Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam on June 25, 2009, 11:47:12 PM

Title: Gaelic Tag
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 25, 2009, 11:47:12 PM
Hi guys,
I'm in the process of setting up a Gaelic Tag league in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin. Its due to begin when the Tag Rugby finishes, end of July.

The idea is the same as tag rugby, mixed team, tags instead of tackling, no contact, we've taken out kick passing for lads, and goals and points are worth more for girls, 5 points for a goal, which can only be scored by girls, 2 points for a girls point and one for a lads point. 7 Players on a team, 4 lads & 3 girls, in pitches played on the width of the pitch.

We're hoping to make a big deal of the social side of it as well, table quiz, bands, BBQ, speed dating etc.
We're launching it next week, fingers corssed the website is up and running, and we'll be having 1 or 2 open nights so people can see whats involved and try it out before signing up.

I'll post again with details of the website and of the open night.

All comments/suggestions welcome.

M4S
Title: Re: Gaelic Tag
Post by: Stalin on June 25, 2009, 11:48:15 PM
(http://www.jabulela.com/files/images/michael-jackson-concert-2.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on June 25, 2009, 11:50:26 PM
Shit, misread the post.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 26, 2009, 12:08:22 AM
???
Post by: Donagh on June 26, 2009, 12:24:47 AM
No kick passing or tackling? Sounds shite.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 26, 2009, 09:49:42 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 26, 2009, 12:26:45 AM
I give it 10 minutes until the cynical football comes in. Hoors pulling tags off the ball etc.
no it'll take me a while to export it to the north
Post by: Gnevin on June 26, 2009, 10:26:38 AM
No sure how this is meant to work. Surely you just have to make sure people stick to their marker and just tags them as soon as they get the ball.  You can't create over laps and gaps like in rugby.
Post by: Tankie on June 26, 2009, 11:53:51 AM
I cant see how this will work, i might swing in and take a look if i get a chance. could be a great idea though.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 26, 2009, 12:20:43 PM
sounds like Kildare club championship football !
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2009, 01:33:09 PM
Would you not be better speaking to someone about "Recreational GAA". I can't really see how tag Gaelic works but I've played Recreational GAA before indoors and it has worked very well if refereed properly. It's all in the tackle as in your only allowed one attempt to dislodge the ball when someone is trying to play it i.e. solo, bounce, kickpass or handpass. Any other contact is considered a free. 7 A side with full scoring is probably the best way to work it.

The Ulster Council are big into it and I think Paul Callaghan deals with it in there or you could try the Dublin County Board or Leinster Council who could also give you some help with it.

Good luck anyway it's something I think the GAA don't exploit in the same way rugby do is this idea of it being social and having a bit of craic on a nice evenin with a game and then a few beers and stuff afterwards. I think a few more leagues like this set up round the place would help raise the profile.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2009, 02:44:32 PM
Quotesounds like Kildare club championship football !

remembering your Junior A days are we

Seemingly the GAA are suffering somewhat (according to ERSI) since street leagues are none existent anymore and people are turning to other sports tag rugby and 5 a side soccer for a social outlet.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 27, 2009, 12:59:57 AM
u can make sure that people stick to their marker but its up to them to get free. Its a v quick game, lots of 1-2s. Cant have tackling as its mixed & no contact. Having tried it its excellent, way faster than tag rugby
Post by: Gnevin on June 27, 2009, 10:38:20 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 27, 2009, 12:59:57 AM
u can make sure that people stick to their marker but its up to them to get free. Its a v quick game, lots of 1-2s. Cant have tackling as its mixed & no contact. Having tried it its excellent, way faster than tag rugby
Can you video some of it?
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 27, 2009, 12:43:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2009, 02:44:32 PM
Quotesounds like Kildare club championship football !

remembering your Junior A days are we

Seemingly the GAA are suffering somewhat (according to ERSI) since street leagues are none existent anymore and people are turning to other sports tag rugby and 5 a side soccer for a social outlet.
played against the top sides in cil dara and the football was as soft as cotton wool !
intermed c'ship and senior c'ship as well as league div 2 !

so there !
:P

(obv not including the in bred areas like rathangan, monesterevin etc etc)

would have to see the 'Tag football' in action first before I'd make a judgement as I cannot see how this would work to be honest !
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 27, 2009, 01:13:08 PM
We'll get a (ametuer) video together asap

If anyone wants us to email them with all the details just send an email to mail.administrator@gaelictag.ie
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 01, 2009, 01:24:57 AM
So the website is up and running, www.gaelictag.ie with a full copy of the rules for those interested
Post by: ludermor on July 01, 2009, 08:40:02 AM
Why have ye got 2 ballet dancers as yer logo  :o
Post by: thebandit on July 01, 2009, 10:56:42 AM
Typical, Mayo trying to promote a nancy boy version of Gaelic Football - It sounds like Conor Mortimer's cup of tea!!

Only messing, sounds like a good idea, tag rugby is massive and the GAA needs to tap into that market. I've always said that there's not a 'recreational' level of GAA, most reserve sides train with the Seniors, so similar commitment is involved (down the country anyway). Best of luck.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 01, 2009, 11:45:33 PM
It was more to roll it out in dublin we had to dub it down, sure u know well we have great lady footballers!
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 01, 2009, 11:51:00 PM
The GAA do not need to stoop to fanny versions of their sport, as seen in other codes, simply to accomodate twats who want to run around giggling without any physical conact.

Stop now before people called Alisdair start phoning you.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 01, 2009, 11:53:29 PM
Any positive promotion of GAA is good in my books. Good luck.
Post by: thebandit on July 02, 2009, 09:51:21 AM
Have you had any contact with HQ? You'd imagine they'd throw some support your way
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 02, 2009, 11:17:02 AM
Thanks for the input Galls. We've had great feedback so far, it was picked up by the 2fm sports this morning.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 09, 2009, 02:20:09 PM
Lads for those of u on facebook check out www.facebook.com/gaelictag Plenty of county lads on there & the female friends are definitely worth the visit
Post by: baoithe on July 09, 2009, 02:30:45 PM
Looks good M4S. How many teams have signed up?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 09, 2009, 03:47:31 PM
9 so far in less than a wk, way ahead of what we expected. We have a limit of 16 so we'll have it full long before we thought we would, so happy enough
Post by: tyssam5 on July 09, 2009, 04:42:20 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 25, 2009, 11:47:12 PM
Hi guys,
I'm in the process of setting up a Gaelic Tag league in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin. Its due to begin when the Tag Rugby finishes, end of July.

The idea is the same as tag rugby, mixed team, tags instead of tackling, no contact, we've taken out kick passing for lads, and goals and points are worth more for girls, 5 points for a goal, which can only be scored by girls, 2 points for a girls point and one for a lads point. 7 Players on a team, 4 lads & 3 girls, in pitches played on the width of the pitch.

We're hoping to make a big deal of the social side of it as well, table quiz, bands, BBQ, speed dating etc.
We're launching it next week, fingers corssed the website is up and running, and we'll be having 1 or 2 open nights so people can see whats involved and try it out before signing up.

I'll post again with details of the website and of the open night.

All comments/suggestions welcome.

M4S

Might put a maximum number of goals/points that each person can score. If a couple of lads are quite good they will soon hit their quota and have to start passing. Keeps it interesting in co-ed soccer.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2009, 09:27:06 AM
lads the open night for this is on this evening in the iveagh grounds in crumlin, map can be found at www.gaelictag.ie Anyone interested in playing should come down & give it a go, we'll be having 5 min games so people can see what it like to play
Post by: Zulu on July 23, 2009, 11:33:35 AM
Best of luck with it M4S, it sounds like a great idea and it's exactly the type of thing we should be trying.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2009, 11:46:49 AM
I forgot to mention there is also a Ballina league starting in August for any of the locals interested. We are just updating the website to reflect this but you'll see it in the local papers in the next few weeks
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 05, 2009, 01:57:20 PM
Following on from the massive success of the first league there is a 1 day blitz on October 17th for anyone interested. €150 a team, guaranteed 4 matches with the top 2 going thru to the knockout rounds.
Rules have worked out very well in practice, think rveryone who played really enjoyed it.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 05, 2009, 02:17:10 PM
how many people/teams did you get playing M4S ?

Sounds great - well done !
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 05, 2009, 02:56:58 PM
Got 16 teams, so 2 leagues of 8. It'll begetter when there's more teams, so games were one sided with absolute beginners playing footballers but every team won a game.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 06, 2009, 02:45:14 PM
Reference in today's Irish Times for this today.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/1006/1224255981550.html
Post by: mountainboii on June 30, 2010, 09:49:34 AM
This boy is on Newstalk now.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 08, 2010, 02:29:32 PM
Just seeing this now AFS, why did u think?
Post by: mountainboii on July 08, 2010, 02:56:57 PM
Aye, it was grand. Is it going well?
Post by: The Blegard on July 08, 2010, 07:47:03 PM
Well done MFS. Excellent idea. look what 20/20 has done for cricket. Gaa is great but its very hard to field 15 players just to start. Mixed football is great as it involves people who would never normally have a go and at the end of the day its better for you than sitting at home staring at the box. This would work well overseas with small irish communities and could only be for the good of GAA
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 08, 2010, 09:11:15 PM
Going great, it'll be in Dublin & Tralee this yr & hopefully cork if I can get a pitch. But everyone seemed to enjoy it & are keen to play it this year