GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: heffo on July 02, 2009, 10:29:51 AM

Title: Donal Og's biography out in October 2009 - 'Lift & strike'
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2009, 10:29:51 AM
Available for pre-order on Amazon now - it's described as follows:

"The dispute between the Cork hurlers and their manager has transfixed Ireland. Of the many great hurlers who have taken their stand against the county board, none has been more eloquent than Dónal Óg Cusack. Now, with extraordinary frankness and detail, Dónal Óg tells the story of his life on and off the pitch and of the dramatic row that has kept a great and proud hurling side on the sidelines. Lift and Strike promises to be the frankest and most controversial book by a GAA player in the history of the organization."

Now who said any of the strikers were trying to make money out of it?
Title: Re: Donal Og's biography out in October 2009 - 'Lift & strike'
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2009, 10:38:06 AM
This has to be a piss take ?
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2009, 10:39:29 AM
Regrettably it's not...http://www.amazon.co.uk/Autobiography-Dónal-Óg-Cusack/dp/1844882179/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1246493484&sr=8-1

It's not clear which of Donal's PRO's is ghosting it - my money is on Kieran Shannon..
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2009, 10:43:47 AM
Lift and Strike.

So this is what it was all about then ??
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 02, 2009, 11:19:40 AM
I was talking to a man only yesterday from a very famous club in Cork. I was often talking to him before because he was always looking for tickets and was a fierce Cork supporter and very involved in the GAA all his life.  He was saying that most of the older clubmen, the ones that did all the hard work will not be seen at a Cork game for three years and he was still going mad to an extent that he said if a certain Cork Striker came into a room that he was in he would drive him across it with a box.  This book, if there is such a book, should do a lot to calm things down in the Peoples Republic and the timing of its introduction right in the middle of the championship season is I am sure all for the good of the game.
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2009, 12:17:17 PM
I'm looking forward to this - it should be a good read
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 02, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
QuoteI'm looking forward to this - it should be a good read

I thought you'd be waiting for Paraic Clancy's !!
Post by: theskull1 on July 02, 2009, 12:24:01 PM
It is a depressing dynamic now with this type of individual with "a" profile in the GAA. Of course they know they have to paint the romantic picture of what it means to wear the jersey to fool the dumb masses whilst in the background they are more interested in creating "opertunities" from their involvement in the game at that level. Nothing like a bit of controversey so as to be able to "generate" stuff to write about. I don't wanted  to get banned so I'll not say what I think of the same boy.

I'll not be lining his pockets

Thank god for for our silent heros who do their talking on the pitch and leave it at that. The more we hold them up the better

On a side note that title surely is a piss take or is that just my mind looking for double entendres?

Post by: heffo on July 02, 2009, 12:24:42 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 02, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
QuoteI'm looking forward to this - it should be a good read

I thought you'd be waiting for Paraic Clancy's !!

He's been keeping his head down since 'that' interview in the Laois Nationalist a few years ago!
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2009, 01:11:13 PM
Considering that the players line currently is that all they want to do is play and that the strike part 2 is a thing of the past then surely for the good of Cork hurling it would have been better for Donal O'g to hold fire for a year or two to allow the wounds to heal. Bringing out a book now is only going to stirr the shit again.
I'd say Denis won't be too happy as he'd the whole thing quietened down and getting back to hurling, now the feckin journo's will be all over the place again
Post by: theskull1 on July 02, 2009, 01:21:21 PM
I think it's a case of strike while the irons hot
Post by: orangeman on July 02, 2009, 01:45:05 PM
The saviour of Cork hurling is entitled to cash in all the same. He's been a great player and a great leader and we shouldn't begrudge him a few quid, especially now that the grants are going or may be gone.

Fair play to him. You have to admire his gall.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2009, 01:53:07 PM
Lads, I don't really have a problem with this. I think Donal Og is an agitator and an opportunist, but he has had an interesting life in GAA terms. I don't actually begrudge people making a bit of cash on the back of their profile in the game, as long as it is outside the game itself.  I'll probably buy it, the same way I bought Roy Keane's book , i.e. to hear his side of the story. I'll make up my own mind about him based on that, just like I did with Keane.

As for the title of the book, and the timing, well I'd say it's Donal Og's last few months in the game he has played for years, so it's not unusual to have pre-publicity during the busy period of the summer. The title, I'm sure, was from his publisher and it's not unusual seeing as how he's been a key figure in those times.
Post by: theskull1 on July 02, 2009, 02:01:51 PM
I believe he's been intentionally controversial all along just so that he can, down the line (now) tell his side of the story and make a few pound from it. The story he has intentionally created. He's no dope I'm sure and knows how modern media works as an industry.

Are any of youse blind to that possibility?

Post by: INDIANA on July 02, 2009, 02:02:26 PM
Its the timing of it AZ. It all wrong. Could he not wait until he packed up playing- unless he intends to do so? Another winter of discontent. The game is bigger than the players. Not sure some of them realise that.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2009, 02:08:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 02, 2009, 02:02:26 PM
Its the timing of it AZ. It all wrong. Could he not wait until he packed up playing- unless he intends to do so? Another winter of discontent. The game is bigger than the players. Not sure some of them realise that.

Agreed,
       he should have held out until the second sunday in september or when Cork go out of the championship, whichever comes first.

Maybe the biffo's have a bigger say in the timing than we could imagine  ;D
Post by: monny14 on July 02, 2009, 02:31:17 PM
Lift and Strike,More like HW TO GET UR OWN WAY.hes a gud hurler but the problem is his mouth is bigger than his strike
Post by: monny14 on July 02, 2009, 02:33:05 PM
aNOTHER NAME 4 IT mOUTH aND strike,mouth for hes never shuts up his mouth and strike for nt hittin a ball but goin against managers and county boards
Post by: passedit on July 02, 2009, 02:41:12 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 02, 2009, 02:01:51 PM
I believe he's been intentionally controversial all along just so that he can, down the line (now) tell his side of the story and make a few pound from it. The story he has intentionally created. He's no dope I'm sure and knows how modern media works as an industry.

Are any of youse blind to that possibility?

He must be in cahoots with Frank so, as he was the cauuse of all three strikes including the one not involving D og.

Frank's biog would fetch a penny or two. Oh wait he doesn't need it, as he's taking money from the GAA for f**king things up.

Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 02, 2009, 02:45:53 PM
"Lift & Strike"??  Is this book about the PSNI's strategy for dealing with GAA members in the 70's and 80's?? ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2009, 08:26:11 PM
I read Christy O'Connor's goalkeepers book a few years ago. Donal Og came across as a narrow minded obsessive who would be one of the worst people to sit beside at any wedding or similar social occasion. A bore.  It is an awful pity that Ring died so young. Cloyne has produced far better ambassadors for the game than Cusack.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 03, 2009, 02:22:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 02, 2009, 08:26:11 PM
It is an awful pity that Ring died so young. Cloyne has produced far better ambassadors for the game than Cusack.

he left his club to go and play for Glen Rovers though, right?
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2009, 02:24:31 PM
Other considered titles:
2 strikes and youre out
Bending the hurl. 
Puss in boots
Post by: orangeman on July 03, 2009, 03:13:15 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on July 03, 2009, 02:22:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 02, 2009, 08:26:11 PM
It is an awful pity that Ring died so young. Cloyne has produced far better ambassadors for the game than Cusack.

he left his club to go and play for Glen Rovers though, right?

Back in the day.
Post by: Keyser soze on July 03, 2009, 06:28:49 PM
The sooner this t**l retires and exits stage left the better the GAA will be. As you can guess i won't be buying it.
Post by: orangeman on July 04, 2009, 09:47:07 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 03, 2009, 06:28:49 PM
The sooner this t**l retires and exits stage left the better the GAA will be. As you can guess i won't be buying it.

His second book is due out to coincide with the next strike which is planned as soon as they exit the championship and Walsh will be made a sacrificial lamb.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 04, 2009, 10:03:10 AM
There are now good players like young Donal and Dessie and indeed our Sean (Cavanagh) whose playing ability and careers will be overshadowed by their involvemnt in destroying the ethos of the GAA. I wouldnt lift the book of the shelf to flick through it  :-\ 
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 04, 2009, 12:07:10 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 04, 2009, 10:03:10 AM
There are now good players like young Donal and Dessie and indeed our Sean (Cavanagh) whose playing ability and careers will be overshadowed by their involvemnt in destroying the ethos of the GAA. I wouldnt lift the book of the shelf to flick through it  :-\ 

of course these guys have no idea about the ethos of the GAA at all......what gives you the right to say that they are destroying the ethos of the GAA???
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 04, 2009, 04:09:42 PM
Apparently Tom Humphries has wiped Kieran Shannon's eye on this one. Won't read it, I've read enough of his interviews to have my own opinion formed on him and I know his views aren't going to change. Mine won't either.
Post by: lob her in lad on July 04, 2009, 10:51:28 PM
I was very glad to have been out of the country when all the Cork rubbish was going on, I think Cork people in the majority would back anything any other Cork lad does and say ah sure he's right in whatever he does, I was in C.I.T. in 2002 when Keano and the whole Saipan thing went down, fair enough Cork people were behind him but if it turned out that Keane had killed Mick then I am sure that the whole of Cork would have said collectively ah sure he was right in what he did. The strike made me sick no man or group of men are bigger than the game.
Post by: Reillers on July 04, 2009, 11:21:54 PM
Ah Donal Og, the famous fall guy. When will ye ever stop moaning. There are plenty other GPA members, and he is not the only Cork player involved in the strike..s. Just a good public speaker. Donal Og (though I think he's had his time) is a leader on the pitch and in the dressing room and one of the main reasons that the Cork players have so much respect for him is because he takes a lot of the grief from the media for them.

But sure everyone needs a scape goat and a target man.
Post by: dowling on July 05, 2009, 02:38:34 AM
Public speaker Reillers? A very good goalie and that's about it! Not as good now as he used to be though.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 05, 2009, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 04, 2009, 12:07:10 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 04, 2009, 10:03:10 AM

of course these guys have no idea about the ethos of the GAA at all......what gives you the right to say that they are destroying the ethos of the GAA???

I gave me the right to say it...it's called freedom of speech  :o  wat do these boys do for club players rights?... is totally elitist. and cavanagh preaching about welfare of players when you look at what he has got in the last yaer or two...give me  a break