GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: m@yoman on June 26, 2009, 09:06:50 PM

Title: Mayo radio documentary - radio 1 - 27th June
Post by: m@yoman on June 26, 2009, 09:06:50 PM
Picked this up on www.mayofans.com (http://www.mayofans.com) there a while ago......

Below is a quote from Board member "grainne uaile"....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mayo Fans will be interested in this documentary next Saturday morning atd 9.10 on RTE Radio One (note Radio - not TV) The following is a description of it in this week's Mayo News:

A documentary which examines the state of football in Mayo over the last 50 years will be aired next Saturday, June 27.  The programme entitled "The Script of Hurt" is presented and produced by John Scally, the author of a number of sports books including "Best of the West: Connacht GAA Greats".  It will  be broadcast at
9.10 am on RTE Radio One.

The documentary looks at the story of Mayo football since the glory days of 1950 and 1951 in the company of Paddy Prendergast, Seán Freyne (who captained the Mayo minor team in 1953), Willie McGee, John O'Mahony, Willie Joe and Billy Joe Padden, TJ Kilgallon, Mary O'Neill (mother of former Mayo star Kevin) and legendary Roscommon footballer Dermot Earley, who was born in Mayo.  Among the issues to be examined are the legend of a curse put on the 1951 team by a priest angered at a funeral being interrupted, the tragic death of Ted Webb in 1976 and the murder of John Morley and Henry Byrne in 1980

Title: Re: Mayo radio documentary - radio 1 - 27th June
Post by: ildanach on June 27, 2009, 10:12:32 AM
a very well put together documentary. i only wish we could win an all ireland and have less of the misfortune going back as far as '51
Post by: Zulu on June 27, 2009, 10:14:11 AM
Listened to the program this morning and I thought it was quite good. I thought it gave a decent insight into Mayo football and what it means to the people of Mayo, granted it wasn't an indepth program but the format wouldn't allow it.
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2009, 10:19:33 AM
Good program, apt name.
I didn't know what it was called when I listened to it this morning.
Too much focus on the grief. More about the grief than the football.

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 10:57:38 AM
Script of Hurt me arse, the mayo story is called the Script of Karma and happiness in Sligo. ;D, the importance they attach to there suffering is a joke ffs get over it and stop looking back. Other counties a way worse off, self indulgent rubbish and even us in Sligo are sick listening to ye going on and on about, itd nearly make me want to see win a AI to shut yee up but me more than anyone knows what ye'll be like then if win and hopefully the man above will make sure it never happens. Rather listen to ye whinge than yer arrogance.

What about Fermanagh and counties that never won there province ffs? Self pity BS from ye, get over it, and yeve won more than most seen more better days than worse. Get over yerselves.

That curse was put on by me in  a past life FYI thank f$ck i planned ahead :D.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 11:34:32 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 10:57:38 AM
Script of Hurt me arse, the mayo story is called the Script of Karma and happiness in Sligo. ;D, the importance they attach to there suffering is a joke ffs get over it and stop looking back. Other counties a way worse off, self indulgent rubbish and even us in Sligo are sick listening to ye going on and on about, itd nearly make me want to see win a AI to shut yee up but me more than anyone knows what ye'll be like then if win and hopefully the man above will make sure it never happens. Rather listen to ye whinge than yer arrogance.

What about Fermanagh and counties that never won there province ffs? Self pity BS from ye, get over it, and yeve won more than most seen more better days than worse. Get over yerselves.

who are ye directing these comments to sliogonian us mayo poster on the board because i don't think any of us have any self pity ? i just don't get you obvious hatred of mayo when ye were playing galway 2 years ago i was always cheering for ye and even before that when ye were playing the likes of Armagh in the qualifiers now i'd have second thoughts because i'd really wouldn't like to see a bitter person like you actually get enjoyment from those type of wins .
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 11:53:52 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 11:34:32 AM

who are ye directing these comments to sliogonian us mayo poster on the board because i don't think any of us have any self pity ? i just don't get you obvious hatred of mayo when ye were playing galway 2 years ago i was always cheering for ye and even before that when ye were playing the likes of Armagh in the qualifiers now i'd have second thoughts because i'd really wouldn't like to see a bitter person like you actually get enjoyment from those type of wins .

Im directing it at the clowns who keep going on about 1951 be it on here or actually in mayo that feel hard done by ::), there are a few on this board whether you chose to see it or not, and yes it is self pity. Im sure I could find evidence of it on here but question is could i be arsed looking for it.

Define bitterness to me Deel in this context?, i was actually going to re modify my post to say expect the mayo lads to come in strong and defensive, hardly a bold prediction on my part.

Why would you expect me to support mayo lets say in a AI? Please be specific. A few mayo posters have pmed and asked me why i hate mayo football so much. Would you like my reply?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 27, 2009, 12:02:47 PM

What would you expect from a mule but a kick
Post by: Zulu on June 27, 2009, 12:05:55 PM
Could you define self pity Sligonian?

I think the reason more attention is paid to Mayo football's lack of AI's is because they are the only genuinely serious football power who haven't won one in so long. You could mention Cavan too but they haven't been as competitive in recent years and aren't likely to win one in the foreseeable future. So I would think Mayo are unique in that they are the only county who haven't won an AI since the 1950's but could possibly do so in the next 4 - 5 years.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 12:08:26 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 11:53:52 AM

Im directing it at the clowns who keep going on about 1951 be it on here or actually in mayo that feel hard done by ::), there are a few on this board whether you chose to see it or not, and yes it is self pity. Im sure I could find evidence of it on here but question is could i be arsed looking for it.

Define bitterness to me Deel in this context?, i was actually going to re modify my post to say expect the mayo lads to come in strong and defensive, hardly a bold prediction on my part.

Why would you expect me to support mayo lets say in a AI? Please be specific. A few mayo posters have pmed and asked me why i hate mayo football so much. Would you like my reply?

Couldn't care less why you hate mayo and definately couldn't be arsed sending you a pm asking you why. do you really think your that important ? As regards supporting mayo in an All Ireland would you not be happy so see county from the province of connact win it. would it not show that the province is actually strong, that the connact title is a provincial title worth winning. Earliers in the week you had a go at David Brady for saying that Mayo and Galway should leave connact and join ulster ( i didn't agree with his comments ) but maybe he is right why should we care about other counties lets just mind ourselves after all all you care about is sligo football .   
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 12:39:37 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 12:08:26 PM

Couldn't care less why you hate mayo and definately couldn't be arsed sending you a pm asking you why. do you really think your that important ? As regards supporting mayo in an All Ireland would you not be happy so see county from the province of connact win it. would it not show that the province is actually strong, that the connact title is a provincial title worth winning. Earliers in the week you had a go at David Brady for saying that Mayo and Galway should leave connact and join ulster ( i didn't agree with his comments ) but maybe he is right why should we care about other counties lets just mind ourselves after all all you care about is sligo football .   

No, but sure didnt stop others asking the question, and It was fair enough assumption on my part to think this is where it was heading. But as a mayoman you would stick a neg in there.

In bold got it in one, I couldnt give a shite about other connacht counties( thats how ya spell connacht btw ;)) why would I, its not sincere shouting for someone else, I just dont buy it, never have and never will. Seriously man F@ck off to Ulster if yee want for all I care 8). Ya good one ye stay in Connacht because ye care about other counties ::) :D. priceless stuff.

Did ye shout for Galway in 98 or 01? Were ye bitter in any way?

This is nearly as good as the grovelling on mayo kerry thread in the nfl. :-*

Another few kicks in there red and green for ya and sweet ones at that. ;), thanks for the opportunity lads though. I might just leave ye to yere self pity.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 01:00:10 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 12:39:37 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 12:08:26 PM

No, but sure didnt stop others asking the question, and It was fair enough assumption on my part to think this is where it was heading. But as a mayoman you would stick a neg in there.

In bold got it in one, I couldnt give a shite about other connacht counties( thats how ya spell connacht btw ;)) why would I, its not sincere shouting for someone else, I just dont buy it, never have and never will. Seriously man F@ck off to Ulster if yee want for all I care 8). Ya good one ye stay in Connacht because ye care about other counties ::) :D. priceless stuff.

Did ye shout for Galway in 98 or 01? Were ye bitter in any way?

This is nearly as good as the grovelling on mayo kerry thread in the nfl. :-*

Another few kicks in there red and green for ya and sweet ones at that. ;), thanks for the opportunity lads though. I might just leave ye to yere self pity.

Well for someone who only cares about sligo you certainly have plenty to say about mayo football and as regards shouting for Galway in 98 and 01 i said it before i was cheering for galway and no i wasn't bitter see we aren't all like you ::) Oh and the next time you are reincarnated make sure you come back as a bum boil  because you certainly are a pain in the ass  :-*
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 27, 2009, 01:35:12 PM
Sligonian hates Mayo football soooo much cos he got shouted at by a few Mayo people at a football match when he was a boy I believe... And he's telling us to get over stuff!!! Honestly, you couldn't make it up. :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 02:06:01 PM
Enough banter for one day ;) I win, I dont like hating mayo football but sometimes its just too easy 8). Well I had bad past experiences I wont lie like ye had 01 with rossies, but Bellaghy is probably the main reason now for my hatred. If yee leave that alone i might shout for ye. Deal???

My point is it could be worse, ye might be from a county that never won a province and not likely too.
Post by: Zulu on June 27, 2009, 02:07:49 PM
QuoteMy point is it could be worse, ye might be from a county that never won a province and not likely too.

That isn't worse I can assure you.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 02:09:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 27, 2009, 02:07:49 PM
QuoteMy point is it could be worse, ye might be from a county that never won a province and not likely too.

That isn't worse I can assure you.

Dont believe you.
Post by: rosnarun on June 27, 2009, 03:00:06 PM
has sligonian written his yearly piece condemning sligo GAA and all init yet or do we have to wait till tomorrow for it?
Save your self a load of bother and cut and paste this year
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2009, 03:11:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 27, 2009, 03:00:06 PM
has sligonian written his yearly piece condemning sligo GAA and all init yet or do we have to wait till tomorrow for it?

No ros just the opposite in fact a few weeks ago he wrote an apology to the current management for what he wrote when they were appointed more or less said that they had now got his approval and we know how important that is. Rumour has it that Kevin Walsh pm'd him to thank him for his vote of confidence   oh yes and he was one of the many who pm'd him wondering why he hated mayo so much
Post by: mannix on June 27, 2009, 03:53:26 PM
sligonian,
whats wrong with you? you need to relax a little and enjoy the games, if you are getting this annoyed maybe you should take a break from the thing and concentrate on your job or something.
enjoy the bloody game and let mayo whinge about no sam for so long if we want to, 4 finals in 10 years and no sam would test anyones patience.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 05:25:19 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 27, 2009, 03:00:06 PM

Win, Lose or Draw, wont condemn Sligo GAA tomorrow. I dont remember doing in the past but of course have been justifably critical.

Ah yes my apology, explained that on the other thread, whilst my voice isnt important and nor do I feel it is, it was well meaning and deserved. I sometimes go over the top like here and I made a mistake for sure about the appointment. Why bring that up against me, why turn it into a negative?

On here today at work am seriously pissed off not being home for the game so couldnt resist today, probably ott, sorry. Thanks mannix.

Post by: stephenite on June 28, 2009, 01:17:27 PM
Just listened to it there - well out together documentary by a Rossie!

I think we are great in Mayo for applying some sort of legend to our inability to kick on and win the thing, and I think that tendency is dangerous and wrong.