GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 04:40:58 PM

Title: All Ireland finals will be played on BRITISH soil. Happy now ?.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 04:40:58 PM
The GAA are ripping up the pitch for the U2 concert and relaying it in time for the quarter finals. They're employing a contractor from the wee Black North and soil and grass specialists from Britain.

All-Ireland finals to be played on British soil as pitch torn up for U2

The scene at Croke Park as the final pieces of the pitch were ripped up by mechanical diggers after the Leinster final on Sunday

By Aidan O'Connor

Tuesday July 14 2009

THE All-Ireland football and hurling finals are to be played on British soil in Croke Park for the first time in the GAA's proud 125-year history.

The entire surface at Croke Park is being ripped up to facilitate U2's concerts next weekend but will be replaced by new sods sourced in England.

Croke Park is defending its decision to source all of the stadium's new sod from a specialist turf farm in Scunthorpe. But the stadium is coming under increasing pressure over its decision to depend almost exclusively on British companies to provide pitch advice, seed and turf.

A convoy of UK and Northern Ireland heavy machinery moved onto the pitch on Sunday to begin work on the €1.2m project.

The entire surface is being torn up and tonnes of sand are being spread across a bare surface to cater for the thousands of U2 fans expected to hit Croker next weekend.

A completely new surface will then be planted, farmed in the UK and jointly paid for by U2 and Croke Park.

Croke Park has hired Clive Richardson, a company based in Armagh, to do the contract work.

However, the stadium's decision to hire British consultants Sports Turf Research Institute (STRI) to advise on the project has infuriated one Fianna Fail senator.

"I think this is symbolically a terrible signal for the GAA to be sending out. The GAA are our national sporting institution and Croke Park is our national stadium," said Senator Mark Daly.

"Given the history of the stadium and the pitch I think the GAA should be doing more to source sod from within Ireland rather than importing it. I'm not sure anyone involved in the GAA would be too comfortable with the notion of the All-Ireland finals being played on British soil," he added.

But Croke Park defended its decision last night and dismissed claims of matches being played on British spoil as "ill-informed".
Opinion

Stadium Director Peter McKenna said: "We're not playing games on British soil. It's a strange way to look at it. We need to see the bigger picture. It's an ill-informed opinion."

Mr McKenna said that Ireland does not have the specialist turf farms or grass seed nurseries that can provide Croke Park with what it needs. Experts looked at three turf farms in the UK and one in Slovenia before it made its decision.

U2 have committed to paying 30pc of the €1.2m bill with Croke Park picking up the rest of the tab.
Title: Re: All Ireland finals will be played on BRITISH soil. Happy now ?.
Post by: full back on July 14, 2009, 04:51:02 PM
Fcuk there are some yaps & scaremongers around

It has been clearly stated Ireland hasnt got the specialist requirements to do such a job
The same people would be crying about the state of the pitch if an Irish company was used & it was a balls up ::)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2009, 05:08:53 PM
why is this an issue?  ???
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 05:13:34 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2009, 05:08:53 PM
why is this an issue?  ???

No big deal but some senator is trying to make an issue of it :

However, the stadium's decision to hire British consultants Sports Turf Research Institute (STRI) to advise on the project has infuriated one Fianna Fail senator.

"I think this is symbolically a terrible signal for the GAA to be sending out. The GAA are our national sporting institution and Croke Park is our national stadium," said Senator Mark Daly
Post by: ziggysego on July 14, 2009, 06:30:23 PM
Ah so what.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 14, 2009, 06:57:23 PM
Erm...

Isn't it actually against the GAA rules to use materials of non Irish manufacture?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 14, 2009, 07:05:15 PM
Who cares. 

I'm embarrassed this is even  newsworthy.
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2009, 07:05:53 PM
No doubt there will be "field" day for jokers when Antrim and Down play this year.
Post by: Gnevin on July 14, 2009, 07:08:30 PM
Quote from: full back on July 14, 2009, 04:51:02 PM
Fcuk there are some yaps & scaremongers around

It has been clearly stated Ireland hasnt got the specialist requirements to do such a job
The same people would be crying about the state of the pitch if an Irish company was used & it was a balls up ::)

When was this projected ordered? According to the lad who did the pitch for the CL final this year or last year (some top guy in this field) Ireland could of provided the sod if notice was given but I agree storm in a teacup.

Post by: ziggysego on July 14, 2009, 09:26:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 06:56:17 PM
i don't see the problem? sure nobody complained when United Kingdom Teams Tyrone, Derry, Down & Armagh won All Irelands on irish soil :P

Go f**k yourself. What kind of comment is that from a Gael?
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 09:37:31 PM
i don't see the problem? sure nobody complained when United Kingdom Teams Tyrone, Derry, Down & Armagh won All Irelands on irish soil :P

That is so original... not! At least people remember when they won an All Ireland, west brit boy.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:41:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 09:37:31 PM

That is so original... not! At least people remember when they won an All Ireland, west brit boy.

Bit like the Kerry lads asking when "the British national anthem" was going to be played before the AI final.
Post by: magickingdom on July 14, 2009, 09:43:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:41:23 PM

Bit like the Kerry lads asking when "the British national anthem" was going to be played before the AI final.

really orangeman? never heard that...
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:47:41 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 14, 2009, 09:43:48 PM

So they say. Don't know whether to believe it or not.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 09:51:59 PM

right enuff and check out the video of last years final with the Kerry keeper especially and other players stretching nad dancing about during the national anthem and their supporters cheering before it is over... while Tyrone players and fans give it due respect.  in 2003 a Kerry begrudger said to me about two british teams in  All Ireland, the only time the anthem was heard to the very end at the final.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 09:55:22 PM
I thought the turf was formed/grown around U-shaped plastic wires, each 45cm, total 100s km for whole pitch? Maybe this is the same stuff? Book on Croke Park history gives good account of it. Drainage is helped by fans sucking the water out, same system blows air the opposite way to aerate the soil. I'm not an expert on this, but the book explanation was very good, also talked about maximum stand angles etc. There's a good article in this subject, shame they spun it into meaningless bullshit instead.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:57:10 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on July 14, 2009, 09:49:19 PM
Just when the pitch has become a good surface for football and rugby, it gets ripped up for the benefit of U2!

Is the profit from the concerts worth altering the pitch and perhaps ending up with a surface which is not as good as the one ripped out?

BTW Indo seems to be inferring that the use of Clive Richardson from Portadown is further "British" involvement

Clive Richardson, formerly Haffeys, are reckoned to be the foremost builders of new pitches and maintenance experts.  

I don't think that the Indo was inferring this. I think their only complaint was about the British soil experts.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 09:57:50 PM
Just when the pitch has become a good surface for football and rugby, it gets ripped up for the benefit of U2!

Is the profit from the concerts worth altering the pitch and perhaps ending up with a surface which is not as good as the one ripped out?

BTW Indo seems to be inferring that the use of Clive Richardson from Portadown is further "British" involvement

Clive Richardson, formerly Haffeys, are reckoned to be the foremost builders of new pitches and maintenance experts.  

I was wondering about that, one would like to think that it might have been due to be replaced anyway? Do semi artificial surfaces get better with age, or would they have a given life expectancy?
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on July 14, 2009, 09:59:20 PM
this shouldnt be a big deal. for chirst sake wise up. this company in scunthorpe or wherever is obviously very good at what they do, the best maybe, so ge tthem in. true what someone said there, if an irish firm put the soil/grass/sod down, and it was a balls, people would complain about the surface i ncroke park..cuz god knows, no-one has ever complained about it b4... ::)
Post by: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:00:01 PM
Is that the paper owned by Irishman 'Sir' AJ O'Reilly?
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 10:00:20 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:57:10 PM

I don't think that the Indo was inferring this. I think their only complaint was about the British soil experts.

Yes one would expect Ireland to have a number of top-class soil/stadium consulting companies waiting on hand to tender for our 1 stadium.  :)

I know we have good people for club pitches with home grown expertise suited to the required surface, but a huge stadium will surely be a different undertaking?
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 10:00:43 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 09:57:50 PM

I was wondering about that, one would like to think that it might have been due to be replaced anyway? Do semi artificial surfaces get better with age, or would they have a given life expectancy?

The article says that the GAA were scheduled to replace the pitch in 2010 in any case. It's costing €1.2m and U2 are paying 30% of the replacement cost.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 10:01:06 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 09:55:22 PM
I thought the turf was formed/grown around U-shaped plastic wires, each 45cm, total 100s km for whole pitch? Maybe this is the same stuff? Book on Croke Park history gives good account of it. Drainage is helped by fans sucking the water out, same system blows air the opposite way to aerate the soil. I'm not an expert on this, but the book explanation was very good, also talked about maximum stand angles etc. There's a good article in this subject, shame they spun it into meaningless bullshit instead.

This is just another idea to mistreat the supporters... no way they can be expected to do this...
Post by: Bitta-Banter on July 14, 2009, 10:01:31 PM
May i ask why they even need to relay the pitch in the first place? Hardly as if it was in need of resurfacing as the surface was second to none.
Post by: ziggysego on July 14, 2009, 10:03:07 PM
Quote from: Bitta-Banter on July 14, 2009, 10:01:31 PM
May i ask why they even need to relay the pitch in the first place? Hardly as if it was in need of resurfacing as the surface was second to none.

Lifting it for the U2 concert.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 10:07:03 PM

Croke Park is going to stage the U2 bonanza concert and says that they were planning to replace the surface in 2010 anyway. So they're going ahead earlier. They say that the concert would have caused ireppearable damage to the pitch.
Post by: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 10:07:03 PM

Croke Park is going to stage the U2 bonanza concert and says that they were planning to replace the surface in 2010 anyway. So they're going ahead earlier. They say that the concert would have caused ireppearable damage to the pitch.

The stage weighs 550 tonnes or something like that.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 10:09:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 10:00:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 14, 2009, 09:26:01 PM

& what did i say wrong ??? the fact remains they are from the United Kingdom if we like it or not? here's some reading http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom before you tell someone to go F**k themselves again

Check out your wikipedia to see what part of the British isles you live in Phil  ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 10:12:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 10:07:03 PM

The stage weighs 550 tonnes or something like that.

And 11 storeys high - the stadium itself is only 12 storeys high, so that gives you some idea of the scale.
Post by: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:12:53 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 10:09:38 PM

& what did i say wrong ??? the fact remains they are from the United Kingdom if we like it or not? here's some reading http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom before you tell someone to go F**k themselves again

Check out your wikipedia to see what part of the British isles you live in Phil  ;)
(http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b93/ohmybeautiful1/father-ted-careful-now.jpg)
Post by: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 10:17:27 PM

As has been said before on this board, anyone who use's wikipedia as a reference is obviously lacking in the IQ department themselves ::)
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 10:20:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:12:53 PM

(http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b93/ohmybeautiful1/father-ted-careful-now.jpg)

..."he drew first blood"   Slvester Stallone...First Blood 1982
Post by: magickingdom on July 14, 2009, 10:23:33 PM

if i were you and i was going to be a wum i'd hide my email address
Post by: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:29:21 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 10:20:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 14, 2009, 10:12:53 PM

..."he drew first blood"   Slvester Stallone...First Blood 1982

I'm not really having a go at you, he did bing it on himself........but rules are rules......
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2009, 10:36:24 PM

Yeah, I wouldn't tell you to go f**k yourself.

But do go and hang yourself.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 14, 2009, 10:51:59 PM

Dunno about Kerry but was talking to fella a few months back and at the Cross Kilmacud match he was telling his son that Brian Kavanagh was from Longford. At which point a Dub turned round to him and said "At least he's not a Brit". Ok maybe its harmless but you'd expect a bit better.

By the FOSB has gone too far with the above post as well. No need for it.
Post by: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:23:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 11:07:25 PM
lol i think you guys took me up wrong ::)

as for low IQ yep there not from the united kingdom soooooo ;) next time you get money from the British government to build pitches SAY NO!!
& finally hanging myself :D well I'm a rossies fan if i haven't done it already hardly now ;)

now hush hush & we can all look forward to the great Irish ulster final that is ANTRIM V TYRONE :P

So your saying the that because the Irish goverment accepts money from Brussels that they're Belgian, Jesus was born in a stable but that doesn't mean he's a horse!

ross4life + access to computer = uneducated stupidity of the highest order.
Post by: oakleafgael on July 14, 2009, 11:24:26 PM

Only by themselves.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 11:25:55 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on July 14, 2009, 11:24:26 PM

Only by themselves.

Is Joe Prunty not an expert in this department ?.
Post by: oakleafgael on July 14, 2009, 11:27:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 11:25:55 PM

Only by themselves.

The same quote from above would apply to them.
Post by: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:28:43 PM

Only by themselves.

He made a fine mess of Pairc Esler in Newry if he is an expert.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 11:35:21 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:28:43 PM

Only by themselves.

He made a fine mess of Pairc Esler in Newry if he is an expert.

It's not called the Marshes for it being dry.

When it was opened Prunty was lauded by the Down county board for doing such a wonderful job. What has changed ?
Post by: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:35:35 PM

as for low IQ yep there not from the united kingdom soooooo ;) next time you get money from the British government to build pitches SAY NO!!

& finally hanging myself :D well I'm a rossies fan if i haven't done it already hardly now ;)

now hush hush & we can all look forward to the great Irish ulster final that is ANTRIM V TYRONE :P

Ross4life - a little baiting is grand for a while but we've had enough cr*p on this island arguing as to who is Irish, British, United Kingdomish or whatever.

As a Kerryman and Irishman I take pride in my national sports. I've never met an Irishman from the alternatively administrated part of the island who didn't either.

I know the lads from up north sometimes slag us as mexicans - so what - we'll call them yanks.

Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 11:37:30 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:23:44 PM

So your saying the that because the Irish goverment accepts money from Brussels that they're Belgian, Jesus was born in a stable but that doesn't mean he's a horse!

ross4life + access to computer = uneducated stupidity of the highest order.

i never said any thing about the Irish Government! I'm taking about the 6 counties they get money, anyways i didn't come on here to insult anyone unlike some ::)

at the end of the day it's the ALL Ireland & are All Irish & IMO it brings us all together better than anything,

the best thing about the GAA is the friendly banter among Fan's lets not make us like the SOCCER FANS OK

PEACE OUT!!
Post by: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:39:47 PM
The pitch was supposed to be playable irrespective of how much rain fell on it due to the high tech pumping system installed, this however turned out to be a load of nonsense when the pitch was deemed unplayable for some games last year & the fact that artificial turf had to be laid along the sideline in front of the stand doesn't help their argument for being good at what they do.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 15, 2009, 02:59:17 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0714/1224250639550.html

The picture looks like right vandalism, but pitch due to be replaced next year anyway apparently.

2.75 million Euro from U2. So 2.6125 million after the GPA cut is taken out. Not bad though  :)
Post by: mckieran on July 15, 2009, 11:19:42 AM
I would be interested to know if an Irish company could have been sought to tdo this job.

At the time of opening up croke park, one of the key arguments was that one of the gaa's objectives was to aid irish economy. Not sure if this is true as I cant find a mission statement from the GAA. But certainly, going abroad for this seems to contradict this objective.

Then again, if they dont think an irish company is up to scratch, then they are right to go with a company that they feel will do a better job
Post by: eireogatron on July 15, 2009, 11:48:12 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:39:47 PM
The pitch was supposed to be playable irrespective of how much rain fell on it due to the high tech pumping system installed, this however turned out to be a load of nonsense when the pitch was deemed unplayable for some games last year & the fact that artificial turf had to be laid along the sideline in front of the stand doesn't help their argument for being good at what they do.

to be fair the amount of rain that fell last year was unprecedented and constant throughout the year. Remember the motorway floods?

We were playing up in Cross last week and I have to say that their new pitch - a Prunty pitch -  is probably the most impressive pitch I've ever seen in my life. Like a carpet.
Post by: brougherboy on July 15, 2009, 12:08:20 PM
prunty definately makes a great job of any pitch he does and he stands over them!! my own club was done 3-4 years ago still like new!!  prunty started out draining fields in waterlogged fermanagh, he could make a job of any wet field in Ireland! Croker relay must be very specialist job!
Post by: ziggysego on July 15, 2009, 12:20:20 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 15, 2009, 11:48:12 AM

to be fair the amount of rain that fell last year was unprecedented and constant throughout the year. Remember the motorway floods?

We were playing up in Cross last week and I have to say that their new pitch - a Prunty pitch -  is probably the most impressive pitch I've ever seen in my life. Like a carpet.

Urney have a Prunty pitch. There was heavy rain up in North Tyrone about two months ago and Urney was the only game that was able to go ahead.
Post by: antoinse on July 15, 2009, 12:37:47 PM
The job Prunty did on the Kiltoom pitch, Roscommon, has been remarkable. Been there a few times during and after heavy rain and the pitch was brilliant
Post by: illdecide on July 15, 2009, 12:40:55 PM
Well lads i have to say it doesn't matter who builds the pitch (Prunty or Richardson's) as they build it to what Engineers design it for, yes the playing surface is what you see and if it's given the proper attention then it will look and be the part. The pitch is designed on it's usage and if it's not given enough time to recover from matches or training then it will deteriorate (some quicker than others depending on it's design and quality). As for the drainage it again is designed by the engineers who will tell Prunty/Richardson's what sewers to put in and where, the problem with sewers is they could be perfect for the pitch and are capable of taking any flash floods. However, they are only as good as the sewers upstream to which they discharge so what I'm saying is if the sewers out on the road are not capable of taking the flash floods and the system backs up then the water from the pitch will not have anywhere to go...know what I'm saying...

anyway getting back to them 2 contractors mentioned, they are both reputable with Prunty slightly ahead on quality and this is only because Prunty only takes on what he can manage whereas Richardson's take everything on and usually have too many contracts on in anyone time and sometimes neglects them a bit as he's too much on although i would think Croke Park will receive his full attention.

the firm in Scunthorpe will have got info from Croke Park on the type of surface needed for both Hurling and football this info is passed to an "Agronomist" who design the actual make up of the surface i.e. 100mm top soil with 50mm of some type of sand which will have 225mm pea gravel (that sort of sh1t) and the sod will be grown in Scunthorpe to the Agronomist's spec and shipped across where Richardson's will then apply their orange fingers hands to it
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 15, 2009, 01:22:43 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:35:35 PM

Ross4life - a little baiting is grand for a while but we've had enough cr*p on this island arguing as to who is Irish, British, United Kingdomish or whatever.

As a Kerryman and Irishman I take pride in my national sports. I've never met an Irishman from the alternatively administrated part of the island who didn't either.

I know the lads from up north sometimes slag us as mexicans - so what - we'll call them
yanks.

Well since you lot sold us down the river in 1921, I think you have got off lightly ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 03:58:36 PM
I see the Irish News have picked up on this thread They must be monitoring this site.
Post by: illdecide on July 15, 2009, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 03:58:36 PM
I see the Irish News have picked up on this thread They must be monitoring this site.

why Orangeman wat the say, haven't read the Irish news yet. Thats for the bog later saan. If i'm not mistaken i believe they have wrote a few things from the board b4
Post by: LeoMc on July 15, 2009, 04:50:51 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:35:35 PM

I know the lads from up north sometimes slag us as mexicans - so what - we'll call them yanks.

As Daire O'Brian once said "We know ye call us Mexicans, ye Canadian b@5t@'d5"
Post by: mournerambler on July 15, 2009, 05:15:08 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 15, 2009, 11:48:12 AM

A lot of people were told that it didn't matter how much rain fell that the pitch would still be playable, this was an ambitious statement to say the least, i've nothing against Mr Prunty either in case peolpe think I have.
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 05:16:52 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 15, 2009, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 03:58:36 PM

why Orangeman wat the say, haven't read the Irish news yet. Thats for the bog later saan. If i'm not mistaken i believe they have wrote a few things from the board b4

Basically the same stuff. The headline is " Turf war as Croke clash will be played will be played out on British soil."

And then they just repeat the exact same story - the Clive Richardson contract, the boys in Scunthorpe, the FF politician who was giving out.

Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2009, 05:53:31 PM
That was all in the Dublin(and Cork boyyyyy) papers yesterday.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 15, 2009, 08:09:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:47:41 PM

So they say. Don't know whether to believe it or not.

So they say , eh ? who would "they" be ?

...btw, and have you ever used the term "free-stater" in a derogatory fashion ?
Post by: ziggysego on July 15, 2009, 08:16:41 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 15, 2009, 08:09:27 PM

I used to say. Didn't know that people from the south found it offensive, until I learnt it here. Haven't used it since.
Post by: Hound on July 16, 2009, 07:35:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 15, 2009, 08:16:41 PM

I used to say. Didn't know that people from the south found it offensive, until I learnt it here. Haven't used it since.

;D  ;D
Post by: fatlips on July 16, 2009, 09:12:39 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 15, 2009, 12:40:55 PM
Well lads i have to say it doesn't matter who builds the pitch (Prunty or Richardson's) as they build it to what Engineers design it for, yes the playing surface is what you see and if it's given the proper attention then it will look and be the part. The pitch is designed on it's usage and if it's not given enough time to recover from matches or training then it will deteriorate (some quicker than others depending on it's design and quality). As for the drainage it again is designed by the engineers who will tell Prunty/Richardson's what sewers to put in and where, the problem with sewers is they could be perfect for the pitch and are capable of taking any flash floods. However, they are only as good as the sewers upstream to which they discharge so what I'm saying is if the sewers out on the road are not capable of taking the flash floods and the system backs up then the water from the pitch will not have anywhere to go...know what I'm saying...

anyway getting back to them 2 contractors mentioned, they are both reputable with Prunty slightly ahead on quality and this is only because Prunty only takes on what he can manage whereas Richardson's take everything on and usually have too many contracts on in anyone time and sometimes neglects them a bit as he's too much on although i would think Croke Park will receive his full attention.

the firm in Scunthorpe will have got info from Croke Park on the type of surface needed for both Hurling and football this info is passed to an "Agronomist" who design the actual make up of the surface i.e. 100mm top soil with 50mm of some type of sand which will have 225mm pea gravel (that sort of sh1t) and the sod will be grown in Scunthorpe to the Agronomist's spec and shipped across where Richardson's will then apply their orange fingers hands to it

Here here.  Richardsons arent exactly renowned for being Gaels.  They  do however hellp fund the Northern Ireland International Team.  Probably the greatest indication of their love for the GAA (see paragraph below from Lisburn Distillery website ( think theymught play in theChristy RIng Cup!!). 

The IOG in partnership with the Irish Football Association are proud to announce the continued support from the following sponsors :

Barenbrug UK in association with local supplier JA Humphrey.

Clive Richardson LTD in association with Horta Soils.

If the STRI were emplyoyed to do this pitch, I wonder were local experts , with GAA roots (such as Prunty) given a chance to apply for this work?

If not, then it also shines a bad light on the STRI and their knowledge of the GAA and how it works.  British consultants giving the job to a British company using British Soil...so much for "Guaranteed Irish"!!
Post by: ziggysego on July 16, 2009, 09:41:11 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 16, 2009, 07:35:08 AM

;D  ;D

Honestly, and I haven't said it since.
Post by: eireogatron on July 16, 2009, 10:52:20 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 16, 2009, 09:41:11 AM

;D  ;D

why would you find "free state" offensive?? Its used by us in the occupied 6 to describe the rest of the island that are free from British rule - the "free" state - something we were robbed of 88 years ago lol!!
Post by: ziggysego on July 16, 2009, 11:03:27 AM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 16, 2009, 10:52:20 AM

;D  ;D

why would you find "free state" offensive?? Its used by us in the occupied 6 to describe the rest of the island that are free from British rule - the "free" state - something we were robbed of 88 years ago lol!!

That's what I always thought. However there was a thread about it here a few months ago and a lot in the south find it highly offensive. Hench me stop using the term. They took it as being sell-outs or something, can't remember.
Post by: ziggysego on July 17, 2009, 02:15:18 PM
Croke Park could also have looked a Ferrity Pitches. We got it in Greencastle and I would safely say we've one of the best pitches in Ulster, if not the country. There has been times when games have been called off throughout the country, but games at Greencastle have been able to continue. Other clubs which have used our grounds, have commented on the excellent pitch we have.
Post by: Tankie on July 17, 2009, 04:14:18 PM
This article only proved once more that the Irish Independent is nothing more than a rag which will just print any shite to sell papers. I'm one the Irish Times at the the moment but i fear that it will follow the indo with printing shite non-stories to sell papers...
Post by: eireogatron on July 17, 2009, 04:37:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 16, 2009, 11:03:27 AM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 16, 2009, 10:52:20 AM

;D  ;D

That's what I always thought. However there was a thread about it here a few months ago and a lot in the south find it highly offensive. Hench me stop using the term. They took it as being sell-outs or something, can't remember.

aaaaaahhhh..... well, they do have a point - about being sell outs.

relax, i'm joking.
Post by: orangeman on July 28, 2009, 10:47:11 PM
Just seen on television. The truf has already started to be relaid and by tomorrow evening the whole turf will be down again.

Amazing. It's like a carpet, being rolled out. It's quite a thin layer it seems to me going by the pictures on TV.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 08, 2010, 07:57:43 PM
Remember this?

Where will Croke Park source soil if the pitch has to be relayed again? 

Can the turf not be grown in Ireland and Croke Park not shedule it so that it can come from Ireland and make everyone happy.