post by: Pangurban on July 26, 2009, 07:42:06 PM
Hard luck Antrim, but with that team and a bit of perseverance, success is not far away, no one will be laughing at youse from now on
Post by: johnpower on July 26, 2009, 08:36:58 PM
Quote from: Midman on July 26, 2009, 04:45:56 PM
Hard luck to Antrim, had a great season and no shame in bowing out to Kerry. I was amazed at the number of frees hot so badly wide, was the wind that bad?  Kerry looked poor for first half but did what they had to in the last 10 minutes of the game. The longer they hang in there the more likely they are to put in a serious performance. I thing if they were drawn against Tyrone now they might catch them. Thread seems to have been hijacked by a few Tyrone lads rubbing it up Kerry, I'd wait til the end of September before starting that craic lads.  Anyway once again hard luck Antim , the two wing backs had quality games and but for a wee bit of cuteness and a bit more exeperinec could of been yours.

It was I was on the pitch afterwards and was surprised how strong it was .
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 09:43:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p43YYovonS0

Blocked yet ??   ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 09:46:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 09:43:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p43YYovonS0

Blocked yet ??   ;)
Yes. Waiting to see Marc Ó Sé's 'perfect tackle'.

So are the RTE / CCCCCCCCCC panel.   ;)

What's the chances it won't be shown ?
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2009, 09:58:58 PM
Just back from Tullamore (called in to see me mammy on the way home).

I was very dissappointed after the game, and as a blow-in I still feel proud of what they did. A great bunch of players and I hope they stablise their Div 3 status and no reason why thay cant push on for Div 2. They'll probably loose McGreevy and Kevin Brady (and McKeever to Australia) but the rest of the team should be there next year?

Kerry will benefit from that game more than any other this year.

Antrim may say they were unlucky but Kerry always had the players to up their game. The Kerry subsitutions was the key difference. They came on and played imrpoved the team, whereas Antrim's subs either kept the status quo or less. If only Loughry had kept his shot on goal low.

Played well for Antrim I thought was Aodhan Gallagher. Great catching and running with the ball (I'll caveat that by saying I never get the same mom as the experts). Its a pity that Niall McK is leaving. If Antrim fed him steaks for the next ten months he would improve immensely. I know he is young, but he was being shouldered off the ball too easily. Quite often it was left to Tomas McCann to catch midfield ball and he must be the smallest man on the pitch. Fair play to him though for getting up for the ball.

Overall a clean enough match I thought - just a few badly timed tackles. I hope the Antrim kids go home start practising their kicking and catching and their dads intoduce them to their local club.
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2009, 10:03:33 PM
Btw, who was the Antrim player who initially sat facing the wrong way for the team photo?  :)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:36:50 PM
No mention of the O'Se "incident" in the highlights anyway. Maybe they will pick up on it in the analysis.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 10:38:22 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:36:50 PM
No mention of the O'Se "incident" in the highlights anyway. Maybe they will pick up on it in the analysis.

no chance
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:44:05 PM
The 5 frees were the killer blow. Stupid easy frees and all within 25 yards of the goal.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:49:00 PM
The showed the aftermath of it I think when they were talking about Galvin. Showed him going in to take O'Se away.
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2009, 10:49:27 PM
I was convinced that the Antrim goal would have been disallowed for too many steps. I lost count of the number.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 10:59:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 10:56:26 PM
Marc Ó Sé's 'dig' must have been ok, otherwise Tohill would have pounced on it, had he any balls.

Obviously not Tohill's call.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:59:33 PM
Wonder will the full game be available to watch again on RTE website? Probably only way to see it.
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2009, 11:00:12 PM
Did anyone hear the attendance?
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 11:01:20 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 10:59:33 PM
Wonder will the full game be available to watch again on RTE website? Probably only way to see it.

Don't start !!   >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 26, 2009, 11:08:20 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 10:56:26 PM
Marc Ó Sé's 'dig' must have been ok, otherwise Tohill would have pounced on it, had he any balls.

At least he got a hair cut. ::)
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2009, 08:54:03 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 26, 2009, 11:00:12 PM
Did anyone hear the attendance?

You couldn't hear them on RTÉ's webcast anyway.
Post by: Main Street on July 27, 2009, 09:37:21 AM
The RTE website tv listings page had the game down for live transmission on the TV3 schedule.

Post by: bcarrier on July 27, 2009, 10:36:19 AM
Attendance was 8514 according to the Irish news. More than 500 from Kerry there too.

Kerry would be improved by about five points by picking Bryan Sheehan in goals and taking him out to hit the frees. 
Post by: corn02 on July 27, 2009, 11:03:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 10:51:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 26, 2009, 10:49:27 PM
I was convinced that the Antrim goal would have been disallowed for too many steps. I lost count of the number.
Less than Oisin's steps 2002.

For the goal? I think not.

Check out the vidoe, it apears to be five steps, six at a mighty push. Scullion took nine or so.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 27, 2009, 11:09:11 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 27, 2009, 11:03:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 26, 2009, 10:51:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 26, 2009, 10:49:27 PM
Less than Oisin's steps 2002.

For the goal? I think not.

Check out the vidoe, it apears to be five steps, six at a mighty push. Scullion took nine or so.

OK half as many as Cavanagh against the Dubs last year.  I might be biased but I've seen a lot worse.
Post by: haranguerer on July 27, 2009, 11:14:47 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 27, 2009, 10:36:19 AM
Attendance was 8514 according to the Irish news. More than 500 from Kerry there too.

Kerry would be improved by about five points by picking Bryan Sheehan in goals and taking him out to hit the frees. 

Thats a great shout!!  ;D
Post by: blanketattack on July 27, 2009, 11:16:01 AM

From Irish Times: "The Kerry supporters defied their reputation for not travelling and dominated the 8,500-crowd"
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 27, 2009, 11:24:04 AM
BTW yesterday's game was further proof (if we ever needed any) that Liam Hayes knows sweet fcuk all about football.
Post by: Gold on July 27, 2009, 10:36:58 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 27, 2009, 11:16:01 AM

From Irish Times: "The Kerry supporters defied their reputation for not travelling and dominated the 8,500-crowd"

bullshit, we far outnumbered the green and gold

nearly as shit a Jimmy White's refereeing--i'll never go back to donegal

he gave Kerry a rake of dodgy frees after half time--straight after White had been booed off and surrounded by senior  Kerry player going off at half time

gutless
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 27, 2009, 10:46:45 PM
Just watched the game to RTE Catch Up but didn't show the incident involving Marc O'Se. Just showed the aftermath of it.
Post by: Orior on July 27, 2009, 10:51:07 PM
I thought the ref did okay. As always, any errors did balance out.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 27, 2009, 10:56:53 PM
Don't think Antrim can have too many complaints about the free's Kerry got in the 2nd half. All 5 were silly free's to give away in scoreable positions.
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 11:01:22 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 27, 2009, 10:46:45 PM
Just watched the game to RTE Catch Up but didn't show the incident involving Marc O'Se. Just showed the aftermath of it.

Irish News said there was nothing in it and that yellow cards were adequate punishment.