Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:44:29 PM

Title: Wimbledon 2013
Post by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:44:29 PM
Every sporting competition appears to get its own thread these days, so I thought I'd get this ball rolling. Wimbledon is always one of the sporting events I look forward to more than others, and the last two finals were two epics that had the feel of history being written as I watched the telly.

Hoping Nadal is able to defend his title- somehow it wouldn't feel the same without both he and Federer. Despite his protestations, I don't think Nadal could be anywhere close to 100%, he was beaten comfortably by Hewitt in an exhibition match today in which his movement was apparently clearly limited. Can't look past Federer and Murray for this one, Murray in my mind being the favourite.

As for the women's, anyone of about six or seven could win it. Probably end up being Venus or Serena though.
Title: Re: Wimbledon 2009
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2009, 09:47:53 PM
I'd like to start a petition to see topless women tennis.
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2009, 09:50:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:44:29 PM
Every sporting competition appears to get its own thread these days, so I thought I'd get this ball rolling. Wimbledon is always one of the sporting events I look forward to more than others, and the last two finals were two epics that had the feel of history being written as I watched the telly.

Hoping Nadal is able to defend his title- somehow it wouldn't feel the same without both he and Federer. Despite his protestations, I don't think Nadal could be anywhere close to 100%, he was beaten comfortably by Hewitt in an exhibition match today in which his movement was apparently clearly limited. Can't look past Federer and Murray for this one, Murray in my mind being the favourite.

As for the women's, anyone of about six or seven could win it. Probably end up being Venus or Serena though.

Based on what?
Post by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:51:26 PM
American who reached the top 40 a few years ago, Ashley Harkleroad, got it all out for Playboy last year if that works for you...
Post by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:52:33 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 18, 2009, 09:50:55 PM

Based on what?

The fact that he's won a bucketload of tournaments, is the world number 3 on merit, has a commanding career lead over Federer and Nadal being injured.
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2009, 09:57:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 09:52:33 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 18, 2009, 09:50:55 PM

Based on what?

The fact that he's won a bucketload of tournaments, is the world number 3 on merit, has a commanding career lead over Federer and Nadal being injured.

World of difference between ATP tournamnets and Slams, Nadal and Federer seem to use them to fine tune their game before a Grand Slam. I cant see any way that Murray can beat Federer on grass at present. Until Murray wins a Grand Slam i cant see how you can make him favourite for one.
Post by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 10:01:26 PM
Grand. Without being insulting, I don't generally seek people's approval of my opinions.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2009, 10:10:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 10:01:26 PM
Grand. Without being insulting, I don't generally seek people's approval of my opinions.
If you can't accept people questioning your opinions then I'm afraid you're in the wrong place.
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2009, 10:12:39 PM
Touchy.
Post by: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 10:41:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2009, 10:10:08 PM
If you can't accept people questioning your opinions then I'm afraid you're in the wrong place.

Thanks for the advice...

I was merely pointing out the, in my mind perfectly valid, reasons why I think Murray should be favourite.
Post by: jimbo on June 19, 2009, 07:26:26 AM
Right Said Fred has more chance of winning Wimbledon - some unranked Eastern European will dump Murray out before the second week!
Post by: ludermor on June 19, 2009, 09:25:32 AM
I really don't know why there is so much ill feeling towards to Murray. He has made massive progress over the last 2 years and has matched Federer progress at the same age ( though at his current age Fed went on an unreal run). But that is comparing him with possibly the greatest player ever to have played the game.
Murray has every right to be among the favourites here having won several times on tour this year and last as well as getting to the final of the US Open.
Even though he is a moody bollix id have thought his hatred for the English would have made him a favourite on these shores  ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on June 19, 2009, 09:32:38 AM
QuoteThe fact that he's won a bucketload of tournaments, is the world number 3 on merit, has a commanding career lead over Federer and Nadal being injured.

I don't see how anyone can have Murray favourite over Federer, even if Nadal was fit and ready I would still have Federer as favourite - his record on grass is astounding!
Post by: gallsman on June 19, 2009, 01:00:36 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 19, 2009, 09:32:38 AM
QuoteThe fact that he's won a bucketload of tournaments, is the world number 3 on merit, has a commanding career lead over Federer and Nadal being injured.

I don't see how anyone can have Murray favourite over Federer, even if Nadal was fit and ready I would still have Federer as favourite - his record on grass is astounding!

Just purely down to the fact that he isn't the player he was, or else he still is but a few have caught up with him. He'd done nothing this year until he beat an exhausted Nadal in the final of Madrid. His only challenge that should have been a challenge (Haas has never beaten him) at the French was del Potro. On the other hand, Murray won a rake of tournaments at the start of the year, including the Miami Masters, had his best ever clay court season and breezed through Queen's. That is why I feel justified in making him favourite.
Post by: Massey-135 on June 19, 2009, 01:03:09 PM
In the past, have many winners of Queens gone on to win at Wimbledon like Murray did this year folks?
Post by: gallsman on June 19, 2009, 01:11:54 PM
It's a good indicator of grass court abilities, but over the last few years other than last year (Nadal won it) it hasn't been as indicative due to Federer playing at Halle to warm up for Wimbledon instead. Sampras, Hewitt, Becker and Edberg are all notable past Queen's and Wimbledon champions.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 19, 2009, 07:56:43 PM
Nadal out of Wimbledon

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/8085394.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/8085394.stm)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 19, 2009, 08:00:38 PM
Fed or Muz then.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 12:26:10 AM
Great opportunity for Murray. Still think Federer will have enough for him though - despite Murray's outstanding potential he hasn't made that Grand Slam breakthrough, and he submitted very meekly in the final of the US Open. He's a future champion but it might be a year too soon for him.
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2009, 12:37:42 AM
Murray has a great record against Federer............................Except when it matters.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 12:43:24 AM
True - so far anyway. But he's improving and he put Nadal out of last year's US Open. Fed is past his best but, like Sampras, I reckon he'll still grab a few majors on his way back down.
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2009, 12:49:15 AM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 12:43:24 AM
True - so far anyway. But he's improving and he put Nadal out of last year's US Open. Fed is past his best but, like Sampras, I reckon he'll still grab a few majors on his way back down.

Not sure if Fed is past his best, its just Nadal is some animal. Nadal was fcuked last year when Murray beat him, had a full programme at the Olympics (Gold medal) where Murray was beaten in the first round. Grass isnt Murrays best surface, he is a better hard court player. People seem to forget he also played a lot in Barcelona on clay growing up.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 01:05:16 AM
Should Fed regain the Wimbledon title, I'm sure we'll hear plenty about how it 'doesn't count' because Nadal wasn't there.
Post by: gallsman on June 21, 2009, 02:18:02 AM
Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 01:05:16 AM
Should Fed regain the Wimbledon title, I'm sure we'll hear plenty about how it 'doesn't count' because Nadal wasn't there.

You think? There hasn't been a word about the fact that he didn't beat Nadal at the French.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 21, 2009, 08:29:47 AM
Can't remember any of the other articles but I was basing that on this kind of thing...

http://www.azcentral.com/sports/heatindex/articles/2009/06/07/20090607spt-p2maincoro.html

http://tennis.fanhouse.com/2009/06/07/greatest-of-all-time-not-yet/

Nadal's absence next week (and in the FO final) denies Federer the satisfaction of beating Rafa in a major final, at least until the US. No guarantee that Rafa will make that final given that he hasn't ever made one there.

Maybe this is all moot - Roger will take the trophies, thanks very much - but with the run Nadal has on him in majors at the moment it would have been fascinating to see if Federer could have beaten him in London.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2009, 09:13:31 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 21, 2009, 12:37:42 AM
Murray has a great record against Federer............................Except when it matters.

Id agree more with Gallsman than any of ye, look at the above statement, it always matters, Minder ALWAYS. Murray has a great record over the Fed, pyschological advantage, knows he can beat him. Federer has a mental block where Rafa is concerned, im not sure he believes himself that he can beat him, ah but Rafa got knocked out of paris and now wimbledon. So that obstacle is gone.

Murray had his best clay court season ever, now to grass which he is better again on, The advantage of seedings is huge, in US open murray beat Nadal in semi in a class match and then had to face a fresh Federer, Murray victory over Nadal took its toll, it happens.

Murray will have the crowd with him despite his hate for england ;D, so thats another help.

Im expecting big things from Murray, even Djorkovic cant be ruled out, like verdasco , tsonga all dark horses. Its been an upword curve for murray, and Ive seen loads of his matches this yr, and the lad is going to win a slam soon whether some of ye like it or not ;). I love his unpredictability on the court and he has the game to win wimbledon even at this stage.

Post by: nrico2006 on June 22, 2009, 10:25:45 AM
QuoteNadal's absence next week (and in the FO final) denies Federer the satisfaction of beating Rafa in a major final. at least until the US. No guarantee that Rafa will make that final given that he hasn't ever made one there.

Maybe this is all moot - Roger will take the trophies, thanks very much - but with the run Nadal has on him in majors at the moment it would have been fascinating to see if Federer could have beaten him in London.

Federer has already beaten Nadal in 2 major finals.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 22, 2009, 10:39:16 AM
Did anyone see Harry Findlay on the BBC at Ascot on Saturday, he wants Murray out of Wimbledon as he thinks he will win the US Open this year.  I would say Harry has a fair few quid on him.
Post by: ziggysego on June 22, 2009, 11:40:19 AM
Never really watched Wimbledon before. Might give it a wee whirl this year.

I hear they are banning the women grunting this year.
Post by: Orior on June 22, 2009, 12:03:35 PM
Federa must be one of the greatest sportsmen of all time.

He never looks stressed, he's not on drugs, he's white, he's loaded. So why dont people hate him like they hate Beckham, Ronaldo or even Murray?
Post by: Billys Boots on June 22, 2009, 01:08:54 PM
Cos he has manners.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 07:10:49 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 22, 2009, 01:08:54 PM
Cos he has manners.

Yup, and he doesn't celebrate winning EACH AND EVERY f**king point like that p***k Murray.

Seriously why does he clench his fist after every single point?? Big f**king deal.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2009, 07:55:14 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 22, 2009, 12:03:35 PM
Federa must be one of the greatest sportsmen of all time.

He never looks stressed, he's not on drugs, he's white, he's loaded. So why dont people hate him like they hate Beckham, Ronaldo or even Murray?
He's not a primadonna. He seems to quietly and methodically go about the business of winning. Beckham in his later career chose marketing and global branding over soccer. Ronaldo is just a cnut -that's an easy answer.

Murray has behaved like a huffy twat most of his career and is only now showing the benefit of some media training. I think it's ironic that although he's made no secret of despising the tossers (ex of Henmania) who queue to support him they still continue to do so in their droves.
Post by: down6061689194 on June 23, 2009, 07:59:34 PM
Some of the points he won today were worth a good fist pump.

Tiger loves a fist pump. Whats wrong with it.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 08:00:52 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on June 23, 2009, 07:59:34 PM

If it was after a long rally, a great ace, or an adrenaline puming point with a big dive or something-by all means go apeshit afterwards but on even the shite points, the easy points he's clenching his fist.

Does Tiger clench after every shot?

Plus I am just gonna avoid the whole 'good fist pump' phrase, so many connotations spring to mind!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2009, 08:24:15 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 08:00:52 PM

If it was after a long rally, a great ace, or an adrenaline puming point with a big dive or something-by all means go apeshit afterwards but on even the shite points, the easy points he's clenching his fist.

Plus I am just gonna avoid the whole 'good fist pump' phrase, so many connotations spring to mind!!
Heather Graham again?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 08:31:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2009, 08:24:15 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 23, 2009, 08:00:52 PM

Heather Graham again?

I hadn't even thought of that...

Can't wait to get home now...
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 24, 2009, 12:53:50 PM
Hantuchova is an old favourite of mine... Following her now...

In the younger days my favourites were Dokic, Hingis and Coetzer... Used to follow them about when the BBC brought in their interactive coverage...
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 24, 2009, 01:17:21 PM
Federer has already beaten Nadal in 2 major finals.

Indeed - but I think it's fair to say that Nadal hadn't hit his peak at that stage. He has now (imo), he's no.1, and he beat Fed in the French '08, Wimbledon '08 and Australian '09.

Federer would dearly love to beat Rafa in a major final now, and must have thought Wimbledon was his best chance to do that. But I'm sure he'd settle for Flushing in September!
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 25, 2009, 12:44:30 PM
Elena Baltacha daughter of St Johnstone legend Sergei is playing today.

The British sport minister is questioning the amount of money the brit govt allocates to UK tennis given the poor return on investment they get.  In twenty years they have had tiger tim, jezza bates, murray (who was trained in Florida I think), so he has a valid point.
Post by: Square Ball on June 26, 2009, 12:05:32 AM
did anyone else see a bloke wearing what I think was a Down top at the Murray game yesterday
Post by: gawa316 on June 26, 2009, 12:11:26 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 26, 2009, 12:05:32 AM
did anyone else see a bloke wearing what I think was a Down top at the Murray game yesterday

Yeah I noticed that
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2009, 12:18:33 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 25, 2009, 12:44:30 PM
Elena Baltacha daughter of St Johnstone legend Sergei is playing today.

The British sport minister is questioning the amount of money the brit govt allocates to UK tennis given the poor return on investment they get.  In twenty years they have had tiger tim, jezza bates, murray (who was trained in Florida I think), so he has a valid point.
Yer woman was bate today.

Murray is the only one that looks like the real deal. I think he took himself off to Spain when he was 15 to live and practice there.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 26, 2009, 12:47:13 AM
Current odds for the top two which are far too tight for the first week:
Fed 8/13, Murray 2/1.

So value is there in the next batch:
Djokovic 12/1 (esp)
Roddick 14/1
Tsonga 25/1
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2009, 09:41:32 PM
Murray's match is getting interesting...
Post by: Minder on June 29, 2009, 09:45:05 PM
Wawrinka is playing better now
Post by: Square Ball on June 29, 2009, 09:45:34 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 29, 2009, 09:41:32 PM
Murray's match is getting interesting...

Tis indeed Rois, strange watching Wimbledon live at thsi time of night.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 29, 2009, 09:54:52 PM
2 sets all now. Thought it was all over in the middle of that set so turned it off.

Centre Court looks the part at night.
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2009, 09:55:38 PM
Although the Hill looked very very dark there - or maybe I was imagining it.  It doesn't seem so dark here.
Post by: Minder on June 29, 2009, 09:59:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 29, 2009, 09:55:38 PM
Although the Hill looked very very dark there - or maybe I was imagining it.  It doesn't seem so dark here.
Its due to the time difference
Post by: maggie on June 29, 2009, 10:00:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 29, 2009, 09:55:38 PM

When i came back over at the start of june after being at home for a week (yes pints on my last hols) i noticed that it got dark alot earlier here compared to home-i'm sure theres some scientific explanation- but weird you noticed that!

Post by: Rois on June 29, 2009, 10:02:46 PM
Well I suppose we're further west and further north, kinda makes sense in the summer.

Sure it's still seventy degrees with the sun shining in Tyrone...

Murray is frustrating me - play it short man, he doesn't like the net. 
Post by: Minder on June 29, 2009, 10:07:06 PM
Murray is frustrating me too, because he is winning
Post by: ziggysego on June 29, 2009, 10:08:12 PM
I was watching it there. There was a scary looking woman behind Wawrinka. I saw her on HD. Had to turn the TV off.
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2009, 10:09:32 PM
Ah he's coming on rightly now.

That last point, faced the wrong way, down the line - amazing
Post by: Orior on June 29, 2009, 10:11:16 PM
Are Scottish saltires banned from centre court?
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2009, 10:18:30 PM
Feck
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2009, 10:19:52 PM
Getting interesting. New roof is some jab.
Post by: Square Ball on June 29, 2009, 10:22:06 PM
bloody hell, dould he be on his way out?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 29, 2009, 10:23:32 PM
how many games in a set?
Post by: maggie on June 29, 2009, 10:25:02 PM
A good few famous faces in the crowd.  

Murray is looking a bit shaky on it.
Post by: Yes I Would on June 29, 2009, 10:28:42 PM
Such a shot from Murray.. Dont mind the fella. The crowd give me the skitter!!
Post by: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:29:09 PM
some match all the same. murray can win it for the Scots
Post by: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:31:15 PM
how many does that court hold?
Post by: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:34:57 PM
great shot, your mans doing well. big game now
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 29, 2009, 10:36:37 PM
Murray has played some good stuff, the crowd would sicken your hole though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 29, 2009, 10:39:43 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 29, 2009, 10:28:42 PM
Such a shot from Murray.. Dont mind the fella. The crowd give me the skitter!!
I concur. Used to hate the sight of him but the fact that he has a healthy dislike of those Middle England cnuts standing cheering him, means it's hard to dislike the fella!

Did he win the whole tournament?
Post by: Yes I Would on June 29, 2009, 10:40:01 PM
Enjoyed that.. Dont think he will win it, or at least i hope to god he doesnt!!
Post by: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:41:13 PM
get over the crowd pints. fair fooks to Murray, unconventional with his approach to the media. he's clearly doing it for himself family and country.
Post by: maggie on June 29, 2009, 10:43:22 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:31:15 PM
how many does that court hold?

about 15,000
Post by: Square Ball on June 29, 2009, 10:45:15 PM
very enjoyable game there, I like the fella but its those annoying feckers of supporters
Post by: Minder on June 29, 2009, 10:46:55 PM
Quote from: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:41:13 PM
get over the crowd pints. fair fooks to Murray, unconventional with his approach to the media. he's clearly doing it for himself family and country.
Not quite, he has been reinvented (by his PR people I would say) into a more English media friendly sort. You won't here him saying he hopes England get tanked in football again that's for sure. It's not as if any of them are doing or for their country
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 29, 2009, 10:48:16 PM
When he loses he will be known as a Scottish man. They will claim him when he's going well.
Post by: milltown row on June 29, 2009, 10:57:55 PM
i dont think so minder. this guy has a chance at every glam slam to win. he does not give a flying fook about England or the supporters.
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 08:04:15 AM
Fair fcuks to Murray
Was a decent match, but the difficulty in disposing of someone ranked 19th doesnt suggest he will win it.

Someone was mentioning about the fist pumps & how it annoyed them.
It is clear that he gets them from his 'oul doll
Did anyone see her last night?
Post by: Declan on June 30, 2009, 08:52:35 AM
QuoteSomeone was mentioning about the fist pumps & how it annoyed them.

A bit early for that sort of talk fb :D
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 08:54:35 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 30, 2009, 08:52:35 AM
QuoteSomeone was mentioning about the fist pumps & how it annoyed them.

A bit early for that sort of talk fb :D

:D :D
Apologies Declan

Did anyone see Murray's 'oul doll clenching her fist after every point he got last night
It is clear he didnt get this type of behaviour from the ditches ;)
Post by: gallsman on June 30, 2009, 10:56:25 AM
Quote from: full back on June 30, 2009, 08:04:15 AM
Fair fcuks to Murray
Was a decent match, but the difficulty in disposing of someone ranked 19th doesnt suggest he will win it.

Someone was mentioning about the fist pumps & how it annoyed them.
Did anyone see her last night?

Don't be fooled by Wawrinka's ranking, he's been as high as 9 and is a seriously talented player who will cause anyone problems. Also has one of the best backhands in the game. This was a very good win for Murray.
Post by: Minder on June 30, 2009, 11:25:31 AM
Wawrinka has talent but has never been past the 4th round at a Grand Slam which tells a tale.
Post by: cornerback on June 30, 2009, 11:48:06 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 30, 2009, 11:25:31 AM
Wawrinka has talent but has never been past the 4th round at a Grand Slam which tells a tale.

But does he not practice with Murray, so he'd know Murray's game inside out...
Post by: nrico2006 on June 30, 2009, 02:07:06 PM
Cornerback, Im sure if you practised with Murray you wouldn't run him to 5 sets.
Post by: supersub on June 30, 2009, 02:17:33 PM
and also that means Murray knows his opponents game inside out too...so kind of cancels that out!
Post by: cornerback on June 30, 2009, 02:51:09 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 30, 2009, 02:07:06 PM
Cornerback, Im sure if you practised with Murray you wouldn't run him to 5 sets.

yeah, but i'm not a world top 20 tennis pro with a career high of No. 9 (last year I think)

Quote from: supersub on June 30, 2009, 02:17:33 PM
and also that means Murray knows his opponents game inside out too...so kind of cancels that out!

No, it means that they both know each others game & virtually cancel each other out - the one who adapts the best & can punish the others weakness(es) will come out on top.  Tennis players aren't stupid, i'm sure wawrinka knows his weakness & that murray more than anyone on the tour will know his weakness, so he went about the match in such a way that made it difficult to exploit...
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2009, 06:14:08 PM
Just heard on the radio that there was some eye candy at the tennis last night. Apparently available 28:37 in on the iplayer. Someone do the needful.
Post by: magickingdom on June 30, 2009, 08:04:03 PM
that was some entertainment last night, better than 90% of premier league matches i watch. wimbledon normally passes me by as something that happens while at work but if they schedule some of the bigger matches at night they could get huge numbers of new viewers.. well done to murray he showed heart i didnt think he had
Post by: longball on July 01, 2009, 04:34:46 PM
Murray Flying hes two sets up already. Looks like his getting a semi
Post by: full back on July 01, 2009, 04:38:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2009, 06:14:08 PM
Just heard on the radio that there was some eye candy at the tennis last night. Apparently available 28:37 in on the iplayer. Someone do the needful.

Was that the big one in the red top?
Was funny as fcuk when McEnroe went quiet when the camera was on her & he said "I'm speechless"   :D :D
Post by: magickingdom on July 01, 2009, 07:38:13 PM
surely night tennis is on the way despite andy murrays objections.... 12m watched the other night
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2009, 08:12:19 PM
Quote from: longball on July 01, 2009, 04:34:46 PM
Murray Flying hes two sets up already. Looks like his getting a semi

Are his shorts that tight?
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 02, 2009, 04:56:50 PM
Serena through to final and Venus looking good to join her.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 02, 2009, 05:17:19 PM
Venus wins 6-1 6-0  :o
The Williams domination at Wimbledon continues - 8 out of last 10 winners and fourth all Williams Wimbledon final.
Post by: Rois on July 02, 2009, 05:27:37 PM
By the way Venus played there, Serena will be blown away.

Incredible - poor Safina didn't have a chance, although she was very very very poor.
Post by: Minder on July 02, 2009, 05:38:19 PM
She seems like the brother and does not look to have the temperament for it.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 02, 2009, 05:55:07 PM
I really don't like the Williams sisters...

I prefer my ladies tennis players to look like... well ladies.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 02, 2009, 10:46:52 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 02, 2009, 05:55:07 PM

Neither do I....what's the old saying, "you can take the man out of the bog"
They'll never have any class no matter how much money they make!
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2009, 11:59:22 PM

I agree with this but struggle to articulate it. I cannot put a finger on why I dislike the Williiams sisters, especially Serena. There's something about her on-court demeanour that's off-putting.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 03, 2009, 12:38:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2009, 11:59:22 PM

I agree with this but struggle to articulate it. I cannot put a finger on why I dislike the Williiams sisters, especially Serena. There's something about her on-court demeanour that's off-putting.
If you put your finger on it she'd snap it off. The fact is most tennis players are hot housed from a young age so there is usually a pushy parent lurking in the shadows. It's them I can't stand. Papa Williams (Richard?) seems like a strange one to me.
Post by: Rav67 on July 03, 2009, 01:12:19 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 02, 2009, 10:46:52 PM

That seems a bit snobby.. you don;t like them cos they have had a rough upbringing?

Quite like them myself seem like friendly types and Serena would definitely get a rattle
Post by: Tyrones own on July 03, 2009, 03:40:57 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 03, 2009, 01:12:19 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 02, 2009, 10:46:52 PM

That seems a bit snobby.. you don;t like them cos they have had a rough upbringing?

Quite like them myself seem like friendly types and Serena would definitely get a rattle

No, not at all.......... It's because they look and act like spoiled brats on court and in most interviews afterwards,
showing little to no respect to their opponents...especially God forbid when they're beaten!
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 03, 2009, 08:43:30 AM
They seem little different to how any other tennis players behave.   Long may they reign supreme as it puts 2 fingers up to the attepmted middle-class, millionnaires-only tennis production line.
Post by: ludermor on July 03, 2009, 10:10:27 AM
It was some game betwen serena and dementivia yesterday and the russian had her chances to win but didnt take them.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 10:15:16 AM
This by on means is intented to come across racist. But has there been many other black tennis players both male or female to be successful? I remember your fella Malavi Washington who got to the final in 1996, he was a black fella. Any other?
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 10:21:25 AM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 10:15:16 AM
This by on means is intented to come across racist. But has there been many other black tennis players both male or female to be successful? I remember your fella Malavi Washington who got to the final in 1996, he was a black fella. Any other?
Arthur Ashe won a few slams.
Yannick Noah
Zina Garrison

Not a whole lot to be honest.
Post by: Minder on July 03, 2009, 10:22:51 AM
Arthur Ashe, James Blake is reasonably successful, Monfils of France is another.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 10:26:29 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 03, 2009, 10:22:51 AM
Arthur Ashe, James Blake is reasonably successful, Monfils of France is another.
He was caught up in a racism row recently, Carol 'the devils spawn' Thatcher called him a golliwog  ::)
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 10:32:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 10:26:29 AM
He was caught up in a racism row recently, Carol 'the devils spawn' Thatcher called him a golliwog  ::)

thats right i mind hearin bout that with thatcher matchin a spa of herself. your fella blake was decent there 4 a while. forgot bout him. think he was knocked out in 1st round at w'don this year
Post by: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 10:38:06 AM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 10:32:47 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 10:26:29 AM

thats right i mind hearin bout that with thatcher matchin a spa of herself. your fella blake was decent there 4 a while. forgot bout him. think he was knocked out in 1st round at w'don this year

By a racist? Bit harsh for a tennis match if you ask me.  Oops sorry, should really keep in tone with the thread...."Bit harsh for a tennis match if you axe me"
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 03:33:12 PM
Federer eases through in straight sets.  Murray and Roddick now, bookies have Roddick at 12/5, seems generous though Murray does have a great record in their head to heads.
Post by: Keyser soze on July 03, 2009, 04:05:58 PM
Playing for second i think, tho Murray i imagine would make a better challenger to the fed than Roddick.

There won't be much between the Williams sisters tomorrow. I wish i was!!  ;)
Post by: Minder on July 03, 2009, 04:14:47 PM
Roddick hasn't read the script
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 04:15:15 PM
Stiffler wins the first set.
Post by: Rois on July 03, 2009, 04:16:57 PM
Jaysus Murray can't stop hitting into the net!!

Roddick looks much faster and stronger - Murray's going for the clever shots. 
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 04:17:26 PM
12/5 for roddick  :'(
Post by: ludermor on July 03, 2009, 04:19:59 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 03, 2009, 04:05:58 PM
Playing for second i think, tho Murray i imagine would make a better challenger to the fed than Roddick.

Dear lord why?????
Post by: full back on July 03, 2009, 04:20:44 PM
Roddick is playing very well

Andy could become a Scot very quickly if he loses :D
Post by: Rois on July 03, 2009, 04:22:51 PM
Must have been something in Murray's juice at the break.
Post by: Orior on July 03, 2009, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 04:15:15 PM
Stiffler wins the first set.

lol
Post by: corn02 on July 03, 2009, 04:39:34 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 03, 2009, 04:05:58 PM

Sweet Jesus!
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 04:41:54 PM
Quote from: full back on July 03, 2009, 04:20:44 PM

lol! the oul brits love jumping on the bandwagon lol!!

here i wonder how tim henman is feelin. useless **** tried for a decade to do something at wimbledon. not worth a shite the on lol! probably just living of ariel detergent ads moneys now lol
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 04:43:27 PM
Murray is a break up in second set c'mon Andy
Post by: lob her in lad on July 03, 2009, 04:53:05 PM
just watching online here on the bbc, not a massive fan of brit andy murray but i like the way he tries to distance himself away from the foreign media thinking he is english, i hope he wins cause the coverage of his progress over here by the media is pretty funny, it's like people from meath saying they want dublin to win the all ireland because they both come from leinster  ;)
Post by: lob her in lad on July 03, 2009, 04:58:23 PM
"Not a seat to be seen anywhere on Centre - except in the Royal Box, where's there's a line of eight sitting empty. Maybe they're keeping them free should Lizzy break the habit of a lifetime and fancy a Friday afternoon without the corgis. Who'll crack first? Murray is suddenly wobbling like a trifle in a tornado" from the bbc text updates you sure cant beat the bbc for a bit of craic
Post by: Square Ball on July 03, 2009, 05:15:29 PM
Has Murray got the balls and the game to get back into it?
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 03, 2009, 05:20:17 PM
Quote from: lob her in lad on July 03, 2009, 04:58:23 PM
"Not a seat to be seen anywhere on Centre - except in the Royal Box, where's there's a line of eight sitting empty. Maybe they're keeping them free should Lizzy break the habit of a lifetime and fancy a Friday afternoon without the corgis. Who'll crack first? Murray is suddenly wobbling like a trifle in a tornado" from the bbc text updates you sure cant beat the bbc for a bit of craic
Read at the weekend that her very busy diary is 'free' this Sunday, just in case, bet that is a great incentive for Andy.
Post by: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 05:25:08 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 04:41:54 PM

lol
! the oul brits love jumping on the bandwagon lol!!

here i wonder how tim henman is feelin. useless **** tried for a decade to do something at wimbledon. not worth a shite the on lol! probably just living of ariel detergent ads moneys now lol

Four "lol"s in one post. HWAH you are a w**ker.
Post by: lob her in lad on July 03, 2009, 05:37:01 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 05:25:08 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 04:41:54 PM

lol
! the oul brits love jumping on the bandwagon lol!!

Four "lol"s in one post. HWAH you are a w**ker.

does that not make you worse i just had to read five of them in your post??
but your right it wrecks my head with people abbreviating everything why can we not just write stuff out the way it's supposed to be and if you have to put laugh out loud after a comment chances are people will not be laughing out loud but rather groaning at your attempt at humour,

Murray serving to make it 5-5 in the third set, he just broke Roddicks serve,

may love and leave ye i'm off to the trafford centre so hoping all the mancs will be on the bandwagon watching Murray and I won't be stuck in traffic lol sorry nearly lost the run of myself there
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 05:52:43 PM
Roddick 2-1 up after winning 3rd set on a tie break

p.s how annoying is Andy Murray's ma?
Post by: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 06:02:16 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 05:52:43 PM
Roddick 2-1 up after winning 3rd set on a tie break

p.s how annoying is Andy Murray's ma?

Almost as annoying as High Wide and Handsome.

Keep me posted on result, hope the tw@t is beat.
Post by: deiseach on July 03, 2009, 06:24:00 PM
Fair play to the two Andys, they are going at it hammer and tongs for the honour of having a tennis-racket shaped imprint branded on their arse by Roger Federer
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 06:37:22 PM
Tie breaker in the 4th set.

Roddick has won 25 out of 29 tie breaks this year.
Post by: Square Ball on July 03, 2009, 06:43:38 PM
sad for murray, but I have no doubt he will be back to win it some year
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 03, 2009, 06:44:16 PM
SidelineKick will be a happy man now!
Post by: Minder on July 03, 2009, 06:51:16 PM
Great stuff, Murray was 1/4 to win today, crazy price. The hurt goes on..........

Has Sue Barker got the rope up yet?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 03, 2009, 06:52:25 PM
 ;D Great to see that annoying fist pumping pr**k beaten
Post by: deiseach on July 03, 2009, 07:03:26 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 03, 2009, 06:51:16 PM
Great stuff, Murray was 1/4 to win today, crazy price. The hurt goes on..........

Has Sue Barker got the rope up yet?

The bookies follow the money, and the only rope they'll be thinking of tonight is of the money-for-old variety
Post by: lob her in lad on July 03, 2009, 09:36:22 PM
Poor old Murray, it's the same old story for the hapless Brits what with being beaten at their own games, I think it will be the same for the ashes this year although I said that in 05 and it came back to bite me, maybe Andy can get an Italian in to coach him it seems to work wonders for ourselves and the English. Just a thought.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 03, 2009, 10:01:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 10:41:19 PM

Thanks for the advice...

I was merely pointing out the, in my mind perfectly valid, reasons why I think Murray should be favourite.
Ahem.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 03, 2009, 10:03:16 PM
Does this mean Murray is Scottish again?
Post by: gallsman on July 03, 2009, 11:23:08 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 03, 2009, 10:01:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 18, 2009, 10:41:19 PM

Thanks for the advice...

Ahem.

Isn't hindsight great? I don't remember the fact that the USA beat Spain 2-0 changing the fact that the Spanish wer favourites.
Post by: bridgegael on July 04, 2009, 10:28:15 AM
 will the brits ever learn!! i think its hilarious the way they big up their 'superstars' time and time again only to have their wee hearts broke cause their stars just aren't good enough!!  time to wake up and smell the coffee british media-just not good enough!!!!
Post by: bridgegael on July 04, 2009, 10:35:50 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 04, 2009, 10:32:05 AM
I think Roddick is a very likable character and would actually like to see him win the final.  Any time ive seen him interviewed, he comes across as a modest sort of a guy who gives 110% every time he goes out on court.  His 1st serves yesterday where just awesome, power and direction, very difficult to return when a man is n that sort of form with his serves. 

always thought the same myself of Roddick.  one of the commentators said in one of his earlier matches that he was the nicest and most liked player on the circuit.  as much as i would like to see federer win and have the most majors,  i think i'd like roddick to win this one.
Post by: jimbo on July 04, 2009, 10:36:48 AM
Totally agree - hope Roddick wins the final.
Post by: Minder on July 04, 2009, 10:53:09 AM
I can't see Roddick taking more than one set from Federer
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2009, 10:55:33 AM
In 2005, Roddick threw everything he had at Federer and was still beaten in straight sets.
Post by: jimbo on July 04, 2009, 10:59:10 AM
But this is 2009 - I can see Roddick winning this - Federer hasn't been tested.
Post by: Minder on July 04, 2009, 11:02:48 AM
Quote from: jimbo on July 04, 2009, 10:59:10 AM
But this is 2009 - I can see Roddick winning this - Federer hasn't been tested.
He has not been tested because he is on a different level to everyone else, bar Nadal ( who will have a tough time being the same player after his injuries).
Post by: lob her in lad on July 04, 2009, 11:21:52 AM
Fair play to Roddick I hope he does the business in the final.
Post by: magickingdom on July 04, 2009, 09:54:29 PM
love to see roddick win but federer is pure class
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 02:50:42 PM
Roddick wins the 1st set 7-5.

Some great Tennis being played by both players.
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 03:34:41 PM
Roddick blew it there
Post by: carnaross on July 05, 2009, 05:13:06 PM
If Federer wins from here, he'll have broken Roddick's serve only once throughout the match, whereas Roddick has broken Federer twice to win sets. Makes the tie-break system a little anomalous.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:29:19 PM
DId you ever see such a dull crowd at a sporting event!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:41:24 PM
We could be here a while  :-\
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 05:45:04 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:29:19 PM

You shoulda seen the atmosphere in the first half of the Down match last night.

I dunno who I am rooting for here, sorta siding with Andy at the minute...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 05:50:37 PM
Great game, some effort from these 2 players. Both on top of their game and not much getting past them on their own serve.

Much better watching this than that rubbish we watched in Clones yesterday.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2009, 05:51:42 PM

Well they're not supposed to be roaring and shouting during play for a start.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:53:13 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2009, 05:51:42 PM

Ach they could cheer or something if someone gets a point.  Ffs you'd never think we were so close to an end in a final. 
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 05:54:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:53:13 PM

Ach they could cheer or something if someone gets a point.  Ffs you'd never think we were so close to an end in a final. 

Are you deaf or do you have your TV on mute?

Every point is cheered from what im watching.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:55:57 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 05:54:20 PM

it gets a light appaluse, there's a bit of a cheer, must be from the player's families or something. 
That's not 10,000 or (or however many is there) cheering.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 05:57:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 05:55:57 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 05:54:20 PM

it gets a light appaluse, there's a bit of a cheer, must be from the player's families or something. 
That's not 10,000 or (or however many is there) cheering.

Think the capacity is 15,000
Post by: Overthebar! on July 05, 2009, 05:57:39 PM
youns chaps would argue about anything...

i seen alex ferguson going buck mad there. think feds experience should carry him through....good aul match bot sure its better than last years mind
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 06:01:49 PM
D'oh
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 06:07:13 PM
May call a draw.
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 06:14:55 PM
something has to give soon.
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2009, 06:17:38 PM
Unsurprisingly they are both fucked
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 05, 2009, 06:18:52 PM
score
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2009, 06:21:18 PM
14-14 in the fifth
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 05, 2009, 06:25:47 PM
Hope roddick wins, really didn't expect him to put up this kinda battle, fed has only dropped 2 service games in the finals he has won previous to this
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 06:27:01 PM
Roddick clinging on just about, those tougher matches over the fortnight will start to tell
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 06:27:45 PM
will he take the chance?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 05, 2009, 06:28:46 PM
?
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 06:28:54 PM
yes he did, one break and he wins, well thats sport for you
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 06:30:07 PM
Tough on Roddick, neither deserved to lose. 
Post by: Square Ball on July 05, 2009, 06:35:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 06:30:07 PM
Tough on Roddick, neither deserved to lose. 

agree POG, great game with both players giving their all.

So on to England getting stuffed in the Ashes
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2009, 06:38:33 PM
You have to pay credit to Federer, he was absolutely crushed last year when Nadal beat him, a lot of people thought he was finished and has now won 3 out of the last 4 Slams .
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 05, 2009, 08:03:04 PM
He's beaten Sampras's grand slam haul of 14 in almost half the time.  Has there been a better sportsman in history? 
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2009, 09:06:03 PM
Although it will go down as an epic - it was an odd final set. Federer never had a break point (championship point) until the last point of the match. Only once did Roddick threaten to break Roger in that set. So it wasn't really that exciting and it got to the point when you just hoped someone would win to get it over and done with. The Nadal-Federer 9-7 last year and more twists and turns.

The winning for Federer was when he was 1-0 down in sets, 6-6 in the second and 6-2 down in the tie-breaker. That 2-3 minute spell when he turned it around to win 8-6 was the best tennis in the match. I've seen Federer play much better than that overall.
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2009, 09:32:53 PM
They were both so strong on serve, aside from Federers ability he has some mentality. You would hardly know if it was the first point or Championship point, he never panics and has total faith in his game. I actually thought Federer was tiring more than Federer when it was about 12-12 but Roddicks tank emptied a bit quicker at the death. Some people say it is boring the same player winning all the time but if you can't appreciate watching a player like Federer there is something wrong. He will be going for 6 US Opens in a row in the Autumn.............
Post by: tyroneboi on July 05, 2009, 09:43:47 PM
Heard them say that Fed has reached 22 consecutive grand slam semi finals. That is some record. Felt sorry for Roddick at the end, didnt really expect him to get that close to Fed and would have been good to see him win it.
Post by: ziggysego on July 05, 2009, 09:49:31 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 03, 2009, 10:03:16 PM
Does this mean Murray is Scottish again?

I checked the BBC website. He was Scottish within 10 mins.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 05, 2009, 10:58:26 PM
Did Federer win the australian open this year?
Post by: stevecw on July 05, 2009, 11:04:23 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 05, 2009, 10:58:26 PM

No Nadal won it beating Federer in the final
Post by: Medic on July 05, 2009, 11:24:28 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 05, 2009, 10:58:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fo44ycnkbrE
so nadal has now won grandslams on 3 different surfaces. he was very impressive there
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 08:36:52 PM
Andy up sh1t creek now.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 08:50:47 PM
Andy 2-0 down.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 09:04:36 PM
2-0 in sets down and 2-0 this set down. If Murray gets outta this I'll run around the gaaboard naked.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 09:09:24 PM
5-7, 2-6, 2-4....
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 09:12:12 PM
5-7, 2-6, 2-5.....
Post by: anportmorforjfc on September 08, 2009, 09:15:41 PM
Brilliant, is this the quarters?
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 09:17:25 PM
5-7, 2-6, 2-6

Cleaved.
Post by: ONeill on September 08, 2009, 09:18:12 PM
Twas the round before the quarters. Looked like a man who'd been on the piss.
Post by: Minder on September 08, 2009, 09:21:27 PM
Not even the quarters Anportmor, 4th round. He has always seen US Open as his best chance of winning a slam.
Post by: Overthebar! on June 21, 2011, 02:20:21 PM
Conor Niland on tg4. think he plays fed if he wins
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 02:30:02 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on June 21, 2011, 02:20:21 PM
Conor Niland on tg4. think he plays fed if he wins
Ya fair play to Niland, he does play fed if he wins, best of luck, first Irishman since 1984 to qualify for Wimbledon..
Post by: spuds on June 21, 2011, 02:46:29 PM
Just held serve to 15 to lead 4-3 in first set. Be great if he gets through here.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 02:54:15 PM
Quote from: spuds on June 21, 2011, 02:46:29 PM
Just held serve to 15 to lead 4-3 in first set. Be great if he gets through here.
So far so good, 5-4 up holding his serve comfortably, putting pressure on mannarios serve, looks like he has a serious forehand. Definitly capable of winning. Nice to see the good Irish support..
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 02:56:18 PM
2 set points on the break, come on,
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 03:00:10 PM
1 set up 6-4, showed guts after manniirio got lucky break with net, fair play, looking good
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 03:23:41 PM
Held serve excellently there, looking good. his father played county football for westmeath and mayo!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2011, 03:26:46 PM
Who's his father?
Post by: Cold tea on June 21, 2011, 03:27:24 PM
Scored point.
Post by: Cold tea on June 21, 2011, 03:28:17 PM
Scratched his arse !!! - Why do people give blow by blow accounts on here if they have access to the internet they can watch it on iplayer!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2011, 03:30:11 PM
Not everyone can access IPlayer, TG4 Player or whatever from work.
Post by: mick999 on June 21, 2011, 03:31:26 PM

http://www.thescore.ie/a-bluffers-guide-to-conor-nilands-wimbledon-debut-160330-Jun2011/ (http://www.thescore.ie/a-bluffers-guide-to-conor-nilands-wimbledon-debut-160330-Jun2011/)
Post by: Cold tea on June 21, 2011, 03:33:01 PM
And those who do obviously have feck all to do giving a point by point analysis. I thought this thread was discussing the matches / players - one to avoid then!! - Oh think someone drank water there.  ::)
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 03:33:25 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=149966
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 03:53:52 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 21, 2011, 03:33:01 PM
And those who do obviously have feck all to do giving a point by point analysis. I thought this thread was discussing the matches / players - one to avoid then!! - Oh think someone drank water there.  ::)
Ya im unemployed, cold tea you gotta problem or chip on your shoulder?

Niland lost 2nd set but just held serve 1-1 in 3rd set.
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 04:08:21 PM
It'll be an awful disappointment if this lad turns out to be a Protestant.
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 04:20:41 PM
his serve is really letting him down at times
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 04:28:50 PM
He's a fighter
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 04:30:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 04:28:50 PM
He's a fighter

comon!!!!!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 04:32:58 PM
Unreal character showed when 40-0 down on his own serve and now 5-5 40-15 up, torture at times with inconsistency but its some entertainment, 6-5 up now come on
Post by: AQMP on June 21, 2011, 04:51:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 04:08:21 PM
It'll be an awful disappointment if this lad turns out to be a Protestant.

or nearly 30 and born in Birmingham...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2011, 04:53:42 PM
Lost tie-break. Had set point too again but produced two bad shots at the wrong time.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 04:57:28 PM
Came back from the dead and blew the 3rd set in the end, he saved 3 set points and then had 5 of his own and lost them all, long way back from here, hope his fitness is good and can keep it going and come back...
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 05:33:17 PM
2-2. they are bound to be clean wrecked
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 05:41:46 PM
Big prize for the winner - a hammering from Federrer on a main court.
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 05:47:38 PM
he is motoring now, if he wins it there wont be a cow milked in limerick tonight :P
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 21, 2011, 06:03:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 21, 2011, 03:26:46 PM
Who's his father?

His father, Ray, I think was born in Galway. He played Minor for Westmeath and Senior for Mayo, including winning a NFL title at left-corner back in 1970 on what was a team full of Mayo greats like Joe Corcoran, Joe Langan, Ray Prendergast, John Morley, Willie 'Four Goal' McGee and JJ Cribbin.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 21, 2011, 06:08:29 PM
Shoite! 4-4 in the last. Niland was two breaks up and lost them both. Balls. Pressure on big style now. Great support for him there though.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 21, 2011, 06:11:04 PM
Almost 4hrs game time these guys must be wrecked?
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 06:13:09 PM
This man's a bigger choker than Rory.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 21, 2011, 06:15:42 PM
Ah well  :(
Post by: randomtask on June 21, 2011, 06:21:38 PM
very disappointing to say the least
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2011, 06:25:37 PM
Produced his worst tennis after going 4-1 up in the last. Shouldn't have lost it from there considering he was two breaks up. Just went to bits nearing the finishing line.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 21, 2011, 06:44:39 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2011, 06:25:37 PM
Produced his worst tennis after going 4-1 up in the last. Shouldn't have lost it from there considering he was two breaks up. Just went to bits nearing the finishing line.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 21, 2011, 06:03:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 21, 2011, 03:26:46 PM
Who's his father?

His father, Ray, I think was born in Galway. He played Minor for Westmeath and Senior for Mayo,

Change counties, change sports, but some clouds just cant be shaken..  :P
Post by: AQMP on June 21, 2011, 07:19:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 21, 2011, 06:13:09 PM
This man's a bigger choker than Rory.

In that case in a few weeks he'll probably come back with a big win in the Doncaster & District Open.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 21, 2011, 08:14:54 PM
Disappointing end, thought he had it, the match was so up and down, fair play to him getting that far,
Post by: nrico2006 on June 24, 2011, 03:30:43 PM
Whatever happened Hewitt?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 03:36:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 24, 2011, 03:30:43 PM
Whatever happened Hewitt?
Got bate yesterday by Sohderling after being 2-0 up!
Post by: nrico2006 on June 25, 2011, 09:20:51 PM
I mean after his early noughties reign as number 1, how did he fall so far? Venus and Federer to be smiling next Sunday
Post by: Minder on June 25, 2011, 10:23:46 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 25, 2011, 09:20:51 PM
I mean after his early noughties reign as number 1, how did he fall so far? Venus and Federer to be smiling next Sunday

A certain Swiss player appeared on the scene and got on a, ahem, roll.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 26, 2011, 10:29:42 AM
Federer was on the scene then too, but it's more how he fell away from the top group of players
Post by: Don Johnson on June 26, 2011, 10:45:57 AM
Think he started banging that blonde bit from Home and Away, enough to distract most men.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2011, 11:44:31 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 26, 2011, 10:29:42 AM
Federer was on the scene then too, but it's more how he fell away from the top group of players
He's been dogged by a hip injury. Was mentioned the other night that he's had surgery a couple of times on it since 2008.
Post by: gawa316 on June 26, 2011, 12:52:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2011, 11:44:31 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 26, 2011, 10:29:42 AM
He's been dogged by a hip injury. Was mentioned the other night that he's had surgery a couple of times on it since 2008.

Doesn't have the weapons either,especially serve. His never say die attitude can only get you so far...saying that it got him to number 1 so I might be chatting ballix
Post by: AQMP on June 27, 2011, 03:30:06 PM
Murray wins, Serena Williams bate.
Post by: AQMP on June 27, 2011, 04:53:56 PM
Quote from: AQMP on June 27, 2011, 03:30:06 PM
Murray wins, Serena Williams bate.

and Venus W bet too...
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 29, 2011, 03:47:38 PM
Federer into 5th set with Tsonga
Post by: AQMP on June 29, 2011, 04:26:08 PM
Federer beaten after being 2 sets up.  Tsonga vs. Djokovic in the semis.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 29, 2011, 04:32:22 PM
Should Nadal be injured it's Murray's to lose ;)
Post by: bridgegael on June 29, 2011, 05:41:55 PM
i see afew empty seats in crowd,  thought it would have been packed to the rafters for britains no1.
Post by: Minder on July 01, 2011, 07:44:31 PM
Back to being Jocky McBottle.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 02, 2011, 03:31:37 PM
Looks like Sharapova is gonna get beaten in straight sets.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 02, 2011, 03:37:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 02, 2011, 03:31:37 PM
Looks like Sharapova is gonna get beaten in straight sets.
Classy finish.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2011, 04:06:50 PM
I was just feeling sorry for all the people who paid good money to get in there today to have to listen to that demented shrieking for the whole match. Time that was banned from the game.
Post by: deiseach on July 02, 2011, 04:07:45 PM
Is it me or are breaks of serve much more frequent in the women's game? Rod Laver was once quoted as saying that it isn't a break until you've held serve yourself. That certainly looked like wisdom today.

Anyway. It never seemed like Kvitova was anything other than in control, so fair play to her. Delighted the Gruntmeister lost.
Post by: muppet on July 02, 2011, 04:11:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 02, 2011, 04:07:45 PM
Is it me or are breaks of serve much more frequent in the women's game? Rod Laver was once quoted as saying that it isn't a break until you've held serve yourself. That certainly looked like wisdom today.

Anyway. It never seemed like Kvitova was anything other than in control, so fair play to her. Delighted the Gruntmeister lost.

The grunting is really annoying. Glad the quiet one won.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2011, 04:24:35 PM

Far more common. Men's serves are much faster and therefore more difficult to break.
Post by: deiseach on July 02, 2011, 04:34:03 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2011, 04:24:35 PM

Far more common. Men's serves are much faster and therefore more difficult to break.

Quite right, having a 'duh!' moment there after all these years of wondering whether I was imagining it
Post by: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 12:56:13 AM
Jees I'm awful sick of thie 'fab four' nonsense from the Brits! It's a 'fab three' and Murray is not in the same league as Djokovic, Nadal and Fed. They have all won Grand Slams on different surfaces and proven themselves the best in the game while Murray has won a few second rate hard court tournaments.

Yes Murray is the best British Tennis player in a long time but I cannot see how he will beat any of the lads in a Grand Slam ever. All 3 would eat him up so people would need to get real about it.
Post by: muppet on July 04, 2011, 01:00:40 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 12:56:13 AM
Jees I'm awful sick of thie 'fab four' nonsense from the Brits! It's a 'fab three' and Murray is not in the same league as Djokovic, Nadal and Fed. They have all won Grand Slams on different surfaces and proven themselves the best in the game while Murray has won a few second rate hard court tournaments.

Yes Murray is the best British Tennis player in a long time but I cannot see how he will beat any of the lads in a Grand Slam ever. All 3 would eat him up so people would need to get real about it.

Murray with a bit of luck (an injury here or a great fortnight there) could win an Australian or a US Open.

But he won't be left alone at Wimbledon so I don't see him winning there.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 04, 2011, 09:54:27 AM

He beat Nadal a few years ago in the US Open semi only to lose to federer in the final.  He's been unfortunate that Nadal and Federer have been in their prime thusfar in his career, now that federer is fading Djokovic is fulfilling earlier promise, so still no way through for Murray.  I think he will win one, but maybe hard courts suit him better and therefore the US or Australia might be his best bet.

On a related note, is Wimbledon the most prestigous of the Grand Slams?  I'm just asking as the players tend to say it is, but then they're being interviewed on BBC, do they say likewise about the other tournaments?
Post by: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 10:51:37 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 04, 2011, 09:54:27 AM

He beat Nadal a few years ago in the US Open semi only to lose to federer in the final.  He's been unfortunate that Nadal and Federer have been in their prime thusfar in his career, now that federer is fading Djokovic is fulfilling earlier promise, so still no way through for Murray.  I think he will win one, but maybe hard courts suit him better and therefore the US or Australia might be his best bet.

On a related note, is Wimbledon the most prestigous of the Grand Slams?  I'm just asking as the players tend to say it is, but then they're being interviewed on BBC, do they say likewise about the other tournaments?

It generally would be. Unlike the rest of the Grand Slams which have advertisers splashed everywhere around the court whereas Wimbledon holds strong on the fact it's all about the Tennis. Much like the Masters in Golf IMO it would be the one everyone wants to win!
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2011, 12:10:54 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 10:51:37 AM
It generally would be. Unlike the rest of the Grand Slams which have advertisers splashed everywhere around the court whereas Wimbledon holds strong on the fact it's all about the Tennis. Much like the Masters in Golf IMO it would be the one everyone wants to win!

I think the French Open matches Wimbledon in terms of desirability. To hold Wimbledon ahead of the French Open is to say that the serve-volleyer is a superior tennis player to the baseline slogger. Having said that, your point about the pristine nature of Wimbledon is well made. It does look better, right down to those immaculate courts versus the dust bowls of Roland Garros
Post by: Bogball XV on July 04, 2011, 12:27:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 10:51:37 AMOn a related note, is Wimbledon the most prestigous of the Grand Slams?  I'm just asking as the players tend to say it is, but then they're being interviewed on BBC, do they say likewise about the other tournaments?

Yeah, I'd agree about the masters being the most prestigous, but you always hear the british open (The Open) winner saying that it's the oldest and most important, that he's dreamed of winning it since being a kid etc too...  There'll always be a bit of that playing to your audience of course, just wondering about the tennis situation.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2013, 08:01:19 PM
Nadal out of Wimbledon, big big shock.

Watched a doc on Andy Murray last night, was very good
Post by: michaelg on June 24, 2013, 08:15:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2013, 08:01:19 PM
Nadal out of Wimbledon, big big shock.

Watched a doc on Andy Murray last night, was very good
Thought Murray came across really well.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2013, 08:32:16 PM
Feck it. Still waiting for a rematch of Federer-Nadal on grass. The 2008 final was easily the best game of tennis I've ever seen.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2013, 08:52:35 PM
Wee bit of thread maintenance required on the subject line there Gallsman  ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on June 24, 2013, 09:08:38 PM
Nadal was awesome in the French Open, obviously that's clay court but you would never expect him to be making a first round exit, made a shock second round exit last year too. Federer will fancy his chances to regain the title now. Djokovic & Murray will no doubt be in the running too..
Post by: Hardy on June 24, 2013, 09:42:49 PM
Someone on BBC said that was Nadal's first game on grass this year. Presumably he was trading off preparation against stress on his knee as grass is apparently much harder on his knee problem than clay or synthetic.
Post by: theticklemister on June 24, 2013, 11:23:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 24, 2013, 09:42:49 PM
Someone on BBC said that was Nadal's first game on grass this year. Presumably he was trading off preparation against stress on his knee as grass is apparently much harder on his knee problem than clay or synthetic.

Haven't played in grass this year meself; but I can still knock the points over the bar
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 01:29:24 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 24, 2013, 09:08:38 PM
Nadal was awesome in the French Open, obviously that's clay court but you would never expect him to be making a first round exit, made a shock second round exit last year too. Federer will fancy his chances to regain the title now. Djokovic & Murray will no doubt be in the running too..

Retain. He won it last year!

Devastated that Nadal is out. Inexplicable to lose like that two years in a row, especially after he worked so hard to ensure he goes down as an all time great rather than a clay court specialist. Have been waiting for the next installment of Federer-Nadal at Wimbledon for five years now. Like Pacquiao and Mayweather, it doesn't look as if it will ever happen :(

Tony, I'd change it if I had the slightest clue where to begin.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 25, 2013, 01:31:14 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 01:29:24 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 24, 2013, 09:08:38 PM

Retain. He won it last year!

Devastated that Nadal is out. Inexplicable to lose like that two years in a row, especially after he worked so hard to ensure he goes down as an all time great rather than a clay court specialist. Have been waiting for the next installment of Federer-Nadal at Wimbledon for five years now. Like Pacquiao and Mayweather, it doesn't look as if it will ever happen :(

Tony, I'd change it if I had the slightest clue where to begin.

Yeah wrong word - obviously meant retain.
Title: Re: Wimbledon 2013
Post by: gallsman on June 27, 2013, 02:37:48 PM
Wimbledon went into absolute meltdown yesterday with Federer and Sharapova beaten and an absolute rake of retirements and withdrawals.

Highest seed left in Murray's half of the draw is 15. Surely the men's tournament is just a procession to a Djokovic-Murray final now.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 27, 2013, 02:48:13 PM

Did Dominika Cibulkova make it this year?

(http://coedbc.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/dominika_cibulkova_5.jpg)
Post by: mouview on June 27, 2013, 03:35:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 27, 2013, 02:37:48 PM
Wimbledon went into absolute meltdown yesterday with Federer and Sharapova beaten and an absolute rake of retirements and withdrawals.

Highest seed left in Murray's half of the draw is 15. Surely the men's tournament is just a procession to a Djokovic-Murray final now.

Maybe others such as Raonic, Dmititrov, Del Potro can step up to the plate.

Though he's won 5 'Slam titles in the meantime, I don't think Fed' has been the same player as before since Nadal beat him in the astonishing final of '08. Just hasn't had the same air of invincibility I think.

Post by: Orior on June 27, 2013, 05:28:31 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 27, 2013, 02:48:13 PM

Did Dominika Cibulkova make it this year?

(http://coedbc.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/dominika_cibulkova_5.jpg)

(http://gifrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/jonah-hill-shock.gif)
Post by: deiseach on June 27, 2013, 05:30:12 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 27, 2013, 05:28:31 PM

:P
Post by: Denn Forever on June 29, 2013, 03:56:02 PM
Is that Brian Ivers that is doing the commentary on TG4? 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 03:39:42 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2013, 03:17:46 PM
Serena Williams has just been knocked out.

What happened her, did someone clatter her with a racquet?
Post by: Count 10 on July 01, 2013, 03:40:11 PM

Hope it was Audley Harrison ;)
Post by: kilkenny footballer on July 01, 2013, 03:58:20 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 18, 2009, 10:12:39 PM
Touchy.
its too rough for him and its just right for us!!
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2013, 07:28:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 04, 2011, 01:00:40 AM

Murray with a bit of luck (an injury here or a great fortnight there) could win an Australian or a US Open.

This er prediction might get tested this week.
Post by: Orior on July 01, 2013, 08:43:14 PM

Yeah yeah, but her arse is still playing in the next round.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 01, 2013, 10:00:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2013, 07:28:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 04, 2011, 01:00:40 AM

This er prediction might get tested this week.

Did he not win a Grand Slam?

Forget what the British media say ffs, Murray comes accross as a decent lad and I hope he wins as many Grand Slams as the rest, Nadal is suffering big time with injuries Fed is coming to that stage were he'll struggle and the man who'll win more titles will be Djokovic, I think Djokovic will win this year, Murray is playing well and hasn't lost a set so give him some credit.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2013, 10:01:04 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 01, 2013, 08:43:14 PM

Yeah yeah, but her arse is still playing in the next round.

Her arse was playing on the next court when I was watching.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2013, 10:02:34 PM
Murray has a major.

To be fair to the guy he is very good. Just unfortunate to come along at the same time as federer, nadal and djokovic.

I think there are a few more majors in him too.
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2013, 10:18:26 PM
Quote from: Count 10 on July 01, 2013, 03:40:11 PM

Hope it was Audley Harrison ;)

That would be a first for him then.
Post by: Capt Pat on July 01, 2013, 11:32:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 03:39:42 PM

No some German beat her. Who is the favourite now?
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2013, 11:35:21 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on July 01, 2013, 11:32:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 03:39:42 PM

No some German beat her. Who is the favourite now?

Probably the one with the belly, Kvikova. Would like to see Lisicki win it.
Post by: mouview on July 02, 2013, 11:32:40 AM

Should have more time to spend with the boyf... er... coach now.
Post by: muppet on July 02, 2013, 02:51:26 PM
@Milltown Row2 & @imtommygunn

Check the date of the original prediction.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 02, 2013, 03:10:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 02, 2013, 02:51:26 PM
@Milltown Row2 & @imtommygunn

Check the date of the original prediction.

Ahhhh
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2013, 05:11:33 PM
Fantastic semi-final in progress between Djokovic and Del Potro. Final set just starting. Three tie-breaks and Del Potro won the other 6-4.
Post by: muppet on July 05, 2013, 05:13:10 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 05, 2013, 05:11:33 PM
Fantastic semi-final in progress between Djokovic and Del Potro. Final set just starting. Three tie-breaks and Del Potro won the other 6-4.

Unbelievable game.
Post by: deiseach on July 05, 2013, 05:26:40 PM
If tennis was ever better than it is now, it must have been pretty special. So many five-set blockbusters between great players.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 05, 2013, 05:27:29 PM
Fascinating stuff alright. Del Potro looks out on his feet but still comes up with the big points.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2013, 05:30:46 PM
Sorry - just for accuracy, it was two tie breaks. Del Potro's score:

5-7, 6-4, 6-7, 7-6. On serve in the fifth 2-2.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 05, 2013, 05:35:40 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 05, 2013, 05:26:40 PM
If tennis was ever better than it is now, it must have been pretty special. So many five-set blockbusters between great players.

Have to agree. I well remember Borg, McEnroe, Connors, Nastase et al and although I'm not a tennis fan I think that I'm looking back at that period through tinted glasses. Today's big players are just phenomenal athletes with skill levels I've never seen before. 
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2013, 05:36:56 PM
Del Potro had lost the last 4 times he has went to 5 sets.
Post by: Count 10 on July 05, 2013, 05:55:44 PM
Make that 5 8)
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 05, 2013, 05:57:04 PM
That was phenomenal. Credit to both players.
Post by: mouview on July 05, 2013, 06:01:47 PM
Djoko' must be pound-for-pound the best value for money sportsperson on the planet. How many 5-set epic matches has he been involved in at this stage? Surely Del Potro is good (and young) enough to win Wimbledon sometime.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2013, 06:22:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 05, 2013, 05:36:56 PM
Del Potro had lost the last 4 times he has went to 5 sets.
No balls...
Post by: ballinaman on July 05, 2013, 07:01:10 PM
The K Tape the polish lad has on his right arm is ridiculous.   Pointless
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2013, 08:03:46 PM
Reminds me - what ever happened to nose clips?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2013, 08:30:41 PM
Th wheels are coming off this polish wagon!!!
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2013, 08:32:26 PM
Do I not like that
Post by: SHEEDY on July 05, 2013, 08:39:21 PM
g'wan andy ye boy ye  ;)
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2013, 08:43:33 PM
The Polish ladeen's got a good noggin on his head. Huge advantage for him to have the roof closing break now.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 05, 2013, 09:00:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 05, 2013, 08:43:33 PM
The Polish ladeen's got a good noggin on his head. Huge advantage for him to have the roof closing break now.

Closest we'll get to winning Wimbledon....gwan ya big Pole ye ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 05, 2013, 09:08:02 PM
Been a cracking day of tennis.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 05, 2013, 09:34:12 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 05, 2013, 09:08:02 PM
Been a cracking day of tennis.
very much so sue!  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2013, 12:16:39 AM
Fair play to Murray. Fantastic for him to compete in a second successive final and win his fifth semi final. Can't see him winning as Novak is something else
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2013, 12:35:08 AM
Dunno. Murray is consistent. Few errors. I take Murray to win.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 06, 2013, 01:07:27 AM
Lisicki and murray to win
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 01:12:15 AM
Would love to see Murry win and I think he will.
Post by: Apparently so on July 06, 2013, 02:41:33 AM
Tennis 

LOL
Post by: muppet on July 06, 2013, 10:37:15 AM
Quote from: Apparently so on July 06, 2013, 02:41:33 AM
Tennis 

LOL

Fun is a waste of time.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 06, 2013, 10:37:42 AM
Quote from: Apparently so on July 06, 2013, 02:41:33 AM
Tennis 

LOL

Lol ;D.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 06, 2013, 10:54:21 AM
I miss the shrieking.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 07, 2013, 02:10:02 PM
Sue Barker will implode if Murray doesn't win.

People have queued for two days, to watch the game on a big screen on a hill outside the main arena. Its a fecked up world.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2013, 02:33:12 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on July 06, 2013, 01:07:27 AM
Lisicki and murray to win
Hopefully your tip for the mens is as good as the womens.
That heat might fcuk Djokovic after his match with Del Potro.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 07, 2013, 05:24:18 PM
And the winner of the 2013 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award is........................................
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 05:25:57 PM
Well done Murray a great British lad.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 05:26:39 PM
If Mayo win an AI that will be the emotion!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 07, 2013, 05:29:09 PM
Fair play to Murray.. Great win for the Scots.
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 07, 2013, 05:30:11 PM
There won't be a cow milked in SW13 for a week!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 07, 2013, 05:34:36 PM
Outstanding and a great win for Murray, hopefully he'll continue to win a few more grand slams
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:43:24 PM
good to see a scot (not a brit as be the case in the papers) win the one that matters in tennis
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 07, 2013, 05:48:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:43:24 PM
good to see a scot (not a brit as be the case in the papers) win the one that matters in tennis

That's it everyones bangs on about the papers, the same papers that give him a hard time about supporting any team bar England in the World Cup one year, I doubt very much that any creditable sports players reads those rags
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 06:13:25 PM
Brilliant display by Murray today.

After the BOD affair, I think it's time to abandon our smugness about British sporting jingoism.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2013, 06:21:04 PM
Saw nothing of it but I too would like to jump on the Andy Murray bandwagon and congratulate him.

I am sure he was waiting for my approval.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2013, 06:29:07 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2013, 06:21:04 PM
Saw nothing of it but I too would like to jump on the Andy Murray bandwagon and congratulate him.

I am sure he was waiting for my approval.
You've made all the years of pain worthwhile.
Post by: Count 10 on July 07, 2013, 07:06:44 PM
Well done Murray 8)
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2013, 07:12:57 PM
Fred Perry can finally concentrate on his clothing empire.
Post by: muppet on July 07, 2013, 07:32:46 PM
And England's 77 year wait for a mens Wimbledon Champion..........

.....goes on.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2013, 07:34:56 PM
Brillian performance. Was delihed o see i.

abcdefhijklmnopqrsuvwxyz. he ' ' and he ' ' don' seem o be workin.
Post by: muppet on July 07, 2013, 07:35:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 07, 2013, 07:34:56 PM
Brillian performance. Was delihed o see i.

abcdefhijklmnopqrsuvwxyz. he ' ' and he ' ' don' seem o be workin.

Still in Roscommon?
Post by: Orior on July 07, 2013, 09:06:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 07, 2013, 07:32:46 PM

.....goes on.

lol.

Well done Murray. Good to see at least one Scottish Saltire being waved at the finish (Alex Salmon)

Great day for the Celts - Murray, McDowell and Martin
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2013, 09:34:43 PM
Always a rossie around.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOksP4_CQAERjVV.jpg:large)
Post by: Capt Pat on July 07, 2013, 09:45:15 PM
There will be no more quest for the next British winner at Wimbledon. That will take away from the BBCs coverage of the event.
Post by: Orior on July 07, 2013, 09:48:41 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 07, 2013, 09:34:43 PM
Always a rossie around.

Brilliant!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 09:49:02 PM
Always a rossie around.

He looks rather fat?
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 11:04:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 09:49:02 PM
Always a rossie around.

He looks rather fat?

For God's sake Donie's had a hamstring injury all year!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 11:32:03 PM
Yahoo has him down for knighted and greatest brit ever, wish he grow a set and say he scottish first and foremost lol
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2013, 11:38:57 PM
Bu he is Briish
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 07, 2013, 11:40:03 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 11:32:03 PM
Yahoo has him down for knighted and greatest brit ever, wish he grow a set and say he scottish first and foremost lol

He's never said he's been anything other than Scottish, I'd say after todays final he has a set that are a lot bigger than yours ;)

Hes as british as you O'Neill
Post by: Orior on July 08, 2013, 12:04:55 AM
Here O'Neill, you can borrow these:
T T T T T T T T TT T T T T T T T T

and these:
t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t t

Don't use them all at once.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2013, 12:06:23 AM
Yrone haven't a hope of winning Sam.
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2013, 12:19:37 AM
I need some  oo  - like race or ranada or rapes or reece or raham Noron.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 08, 2013, 08:15:48 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 07, 2013, 07:32:46 PM

.....goes on.

Quality!
Post by: Denn Forever on July 08, 2013, 12:05:22 PM
Sir Andy Murray (according to David Cameron).
Post by: seafoid on July 08, 2013, 01:03:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 07, 2013, 11:38:57 PM
Bu he is Briish
You are supposed to be too.
Post by: Orior on July 08, 2013, 03:59:44 PM
Did anyone see His Royalty come out for the prize giving at the end of the match?

He walked out to a guard of honour formed by the ball boys and ball girls. He walked over to one girl and said "those are impressive breasts for a fifteen year old. Do you exercise?"
Post by: Estimator on July 08, 2013, 04:07:23 PM
He will probably never get an easier run to a final. 

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

Djokovic is the only player inside the top 20 that he had to play.
Post by: deiseach on July 08, 2013, 04:17:21 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 08, 2013, 04:07:23 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

So out of seven rounds, he met two players he wouldn't have otherwise expected to meet. It's hardly won-the-Euromillions lucky.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 08, 2013, 04:26:05 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

His easy run is like the easy run Kerry get every year in Munster until the final.
I suppose he can only beat what's in front of him, beat the number one seed in the final, that was the real tester.
Post by: Estimator on July 08, 2013, 07:19:53 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 08, 2013, 04:17:21 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

So out of seven rounds, he met two players he wouldn't have otherwise expected to meet. It's hardly won-the-Euromillions lucky.
It's all about the small margins. It could be the difference between a straight sets victory and a longer four or five set match.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 08, 2013, 08:43:32 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

"you can only dance with the girls that are in the hall"
Post by: heganboy on July 08, 2013, 09:20:39 PM
one does not simply walk into winning wimbledon
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 08, 2013, 10:22:50 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 08, 2013, 08:43:32 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

"you can only dance with the girls that are in the hall"
Stevie Wonder could see it was fixed.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2013, 09:19:11 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 08, 2013, 07:19:53 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

It's all about the small margins. It could be the difference between a straight sets victory and a longer four or five set match.

Who did  N Djokovic  meet on the way to the final? Hmmmm, as for the girl that won the ladies she by all accounts shouldn't have won the final, Wigan the FA Cup and the list goes on, what a nob-ish view on things, N Djokovic is the best player out there by a wide margin I was surprised that Murray won but on the day N Djokovic had no answer to Murray, he didn't show up to lose but lost in 3 straight sets, but sure its a fix  :P
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2013, 10:45:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2013, 09:19:11 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

Who did  N Djokovic  meet on the way to the final? Hmmmm, as for the girl that won the ladies she by all accounts shouldn't have won the final, Wigan the FA Cup and the list goes on, what a nob-ish view on things, N Djokovic is the best player out there by a wide margin I was surprised that Murray won but on the day N Djokovic had no answer to Murray, he didn't show up to lose but lost in 3 straight sets, but sure its a fix  :P

Djokovic had to play 3 top 20 players on route to the final:

Jeremy Chardy = 28th seed
Tommy Haas = 13th seed
Tomas Berdych = 7th seed
Del Potro = 8th seed

I never said that he shouldn't have won, just that he had a handier run than he would have expected. It's rare not to have to play some highly ranked players on the way. Murray may have beaten Roger, Rafa et al had he played them, but he didn't have to.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 09, 2013, 10:53:05 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 09, 2013, 10:45:29 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

Tommy Haas = 13th seed
Tomas Berdych = 7th seed
Del Potro = 8th seed

I never said that he shouldn't have won, just that he had a handier run than he would have expected. It's rare not to have to play some highly ranked players on the way. Murray may have beaten Roger, Rafa et al had he played them, but he didn't have to.

No matter what, he still had to beat the main man, who only dropped one set before the semi. Job done and fair play, he's no rookie he also won the US Open and the Olympics
Post by: johnneycool on July 10, 2013, 08:39:57 AM
Quote from: Estimator on July 09, 2013, 10:45:29 PM

B Becker - Unseeded
Yen-Hsun Lu - Unseeded
T Robredo - 32
M Youzhny - 20
F Verdasco - Unseeded
J Janowicz - 24
N Djokovic - 1

Tommy Haas = 13th seed
Tomas Berdych = 7th seed
Del Potro = 8th seed

If all the top seeds were on one side of the draw then you might have had a point, initially it looked like Murray was on the tough side with Nadal and Federer. It's hardly Murrays fault that Nadal got injured and Federer got beat by an outsider who himself got injured in the next round.