Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Over the Bar on January 21, 2007, 09:43:43 PM

Title: Armagh's best pub?
Post by: Over the Bar on January 21, 2007, 09:43:43 PM
I'd have to say the Welcome Inn in Forkhill.  Met Ben Dunne in in a few years back.
Title: Re: Armagh's best pub?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 21, 2007, 09:46:16 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 21, 2007, 09:43:43 PM
I'd have to say the Welcome Inn in Forkhill.  Met Ben Dunne in in a few years back.

Should this thread not be in the Non-GAA section???

Anyway, haven't been to many but Morgans in Lurgan, isn't half bad.
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 21, 2007, 09:51:54 PM
The Buckfast Arms in Lurgan City.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 21, 2007, 10:53:19 PM
The Ceili House Bar in Lurgan.... ;)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 21, 2007, 11:43:06 PM
O'Donnells  in Cross.
Post by: heganboy on January 22, 2007, 03:28:45 AM
Mc Keevers, a little bit of Ballyhegan in Portadown
Post by: charlie linkbox on January 22, 2007, 04:04:12 AM
How the hell would Armagh people know where the best pub in Armagh is???
Sure all yous do is come across the border and pollute the good towns of Monaghan and Castleblayney at weekends and after matches.
If your pubs are so great that they're worthy of a poll then go drink in them and stay out of our county!!!  ;) :P
Post by: illdecide on January 22, 2007, 10:44:04 AM
Hi Charlie c**k Box wind your neck in you t**ker ;)
Post by: Spiritof98 on January 22, 2007, 10:58:41 AM
Rafferty's

Good craic and GREAT staff 8)
Post by: laughinpaddy on January 22, 2007, 11:07:53 AM
Damper Murphys or Wooly Toms were else could you get a drink at 8.00am any day of the week. especially a sunday morning!!
Post by: BenDover on January 22, 2007, 11:08:10 AM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on January 22, 2007, 10:58:41 AM
Rafferty's

Good craic and GREAT staff 8)

Not even the slightest hint of bias there Spirit?
Post by: trueblue on January 22, 2007, 11:09:10 AM
wee micks in cross :D :D
Post by: illdecide on January 22, 2007, 01:01:12 PM
JP's new bar in Lurgan, has just been bought over and renovated. The pints of harp are belter  :)
Post by: lurganblue on January 22, 2007, 01:09:14 PM
Quote from: laughinpaddy on January 22, 2007, 11:07:53 AM
Damper Murphys or Wooly Toms were else could you get a drink at 8.00am any day of the week. especially a sunday morning!!

where else? the INF in lurgan and then up to the snake pit (bat cave) soon after.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 22, 2007, 06:26:45 PM
QuoteDoes anyone know where the "pub" is in Ballsmill? Apparently its pretty small and stays open to all ours. Ive never seen it myself, but a mate always talks about it.
Could be Hughie O'Hanlons or maybe the red fellas.
Hughie O'Hanlons would be ballsmill.  Now if I went into it chances are I'd be asked what I wanted, and I'm a local. I doubt if that's the one your mate's on about.
The red fellas would actually be in Glassdrummond (just before you come to ballsmill), it's a nice wee pub and pretty small. Where do you know in the area and I can tell you where it is from there.   
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 22, 2007, 07:10:47 PM
QuoteIts the Red Fellas, I know Glassdrumman alright, but have never seen the place.
While we`re on the subject of that area, is there a more un-welcoming place than Garveys? They dont like strangers in there. Its even worse than Donnellys and that takes some beating.
GLASSDRUMMOND, glassdrumman is the english spelling and f**k does that annoy me!
Anyways, say you're coming up from creggan?? and pass Glassdrummond chapel, you take the first left and it's about a hundred yards down the road up a lane, you'll see it if you're on that road.
I wouldnt really be in garvey's or Donnelly's but most places would be suspicious of strangers, we've had to be.
Post by: joebloggs on January 22, 2007, 10:19:51 PM
we should all nominate pubs and then hall a poll on the suggestions:

mine = garveys
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 23, 2007, 08:23:18 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 23, 2007, 06:30:24 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 22, 2007, 07:10:47 PM

GLASSDRUMMOND, glassdrumman is the english spelling and f**k does that annoy me!

Like most people, I spell as I speak and my spelling is usually very good. Most locals would actually say Glassdrumman, so thats where I would have picked it up.
Sorry for any offence. I stand corrected. Glassdrummond it is from now on.
I was only joking you know.  But the next time you're in the area listen carefully, the locals says glassdrummond. I know, I'm a local.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:23:28 AM
Surely it would be Glas Dromáin in Irish?

Anyhow, re. best bar, pints are good in JPs but best bars also considers where's the best craic.

I'd avoid The Railway, particualrly in view of a recent news story. :o
Post by: full back on January 23, 2007, 08:26:01 AM
Do tell more Fiodoir?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:27:02 AM
It was front page news in The Irish Star last Thursday!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 23, 2007, 08:30:07 AM
QuoteSurely it would be Glas Dromáin in Irish?
True I suppose, but what I meant was, it's always been called and spelt glassdrummond but for some reason the brits insist on calling/spelling it glassdrumman.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:31:58 AM
That's the history of this country!

How many of us use the Gaelic version of our surname.
Post by: full back on January 23, 2007, 08:33:27 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:27:02 AM
It was front page news in The Irish Star last Thursday!
Dont buy that after the story about Cormac MC Anallen's fiance last year
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:35:51 AM
Good call, Fullback.
Post by: full back on January 23, 2007, 08:48:41 AM
So what did it say? I assume you arent talking about the Railway in Newry?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 23, 2007, 08:51:49 AM
No, Railway in Lurgan. Suffice to say it involved one drinker, err, offering another 'services' which he hadn't called for, on visiting the washroom facilities!
Post by: full back on January 23, 2007, 09:02:08 AM
Must have been a bad batch of Buckfast!!
Post by: realredhandfan on January 23, 2007, 10:34:37 AM
I thought this thread would have swinger overtones...
Post by: Uladh on January 23, 2007, 10:40:41 AM

Seems you were wrong as usual...
Post by: heganboy on January 23, 2007, 02:32:52 PM
Do shebeen's count?
if so I'd like to nominate one in Mullaghbawn just for its soda bread and roaring fire
:-X
Post by: full back on January 23, 2007, 03:14:19 PM
Do you mean the one in Lislea?
Post by: heganboy on January 23, 2007, 04:49:03 PM
ahem- your Honour I have no further comment to make on this matter

I thought leaving it at Mullaghbawn would be sufficient, those who know- know, those who don't - don't
but yes  ;D
Post by: Armagh ABÚ on January 23, 2007, 05:28:45 PM
Pubs in Armagh City

1. Harps
2. Micky Kellys
3. Harry Hoots
4. Hughes
5. Devlins
6. McKennas
7. Hitlers
8. The Station Bar
9. The Charlemont
10. Turners
11. De'Averal House
12. The Vintage
13. The Theatre
14. Raffertys
15. The Gas Lamp
16. Red Neds
17. The Toby Jug
18. Dampers
19. Pearse Ogs
20. The Hotel
21. Wolly Toms

Don't think i have forgotten any, thats the order they stand coming from The Harps Club at Loughgall direction and ending at Nursery Road at Wolly Toms.

Out of these 21 pubs, theres not really much excitement in any of them, i suppose the best one in looks/style would be McKennas. 
In terms of entertainment then the Hotel and Wolly Toms and Micky Kellys & Theatre.  For a good function night then the Harps or Pearse Ogs because its holds a crowd. For late nights and early mornings it has to be Dampers and Wolly Toms, i've left both pubs many a night at all hours.  Red Neds for an older crowd, crowd has'nt actually changed in that pub for as long as i remember.
Post by: stiffler on January 23, 2007, 06:30:54 PM
best bar in lurgan is the batcave, cant beat the pints of tennants and the jukebox.

weres this jp spot yous are on about
Post by: Spiritof98 on January 23, 2007, 06:46:07 PM
Quote from: Armagh ABÚ on January 23, 2007, 05:28:45 PM
Pubs in Armagh City

1. Harps
2. Micky Kellys
3. Harry Hoots
4. Hughes
5. Devlins
6. McKennas
7. Hitlers
8. The Station Bar
9. The Charlemont
10. Turners
11. De'Averal House
12. The Vintage
13. The Theatre
14. Raffertys
15. The Gas Lamp
16. Red Neds
17. The Toby Jug
18. Dampers
19. Pearse Ogs
20. The Hotel
21. Wolly Toms

Don't think i have forgotten any, thats the order they stand coming from The Harps Club at Loughgall direction and ending at Nursery Road at Wolly Toms.

Out of these 21 pubs, theres not really much excitement in any of them, i suppose the best one in looks/style would be McKennas.
In terms of entertainment then the Hotel and Wolly Toms and Micky Kellys & Theatre. For a good function night then the Harps or Pearse Ogs because its holds a crowd. For late nights and early mornings it has to be Dampers and Wolly Toms, i've left both pubs many a night at all hours. Red Neds for an older crowd, crowd has'nt actually changed in that pub for as long as i remember.

Armagh abu

What about the the Cricket Club or Victoria Bar ;) :D :D
Post by: The Gs Man on January 23, 2007, 08:13:28 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 23, 2007, 06:30:54 PM
best bar in lurgan is the batcave, cant beat the pints of tennants and the jukebox.

Feck aff Stiffler.  The Ceili House....number one for live music, including Billy Elvis Quinn.

JP's is the new name for Cheers by the way...
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2007, 08:26:02 PM
The Three Steps - no contest!
Post by: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2007, 08:30:27 PM
Armagh Abu, what about the golf club on the newry road, or the bar in armagh city's social club?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 23, 2007, 09:12:16 PM
Quote from: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2007, 08:30:27 PM
Armagh Abu, what about the golf club on the newry road, or the bar in armagh city's social club?

Or the Hole in the Wall, or the British Legion?  ;D 

Still, it's never been the same since the demise of The Plough!!  :'( 

Bring back the Plough!!  >:(
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 24, 2007, 08:12:52 AM

Feck aff Stiffler.  The Ceili House....number one for live music, including Billy Elvis Quinn.

G's man - you're not getting involved in any shameless publicity again. I mean, Billy Quinn!!!!!

Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 24, 2007, 09:00:20 AM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on January 23, 2007, 06:46:07 PM
Quote from: Armagh ABÚ on January 23, 2007, 05:28:45 PM
Pubs in Armagh City

1. Harps
2. Micky Kellys
3. Harry Hoots
4. Hughes
5. Devlins
6. McKennas
7. Hitlers
8. The Station Bar
9. The Charlemont
10. Turners
11. De'Averal House
12. The Vintage
13. The Theatre
14. Raffertys
15. The Gas Lamp
16. Red Neds
17. The Toby Jug
18. Dampers
19. Pearse Ogs
20. The Hotel
21. Wolly Toms

In terms of entertainment then the Hotel and Wolly Toms and Micky Kellys & Theatre. For a good function night then the Harps or Pearse Ogs because its holds a crowd. For late nights and early mornings it has to be Dampers and Wolly Toms, i've left both pubs many a night at all hours. Red Neds for an older crowd, crowd has'nt actually changed in that pub for as long as i remember.

Armagh abu

What about the the Cricket Club or Victoria Bar ;) :D :D

Long gone are the Good oul days of Orr's Corner and Spiders :-[
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 24, 2007, 09:05:25 AM
...BenDover's favourite - The Pub With No Beer!
Post by: lurganblue on January 24, 2007, 09:16:28 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 23, 2007, 08:13:28 PM

G's the music might be good from time to time (none of those times are when billy quinn is playing) but generally that pub is a shite hole. avoid unless your a hardcore alcoholic or a bum.

Cheers/JP's has a new owner and has been done up appartently. havent been in it yet but its supposed to be good craic in there now.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 24, 2007, 09:30:43 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on January 24, 2007, 09:05:25 AM

Lol.  the humour on this board never ceases to amaze me.   :D :D :D
Post by: Armagh ABÚ on January 24, 2007, 10:54:35 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 23, 2007, 09:12:16 PM

Or the Hole in the Wall, or the British Legion? ;D

Still, it's never been the same since the demise of The Plough!! :'(

Bring back the Plough!! >:(

Never graced these bars with my company over the years! ;)
Post by: BenDover on January 24, 2007, 01:37:22 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on January 24, 2007, 09:05:25 AM

How did ye know lol! Prob the only pub I've never been ejected from  :P
Post by: The Iceman on January 24, 2007, 03:59:51 PM

Or the Hole in the Wall, or the British Legion?  ;D 

Still, it's never been the same since the demise of The Plough!!  :'( 

Bring back the Plough!!  >:(

The Plough had the best outside toilets in Armagh and a great pool table that my brother could open and get us free games when nobody was looking! But don't tell the boss cause I was the bar man and let this happen!!! LOL

Fond memories include Hawk Crilly trying to de-capitate me with a fence post and smashing all the glasses behind the bar in the process! 
Post by: rafferotti on January 24, 2007, 05:53:02 PM
Yes the "Plough" in Armagh wins by a mile.

Sophistication, quality beer,unique safe atmosphere, intellectual banter and legendary fair hustling,.... all died in Armagh the day the great bar closed.It was also the scene of Rufus's last round of beers and his early womanising.

Some people may come home again if it opened its doors.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 24, 2007, 06:28:45 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 24, 2007, 09:16:28 AM

G's the music might be good from time to time (none of those times are when billy quinn is playing) but generally that pub is a shite hole. avoid unless your a hardcore alcoholic or a bum.

Cheers/JP's has a new owner and has been done up appartently. havent been in it yet but its supposed to be good craic in there now.

Ceili House isn't the only one under new ownership now Lurganblue...... ;)
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 24, 2007, 07:41:25 PM
Quote from: Armagh ABÚ on January 24, 2007, 10:54:35 AM

Or the Hole in the Wall, or the British Legion? ;D

Still, it's never been the same since the demise of The Plough!! :'(

Bring back the Plough!! >:(

Never graced these bars with my company over the years! ;)

As I said earlier - the Plough was great!!  :P

If that pool table could talk - Rafferotti (wearing his favourite pair of Tom Kite slacks) and myself went eighteen games in a row undefeated - 22nd December 1992! I believe some Plough veterans are now asking for that date to be made a holiday!
Post by: lurganblue on January 25, 2007, 09:09:17 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 24, 2007, 06:28:45 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 24, 2007, 09:16:28 AM

Ceili House isn't the only one under new ownership now Lurganblue...... ;)

maybe so, but the low life's who drink in the ceili house havent changed...
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 25, 2007, 09:33:04 AM

Quotemaybe so, but the low life's who drink in the ceili house havent changed...

Looks like you still have your work cut out for you, G's!
Post by: The Gs Man on January 25, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
But in the word's of that Magner's advert....."Time, is on my side...yes it is!"
Post by: Donagh on January 25, 2007, 04:53:40 PM
Lurganblue, is it not a bit ironic that you are slaging the Ceili House and it's 'lowlifes' but you nominated the Foresters and bat cave?

Don't mind the Ceili House myself. Had plenty of good sessions in there late 90's early 00's. Similarly the bat cave, but I certainly wouldn't categorise the clientele as much different (though it's probably easier to buy drugs in the bat cave).

But as I said to nominate the INF  :D. Remember my da bringing an Aussie mate of his in there one night and some oul thing sat down beside him, pissed herself and got up and left without saying a word...
Post by: lurganblue on January 25, 2007, 05:01:55 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 25, 2007, 04:53:40 PM
Lurganblue, is it not a bit ironic that you are slaging the Ceili House and it's 'lowlifes' but you nominated the Foresters and bat cave?

Don't mind the Ceili House myself. Had plenty of good sessions in there late 90's early 00's. Similarly the bat cave, but I certainly wouldn't categorise the clientele as much different (though it's probably easier to buy drugs in the bat cave).

But as I said to nominate the INF  :D. Remember my da bringing an Aussie mate of his in there one night and some oul thing sat down beside him, pissed herself and got up and left without saying a word...

eh donagh if you go and look at my post on the INF you'll see that i described it as a place where you can go get a drink at 8am if you so choose. nowhere did i name it as one of the best pubs in armagh. plus i have only ever been in it a handful of times... for much the same reason as i rarely go near the ceili house if i can avoid it.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 25, 2007, 05:09:25 PM
Ach now Lurganblue.  Get yourself up to the Ceili House next Friday night and I'll buy you a pint and you can watch a few good bands.  You never know, you could even win a wee trip to Berlin if your lucky enough.

Change takes a bit of time but it'll get there.
Post by: lurganblue on January 26, 2007, 01:00:44 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 25, 2007, 05:09:25 PM
Ach now Lurganblue.  Get yourself up to the Ceili House next Friday night and I'll buy you a pint and you can watch a few good bands.  You never know, you could even win a wee trip to Berlin if your lucky enough.

Change takes a bit of time but it'll get there.

i'll be in it again G's sometime because my friends would go there on the odd occasion... for the quiz on thursday night, or the odd group etc

one of my memories of the ceili house from a few years ago was being at the karaoke one night. a fella wanted to get up and sing "Ride on" but was told he would not be allowed to by the owner as there were protestants in drinking who would be offended. true story... WTF?
Post by: Donagh on January 26, 2007, 01:07:10 PM
Hehe, maybe he was just shit.

I remember the owner pulling a similar stunt on a mate from Belfast when the 'Green Glens of Antrim' kept coming out as the 'Gleen Glens'.

You know who you are  ;)
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on January 26, 2007, 01:26:53 PM
Ceili house is a smelly hole. The former owner was an aul bollix. He threw one of the mates out because when a mobile phone went of he lifted of his slip on shoe held it to his ear and said hello. Best pub in the town has to be a shebeen in Taghneven. Cannot give the location but the pints are good and you are always made welcome.   
Post by: Donagh on January 26, 2007, 01:49:43 PM
Sounds like a bat cave veteran I know who gets rid of unwelcome house guests by stripping naked and handing out boiled eggs.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 26, 2007, 04:55:26 PM
As I say lads.  Don't be going on past experiences.  Head up on Friday to the gig in the lounge and I guarantee you'll have a good night.
Post by: stew on January 26, 2007, 09:58:36 PM
Devlin's bar is well run and they dont let the messers in and they have a reasonable pint of black but the harps club is great craic at times and there are more lunatics per square inch in there on match days than anwhere else in the county and that takes some doing.

It is great to go home after a year or two away and quaff porter  in the club and take a gander at the locals, there is nothing like coming home and realising that you are as big a lunatic as they are and it does your heart good to know that you belong there. :'(
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 23, 2007, 11:16:12 AM
Anyone confirm the rumour that an ex-Armagh player is taking over the running of a bar in Lurgan this week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2007, 11:34:46 AM
McKenna's is decent for Liverpool matches and for an hour or two on a Saturday evening. Apart from that the city is dung! The Gaslamp seems to have been overrun by Poles and Lithuanians.
Post by: Colonel Cool on July 23, 2007, 11:54:17 AM
Does this cover Armagh town or the entire County?
Post by: maddog on July 23, 2007, 11:56:44 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2007, 11:34:46 AM
McKenna's is decent for Liverpool matches and for an hour or two on a Saturday evening. Apart from that the city is dung! The Gaslamp seems to have been overrun by Poles and Lithuanians.

I ventured past the Harps club once in the last few years into the darkside of town. I had a nosebleed. I'll stick to the club from now on. Guinness in Mickeys is shite by the way.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2007, 11:58:52 AM
Quote from: Colonel Cool on July 23, 2007, 11:54:17 AM
Does this cover Armagh town or the entire County?

The whole of the county colonel - feel free to stick you oar in
Post by: intoDwest on July 23, 2007, 12:02:41 PM
As a westerner that goes up to Armagh from time to time I can say that I do like Donnellys in slivebridge. Garveys is just downright scary, its the sort of place you wouldnt want to piss in. Its the most unwelcoming pub from the outside, noting to entice you to stop.

I must say some of the pubs in Cross are a good laugh also.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2007, 12:33:26 PM
QuoteI didnt think you were allowed into Donnellys unless you had at least 5 generations living in Silverbridge. They dont really like strangers, but its not as bad as Garveys. Its like something from the twilight zone. Agree with you on Cross.
Old habits die hard but I'd expect most country pubs to be the same.
Garvey's is going up for sale today too. 
Post by: Hank Everlast on July 23, 2007, 12:38:09 PM
Mary Anns in Tullysaran is always good for a QUIET drink.... Very quiet!
Post by: lurganblue on July 23, 2007, 12:50:41 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 23, 2007, 11:16:12 AM
Anyone confirm the rumour that an ex-Armagh player is taking over the running of a bar in Lurgan this week.

i heard that rumour before i left town a few weeks ago. it seemed a strong story at the time.
Post by: illdecide on July 23, 2007, 01:13:55 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 23, 2007, 12:50:41 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 23, 2007, 11:16:12 AM

i heard that rumour before i left town a few weeks ago. it seemed a strong story at the time.

Yes, the fresh story is out again. It's meant to be Morgans bar in Edward street, the 2 past Armagh players one from north Armagh and one from South Armagh have apparently put an offer in (again)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 23, 2007, 01:41:02 PM
Just heard it's changed hands today.....
Post by: The Gs Man on July 23, 2007, 01:41:36 PM
Changed hands today I believe.  Is Gerry Taggart not supposed to be in on the act too?
Post by: lurganblue on July 23, 2007, 02:07:27 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on July 23, 2007, 01:41:36 PM
Changed hands today I believe.  Is Gerry Taggart not supposed to be in on the act too?

jaysus what a combination. i'd say the three of them would do some eating when they meet up  ;)
Post by: full back on July 23, 2007, 02:15:21 PM
Who are they lads?
Post by: Donagh on July 23, 2007, 02:19:26 PM
What's the big secret, sure the whole town has been talking about it for months? Ger Reid and Cathal O'Rourke.
Post by: full back on July 23, 2007, 02:23:07 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 23, 2007, 02:19:26 PM
What's the big secret, sure the whole town has been talking about it for months? Ger Reid and Cathal O'Rourke.

Hope they serve food ;)
Was it Cathal or Aidan that had something to do with the Three Steps in Dromintee?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 23, 2007, 02:24:23 PM
Quote from: Donagh on July 23, 2007, 02:19:26 PM

Everybody except the previous incumbent who now sadly wanders off. awwwwwwwwww
Post by: southdown on July 23, 2007, 04:52:42 PM
Is the Canal Court in Armagh?

Just curious, because lately while in Newry a friend of mine said that Down and Armagh was seperated by the canal?  Is that true?
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2007, 07:14:30 PM
QuoteJust curious, because lately while in Newry a friend of mine said that Down and Armagh was seperated by the canal?  Is that true?

In the town the river is the boundary, which is why the town hall is designed to span the divide. Nearly everything that is good in Newry, except the Abbey, is on the Armagh side, Canal Court, Buttercrane, Dunnes Stores, B&Q, The Quays, Friar Tucks, Daisy Hill, the railway station, the bus station and Kehoe's car emporium.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 23, 2007, 07:17:15 PM
mmmmm friar tucks.
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2007, 08:04:53 PM
There's the Railway Bar in Poyntzpass (aka Canavans) or the Dyke (named after the Black Pig's Dyke in case you're interested) or Rices.

If I was not a lifelong pioneer (!) I'd stay in Canavans.
Post by: angermanagement on April 12, 2012, 02:24:43 PM
Can any of the Armagh posters tell me if the Gaslamp is still open in the town ?
Post by: armagho9 on April 12, 2012, 02:47:29 PM
Yes, Gaslamp is still open.  Think it was only opening at weekends for a while but think its back to normal.  Have not been in it in a long time though
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2012, 03:25:37 PM
Quote from: angermanagement on April 12, 2012, 02:24:43 PM
Can any of the Armagh posters tell me if the Gaslamp is still open in the town ?
Was up past it on Monday there and was open.
Post by: lawnseed on April 13, 2012, 11:12:48 PM
watters' the coach inn in blaney. well yer mans right its full of armagh folk. the foods fantastic. the host is hands on!!!!  ;) and theres plenty of talent in the bar. 10 outa 10