GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 10:43:09 PM

Title: Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin - 7pm Port Laoise 25/7/09
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 10:43:09 PM
Should be a fascinating game. Carlow or Portlaoise possible venues??

Wicklow on a roll but how will they perform out of Aughrim? They'll have no fear of our lads after Croke Park last year.

Should be no shortage of motivation for the Kildare team. It's a great opportunity to put the ghosts of that defeat to rest.
Title: Re: Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin
Post by: INDIANA on July 19, 2009, 10:46:42 PM
Soft one for Kildare. 8-10 pt win I'd put my house on it. Completely different fitness and power level.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 10:57:59 PM
I'd hope so but they've always seemed to cause us problems down the years. They were seven points up on us at one stage in the second half in 2005 before Tadhg Fennin punched a goal and Earley and Karl Ennis came off the bench to win the game for us. I remember another match back in the early nineties, might have been 1993, when they were nine or ten points ahead at HT. Think Martin Lynch got two goals to get us out of jail that day. He took around twenty steps for one of them if I recall correctly!
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:01:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 19, 2009, 10:46:42 PM
Soft one for Kildare. 8-10 pt win I'd put my house on it. Completely different fitness and power level.

I concur.
Mickos lap-running method is about to be seriously found out
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 11:02:30 PM
Feck off Indiana, Wicklow are on roll, knocked out 3 teams from the strongest province Kildare have to pick themselves up off the ground, Wicklow won comfortably last year, Wicklow have to be favourites...

The players wanted this, no lacking motivation and hopefully we can excorcise last years demons...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 11:04:36 PM
Yep, Wicklow have to be favourites. It's the Micko factor!
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 11:07:49 PM
Was in Tralee last evening and the cheer that went up when the Wicklow result was announced was something to witness.

Heart says Wickla, head says the lillywhites, but common the goatsuckers.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 11:09:48 PM
QuoteI remember another match back in the early nineties, might have been 1993, when they were nine or ten points ahead at HT. Think Martin Lynch got two goals to get us out of jail that day. He took around twenty steps for one of them if I recall correctly!

Remember that, yea he took about 10 steps and we were 9 points behind, Hugh Kenny was immense for Wicklow that day and didn't deserve to be robbed.
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2009, 11:24:44 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 11:02:30 PM
Feck off Indiana, Wicklow are on roll, knocked out 3 teams from the strongest province Kildare have to pick themselves up off the ground, Wicklow won comfortably last year, Wicklow have to be favourites...

The players wanted this, no lacking motivation and hopefully we can excorcise last years demons...
In what world do Kildare go from being in with a good shout of beating Dublin and being generally fancied to being underdogs to Wicklow?

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 11:34:32 PM
Just been reading through the thread of last year's match: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7752.45 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7752.45)

I'd nearly send it on to the few lads I know on the panel to use it as motivation for Saturday's match. In all the years I've followed Kildare football, I've never been as sick and depressed coming home from a defeat as I was last year.

Time to lay those demons to rest.
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:44:35 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 19, 2009, 11:24:44 PM

In what world do Kildare go from being in with a good shout of beating Dublin and being generally fancied to being underdogs to Wicklow?

In a world where the worst thing possible is to be considered the favourite to win a game.  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2009, 01:02:58 AM

Wicklow have beaten Fermanagh, Down and Cavan. If I was to name the 2 worst football matches I saw all year - it was involving those 3 sides. Wicklow have had a fine run but i'd expect Dublin to beat Wicklow by 10 points. I know myself the top 4 teams would run Wicklow into the ground. Since Kildare should have beaten us- I expect them to account for Wicklow with quite a bit to spare. thats if Kildare see themselves as having genuinely improved from last year.If Kildare can't get the motivation after last year they should retire.

This is a different level of football compared to the teams Wicklow have been playing.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 20, 2009, 01:14:43 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 11:34:32 PM
Just been reading through the thread of last year's match: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7752.45 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7752.45)

I'd nearly send it on to the few lads I know on the panel to use it as motivation for Saturday's match. In all the years I've followed Kildare football, I've never been as sick and depressed coming home from a defeat as I was last year.

Time to lay those demons to rest.

Interesting reading right enough. Turned out the "mercenaries" weren't so bad after all.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2009, 08:28:30 AM
Just read through that thread and I was quite the prophet, Kildare learned so much from that defeat but those lessons will have been futile if we don't win next weekend.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2009, 08:46:21 AM
The Range Rovers are certainly not costing as much to keep on the road this year, ye could nearly leave the horse boxes attached because ye still haven't moved away from playing a county that didn't touch your own county.

EDIT:  The correct answer will be; We got further than Laois.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2009, 02:06:04 PM
(http://www.duncanmcintosh.co.uk/trail_img/horsebox_c.jpg)

She's all set for the road Bud. The old Ifor Williams on the back comes as standard though. There'll be no unhitching her.

Hopefully we'll be hitting Port Laoise come Saturday evening to clog up the roads sample the local delights and have a bit of craic with the natives.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2009, 03:48:28 PM
7pm throw in on Saturday evening in Portlaoise apparently.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2009, 03:49:48 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2009, 03:48:28 PM
7pm throw in on Saturday evening in Portlaoise apparently.

Brilliant news, thought I miss her
Title: Re: Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin - 7pm Port Laoise 25/7/09
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2009, 04:02:37 PM
Kildare by 8 points (lucky bollixs)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2009, 05:09:09 PM
It is going to be part of a triple header according to the CLG website. Parking could be a bit of a pain unless you're there early. It'll be a tight squeeze fitting all those Range Rovers and horse-boxes into Portlaoise!

ESB GAA Hurling All Ireland Minor Championship - Quarter Final
Portlaoise 3.00pm Loch Garman v Tiobraid Árann
(E.T. if Necessary)

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship - Relegation Round 1
Portlaoise 5.00pm An Clár v Loch Garman
(E.T. if Necessary)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship - Qualifier Round 4
Portlaoise 7.00pm Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin
(E.T. if Necessary)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2009, 05:20:06 PM
Ah bollix, I won't be there till 6 at the earliest, the yellow bellies are great supporters and will bring a crowd, Tipp minors are flying so expect another good crowd from there, could be close to capacity.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2009, 04:54:33 PM
Éamonn Callaghan, James Kavanagh and Mikey Conway are all injury doubts for Saturday night. Leper is still suffering from the groin injury that prevented him from starting the Leinster Final. Conway's knee complaint that kept him out of the Wexford match has flared up again and Kavanagh has a hamstring injury. I'd say Leper is very unlikely to start because he has hardly any training done in a few weeks. The other two lads would be more 50/50 calls but either of them would be missed given their form all year. If they are to miss out, I'd like to see a starting 15 of:

1. Corley (Needs to vary the kickouts more. Some of the criticism of him after the LF was harsh because not a lot of backs were moving for the short kickout.)

2. McGrillen (Nightmare start to the LF but understandable for a lad making his Croke Park debut. Deserves another chance and Mac wasn't much better after coming on.)
3. K. O'Neill (Would like to see him back. Foley has done well but he's not a natural fullback. Surprising that he hasn't seen more action from the bench though.)
4. Bolton (At fault for the Sherlock goal but apart from that I thought he played quite well in the LF. Not a position we're blessed with a lot of options.)

5. M. O'Flaherty (Got through a mountain of ball against the Dubs. Far more comfortable on the wing than he was in the corner last year.)
6. Foley (Class act who'd surely have made this position his own years ago if he hadn't have been cursed with injuries.)
7. Flanagan (Great all year but I suspect he might be a bit too loose for the centre back slot against the top teams. If Conway is out I'd like to see him switched to the wing.)

8. Flynn (A lot of calls for Rob Kelly to replace him but the last time Kelly and Earley were paired Meath cleaned us out. Hasn't done much wrong since the suspension.)
9. Earley (Playing out of his skin all year. We need a plan in place for when he starts tiring in the last quarter of big matches though.)

10. Kelly (I don't think he's good enough in the air to play midfield but he's accurate enough in front of goals to be worth his place in the forwards if Jimmers is out.)
11. P. O'Neill (Kicked two long range points at important times against Dublin. Still get the impression there's a lot more in him.)
12. Sweeney (Not as effective in the LF as he had been previously. Kicked two scores but afforded Barry Cahill too much space. He'll be motivated to put that behind him.)

13. Smith (Had Bastic in all kinds of problems in the first half of the LF. Ball dried up in the second half though. Get enough supply into him and he'll do damage.)
14. Donnelly (Silenced a few doubters (myself included) in the LF. Still think Leper is more effective in creating space for others but Donnelly is a capable replacement.)
15. Doyle (Forced to play too deep against Dublin in order to get his hands on some ball. Would like to see him closer to the goals where Wicklow will struggle to handle him.)

Marty Duffy appointed as referee - expect an evening of frustration!  >:(
Post by: Caid on July 23, 2009, 07:32:58 PM
Probably the hardest draw possible for Wicklow but nonetheless a game that is winnable.  Will be the most difficult challenge thus far but the players, despite their great record in recent years and victories over three strong Ulster teams, still have a point to prove to the country as everyone seems to be under the impression that it's a one man team and Micko is that man.  A narrow Wicklow victory is possible but they will likely need a goal or two.  Wicklow have the midfield to compete with Kildare but the defence will need to be on top form and keep an eye on Doyle et al.  Expect Wicklow to have a few frontrunners for allstars after Saturday night's game...
Post by: laoisgaa on July 23, 2009, 07:43:42 PM
QuoteTipp minors are flying

I think you'll find that Waterford won the Munster final!!!!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2009, 08:38:43 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on July 23, 2009, 07:43:42 PM
QuoteTipp minors are flying

I think you'll find that Waterford won the Munster final!!!!!!

Yea copped that the other day, thanks for pointing it out  ;)

So Kildare are unchanged from the Leinster final, hard to argue with that but like DH I would have found room for O'Neill but if things aren't going well expect him to be thrown in early. All the hype all week has been Micko this, Micklow that, expectations are high in their county and I'm delighted they keep referencing last years game, Kildare are a completely different side from 14 months ago, maybe not in personnel but certainly in belief, attitude and commitment. Referee Martin Duffy can be fussy but he had a good game in the Derry v Monaghan game so don't think he'll be a factor, everything points to a comfortable Kildare win but Wicklow won't lay down. Kildare to win by 4 and Johnny Doyle to pick up man of the match.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2009, 03:33:06 PM
I'm surprised Mikey Conway has been named in the team. Heard yesterday that he's unlikely to play. I'd like to have seen Kevin O'Neill in but I doubt he'll start even if Conway is out. McGeeney would be more likely to bring in either Scanlon or Chalky in a straight swap. I'm disappointed Kev hasn't seen more football this year because I feel he brings physicality and leadership to the defence. It's possible the shoulder might still be causing him problems and we don't have the benefit of seeing how lads are going in training.

I hope we're disciplined in our tackling tomorrow because if we're not Marty Duffy could whistle us off the field and Hannon will kick frees for fun. I'd also like to see us being a bit more ruthless in front of goal. Against the Dubs we could have engineered more goal chances if we'd have made another pass instead of fisting the point. If we get an early goal or two like we did against Offaly and Wexford than I'd expect us to win comfortably enough. We'll have to start better than we have in the last two matches and we can't afford to have any opening half hangover after the Leinster Final. If we do start well we could pull away in the final quarter because Wicklow haven't used any subs in their qualifier run so far and you'd have to question whether Micko trusts his bench. They'll surely need some sort of impact off the bench after playing three matches in as many weeks. That extra bit of freshness and quality on the bench will hopefully see us prevail in the end.

Cill Dara Abú
Post by: slievegullion on July 25, 2009, 05:28:44 PM
Will this game be shown on the TV3 website?

Edit: Just checked, suppose I could have done that in the first place. It is being shown but it's 'ROI only'.
Post by: Ryano on July 25, 2009, 06:41:21 PM
The game is LIVE on TV3 now lads.
Post by: Caid on July 25, 2009, 06:52:00 PM
I settle down for an enjoyable time listening to a Wicklow victory and then Mickey Harte comes on the wireless to ruin the enjoyment....
Post by: Square Ball on July 25, 2009, 06:56:00 PM
Quote from: Ryano on July 25, 2009, 06:41:21 PM
The game is LIVE on TV3 now lads.

link anyone?

Post by: slievegullion on July 25, 2009, 07:06:12 PM
gaalive.net down for anyone else?
Post by: Barney on July 25, 2009, 08:42:05 PM
Very enjoyable game despite a serious does of small man syndrome from Marty Duffy. A side benefit of Mayo fighting their way through to an All Ireland would be to deny this shame of a ref a September outing.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 25, 2009, 09:10:12 PM
What a craking game! Demot Earley deservedly man of the match. Hats off to Micko for having his team fighting til the end. Wicklow are definitely the championship success story of the year. Well done to all concerned.
Post by: magickingdom on July 25, 2009, 09:18:59 PM
great game, mickos right up there with tom watson to still be going strong
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2009, 09:40:21 PM
lack of use of subs cost them the game.
Kildare have huge problems at the back.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 25, 2009, 09:46:43 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 25, 2009, 09:18:59 PM

Tonight he was like Tom Watson on the play off holes.

He made reference last week, in the inrterview after the game, to the fact that he had played the same fifteen over three consecutive matches - no subs used. He wondered was it a record and as he asked the question, he appeared well pleased with himself.

His absolute determination tonight to not make a substitution cause Wicklow a great opportunity of victory. I have asked elsewhere, I wonder will anyone in Wicklow be brave enough to stand up and ask is the emporer wearing any clothes! 
Post by: johnpower on July 25, 2009, 09:50:31 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 25, 2009, 09:46:43 PM

Tonight he was like Tom Watson on the play off holes.

He made reference last week, in the inrterview after the game, to the fact that he had played the same fifteen over three consecutive matches - no subs used. He wondered was it a record and as he asked the question, he appeared well pleased with himself.

His absolute determination tonight to not make a substitution cause Wicklow a great opportunity of victory. I have asked elsewhere, I wonder will anyone in Wicklow be brave enough to stand up and ask is the emporer wearing any clothes! 

I doubt it I was in middle of the Wicklow crowd and no body called for subs .
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 25, 2009, 10:01:30 PM
 micko does get the best of every takes. That liam Hayes is a bitter boy the way he went on about O'Dwyer and you could see he did not impress Canavan one bit... no wonder after the stuff he wrote before Tyrone's wins in '05 and '08   
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 25, 2009, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 25, 2009, 10:01:30 PM
micko does get the best of every takes.

No doubt - he definitely got the best out of his fifteen. Geezer and Grimbles did better though with their twenty.
Post by: johnpower on July 25, 2009, 10:18:03 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 25, 2009, 10:01:30 PM
micko does get the best of every takes. That liam Hayes is a bitter boy the way he went on about O'Dwyer and you could see he did not impress Canavan one bit... no wonder after the stuff he wrote before Tyrone's wins in '05 and '08   

Yes Mr Hayes is one bitter man . I assume Tyrone would not mind getting Meath in the quarter finals ?
Post by: Main Street on July 25, 2009, 10:40:40 PM
At 20 years past his prime and 20 years past when most managers are used up, he still has more craft in his locker than most younger bucks at county level..
That was a very impressive performance from the Wicklow men and also a glaringly obvious testament to Micko's part in it.
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 25, 2009, 10:43:58 PM
in fairness miko lost 4 defenders and a forward in their loss to westmeath i think....for any county thats alot
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 25, 2009, 10:51:08 PM
Quote from: Barney on July 25, 2009, 08:42:05 PM
Very enjoyable game despite a serious does of small man syndrome from Marty Duffy. A side benefit of Mayo fighting their way through to an All Ireland would be to deny this shame of a ref a September outing.
Oh don't tell me the punters were paying to see Marty again? What a odious little cretin.  ::)

Good win for Kildare, but credit to Wicklow for making such a great run in the Championship, hopefully it'll get interest in the game going in the county. Whatever one says about Micko, he certainly does get a lot out of his teams, and they will play for him. Look at Kildare in the period between him and Geezer, and even more so, Laois since he left.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 25, 2009, 10:51:17 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 25, 2009, 10:40:40 PM
At 20 years past his prime

I don't think that Micko would agree that he's past it.

Fair Play to him and his team. Maybe they over-achieved in getting this far but twas a great run for them.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 12:58:53 AM
Great game. Honest football and great endeavour from both sides.

What was brilliant about it was Mickos post match interview. He didn't grumble, didn't complain or blame the referee, the pitch or the weather. He smiled throughout the interview and you can see that he loves every minute of it.

Fair play to him.
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2009, 08:07:43 AM
Still though why not use a sub?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 12:40:11 PM
Probably our worst performance of the summer by some distance so happy to come out of Portlaoise with the win. Too many players just didn't play up to what they are capable of. We were on the ropes for a period in the first half but Dermot, Hughie McGrillen and Morgan Flaherty drove us on and pulled us through. Dermot was sensational throughout the game and he's surely now a contender for player of the year even at this early stage. Delighted for Hughie as well. The Leinster Final horror show could have shattered a lesser player's confidence but he showed bottle and character to come back stronger from it. Put the shackles on Furlong when switched onto him in the second half.

Furlong had done untold damage beforehand and we'll need to tighten up significantly at the back if we are to be competitive next weekend. It's unfair to single out Foley for criticism because he's being played out of position and he's clearly not comfortable on the edge of the square. If Mikey Conway is out of the quarter final, I'd say MacLochlainn will probably come into the full back line with Foley moving back out to the half back line where he'll be seen to better effect. Why Kevin O'Neill appears to have fallen so far down the pecking order though, I don't know? I can only assume that he's not doing the business in training but I doubt we'd have conceded four goals in our last two matches if Kev was in at full back.

Leper had a big impact when coming on. Kicked two fine points with either foot when the momentum was with Wicklow. Hope he's fit to start the next day. Rob Kelly did well too when he came on. I'd be tempted to start him ahead of Roli the next day because I think Roli would be a great option to have on the bench for when Dermot starts to run out of steam in the final quarter of games.

Lastly, credit to Wicklow and Micko for a cracking game. You know with all of Micko's teams that they'll go out to play good open football and that match might just stand to us next weekend.
Post by: Main Street on July 26, 2009, 06:28:45 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 25, 2009, 10:51:17 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 25, 2009, 10:40:40 PM
At 20 years past his prime

I don't think that Micko would agree that he's past it.

Fair Play to him and his team. Maybe they over-achieved in getting this far but twas a great run for them.
Past his prime  but not "past it", if you get my meaning.
Post by: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 11:06:01 PM
Fantastic game. Best game of the Championship to date in IMHO. Just a pity Wicklow couldn't hold on for a win.