Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 06:00:26 PM

Title: The Open Championship 16-19 July 2009 Turnberry
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 06:00:26 PM
Top 10 as regards favourites are

Woods 15/8
Garcia 16/1
Mcilroy 20/1
Harrington 22/1
Stenson 25/1
Poulter 28/1
Casey 28/1
Westwood 28/1
Kim 30/1
Els 33/1

If Harrington wins this it will be his greatest win IMHO,he is playing so bad this year I just can't see it though.
Would love to see Casey win and I will stick a few quid on him,as well as Garcia as usual
Title: Re: The Open Championship 16-19 July 2009 Turnberry
Post by: Minder on July 07, 2009, 06:09:52 PM
Harrington should be 200/1 on his current form
Post by: RMDrive on July 07, 2009, 06:18:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 07, 2009, 06:09:52 PM

Oh look, I seem to be playing the best golf of my life .... time to make some major changes to my swing then!!  ???
Post by: Tommy Tibbs on July 07, 2009, 06:35:22 PM
Have a suspicion Poulter at 28's is gona have a very big Open Championship. Others that catch the eye is Anthony Wall at 125-1 (ew) and Zach Johnson 80's (ew). Good offer on PaddyP doing each way 7 places.
Post by: Chrisowc on July 07, 2009, 07:48:29 PM
Might have Westwood at 28/1
Post by: ExiledGael on July 07, 2009, 08:03:43 PM
The Open Championship? Hardy's gonna get you.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 08:12:17 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 07, 2009, 08:03:43 PM
The Open Championship? Hardy's gonna get you.

He huffed and puffed a bit last year too...
Not that anyone took any notice
Post by: magickingdom on July 07, 2009, 08:51:48 PM
delighted to see kerryman david higgins qualified today
Post by: venter on July 07, 2009, 08:55:54 PM
I'm going to the Open this year. I will be a marshall on the 14th teebox for a shift on each of the 4 days. Unfortunately, I will miss the Connacht final but hopefully I can sneak in a Mayo banner of some sort.

I was expecting that Harry would be going for the three in a row, but its more hope now than expectation. I hope to follow McIlroy for a round - he's some player.

I think Nick Dougherty will go well.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 08, 2009, 02:12:44 PM
Quote from: venter on July 07, 2009, 08:55:54 PM
I'm going to the Open this year. I will be a marshall on the 14th teebox for a shift on each of the 4 days. Unfortunately, I will miss the Connacht final but hopefully I can sneak in a Mayo banner of some sort.

nice one venter . How did ya get that gig?
Post by: supersub on July 08, 2009, 02:21:28 PM
Els and Furyk both 33/1 not bad, and VJ Singh 40/1 - had him at 80/1 at the start of the masters...soon saw why he was such high odds, but you never know, one tournament can get the player back 'in the swing' of things!
Post by: venter on July 08, 2009, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 08, 2009, 02:12:44 PM

Deel Rover, I just sent off an application form. The deal is that you work for half the day and you can watch the golf for the other half. I could have got a job directing traffic out in one of the car parks, but I was lucky to get something on the course where I can watch the golf during the working half of the day. So Im getting paid £6 per hour to watch golf.. its great :)  The Ferry and B&B are expensive,( in fact I had a job to get a B&B). Still, it's well worth it and hopefully there will be some good irish performances.

A friend of mine applied for work at the Ryder cup in Kentucky last year. He ending up getting a job doing the scoreboard at one of the greens. For the Ryder cup, you have to pay for the pleasure of working there, but its still a cheap ticket.
Post by: stew on July 08, 2009, 09:58:59 PM
poulter looks to be a good price, I am going to stick 20 quid on him.

Garcia has got to one a major sooner or later you would think so i am going to put a tenner on him also.

As for Harrington changing his swing, he obviously felt he needed to in order to get better, when he finally figures it out watch out, he will be better than ever. Hopefully it is this week.

Woods did the same thing and he turned out ok, as did that english plonker Faldo before him.
Post by: Capt Pat on July 08, 2009, 11:35:22 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 08, 2009, 01:53:04 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on July 07, 2009, 06:18:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 07, 2009, 06:09:52 PM

Oh look, I seem to be playing the best golf of my life .... time to make some major changes to my swing then!!  ???

Spot on, it really is quite baffling why he's decided to do this.

I think he is always making changes to his swing. He did it after and before he won the first British open titles and it worked out pretty well. Go and find the longest odds you can on Harrington and throw a fiver on, you could do worse.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 09, 2009, 12:08:02 PM
Quote from: venter on July 08, 2009, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 08, 2009, 02:12:44 PM

Deel Rover, I just sent off an application form. The deal is that you work for half the day and you can watch the golf for the other half. I could have got a job directing traffic out in one of the car parks, but I was lucky to get something on the course where I can watch the golf during the working half of the day. So Im getting paid £6 per hour to watch golf.. its great :)  The Ferry and B&B are expensive,( in fact I had a job to get a B&B). Still, it's well worth it and hopefully there will be some good irish performances.

A friend of mine applied for work at the Ryder cup in Kentucky last year. He ending up getting a job doing the scoreboard at one of the greens. For the Ryder cup, you have to pay for the pleasure of working there, but its still a cheap ticket.

sure thats great Venter must keep an eye out for the mayo flag enjoy it,  oh and tell tiger i said hello  :D
Post by: corn02 on July 09, 2009, 12:18:36 PM
Will do my bets in the middle of next week.

At the moment i'll put the usual few pound on Fuyrk with Poulter and Mahan attracting interest.

Who are the big outsiders worth a punt? Graham Storm at 200 looks decent as does Petterson.
Post by: corn02 on July 09, 2009, 12:20:47 PM
I had my first look at the Scottish leaderboadr directly after that post and I see Storm is having a Stormer. Get on now before he drops 50 points.

Lowry had a 69, well played.
Post by: full back on July 09, 2009, 12:24:03 PM
What about Nick Dougherty (sp)?

Heard an interview with him yesterday & he sounded quite confident
Would he be worth a few ££ ew
Post by: venter on July 09, 2009, 01:44:15 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 09, 2009, 12:08:02 PM

sure thats great Venter must keep an eye out for the mayo flag enjoy it,  oh and tell tiger i said hello  :D

I will get John Moyles working on a sign for me.  :)
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 09, 2009, 07:43:10 PM
McIlroy 3rd favourite  :o
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 13, 2009, 06:25:24 PM
Open rounds 1 & 2 tee-off times 
Tee-off times in the first two rounds of the 138th Open Championship at the Ailsa Championship Course, Turnberry, 16-19 July (GB & Ire unless stated, am denotes amateurs, all times BST):

0630 Thu & 1141 Fri Michael Campbell (NZ), Paul Broadhurst, Mark Calcavecchia (US)

0641 & 1152 Jeff Overton (US), Pablo Larrazabal (Spa), Gary Orr

0652 & 1203 Anthony Wall, Rory Sabbatini (SA), Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind)

0703 & 1214 Nick Watney (US), Graeme Storm, Charl Schwartzel (SA)

0714 & 1225 Rafael Echenique (Arg), Richard Finch, Mark O'Meara (US)

0725 & 1236 Nick Dougherty, David Duval (US), Adam Scott (Aus)

0736 & 1247 Kenny Perry (US), Greg Norman (Aus), Oliver Wilson

0747 & 1258 Henrik Stenson (Swe), Steve Stricker (US), Wen-chong Liang (Chn)

0758 & 1309 Tom Watson (US), Sergio Garcia (Spa), Metteo Manassero (Ita, am)

0809 & 1320 Peter Hanson (Swe), Dustin Johnson (US), Louis Oosthuizen (SA)

0820 & 1331 Vijay Singh (Fij), Bubba Watson (USA), Graeme McDowell

0831 & 1342 Camilo Villegas (Col), Yuta Ikeda (Jpn), Sean O'Hair (US)

0842 & 1353 Azuma Yano (Jpn), Luke Donald, Darren Clarke

0858 & 1409 Justin Leonard (US), Robert Allenby (Aus), Anders Hansen (Den)

0909 & 1420 Tiger Woods (US), Lee Westwood, Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn)

0920 & 1431 Richard Green (Aus), Chad Campbell (US), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spa)

0931 & 1442 David Howell, Stewart Cink (US), Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)

0942 & 1453 Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Ken Duke (US), Mathew Goggin (Aus)

0953 & 1504 Briny Baird (US), Mark Brown (NZ), Johan Edfors (Swe)

1004 & 1515 DJ Trahan (US), Prayad Marksaeng (Tha), Markus Brier (Aut)

1015 & 1526 Chris Wood, Boo Weekley (US), Rodney Pampling (Aus)

1026 & 1537 Jaco Ahlers (SA), Bryce Molder (US), Richie Ramsay

1037 & 1548 Billy Mayfair (US), Marc Cayeux (Zim), Lloyd Saltman

1048 & 1559 Robert Rock, Martin Laird, Ben Crane (US)

1059 & 1610 Branden Grace (SA), Thomas Haylock, Brandt Snedeker (US)

1110 & 1621 Michael Wright (Aus), Daniel Wardrop, Peter Ellebye (Den)

1141 & 0630 Tim Stewart (Aus), Damien McGrane, Matt Kuchar (US)

1152 & 0641 David Higgins, Jeremy Kavanagh, Daniel Gaunt (Aus)

1203 & 0652 Gaganjeet Bhullar (Ind), Rhys Davies, James Driscoll (US)

1214 & 0703 Alvaro Quiros (Spa), Sandy Lyle, Steve Marino (US)

1225 & 0714 Nick Faldo, Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Brian Gay (US)

1236 & 0725 Ben Curtis (US), Mike Weir (Can), Ross Fisher

1247 & 0736 Stephen Ames (Can), Tim Clark (SA), Charles Howell III (US)

1258 & 0747 Ernie Els (SA), Lucas Glover (US), Martin Kaymer (Ger)

1309 & 0758 Justin Rose, Hunter Mahan (US), Andres Romero (Arg)

1320 & 0809 Colin Montgomerie, Zach Johnson (US), KJ Choi (Kor)

1331 & 0820 Rory McIlroy, Anthony Kim (US), Retief Goosen (SA)

1342 & 0831 Todd Hamilton (US), Soren Hansen (Den), Tomohiro Kondo (Jpn)

1353 & 0842 Ian Poulter, JB Holmes (US), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa)

1409 & 0858 Paul Casey, Ryuji Imada (Jpn), Angel Cabrera (Arg)

1420 & 0909 Padraig Harrington, Jim Furyk (US), Geoff Ogilvy (Aus)

1431 & 0920 Paul Lawrie, Davis Love III (US), Stuart Appleby (Aus)

1442 & 0931 Paul McGinley, Carl Pettersson (Swe), John Daly (US)

1453 & 0942 Stephan Gross (Ger, am), David Toms (US), Tom Lehman (US)

1504 & 0953 James Kingston (SA), Charley Hoffman (US), Fredrik Jacobson (Swe)

1515 & 1004 Paul Goydos (US), Francesco Molinari (Ita), Richard Sterne (SA)

1526 & 1015 Thomas Levet (Fra), Richard S Johnson (Swe), Kevin Sutherland (US)

1537 & 1026 Thomas Aiken (SA), Peter Hedblom (Swe), Peter Baker

1548 & 1037 Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swe), Josh Geary (NZ), David Drysdale

1559 & 1048 Kenichi Kuboya (Jpn), Bruce Vaughan (US), Elliot Saltman

1610 & 1059 Timothy Wood (Aus), David Smail (NZ), Oliver Fisher

1621 & 1110 Terry Pilkadaris (Aus), Steve Surry, Koumei Oda (Jpn)

Post by: Irenses on July 13, 2009, 08:01:58 PM
Kaymer is on some form after two wins on the trot. Still think he's too inexperienced to win a major but an each way effort @33/1 I reckon is worth a punt.
Post by: Gaffer on July 13, 2009, 08:12:36 PM
Read today in Irish News that there was speculation that Woods was going to play a round at Murvagh in Donegal this morning with Darren Clarke.

Anyone know if it happened?
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2009, 08:55:02 PM
Darren ate him.

Cmon Clarke ye big puddin. You've now cost me £600 in majors. 150-1 this week.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 12:39:45 PM
Anyone round Lurgan fancy a flutter today Frenchs are going first seven places each way today and 5-2 on Tiger
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2009, 12:43:05 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 12:39:45 PM
Anyone round Lurgan fancy a flutter today Frenchs are going first seven places each way today and 5-2 on Tiger

paddypower.ie moreorless the same and you don't have to visit a hole.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 02:05:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2009, 12:43:05 PM

Any need for that last bit you pompous p***k?
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2009, 02:09:32 PM
Now now young man.
Post by: full back on July 14, 2009, 02:10:06 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 02:05:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2009, 12:43:05 PM

Any need for that last bit you pompous p***k?

When did you take over Frenchs nail? ;)
Post by: AAAA on July 14, 2009, 02:18:13 PM
I doen the following for the open,

Sergio 5 e/w @ 22/1
Harrington 5 e/w @28/1
Hunter £2.50 e/w@30/1
Kenny Parry £2.50 e/w @50/1

Heres hoping!
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 14, 2009, 02:29:02 PM
kim 33/1
Adam Scott 50/1
Zach J 80/1
JB Holmes 250/1
Todd Hamilton 200/1

Post by: Bogball XV on July 14, 2009, 03:52:44 PM
Quote from: stew on July 08, 2009, 09:58:59 PM

Garcia has got to one a major sooner or later you would think so i am going to put a tenner on him also.

As for Harrington changing his swing, he obviously felt he needed to in order to get better, when he finally figures it out watch out, he will be better than ever. Hopefully it is this week.

Woods did the same thing and he turned out ok, as did that english plonker Faldo before him.
I don't believe that Harrington's problems at the moment are still swing related, he can't putt for shite anymore.  What made Harrington a triple major winner was his putting and scrambling abilities, he's gone from the top 4 or 5 ranked putter in the US standings last year down to 131st.

An interesting bet this week might be Brian Gay, this course is going to require accuracy and putting and he's top 5 for both.  He's won twice in the past 2 months as well, but has only ever played one British Open before and missed the cut badly, however the Heritage course in the states is one of the few links like course they have and he won there by 10 strokes.
Post by: DownFanatic on July 14, 2009, 05:16:55 PM
I got Ogilvy at 40/1. He's the man methinks.
Post by: full back on July 15, 2009, 08:32:22 AM
http://www.bettingzone.co.uk/golf/betting/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=betting/09/07/14/manual_203746.html

Betting Zone's fancies:

Stenson
Casey
K Perry
O Hair
Stricker
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2009, 10:10:44 AM
Big Darren reckons he's hitting the ball better than ever but can't guarantee he won't take an 8 now and again!
Post by: thewobbler on July 15, 2009, 10:15:06 AM
Ian Poulter 30/1
Martin Kaymer 35/1
Brian Gay 80/1

That's the winning ticket right there.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on July 15, 2009, 11:12:28 AM
Just double checked to be sure, Paddy Power paying 1/4 odds for top 7.
Keeping up with the Jones' Our Nail?  :D

Just out of interest..........
Speaking closely with a golf fanatic and VERY heavy punter last night. I do the odd golf bet myself but had an in depth conversation with him and I enquired what his tactic would be for this tournament. He studies it very closely and he said he will be backing Mahan, McDowell and Ogilvy at big prices. He will then back Tiger with a bang in the hope that he starts just OK or not powerful and his price drifts a bit. Best case scenario a couple of his 3 selections at big prices start well and are in the hunt, and he can potentially lay off the tiger on betfair. Win-win for him as he will have backed tiger at a bigger price.
Post by: Rossie11 on July 15, 2009, 11:52:08 AM
Problem with that is Tiger tees off early tomorrow so even if he shoots level par he wont drift.
He would need to be ten off the lead tomorrow to go any bigger than the 11/4 he is now..
Post by: full back on July 15, 2009, 11:55:21 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on July 15, 2009, 11:52:08 AM
Problem with that is Tiger tees off early tomorrow so even if he shoots level par he wont drift.
He would need to be ten off the lead tomorrow to go any bigger than the 11/4 he is now..

I would say he wants Tiger to come in a bit so he can lay it off
Post by: Kentucky Blue on July 15, 2009, 01:24:35 PM
the tiger tee's off at 9.09am i think it is 2moro. Paddy Power going 3/1 enhanced shop special today. Tempting

I had a bit of Goosen 40/1, McDowell 66/1, Mahan 30/1
& S.Cink 150/1.

Probably put the kiss of death on them now!!  :D
Post by: corn02 on July 15, 2009, 01:26:49 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 15, 2009, 01:24:35 PM
the tiger tee's off at 9.09am i think it is 2moro. Paddy Power going 3/1 enhanced shop special today. Tempting

I had a bit of Goosen 40/1, McDowell 66/1, Mahan 30/1
& S.Cink 150/1.

Probably put the kiss of death on them now!!  :D

What's that?

Also Tiger uses cold shafting? I know what it is but what is the purpose?
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 15, 2009, 02:28:08 PM
I see Sandy Lyle brought up the Monty 'cheating' episode from 2005 this week.  Doubtfire not happy and I can see why.
Post by: corn02 on July 15, 2009, 02:32:37 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 15, 2009, 02:28:08 PM
I see Sandy Lyle brought up the Monty 'cheating' episode from 2005 this week.  Doubtfire not happy and I can see why.

Not a Monty fan but he should smack him across the gob.

Monty donated his prize money from thate event to charity btw.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 15, 2009, 02:41:07 PM
1/4 the odds for the first 7 is attractive. I stuck a fiver E/W on Harrington and Jim Furyk both at 28/1.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 15, 2009, 02:41:57 PM
Harrington will be lucky to make the cut the way he has been playing.

Looking forward to it.
Post by: JohnDenver on July 15, 2009, 02:42:42 PM
Boyles are paying out on the first 8 places
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 02:45:26 PM
Boyles has this as well as other specials:

http://www.boylesports.com/betting/?sID=2107.1&nIDEv=721496.1&slm=-1

Ana Ivanovic to be interviewed for BBC's Open coverage

Yes    5/6

Now going with Adam Scott... Could be good bet!
Post by: Diet Coke on July 15, 2009, 04:13:32 PM
Took Els at 50/1 and Cabrera at 100/1.....the young lad picked McIroy 22/1  and Fisher 33/1 both without Woods.
Post by: Rossie11 on July 15, 2009, 04:39:07 PM
Went with
Hunter Mahan 33/1
Ben Curtis 55/1
Brian Gay 110/1
Todd Hamilton 250/1
Mcdowell top Gb/Ire 15/1
Post by: stiffler on July 15, 2009, 06:00:13 PM
Went for Zach Johnson 70/1 & S Garcia 25/1 myself EW
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 15, 2009, 06:16:57 PM
What does the weather give for the week?
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2009, 08:11:42 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/2316?&search=girvan&itemsPerPage=10&region=uk

The golf is happening surprisingly close to the Scottish ferry ports from Larne.
Post by: magickingdom on July 15, 2009, 08:41:04 PM
i did a punt on making the cut

went with casey/poulter/garcia/mcdowell/tiger/goosan/mcllory to make the cut and derry to beat donegal. got 13/2 on that
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 15, 2009, 08:48:39 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2009, 08:11:42 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/2316?&search=girvan&itemsPerPage=10&region=uk

The golf is happening surprisingly close to the Scottish ferry ports from Larne.

Any time i've been to a Celtic match the bus always stops here...(Girvan) Not much about it...
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2009, 10:35:31 PM
Johnny Adair lives nearby so we drop in for tea.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2009, 11:25:27 PM
Clarke, Darren @ 150/1 - Made Cut  +2
Romero, Andres @ 110/1 - Made Cut +2
Villegas, Camilo @ 60/1 - Made Cut -1
Mahan, Hunter @ 30/1 - Missed Cut
Watney, Nick @ 80/1 - Made Cut +3
Hanson, Peter @ 150/1 - Made Cut +1
Mcilroy, Rory @ 30/1 - Made Cut +1

With the leader on -5 I'm looking at scraping a 6th or 7th place.

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2009, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 15, 2009, 11:25:27 PM
Did:

Clarke, Darren @ 150/1
Romero, Andres @ 110/1
Villegas, Camilo @ 60/1
Mahan, Hunter @ 30/1
Watney, Nick @ 80/1
Hanson, Peter @ 150/1
Mcilroy, Rory @ 30/1

History has shown Clarke to be a money pit. The people of Ireland must have gambled away some money on him by now. How is Woods priced?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2009, 11:48:42 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2009, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 15, 2009, 11:25:27 PM
Did:

Clarke, Darren @ 150/1
Romero, Andres @ 110/1
Villegas, Camilo @ 60/1
Mahan, Hunter @ 30/1
Watney, Nick @ 80/1
Hanson, Peter @ 150/1
Mcilroy, Rory @ 30/1

History has shown Clarke to be a money pit. The people of Ireland must have gambled away some money on him by now. How is Woods priced?
Excellent question Tony. He's currently priced at 13/5 on Paddy Power.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 16, 2009, 12:01:45 AM
Woods will win.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 16, 2009, 08:42:53 AM
Tiger Woods out at 9.09 with Lee Westwood. Weather great but rain forecast for the afternoon.
Post by: sammymaguire on July 16, 2009, 10:01:46 AM
would love to see one of the Irish lads make a real good go at winning this tournament this weekend, whether its Harrington, McDowell, McIlroy, McGrane, McGinley, Higgins or Clarke.

the lads who know the links courses look best set to have a decent effort at this, McIlroy & McDowell especially
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 10:26:32 AM
Mark Calcavecchia -3 after 17
Lee Westwood -3 after 5
G Mac -1 after 8
Woods level after 5
Post by: Lecale2 on July 16, 2009, 10:30:39 AM
McDowell started well.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 12:42:30 PM
Tom Watson shoots a 65 to lead in the clubhouse @ -5
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 16, 2009, 12:47:11 PM
Watson started the day 1500/1

Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:58:17 PM
Seeing bits and pieces, Westwood is motoring well.

Brenen Grace is one under, very multi-talented.
Post by: Orior on July 16, 2009, 01:21:08 PM
Mr Brendan Grace Esq, Irish Comedian
(http://picsrv2.europeantour.com/?fif=/pga/img_528_129392_9851.jpg&obj=iip,1.0&wid=107&hei=161&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg)

Mr Branden Grace Esq, South African Golfer
(http://www.digact.com/front_grace.gif)

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2009, 01:36:51 PM
Ian Poulter looking as shy and retiring as ever today. :D

(http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/large/17678996.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=0ZRYP5X5F6FSMBCCSE82&Expires=1247748288&Signature=9JFAXTvxg99HmrLlW7hAbBi%2BXSQ%3D)
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 16, 2009, 01:48:50 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 14, 2009, 03:52:44 PM

I don't believe that Harrington's problems at the moment are still swing related, he can't putt for shite anymore.  What made Harrington a triple major winner was his putting and scrambling abilities, he's gone from the top 4 or 5 ranked putter in the US standings last year down to 131st.

An interesting bet this week might be Brian Gay, this course is going to require accuracy and putting and he's top 5 for both.  He's won twice in the past 2 months as well, but has only ever played one British Open before and missed the cut badly, however the Heritage course in the states is one of the few links like course they have and he won there by 10 strokes.

not looking good for gay 5 over after 5
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 01:54:27 PM
Westwood double bogey on 16 finishes with a 68
Woods bogeys 15 & 16 shoots 71
17 year old Ishikawa also shoots 68
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 16, 2009, 02:11:27 PM
Anthony Kim (one of mine) has a 9 on the par 4 second!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 02:31:02 PM
Harrington par on first
Post by: Bogball XV on July 16, 2009, 03:00:55 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 16, 2009, 01:48:50 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 14, 2009, 03:52:44 PM

not looking good for gay 5 over after 5
aye, see that, back to 3 over now, but not looking good for him, i suppose that's why he was 100/1 ;)
Post by: Orior on July 16, 2009, 03:20:06 PM
Application provider for the Open website is trying to may a monkey out of Faldo.

http://scoring.opengolf.com/scorecard.sps?iTourNo=2009055&iPlayerNo=6548&iTourId=0 (http://scoring.opengolf.com/scorecard.sps?iTourNo=2009055&iPlayerNo=6548&iTourId=0)

Looks like cant cope with shitty titles.
Post by: Iceberg on July 16, 2009, 03:27:16 PM
Looks like Rory cant find his ball  :(

The whole crowd is looking for it!!
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on July 16, 2009, 03:42:07 PM
Most Nordies dont have any balls
Post by: Iceberg on July 16, 2009, 03:48:12 PM
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on July 16, 2009, 03:42:07 PM
Most Nordies dont have any balls

How did Waterford do again last Sunday??
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 04:01:13 PM
After making a ballix of the 8th McIlroy birdies the 9th to go -1
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 04:15:24 PM
And promptly makes a hames of 10 to go back to level.  Last three holes...double bogey, birdie, bogey
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 04:28:23 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 14, 2009, 05:16:55 PM
I got Ogilvy at 40/1. He's the man methinks.

After being all over the place on 8 Ogilvy escapes with a double bogey.  Last 3 holes double, par, double
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 16, 2009, 05:19:57 PM
hows harrington doing ?
Post by: Hound on July 16, 2009, 05:23:09 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 16, 2009, 05:19:57 PM
hows harrington doing ?
-1 after 11. 10 pars and 1 birdie
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 16, 2009, 05:24:43 PM
thanks hound obviously playing steady which is good
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 16, 2009, 05:31:55 PM
Ben Curtis shoots 65 to share lead with Watson...Soren Hansen also -5 after 14.  A whole raft of players on -4.  McIlroy level
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 16, 2009, 06:06:17 PM
Harrington still -1 after 13
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 09:22:52 AM
Hard luck on the early tee-offs this morn. Baring its teeth.
Post by: Minder on July 17, 2009, 09:42:26 AM
For anyone in work that has the "video" disabled on bbc site the following link is streaming live coverage of holes 9,10 & 11

http://www.opengolf.com/ChampionshipGolf/TheOpenChampionship/VideoAndAudio/LiveVideo.aspx
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 09:45:52 AM
Jimenez bogeys 2, 3 and 4 to go back to -3.  Ben Curtis also having a 'mare.  Conditions a lot more difficult than yesterday.  McIlroy also drops 3 shots to go +2.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 09:55:53 AM
Steady from Harrington...still -1 after 3 holes
Post by: Lecale2 on July 17, 2009, 10:31:51 AM
Terrible start for Jimenez. He dropped another shoot. Harrington's playing well.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 10:32:22 AM
Ooops...Harrington bogeys 5 to go level (Furyk double bogey)
Post by: Lecale2 on July 17, 2009, 10:38:17 AM
Conditions will get worse according to the forecast. You'd be doing well to break par today. John Daly is 1 under for the day but he's at the 4th now.
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2009, 11:52:06 AM
His royal greatness Sir Nick Faldo esquire, did well today finishing 3 over.

Unfortunately his 8 over yesterday means he will have to take his royal title back home now.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 12:17:12 PM
Bit of a mare for Ben Curtis. -5 yesterday, +10 today. Rory and Padraig both suffering with the wine.

I'd say Tiger is licking his lips. So is Darren but that's because he just finish a bargain bucket.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 12:48:03 PM
Harrington's poor form catching up with him in the wind...+3 and a long putt to save par on 13
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 12:52:50 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 12:48:03 PM
Harrington's poor form catching up with him in the wind...+3 and a long putt to save par on 13

...which he misses to go +4.  Conditions improving slightly to favour the afternoon starters (Woods)
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 17, 2009, 12:57:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 12:17:12 PM
Bit of a mare for Ben Curtis. -5 yesterday, +10 today. Rory and Padraig both suffering with the wine.

You'd think they could stay off the booze whilst playing..
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 01:01:14 PM
McIlroy birdie on 17...+3.  Harrington finds bunker with second on 14..better be careful or he'll be watching the Ulster Final on Sunday afternoon!!
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2009, 01:07:35 PM
Whats the projected cut?
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:08:13 PM
Short, back and sides.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 01:10:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 17, 2009, 01:07:35 PM
Whats the projected cut?

Estimated +5 at the moment...could change with afternoon players scores.  Great bunker shot from Harrington to make par on 14 BTW.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:21:00 PM
It's the top 70 so at the minute it's +3, but as yer man above says, that'll go out.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 01:22:03 PM
Ian "I'm as good as Tiger" Poulter....+15
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:23:46 PM
Bottom of the pile too, 156th - and with 3 holes left!!
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:27:20 PM
Rory finishes +4 for the day, +3 overall - should be fine. Marino finished on -5 overall. Could be halfway leader.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:29:03 PM
(http://i.cdn.turner.com/pga/cs/sites/cdnassets/global/img/headshots/2009/24138.jpg)

I'm in control. Got a birdie. +14
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2009, 01:32:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:29:03 PM
(http://i.cdn.turner.com/pga/cs/sites/cdnassets/global/img/headshots/2009/24138.jpg)

Who is he blaming for the shite play today?

Pity he wont be around for the weekend though as he is good entertainment.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:43:49 PM
He finished +14. Probably won't be last. Jaco Ahlers has yet to tee off.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:49:32 PM
And wouldn't you know it - the weather is starting to settle. Expect Woods, Cink, Boo and Westwood to trouble the leaderboard. Personally hoping Villegas does the business.
Post by: Bensars on July 17, 2009, 02:02:11 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 17, 2009, 01:32:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 01:29:03 PM

Cant have him at all. If his lad was big enough he would ride himself
Who is he blaming for the shite play today?

Pity he wont be around for the weekend though as he is good entertainment.

Cant have him at all. If his lad was big enough he would ride himself
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 17, 2009, 02:16:11 PM
Harrington birdies 17 and finishes +3...should be OK :-\
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2009, 03:06:12 PM
Projected cut just jumped to +3.

But will it stay there? Paddy and Rory might still get to Clones.
Post by: full back on July 17, 2009, 05:02:39 PM
Anyone watching this?

What is going on with Woods?
Post by: Square Ball on July 17, 2009, 05:08:59 PM
terrible at the minute, shots going everywhere.

and Poulter is a complete tool. diddnt he say he was a sgood as Tiger?
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 05:25:43 PM
Typical Darren. Gets it to -1 for the day and level for the tournament heading up the 9th. Then blows up. Drops 3 shots in 4 holes. Puddin.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 17, 2009, 07:24:34 PM
Woods finishes +5, looks like he will not be there for the weekend.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 07:29:24 PM
It's like a wake on the BBC.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 17, 2009, 07:32:43 PM
Can remember seeing woods 1/8 to make the cut....Wonder what odds were to miss it?

Maybe ONL knows?
Post by: Capt Pat on July 17, 2009, 08:25:32 PM
What is harringtons odds to win it now lads? He is 8 behind Marino and Watson but the way these things go they won't win. he is 7 behind Caalcavecchia, he is past his best, the winner may well come from the group on 3 under with Goosen Singh, Fisher and Jiminez but Harrington is not out of it yet. I don't gamble but i think he is worth a bet. He is only 6 shots behind the group where the winner may be with 2 rounds to go.
Post by: Capt Pat on July 17, 2009, 08:34:22 PM
Some rain forecast as well over the next 2 days, it is by the coast so the wind may be a factor, I like his chances
Post by: Smokin Joe on July 17, 2009, 08:36:51 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on July 17, 2009, 07:32:43 PM
Can remember seeing woods 1/8 to make the cut....Wonder what odds were to miss it?

Maybe ONL knows?

On Betfair he was 1.05 - 1.06.

So approximately 1/16 or 1/20 to make the cut.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 17, 2009, 08:37:44 PM
What odds to miss it?
Post by: Capt Pat on July 17, 2009, 08:39:09 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on July 17, 2009, 08:34:22 PM
Some rain forecast as well over the next 2 days, it is by the coast so the wind may be a factor, I like his chances

This looks even better, 20 mile and hour winds for the next 2 days
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 08:45:26 PM
Mcilroy, Rory @ 30/1 - Made Cut +3

Post by: muppet on July 17, 2009, 09:32:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 17, 2009, 08:45:26 PM
Mcilroy, Rory @ 30/1 - Made Cut +3

You can forget the 2 on -5. You did really well to get 6 out of 7 making cut. It'll look very different tomorrow. Villegas is well capable of making a challenge while Rory could shoot a low one.
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 11:57:21 AM
'Mare for Rory but an eagle takes him back to six. Harrington sloppy but scrambling well, if he drops a few putts on the back nine he could get into the red figures though.

McGinley looking confident, Clarke steady.
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 01:04:00 PM
I must say the BBC, from presntation, analysis to camera work, do a superb job.

Anyways, Harrington out of it unless he piucks up three birdies over the last four or five.

Good start for McDowell.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2009, 04:57:19 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 01:04:00 PM

Anyways, Harrington out of it unless he piucks up three birdies over the last four or five.

Good start for McDowell.
Graeme (I feel I can call him Graeme after meeting him for approx 10 seconds a fortnight ago) was talking up his chances this morning but is 7 off the pace after shooting a 71
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 05:15:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2009, 04:57:19 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 01:04:00 PM

Good start for McDowell.
[/quote Graeme (I feel I can call him Graeme after meeting him for approx 10 seconds a fortnight ago) was talking up his chances this morning but is 7 off the pace after shooting a 71

He wibe only five off by end of play i reckon. He will be in the hunt.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 18, 2009, 06:17:55 PM
Would love to see Watson win this now. He seems to be playing without a care in the world and a smile on his face.

Hope he can hold it togeather.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 18, 2009, 06:30:57 PM
Hoping Watson or Westwood win it now, going to be -2 or -1 winning it i think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2009, 06:51:32 PM
Norman last year and Watson this year. Seems experience counts for a lot in links play at the Open. Some story if Watson won it but I think he'll get overtaken tomorrow.
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 06:59:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2009, 06:51:32 PM
Norman last year and Watson this year. Seems experience counts for a lot in links play at the Open. Some story if Watson won it but I think he'll get overtaken tomorrow.
Its not Formula One Tony
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 18, 2009, 07:02:07 PM
Watson is one of the best ever links players ever and distance on this course doesn't count for much so it has bode well for him..thus far.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2009, 08:48:43 PM
All set up for a great day of golf tomorrow..
Not sure if Watson can keep going,as someone said it's Norman last year.
Would like Westwood to win it to be honest..
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 09:09:08 PM
John Daly looks like a train colliding with the sun.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 18, 2009, 09:24:37 PM
His missus would get it.
Post by: milltown row on July 18, 2009, 09:51:33 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 18, 2009, 07:02:07 PM
Watson is one of the best ever links players ever and distance on this course doesn't count for much so it has bode well for him..thus far.

he's been hitting the ball fairly well but has been more accurate than the rest. Would be some win if he won it
Post by: Bogball XV on July 19, 2009, 12:46:55 AM
Watson can't be discounted and what a story that would be.  Goosen has thrown away leads in his last 2 tournaments, Westwood has been an absolutely terrible final day player for the past 2 years at least (when in contention), Goggins hasn't been next nor this position in any sort of a tournament for almost 3 years and has never won before.  Cink and furyk have also been pretty dodgy over the past few years when leading, in fact Fisher is the only guy i'd have any confidence in out of the top 6. 
It could be someone from the +1/+2 groups, granted they've a lot to overtake and it's asking a lot for all the players above to shoot over par, but if someone posted a target of -1, I don't think they'd be too far away tomorrow evening (depending on weather and pin placements of course).

Finally, a question for you all, if you were Ross Fisher and you got a call tonight that the baby no.1 was due tomorrow what would you do?

Edit - Goggins led The Memorial tournament last year by 3 shots after 54 holes, he shot a 74 to finish joint 2nd.

QuoteGoggin's three-shot margin was gone in three holes, and his lead vanished in four, courtesy of two bogeys as everyone else was moving forward. The only consolation was a birdie at No. 18 and a tie for second, matching his best PGA TOUR result.

"It took me three, four holes to calm down," Goggin said. "And that was the difference."

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2009, 12:51:41 AM
I'd have arranged with the wife that if I was within 6 shots of lead going into Sunday then she'd be on her own. Kay Burley had a bust up on Sky with her co-host over this as he said that Fisher's golf should come first and the wife should recognise who puts the bread on the table!
Post by: Bogball XV on July 19, 2009, 12:58:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2009, 12:51:41 AM
I'd have arranged with the wife that if I was within 6 shots of lead going into Sunday then she'd be on her own. Kay Burley had a bust up on Sky with her co-host over this as he said that Fisher's golf should come first and the wife should recognise who puts the bread on the table!
funny, myself and the missus had a similar 'heated discussion' about an hour ago!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2009, 01:09:56 AM
He can always have another child but he might never have another chance of winning a major....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2009, 01:31:07 AM
Watson win in Turnberry 1977

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEoZjiLYVjA
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2009, 11:25:19 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2009, 01:31:07 AM
Watson win in Turnberry 1977

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEoZjiLYVjA
The Duel in the Sun is probably the most famous last round in the game. Was before my time and I can't view the link above but I'd say most people have seen the footage of Turnberry burnt to a cinder in the heat of that summer and Watson's 7 iron into the last hole to win by a single shot from Nicklaus.
Post by: deiseach on July 19, 2009, 05:24:33 PM
Speaking to people who have gone through it, most women would rather the man stayed away.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 05:48:37 PM
Westwood needs a birdie at this par 5 17th hole or it could be all over for him.

Watson leading by 1 with 3 to play for him.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 05:56:18 PM
Cink birdies 18 to tie the lead.

Westwood has a 20 ft. eagle putt on 17 to take sole lead.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 05:58:41 PM
Backed Cink on Thursday, Watson will take it though.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 05:59:34 PM
I hope so. He's the picture of calm composure at present.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:01:04 PM
Westwood just misses the eagle! Joint lead with Cink and Watson now at -2.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:02:52 PM
3 way tie for the lead but its in Watsons hands with a putt for eagle on the 17th to come.

Its his to lose now.
Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:04:48 PM
it would be fantastic if TW was to win it, even a birdie will do him on this as Westwood is now in a bunker
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:06:43 PM
Aye Watson has it, just has to keep a cool head. Westwood out of it unless he hits a great one out of this bunker.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 06:11:59 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:06:43 PM
Aye Watson has it, just has to keep a cool head. Westwood out of it unless he hits a great one out of this bunker.

... which he just has.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 06:13:25 PM
Amazing stuff, come on Tom, history in the making here if he wins.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:13:57 PM
Watson was still 125/1 to win it on Thursday evening.

Big putt for Westwood now.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 06:15:12 PM
Westwood misses the putt. Watson in the middle of the 18th fairway off the tee. One shot up. Everyone else in the clubhouse.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:17:59 PM
Great shot that was out of the bunker, but now he's bogeyed that hole.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:18:15 PM
Come on Tom. Put it in the middle of the green and its yours.

Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:18:50 PM
par to win it, come on
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 06:19:43 PM
In the rough - needs to get this in 2.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:19:52 PM
Jesus he overhit that, is there a twist in it yet?!
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 06:20:06 PM
Up and down to win it now, not easy.
Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:21:22 PM
it may still go to a play off yet
Post by: theskull1 on July 19, 2009, 06:22:02 PM
Just spotted an Antrim flag in the crowd there.  :)
Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:22:51 PM
FFS
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 06:23:15 PM
If it goes to a playoff Watson will lose without doubt.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 06:25:28 PM
Playoff
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:25:50 PM
Playoff! I may win money yet!
Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:26:16 PM
another 4 holes to go.

hope to god he wins it
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 06:26:23 PM
Westwood must be cursing himself now.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 06:27:12 PM
Sad finish for Tom - two awful putts.

I always remember his famous spake when he was asked what was the best putting advice he ever got. He said when he was a kid his father told him "hit the ball into the hole". He must have forgotten it on the 18th.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:27:53 PM
Feck it anyway. I hate watching play offs.

Cink now 4/6 to win it, Watson 6/5.

Westwood is destined never to win a major. How many times has be been in contention on the final 9 holes now?
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:46:47 PM
Cink hits into the bunker.
Post by: Square Ball on July 19, 2009, 06:47:06 PM
both of them in a bunker
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:50:22 PM
Jaysus Watson had a good advantage there, let off for Cink.

Good shot out from Cink.

Not as good for Watson.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 06:50:44 PM
Poor shot by Watson, advantage Cink.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2009, 06:55:31 PM
Over for watson. Four holes is just torture for the man. Always painful to watch a man lose a major.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 06:56:59 PM
"Not the place to be" - Watson's tee shot. Seems to be falling apart.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:57:22 PM
Watson messed up that tee shot, this is running away from him very fast.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:01:39 PM
Great recovery from there by Tom - has a 10 ft. par putt.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 07:03:39 PM
Yep great recovery and he nails the par putt.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 07:08:44 PM
Tom tees off into the rough again.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:10:15 PM
Ball is lost!
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:10:50 PM
Found it - buried
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 07:11:48 PM
He'll be doing well to make as good a recovery again!
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:12:33 PM
Couldn't get it out. It's turning awful now.

On the fairway in 3. Probably gonna drop 2 here.
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 07:12:55 PM
Painful to watch, he's getting tired, real shame to see.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:23:45 PM
Tom takes a 7. Cink a birdie. Four shots in it after two of the four playoff holes.

And I was looking forward to being younger than the Bitish Open champion for the first time in a good few years. Ah well, maybe George Foreman will come back and win the heavyweight title.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 07:25:59 PM
Hit the spectators there. Pity to finsih like this.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:26:33 PM
Ah jayses- the engraver is putting Cink's name on it with 2 to play.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 07:27:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:26:33 PM

Is this not the last hole Hardy? Both pared the 1st, then Cink took the 2nd by 1 and the 3rd by 3?
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 07:29:19 PM
Well I'm delighted really as I've won money on Cink, but all the same it's not nice seeing Watson take such a dramatic fall like that.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:31:17 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 07:27:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 07:26:33 PM

Is this not the last hole Hardy? Both pared the 1st, then Cink took the 2nd by 1 and the 3rd by 3?

Sorry - I'm losing it just like old Tom.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2009, 07:36:09 PM
I've stopped watching it. Like watching bear baiting now.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 19, 2009, 09:21:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:27:53 PM

Westwood is destined never to win a major. How many times has be been in contention on the final 9 holes now?
in a major, not many, i can really only think of last year's us open and today's - maybe another us open a few years ago.  He's great tee to green normally, but he just can't close out tournaments, been extremely poor at it since his peak in the late 90's and early 00's.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 09:42:12 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 19, 2009, 09:21:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 19, 2009, 06:27:53 PM

in a major, not many, i can really only think of last year's us open and today's - maybe another us open a few years ago.  He's great tee to green normally, but he just can't close out tournaments, been extremely poor at it since his peak in the late 90's and early 00's.

Can remember him standing on the 10th tee at Augusta a few years back now and he was leading the field. Probably not as many as I thought he had fluffed to be fair. As you say a very good tee to green player but just can't seem to get over the line in majors. Wouldn't have minded seeing him win today. Rather him win it than that Poulter tool.