GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:09:23 PM

Poll
Question: Why are there more posts on the Cricket thread than on combination of the Munster Final + Derry v Tyrone threads?
Option 1: Early season apathy, it'll pick up later votes: 26
Option 2: Poor quality of gaelic games this year votes: 11
Option 3: Cricket is the future votes: 27
Title: Is the Gaa dying on the GaaBoard?
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:09:23 PM
52 pages on the Irish Cricket team in the General section and only 28 for Derry Tyrone (I know there will be more before the weekend) and 24 for the Munster Final which included a replay.

What's the story, this is a Gaa website?
Title: Re: Is the Gaa dying on the GaaBoard?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 16, 2009, 03:10:58 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:09:23 PM
52 pages on the Irish Cricket team in the General section and only 28 for Derry Tyrone (I know there will be more before the weekend) and 24 for the Munster Final which included a replay.

What's the story, this is a Gaa website?

That thread was started on March 5th, 2007
Post by: longball on June 16, 2009, 03:11:48 PM
The board in general is dying a death at the minute to be honest.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on June 16, 2009, 03:12:16 PM
And its about an entire tournament
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:13:05 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on June 16, 2009, 03:12:16 PM

So is the Munster Final.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 03:15:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:13:05 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on June 16, 2009, 03:12:16 PM

So is the Munster Final.

There isnt that many Munster posters on here, and with the qualifers interest in these games has fallen.
Post by: Rois on June 16, 2009, 03:16:02 PM
Pages since Tyrone/Derry thread created: 28
Cricket pages since Tyrone/Derry thread created: 8

Don't panic.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2009, 03:16:49 PM
Quote from: longball on June 16, 2009, 03:11:48 PM

says the fella who started a Miss GAABoard thread
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:17:38 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 16, 2009, 03:16:02 PM
Pages since Tyrone/Derry thread created: 28
Cricket pages since Tyrone/Derry thread created: 8

Don't panic.

Rois, it's Cricket. Do you think cricket boards have threads about Derry v Tyrone?
Post by: screenexile on June 16, 2009, 03:19:10 PM
Yeah the cricket thread started over 2 years ago during the world cup and has covered a lot of tournaments. I wouldn't be too worried about it.
Post by: Gnevin on June 16, 2009, 03:20:10 PM
Just like society ,people have been claiming the board is going to hell since it was invent .
Post by: longball on June 16, 2009, 03:22:12 PM
Think its about time the board was advertised a bit better get some new fish on board. Im from Tyrone and there is a strong northern group of posters but there are hardly and Munster ones and hardly any Dubs either.
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2009, 03:16:49 PM

says the fella who started a Miss GAABoard thread

The Miss GAAboard is a perfect example, there was near 1000 posts in 5 days on this thread and near 10000 views, 70 something pages, it was an innoative thread unless I start a thread no1 wants to know about it. I am incredible. but a bad speller.

when i joined the board there was far more talk in the GAA threads than there is now. Even in the Tyrone club thread in the middle of the season there is only a small amount of chat. HOGANSTAND has far more!!!!!!!
Post by: Rois on June 16, 2009, 03:24:55 PM
Sure with the number of GAA fans on here, you'd be surprised if they didn't have a bit of interest in other sports.  

Quote from: longball on June 16, 2009, 03:22:12 PM
Even in the Tyrone club thread in the middle of the season there is only a small amount of chat. HOGANSTAND has far more!!!!!!!

How true.  I bet if you started up a Miss Hogan Stand thread over there you'd be a hero there too.  Let us know how you get on.
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:25:12 PM
This is not meant to join the annual 'the board is dying' threads.

This is about the level of interest in the Gaa on the board.

The Lions thread has as many pages as Cork v Kerry and they are only playing friendlies in the run up to the test match. How many threads have we on Gaa challenge matches?

The Football trivia thread has the same number of pages and it started mid April.

Post by: longball on June 16, 2009, 03:28:40 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 16, 2009, 03:24:55 PM
Sure with the number of GAA fans on here, you'd be surprised if they didn't have a bit of interest in other sports.  

Even in the Tyrone club thread in the middle of the season there is only a small amount of chat. HOGANSTAND has far more!!!!!!!

How true.  I bet if you started up a Miss Hogan Stand thread over there you'd be a hero there too.  Let us know how you get on.

I have NEVER nor WILL EVER post to hoganstand. The reason being is that i dont know what the under 16 team of the year should be. I was just making a point that GAAboard was supppose to be a point for mature GAA fans but as Muppet has said the interest in the GAA side of it has dipped over recent months which is suprising considering we have started into the championship.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2009, 03:30:43 PM
Muppet here are your posting stats

General discussion       1857
GAA Discussion       670
Hurling Discussion       54
Local GAA Discussion       20

Maybe you need to talk GAA more and we will follow.... ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 03:32:30 PM
Derry V Monaghan thread has 70 or 80 pages and still going strong.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2009, 03:34:20 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 03:32:30 PM

the last 59 pages are all cribbing and crying to be fair  :D
Post by: Rois on June 16, 2009, 03:34:59 PM
Time for a re-introduction of the GAA(board) Rule 42?  

C'mon, solutions not problems.  

The two sections of the board are not mutually exclusive.  Have GAA posts really fallen, or have the non-GAA posts increased?

And sure Tyrone don't play challenge matches so I've no interest in them.  
Post by: Gnevin on June 16, 2009, 03:35:07 PM
Think its about time the board was advertised a bit better get some new fish on board. Im from Tyrone and there is a strong northern group of posters but there are hardly and Munster ones and hardly any Dubs either.
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2009, 03:16:49 PM

You need to be very thick skinned to be a Dublin on this board.
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:35:19 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2009, 03:30:43 PM

GAA Discussion       670

You are right, but the question still stands. We have threads on rugby friendlies which I have posted on, Cricket which I have posted on, soccer trivia which I have pointed on. I post on the Gaa threads relevant to Mayo and the occasional other Gaa thread which interests me, but there is a shortage of them. That is my point.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 03:35:32 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2009, 03:34:20 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 16, 2009, 03:32:30 PM

the last 59 pages are all cribbing and crying to be fair  :D

Thats true  :D
Post by: bingobus on June 16, 2009, 04:07:56 PM
I have noted that a lot of Forums be it soccer/gaa/general are not as busy/popular as they where.

Maybe people are working harder or unemployed now!!

I know that the rest of the GAA scene would have little interest to me as regards discussing it. Its probably a weakness of the All-Ireland and provincal set up, that Kildare V Wexford has very little impact outside them 2 counties and Laois who is waiting for them. A match in the EPL will have more interest to others as the result will have a bearing on the league table.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 16, 2009, 04:10:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2009, 03:25:12 PM
This is not meant to join the annual 'the board is dying' threads.

This is about the level of interest in the Gaa on the board.

The Lions thread has as many pages as Cork v Kerry and they are only playing friendlies in the run up to the test match. How many threads have we on Gaa challenge matches?

The Football trivia thread has the same number of pages and it started mid April.

I have to say I agree. Think the GAA talk on the forum has been noticeably quiet this year. We definitely suffer from a lack of geographical balance. Very hard for anyone to have a conversation about a lot of counties because either no one's interested or, in the case of Munster threads, it sometimes gets hijacked by the Tyrone / Kerry thing. There are certainly a number of posters who spend a lot of time on the board but seem to have little interest in discussing Gaelic Games. Now obviously the non-GAA section is an important part of the board and I use it all the time myself but I've never quite understood the mentality of people who seem to be on here to discuss almost exclusively anything except the GAA.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 04:43:05 PM
I cant for the life of me understand Sligo v Galway thread is basically dormant, 2 pages and little interest on either side. Just dont really understand to be honest.

Didnt know you could look at stats of individual members but glad when I seen mine.
Post by: Bud Wiser on June 16, 2009, 04:45:16 PM
There is not enough rows anymore.
Post by: SidelineKick on June 16, 2009, 04:46:33 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 16, 2009, 04:45:16 PM

F*ck up you pr1ck.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 04:47:37 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 04:43:05 PM
I cant for the life of me understand Sligo v Galway thread is basically dormant, 2 pages and little interest on either side. Just dont really understand to be honest.

Didnt know you could look at stats of individual members but glad when I seen mine.

in fairness Sligonian you can't be accused of showing a lack of interest . I'd say if there was no one around to talk football with you would talk to yourself   ;) :D
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 04:48:34 PM

Yea, but you voted that Cricket was the Future.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 04:48:47 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 16, 2009, 04:45:16 PM

the board members aren't big enough to start a fight with bud  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on June 16, 2009, 04:50:05 PM
Too many posters told to bugger off if they aren't from the 2 counties playing the match.
Post by: full back on June 16, 2009, 04:53:04 PM
imho, It has been a very low key start to the championship

Bar the Cork/Kerry games & Armagh/Tyrone game you would hardly have known the games were on.

The season will get into full swing when the Dubs get up and running. Their game with Meath was very low key, if it had been a ding dong battle things would be different
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 16, 2009, 05:09:39 PM

Most of the Galway posters on here generally only make an appearance in the week before the team are playing and the few days after the match. They then disappear into the ether again until the next game.

That thread will probably be busier next week but sure what can you say anyway until the teams are announced? (I realise the Mayo lads can fill 30 pages in about 2 weeks with every single permutation of team selection possible along with what the squad are eating for breakfast and probably who they are sleeping with as well). ;)
Post by: mannix on June 16, 2009, 05:15:16 PM
these computers have the gaaboard destroyed.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 05:21:54 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 16, 2009, 05:09:39 PM

Most of the Galway posters on here generally only make an appearance in the week before the team are playing and the few days after the match. They then disappear into the ether again until the next game.

That thread will probably be busier next week but sure what can you say anyway until the teams are announced? (I realise the Mayo lads can fill 30 pages in about 2 weeks with every single permutation of team selection possible along with what the squad are eating for breakfast and probably who they are sleeping with as well). ;)

aye ye galway boys are cute gbb ye wouldn't let your left hand know what your right hand was doing , for feck sake there was only 2 pages on Joyce been dropped from the panel and most of those posts were from us mayo lads any way is he back now or what  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 16, 2009, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 05:21:54 PM

aye ye galway boys are cute gbb ye wouldn't let your left hand know what your right hand was doing , for feck sake there was only 2 pages on Joyce been dropped from the panel and most of those posts were from us mayo lads any way is he back now or what  ;)

In fairness I don't think we could have said much more on Nicky as I doubt we'd get away with saying the actual reason why he was dropped from the panel.

I think there's a chance he might be back after the Sligo game but hard to say. Sammon didn't exactly shut the door on him entirely.
Post by: longball on June 16, 2009, 05:26:06 PM
People keeping their clubs hidden as well doesnt help.

Im not telling you my club thou cause all the boys would pick on me if they knew it was me posting
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 05:28:30 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 16, 2009, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 16, 2009, 05:21:54 PM

In fairness I don't think we could have said much more on Nicky as I doubt we'd get away with saying the actual reason why he was dropped from the panel.I think there's a chance he might be back after the Sligo game but hard to say. Sammon didn't exactly shut the door on him entirely.

it can't have been that bad   
Post by: Gnevin on June 16, 2009, 05:34:00 PM
Quote from: mannix on June 16, 2009, 05:15:16 PM
these computers have the gaaboard destroyed.

Good one
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 06:02:40 PM

GAA Discussion       670

That's a damning statistic. You have posted 1857 times on non-gaa matters and 744 on gaa matters and then start a thread like this. I think it's time you fcuked up before you really make me mad. Ok. Antrim abu.
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 06:06:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 06:02:40 PM

GAA Discussion       670

That's a damning statistic. You have posted 1857 times on non-gaa matters and 744 on gaa matters and then start a thread like this. I think it's time you fcuked up before you really make me mad. Ok. Antrim abu.

Morning Shane.
Post by: Zulu on June 16, 2009, 07:58:04 PM
I think there is a bit of over reaction going on here, but the one thing that does surprise me is the lack of interest many posters have in game snot involving their own county. Some lads will give an opinion on many of the big games, especially post match but a lot of others don't seem to have any interest at all, which I find strange.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 16, 2009, 08:08:17 PM
87 pages on the Derry Monaghan game. 

Its dying surely.

Post by: bcarrier on June 16, 2009, 09:15:39 PM
Too much twittering ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 16, 2009, 09:18:22 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 16, 2009, 07:58:04 PM
I think there is a bit of over reaction going on here, but the one thing that does surprise me is the lack of interest many posters have in game snot involving their own county. Some lads will give an opinion on many of the big games, especially post match but a lot of others don't seem to have any interest at all, which I find strange.
Just because people don't give their opinion on games doesnt mean they're not interested zulu. 
Post by: Hardy on June 16, 2009, 09:19:44 PM
The back door is ruining the GAA board.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2009, 09:20:59 PM
Leave out the board in your sentence hardy and I'll agree with you on that one.
Post by: Zulu on June 16, 2009, 09:23:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 16, 2009, 09:18:22 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 16, 2009, 07:58:04 PM
Just because people don't give their opinion on games doesnt mean they're not interested zulu. 

Fair enough but this is a discussion board, if people keep their opinions to themselves it doesn't make for great discussions.
Post by: seafoid on June 16, 2009, 09:27:58 PM
A question as perennial as Posh spice and her cellulite. It must be June.

I think a lot of the posters are finding it hard to get credit from the ACC . The other thing is the championship is a bit anglo Irish bank in the weeks before the quarter finals , a bit of a zombie. Most of the players couldn't care less about winning or losing , a bit like AIB management there last year.  They know they will be bailed out by the back door.

Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 09:30:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 16, 2009, 09:27:58 PM
A question as perennial as Posh spice and her cellulite. It must be June.

I think a lot of the posters are finding it hard to get credit from the ACC . The other thing is the championship is a bit anglo Irish bank in the weeks before the quarter finals , a bit of a zombie. Most of the players couldn't care less about winning or losing , a bit like AIB management there last year.  They know they will be bailed out by the back door.

Welcome bank Seafoid.
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2009, 09:50:47 PM
You should be thankful you have the chance to post or not post, i dont have access to the board at work anymore  :'(
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 16, 2009, 09:53:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2009, 09:50:47 PM
You should be thankful you have the chance to post or not post, i dont have access to the board at work anymore  :'(
Neither do i.  Head office data centre team now manage internet access so it's blocked under 'web chat'
Post by: Stalin on June 16, 2009, 10:38:25 PM
Too many women using shite text speak and talking about shite and getting stalked by ziggy, clutters up the whole thing
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 11:13:14 PM
The non-gaa section can be ignored if it bothers people. I would probably only open 3-4 threads in that section as you can usually tell by the originator that it's simply a back-slapping, aren't we great slabbering session. Although it's true that it does attract the moths who just want to use it as a tete-a-tete juvenile flirting chatroom, they generally don't invade the gaa section too often.

I actually think the gaa section is healthy right now. You have to go well into the second page to access threads that have been added to today.
Post by: Orior on June 16, 2009, 11:17:13 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 16, 2009, 09:53:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2009, 09:50:47 PM
Neither do i.  Head office data centre team now manage internet access so it's blocked under 'web chat'

Bastardos!

Well, as long as soccer sites are banned too, its probably all the the best.
Post by: Lecale2 on June 16, 2009, 11:19:34 PM
It's away to the dogs. Not the same craic. Shut her down.

Buy Gaelic Life on a Friday instead.
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 11:26:10 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on June 16, 2009, 11:19:34 PM
It's away to the dogs. Not the same craic. Shut her down.

Buy Gaelic Life on a Friday instead.

Yes, Lecale1 was better craic. What happened to him anyways?
Post by: Lecale2 on June 16, 2009, 11:32:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 11:26:10 PM

Yes, Lecale1 was better craic. What happened to him anyways?

One of the times we changed boards I had to move up a numeral. He was better craic but I'm getting Old!
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2009, 12:23:15 PM
17 poster think Cricket is the Future.

Pat Spillane for silly point?
Post by: longball on June 17, 2009, 01:04:22 PM
GAA is dying a death on the board. I tried to start a debate on Tyrone club website re best players outside of the county panel got two replies.
Post by: ziggysego on June 17, 2009, 03:07:43 PM
I fully accept my part in the decline and apologise. Will wind the neck in.
Post by: Lecale2 on June 17, 2009, 03:11:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 17, 2009, 03:07:43 PM
I fully accept my part in the decline and apologise. Will wind the neck in.

It's not always about you Ziggy!
Post by: Main Street on June 17, 2009, 03:14:59 PM
Is this a subliminal  'Tyrone are in decline'  rumour.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 17, 2009, 11:04:21 PM
Word of mouth is everything imo, it's how I found this place and I know many others who lurk here everyday just for local GAA news.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on June 18, 2009, 12:24:05 AM
The "Public Services" In N. Ireland are reportedly getting rid off 100,000 workers over the next two years. I f that is the case, there will virtually be no posters from the North on this Board.  ;D ;D ;D