GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2009, 10:56:07 PM

Title: All Ireland qualifier: Antrim v Kerry
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2009, 10:56:07 PM
Discuss...

A big task but what have we got to lose and Sligo nearly beat them!
Title: Re: All Ireland qualifier: Antrim v Kerry
Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 19, 2009, 10:59:26 PM
Kerry look very beatable at the minute - go on the Saffrons!
Post by: tyronefan on July 19, 2009, 11:03:41 PM
Antrim is every bit as good as Sligo  so if they go at Kerry there is no reason they cant win this game

Go on Antrim, like to day there will be 31 counties cheering you on
Post by: Gold on July 19, 2009, 11:04:31 PM
i cant fuckin wait. I went to Longford to see Kerry last week and if we tear into them from the start we may have a chance. Longford waited till the game was over before having a go.

We cant do that nor can we afford to go behind as much as we did today.

There corner backs arnt good--Tom O'Sullivan and Young got roasted by Longford's corner men and this is where we can make hay.

With no Donaghy Kerry lack that focal point--Walsh isnt as good--Dara caught a sight of ball against LD but slowed in the 2nd half--if we can stay with them and not freeze we defo have a chance to produce the hock of all shocks.

I think its a great draw--much better than had we got donegal

We'll be talkin about this game in 25 years--the boys who are playin are livin the dream and should just go at it hammer and tongs
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 19, 2009, 11:06:04 PM
Jacko would've settled for Longford/Sligo/Antrim in the qualifers.
Incredible draw for 3rd weekend-in-a-row. All Div3/4.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 19, 2009, 11:08:26 PM
If Antrim have any chance, they need other forwards to step up to the mark as they rely too much on Paddy Cunningham. Think McKeever should be playing full forward, pump the ball into him and have Cunningham and Tomas McCann feeding off him. Mick McCann should play midfield as he is good at running through with the ball and can give a good pass and take a score and fitter than McKeever for the midfield role.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 11:09:06 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 19, 2009, 11:06:04 PM
Jacko would've settled for Longford/Sligo/Antrim in the qualifers.

Apparantly it has all something to do with a magnetic ring that they give Christy Cooney before the draw ;)
Post by: Gold on July 19, 2009, 11:10:36 PM
we're lookin for revenge for 1946
Post by: JohnMitchellInman on July 19, 2009, 11:12:30 PM
Great draw for Antrim, another glamour tie against  a 'top 2' side.
Good luck to Baker and all the boys.

Us Derry boys will all be rooting for you, We've Feck all else to look forward to now  >:( :P
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 11:19:11 PM
STOP PRESS

Ye heard it here first - Donaghy is back in training along with Maurice Fitz, Paudi O Se and Shergar.

We're worried.

When contacted this evening Kerry manager was quoted as saying "Yerra shure how would an auld cabóg like me fix that".

MORE TO FOLLOW...................................................
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:24:17 PM
The assumption is that Kerry will improve from the Sligo game.
But they didn't improve from the Longford game.
Antrim should throw the kitchen sink at them.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 19, 2009, 11:27:26 PM
Oh please god not parnell park!!!
Anywhere but parnell park!!
Any chance they will toss for venue tomorrow?
Bigger crowd if it was on in a home venue.
Portlaoise would be fair though!
Post by: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:30:04 PM
Would I be right in saying that as Antrim is div 4 (currently) this will be held in Casement? All to play for...
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 11:31:01 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:30:04 PM
Would I be right in saying that as Antrim is div 4 (currently) this will be held in Casement? All to play for...

No neutral venue specified
Post by: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:37:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2009, 11:34:33 PM
"Currently" me bollix, Donagh.

Did I miss something?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 19, 2009, 11:42:30 PM
QuoteJacko would've settled for Longford/Sligo/Antrim in the qualifers.

you mean Div 4 like Wicklow who have beaten 1/3 of Ulster.

Also, what teams did we avoid that you think would have provided a stronger challenge than Longford and Sligo ?

Post by: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:45:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 19, 2009, 11:42:06 PM
We are promoted and that stands from the minute of our promotion.

But not for the qualifiers - as far as I know they go on last years standings so that means Kerry have to come to Casement. I stand to be corrected.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:47:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:45:16 PM

But not for the qualifiers - as far as I know they go on last years standings so that means Kerry have to come to Casement. I stand to be corrected.

Its a neutral venue. They announced that before the draw. The other division 4 teams haven't been guaranteed home draws. Only guaranteed home draw is in the 1st round if you were away in the 1st round the previous year.
Post by: mountainboii on July 19, 2009, 11:48:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:45:16 PM

Think that designated weaker team gets home advantage stuff was done away with a few years ago, and as far as I remember it only ever applied to first round qualifiers.
Post by: Donagh on July 19, 2009, 11:49:50 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:47:18 PM
Its a neutral venue. They announced that before the draw. The other division 4 teams haven't been guaranteed home draws. Only guaranteed home draw is in the 1st round if you were away in the 1st round the previous year.

Ah bollicks... pity that...
Post by: Gold on July 19, 2009, 11:58:03 PM
It'll be in Laois, Parnell Park, Longford or Navan.

We played in Longford a did Kerry this year so it may be there.

I was in Parnell Park for the U-21 dubs/cats hurlin last wed night --it may be a bit small for the crowd

will we bring a big crowd?

Cant wait anyway!
Post by: Minder on July 20, 2009, 12:01:01 AM
Quote from: Gold on July 19, 2009, 11:58:03 PM
It'll be in Laois, Parnell Park, Longford or Navan.

We played in Longford a did Kerry this year so it may be there.

I was in Parnell Park for the U-21 dubs/cats hurlin last wed night --it may be a bit small for the crowd

will we bring a big crowd?

Cant wait anyway!
Depends how many stay on the bandwagon
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 20, 2009, 12:05:34 AM
Nah.

It'll be in Portlaoise in front of 2,436.

Should be in Casement. Kerry need to suffer for 100+ years of soft paths to All Ireland titles.

*runs out of thread banging door*
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2009, 12:09:58 AM
the thing that really pisses me off is that when kerry or cork teams play northern teams the venue always seems to be that sh*thole portlaoise. portlaoise certainly isnt halfway between antrim and kerry - the venue for this game should move up the country a good bit from portlaoise.
Post by: Rois on July 20, 2009, 12:10:30 AM
The best way to get Antrim fans to travel is to play it in Croker.  Presumably it'll be out of action next weekend though?  I wouldn't even take Kerry into account when setting the neutral venue.  
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 20, 2009, 12:11:07 AM
May I suggest Longford?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 20, 2009, 12:16:59 AM

Quote from: clarshack on July 20, 2009, 12:09:58 AM
the thing that really pisses me off is that when kerry or cork teams play northern teams the venue always seems to be that sh*thole portlaoise. portlaoise certainly isnt halfway between antrim and kerry - the venue for this game should move up the country a good bit from portlaoise.

According to Google, driving from Belfast to Portlaoise takes about 2 hours 55 mins. The trip takes from Killarney to Portlaoise takes, amazingly, 2 hours 55 minutes. Not sure exactly what's wrong with Portlaoise to warrant the description shithole.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 20, 2009, 12:23:13 AM
The key question in deciding this 'battle of the minnows' is which is better recovered from their recent thrashings by Tyrone?

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 20, 2009, 12:25:21 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 20, 2009, 12:10:30 AM
The best way to get Antrim fans to travel is to play it in Croker.  Presumably it'll be out of action next weekend though?  I wouldn't even take Kerry into account when setting the neutral venue.  

That's a bit unfair Rois surely? Can't just go by the numbers of support. Everybody who wants to go to support their county deserves the same chance. Ok Kerry have a poor travelling following but even the Tyrone fans seem to be picking and choosing their games a bit more these days!
Post by: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 02:15:58 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 20, 2009, 12:09:58 AM

What are you on about ,sure half the journey between the heartland of Cork football i.e. West Cork, and Dublin is Cork City. It used be Mitchelstown but keeps moving further down as more stretches of motorway open between Cork and Dublin.
Post by: Rois on July 20, 2009, 09:39:27 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 20, 2009, 12:25:21 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 20, 2009, 12:10:30 AM

That's a bit unfair Rois surely? Can't just go by the numbers of support. Everybody who wants to go to support their county deserves the same chance. Ok Kerry have a poor travelling following but even the Tyrone fans seem to be picking and choosing their games a bit more these days!

On reflection, you're right.  I was bearing more on the side of the Antrim fans and hoping that the venue would encourage more of them to travel.  Kerry fans deserve no less consideration.  Apologies. 
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2009, 10:07:17 AM
Tough on Antrim.
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 20, 2009, 11:32:17 AM
I can't beleive that the GAA wouldn't have this in Casement.  They didnt mind dragging Sligo all the way to Kerry.  Casement would be a guarateed full house however the GAA will no doubt rule out any suggestion of this to appease Kerry and not have them cross the border.
Post by: Bensars on July 20, 2009, 11:35:32 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on July 20, 2009, 11:32:17 AM
I can't beleive that the GAA wouldn't have this in Casement.  They didnt mind dragging Sligo all the way to Kerry.  Casement would be a guarateed full house however the GAA will no doubt rule out any suggestion of this to appease Kerry and not have them cross the border.

What part of Neutral venue are you having difficulty with ?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 11:45:48 AM
Have it in Newry then.... ;)
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 11:53:38 AM
Yes, I'd vote for Newry. Maybe even Armagh, or Drogheda.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 20, 2009, 11:56:43 AM
Newry would be ideal.
Post by: stiffler on July 20, 2009, 11:59:41 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 11:45:48 AM

no expeeince pat.....you want somewhere where masseys vengabus can get in full flow!!
Post by: Lecale2 on July 20, 2009, 12:06:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2009, 11:58:02 AM
Newry'd be great.

Right. That's it settled then. Newry at 7.00pm. The Kerry squad can fly into Attical and stay in the Canal Court.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 12:08:04 PM
Quote from: stiffler on July 20, 2009, 11:59:41 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 11:45:48 AM

no expeeince pat.....you want somewhere where masseys vengabus can get in full flow!!

You working today Stiffler?
Post by: rory on July 20, 2009, 12:14:12 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 20, 2009, 12:06:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2009, 11:58:02 AM
Newry'd be great.

Right. That's it settled then. Newry at 7.00pm. The Kerry squad can fly into Attical and stay in the Canal Court.

Surely Ballyholland airport is a lot closer than Attical.......
Post by: sammymaguire on July 20, 2009, 12:17:41 PM
Navan will probably get this one shur we all know Kerry fans only travel to the Final at Croker  :o
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2009, 12:52:26 PM
If Kerry "fans" aren't going to travel, then what about Corrigan Pk??
Post by: aontroim on July 20, 2009, 01:00:44 PM
Parnell Park as part of a double header with the Antrim v Offaly relegation game is a good bet.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 20, 2009, 01:03:29 PM
For once Tommy Lyons spoke a bit of sense last nite-provincial runners up shud get home advantage
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
PP can only hold 10k max. Not a chance of it being there.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2009, 01:06:38 PM
Quote from: aontroim on July 20, 2009, 01:00:44 PM
Parnell Park as part of a double header with the Antrim v Offaly relegation game is a good bet.
That's the speculation on the Antrim county forum this morning. Capacity 13,500 - 13,000 from Antrim.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2009, 01:13:38 PM
The GAA fixtures page is having a fatal error at the minute!
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2009, 01:14:18 PM
I've yet to see PP ever fitting in 13,500. Jam packed its a max of about 11,000.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2009, 01:18:46 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2009, 01:14:18 PM
I've yet to see PP ever fitting in 13,500. Jam packed its a max of about 11,000.
Not arguing with you but as far as I know it's "official" capacity is 13.5k. Kerry won't travel anyway so just have it in Casement and call it a neutral venue.
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 02:08:46 PM
When exactly are they making the venue decision?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2009, 02:28:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2009, 02:08:46 PM
When exactly are they making the venue decision?

Supposedly some time today?
Post by: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 03:48:42 PM
It's on at 3 00 PM in Tullamore on Sunday

Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 03:57:35 PM
Crap!
Post by: milltown row on July 20, 2009, 03:59:46 PM
at least the traffic wont be too bad, some hike all the same. but sure a championship match against Kerry!!!!! might just get real early and drive down
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 04:05:09 PM
Shite flushed. I should be able to go now.

The blank lines above are my minutes silence for poor oul Hardstation.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2009, 04:13:27 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 03:48:42 PM
It's on at 3 00 PM in Tullamore on Sunday

Ah FFS!
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on July 20, 2009, 04:23:12 PM
And it's not on TV either
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 04:29:49 PM
There's a Tullamore in Kerry. Could be pulling a fast one here.
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 04:31:47 PM
Directions from the N6 anyone? Where's the best parking spot?

This link is useless unless I'm a crow or seagull.

http://www.offaly.gaa.ie/oconnorparkdevelopment.html (http://www.offaly.gaa.ie/oconnorparkdevelopment.html)
Post by: fred the red on July 20, 2009, 04:37:31 PM
motorway/dual carriageway all the way from belfast to tullamore.

i wud say it is 3.5/4 hrs frm belfast.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2009, 04:43:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2009, 04:33:54 PM
How long would it take you from Belfast?

The GAA field is on the Kilbeggan side of Tullamore...google maps reckons 3hrs...via Dublin, Kilcock, Kinnegad etc
Post by: catchandkick on July 20, 2009, 04:43:27 PM
Not too many dual carriageways in Offaly I'm pretty sure!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 20, 2009, 04:48:09 PM
Thats another Monday off work for me then...Just hope i can get it booked off!
Post by: Lone Shark on July 20, 2009, 04:55:56 PM
It'll take feck all over an hour from when ye depart the M50 to Tullamore (albeit that's in normal travelling conditions) so ye can base travelling time on that.

Just take the M6 down (be very careful where the M4 splits into two different roads around Kinnegad - stay left, it has been known for people to find themselves on the M4 very easily there having missed the turn) and turn off the motorway where it's signed for Kilbeggan and Tullamore. Turn left off the roundabout at the bottom of the slip road and keep moving on into Tullamore from there. You're coming at the town from the right side for the purposes of getting to O'Connor Park, once you pass by a Topaz petrol station and a centra shop on your right, you'll go straight through a fried egg roundabout and you're about twenty minutes walk from the ground at that point - just keep going until you reckon that the parking will dry up and abandon ship.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 20, 2009, 06:42:03 PM
Down played in Tullamore last summer, and my recollection of the driving time from Belfast was just under three hours. We stopped in Dublin both ways, so I'm not completely sure, but going southbound you should definitely manage the M50 in about one hour 45 minutes. It should be no more than an hour and a quarter from there to Tullamore, and the ground is as you come in from the main road. It's a fair drive, but a great town for a match.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 06:50:02 PM
I wonder how the Antrim heads will be for this. There'll be some comedown after the build-up from the Ulster final, even though they played rightly. Fermanagh couldn't adjust last year and bombed dramatically v Kildare after the Armagh replay. 7 days is tough to gear all thoughts towards facing the Kingdom. Played last year's All-Ireland finalists in successive weeks is some mountain.

If this had been the Ulster final, then I'd have fancied Antrim sneak it.

The Bookies (http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports) give them a one point better chance this week than beating Tyrone.
Post by: magickingdom on July 20, 2009, 06:51:47 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 20, 2009, 12:05:34 AM
Nah.

It'll be in Portlaoise in front of 2,436.

Should be in Casement. Kerry need to suffer for 100+ years of soft paths to All Ireland titles.

*runs out of thread banging door*

grrrrrr dont you start
as i've been saying to those northern boys for a while now we had to put up with cork all these years - the second best footballers in ireland
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2009, 07:49:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 06:50:02 PM
I wonder how the Antrim heads will be for this. There'll be some comedown after the build-up from the Ulster final, even though they played rightly. Fermanagh couldn't adjust last year and bombed dramatically v Kildare after the Armagh replay. 7 days is tough to gear all thoughts towards facing the Kingdom. Played last year's All-Ireland finalists in successive weeks is some mountain.

The Bookies (http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports) give them a one point better chance this week than beating Tyrone.

I think this is a good draw for Antrim.  Tough Championship games against the best will do this squad a world of good.  They're young enough to learn a lot from these games...moreso than playing London and Kilkenny in the Tommy Murphy this time last year.  We might be able to get our heads up more for this game (since it's Kerry) than had we drawn Wicklow or Meath/Roscommon. This is our last hurrah (possibly) so I would lash into Kerry with everything and see what happens!  In the short term the goal is to beat Kerry, but looking longer than the aim must be to get out of Div 3 next year and be competitive in Ulster over the next 5-6 years, something I believe this squad is capable of.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2009, 08:02:03 PM

Could have been worse though, I think 7 is significantly better than 6 in the circumstances. Big ask nonetheless.
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 08:38:44 PM

How can Antrim not be motivated? This can even be bigger than the Ulster Final, and I'd say they have a better chance than against Tyrone.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2009, 09:07:26 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2009, 08:38:44 PM

How can Antrim not be motivated?

That's the unknown. There was some amount of media-work and mental build-up done before this Ulster Final. Baker seems to be the man for this type of scenario though. There's also a chance that the lesser occasion may mean Antrim will come out of the blocks flying this time.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 20, 2009, 09:50:28 PM
Bookies unimpressed with Kerry's 'easy' draw, they are still out at 4-1. Mayo look decent value to me at 10-1 (each way that is!)
Post by: Main Street on July 20, 2009, 10:56:44 PM
Antrim did come out the blocks flying, almost went 2 points up.
Then they were dismantled methodically, piece by piece.

I´d be curious to see how they perform when out of the glare of an Ulster Final.
But I can't see anything beyond the certainty of a good win for Kerry.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 20, 2009, 11:27:58 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 20, 2009, 06:51:47 PM
grrrrrr dont you start
as i've been saying to those northern boys for a while now we had to put up with cork all these years - the second best footballers in ireland

And the biggest whingers
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 12:26:56 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 20, 2009, 10:56:44 PM

Nonsense. They got a free kick in the middle of the park. It was kicked to the FF who was also awarded a free without touching the ball. And that was it.  That's not flying.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 01:23:50 AM
Antrim got a bit of stage fright. No harm in that. Its no disgrace to get beaten by Tyrone by 6 points.
The extra day will help them.
I thought the Antrim full back line did very well. So they have man markers to give kerry forwards something to think about.
The delivery of the ball into the forwards is what thye must improve on.
I think they'll give Kerry a serious test but i expect Kerry to win by 3/4 points.
I then expect Dublin to end up playing Kerry. ;D.
I'm really impressed with Antrim. They have a number of highly adaptable players with a lot of pace. They lack experience and a bit of cuteness.
Post by: JMohan on July 21, 2009, 08:10:20 AM
You're right - although - they've a lot more cuteness than I thought they'd have in fairness to them.

Baker is a good manager for them.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 09:50:29 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8160590.stm

Sure there'll be no Kerry people at it!!!!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 21, 2009, 10:12:54 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 09:50:29 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8160590.stm

Sure there'll be no Kerry people at it!!!!

Feck's sake Baker, stop beating about the bush! ;D  Never mind the players it seems Baker is still right sore from Sunday!
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2009, 10:53:39 AM
That's almost a bit of a mind game except that he sounds serious.
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2009, 10:55:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 12:26:56 AM

Nonsense. They got a free kick in the middle of the park. It was kicked to the FF who was also awarded a free without touching the ball. And that was it.  That's not flying.
Sarcasm, my dear chap.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2009, 10:55:07 AM

Sarcasm, my dear chap.

Right. No 2 & 3 in the handbook is to work on application and timing. Keep er lit though.
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 12:57:32 PM
Baker's not happy that the Antrim v Kerry game isn't a double header with the hurlers in Parnell Park.

"I hear they're using the U2 concert at Croke Park as an excuse and the Kerry supporters will have trouble getting into Parnell Park. Sure there'll be no Kerry people at it."
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2009, 01:24:33 PM
Sure it's nuts to not use Parnell Park and fill it up when Antrim are already playing there anyway. Would be a good weekends craic to head down for the hurling on the Saturday, overnighter in Dublin and then out to the football on Sunday.
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2009, 02:09:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2009, 10:55:07 AM

Sarcasm, my dear chap.

Right. No 2 & 3 in the handbook is to work on application and timing. Keep er lit though.

So obviously well timed and sarcastic that even a t**t like you should have known better that to swallow it ;D
You got done and you can't take it.

Keep the condescension within the confines of your occupation with schoolkids. It doesn't resonate with the same effect here.

Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 02:48:43 PM
***tiptoeing away from the wreckage***

Somebody call the White Coats
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 03:21:10 PM
I've a sneaky feeling Antrim's going to win this one. Sunday was a huge learning curve for them and Kerry's having trouble finding form this year. If Antrim come out with the self-believe that they can do it and run at Kerry early on.... well Kerry could experience their first defeat in the Qualifiers.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:08:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 03:21:10 PM
I've a sneaky feeling Antrim's going to win this one. Sunday was a huge learning curve for them and Kerry's having trouble finding form this year. If Antrim come out with the self-believe that they can do it and run at Kerry early on.... well Kerry could experience their first defeat in the Qualifiers.

If they do, I'll light a bonfire meself. Pity it's not televised.

Has anyone have any info on the '46 game?
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 04:33:37 PM
Laugh all you like, but I was proved right in the Donegal and Cavan games ;)
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:43:41 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 04:33:37 PM
Laugh all you like, but I was proved right in the Donegal and Cavan games ;)

Who's laughing? I'm being honest.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2009, 04:46:26 PM
I honestly think we can win this one if we play to the best of our abilities and get the rub of the green...

I did not feel we could beat Tyrone but I really do think we can give this one a rattle. The Tyrone game was about learning - realistically it wasn't one we could win. I think a number of players will have learned and hopefully Baker will learn a few things too.

Stick Gallagher on Dara and run him and aim all our kickouts at McKeever on AN other. I'd start Niblock and Burke in the FF line and play McCann CHF. Tomas McCann needs to run at them too and McLean on Tommy Walsh and Brady on Cooper. Loughrey on Declan O'Sullivan and Scullion on Galvin.

It's just a pity it's 3 bloody hours journey >:(

Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:48:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:08:35 PM

That's a good question. I found this in the Irish Examiner archives:

During the week I came across a report that reminded me of Morgan's and Keohane's comments. When Kerry defeated Antrim in the All-Ireland football semi-final of 1946, Antrim lodged a formal objection that the Kerry players were "guilty of conduct calculated to bring the association into disrepute".

The Antrim County Board protested that "members of the Kerry team continually indulged in rough play and repeatedly made deliberate and unwarranted assaults on our players during the progress of the match".

The Antrim board wanted Kerry thrown out of the championship, adding: "The majority of these attacks, which resulted in serious injuries to many of our players, were made when they were not in possession of, or playing, the ball. Injuries, which we maintain were the result of deliberate attacks, were sustained by eight members of our team. We are prepared to submit evidence regarding the extent of their injuries".

An Irish Times sports reporter noted: "I consider Antrim's the fastest bunch of forwards that ever graced Croke Park".

Joe Keohane was full-back for Kerry that day. Was that what he meant all those years later when he said they had ways of slowing down fast players. There were over 30,000 people at the game. Most of them were from the North. Kerry people stayed at home partly in protest at the price of a train ticket to Dublin — 27 shillings return!

OTHERS were just waiting for the final. As the Kerry players took to the field, the Antrim supporters roundly booed them.

The Antrim players were apparently ahead of their time because they were playing a new brand of football, using the hand-pass to move the ball down the field. "It was the most spiritedly contested semi-final I have seen in years", according to a report in The Kerryman. "One team (Kerry) was playing Gaelic football, Antrim's was a brand of football characterised by over-holding the ball and throwing it. To stop ball-throwing movements the Kerry backs pulled the ball-throwers down. This is the answer to these tactics".

When Antrim protested, there was indignation in the Kerry press. The GAA Central Council met to consider the protest on the last Saturday in August and debated the issue for two hours before overruling the objection by 19 votes to 10.

"Antrim's advocates defeated their own case", according to The Kerryman. "Their autocratic bearing and dictatorial attitude roused the hostility of the southerners. The northerners were the self-appointed guardians of the association's honour; its reputation was their only concern; they were charged with redeeming the good name of the GAA which the Kerry rowdies had done so much to besmirch. All of which would be highly amusing if it were not so disgusting".

The central council chairman appealed to Antrim to withdraw the objection, which he depicted as the most unusual he had come across in his long experience. He seemed to suggest the Antrim supporters had roused the Kerry players, as it "did not make for good feeling that Kerry should be booed coming out on the field".

Antrim produced nine medical certificates for their players. "Nurtured in an atmosphere of religious intolerance and bitterness, the northern Gael has a very different mentality from his brother in the south", The Kerryman noted. "Thus we had the type of objection never heard previously in the 60-year history of the association".

Various speakers used a tone that shocked central council members.

"If rough play were allowed to continue, the chairman of the Ulster Council reportedly warned, "they would meet force with force."

Maybe this explains what happened to the 'Gooch' in last year's final against Tyrone. He was essentially taken out of the game in an off-the-ball incident.

"Life is too short to bear these things in mind", The Kerryman concluded its report of the central council meeting 60 years ago. "Let us forget them. Fare thee well, Antrim!"

Their footballers have not been back in Croke Park since.

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2006/08/26/story11730.asp
Post by: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 04:54:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:48:38 PM

Really more of a request than a question there ONeill.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 04:56:29 PM
(http://www.stcomgallsgaa.com/images/hist5.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 05:00:06 PM
From the Kerryman:

However, there were huge repercussions following the game. The Antrim county board against the wishes of their players lodged an objection against Kerry. In the objection they stated that members of the Kerry team had indulged in rough play and that these tactics before 30,000 spectators was calculated to bring the GAA into disrepute. For two and a half hours on August 31 the Central Council considered Antrim's objection.

The referee in his report stated that play was overvigorous towards the end and he had to award several frees to Antrim and he continued that in the second half he send Bill Casey and Harry O'Neill to the line. The objection was declared lost by 19 votes to 10. In one of my first ever interviews with Kerrys legendary full-back Joe Keohane he spoke about that game.

"We were Croke Park specialists and they were making their first appearance in All Ireland semifinal. They tried to walk the ball into the net and even when going for points they tried to get close in. So we decided that the only way to stop them was for each man to tackle the forward for whom the pass was intended.

"Of course we did not stand on ceremony, but I must emphaise that at no time did we indulge in reprehensible tactics. Our play completely disrupted Antrim's basketball type of forward play. You must play hard to win an All-Ireland and Antrim failed to change their style despite the fact that we mastered their short passing. We played it hard but we played it fair."

http://www.kerryman.ie/sport/gaelic-football/bruddys-death-takes-another-hero-of-the-polo-grounds-1708823.html
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2009, 05:02:28 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 03:21:10 PM

No disprespect to Kerry but I think most neutrals would love to see Antrim beat Kerry.

Realisitically they've little or no chance.
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2009, 05:16:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2009, 04:46:26 PM

It's just a pity it's 3 bloody hours journey >:(

Well, last Sunday I left norf Beal Feirste (codifed so as not give my whereabouts away to owc) at 9:30 and into the ground at half time of the minor game. I suppose I would have got to see it all if it hadnt been for the fatal accident outside Monaghan.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 05:26:39 PM
The men of '46 stood tall
When Kerry were in sight.
The great Kingdom had not forseen
The majestic saffron might.

The Green and Gold were second best
As Armstrong ran the show.
The King was dead, the Glens alive;
A formidable northern foe

Alas the darkness came to pass
And as Kerry couldn't cope,
They fouled and dragged, the win was theirs
As the Glens were left to mope.

The spirit of '46 lives on
In every Saffron chest
You can be sure in Tullamore
They'll give their very best.

The Kingdom won't indulge again
Antrim's great running game
Let's hope the ref won't turn away
Or the Kingdom will try the same.

www.thespiritof46.com/apoem

Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2009, 05:29:35 PM
OM Sligo had little or no chance last week. Had they scored that penalty Kerry would have been gone. They're not the force they were - even last year.

Donaghy is a massive loss to that team and Dara O'Se, their leader, is not even in shape. Tie that in with a dodgy full back line and a HB line who aren't what they once were either and you're facing an entirely different prospect of a Kerry team from last year.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2009, 05:31:01 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 21, 2009, 05:16:27 PM

Well, last Sunday I left norf Beal Feirste (codifed so as not give my whereabouts away to owc) at 9:30 and into the ground at half time of the minor game. I suppose I would have got to see it all if it hadnt been for the fatal accident outside Monaghan.

I left Glenavy at 8.30 and was in Clones by 10. 2 stout, both games, barbeque at home at 6. Great venue.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 21, 2009, 05:44:27 PM

During the week I came across a report that reminded me of Morgan's and Keohane's comments. When Kerry defeated Antrim in the All-Ireland football semi-final of 1946, Antrim lodged a formal objection that the Kerry players were "guilty of conduct calculated to bring the association into disrepute".

The Antrim County Board protested that "members of the Kerry team continually indulged in rough play and repeatedly made deliberate and unwarranted assaults on our players during the progress of the match".

The Antrim board wanted Kerry thrown out of the championship, adding: "The majority of these attacks, which resulted in serious injuries to many of our players, were made when they were not in possession of, or playing, the ball. Injuries, which we maintain were the result of deliberate attacks, were sustained by eight members of our team. We are prepared to submit evidence regarding the extent of their injuries".

An Irish Times sports reporter noted: "I consider Antrim's the fastest bunch of forwards that ever graced Croke Park".

Joe Keohane was full-back for Kerry that day. Was that what he meant all those years later when he said they had ways of slowing down fast players. There were over 30,000 people at the game. Most of them were from the North. Kerry people stayed at home partly in protest at the price of a train ticket to Dublin — 27 shillings return!

OTHERS were just waiting for the final. As the Kerry players took to the field, the Antrim supporters roundly booed them.

The Antrim players were apparently ahead of their time because they were playing a new brand of football, using the hand-pass to move the ball down the field. "It was the most spiritedly contested semi-final I have seen in years", according to a report in The Kerryman. "One team (Kerry) was playing Gaelic football, Antrim's was a brand of football characterised by over-holding the ball and throwing it. To stop ball-throwing movements the Kerry backs pulled the ball-throwers down. This is the answer to these tactics".

When Antrim protested, there was indignation in the Kerry press. The GAA Central Council met to consider the protest on the last Saturday in August and debated the issue for two hours before overruling the objection by 19 votes to 10.

"Antrim's advocates defeated their own case", according to The Kerryman. "Their autocratic bearing and dictatorial attitude roused the hostility of the southerners. The northerners were the self-appointed guardians of the association's honour; its reputation was their only concern; they were charged with redeeming the good name of the GAA which the Kerry rowdies had done so much to besmirch. All of which would be highly amusing if it were not so disgusting".

The central council chairman appealed to Antrim to withdraw the objection, which he depicted as the most unusual he had come across in his long experience. He seemed to suggest the Antrim supporters had roused the Kerry players, as it "did not make for good feeling that Kerry should be booed coming out on the field".

Antrim produced nine medical certificates for their players. "Nurtured in an atmosphere of religious intolerance and bitterness, the northern Gael has a very different mentality from his brother in the south", The Kerryman noted. "Thus we had the type of objection never heard previously in the 60-year history of the association".

Various speakers used a tone that shocked central council members.

"If rough play were allowed to continue, the chairman of the Ulster Council reportedly warned, "they would meet force with force."

Maybe this explains what happened to the 'Gooch' in last year's final against Tyrone. He was essentially taken out of the game in an off-the-ball incident.

"Life is too short to bear these things in mind", The Kerryman concluded its report of the central council meeting 60 years ago. "Let us forget them. Fare thee well, Antrim!"

Their footballers have not been back in Croke Park since.

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2006/08/26/story11730.asp

Baker should pin this to the dressing room wall on Sunday!! ;D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 21, 2009, 08:13:10 PM
QuoteOTHERS were just waiting for the final. As the Kerry players took to the field, the Antrim supporters roundly booed them.

why were they booing ? There was no real history between Kerry and Antrim at that point (or since) ?
Post by: tyssam5 on July 21, 2009, 08:41:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 21, 2009, 04:54:36 PM

Really more of a request than a question there ONeill.

My dad tells me Micheál Ó Hehir's radio commentary was a tad biased that day. Apparently one could hear the booing of Kerry's disgraceful tactics in the background and he claimed to be completely mystified by the crowd's reactions.

Funny reading the bits from the Kerryman, that paper hasn't changed anyhow.

Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 21, 2009, 09:10:43 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 21, 2009, 08:13:10 PM
QuoteOTHERS were just waiting for the final. As the Kerry players took to the field, the Antrim supporters roundly booed them.

why were they booing ? There was no real history between Kerry and Antrim at that point (or since) ?

Spoke to my father this evening (he was at the game)... he said he remembers the booing was at the start of the second half due to Kerry's puke football tactics in the first half!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 21, 2009, 09:24:27 PM
How'd Kerry do the next year? ;)
Post by: TonesAbú on July 21, 2009, 09:33:13 PM
Lads the game is live on rte.ie for anyone interested. Quality is pretty good.
Post by: Seamus on July 21, 2009, 10:29:44 PM
Why is it that at every opportunity people love to beat Kerry up with a stick? The price we have to pay for being at or near the top since 1903. That game was 63 years ago and then add in bias and exaggeration, get over it.  Nobody ever talks about and therefore few even know what happened the following year in the first half at the Polo Grounds. Kerry were beaten that day, accepted it and moved on. 

Regarding the game on Sunday Antrim have a great chance. They are probably on par with Sligo standard wise going by the league final and Sligo could have won in Tralee which was worth a few points to Kerry. Five AI appearances in a row and seven in nine years have taken its toll. This Kerry team peaked in 2006 but still we hold out hope of a resurgence. Sunday will tell a lot.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 21, 2009, 10:41:49 PM
Because you win 1 in 3 on average.
Post by: paulmacc on July 22, 2009, 12:33:28 AM
Typical clueless decision from GAA headquarters again. Have these people no idea about how much it costs ordinary people to travel up and down the country to see their county teams play. Last summer over one weekend; Cork SH, SF & U21 Hurlers played in three different venues on Fri, Sat & Sun. That caused hugh uproar down here and you might have thought some common sense approach might be taken in future decision making committees!!!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 22, 2009, 09:59:16 AM
My team for Sunday - any thoughts??  Put pressure on the Kerry full back line

1. S. McGreevy

2. C. Brady
3. A. McLean
4. K O'Boyle

5. T. Scullion
6. J. Crozier
7. J. Loughrey

8. M. McCann
9. A. Gallagher

10. T. O'Neill
11. K. Niblock
12. T. McCann

13. P. Cunningham
14. N. McKeever
15. C. Close
Title: Only 500 Kerry supporters ?
Post by: bcarrier on July 22, 2009, 10:26:14 AM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0721/antrim.html

'You know as well as I do that the Kerry supporters won't travel in big numbers this weekend for a qualifier against Antrim. We will be very, very lucky if there are 500 Kerry people at that match. "

Surely not ?

Title: Re: Only 500 Kerry supporters ?
Post by: magickingdom on July 22, 2009, 06:24:42 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 22, 2009, 10:26:14 AM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0721/antrim.html

'You know as well as I do that the Kerry supporters won't travel in big numbers this weekend for a qualifier against Antrim. We will be very, very lucky if there are 500 Kerry people at that match. "

Surely not ?

that man hasnt a clue what he's talking about
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 06:26:51 PM
Quote from: paulmacc on July 22, 2009, 12:33:28 AM
Typical clueless decision from GAA headquarters again. Have these people no idea about how much it costs ordinary people to travel up and down the country to see their county teams play. Last summer over one weekend; Cork SH, SF & U21 Hurlers played in three different venues on Fri, Sat & Sun. That caused hugh uproar down here and you might have thought some common sense approach might be taken in future decision making committees!!!

Dont worry the GPA will bring that up at their next press conference  ::)
Post by: Atticus_Finch on July 22, 2009, 08:11:24 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 22, 2009, 09:59:16 AM
My team for Sunday - any thoughts??  Put pressure on the Kerry full back line

1. S. McGreevy

2. C. Brady
3. A. McLean
4. K O'Boyle

5. T. Scullion
6. J. Crozier
7. J. Loughrey

8. M. McCann
9. A. Gallagher

10. T. O'Neill
11. K. Niblock
12. T. McCann

13. P. Cunningham
14. N. McKeever
15. C. Close

Think this is a good shout,  there's no doubt Close merits a starting place, he looked sharp and made a definite impact when he came on.

Niblock also worth a starting place in my opinion,  plenty of pace and makes intelligent runs.

Only difference I would have is i'd have Brady on instead of O'Neill.  Neither had a good game against Tyrone but just think the half forward line needs Brady.

Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 22, 2009, 08:32:38 PM
Bakers ambition at the start of the year was last 12. He has now got that. He should disperse with O'Neill has a half back, cause what i mind of him he was right good forward. Nothing to lose.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:43:54 PM
I fear poor Antrim could get hammered on Sunday. Kerry really need to get ruthless while Tyrone struggled to have the conviction to destroy Antrim. Would love to see Antrim beat them all the same... should have been played in Casement Park.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 22, 2009, 09:13:06 PM
Couldn't be played in Casement Park - has to be a neutral venue
Post by: Frank Casey on July 22, 2009, 09:59:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:43:54 PM
I fear poor Antrim could get hammered on Sunday. Kerry really need to get ruthless while Tyrone struggled to have the conviction to destroy Antrim. Would love to see Antrim beat them all the same... should have been played in Casement Park.

Would see a Kerry win but not a hammering. Kerry engine still running on some dirty petrol. Hard to put a finger on it.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 22, 2009, 10:11:40 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 22, 2009, 09:59:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:43:54 PM

Would see a Kerry win but not a hammering. Kerry engine still running on some dirty petrol. Hard to put a finger on it.

Wouldn't worry about the petrol quality yet, get her off the bricks first and put 4 wheels on her!
Post by: Frank Casey on July 22, 2009, 10:26:13 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 22, 2009, 10:11:40 PM
Wouldn't worry about the petrol quality yet, get her off the bricks first and put 4 wheels on her!

Funny you say that - 15 men with beards seen around the motor last Spetember - wheels missing since.

Any clues????????????
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2009, 08:53:13 AM
How do cars from the north pay at the new toll gate on the M50?

Will tickets be on sale at the ground on Sunday?

Can anyone lend me 50 euro? I'll pay you back never.
Post by: fred the red on July 23, 2009, 09:25:21 AM
How many supporters do you reckon will antrim bring to this game?

are there many supporter buses heading down?
Post by: paulmacc on July 23, 2009, 09:59:55 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 23, 2009, 08:53:13 AM
How do cars from the north pay at the new toll gate on the M50?

Will tickets be on sale at the ground on Sunday?

Can anyone lend me 50 euro? I'll pay you back never.

You have to go to any payzone outlet and pay your fee by 8pm the day after going through the toll otherwise they double the charge!

You can find your nearest payzone outlet and other ways to pay at www.eflow.ie

There are no tickets required for this match you can pay at the gate. 15 Euro to stand and 25 Euro to sit.
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2009, 11:08:23 AM
Thank you
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 23, 2009, 11:54:40 AM
is this game on bbc?
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2009, 12:07:19 PM
Quote from: Bomber2312 on July 23, 2009, 11:54:40 AM
is this game on bbc?

I'd say you'll see english cricket, horse jumping, gymnastics, motorbike racing, songs of praise, antiques roadshow and other great sports before you'll see any gaelic.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 23, 2009, 12:08:33 PM
is this game on bbc?

No, but it's on the RTE website
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 07:58:15 PM
jack not announcing the team until the w/e which has led to a load of rumours in kerry, if the rumours are true there will be a few big names missing
Post by: milltown row on July 23, 2009, 07:59:43 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 07:58:15 PM
jack not announcing the team until the w/e which has led to a load of rumours in kerry, if the rumours are true there will be a few big names missing

because of injuries or his lack of respect for Antrim?
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2009, 08:11:56 PM
Is it true the Gooch and T. O'Se have been dropped for disciplinary reasons?
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 08:14:25 PM
Quote from: milltown row on July 23, 2009, 07:59:43 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 07:58:15 PM

because of injuries or his lack of respect for Antrim?

?? nothing to do with respect for antrim, kerry arent dumb enough to think they cant lose
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 08:41:52 PM
Cmon Antrim. 4 wins and Sam's for the Falls.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 23, 2009, 08:46:25 PM
QuoteIs it true the Gooch and T. O'Se have been dropped for disciplinary reasons?

No, but some cracking stories coming out of the Kingdom this week so far. Its fair to say though that the skelping seaon has probably kicked off in training, always good to see that to get the blood boiling and the focus back on the job in hand.

Team will not be announced until Saturday evening or maybe even upto just before throw in on the Sunday.  Lots to ponder for the Kerry management setup.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 23, 2009, 08:48:12 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 23, 2009, 08:46:25 PM
Lots to ponder for the Kerry management setup.

Like where they are going to take their holidays in August.
Post by: dillinger on July 23, 2009, 09:05:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 08:41:52 PM
Cmon Antrim. 4 wins and Sam's for the Falls.
Can we bring it down to Bangor for the day? Antrim man, but now living in a foreigh county now :D
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:23:56 PM
Bangor wants Sam.

Anyone any idea what's on these wristbands the saffrons are wearing?
Post by: clawaddy on July 23, 2009, 09:26:34 PM
is this game on bbc?
on the bbc its called and finally gaa
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2009, 09:39:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:23:56 PM
Bangor wants Sam.

Anyone any idea what's on these wristbands the saffrons are wearing?

"In the event of a nose bleed then push head back and press side of nostril"
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 23, 2009, 10:43:53 PM
Quotebecause of injuries or his lack of respect for Antrim?

The only disrespect being shown by the two managers this week is by your manger with his smartarse comments about the Kerry support.

Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 10:54:59 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 23, 2009, 10:43:53 PM

The only disrespect being shown by the two managers this week is by your manger with his smartarse comments about the Kerry support.

He's got a point though. How many Kerry fans will make the journey up? Will they out number the Antrim fans?
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:03:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2009, 10:57:11 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 23, 2009, 10:43:53 PM

Although I still believe that Baker should be made Pope, I agree with Mike. There was no need for Baker's comment about the Kerry support. It was out of order. It was an unnecessary, cheap dig and probably* a load of bollix. How many Antrim fans were in Ballybofey? Imagine Antrim slagging Kerry about their attendances...... Concentrate on the football, Liam, we're playing Kerry ffs.

*I have no idea if it is bollix or not but I would imagine it is. Baker has probably added to the numbers travelling from Kerry.

in all fairness hardstation he really should shut up, i can see why paddy (probably the best foward in ireland) might be a bit of a nut now..... as the saying goes 'whats the kitten got but the cats walk'
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 23, 2009, 11:04:56 PM
Why was it moved forward to 2pm on Sunday?
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 23, 2009, 11:05:34 PM
Cheap shot- he doesn't have the kudos yet to be making such remarks no matter how true they are
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:17:08 PM
maybe i was unfair about paddy but his jumping in and out of 'retirement' a few weeks ago was odd
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:21:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2009, 11:19:47 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:17:08 PM
maybe i was unfair about paddy but his jumping in and out of 'retirement' a few weeks ago was odd
I have no idea what happened there though. Never underestimate the Derry rumour-mill.

or the kerry one at the minute!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 11:23:19 PM
So what big Kerry players wont be playing this weekend if the rumours are true. Gooch? Dara O'Se?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 23, 2009, 11:32:33 PM
I think Bradley's comments were calculated (if somewhat or grossly unfair): the righteous indignation from certain quarters only serves to galvanise the team and fosters an 'us against them' and "up and at 'em" mentality within the team, and that's what Antrim will need buckets of in Tullamore on Sunday.
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:39:22 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 11:23:19 PM
So what big Kerry players wont be playing this weekend if the rumours are true. Gooch? Dara O'Se?

rumours in kerry stay in kerry!

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 23, 2009, 11:32:33 PM
I think Bradley's comments were calculated (if somewhat or grossly unfair): the righteous indignation from certain quarters only serves to galvanise the team and fosters an 'us against them' and "up and at 'em" mentality within the team, and that's what Antrim will need buckets of in Tullamore on Sunday.

fear, what antrim should have done was kept it low key and concentrate on the football. throw up another 15 points and you never know what might happen
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 12:13:43 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:39:22 PM

fear, what antrim should have done was kept it low key and concentrate on the football. throw up another 15 points and you never know what might happen

True mk, though I think he would have gauged who has more to lose, the Kingdom or themselves. The fixtures committee have outdone themselves once more with the Provincial Final losers having to go out again 6 or 7 days later (talk about regression!), and as well aware as he is of the abysmal record of the losing finalists in the subsequent qualifying rounds, he was attempting to inject something more than the usual. Would agree with the sentiments of Tommy Lyons, and on how he has talked solid sense for once, in his suggestion that the losing finalists should at least have home advantage, as reward for their relative progress.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 24, 2009, 12:14:19 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 11:39:22 PM

rumours in kerry stay in kerry!  ::)

You mean the rumours like the row in the camp before All  Ireland final when back from suspension Gavlin wanted to pick up cup after they beat Tyrone or the unease among some players that Kinielly came back from Australia and walked onto the team? Are those the type of rumours stay in Kerry?  ;)
Post by: Hound on July 24, 2009, 07:20:34 AM
Gooch and Tomas is the rumour I hear.
But you'd have to be slow to believe anything you hear from that county.
Post by: orangeman on July 24, 2009, 08:28:33 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 24, 2009, 07:20:34 AM
Gooch and Tomas is the rumour I hear.   SPOT ON HOUND.
But you'd have to be slow to believe anything you hear from that county.

It has been reported today that Tomás Ó Se and Colm Cooper have been dropped from the Kerry starting XV for the clash with Antrim due to disciplinary reasons.

The All-Star pair were told at training on Tuesday night by manager Jack O'Connor due to a breach of disciplinary guidelines after the victory over Sligo last Sunday, claims the Examiner.

Following this the full squad held a player meeting described as 'no holds barred' when issues such as morale, discipline and ambitions for the season were thought to have been discussed.

O'Connor is expected to delay naming the team until Sunday, although the pair are expected to make the substitutes bench.

Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 09:14:26 AM
In papers this morning. Gooch and Thomas O'Se

Neither to be included in team for this weekends match but should be on the bench!

Thomas Walsh also a doubt through injury!

Tadagh is expected to be fit!

Defo something not good in the Kerry camp. Heard that there was some ill feeling re Tadagh and it is well documented about the O'Se's and Jack not seeing eye to eye. Jack had to deny on Tuesday that Marc O'Se has quit the panel.

Would Jack of had the balls to take this stance against these players if they had of been playing a top team this weekend?  no offence to Antrim
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2009, 09:33:29 AM
To be honest, if Gooch is dropped, I don't think it's anything to do with Antrim. His form is just bad. There are good forwards in Kerry, and Gooch is just off form. Tomás O'Se is a similar story but his form is not as bad as Gooch's. Gooch looks lost without Star, although it may be that Kerry as a whole are lost without Star. I wonder will Micheal Quirke be given a run (and I use the term loosely) at Full Forward.
Post by: bcarrier on July 24, 2009, 10:20:59 AM
Agree with all that AZ. In his absence Star's contribution to Kerry has become even more evident. From being one of their best lines the Kerry full forward line has been fairly ineffective ...Tommy Walsh doesnt bring others into play in the same way and at times he has looked like he may be carrying an injury . Hard to pinpoint what is wrong with Gooch but he hasnt been in the zone this year .
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 10:32:20 AM
Bring back MFR
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2009, 10:39:19 AM
Bring back Declan Quill.
Post by: Orior on July 24, 2009, 11:00:04 AM
Bring back the horse
Post by: bcarrier on July 24, 2009, 11:01:05 AM
Bring back Genie Farrell
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2009, 12:07:27 PM
I doubt if the rumours about the lads being dropped from the panel is true, but they may well be dropped on Sunday. If I was Jack O'Connor, I'd be going along the lines of this

Murphy

Marc O'Se   Mick McCarthy   Tom Sullivan

Aidan O'Mahony  Tadgh Kennelly    Killian Young

Darragh O'Se    Seamus Scanlon

Paul Galvin       Declan O'Sullivan     Darren O'Sullivan

BJ Walsh             Micheal Quirke        Tommy Walsh

If Gooch and Tomás are there, I'd play O'Mahoney centre back, and Gooch in the corner. The problem is that Quirke is not as mobile as Donaghy, but he does have good hands and a physical presence. Antrim, and indeed the likes of Tyrone have fast wing backs that attack, which means Darren O'Sullivan is a better bet than Donnacha Walsh in my opinion. Kennelly might be the type of player needed for Centre Back, while Killian Young is wasted in the corner. I'd like to see young Bohane getting a run at full back as well, but probably not now. Tommy Griffen would also be an option for a half back/Midfield role. There's also Sean O'Sullivan, Brian Sheehan and a few others to consider as well. Kerry have the football and the depth, they need to find their mojo fairly quickly though. If they continue as they are going, then Antrim will beat them. Antrim would probably have beaten them in either of their last two games. Maybe Jack is calculating that this is the time to shake things up in a major way.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 24, 2009, 12:30:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2009, 12:07:27 PM
I doubt if the rumours about the lads being dropped from the panel is true, but they may well be dropped on Sunday. If I was Jack O'Connor, I'd be going along the lines of this

Murphy

If Gooch and Tomás are there, I'd play O'Mahoney centre back, and Gooch in the corner. The problem is that Quirke is not as mobile as Donaghy, but he does have good hands and a physical presence. Antrim, and indeed the likes of Tyrone have fast wing backs that attack, which means Darren O'Sullivan is a better bet than Donnacha Walsh in my opinion. Kennelly might be the type of player needed for Centre Back, while Killian Young is wasted in the corner. I'd like to see young Bohane getting a run at full back as well, but probably not now. Tommy Griffen would also be an option for a half back/Midfield role. There's also Sean O'Sullivan, Brian Sheehan and a few others to consider as well. Kerry have the football and the depth, they need to find their mojo fairly quickly though. If they continue as they are going, then Antrim will beat them. Antrim would probably have beaten them in either of their last two games. Maybe Jack is calculating that this is the time to shake things up in a major way.

Agree AZO...O'Connor might reckon that a bit of air-clearing is better done before playing Antrim than later on in the Championship...I'm getting a bit nervous for our boys now :(
Post by: bcarrier on July 24, 2009, 12:45:46 PM
Id try something like ....

Murphy

Marc O'Se   D Bohane   Tom Sullivan

Aidan O'Mahony  Mike McCarthy    Killian Young

David Moran   Seamus Scanlon

Paul Galvin       Declan O'Sullivan     T Kennelly

BJ Walsh          Tommy Walsh       Darren O'S

Darragh to come off bench but not start . Moran to hit the frees.
Post by: INDIANA on July 24, 2009, 01:34:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2009, 12:07:27 PM

Murphy

They are dropped for this game- not the panel. I agree the form isn't great but they'd still be playing if.........
I actually think Gooch's form isn't that bad. He won some great ball against Sligo- just didn't convert. Generally I'd be more worried about someone who's winning no ball.
The shooting thing is usually a temporary situation.