Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:13:55 PM

Title: Orange arches
Post by: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:13:55 PM
I was in Rathfriland earlier and took a close look at the arch in the square.. it was erected by the pride of the hill band and i was entriqued by the emblems on it... along a pic of her majesty ther was a DUP and UUP emblem, emblems of the B specials, UDR, RIR (i think), and Rangers football club and our wee country logo(football for all  ;))...
Is this the norm all over the six counties???? Would the POTH band have to get permission to use such emblems?????? ??? ???
Title: Re: Orange arches
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 01, 2009, 04:19:00 PM
What a shit hole. Dont know how the good catholics who live there do so with trash like that up.
Post by: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:24:59 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 01, 2009, 04:19:00 PM
What a shit hole. Dont know how the good catholics who live there do so with trash like that up.

They would feel the exact same way as the good protestants that live in Kilcoo ;D ;D ;D ;) ;) ;)
Post by: T Fearon on July 01, 2009, 04:37:14 PM
It is the fact that the North of Ireland soccer side is perceived to be a loyalist icon that continues to be a source of shame and the core reason why the IFA continues to fail to engage with the nationalist community of the 6 counties. You cannot really blame the numbskulls who erect arches for this, but you can blame the IFA.

I find the situation in the 6 counties paradoxical currently. In and around Portadown and other areas I have never saw such a plethora of flags yet apparently membership of the OO is declining? Is all this flag waving merely a symptom of huge insecurity given the fact that the union is weakening on a dialy basis?
Post by: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:52:39 PM
http://www.poth.co.uk/history.php

if you go down this page you will see a pic of the arch in 1997, the rangers and OWC is on the back of the arch
Post by: Evil Genius on July 01, 2009, 06:36:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 01, 2009, 04:37:14 PM
It is the fact that the North of Ireland soccer side is perceived to be a loyalist icon that continues to be a source of shame and the core reason why the IFA continues to fail to engage with the nationalist community of the 6 counties. You cannot really blame the numbskulls who erect arches for this, but you can blame the IFA.
What utter tosh! The fact is, whoever designed this Arch will neither have sought, nor needed, permission from any of the organisations depicted, for having their logos included on this, ahem, erection.

Therefore, the IFA can no more be held responsible for this, than your beloved Celtic or your beloved GAA can for the tool who was famously pictured protesting in February 2007 amongst a crowd of RSF rabble outside your beloved Croke Park:
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:ntXegguw38GVJM:http://www.bifsniff.com/wp)

As for your allegation of the IFA failing "to engage with the nationalist community of the 6 counties", if you go to their website, you will see the lead story (from Monday) is about the Carnegie Schools Cup for Girls which was recently contested in Derry:
http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/4986/carnegie-schools-cup/
As you will see, the dozens of participating schools comprised every section of education in NI from State, Catholic and Integrated.
Meanwhile, the Schoolboys equivalent attracts more schools to its competition than the equivalents for rugby and GAA combined, including this year that Irish Language school on the Falls (name escapes me), as part of a record entry.
At Primary School level, the IFA is sending coaches into over 250 PS's throughout NI:
http://www.irishfa.com/grassroots/primary-schools-coaching-programme/
And at Youth (i.e non-school underage), there is a similarly widespread integration of teams and players:
http://www.irishfa.com/domestic-football/harry-cavan-youth-cup/

And all that's before you get to the work done in and outside of schools by the IFA's awardwinning Football For All team:
http://www.irishfa.com/grassroots/football-for-all/main-activities/

I look forward to hearing from you what the GAA is doing to cross the divide in NI - or was it enough merely to get Darren Graham back into the fold with a promise of a cushy Coaching job in America?
Post by: red hander on July 01, 2009, 06:46:48 PM
Can you have a crowd of rabble?  Surely a rabble is a crowd?  Bad misuse of your beloved English language there...
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2009, 06:54:07 PM
Well the numbers in the Orange Order are dropping. The younger Protestant community are not joining up, so that's a good sign for the future.
Post by: Evil Genius on July 01, 2009, 06:55:55 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 01, 2009, 06:46:48 PM
Can you have a crowd of rabble?  Surely a rabble is a crowd?  Bad misuse of your beloved English language there...
Good question. Probably best just to substitute the term "shower"... ::)
Post by: red hander on July 01, 2009, 07:08:59 PM
As regards the IFA engaging the nationalist community of the six counties, it would be churlish to deny there's not a fair bit going on ... but it's too little way too late.  The vast majority of nationalists have absolutely no interest in supporting owc, how could they when the very essence of Irish nationalism is the non-recognition of the statelet or anything that gives the statelet legitimacy, such as an 'international' football team ... there's also the fact the team's support still includes a significant section of loyalist bigots (as our Polish and Romanian visitors have found to their cost recently)...
Post by: fred the red on July 01, 2009, 07:10:23 PM
'Lovely' man city/owc mix flag being advertised above this thread with no surrender under neath  ::)
Post by: Rav67 on July 01, 2009, 07:24:27 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:13:55 PM
I was in Rathfriland earlier and took a close look at the arch in the square.. it was erected by the pride of the hill band and i was enriqued by the emblems on it

Just out of interest is this really a word and what does it mean?
Post by: TORGAEL on July 01, 2009, 07:26:42 PM
Maybe something spanish... being "enriqued"... ;D
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2009, 07:32:17 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on July 01, 2009, 07:26:42 PM

(http://www.public.asu.edu/~jmlynch/273/images/freud.jpg)
Post by: Rav67 on July 01, 2009, 07:32:57 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on July 01, 2009, 07:26:42 PM

Monsieur Iglesias has probably enriqued a few in his time
Post by: Evil Genius on July 01, 2009, 07:40:48 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 01, 2009, 07:08:59 PM
As regards the IFA engaging the nationalist community of the six counties, it would be churlish to deny there's not a fair bit going on ... but it's too little way too late. 
Aside from the fact that it would actually be impossible  to deny (otherwise you'd be doing just that, I suspect), is "too little, too late" the best criticism you can come up with?
Is that why the GAA presently appears to do virtually sod-all to cross the divide, such that their entire set-up in NI is pretty much exclusively Nationalist/Catholic? "Too late" or "No point"? Or "Don't care"? Even "Prefer it that way"?  

The vast majority of nationalists have absolutely no interest in supporting owc, how could they when the very essence of Irish nationalism is the non-recognition of the statelet or anything that gives the statelet legitimacy, such as an 'international' football team .
Fine. But if their objection is to the very concept  of an NI team, rather than how such a team operates etc, then short of voluntarily disbanding, the IFA could never hope to appeal to what you term "the vast majority of nationalists".
Yet still the IFA continues, at an ever increasing pace. Hmmm, maybe they have time and money to burn, eh? Or might it just be that they are actually being increasingly successful in their efforts? Perish the thought...
(Btw, isn't it lucky for Irish rugby that the majority of Unionists in NI don't let their own political preferences deter them from supporting an all-Ireland rugby team? Or NI cricket fans. And yet we're the blinkered ones, apparently)

there's also the fact the team's support still includes a significant section of loyalist bigots (as our Polish and Romanian visitors have found to their cost recently)...
Aye right, it was NI football fans who were responsible for the trouble surrounding the recent Poland game. In fact, here is even a confession by that well-known uber-Prod, Aleksandra Lojek, writing in the Orange Order's in-house magazine:

"Rioting by Polish 'pseudo fans' under a republican flag threatens to entangle Belfast's Poles in sectarian violence

By Aleksandra Lojek-Magdziarz, Wednesday 1 April 2009 10.00 BST

Rioting of the kind provoked by Polish football hooligans in Belfast at the weekend is a sadly frequent occurrence in Poland. Now I fear these people may do a great deal of damage to relations between Northern Irish and Polish communities in the city.

The Polish police use tough measures to control hooligans: water cannons are routinely deployed around football stadiums before the games. Stop and search powers are widely used. Public transport is usually surrounded and monitored by armed policemen and dogs. Before one derby fixture I witnessed in Krakow, the police confiscated axes, knives and other weapons. Fans transported by special cars became so furious that they pushed out the windows from the inside. Then they jumped out of the vehicles and started to tear up the pavement and hurl missiles at rival fans and police. After the game, shop windows were smashed, trams and buses were vandalised, a number of people were beaten up and police officers were injured.

When sanctions against a football team in Krakow were imposed, fans became so enraged that they demolished the city centre. Gangs of hooligans do not just beat up rival fans: they occasionally kill them. Women are more or less immune from attack, but men will avoid certain areas of Krakow on the night of a match.

Not all Polish football fans are violent, of course, the majority are ordinary people who love football, but an aggressive minority are loud and highly dangerous. I have great respect for the Police Service of Northern Ireland, but they seem to have been ill-prepared for the influx of thugs.

"Pseudo fans", as we call them in Polish, use various thoughtless symbols to underscore their rebellious attitude. In Northern Ireland they used a republican flag to provoke people in Belfast. It revealed their absolute ignorance: they do not support dissident republicans in the slightest, mainly because they have no idea who they are. Back in Poland, some of the hooligans call themselves "Hezbollah" and proclaim "jihad" on other teams. You can bet they know nothing about Middle Eastern politics.

In Krakow, graffiti depicting Jewish symbols hung on gallows is common, which understandably shocks Jewish visitors. Fans of Cracovia, an old local team that originated before the second world war, are often dubbed "the Jews" because Wisla, the rival team, did not accept them.

Unfortunately, however, Polish migrants living in Belfast are being tainted by the hooligans' actions. Polish houses are being attacked, shop windows smashed and abuse hurled at them.

The government and NGOs have been doing their best to ease tensions with grassroots projects such as Frank Higgins's Thin End of the Wedge. The vulnerability of the economy, and the fact that many Poles are staunch Catholics, can lead to problems. The good work of people like Higgins could be ruined thanks to the brainless thugs who came to Belfast, often ticketless, to start the violence. Suddenly Poles have become entangled in the longstanding political and sectarian conflict. I hope that the communities will come to their senses and will realise that the hooligans were not local, integrated Poles. But it could take a while"

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2009/mar/31/football-hooligans-belfast-polish-poland

As for your attempt to link the NI team with the recent attacks on those Romanians, that is nearly as contemptible as the attacks themselves.  >:(

P.S. Slovenia came to Belfast to play a World Cup game five days after the Poland game, and there wasn't the slightest hint of trouble. Any idea why? Maybe they're all good loyal Prods in that part of the world?  ::)

Post by: TORGAEL on July 01, 2009, 07:44:27 PM
And as sure as day turns into night, certain posters completely sidetrack this thread for their own bickering.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on July 01, 2009, 07:56:30 PM
Surely if these arches are erected on main roads they would have to be insured...(public liability insurance at the very least) in case it fell..

Wonder what would happen if you were to smash into it in your car?
Post by: red hander on July 01, 2009, 08:13:58 PM
'As for your attempt to link the NI team with the recent attacks on those Romanians, that is nearly as contemptible as the attacks themselves'

Er, where did I link the team, Brains Trust?  I was clearly talking about a significant element of the support ... for you to totally misrepresent what I wrote and then brand it as bad as what happnened to those Romanians at the hands of loyalist scum is pathetic ... I could give as much a f**k about your NI team as you could about the Ireland team ... so away and trawl google for more reams of cac to back up your prejudices, you don't have long before mummy comes up with your milk and cookies before she kisses you goodnight and turns the light off ... bless
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2009, 10:55:41 PM
Quoteused a republican flag to provoke people in Belfast.

What is this republican flag that these Poles had? Poland is a republic, so no problem there. Perhaps they had an Irish flag, but then OWC represents all of the people of NI, many of whom fly Irish flags, so that couldn't have been the problem.
Post by: fred the red on July 01, 2009, 10:56:18 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on July 01, 2009, 07:40:48 PM

P.S. Slovenia came to Belfast to play a World Cup game five days after the Poland game, and there wasn't the slightest hint of trouble. Any idea why? Maybe they're all good loyal Prods in that part of the world?  ::)

No point trying to sugar coat over the fact that OWC fans were rioting against Poland (the weekend fixture no doubt added to the drinking/fans on streets etc)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pf9_myDxzM0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pf9_myDxzM0)

the comment by the 'fan' says it all:

having a nice quiet pint when this kicked off on sat, such entertainment lol ulster til we die!
(1)"where do you find the book of polish war heros, on the back of a postage stamp"

(2) Why was hitler in a bad mood? cause he got his polish gas bill !!!!
Post by: Orior on July 01, 2009, 11:47:48 PM
I had the pleasure of driving through lovely Bloomfield in east Beal Feirste today. The roundabout was bedecked with the following flegs:

- Union Jack
- Northern Ireland
- Scotland
- Glasgow Rangers
- Orange Order
- Israel
- UDR (I think)

And no OWC fleg? Shocking. What the hell sort of supporters are up there? Maybe they are all Engerland fans. Or Scots. Or Jews.

Post by: Chrisowc on July 01, 2009, 11:53:02 PM
Luis - One of the few who played for both Real Madrid and Barcelona
Post by: Chrisowc on July 01, 2009, 11:59:44 PM
There should be a themuns cavalry.

Post by: Roger on July 02, 2009, 12:17:57 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2009, 10:55:41 PM
Quoteused a republican flag to provoke people in Belfast.

What is this republican flag that these Poles had? Poland is a republic, so no problem there. Perhaps they had an Irish flag, but then OWC represents all of the people of NI, many of whom fly Irish flags, so that couldn't have been the problem.
(http://www.polishforums.com/user_files/uploaded/33829/655965_1_o.jpg)
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 02, 2009, 07:58:51 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on July 01, 2009, 04:24:59 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 01, 2009, 04:19:00 PM

They would feel the exact same way as the good protestants that live in Kilcoo ;D ;D ;D ;) ;) ;)

Ha ha. All 3 families off them. Must be heartbreak for them.
Post by: T Fearon on July 02, 2009, 09:36:01 AM
There is a lot of tosh on this thread. Despite many initiatives (the sincerity of which is debatable when an organisation has a member of the OO at its helm and is being sued currently by a former employee for unfair dismissal on the grounds of rac ism), the North of Ireland soccer team run by the IFA is perceived to be a loyalist icon. Thats why its logo appears on arches etc and the IFA Flag appears at this time of year alongside the UK and bastardised Ulster Flag on many lamposts all ver the 6 counties.

The fact that it is perceived to be a loyalist icon should be a source of alarm to the IFA if it is sincere in promoting Football for All and it should be doing all in its power to promote a global sport in a neutral environment in a divided society. While the best way to do this on this island is to dispense with the absurdity of two international soccer teams each representing its own largely exclusive cxommunity in favour of one team representing all communities, the very least the IFA must do immediately is to stop using the flags,symbols anthems of one community only, which inevitably makes every North of Ireland game an opportunity to display unionist triumphalism at worst or assert political unionism at best.Until this happens any other gestures it might make will be largely perceived to be window dressing.

The GAA has a strategic plan to be more inclusive by the way, but once again as I've stated here before the GAA and IFA are in no way analogous, as one exists to promote a wholly indigenous  national culture (which unfortunately may not appeal to everyone due to their own personal prejudices) and the other is supposed to promote a global sport in its region withour fear, favour or prejudice.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 02, 2009, 10:01:34 AM
I always found it strange that the arch up in Lurgan has 'Derry' embedded on it.
Post by: ziggysego on July 02, 2009, 10:17:26 AM
The advert banner at the top of this thread is for a Polish dating website  :D
Post by: Orior on July 02, 2009, 10:19:28 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 02, 2009, 09:36:01 AM
There is a lot of tosh on this thread. Despite many initiatives (the sincerity of which is debatable when an organisation has a member of the OO at its helm and is being sued currently by a former employee for unfair dismissal on the grounds of rac ism), the North of Ireland soccer team run by the IFA is perceived to be a loyalist icon. Thats why its logo appears on arches etc and the IFA Flag appears at this time of year alongside the UK and bastardised Ulster Flag on many lamposts all ver the 6 counties.

The fact that it is perceived to be a loyalist icon should be a source of alarm to the IFA if it is sincere in promoting Football for All and it should be doing all in its power to promote a global sport in a neutral environment in a divided society. While the best way to do this on this island is to dispense with the absurdity of two international soccer teams each representing its own largely exclusive cxommunity in favour of one team representing all communities, the very least the IFA must do immediately is to stop using the flags,symbols anthems of one community only, which inevitably makes every North of Ireland game an opportunity to display unionist triumphalism at worst or assert political unionism at best.Until this happens any other gestures it might make will be largely perceived to be window dressing.

The GAA has a strategic plan to be more inclusive by the way, but once again as I've stated here before the GAA and IFA are in no way analogous, as one exists to promote a wholly indigenous  national culture (which unfortunately may not appeal to everyone due to their own personal prejudices) and the other is supposed to promote a global sport in its region withour fear, favour or prejudice.

Today's topical quiz.

Q. What does TOSH stand for?
Post by: maddog on July 02, 2009, 10:40:34 AM
its cockney in origin, from "tosher", someone that was a scavenger in sewers etc in old London town.
Post by: Aerlik on July 06, 2009, 10:28:40 AM
In the 1970s the local OO intellectuals decided to erect the foreign bunting in Kilrea but couldn't find a long enough ladder for the job so decided to go ahead and use the only one available.  Not long enough it turns out.  The marching season just happened to be in the middle of the hay harvest (back in the days when Irish summers were longer than 24 hours!) and what an own-goal was scored the night that one of their own went belting down Maghera Street on the MF135 with a big load of hay and ripped every single line of offence off.  Oh, it was a funny night that night and the craic the next few days as the bunting was replaced was something else. :D
Post by: Orior on July 06, 2009, 11:08:46 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on July 06, 2009, 10:28:40 AM
In the 1970s the local OO intellectuals decided to erect the foreign bunting in Kilrea but couldn't find a long enough ladder for the job so decided to go ahead and use the only one available.  Not long enough it turns out.  The marching season just happened to be in the middle of the hay harvest (back in the days when Irish summers were longer than 24 hours!) and what an own-goal was scored the night that one of their own went belting down Maghera Street on the MF135 with a big load of hay and ripped every single line of offence off.  Oh, it was a funny night that night and the craic the next few days as the bunting was replaced was something else. :D

Oxymoron
Post by: DownFanatic on July 06, 2009, 02:43:35 PM
There last week a load of outsiders came in to Dundrum for their annual flag erecting session. There are three new Union Jack flags proudly flying outside our GAA grounds  >:(
Any other clubs in the North have similar decorations?
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 06, 2009, 02:47:33 PM
In Lurgan the "Protestant" end of town is flag/bunting free, but towards the "Catholic" end of the town centre looks as if theres about to be a party held for Nicolas Sarkozy!
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2009, 06:10:57 PM
Are those bigotfest marches on Saturday or Monday this year?
I presume they can't have them on a Sunday( all watching the Munster Final ?  :D)
Post by: Myles Na G. on July 06, 2009, 06:42:03 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 02, 2009, 09:36:01 AM

Not just on this thread, but on the board generally. You yourself contribute much more than your fair share.
Post by: ziggysego on July 06, 2009, 07:29:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2009, 06:10:57 PM
Are those bigotfest marches on Saturday or Monday this year?
I presume they can't have them on a Sunday( all watching the Munster Final ?  :D)

Monday ;)
Post by: stew on July 06, 2009, 09:15:45 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 01, 2009, 06:46:48 PM

:D :D :D

Was thinking that meself. That rant is what happens when you feel trapped, you are embarassed and so you naturally turn to the GAA for deflection purposes. Well done evil, true colours shown for all to see, is it the twelfth coming up that brings out the worst in ye?
Post by: Roger on July 06, 2009, 09:59:19 PM
I wouldn't put EG as a defender of the OO by any stretch of the imagination, nor me for that matter, but the level of bigotry against the Orange tradition (of which I am not part nor want to be, nor EG from what any fool could read in any of his post on the issue) here is quite something that the usually self-proclaimed tolerant bohemian gaels should be at least seeing as plain silly given the general level of ignorance on the subject matter by most of the more hate-filled ones.  Of course that is just my view and cue "you can't be bigotted against bigots" sort of shite.   ::) 
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 06, 2009, 10:04:14 PM
Quote from: Roger on July 06, 2009, 09:59:19 PM
I wouldn't put EG as a defender of the OO by any stretch of the imagination, nor me for that matter, but the level of bigotry against the Orange tradition (of which I am not part nor want to be, nor EG from what any fool could read in any of his post on the issue) here is quite something that the usually self-proclaimed tolerant bohemian gaels should be at least seeing as plain silly given the general level of ignorance on the subject matter by most of the more hate-filled ones.  Of course that is just my view and cue "you can't be bigotted against bigots" sort of shite.   ::) 

That is probably one of the best sentences I've ever read.

What does it mean?
Post by: stew on July 06, 2009, 10:26:50 PM
[/quote

What are we ignorant about in regards to the OO?

Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2009, 06:13:42 PM
We probably don't realise that they are fine upstanding tolerant Christian men who believe that all Prot people are equal and are God's creatures.  We dont realise that they totally and literally believe in the Christian message -- Love God and Love your neighbour as yourself.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 07, 2009, 10:03:50 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on July 06, 2009, 10:04:14 PM

That is probably one of the best sentences I've ever read.

What does it mean?
It is a really really good sentence.
Post by: maddog on July 10, 2009, 11:50:51 AM
Any pictures of this years bonfires and arches. Im feeling homesick. :P