GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:46:52 PM

Title: Tipperary v Sligo Semple Staduim 3PM throw in Saturday 11th July
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:46:52 PM
Tough draw, seen tipp first hand against down and looked impressive.

We are missing Harrison, no CHB, CHF or FF can we solve these issues for the next day. :-\

Id say it will be in Thurles, Id say a decent Sligo support will be there. Good draw for both teams and is a 50/50 game with tipp at home favourites.

what i said after div3 final:
Congrats to Tipp Aswell. Some very good young players, no3, 6, 10, 9, 13 and 15 all impressed me. But div3 is shite too by the looks of things so we'll wont be far away from top next yr.

Tipp played 2 man ff line, they havent the ruthlessness of galway no one the standard of meehan to worry about but are better balanced than us. Physical enough side to, I remember theyre corner backs being weak and slow, if we select coen and kelly we will do damage, there FB is good and held there line togther.
Title: Re: Tipperary v Sligo Qualifier RD 2
Post by: magpie seanie on July 05, 2009, 07:17:01 PM
This is not a good draw for us. Would have fancied us more against some of the "bigger" names. Tipp will be hard beaten on their own patch. Hopefully its in Thurles.
Post by: baoithe on July 06, 2009, 08:50:50 AM
Looks like we'll be chatting about this one amongst ourselves!

Not a good draw and would have much preferred if it was at home. Harrison is a big loss and I would imagine Ewing will go into the Corner. After that McGovern should get his place and then perhaps Phillips at CHB?

Coen has certainly staked a claim for a starting place the next day but one wonders will the management be will to take a risk in throwing him in from the start. Will Sweeney or Davey start? Lots of questions.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 09:21:40 AM
Quote from: baoithe on July 06, 2009, 08:50:50 AM
Looks like we'll be chatting about this one amongst ourselves!

Not a good draw and would have much preferred if it was at home. Harrison is a big loss and I would imagine Ewing will go into the Corner. After that McGovern should get his place and then perhaps Phillips at CHB?

Coen has certainly staked a claim for a starting place the next day but one wonders will the management be will to take a risk in throwing him in from the start. Will Sweeney or Davey start? Lots of questions.

In my mind its not a risk starting Coen, its well known now that Marren was injured the last day and how the management picked him I will never know, the lad getting injection for 2 weeks is unfair on amateur player, i admire his commitment thiough. 2 corner backs were slow for Tipp and were not tall. Id be worried about ewing on the 2 man ff line for tipp, theyre good.

CHB for tipp is good, tall strong and fast and works hard, brehony or costello could be in trouble especially the latter.

McGovern will start for sure. Try him CHB?

Id go with Davey, in my mind he'll be rightly pissed off after the last day and will hopefully lift his performance. Sweeney the enigma, dont have a clue about him anymore, pissed off at his inconsistency. Gaughan is off form so not sure about him.

Should Costello start? A question alot of Sligofans are asking albeit not on here. Have alot of doubts about him at this level at this time of year. Thurles wont suit him either, big pitch, fast pace.

Greene
Ewing McGuire Donovan
McNamara McGovern J Davey
Mullen Taylor
Davey Brehony O Hara
Coen McPartland Kelly

Something like that if all fit is what Id go for?? Id have a fit McPartland in ahead of sweeney or costello after the last day. I am open to change on that though. I no clue on how anyones training etc... so go easy on me, just suggestions
Post by: magpie seanie on July 06, 2009, 10:57:29 AM
I'd go for:

Greene
Ewing  Maguire  Donovan 
McGovern  Phillips  J. Davey 
Mullen   Taylor 
Gaughan  Costello  O'Hara 
Coen   Marren/Breheny  Kelly

Only play Marren if 100% fit. If not play Breheny and let him drift out with Gaughan drifting in for ball over the top. It doesn't matter if he is off form, he is still a far better player than Seán Davey. Anyone who thinks Costello is not worth his place hasn't a clue about football. I'd like some of these people who think he is slow to have a race with him, they'd get a fair surprise.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 11:37:09 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 06, 2009, 10:57:29 AM
I'd go for:

Greene
Ewing  Maguire  Donovan 
Mullen   Taylor 

Only play Marren if 100% fit. If not play Breheny and let him drift out with Gaughan drifting in for ball over the top. It doesn't matter if he is off form, he is still a far better player than Seán Davey. Anyone who thinks Costello is not worth his place hasn't a clue about football.I'd like some of these people who think he is slow to have a race with him, they'd get a fair surprise.

Well personally dont think I have a choice where mcnamara concerned, there going to start him thats the only justification i can give putting him there btw.

You need to justify Costellos starting place. I read out exactly what you said to someone back home at the game last Sunday as i wasnt. His reply "you have to be honest about it Costello did not have a good game"I also said did anyone think he played well, "no" was the reply. Are you saying all these people havent a clue about football. Should he start the next day, again "no he has no pace for this time of yr".

On the davey/gaughan, I asked that question to people in the know last week, Because I would ideally want an Inform gaughan in there but ive been told hes way off form.
Post by: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 12:38:25 PM
the team I think will be picked is:

Greene
Ewing  Maguire  Donovan 
McGovern  McNamara  J. Davey 
Mullen   Taylor 
Davey  Costello  O'Hara 
Coen   Breheny  Kelly

On the costello argument, from watching him play with coolera for past 2 seasons, he is simply the best forward in Sligo for me, so I cant believe people would be looking for him to be dropped. He's also the only natural CHF we have so how anyone could pick davey & brehony in a half forward line ahead of him is beyond me. Yes, he was poor in the first half last week but improved significantly in the 2nd half - won alot of breaks around middle, carried it when necessary and made some excellent passes. You have to remember that this was his senior ch'ship debut and I think it took him some time to get used to the pace at that level.

Anyway Tipperary away is certainly a tough draw. Harrison is a huge loss, Ewing has a chance to redeem himself. We need another big performance from the lads in the middle again, and a lot more composure in the final 3rd. Good ball into kelly, coen & brehony will trouble most defences.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 12:56:25 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 12:38:25 PM
the team I think will be picked is:

Greene
Ewing  Maguire  Donovan 
McGovern  McNamara  J. Davey 
Mullen   Taylor 
Davey  Costello  O'Hara 
Coen   Breheny  Kelly

On the costello argument, from watching him play with coolera for past 2 seasons, he is simply the best forward in Sligo for me, so I cant believe people would be looking for him to be dropped. He's also the only natural CHF we have so how anyone could pick davey & brehony in a half forward line ahead of him is beyond me. Yes, he was poor in the first half last week but improved significantly in the 2nd half - won alot of breaks around middle, carried it when necessary and made some excellent passes. You have to remember that this was his senior ch'ship debut and I think it took him some time to get used to the pace at that level.

Anyway Tipperary away is certainly a tough draw. Harrison is a huge loss, Ewing has a chance to redeem himself. We need another big performance from the lads in the middle again, and a lot more composure in the final 3rd. Good ball into kelly, coen & brehony will trouble most defences.

Holy shit thats some statement, every single poster can come against me on this, I disagree strongly. Itd be nice if ye could back up yer claims though at county level. How did he do in the div4 final? Watch the game against Galway again aswell lads.
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on July 06, 2009, 01:03:09 PM
I would go with:

Greene
Ewing McGuire Donavan
McGovern Phillips Davey
Mullen Taylor
O'Hara Costello Gaughan
Coen Brehony Kelly.

I would not have picked Davey for the last game ahead of Gaughan. I don't get this talk before the Galway game of his great workrate. He does tend to go soloing forward which makes him stand out, however, I think Gaughan tracks back more and generally works harder. I don't know whether Davey will be out to prove selectors wrong in taking him off last day, maybe he will be wounded as Sligonian says. This remains to be seen.
I must say I also cannot see the reasons for dropping Costello.I know he made a few bad errors in the first half when running blind into tackles and losing the ball. I thought he worked very hard for breaking ball and got through a lot of work in the middle third. Many of our best moves in the second half were started by his possessions. He is the best man we have in the position for delivering quality ball to our full forward line. I am sure that if he had taken the free near the end that O'Hara managed to bomb up in the air over the end line that he would have looked for a shorter pass and tried to retain possession.
P.s. --I am only making judgement from the video of the game as I was away
Brehony is a good footballer but does not have the physical strength to play at centre half forward IMO. We are not blessed with individuals who are natural to this position and for me Costello is the best candidate.
For me McNamara cannot be near the pitch after his performance last time out. Misplaced passes with foot and hand added to a lack of intensity cannot be rewarded with a place for this game.
When will there be word on the venue? Hopefully it wont be somewhere way down near Waterford.
Post by: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 01:15:55 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 12:56:25 PM

Holy shit thats some statement, every single poster can come against me on this, I disagree strongly. Itd be nice if ye could back up yer claims though at county level. How did he do in the div4 final? Watch the game against Galway again aswell lads.

Name me a forward who has performed better than costello in the last 2 years. Yes he had an off day in the div 4 final, but was very good for the league. He got caught in possession a few times in first half last week but improved big time in the 2nd.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 01:32:25 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 01:15:55 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 12:56:25 PM

Name me a forward who has performed better than costello in the last 2 years. Yes he had an off day in the div 4 final, but was very good for the league. He got caught in possession a few times in first half last week but improved big time in the 2nd.

Marren, Brehony, Paul Taylor, McGee, Kelly, were better in the club championship last yr IMO. Had a good league in div4 but as far as Im concerned found out since, not up to the pace.

Id love to see Costello stats the last day, possessions, pass completion and accuracy etc...

But to be honest we have bigger problems especially does anyone see Walsh dropping McNamara? I dont although of course I wouldnt have him near it either, i picked him yes but its cause i know he'll start anyway, seems he cant be dropped for some reason.

Post by: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 02:29:34 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 01:32:25 PM
Marren, Brehony, Paul Taylor, McGee, Kelly, were better in the club championship last yr IMO. Had a good league in div4 but as far as Im concerned found out since, not up to the pace.
Id love to see Costello stats the last day, possessions, pass completion and accuracy etc...

But to be honest we have bigger problems especially does anyone see Walsh dropping McNamara? I dont although of course I wouldnt have him near it either, i picked him yes but its cause i know he'll start anyway, seems he cant be dropped for some reason.

Sligonian, you must think we have an endless supply of quality forwards if you've resigned costello to the scrap heap after one ch'ship outing. Unbelievable stuff. We'll just have to agree to disagree on this one and I'll let Costello do the talking v Tipp next week, he'll be one of the first names on Walsh's teamsheet.

Agree with you bout mcnamara. himself and davey dont deserve to start the next day but unfortunately I believe both will make the 15.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 02:36:50 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on July 06, 2009, 02:29:34 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 01:32:25 PM

Sligonian, you must think we have an endless supply of quality forwards if you've resigned costello to the scrap heap after one ch'ship outing. Unbelievable stuff. We'll just have to agree to disagree on this one and I'll let Costello do the talking v Tipp next week, he'll be one of the first names on Walsh's teamsheet.

Agree with you bout mcnamara. himself and davey dont deserve to start the next day but unfortunately I believe both will make the 15.

Ok I agree to disagree, but before that your back up to him being a definite starter is not backed up with stats or Intercounty Championship football, your opinion is based on Div4 football(not including final) and club championship. So will mcnamara be the first name on walshs teamsheet, doesnt mean hes right. We will see about Costello in time, I wish him well against Tipp and that is genuine, I hope he crushes all my doubts to the scrapheap.

SATURDAY SEMPLE STADUIM 3PM THROW IN, ye lucky Sligonians get to fulfill a life long dream of mine. Yes Ive always wanted to go there. Although itll be empty.
Title: Re: Tipperary v Sligo Semple Staduim 3PM throw in Saturday 11th July
Post by: Mano on July 06, 2009, 03:49:04 PM
I think Costello is getting a lot of unfair criticism on here-perhaps a lot of it to do with the fact he is not a native Sligonian.

Yes he had a poor first half but every forward was poor in the first half. He is there for his passing ability but how can you pick out a pass to a full forward line who are stationary behind their men. Consequently himself and a few others were forced into traffic and lost possesion. Second half was a lot more movement in the forwards and there were more options to pick out a pass.

My team for weekend
Greene
Donovan
McGuire
Ewing
Gaughan
McGovern
Davey
Mullen
O'Hara
Costello
Brehony
Kelly
Sweeney
Marren
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 05:54:10 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 06, 2009, 03:49:04 PM
I think Costello is getting a lot of unfair criticism on here-perhaps a lot of it to do with the fact he is not a native Sligonian.

Yes he had a poor first half but every forward was poor in the first half. He is there for his passing ability but how can you pick out a pass to a full forward line who are stationary behind their men. Consequently himself and a few others were forced into traffic and lost possesion. Second half was a lot more movement in the forwards and there were more options to pick out a pass.

My team for weekend
Greene
Donovan
McGuire
Ewing
Gaughan
McGovern
Davey
Mullen
O'Hara
Costello
Brehony
Kelly
Sweeney
Marren

Cop on to yourself, Im just calling it as I see it nothing to do with mayo. Point out the unfair criticism so Mano. I see the game differently to ye guys big deal, still think im right.  Rewarding Sweeney with a starting place and not starting Coen doesnt make sense after there respective performances.

Anyways Im prepared for Costello to start, but i am worried especially in a big pitch like Semple, I wasnt at these games so probably should bit more open minded i will say.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2009, 10:49:05 AM

My team for weekend
Greene
Donovan
McGuire
Ewing
Gaughan
McGovern
Davey
Mullen
O'Hara
Costello
Brehony
Kelly
Sweeney
Marren

Fair comment Mano, well explained. While I don't think where Costello comes from has anything to do with Sligonians views it may not sit well with some people and I definetely think that some of the criticism he has received on the radio in particular is not motivated solely by whats best for the Sligo team. Cos is big enough to take that on board and I'm sure he will deliver on Saturday. I still don't understand why our forwards didn't attempt to show for the ball in the first half against Galway but that's gone now.

Looking forward to the trip to Tipp. These will be very hard to beat but we can do it.
Post by: Mano on July 07, 2009, 10:52:58 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 06, 2009, 05:54:10 PM

My team for weekend
Greene
Donovan
McGuire
Ewing
Gaughan
McGovern
Davey
Mullen
O'Hara
Costello
Brehony
Kelly
Sweeney
Marren

Cop on to yourself, Im just calling it as I see it nothing to do with mayo. Point out the unfair criticism so Mano. I see the game differently to ye guys big deal, still think im right.  Rewarding Sweeney with a starting place and not starting Coen doesnt make sense after there respective performances.

Anyways Im prepared for Costello to start, but i am worried especially in a big pitch like Semple, I wasnt at these games so probably should bit more open minded i will say.

If you were at the game last week (not a criticism so don't lose it) you would have seen the lack of movement in the first half and the lack of options fellas like Costello, O'Hara had when they had ball in middle third. They had no options and had to pass laterally, take on their defenders or kick a wasteful ball in. Costello did well second half when there was a lot more movement and could pick a pass. For this reason i think he was unfairly criticised.

I take your point on Coen who looked very lively when he came on but i wouldn't use the 3 small lads-he would start maybe instead of Marren if he is still struggling. You have McPartland in for much same reasons i have Sweeney for a physical presence. Hopefully he has put in 2 god weeks of training and is sharper for this game.

On another point we only used 3 subs last week. On such a warm energy sapping day its ususual we didn't use the full quota - did the manager not have enough faith in his bench in the final few minutes?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 07, 2009, 12:10:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 07, 2009, 10:49:05 AM

My team for weekend
Greene
Donovan
McGuire
Ewing
Gaughan
McGovern
Davey
Mullen
O'Hara
Costello
Brehony
Kelly
Sweeney
Marren

Fair comment Mano, well explained. While I don't think where Costello comes from has anything to do with Sligonians views it may not sit well with some people and I definetely think that some of the criticism he has received on the radio in particular is not motivated solely by whats best for the Sligo team. Cos is big enough to take that on board and I'm sure he will deliver on Saturday. I still don't understand why our forwards didn't attempt to show for the ball in the first half against Galway but that's gone now.

Looking forward to the trip to Tipp. These will be very hard to beat but we can do it.

Fair enough points lads, if that was the case, it sits fine with me that he is from mayo. As long as he does a good job for us I dont care where hes from so that comment riled me. What are they saying on the radio, is it ex players or just general public saying it?

In terms of showing for the ball as a forward, I hope ye dont mean out in front lads because that day is over. It makes the job of the defender so easy if the supply coming in is that obvious. The defender can stay in front but i always vary my runs and keep him guessing but im totally reliant on the quality of supply, even standing behind my marker i expect the supply to come in over him when its obvious. What exactly do ye mean by not showing as its impossible to see this on tv?

We need somone physical alright Mano but im sick and tired of poor performances getting rewarded, what message would send to lads on the bench if sweeney started, jees play rubbish and get started. Seanie said McPartlands fit so id throw him feck it, its a huge risk but we have really no options anway so nothing to lose, i prefer someone more physical to Brehony. Dont get me wrong sweeney has it in him but it annoys me how inconsistent he is, maybe could have a stormer the next day wouldnt put it past him.

Lads have to remember Gaughan didnt get a run the last day, something not right there, he must be way off form as I was informed, cant explain it otherwise only using 3 subs isnt clever on energy sapping days, fair point mano.
Post by: Mano on July 07, 2009, 12:35:48 PM
There was simply no movement whatsoever. The 2 Galway defenders were 2 yards out in front and our 2 forwards were like rabbits caught in the headlights - they didn't know what to do. It looked like no plan b if the O'Hara plan in at full forward didn't work. You couldn't play a ball over the top as it was against wind and Galway defenders had inches on their opponents.

Previous Mayo comment was uncalled for and i retract it.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 08, 2009, 02:31:14 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 06, 2009, 10:57:29 AM
I'd go for:

Greene
Ewing  Maguire  Donovan 
Mullen   Taylor 

Only play Marren if 100% fit. If not play Breheny and let him drift out with Gaughan drifting in for ball over the top. It doesn't matter if he is off form, he is still a far better player than Seán Davey. Anyone who thinks Costello is not worth his place hasn't a clue about football. I'd like some of these people who think he is slow to have a race with him, they'd get a fair surprise.
There seems to be broad agreement on the shape of the team, I'd go along with that, but Davey will probably start ahead of Gaughan. Still if it were him or McNamara off the starting XV I'd settle for Sean and we can correct that later. If Marren isn't 100% then start Breheny and hold him in reserve, Coen deserves a starting place anyway. Sweeney shouldn't be let near the team unless the head is right, and not in an inflatable state.

It's going to be a tough one to win, Tipp's defeat in Munster might have appeared bad, but Limerick have shown their mettle since. Won't be much in it either way, but if we can replicate the performance post-20 mins v Galway, and make the necessary changes, then it can be won. But it is nice to have the chance to visit the mecca that is Semple Stadium to see Sligo playing all the same.
Post by: southsidejohnny on July 08, 2009, 03:38:49 PM
Biggest problem Sligonian has with Costello is that Alan is a Mayo man. Hopefully Coss will return to his own county next year(he is good enough) and Sligonian can look out for the next Micky Kearns.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 08, 2009, 08:29:03 PM
For whats it worth I think Kevin will make 2 changes,

Greene
Ewing
McGuire
Donovan
McNamara
McGovern
J Davey
Mullen
S Davey
Costello
O Hara
Coen
Brehony
Kelly

Thats the team I expect to be picked, Harrison and Marren are injured as far as I know. Not saying I agree or disagree, not at the games so should have less of opinion but cant help myself.
Post by: baoithe on July 09, 2009, 03:46:59 PM
Gutted that I will miss this on Saturday. Similar to Sligonian, I've never been to Semple Stadium and would love the opportunity to see Sligo play there.

As for the team, since the last outing I'm become increasingly convinced that McNamara should be dropped. We all know he has ability but if he's not willing to work like the rest of them then he needs some time on the bench. Some of the shit he was at the last day was unacceptable.

I should say that I certainly would not criticise Costellos weight if I thought that's just his physical make-up. I thought his frame was restricting him somewhat the last day and wondered if, perhaps, he could have been in better shape for the championship. If thats not possible then fair enough. My criticism wasn't meant in any way to be insulting and at the time it did occur to me I was being harsh on an amateur player.  There's no doubt he has a wonderful ability to pick out a kick pass but I'm not sure thats enough and I would lean towards Sligonian's opinion on this one. That said, is there a realistic alternative to him? I hope he has a stormer on Saturday .

Enjoy it lads, I'll have to make do with updates online. Seanie, you might provide us with a good match report when you're doing nothing next week!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2009, 04:54:12 PM
Quote from: baoithe on July 09, 2009, 03:46:59 PM
Gutted that I will miss this on Saturday. Similar to Sligonian, I've never been to Semple Stadium and would love the opportunity to see Sligo play there.

As for the team, since the last outing I'm become increasingly convinced that McNamara should be dropped. We all know he has ability but if he's not willing to work like the rest of them then he needs some time on the bench. Some of the shit he was at the last day was unacceptable.

I should say that I certainly would not criticise Costellos weight if I thought that's just his physical make-up. I thought his frame was restricting him somewhat the last day and wondered if, perhaps, he could have been in better shape for the championship. If thats not possible then fair enough. My criticism wasn't meant in any way to be insulting and at the time it did occur to me I was being harsh on an amateur player.  There's no doubt he has a wonderful ability to pick out a kick pass but I'm not sure thats enough and I would lean towards Sligonian's opinion on this one. That said, is there a realistic alternative to him? I hope he has a stormer on Saturday .

Enjoy it lads, I'll have to make do with updates online. Seanie, you might provide us with a good match report when you're doing nothing next week!

You can catch the commentary on Oceanfm online, updates thread on here might not be the best as its not on live. Then you can listen to Barnes the man who gave himself credit for getting Tommy Breheny to play McNamara in the backs, thanks Barnes for that one ::).
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on July 10, 2009, 08:02:40 AM
Sligo's Fifteen to take on Tipperary on Saturday July 11th. in Semple Stadium, Thurles at 3pm

P Greene

P McGovern
N McGuire
N Ewing

M McNamara
R Donavan
J Davey

E Mullen
T Taylor

M Breheny
A Costello
S Davey

D Kelly
E O'Hara
A Marren

Dont know how Mcnamara holds his place. Marren must have recovered from his injury. Suspect that the team wont line out in these actual positions come throw in.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2009, 08:38:31 AM
Quote from: jjjshabadoojnr on July 10, 2009, 08:02:40 AM
Sligo's Fifteen to take on Tipperary on Saturday July 11th. in Semple Stadium, Thurles at 3pm

P Greene

P McGovern
N McGuire
N Ewing

M McNamara
R Donavan
J Davey

E Mullen
T Taylor

M Breheny
A Costello
S Davey

D Kelly
E O'Hara
A Marren

Dont know how Mcnamara holds his place. Marren must have recovered from his injury. Suspect that the team wont line out in these actual positions come throw in.

Ya got the team last night and was suprised Marren was starting, 2 weeks he was injured and everyone knows the lads knee wasnt right against Galway but ive been informed hes 100% now so hope thats the case or else id be annoyed Coen isnt starting. Coen must feel hard done by. You know people can rave about Walsh all they want but if he cant see through mcnamara he will get little credit from me as it costs us big time that mistake.

I wish everyone associated with the team and management all the best on Sat, and safe journey to all supporters.
Post by: baoithe on July 10, 2009, 09:12:51 AM
It's hard to see O'Hara at full forward. I'd guess that Davey might move in there. They definitely want some bit of physical presence in there but apart from Sweeney (when on form) there's no ready made candidate. Seems like McPartland isn't in the management's thoughts at all. What's his form like?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2009, 10:22:51 AM
Quote from: baoithe on July 10, 2009, 09:12:51 AM
It's hard to see O'Hara at full forward. I'd guess that Davey might move in there. They definitely want some bit of physical presence in there but apart from Sweeney (when on form) there's no ready made candidate. Seems like McPartland isn't in the management's thoughts at all. What's his form like?

You know through the yrs mcpartland was always a player we could rely on (that equaliser against westmeath in 06 springs to mind, the final in07) , I was informed he was in the subs bench the last day, if thats so isnt a fair assumption he is fit. So if he is fit why not give game time? I have him in FF but bring on sweeney with 20 mins to go, not sure mcpartland would last 70mins, thatd be my plan for what its worth.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2009, 11:08:30 AM
Quote from: baoithe on July 10, 2009, 09:12:51 AM

His form for the club in the last 5 or 6 weeks has actually been really good. He might be in contention for a sub appearance tomorrow.
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on July 10, 2009, 12:13:18 PM
Has he been lining out at Midfield for ye of late Seanie?? Would he have much of an impact around the half forward line or what is his fitness levels like?
I heard that Marrens knee is in poor shape. I dont think he is a likely starter. I think Coen will start when push comes to shove.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2009, 01:46:03 PM
Has been playing midifeld alright and doing fairly well. Very hard to gauge from club games whether the fitness is fully there but he looks in good nick and didn't struggle at all. As well as I've seen him playing for the club in a couple of years. He will be capable of doing a good job around the HF line for 20-30 minutes at least.

Team along expected lines. Looking forward to it but know this will be a seriously hard game to win.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 11, 2009, 02:22:58 PM
Jees the nerves are at me big time now :-\, hope a big Sligo crowd is there. Best of Luck, from the start boys, from the start.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 11, 2009, 04:40:05 PM
I am relieved man, Congrats to all. Great win.

Look forward to the reports, 1-10 to 0-4 up at one stage and let it slip is a bit of a worry but I would of taken a 1pt win before the game.

Sounds like a big Sligo Support there. Fair play.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 08:46:03 AM
Sunday Independant report, jackie cahill,

SLIGO 1-13

TIPPERARY 1-12

SLIGO bounced back from their Connacht championship heartbreak as they edged past Tipperary in yesterday's All-Ireland SFC Round 2 Qualifier at Semple Stadium.

The Yeats County lost by four points to Galway at Markievicz Park a fortnight ago but Kevin Walsh's outfit extended their championship interest by at least another week with this one-point victory against hosts Tipp.

Sligo were left hanging on at the finish, having led by nine points early in the second half. With 44 minutes on the watch, Sligo looked home and hosed as they led by 1-11 to 0-5, but a spirited Tipp revival fell just short.

The home side outscored their opponents 1-8 to 1-3 in the second half but they couldn't get level as Damian O'Brien fluffed a glorious late chance to tie the game.

Tipp, winners of Division 3 this year, found themselves 0-10 to 0-4 behind against Division 4 kingpins Sligo at half-time as corner-forwards Adrian Marren and David Kelly ran riot for the visitors.

Marren hit four points and Kelly added two as Sligo used the first-half wind advantage to good effect, with Tipp restricted to four Barry Grogan points.

Slippy ground conditions favoured forward players and Kelly turned provider two minutes after the restart for Stephen Coen, a late call-up to the side, who netted at the Town End for Sligo. As rain fell incessantly, Tipp looked down and out, but they hung in there and outscored Sligo by 1-6 to 0-1 in a real purple patch from the 46th to the 64th minutes.

Brian Mulvihill's goal 13 minutes from time breathed fresh life into Tipp's challenge before Hugh Coghlan's point cut the gap back to the bare minimum, 1-12 to 1-11, with six minutes remaining.

Sub O'Brien had a glorious chance to level matters four minutes from the end but, caught in two minds as he wondered whether to shoot or pass, his effort dropped short.

Michael McNamara then bombed forward for a 68th-minute score as Sligo ended a 15-minute scoreless spell with a crucial point.

Coghlan responded again but the clock ran out on Tipperary, who will nevertheless take great heart from a year which saw them gain promotion to Division 2.

Sligo, who boast a decent Qualifier record in recent years, march on and find themselves in the hat for tonight's Round 3 draw after bouncing back from that Connacht semi-final reverse to Galway.

Scorers -- Sligo: A Marren 0-5 (1f), S Coen 1-1, D Kelly, M Breheny (1f) 0-2 each, M McNamara, T Taylor, A Costello 0-1 each. Tipperary: B Grogan 0-6 (4f), B Mulvihill 1-1, H Coghlan 0-2, B Coen, D O'Brien, A Fitzgerald 0-1 each

Sligo: P Greene; P McGovern, N McGuire, N Ewing; M McNamara, R Donovan, J Davey; E Mullen, T Taylor; M Breheny, A Costello, S Coen; D Kelly, E O'Hara, A Marren. Subs: D Davey for Costello (53), G Gaughan for Ewing (69), B Kivlehan for McNamara (69)

Tipperary: P Fitzgerald; P Codd, C McDonald, C Higgins; C Aylward, H Coghlan, R Costigan; G Hannigan, K Mulryan; S Carey, P Austin, B Mulvihill; B Fox, B Coen, B Grogan. Subs: D O'Brien for Carey (45), A Fitzgerald for Aylward (48), B Jones for Mulryan (56), J Cagney for Austin (68)

Referee: M Deegan (Laois)

Marren 4pts from play and Sligo with 1-11 from play, thats impressive no two ways about it.

Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2009, 12:47:13 PM
I left Thurles quite disappointed despite a result I would gladly have taken on the way down the road. Yes - conditions were very tough and we played some excellent football for over half the game but make no mistake, Tipp left this game behind them. We are in the next round draw because of some heroics by the likes of Donovan, O'Hara and Johnny Davey but largely due to Tipp making a balls of getting over the line. I suppose over the years we've come out on the wrong side of more close ones than the good side so maybe we deserved the bit of luck but it should not have come to this.

First half started with Cos hitting the ground running, setting the tone with a raking crossfield pass and a fine score. O'Hara cleaned up a serious amount of ball in the middle to give us the platform and David Kelly was motoring. He was hit great ball alright but his control (especially first touch) and use of possession were of the highest class. He won't get the credit he deserved but this was absolutely top notch corner forward play. Marren started jitterily (is that a word) ballooning a free and dropping another relatively easy chance just wide. However he then landed a raker and proceeded to follow it with several other beauties. Coen was also very lively as Tipps FB line did well to avoid conceding a goal. At the other end Ross Donovan was struggling badly and after his booking was moved off Grogan. To his credit, McNamara was really good in the first half, best I've seen him in ages. Breheny was also excellent in the first half, working hard and his ability to dispossess opponents was incredible. We could have been farther ahead at half time but the beautifully crafted goal early in the second hafl looked to have sealed the game. One Tipp wag behind us commented "there goes the double"!!!!!! but he spoke too soon. Tipp clipped over a few scores but Sligo still looked steady. Then a very strange substitution coincided with Sligo's complete collapse around the middle and the flow of the game changed entirely. It was obvious now that several lads were struggling after the first half efforts but the bench remained seated. Wave after wave of attacks rained in on the Sligo goals with Donovan turning round his poor form of the first half to be supreme. O'Hara was again magnificent, stationed around out HB line. Tipp's management spotted this and brought on an extra forward and even though O'Hara briefly went back up to FF, Tipp operated with 7 forwards for most of the final quarter. McGovern intercepted some crucial balls throughout and deserves mention. Tipps ineptitude at winning the game was encapsulated by the last action of the game. Given a free in midfield and backed by a gale force wind and rain instead of droping a long one in around the house (a levelling free surely would have followed) they kicked the ball backwards 15 yards and the ref said - "enough" and blew up.

On our best play we'd trouble anyone but we have to be very careful how we manage our resources throughout the hour. Making substitutions to give lads a run can come back to haunt you. Glad we got through. Is is home or away basis next round? Would love a Donaghy-less Kerry in Markievicz.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 01:16:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 12, 2009, 12:47:13 PM
I left Thurles quite disappointed despite a result I would gladly have taken on the way down the road. Yes - conditions were very tough and we played some excellent football for over half the game but make no mistake, Tipp left this game behind them. We are in the next round draw because of some heroics by the likes of Donovan, O'Hara and Johnny Davey but largely due to Tipp making a balls of getting over the line. I suppose over the years we've come out on the wrong side of more close ones than the good side so maybe we deserved the bit of luck but it should not have come to this.

First half started with Cos hitting the ground running, setting the tone with a raking crossfield pass and a fine score. O'Hara cleaned up a serious amount of ball in the middle to give us the platform and David Kelly was motoring. He was hit great ball alright but his control (especially first touch) and use of possession were of the highest class. He won't get the credit he deserved but this was absolutely top notch corner forward play. Marren started jitterily (is that a word) ballooning a free and dropping another relatively easy chance just wide. However he then landed a raker and proceeded to follow it with several other beauties. Coen was also very lively as Tipps FB line did well to avoid conceding a goal. At the other end Ross Donovan was struggling badly and after his booking was moved off Grogan. To his credit, McNamara was really good in the first half, best I've seen him in ages. Breheny was also excellent in the first half, working hard and his ability to dispossess opponents was incredible. We could have been farther ahead at half time but the beautifully crafted goal early in the second hafl looked to have sealed the game. One Tipp wag behind us commented "there goes the double"!!!!!! but he spoke too soon. Tipp clipped over a few scores but Sligo still looked steady. Then a very strange substitution coincided with Sligo's complete collapse around the middle and the flow of the game changed entirely. It was obvious now that several lads were struggling after the first half efforts but the bench remained seated. Wave after wave of attacks rained in on the Sligo goals with Donovan turning round his poor form of the first half to be supreme. O'Hara was again magnificent, stationed around out HB line. Tipp's management spotted this and brought on an extra forward and even though O'Hara briefly went back up to FF, Tipp operated with 7 forwards for most of the final quarter. McGovern intercepted some crucial balls throughout and deserves mention. Tipps ineptitude at winning the game was encapsulated by the last action of the game. Given a free in midfield and backed by a gale force wind and rain instead of droping a long one in around the house (a levelling free surely would have followed) they kicked the ball backwards 15 yards and the ref said - "enough" and blew up.

On our best play we'd trouble anyone but we have to be very careful how we manage our resources throughout the hour. Making substitutions to give lads a run can come back to haunt you. Glad we got through. Is is home or away basis next round? Would love a Donaghy-less Kerry in Markievicz.

Good report, Neutral venues for the next rd. How did Costello do after the start you mentioned? Was it the managements fault we collapsed or just tipp woke up? Disappointed you came out disappointed. Was there much Sligo support?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2009, 04:37:39 PM
Costello did fine. First half all the play tended to be don the other wing, into Kelly's corner so not on the ball a lot. Missed a(difficult) chance to slip someone in for a score with a less than perfect first touch. Second half he picked up quite a few breaks. Hit one floated pass over the top to Breheny that the later just didn't make in time (went out over sideline) and maybe that gave them the reason to do their pre-planned substitution. He played at left half forward from the start and his workrate was good but you won't get the best out of his footballing skills there. You'd know by him that his confidence has been rocked. Missed a few shots in first half, albeit from distance, that he normally sends over. The campaign is working it seems. It nearly cost us dear yesterday though.

I think we allowed Tipp back into the game and I'd feel out management didn't react quickly enough. The problem was lads that played very well in first half faded quickly and you have a lad who was poor in first (Donovan) being excellent in second.

Decent Sligo crowd but difficult to tell as practically everyone was in the same stand. Locals said they were expecting 5,000 and it seemed 50/50.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 05:22:38 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 12, 2009, 04:37:39 PM
Costello did fine. First half all the play tended to be don the other wing, into Kelly's corner so not on the ball a lot. Missed a(difficult) chance to slip someone in for a score with a less than perfect first touch. Second half he picked up quite a few breaks. Hit one floated pass over the top to Breheny that the later just didn't make in time (went out over sideline) and maybe that gave them the reason to do their pre-planned substitution. He played at left half forward from the start and his workrate was good but you won't get the best out of his footballing skills there. You'd know by him that his confidence has been rocked. Missed a few shots in first half, albeit from distance, that he normally sends over. The campaign is working it seems. It nearly cost us dear yesterday though.

I think we allowed Tipp back into the game and I'd feel out management didn't react quickly enough. The problem was lads that played very well in first half faded quickly and you have a lad who was poor in first (Donovan) being excellent in second.

Decent Sligo crowd but difficult to tell as practically everyone was in the same stand. Locals said they were expecting 5,000 and it seemed 50/50.

What campaign and secondly are you saying Costello getting taken off nearly cost us yday?