GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: wobbller on June 10, 2009, 03:09:37 PM

Title: Qualifiers
Post by: wobbller on June 10, 2009, 03:09:37 PM
 When is the draw for the 1st Round?
Title: Re: Qualifiers
Post by: INDIANA on June 10, 2009, 03:21:12 PM
I don't think its until the provincial semis are all played.
Post by: meathie on June 10, 2009, 05:39:08 PM
draw on the 21st June I think
Post by: thejuice on June 14, 2009, 09:10:26 AM
So whose going into the drum now then some big names in there already, Kerry, Armagh, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Meath. Could be some interesting clashes early on.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 14, 2009, 10:17:27 AM
Quote from: thejuice on June 14, 2009, 09:10:26 AM
So whose going into the drum now then some big names in there already, Kerry, Armagh, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Meath. Could be some interesting clashes early on.

I may be wrong but i think Kerry arent in the first qualifer round.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 14, 2009, 11:02:48 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on June 14, 2009, 10:17:27 AM
Quote from: thejuice on June 14, 2009, 09:10:26 AM

I may be wrong but i think Kerry arent in the first qualifer round.

They definitely aren't.
Post by: carnaross on June 14, 2009, 11:17:12 AM
Why?
Post by: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 11:32:55 AM
No I think Kerry go into the drum in the second round because they are beaten semi finalists not a beaten first round team. As far as I know Kerry, Clare, Mayo/Ros, Gal/Sligo, Derry/Tyrone etc. will join the winners of the first round in the second round of qualifiers.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 06:55:49 PM
First Round ---
London/Leitrim
Tipp/Waterford
Down/Armagh/Monaghan/Fermanagh/Donegal
Louth/Meath/Longford/Offaly/Wexford/Wicklow/Carlow.

In Round 2 awaiting the winners of Round 1
Kerry/Clare
Ros or Mayo/Sligo or Galway
Cavan or Antrim/Tyrone or Derry
Dublin or Westmeath/Kildare or Laois.

I'm looking forward to watching the Mayo v Kerry 2nd Round game the evening before the Connacht Final  :P

Please Lord  ::)
Post by: jimbo on June 14, 2009, 06:58:14 PM
Quote from: carnaross on June 14, 2009, 11:17:12 AM
Why?

Because Cork already played a match.  ::)  By that reckoning Fermanagh should be in the 2nd Round qualifiers!!!
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 07:07:57 PM

Only losing Semi Finalists ( and of course first round Qlfr winners) make Round 2.
Post by: Mayo Mick on June 14, 2009, 07:18:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 06:55:49 PM
First Round ---
London/Leitrim
Tipp/Waterford

In Round 2 awaiting the winners of Round 1
Kerry/Clare
Ros or Mayo/Sligo or Galway
Cavan or Antrim/Tyrone or Derry
Dublin or Westmeath/Kildare or Laois.

I'm looking forward to watching the Mayo v Kerry 2nd Round game the evening before the Connacht Final  :P

Please Lord  ::)

You should be doing novenas that its not ye are not drawn against Kerry in Killarney and facing another stuffing along the lines ye will get from us next Saturday. Ye might be wishing that ye had lost to Leitrim and that Tipp or Waterford would have put ye out of yer misery in round 1 and out of the public spotlight. Sometimes ye are to be pitied.
Post by: Barney on June 14, 2009, 08:26:30 PM
Do the winners of Round 1 have to play one of the losing semi-finalists? (just checking for the Ros lads like). 8)
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 08:34:46 PM
Some eccentric stuff from Stolensheep :-

"This auld craic goes on and on, his friend saying anything to avoid green eggs and ham...

T'was around this stage that I lost track of the purpose of the poem - which was to put the wee 'uns to sleep. Something started to happen, and like the classic insane case that I am didn't I start to see hidden meanings in the children's verse.

It started off with the illustrations. The first thing I noticed was our poor friend who was scared witless of the "green eggs and ham."

Yes, our poor primrose friend was wearing the Roscommon colours.

This was interesting I thought. Why I wondered was our Rossie friend so afraid of the green eggs and ham?

And then it hit me. Right on the head. Did the green eggs and ham not represent Mayo? Did they not signify the Mayo jersey, for green eggs and ham would be that colourish. And further, 2001 notwithstanding, did this great work not summarise the order of things, post 1980, between our two counties and the inferiority complex we seem to possess when confronted with green eggs and ham?

Well now the auld gligeen really started into it. I was on fire now - as hard as it was to think about such things - and there was no stopping me. If our reluctant friend was a Rossie, and "Green Eggs and Ham" was Mayo, who was "Sam-I-Am" but Sam Maguire himself - and the words I read on the page were no longer those of the boul' Dr. Seuss. It was no longer "would you, could you in a car?" but:

Would you beat them from a-far?
Would you, could you in Castlebar?

No, I would not beat them from a-far
I could not beat them in Castlebar

You may beat them. You will see.
You may beat them in 2003!

I would not, could not in 2003.
Not in Castlebar! You let me be!
I could not beat them here or there.
I could not beat them anywhere.
I do not like green eggs and ham.

It was a startling discovery sure enough, the kind of insight that could only be arrived at by the mind of a natural genius. Here encaptured in a children's poem was nothing less than the pitiful history, the awful encounters between Mayo and Roscommon over the last twenty years. And sorry reading it made.

But this is not a sad tale. Unlike many of the games between Mayo and Roscommon in recent memory, the ending offers hope, for the original Dr. Seuss poem had a nice little twist and indeed important moral at the end:

You do not like them.
So you say.
Try them! Try them!
And you may.
Try them and you may, I say.

Sam!
If you will let me be, I will try them.
You will see.

It's a remarkable sea change for our friend. The message is clear from Dr. Seuss. Get rid of the psychological fear and don't be afraid to try new things. You might just be surprised what happens. And so our Rossie friend overcomes his fear of Green Eggs and Ham. His belief in himself renewed, he also hopes to represent his county one day and was even heard to say:

I will beat them near and far
I WILL BEAT them in castlebar
And I will beat them here and there.
Say! I will beat them ANYWHERE!

And right then I was back in 1980. Connacht Final. I jumped as Mickey Finneran put the ball into the back of the net...

I woke up then to some scolding from herself and a clatter of the book across me poor head. She fecked me out of it and sent me out into the cold without as much as a cup of tay to clean the shed...

C'mon the Ros!

Not sure what it all means but we certainly dont want ye're pity Mayomick.
Post by: muppet on June 14, 2009, 08:38:55 PM
The above is the answer to the question 'why do umpires wear white coats?'.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 14, 2009, 08:41:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 06:55:49 PM
First Round ---
London/Leitrim
Tipp/Waterford

Since we know who the 16 teams are, would they not be as well blasting on ahead with the qualifier draw tonight - give everyone a weeks extra notice of who and where they're playing and all.

Post by: slow corner back on June 14, 2009, 08:48:35 PM
That is far too sensible a suggestion kramer best to hold these things up. We have known since last Sunday the four qualifiers in the Liam McCarthy but that draw has not taken place yet either.
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 14, 2009, 10:36:55 PM
When are the first round qualifier games being played? Surely they wont all be on the one weekend?
Post by: johnpower on June 14, 2009, 10:59:44 PM
At what stage do the qualifiers switch to neutral venues ?. There used to be a rule (back in 2002 at least ) where if the crowd at a fixture was expected to lead to the ground been more than 80% full then it had to be all ticket .The rule then is that none of these matches could be all ticket so the fixtures had to be switched to bigger neutral venues
Post by: mountainboii on June 14, 2009, 11:10:02 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on June 14, 2009, 10:36:55 PM
When are the first round qualifier games being played? Surely they wont all be on the one weekend?

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12441.15
Post by: Hound on June 15, 2009, 08:38:04 AM
4 July
First round qualifiers
8 matches involving the 16 teams who lost prior to provincial semi finals

11 July
2nd round qualifiers
8 matches, the 8 winners from round 1 against the 8 losing provincial semi-finalists (losing semi finalists cannot play each other)

18 July
3rd round qualfiers
4 matches, involving the 8 winners from round 2

25 July
4th round qualifiers
4 matches involving the 4 winners from round 3 against the 4 losing provincial finalists (losing finalists cannot play each other)

1/2/3 August
All Ireland quarter-final
4 provincial champions against the 4 winners from round 4
Cannot have a repeat of a provincial final

So the games come thick and fast. Very tough as somebody entering the first round stage would have to play 5 games on successive weekends. Even Kerry would have to play 4 weekends in succession. But I suppose it should be tough for qualifiers. Though there are invariably games put back a week for one reason or another.
Post by: meathie on June 15, 2009, 10:21:39 AM
I wonder do they go back to the ten minutes a side extra time rule for qualifers. It would make sense as if there is a draw during this (which odds are there will be) it can hold everything up since there is no time in between. I know the qualifiers should be tough but I think 5 in a row is too much, 6 if a team draws.   ???
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2009, 06:12:06 PM
Quote from: Barney on June 14, 2009, 08:26:30 PM
Do the winners of Round 1 have to play one of the losing semi-finalists? (just checking for the Ros lads like). 8)

Yeah they do as far as I'm aware.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 16, 2009, 09:52:11 AM
Fairness reigns with the news from Croke Park that the Qualifier Draw home advantage debacle is cleared up - as it's with "no restriction of any description on possible pairings  consisting of 8 games - first county drawn in each pairing has Home venue provided venue meets the criteria set down by the National Safety and Infrastructure Committee. "

Delighted to hear this as the treatment of some counties appeared to be unfair with various permutations predicted to give some counties little or no chance of a home qualifier.

Makes Sunday eves draw on TV3 more interesting !
Post by: Maguire01 on June 16, 2009, 01:27:32 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 16, 2009, 09:52:11 AM
Makes Sunday eves draw on TV3 more interesting !
Bloody TV3!
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 17, 2009, 05:46:29 PM
Down and Meath are the only teams guaranteed of a home draw in Sunday's All-Ireland first round qualifier draw.

That's because they are the only two of the 16 teams in the draw drum that played away in last year's first round. A motion passed at Congress stipulates that any team that played away one year will have a home tie the following season.

Meath suffered a heavy defeat to Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds last year, while Down were emphatic winners over Offaly at Tullamore on the same day.

The only thing that could deprive the pair of a home draw is if they are drawn against each other.

Because it's an open draw, there's a possibility that Down could face Fermanagh again and Louth could meet Carlow. The eight first round qualifiers will be played on the weekend of July 4/5.
Post by: Main Street on June 17, 2009, 09:16:30 PM
BJB has already posted previous that it will be an open draw, first out of the hat gets home advantage.

http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=26965 (http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=26965)

Football Qualifers Round 1:

Includes all counties who have not qualified for Provincial semi-final: Down, Carlow, Monaghan, Offaly, Longford, London, Waterford, Tipperary, Leitrim, Armagh, Fermanagh, Meath, Wicklow, Louth, Wexford and Donegal.

This is an open draw (no restriction of any description on possible pairings) - 8 games - first county drawn in each pairing has home venue, provided the venue meets the criteria set down by the National Infrastructure Committee.
Post by: meathie on June 18, 2009, 10:29:25 AM
Yea confused now. Ive read both. Meath will be given home advantage because of last year but then a few days later read that there will be no restrictions or rules for first round.  ???
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 11:42:15 AM
Don't be confused -

Quote from: Main Street on June 17, 2009, 09:16:30 PM
BJB has already posted previous that it will be an open draw, first out of the hat gets home advantage.

http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=26965 (http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=26965)

Football Qualifers Round 1:

Includes all counties who have not qualified for Provincial semi-final: Down, Carlow, Monaghan, Offaly, Longford, London, Waterford, Tipperary, Leitrim, Armagh, Fermanagh, Meath, Wicklow, Louth, Wexford and Donegal.

This is an open draw (no restriction of any description on possible pairings) - 8 games - first county drawn in each pairing has home venue, provided the venue meets the criteria set down by the National Infrastructure Committee.

the above is the latest info (as per GAA.ie) and what will be implemented on Sunday !
Post by: jimbo on June 18, 2009, 12:29:30 PM
Do you honestly think if London is first out they will get home advantage?
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 01:16:34 PM
Quote from: jimbo on June 18, 2009, 12:29:30 PM

Why not ?

County teams have to travel over every year for the League and Championship Pre Lim round - Why should it change now ? 
(I take it you're not from a county that has to live with the hassle and the expense of the regular trips unlike us unfortunates in the west, it looks like your starting to see the reality of what we go through each year)
Post by: Maguire01 on June 18, 2009, 01:24:09 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 01:16:34 PM

Why not ?

County teams have to travel over every year for the League and Championship Pre Lim round - Why should it change now ? 
(I take it you're not from a county that has to live with the hassle and the expense of the regular trips unlike us unfortunates in the west, it looks like your starting to see the reality of what we go through each year)
Eh, just how many "unfortunates in the west" undertake that expense?
Post by: Fluffysocks on June 18, 2009, 01:26:30 PM
anyone read micky harte's view on the structure of the qualifiers in the irsih news? very sensible, fair and reasoned plan.
if someone can post it up here it wud be great
ps he has too much time to himself lol
Post by: jimbo on June 18, 2009, 01:34:18 PM

Why not ?

Because the match is 6 days after the draw, hardly a big earner for the GAA, how many from the other 15 counties are going to mass book easyjet at such short notice?
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2009, 01:51:16 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 11:42:15 AM
the above is the latest info (as per GAA.ie) and what will be implemented on Sunday !
Unless Meath lodge a fast last minute appeal and the GAA change its mind.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 01:52:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 18, 2009, 01:24:09 PM

Are you for real - All Connacht Counties of course  !
i.e. Galway, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim

And before you ask County boards are out of pocket due to the trips even though they are subsidised  - not to mention the loss of time to Squad members & back room due to the extra distance and over nighting.
Post by: mountainboii on June 18, 2009, 04:06:41 PM
Quote from: jimbo on June 18, 2009, 01:34:18 PM

Why not ?

Because the match is 6 days after the draw, hardly a big earner for the GAA, how many from the other 15 counties are going to mass book easyjet at such short notice?

13 days. Plenty of ways to get across the water, those that want to will well be able to find a reasonable way to do so in 2 weeks.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 18, 2009, 04:16:22 PM

Why not ?

My recollection is that in previous years London were always away in the qualifiers (they played at Parnell park amongst other places). I assumed this was a quid pro quo given that they were always at home in the Connacht Championship. Seems that's not going to be implemented this year. Ridiculous that there's so much confusion about whether Down and Meath have a home draw or not. Don't think they should have messed about with this talk of teams not playing away 2 years in a row, especially when that side might have gotten a home draw in the provincial championships. Just leave it to Lady Luck!
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2009, 04:37:18 PM
I wouldn't be too averse to an away pairing with London.

I would gladly put a few coppers into the county coffers for that one ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 18, 2009, 05:28:28 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 01:52:10 PM

And before you ask County boards are out of pocket due to the trips even though they are subsidised  - not to mention the loss of time to Squad members & back room due to the extra distance and over nighting.
I had assumed you were referring to fans. I was basing my comment on the lack of any real attendance at these games by travelling fans.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 05:47:46 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 18, 2009, 05:28:28 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 18, 2009, 01:52:10 PM

I had assumed you were referring to fans. I was basing my comment on the lack of any real attendance at these games by travelling fans.

fair point !
Post by: stevecw on June 21, 2009, 12:12:56 AM
Roscommon come into this in 2nd round right?

Maybe Carlow might even have a long summer ahead if we get 2 nice draws. A London/Wicklow/Waterford/Clare at home would be great tomorrow. And then a game v Roscommon in round 2 would be the draw everyone wants after seeing the state of them today!

Some team is going to get very lucky and get a draw like that, and be in 3rd round without playing anyone even half decent.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 21, 2009, 12:28:34 AM
Quote from: stevecw on June 21, 2009, 12:12:56 AM

Maybe Carlow might even have a long summer ahead if we get 2 nice draws. A London/Wicklow/Waterford/Clare at home would be great tomorrow. And then a game v Roscommon in round 2 would be the draw everyone wants after seeing the state of them today!

Some team is going to get very lucky and get a draw like that, and be in 3rd round without playing anyone even half decent.
sure wicklow would kill ye boys steve  ::)
Post by: stevecw on June 21, 2009, 05:38:23 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 21, 2009, 12:28:34 AM

I hope thats a joke!! Wicklow are shockingly bad. And in 2nd last game in league they came to Carlow needing a win to get promoted and we bet them by 5 pts!! They then lost to Sligo too and stay in div 4!!! ;D ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 09:08:52 AM
Quote from: stevecw on June 21, 2009, 05:38:23 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 21, 2009, 12:28:34 AM

I hope thats a joke!! Wicklow are shockingly bad. And in 2nd last game in league they came to Carlow needing a win to get promoted and we bet them by 5 pts!! They then lost to Sligo too and stay in div 4!!! ;D ;D
Yes, but that's the league. Their Championship defeat to Westmeath was a narrow one.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 21, 2009, 11:47:30 AM

Clare won't appear until round 2 because they got a bye into the Munster semi but you're right, a lot of it is down to luck. Some of the likes of Donegal, Monaghan, Meath or Armagh will probably be drawn against someone like London/Waterford followed by Clare/Roscommon and will sail into Round 3 but some of them could draw each other and then hit Kerry or Tyrone or Derry in the next round which would be hellish.

But 5 games in 5 weeks isn't too bad if the first two are against London and Clare.
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2009, 12:12:12 PM
Kerry will get London at home followed by the winners of a game like Waterford v Roscommon at home.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 21, 2009, 12:40:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 21, 2009, 12:12:12 PM
Kerry will get London at home followed by the winners of a game like Waterford v Roscommon at home.

Kerry and Roscommon don't join the draw until the 2nd round muppet. And none of the teams in the 1st round can play each other in the 2nd round.
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2009, 01:02:14 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 21, 2009, 12:40:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 21, 2009, 12:12:12 PM

Kerry and Roscommon don't join the draw until the 2nd round muppet. And none of the teams in the 1st round can play each other in the 2nd round.

Of course, both lost a semi-final. Sorry, I meant Kerry will get handy home draws like they did the last time they were in the in the qualifiers.

I'd like to see them in Ballybofey followed by Omagh.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 01:09:07 PM
So this is at 6pm tonight then??
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 04:54:22 PM
We'll need someone with TV3 posting these as they are drawn. Please.
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 05:14:24 PM
The Tribune has a sort of ranking of teams in the first round, Armagh are given the best chance with Vernon to return, with Monaghan in second place with the Freeman suspension.

Armagh
Monaghan
Meath
Fermanagh
Donegal
Wexford
Down
Tipperary
Wicklow
Louth
Leitrim
Offaly
Longford
Waterford
Carlow
London

from an Armagh perspective I would prefer not to get anyone else in the top half dozen and the bottom few teams might not be helpful in building a team either.
Post by: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 05:27:42 PM
Definately think there will be a big Ulster match-up, like Armagh-Monaghan or Armagh-Donegal. A few crap teams will get through to the 2nd round.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 05:35:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 04:54:22 PM
We'll need someone with TV3 posting these as they are drawn. Please.

Ripping its on TV3.

>:(
Post by: Statto-Gael on June 21, 2009, 05:46:57 PM

Qualifier draw coming up now on http://www.justin.tv/sportstime - I think .... [great stream on previous of the Tipp win over Clare in Munster]
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 05:59:03 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 05:27:42 PM
Definately think there will be a big Ulster match-up, like Armagh-Monaghan or Armagh-Donegal. A few crap teams will get through to the 2nd round.
I'd rather not have to travel to Ballybofey. Armagh and Fermanagh the teams to avoid really, from a Monaghan point of view.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:02:18 PM
Quote from: Statto-Gael on June 21, 2009, 05:46:57 PM

Qualifier draw coming up now on http://www.justin.tv/sportstime - I think .... [great stream on previous of the Tipp win over Clare in Munster]

Cheers!
Post by: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 06:02:38 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 05:59:03 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 05:27:42 PM
I'd rather not have to travel to Ballybofey. Armagh and Fermanagh the teams to avoid really, from a Monaghan point of view.

Yeah anything outside of Ulster would be a welcome change!
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2009, 06:03:16 PM
These hurling lads can certainly do a bit of talking.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 06:04:28 PM
I wouldn't mind getting Armagh actually.

Don't want Donegal, Meath or Monaghan.

The rest I think would be ok, even Wexford, they seem to have slipped from last year
Post by: fred the red on June 21, 2009, 06:06:04 PM
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 06:06:45 PM
Quote from: fred the red on June 21, 2009, 06:06:04 PM
Down to get Offaly.

That would suit ok...

When's this starting then?
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:07:00 PM
QuoteI wouldn't mind getting Armagh actually.

Saving on the petrol cost?
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:08:18 PM
OFFALY V CORK

HURLING
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:09:01 PM
HURLING

LAOIS V ANTRIM
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 06:09:46 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:07:00 PM
QuoteI wouldn't mind getting Armagh actually.

Saving on the petrol cost?

I don't drive.
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:10:30 PM
HURLING

WEXFORD V LIMERICK
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:11:03 PM
HURLING
CLARE V GALWAY
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:12:23 PM
Anyone else lost that online feed?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 21, 2009, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:12:23 PM
yup
Post by: imdagaffer on June 21, 2009, 06:13:40 PM
yeah, me too
Post by: Statto-Gael on June 21, 2009, 06:13:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:12:23 PM

Yip - frozen  >:( 
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2009, 06:14:13 PM
Yeah, stream has dried up
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2009, 06:15:42 PM
There are only hard places to go in the GAA.

At least there is no ad break before the football draw

The dog is slobbering for a walk.

Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:15:50 PM
Starting now.
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:16:38 PM
FOOTBALL

DONEGAL V CARLOW
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:17:18 PM
MONAGHAN V ARMAGH
Post by: orangeman on June 21, 2009, 06:18:00 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:16:38 PM
FOOTBALL

DONEGAL V CARLOW

John Joe Doherty - praise the Lord !!!
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:18:16 PM
MEATH V WATERFORD
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:17:18 PM
MONAGHAN V ARMAGH
:o
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:18:51 PM
WICKLOW V FERMANAGH
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:19:28 PM
Donegal   - Carlow
Monaghan v Armagh  holy cow!!

Post by: imdagaffer on June 21, 2009, 06:19:34 PM
down getting kerry?
Post by: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 06:19:43 PM
I fcukin knew it, wouldn't be like us to get a handy draw!
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:19:54 PM
WEXFORD V OFFALY
Post by: armagh leg-end on June 21, 2009, 06:20:11 PM
brilliant! back to clones!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:20:39 PM
Quote from: imdagaffer on June 21, 2009, 06:19:34 PM
down getting kerry?

Not possible. Kerry in 2nd qualifer round. They play winners of this round.
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:20:45 PM
LOUTH V TIPP
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:21:26 PM
LONDON V DOWN
Post by: fred the red on June 21, 2009, 06:21:49 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:21:26 PM
LONDON V DOWN

who will be at home for this?
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:22:24 PM
LEITRIM V LONGFORD
Post by: muppet on June 21, 2009, 06:22:31 PM
Quote from: fred the red on June 21, 2009, 06:21:49 PM
LONDON V DOWN

Most of us I'd say.
Post by: Caid on June 21, 2009, 06:22:51 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:18:51 PM
WICKLOW V FERMANAGH

Not the best draw we could have got...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:22:57 PM
LONDON V DOWN

Down were guaranteed a home tie regardless of how they were drawn.
Post by: aroundincircles on June 21, 2009, 06:23:04 PM
FIRST TEAM HOME
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2009, 06:23:33 PM
A lot of poor teams making it through to the second round.
Post by: orangeman on June 21, 2009, 06:23:44 PM
LONDON V DOWN

Trevor will be delighted.
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:24:19 PM
Monaghan Armagh
Donegal   Carlow
London    Down
Wicklow   Fermanagh
Leitrim   Longford
Wexford Offaly
Louth   Tipperary
Meath   Waterford

Down guaranteed home game, I believe.

Some teams who had a bad first game, Meath, Donegal, and even Down can get the show back on the road.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:26:00 PM
Quote from: imdagaffer on June 21, 2009, 06:24:04 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:22:57 PM
LONDON V DOWN

Down were guaranteed a home tie regardless of how they were drawn.

why?

A motion was passed at congress that if you play away the previous year in the 1st qualifer round, you are guaranteed a home tie the next year.
Post by: Main Street on June 21, 2009, 06:26:09 PM
Looks like Monaghan v Armagh is the pick by a country mile.

I feel sorry for Armagh, they didn't deserve such a tough away game  but that's the ways of an open draw.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 21, 2009, 06:26:21 PM
Not sure Down will be at home - no mention of it and they specifically said the draw was completely open.

As for Armagh, I'd be disappointed except I'm not at all surprised. Said from the start we'd get Monaghan. I'd say its the draw neither team wanted. We'd the slightly more impressive game int he Ulster championship but Monaghan have beaten us 2 years in a row in the League.
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 21, 2009, 06:27:04 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 21, 2009, 06:23:44 PM
LONDON V DOWN

Trevor will be delighted.

Weekend in the West End, why wouldnt I be?  ;)
Was really hoping for Armagh, then Leitrim, just so we had an excuse to go back to Lough Rynn Castle.
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:27:51 PM
QuoteA motion was passed at congress that if you play away the previous year in the 1st qualifer round, you are guaranteed a home tie the next year.

it is a pity and typical, that TV3 do not know this, although it was mentioned in the papers.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 06:30:31 PM
The man doing the draw was brutal also. Searching around for information on the teams as they were drew out. There only is 16 teams, it wasnt like he had to go through a book to find it.
Post by: Bensars on June 21, 2009, 06:31:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 06:27:51 PM
QuoteA motion was passed at congress that if you play away the previous year in the 1st qualifer round, you are guaranteed a home tie the next year.

it is a pity and typical, that TV3 do not know this, although it was mentioned in the papers.

TV3 ( more precisely the guy doing the commentary on the draw)  knew very little about any of the counties drawn.  A least 3-4 times he said i have the information here somewhere. You coud nearly hear the pages turning
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 21, 2009, 06:32:07 PM
Mushroom pickers v Apple pickers is the tie of the round. Pity that all the games are on the same day, would have gone to that.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 21, 2009, 07:16:30 PM

it's a pity that you don't know that the Central CCC made a decision earlier this week (which overrules congress motion) that the first team drawn has home advantage - no exceptions !
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 21, 2009, 07:25:07 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 21, 2009, 07:16:30 PM

it's a pity that you don't know that the Central CCC made a decision earlier this week (which overrules congress motion) that the first team drawn has home advantage - no exceptions !

Its a pity that the whole thing hasnt been cleared up by this stage. One source says one thing the next says the opposite.
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 07:32:01 PM
Quoteit's a pity that you don't know that the Central CCC made a decision earlier this week (which overrules congress motion) that the first team drawn has home advantage - no exceptions !

If this is the case, and the papers are wrong, then some mention of the issue before the TV draw would have been good.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on June 21, 2009, 07:48:46 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on June 21, 2009, 07:25:07 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on June 21, 2009, 07:16:30 PM

Its a pity that the whole thing hasnt been cleared up by this stage. One source says one thing the next says the opposite.

it's a pity ...... !

Quote from: armaghniac on June 21, 2009, 07:32:01 PM
Quoteit's a pity that you don't know that the Central CCC made a decision earlier this week (which overrules congress motion) that the first team drawn has home advantage - no exceptions !

If this is the case, and the papers are wrong, then some mention of the issue before the TV draw would have been good.

TV3 did mention that all 1st teams have a home game in all qualifiers drawn this evening - but your right all of the miss info. is poor journalism.
Post by: Caid on June 21, 2009, 07:52:13 PM
Predictions

Monaghan Armagh
Donegal    Carlow
London    Down
Wicklow   Fermanagh
Leitrim   Longford Draw
Wexford Offaly
Louth  Tipperary
Meath    Waterford
Post by: tbrick18 on June 21, 2009, 08:06:13 PM
When are the first round games?
And when is the draw for teh second round made?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 08:07:18 PM
4th July
Post by: Schkite on June 21, 2009, 08:10:35 PM
I'd imagine the second round draw would be made directly after the first round games are finished as they're only a week later.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 08:25:22 PM
Qualifier

04.07.2009 (Sat)
Round One – (Open Draw)
This Round shall include all the Counties that do not qualify for Provincial Semi-Finals.
(Draw to take place on the 21st of June 2009 on TV3)

11.07.2009 (Sat)
Round Two – (Draw)
Each of the eight teams defeated in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against one of the eight winners from Round 1.
(Draw to take place on the 5th of July 2009 on TV3)

18.07.2009 (Sat)
Round Three (Draw)
This Round shall involve the eight winners of Round 2.
(Draw to take place on the 12th of July 2009 on RTE2)

25/25.07.2009 (Sat/Sun)
Round Four (Draw)
Each of the four teams defeated in the Provincial Finals shall play against one of the four Winners of Round 3.
(Draw to take place on the 19th of July 2009 on RTE2)

1/2/3.08.2009 (Sat/Sun/Mon)
All Ireland Quarter-Finals (Draw)

Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play one of the four Winners from Round
Round 4. Subject to the respect Provincial Champions not meeting the defeated Finalists from their own Province in this Round.
(Draw to take place on the 26th of July 2009 on RTE2)

23.08.2009 (Sun)
All Ireland Semi Final

*Mumha v *Uladh

30.08.2009 (Sun)
All Ireland Semi Final

*Laighin v *Connacht

* The Provincial Champions or a team that defeats them

20.09.09 (Sun) - (04.10.09 Replay)

All Ireland Final

Semi-Final Winner v Semi-Final Winner
Post by: Gnevin on June 21, 2009, 09:21:07 PM
A decidedly average draw. Monaghan and Armagh is the only one I'm looking forward too.
Post by: norabeag on June 21, 2009, 09:30:11 PM
London v Down
a good excuse for our spice boys to strut their stuff in the west end. ::)
Post by: western exile on June 21, 2009, 09:35:11 PM
What have Monaghan done to upset the lottery gods?  Every year they are drawn against the most difficult opponent available!
Post by: Irenses on June 21, 2009, 09:39:25 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 21, 2009, 09:21:07 PM
A decidedly average draw. Monaghan and Armagh is the only one I'm looking forward too.

To be fair what kind of draw were you expecting? Without wanting to sound to disrespectful to the weaker counties when I saw who was in the hat I didn't see much scope for any glamour ties so from a neutral point of view to get one glamour tie so early is a bonus. Plus I think Wicklow v Fermanagh could be a decent affair too. I fancy Wicklow to surprise people there. And Leitrim Longford is a rarely seen local derby so overall I thought it was a better than average draw.

Btw did anyone else notice our president Christy Cooney didn't know the Irish for Wicklow?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 11:00:35 PM
So the Down match will be in London?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 21, 2009, 11:04:18 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 21, 2009, 11:00:35 PM
So the Down match will be in London?

Said on the Sunday Game that London will be at home.
Post by: Orior on June 21, 2009, 11:09:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 21, 2009, 11:05:19 PM
Great draw for Down players and management.
Bad draw for Down supporters.

Good draw for the nancy boy footballers of Down.

I believe Ross has booked them all to go see "Hello Dolly" in the West End, followed by a trip to Buckingham Palace.
Post by: lfdown2 on June 22, 2009, 09:28:02 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 21, 2009, 11:05:19 PM
Great draw for Down players and management.
Bad draw for Down supporters.

not all the supporters!! ;D
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 22, 2009, 09:32:01 AM
I wish we had been drawn against stronger opposition, but London is a great venue for a match. Where would you rather be on a Saturday night, watching the Lurgan champagne brigade pissing in the diamond or the West End of London til the early hours  ;)
Post by: Hound on June 22, 2009, 09:52:50 AM
Another very entertaining GAA draw.

"Hold on a minute, I've something written down somewhere here about Donegal."

"Cill Mhantain - Westmeath"

"Leitrim - gave the qualifiers a miss last year"

Post by: meathie on June 22, 2009, 09:57:35 AM
Think it was the longest drawn out draw ever! from a Meath point of view, if we dont beat Waterford at home (sorry Waterford no disrespect meant) then we should never be allowed in the championship again. I think it will hot up once the first round is over though. also think Offaly v Wexford might be a good game. both lost to Kildare, might be a good battle.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 22, 2009, 01:01:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 22, 2009, 09:52:50 AM
Another very entertaining GAA draw.

"Hold on a minute, I've something written down somewhere here about Donegal."

"Cill Mhantain - Westmeath"

"Leitrim - gave the qualifiers a miss last year"

Sure was. I thought Trevor Welsh was doing a great job up until then, certainly miles better than the last time I heard him commentate. "Cill Mhantain - Westmeath" was a cracker...  :D
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 22, 2009, 04:27:12 PM
Qualifer Round 1
Saturday 4th Jul 2009
Time Venue Team 1 Team 2 Referee
7 00 PM Ballybofey Donegal Carlow TBC
7 00 PM Clones Monaghan Armagh TBC
7 00 PM Páirc Tailteann Meath Waterford TBC
7 00 PM Aughrim Wicklow Fermanagh TBC
7 00 PM Wexford Park Wexford Offaly TBC
7 00 PM Drogheda Louth Tipperary TBC
7 00 PM Páirc Esler, Newry Down London TBC
7 00 PM Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada Leitrim Longford TBC
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 22, 2009, 11:15:25 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 22, 2009, 04:27:12 PM
Qualifer Round 1
Saturday 4th Jul 2009
7 00 PM Wexford Park Wexford Offaly TBC
It looks odds on that for the second year in a row Offaly supporters get shafted by the fixtures.
The hurlers will be in action at the exact same time against Cork in Tullamore.
This after having gone 6 weeks without a game.
If it was Dublin, Cork or Galway, the GAA simply wouldn't put them in this situation.

Last year supporters had to choose between the football qualifier against Down in Tullamore or the hurling against Waterford in Thurles.
The only way for one dual player, Sean Ryan could catch the end of the football match was to leave Thurles by chopper.

If we only bothered with one code, we wouldn't have these sort of dilemmas I suppose.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 24, 2009, 11:02:50 AM
14:00    Donegal v Carlow 1/25 18/1 9/1

14:00    Monaghan v Armagh 5/4 7/1 4/5

14:00    Meath v Waterford 1/25 18/1 9/1

14:00    Wicklow v Fermanagh 5/4 15/2 4/5

14:00    Wexford v Offaly 8/15 15/2 7/4

14:00    Louth v Tipperary 4/6 15/2 6/4

14:00    London v Down    12/1 18/1 1/50

14:00    Leitrim v Longford 11/10 15/2 10/11

Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 06:54:54 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 15, 2009, 08:38:04 AM
4 July
First round qualifiers

11 July
2nd round qualifiers
8 matches, the 8 winners from round 1 against the 8 losing provincial semi-finalists (losing semi finalists cannot play each other)

18 July
3rd round qualfiers

25 July
4th round qualifiers
4 matches involving the 4 winners from round 3 against the 4 losing provincial finalists (losing finalists cannot play each other)

1/2/3 August

So the games come thick and fast. Very tough as somebody entering the first round stage would have to play 5 games on successive weekends. Even Kerry would have to play 4 weekends in succession. But I suppose it should be tough for qualifiers. Though there are invariably games put back a week for one reason or another.
Is it me or is the individual(s) responsible for the dates schedule smoking something. All that has to happen once over the course of the next four week is for one draw(unless teams are playing to the death) and the q/final schedule (when the real championship begins) along with may I add the club championships of those same counties. would love to get an explanation from somebody in the know.
Post by: Caid on June 29, 2009, 12:04:32 AM
14:00    Wicklow v Fermanagh 5/4 15/2 4/5

Not much in that. Bookies not so slow. Wicklow should actually start favourite....
Post by: Maguire01 on June 29, 2009, 12:11:56 AM
Looking like some handy draws in the second round - Cavan, Laois, Westmeath, Clare, Roscommon... hard to see those heads not dropping.

Although if Monaghan were able to get past Armagh next week, i'd have little doubt that we'd be drawn against either Kerry or Derry!
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 29, 2009, 11:53:41 AM
Kerry are the only team that you want to avoid, the rest are beatable on the day.
Post by: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 12:16:54 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 06:54:54 PM
4 July
First round qualifiers

11 July
2nd round qualifiers

18 July
3rd round qualfiers

25 July
4th round qualifiers

1/2/3 August

Is it me or is the individual(s) responsible for the dates schedule smoking something. All that has to happen once over the course of the next four week is for one draw(unless teams are playing to the death) and the q/final schedule (when the real championship begins) along with may I add the club championships of those same counties. would love to get an explanation from somebody in the know.

for clarity urposes, I meant to say that a draw in the qualifiers would mess up the entire schedule. Does anybody know the format of games regarding extra-time. As the entire country is looking at August Bank holiday to the real beginning of the 2009 c/ship, wouldnt it be ironic if that weekends games are foulded up due to poor fixture oversight. also for the supporters involved trying to plan ahead.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 29, 2009, 12:22:43 PM
Are the QF's going to be spread over the weekend - sat/sun/mon?
Its not a bank holiday in the 6 counties so I would guess any 6 county teams involved would be scheduled for the Sat/Sun.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 29, 2009, 01:03:40 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on June 29, 2009, 11:53:41 AM
Kerry are the only team that you want to avoid, the rest are beatable on the day.
Although this year might be as good a chance as any to give Kerry a good run, given their 2 performances to date, especially if they were drawn away from home. A game against Kerry in Clones in 2009 would be a different scenario to a game against them in Croke Park in the last few years - for Monaghan or Armagh.
Post by: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 01:32:37 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 29, 2009, 12:22:43 PM
Its not a bank holiday in the 6 counties so I would guess any 6 county teams involved would be scheduled for the Sat/Sun.

The QF's are supposed to take place that weekend, Sat Sun Mon, and you are correct, that if a 6 county team is playing they will play on Sat or Sun. My point is all it takes is one draw over the course of next four weekends 24 games and the QF schedule goes out the window, as there is no free weekend to have a replay. Pretty shitty planning if you ask me, especially in a season where we have had a lot of one-sided games, and some "open weekends" such as the one just gone by. I believe that most people at this point view the weekend of the QF's to be real beginning of the championship.

The potential disruption to club games is an entirely different story, as most county championships are scheduled to resume in second week of August
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 29, 2009, 02:51:57 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 01:32:37 PM

The QF's are supposed to take place that weekend, Sat Sun Mon, and you are correct, that if a 6 county team is playing they will play on Sat or Sun. My point is all it takes is one draw over the course of next four weekends 24 games and the QF schedule goes out the window, as there is no free weekend to have a replay. Pretty shitty planning if you ask me, especially in a season where we have had a lot of one-sided games, and some "open weekends" such as the one just gone by. I believe that most people at this point view the weekend of the QF's to be real beginning of the championship.

The potential disruption to club games is an entirely different story, as most county championships are scheduled to resume in second week of August

Agreed - no reason why the first round of the qualifiers couldn't have been on the weekend just past with the second round this weekend. Also why do they have all the qualifiers on Saturdays when its been proved beyond all doubt that this doesn't suit supporters as much as Sunday matches. OK the televised games need to be on Saturdays but there's no reason why some of the other games couldn't be on Sundays.
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2009, 03:08:40 PM
Some of these games will be rather one sided. But there is a probability of a draw in the likes of Armagh/Monaghan Fermanagh/Wicklow, with a smaller probability of a draw after extra time. In practice, one of the quarters could be a week later if it involved a team due to play in the second semi.
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 29, 2009, 03:14:33 PM

The qualifier games must produce a result on the night.  Not poor planning at all.  Unless we get 3 or 4 rounds of extra time and darkness becomes an issue.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 29, 2009, 03:18:52 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 29, 2009, 03:14:33 PM

The qualifier games must produce a result on the night.  Not poor planning at all.  Unless we get 3 or 4 rounds of extra time and darkness becomes an issue.

Surely if its a draw after 2 periods of 10 minutes, then a draw again after a further 2 periods of 5 minutes, then there'll be a replay no matter what. Don't think there's any accomodation in the rules for more extra time than that. Sigerson matches have penalties but there's no way that'd be allowed in the championship.
Post by: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 04:18:50 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 29, 2009, 03:14:33 PM

The qualifier games must produce a result on the night.

Thanks for the clarification

Post by: Hound on June 30, 2009, 04:03:02 PM
The GAA announced that the proposed second period of extra time of 2x5min has been abolished. I presume that holds for qualifiers as well as provincial games, so a game level after extra time goes to a replay.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 04, 2009, 12:47:10 PM
When is the draw for the second round of the qualifiers?
Post by: Shortso79 on July 04, 2009, 02:17:35 PM
Tomorrow night TV3 at 6pm
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 04, 2009, 02:32:52 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on July 04, 2009, 02:17:35 PM
Tomorrow night TV3 at 6pm

f**king TV3 again.

>:(
Post by: Zulu on July 04, 2009, 04:31:08 PM
Wexford 2-11 Offaly 0-16 result.
Post by: thejuice on July 05, 2009, 12:03:09 PM
So in the draw we have

Wexford
Wicklow
Monaghan
Donegal
Meath
Tipperary
Longford
Down

Sligo
Roscommon
Laois
Westmeath
Kerry
Clare
Derry
Cavan

Will be looking to avoid Kerry and Derry. The draw is tonight isnt it.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 12:33:20 PM
Everyone will want to avoid Kerry, though it would make for a nice weekend away. I wouldnt be too worried about Derry, they have shown yet again that they save their best for the league. You would be qietly confident with anyone else, well as confident as a Down man can be.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 02:01:27 PM
No doubt Monaghan will draw either Kerry or Derry!
As long as we got a home draw, i'd probably take it. Getting Kerry in Clones could be a different story to playing them in Croker.

I'm going to be away for subsequent rounds, so an away game against Clare or Roscommon probably the least attractive, even though they're probably two of the handiest draws on paper.
It's also been a few years since we have been up against Cavan in the Championship - that could also be a good one for the local rivalry.

Sligo are probably one of the most dangerous in here, after running Galway close. It's difficult to see whether the likes of Roscommon, Laois or Westmeath or even Cavan could lift the heads after the nature of their front door exits.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 04:15:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 02:01:27 PM
As long as we got a home draw, i'd probably take it. Getting Kerry in Clones could be a different story to playing them in Croker.

I'm going to be away for subsequent rounds, so an away game against Clare or Roscommon probably the least attractive, even though they're probably two of the handiest draws on paper.
It's also been a few years since we have been up against Cavan in the Championship - that could also be a good one for the local rivalry.

Sligo are probably one of the most dangerous in here, after running Galway close. It's difficult to see whether the likes of Roscommon, Laois or Westmeath or even Cavan could lift the heads after the nature of their front door exits.

Galway are overrated so everyone thinks we are great now, we have still alot better performance in us, if our management have learned from the last day we will be even better but i doubt they have. Home draw and see where that takes us. I wouldnt belittle any of the winners last night.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 05:59:48 PM
Is this draw on now? Anyone gonna post updates?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:03:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 05:59:48 PM

On the phone to Dad will post as he tells me.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:04:21 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 05:59:48 PM

Adverts on at the minute. I`m sure someone will keep you updated.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:04:54 PM
Good stuff!
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2009, 06:09:20 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 04:15:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 02:01:27 PM

Galway are overrated so everyone thinks we are great now, we have still alot better performance in us, if our management have learned from the last day we will be even better but i doubt they have. Home draw and see where that takes us. I wouldnt belittle any of the winners last night.

why do you think the management wouldn't  have learned anything sligonian  (not trying to be smart)
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:13:39 PM
Down v Laois
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:14:18 PM

Monaghan  v Derry
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:14:28 PM
Down v Laois
Mon v Derry
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:14:49 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:14:18 PM

Monaghan  v Derry
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:15:01 PM
Longford v Kerry
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 06:15:18 PM

Monaghan  v Derry

ha ha class
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:15:41 PM
Wexford v Roscommon
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:16:06 PM
Tipp v Sligo
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:16:17 PM
Wexford v Roscommon
Tipperary v Sligo
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:16:39 PM
Donegal v Clare
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:17:10 PM
West Meath v Meath
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:17:47 PM
Wicklow v Cavan
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:17:54 PM
Westmeath v EastMeath  :o
Wicklow v Cavan
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:18:01 PM
down v laois
monaghan v derry haha
longford v kerry haha
wexford v roscommon
tipp v sligo 8)
donegal v clare
westmeath v meath haha
wicklow v cavan

Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2009, 06:18:27 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:15:01 PM
Longford v Kerry

think kerry played longford in the qualifiers in 2006 as well
Post by: tyronefan on July 05, 2009, 06:20:32 PM
be interesting to see who will ref this one
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:21:07 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 05, 2009, 06:19:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:14:49 PM

Monaghan  v Derry

That smile will be on the other side of your face on Saturday Night, we didn't take any of your bullshit the last time and we won't this time either.
Nice to see you can be so good natured about it all.  ::)
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 05, 2009, 06:25:37 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:18:01 PM
down v laois
monaghan v derry haha
longford v kerry haha
wexford v roscommon
tipp v sligo 8)
donegal v clare
westmeath v meath haha
wicklow v cavan

1) Not one to smile about. Tipp might have messed up in Munster, but as we've seen Limerick are not simple. Tipp will be difficult.
2) Can the Astra really take the "trip to Tipp" and survive for another day?

Never been to Tipperary before, so looking forward to Thurles if that's where it is. Two carloads might cover the away support though.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:26:37 PM
I think this says a lot about Monaghan's luck (or lack of)!

Donegal are likely to be in the third round by beating Carlow and now playing Clare.
Down are likely to be in the third round by beating London and now playing Laois (although not as much of a certainty as for Donegal).
Wexford are likely to be in the third round by beating Offally and now playing Roscommon.

Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:29:23 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 05, 2009, 06:25:37 PM
down v laois
monaghan v derry haha
longford v kerry haha
wexford v roscommon
tipp v sligo 8)
donegal v clare
westmeath v meath haha
wicklow v cavan

1) Not one to smile about. Tipp might have messed up in Munster, but as we've seen Limerick are not simple. Tipp will be difficult.

Never been to Tipperary before, so looking forward to Thurles if that's where it is. Two carloads might cover the away support though.

I was messing lads 8), they have a better balanced team than us in that they have a strong spine. The Astra will be fine ;). We are missing harrison the next day. What date are the games?
Post by: Schkite on July 05, 2009, 06:29:45 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:21:07 PM
Quote from: SouthDerryGael on July 05, 2009, 06:19:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:14:49 PM

Monaghan  v Derry

That smile will be on the other side of your face on Saturday Night, we didn't take any of your bullshit the last time and we won't this time either.
Nice to see you can be so good natured about it all.  ::)

They're preparing for the battle again lads!

Good to see we can have the craic about this amazing coincidence of meeting yet again, and possibly postpone the hostilities until next weekend at the least, but no...
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 05, 2009, 06:32:03 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 05, 2009, 06:29:23 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 05, 2009, 06:25:37 PM
down v laois
monaghan v derry haha
longford v kerry haha
wexford v roscommon
tipp v sligo 8)
donegal v clare
westmeath v meath haha
wicklow v cavan

I was messing lads 8), they have a better balanced team than us in that they have a strong spine. The Astra will be fine ;). We are missing harrison the next day. What date are the games?
Next Saturday I think. Will have an early start and a late night for this one.

Have to feel some sympathy for Monaghan. Never get an easy draw.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:33:12 PM
What way are the pairings for the next round of the qualifiers worked out? Is it the winners of next weeks games in an open draw?
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2009, 06:33:18 PM
Monaghan will be needing Tommy back - are all the appeals exhausted at this stage ?

Clones ?
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 06:34:58 PM
Only Westmeath out of the losing semi finalists got a home draw.

Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 06:35:21 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 05, 2009, 06:33:18 PM
Monaghan will be needing Tommy back - are all the appeals exhausted at this stage ?

Clones ?
Clones - Yes
Tommy - No - Appeals process exhausted
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2009, 06:37:17 PM
May I be the first to welcome all the Kerry visiting support to Longford next Saturday.

Mary, Pat, and TJ will be assured of a fine time in Pearse Park
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:37:58 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 05, 2009, 06:33:18 PM

Someone give Banty the number of Fahys solicitors, or does he only represent Tyrone?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 06:38:40 PM
The first team drawn out at home?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 06:39:10 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:33:12 PM
What way are the pairings for the next round of the qualifiers worked out? Is it the winners of next weeks games in an open draw?

Yep.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:39:41 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 06:38:40 PM
The first team drawn out at home?

Yes, another trip to Greenbank.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2009, 06:40:24 PM
No Nail. There were two seperate pots cos of two streams of teams.

Unopened balls were placed in a third pot and first out here got the home venue
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 05, 2009, 06:45:47 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2009, 06:40:24 PM

Ya but Christy Cooney wasn't exactly going all out mixing the two balls up before he picked one out. He more or less just put his hand on the one nearest him (1st round winner), spun it around in his hand and picked it out, so no surprise that 7 out of the 8 times the 1st round winner got home advantage.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2009, 06:49:26 PM
Actually now that you mentioned it Cosmo........

As WH was the last one he must have decided that spinning the balls probably was a good idea. Meath won't be amused.

When I see Cooney I think of that line from the Simpsons

"The rod up his butt must have a rod up its butt"

He is so bloody wooden
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2009, 07:02:55 PM
Didn't Longford play Kerry in a League final or AI SF, in the late 60's,   faint memory, close enough game, Mick O'Connell supreme.
Time for Longford to resurrect the spirit of the 60's.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2009, 08:16:53 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 05, 2009, 06:45:47 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2009, 06:40:24 PM

Ya but Christy Cooney wasn't exactly going all out mixing the two balls up before he picked one out. He more or less just put his hand on the one nearest him (1st round winner), spun it around in his hand and picked it out, so no surprise that 7 out of the 8 times the 1st round winner got home advantage.

I think the way the draw was made was a total joke. They should use a machine like the lotto does to spit out a ball and not rely on some eejit to not look at the balls and then swirl them around.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2009, 09:25:34 PM
Personally I thought it was a really good draw.

There are a number of these games I'd like to see (unlike the first round draw).

Monaghan v Derry would initially be seen as the pick of the ties, and while it will be interesting I don't think it might not be the best of football (!!), so I'd really like if if TV3 chose a different game to televise. Tipp v Sligo is what I'd go for. Two promoted teams who'll both be very confident of winning.

I'd also like to see the two Ulster v Leinster clashes. Wicklow v Cavan (with the added interest of Micko v Tommy Carr) and Down v Laois. I'd be hopeful of two Leinster victories. 

I'd be very interested to see Westmeath v Meath, though perhaps all province clashes in qualifiers have generally limited appeal outside of that province, unless for some reason they haven't happened in a number of years.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 05, 2009, 10:03:46 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2009, 09:25:34 PM
Personally I thought it was a really good draw.

There are a number of these games I'd like to see (unlike the first round draw).

Monaghan v Derry would initially be seen as the pick of the ties, and while it will be interesting I don't think it might not be the best of football (!!), so I'd really like if if TV3 chose a different game to televise. Tipp v Sligo is what I'd go for. Two promoted teams who'll both be very confident of winning.

I'd also like to see the two Ulster v Leinster clashes. Wicklow v Cavan (with the added interest of Micko v Tommy Carr) and Down v Laois. I'd be hopeful of two Leinster victories. 

I'd be very interested to see Westmeath v Meath, though perhaps all province clashes in qualifiers have generally limited appeal outside of that province, unless for some reason they haven't happened in a number of years.
I'd rather TV3 showed something other than Monaghan/Derry too, but TV3 will surely go for the one that will attract the viewers... even if half of those viewers will only watch it to have something to moan about!
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 06, 2009, 02:15:11 PM
3 00 PM Clones Monaghan Derry TBC Broadcast:RTE2
3 00 PM Wexford Park Wexford Roscommon TBC
3 00 PM Thurles Tipperary Sligo TBC
5 00 PM Pearse Park, Longford Longford Kerry TBC Broadcast:TV3
7 00 PM Ballybofey Donegal Clare TBC
7 00 PM Cusack Park Westmeath Meath TBC
7 00 PM Aughrim Wicklow Cavan TBC
7 30 PM Páirc Esler, Newry Down Laois TBC

Post by: magpie seanie on July 06, 2009, 03:35:53 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 06, 2009, 02:15:11 PM

Very unimaginative picking Longford v. Kerry. I'm delighted Sligo's match is in Semple and at the same time as Monaghan are playing so I don't have to watch that muck.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2009, 03:49:32 PM
TV3 playing it long Seanie. They know Kerry folk won't travel yet they will tune in so they are prob maxing their audience and therefore their advertising (except new ads for Nilzan and roundy silage bag makers) along with the few curious neutrals.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2009, 03:55:42 PM
Tipperary Sligo would have been the pick for me (apart from the little matter in Mullingar of course). Wicklow Cavan in Aughrim would have been a better option IMO than the two that were chosen...
Post by: JohnDenver on July 06, 2009, 04:10:00 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2009, 03:55:42 PM
Tipperary Sligo would have been the pick for me (apart from the little matter in Mullingar of course). Wicklow Cavan in Aughrim would have been a better option IMO than the two that were chosen...

IMO you're not wise.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2009, 04:12:43 PM
Croi

So you would have wanted WH to be a laughing stock on live tv for the second time in a few weeks.

Brave stuff - that's radical therapy for sure  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2009, 04:21:27 PM
I don't think there was too many laughing SS unless they were begrudgers from neighbouring counties who somehow see themselves as our rivals...

I think and hope it will be a tight intense game, should certainly be more appealing than the fireworks in Clones or the whitewash in Slasherland. Speaking of the county of no name, the mention of "The Larries" on here always gets a laugh, keep up the good work...  :D
Post by: Maguire01 on July 06, 2009, 04:23:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 06, 2009, 03:35:53 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 06, 2009, 02:15:11 PM

Very unimaginative picking Longford v. Kerry. I'm delighted Sligo's match is in Semple and at the same time as Monaghan are playing so I don't have to watch that muck.
Not you as well? Does nobody have a remote control in this country?!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 11, 2009, 05:30:07 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 12:16:54 PM
4 July
First round qualifiers

11 July
2nd round qualifiers

18 July
3rd round qualfiers

25 July
4th round qualifiers

1/2/3 August

for clarity urposes, I meant to say that a draw in the qualifiers would mess up the entire schedule. Does anybody know the format of games regarding extra-time. As the entire country is looking at August Bank holiday to the real beginning of the 2009 c/ship, wouldnt it be ironic if that weekends games are foulded up due to poor fixture oversight. also for the supporters involved trying to plan ahead.

So, that's the schedule screwed then after Ross/Wexford today. No way they can now play all four quarters August Bank Holiday weekend now unless they play a mid week qualifier. Its a balls if youre trying to Ryanair your way back to Ireland for a quarter final match or a Round 4 qualifier, you won't know until quite late what weekend its on and then the flights will cost a fortune. There was no reason why they couldn't have had all the qualifier games a week earlier to leave a buffer week for replays.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 11, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
Its a joke alright. If its level after extra time they should play next score wins in the qualifiers.
Post by: Gnevin on July 11, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 11, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
Its a joke alright. If its level after extra time they should play next score wins in the qualifiers.

Golden goal/point is a terrible way to  end a game . Why not just have a 45 kicking contest?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 11, 2009, 06:37:16 PM
If a team has already been beat once in the championship and is not fit to beat their opponents after extra time then I dont think they could complain if the game was decided by next score wins or some other mechanism.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2009, 08:45:11 PM
When's the draw for the next round?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 11, 2009, 08:53:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 11, 2009, 08:45:11 PM
When's the draw for the next round?

Tommorrow evening.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 11, 2009, 08:59:55 PM
Down 2-9 Laois 0-6. Into injury time.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:50:49 PM
The teams in the draw will be Down, Derry, Wexford/Roscommon, Sligo, Kerry, Donegal, Meath and Wicklow.
Derry probably look the strongest of the bunch after today, Kerry being quite unimpressive.
Post by: doirebhoy on July 11, 2009, 10:16:02 PM
with wex/roscommon drawing, how will this impact?/?
Post by: new devil on July 11, 2009, 10:18:31 PM
Derry V Down or Donegal..FACT
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 10:26:38 PM
Derry v Kerry is the draw the other 7 counties want to see.
Post by: new devil on July 11, 2009, 10:30:19 PM
Yea but the GAA like to keep the northern teams together  ::)
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 10:31:00 PM
Have Laois moved?
Post by: thebuzz on July 11, 2009, 10:32:13 PM
Quote from: new devil on July 11, 2009, 10:18:31 PM

I agree. There supposedly aren't any conspiracies but I guarantee we get an Ulster team. I hope I'm wrong.
Post by: new devil on July 11, 2009, 10:35:05 PM
Yes didnt you hear  ::)

obviously not every ulster team plays another ulster team but more often than not thats how it works out
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 11, 2009, 10:54:17 PM
with all due respect to everyone left, when the draw is made tomorrow, everyone will want Sligo or Wicklow at home and avoid Kerry away. FACT as Rafa Benitez would say.
Post by: Hound on July 11, 2009, 11:07:23 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:50:49 PM
The teams in the draw will be Down, Derry, Wexford/Roscommon, Sligo, Kerry, Donegal, Meath and Wicklow.
Derry probably look the strongest of the bunch after today, Kerry being quite unimpressive.
Wexford/Roscommon are the only team I would say with complete confidence will lose next round, no matter who and where they play.

I wouldnt fancy any of the north teams chances in Aughrim, though I think Wicklow will need home advantage to progress. IMO the only two capable of beating Meath are Derry and Kerry. I've no idea why, but I'm hoping Meath have a good run.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2009, 11:22:33 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2009, 11:07:23 PM
I've no idea why, but I'm hoping Meath have a good run.

Get back on those pills Hound  ;)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 11, 2009, 11:38:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 11, 2009, 11:07:23 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:50:49 PM
Wexford/Roscommon are the only team I would say with complete confidence will lose next round, no matter who and where they play.

I wouldnt fancy any of the north teams chances in Aughrim, though I think Wicklow will need home advantage to progress. IMO the only two capable of beating Meath are Derry and Kerry. I've no idea why, but I'm hoping Meath have a good run.

your probably right there hound, but only one of those 3 teams can win the AI. Jesus, Kerry and Meath aint what they used to be  ;D
Post by: joemamas on July 11, 2009, 11:54:41 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 11, 2009, 05:30:07 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 29, 2009, 12:16:54 PM
4 July
First round qualifiers

11 July
2nd round qualifiers

18 July
3rd round qualfiers

25 July
4th round qualifiers

1/2/3 August

for clarity purposes, I meant to say that a draw in the qualifiers would mess up the entire schedule. Does anybody know the format of games regarding extradite. As the entire country is looking at August Bank holiday to the real beginning of the 2009 c/ship, wouldnt it be ironic if that weekends games are foulded up due to poor fixture oversight. also for the supporters involved trying to plan ahead.

So, that's the schedule screwed then after Ross/Wexford today. No way they can now play all four quarters August Bank Holiday weekend now unless they play a mid week qualifier. Its a balls if youre trying to Ryanair your way back to Ireland for a quarter final match or a Round 4 qualifier, you won't know until quite late what weekend its on and then the flights will cost a fortune. There was no reason why they couldn't have had all the qualifier games a week earlier to leave a buffer week for replays.

Guys, as they say you cant make this s*it up.

I have drawn up a list of scenarios that may now occur.

1. A provincial champion could now have to wait 5 weeks (Cork) or 4 weeks (Dublin or Kildare) for their next game.

2. If the team that plays Wexford/Roscommon results in a draw , add one week to the above

3. if 2 should happen, then the teams involved in 1. would have to play a semi-final week after q/final, assuing there is no draw in q/final

4. Croke Park last week put tickets on sale for q/finals semi-final, it is now apparent that all 4 q/finals cannot take place on August Bank Holiday weekend. Pity the poor peolple who are set to go on holidays the week after and their team not being involved on august 1,2, or 3.

5. As for the teams, well the last eight teams that ultimately plays the winner of the winner of the wexford/roscommon/ whoever game will now have to wait  until July 26th to find out if they are playing the week after of two weeks later.

6. the club c/ships of the teams involved in 5 above, will in all likelihood be totally screwed up.

7. what about the unfortunate fans from abroad, who have already booked their tickets for the August bank holiday weekend to watch their team, and for the ones travelling who have not booked will most likely get fuc*ed on airline tickets because the cannot book their tickets until the July 26 q/final draw.

8. you will now get qualifier teams complaining that they have had to play four/five weeks in a row, and that some teams have had a week off, .ie. the team that is drawn to play wexfor/roscommon.

If i were the C.E.O. of croke park, multiple heads would roll come Monday morning, what a black eye , you know the press will have a field day with this. e.g you can to plan to see u2 in croke park but not your own county. The clowns who decided the qualifiers should not find a winner on the first fixture, should be shown no mercy.

All due respect to Wexford and Roscommon, but I doubt if there were more than 2,000 at the game in wexford, there may be 3,000 at the game next week, my guess is the rossies are still sick after the mayo game. This c**k-up has now potentially thrown the football over the next month into disarray
Post by: joemamas on July 11, 2009, 11:57:26 PM

1. A provincial champion could now have to wait 5 weeks (Cork) or 4 weeks (Dublin or Kildare) for their next game.

2. If the team that plays Wexford/Roscommon results in a draw , add one week to the above

3. if 2 should happen, then the teams involved in 1. would have to play a semi-final week after q/final, assuing there is no draw in q/final

4. Croke Park last week put tickets on sale for q/finals semi-final, it is now apparent that all 4 q/finals cannot take place on August Bank Holiday weekend. Pity the poor peolple who are set to go on holidays the week after and their team not being involved on august 1,2, or 3.

5. As for the teams, well the last eight teams that ultimately plays the winner of the winner of the wexford/roscommon/ whoever game will now have to wait  until July 26th to find out if they are playing the week after of two weeks later.

6. the club c/ships of the teams involved in 5 above, will in all likelihood be totally screwed up.

7. what about the unfortunate fans from abroad, who have already booked their tickets for the August bank holiday weekend to watch their team, and for the ones travelling who have not booked will most likely get f***ed on airline tickets because the cannot book their tickets until the July 26 q/final draw.

8. you will now get qualifier teams complaining that they have had to play four/five weeks in a row, and that some teams have had a week off, .ie. the team that is drawn to play wexfor/roscommon.

If i were the C.E.O. of croke park, multiple heads would roll come Monday morning, what a black eye , you know the press will have a field day with this. e.g you can to plan to see u2 in croke park but not your own county. The clowns who decided the qualifiers should not find a winner on the first fixture, should be shown no mercy.

All due respect to Wexford and Roscommon, but I doubt if there were more than 2,000 at the game in wexford, there may be 3,000 at the game next week, my guess is the rossies are still sick after the mayo game. This c**k-up has now potentially thrown the football over the next month into disarray
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2009, 12:04:49 AM
'Tis shambolic all right - is there a chance that Wexford vs Roscommon will be (re)played mid-week, this week?
Post by: ross4life on July 12, 2009, 12:12:56 AM
Quote from: joemamas on July 11, 2009, 11:57:26 PM

5. As for the teams, well the last eight teams that ultimately plays the winner of the winner of the wexford/roscommon/ whoever game will now have to wait  until July 26th to find out if they are playing the week after of two weeks later.

7. what about the unfortunate fans from abroad, who have already booked their tickets for the August bank holiday weekend to watch their team, and for the ones travelling who have not booked will most likely get f***ed on airline tickets because the cannot book their tickets until the July 26 q/final draw.

over 7000 fans today with over 2000 rossies fans ;)

& i expect 7000 plus next week, i don't think your aware of the fact, no matter how bad we are! Football is a religion in Roscommon

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 12, 2009, 12:49:46 AM
The teams have already lost once in the championship and had 90 minutes to win this game. I know its unfair but the replay should be mid week. Its the only way to stop the schedule being messed up for all other counties. The authorities seriously need to plan better for these things.
Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2009, 01:13:44 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 12, 2009, 12:49:46 AM
The teams have already lost once in the championship and had 90 minutes to win this game. I know its unfair but the replay should be mid week. Its the only way to stop the schedule being messed up for all other counties. The authorities seriously need to plan better for these things.

And how is it you expect them to get the time off  at the drop of a hat to play this game? Get real will you, you can't punish the teams involved for the GAA's lack of foresight
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2009, 01:15:31 AM
Quarter finals have been rescheduled before - Dublin last year, Armagh in 2005 are just two that spring to mind. Ok its not ideal but certainly there's no way Roscommon or Wexford should be expected to play 3 games in a week to decide their season.

If people are determined to cling to the lopsided provincial championships, these things will happen, albeit that the qualifiers could, and should, have started a week earlier.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 12, 2009, 01:41:09 PM
Well said Tacadóir and Gnevin. Dreamer, I'm surprised at you. Counties are entitled to equal treatment. Everybody has equal pride in his or her own shirt and is entitled to equal respect. Shame on you.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 12, 2009, 01:47:25 PM
It wasnt a criticsm of the counties or a lack of respect for them. A midweek game could be played some were half way that would be within 2 hours of each county. In hindsight it probably would be a bit harsh given the travelling involved. My point was that teams have already been beaten once in the championship and failed to win after 90 mins yesterday so they've had a second chance. I just dont think due to the tight scheduling that other counties should be left in a situation when they dont know when they're playing. Personally I think the game should have been sorted out last night even by next score wins. I would feel the same no matter who was playing.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 12, 2009, 01:48:20 PM
The scheduling of the qualifiers is crazy anyway. They should have started at least 1 week earlier when draws are a possibility.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 12, 2009, 06:05:53 PM
Why are they showing the 2004 Munster final on RTE now?
Post by: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:08:34 PM
Was just about to ask that!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 12, 2009, 06:11:23 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:08:34 PM
Was just about to ask that!

What the f**k is going on here?? When is the draw?

Is this a major GAA conspiracy?!? They will apologise and then tell us who they drew out after!!
Post by: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:12:42 PM
They're currently trying to decide who should play who!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 12, 2009, 06:14:43 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 12, 2009, 06:05:53 PM
Why are they showing the 2004 Munster final on RTE now?

They seem to show extended highlights of some old game before every draw. Ridiculous really. Just do the draw.

Post by: blanketattack on July 12, 2009, 06:16:15 PM
They've had to delay the qualifying draw as Trevor Walsh's notes on the counties haven't arrived in the RTE studios yet and Ger Canning said he can't do the coverage without them.
Post by: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:17:42 PM
TV3 didn't do this last week. Are RTE prerecording the draw?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2009, 06:18:47 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:17:42 PM
Well it might take a couple of attempts to get it just the way they want
Post by: BennyHarp on July 12, 2009, 06:20:06 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:17:42 PM

This is ridiculous - why not at least show some highlights of the weekends qualifiers?? Must have the balls in the oven warming up so they know which to pull out - my money is Kerry v Wicklow
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 12, 2009, 06:28:12 PM
Derry v Kerry, that's what we want.
Post by: fred the red on July 12, 2009, 06:28:43 PM
Derry V Down.

to be played at celtic park.
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 06:35:29 PM
I hope kerry and derry don't draw each other otherwise the quarter finals will be crap.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 12, 2009, 06:38:08 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:12:42 PM
They're currently trying to decide who should play who!

Exactly, they are deciding which easy team Kerry will play and which Ulster teams will play each other.
Post by: Hound on July 12, 2009, 06:38:38 PM
Disagree indiana. Kildare and meath would certainly give the connacht champs a game
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 06:43:48 PM
Kildare would- meath wouldn't IMO.
Post by: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:47:03 PM
About fuckin time.
Post by: ziggysego on July 12, 2009, 06:48:28 PM
Wicklow v Down
Meath v Wexford/Roscommon
Kerry v Sligo
Donegal v Derry
Post by: downman on July 12, 2009, 06:49:02 PM
bring on wicklow!!!
Post by: thejuice on July 12, 2009, 06:50:00 PM
meath vs wexford/roscommon. nice
Post by: BennyHarp on July 12, 2009, 06:50:34 PM
kerry at home to sligo!  ::)
Post by: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:51:56 PM
God hates Derry.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 06:52:57 PM
God must be from Donegal.

7th game at home in a row.

Best wishes to Sligo. Travel in numbers and give it a lash.
Post by: ziggysego on July 12, 2009, 06:53:05 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 12, 2009, 06:51:56 PM
God hates Derry.

He's not the only one. Had a Monaghan in the house earlier.
Post by: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 06:53:38 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 12, 2009, 06:50:34 PM
kerry at home to sligo!  ::)

might give them a false sence of security, and then they have to play a propper team... bit of a joke though  :-\
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2009, 06:53:46 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 12, 2009, 06:50:00 PM
meath vs wexford/roscommon. nice

Please let it be Wexford.  >:( ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 12, 2009, 06:53:50 PM
Oh dear God. You would think we didn't travel far enough yesterday. We'll be raped down there.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 06:55:23 PM
Quoteand then they have to play a propper team

ah go and shite would ya FFS  >:(

Proper as in Mayo like (thinking of All Ireland finals past)
Post by: gerry on July 12, 2009, 06:56:02 PM
donegal v derry the pick of the matches,  hopefully kerry might do better in the second half against sligo
Post by: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 06:56:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 06:55:23 PM
Quoteand then they have to play a propper team

ah go and shite would ya FFS  >:(

Proper as in Mayo like (thinking of All Ireland finals past)

sorry i shouldn't have said propper, i meant a team! Sligo are class!!  :)
Post by: gerry on July 12, 2009, 06:57:45 PM
Quote from: new devil on July 12, 2009, 06:55:39 PM
Full draw is????

about 8 post back you lazy fecker
Post by: redhandluke on July 12, 2009, 06:58:41 PM
Games are at neutral venues, no?
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 06:59:14 PM
Crap draw really although Wicklow are probably happy enough. Meath, Kerry and Derry should all prevail.
Post by: ziggysego on July 12, 2009, 06:59:36 PM
Quote from: redhandluke on July 12, 2009, 06:58:41 PM
Games are at neutral venues, no?

No
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 06:59:58 PM
Quotesorry i shouldn't have said propper, i meant shite!

Crawl back to Hoganstand where you belong.
Post by: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 07:01:11 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2009, 06:59:58 PM

ok, i'll just crawl out of your mammys ass first!!  :-\
Post by: new devil on July 12, 2009, 07:02:33 PM
Quote from: new devil on July 11, 2009, 10:18:31 PM

::) ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2009, 07:04:03 PM
Nice one for Meath. They have a two week break as well.
Post by: boro on July 12, 2009, 07:09:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2009, 07:04:03 PM
Nice one for Meath. They have a two week break as well.

Don't worry Wexford like playing meath, just need to get past the sheep stealers first
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 12, 2009, 07:09:55 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 12, 2009, 01:41:09 PM
Well said Tacadóir and Gnevin. Dreamer, I'm surprised at you. Counties are entitled to equal treatment. Everybody has equal pride in his or her own shirt and is entitled to equal respect. Shame on you.

They may be, but there are a lot of rumours going around tonight that the Ross Wexford replay is going to be scheduled for Wednesday night in the Hyde, with the winner playing again at the weekend...
Post by: Barney on July 12, 2009, 07:11:39 PM
All look fairly predictable.

If Ros/Wexford are made to play midweek because the GAA can't get a proper calender together it is an absolute disgrace.
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on July 12, 2009, 07:14:34 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 12, 2009, 07:09:55 PM

They may be, but there are a lot of rumours going around tonight that the Ross Wexford replay is going to be scheduled for Wednesday night in the Hyde, with the winner playing again at the weekend...

All qualifiers will be played next weekend. The Wexford game will be played during the week. You might be lucky to get the meath game on the sunday rather than the saturday. Next draw is next sunday.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 12, 2009, 07:14:57 PM
So at least 5 Ulster teams will be gone by the end of the third round of the qualifiers  :o ::). So the power have got what they wanted. Looks like Tyrone might have to go it on their own. Maybe Derry could join them in the quarter final.  :-\
Post by: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 07:18:27 PM
Is it fair that Donegal and Wicklow will have had 3 home games in a row?

Anyway, have to agree with a lot of people - this looks like a fix at this stage.
Post by: boro on July 12, 2009, 07:19:17 PM
Quote from: Oakleafer1993 on July 12, 2009, 07:14:34 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 12, 2009, 07:09:55 PM

All qualifiers will be played next weekend. The Wexford game will be played during the week. You might be lucky to get the meath game on the sunday rather than the saturday. Next draw is next sunday.

That would be awful unfair on a bunch of amature players who have day jobs not to mention us wexford supporters. Mid-week me hole
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 07:40:00 PM
Quote from: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 07:01:11 PM

Jees where do ye get them from in mayo, arrogant nutcases :-\
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 07:42:06 PM
The Wexford game is fixed for next saturday so Meath have a 2 week break.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2009, 07:44:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 07:18:27 PM

Anyway, have to agree with a lot of people - this looks like a fix at this stage.

Luck of the draw. Wouldn't eally have any problem with it. Actually 4 in a row for Donegal - they were drawn at home against Antrim.

Really don't think Roscommon or Wexford should be asked to play on Wednesday night. Completely unfair on both sides. Its a bit of a hindrance having to postpone one of the quarter finals a week but its not the end of the world and have been done before. Ros and Wexford are as entitled to fair play as Tyrone, Cork or Dublin.
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 07:45:37 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2009, 07:44:16 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 12, 2009, 07:18:27 PM

Luck of the draw. Wouldn't eally have any problem with it. Actually 4 in a row for Donegal - they were drawn at home against Antrim.

Really don't think Roscommon or Wexford should be asked to play on Wednesday night. Completely unfair on both sides. Its a bit of a hindrance having to postpone one of the quarter finals a week but its not the end of the world and have been done before. Ros and Wexford are as entitled to fair play as Tyrone, Cork or Dublin.

There is no chance of a midweek fixture. Don't know who mentioned that ???
Post by: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 07:54:03 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2009, 07:40:00 PM
Quote from: MadMayo on July 12, 2009, 07:01:11 PM

Jees where do ye get them from in mayo, arrogant nutcases :-\

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2009, 02:33:05 PM
Have the venues, times etc been announced yet?
Post by: Rossfan on July 13, 2009, 03:28:10 PM
Our resident local GAA insider tells me Ros/Wexford is at 3 on Saturday.
Post by: Minus15 on July 13, 2009, 05:10:42 PM
The GAA have confirmed the times and venues for next weekend's championship matches in both hurling and football.

On Saturday the All-Ireland Round 3 Football qualifiers take centre stage with Down's visit to face Wicklow in Aughrim opening proceedings at 3.00pm.

Sligo make the long journey south to face Kerry in Tralee for a 5.00pm throw-in, while the all-Ulster clash between Derry and Donegal is fixed for 7.00pm in Ballybofey.

Meanwhile, the Round 2 GAA All-Ireland Football qualifier replay between Roscommon and Wexford will have a 3.00pm start at Dr Hyde Park.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 13, 2009, 08:31:52 PM
Seemingly thats 7 straight home games for Donegal at home in the Championship. The new Dubs!!

Meath will defo fancy their chances now they have an extra week to rest and prepare
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 13, 2009, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 13, 2009, 08:31:52 PM
Seemingly thats 7 straight home games for Donegal at home in the Championship. The new Dubs!!

Meath will defo fancy their chances now they have an extra week to rest and prepare

They may not because they will have to play 3 games in (at the most) 10 days to be ready for the quater finals if they make it.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 13, 2009, 09:29:49 PM
18.07.2009 (Sat)

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship
Qualifier Round 2 Replay

Dr Hyde PK 3.00pm Ros Comáin v Loch Garman
Referee: TBC
(E.T. if Necessary)

Qualifier Round 3

Ballybofey 7.00pm Dún na nGall v Doire
(E.T. if Necessary)

Tralee 5.00pm Ciarraí v Sligeach TV3
(E.T. if Necessary)

Aughrim 3.00pm Cill Mhantáin v An Dún RTE2
(E.T. if Necessary)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 13, 2009, 09:35:40 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 13, 2009, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 13, 2009, 08:31:52 PM

They may not because they will have to play 3 games in (at the most) 10 days to be ready for the quater finals if they make it.

Can't see anybody being asked to play more than once a week. They'll just postpone one of the quarter finals.
Post by: Bod Mor on July 14, 2009, 01:08:54 AM
What happens if Meath V Roscommon/Wexford finishes level, will the 1/4 final have to be pushed back 2 weeks??
Post by: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 01:18:29 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 14, 2009, 01:08:54 AM
What happens if Meath V Roscommon/Wexford finishes level, will the 1/4 final have to be pushed back 2 weeks??

1/2/3.08.2009 (Sat/Sun/Mon)
All Ireland Quarter-Finals

first semi final
23.08.2009 (Sun)

thats 2 FREE weekends
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 14, 2009, 01:21:49 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 14, 2009, 01:08:54 AM

I'd assume so. In theory a replay of Meath's 3rd round qualifier would be played on the August Bank holiday weekend.

Should be grand though. There's no history of Meath holding up championships by drawing matches.
Post by: NetNitrate on July 14, 2009, 02:59:13 AM
Do not think the GAA is too bothered about the holdup. With Dublin winning Leinster, they were never going to be able to hold 2 doubleheaders on Bank Holiday weekend. Dubs will fill Croker on their own and they'll need one day alone for that. I'd say then a doubleheader and then depending on who emerges from the losing provincial finalist v (Meath v Wex/Ros) could up being played anywhere depending on who they draw.
Post by: Hound on July 14, 2009, 07:08:52 AM
Sat Aug 1 - One QF
Sun Aug 2 - Two QFs
Sat Aug 8 - One QF (involving whoever comes from the Meath section of the draw)

So the Dubs highly likely to be playing on a Saturday, probably the 1st, unless they draw Meath (or the team that beats Meath).

Potentially, the final QF could be doubled up with the Kilkenny hurling semi on the 9th.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 14, 2009, 10:17:16 AM
Anyone know what match will be shown on tv?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 10:26:45 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 14, 2009, 10:17:16 AM

Down match at 3pm on RTE then Kerry on TV3 at 5pm
Post by: tbrick18 on July 14, 2009, 10:28:15 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 10:26:45 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 14, 2009, 10:17:16 AM

Down match at 3pm on RTE then Kerry on TV3 at 5pm

Cheers!
Post by: sam03/05 on July 19, 2009, 06:19:24 PM
when is the draw on?
Post by: Schkite on July 19, 2009, 06:20:35 PM
During Sunday Game I think.
Post by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 06:43:12 PM
10.30pm tonight according to kerry forum
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 06:51:45 PM
We'll get Kildare.
I have forseen this.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 08:03:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 06:51:45 PM
We'll get Kildare.
I have forseen this.

Got a text that the draw was prerecorded as is as follows

Kildare v Meath/Ross  :o
Galway v Kerry
Limerick v Wicklow
Antrim v Donegal
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 08:06:57 PM
I heard it's
Wicklow v Kerry
Antrim v Meath/Roscommon
Kildare v Limerick
Galway v Donegal

Lottery numbers to follow.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 19, 2009, 08:10:31 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 08:06:57 PM
I heard it's
Wicklow v Kerry
Antrim v Meath/Roscommon
Kildare v Limerick
Galway v Donegal

Lottery numbers to follow.
You heard incorrectly-Kerry can't get Wicklow and Kildare can't get Limerick
Post by: Main Street on July 19, 2009, 08:24:44 PM
I always thought the voices inside Hardy's head were off the rail.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2009, 08:34:22 PM
I have heard (from a Kerryman) that it's Galway v Kerry anyway. Presume they have done the draw already and it will just be shown later on tonight. He could be wrong of course.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 19, 2009, 08:39:24 PM
I thought the draw was to be done live on T.V, sure otherwise it can be fixed, like for instance the drawing of Ulster teams against
each other and Kerry the saft route ;)
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 09:21:54 PM
OK - I was lying. But I know the lottery numbers.
Post by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 09:27:45 PM
are there home games up for grabs or is in neutral venues next week? great buzz around tralee this w/e with the sligo crowd so the gaa should try to replicate that. what the point in dragging (say) antrim and kerry to portlaoise when one of them could have a home game?
Post by: Rav67 on July 19, 2009, 09:30:25 PM
If the draw has been pre-recorded and I assume people are correct in saying it was - why the feck could it not have been done live on air??
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 09:34:26 PM
sorry neutral venues, Dessie says draw will be live
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 09:34:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 08:03:00 PM
We'll get Kildare.
I have forseen this.

Galway v Kerry
Limerick v Wicklow
Antrim v Donegal

Hope you're right - be decent games!

Why are ulster counties nearly always drawn against each other?
Post by: Rav67 on July 19, 2009, 09:40:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 09:34:46 PM

Not usually a conspiracy theorist but I was thinking they might well have wanted Monaghan out of the Championship- they got a bad draw both times.  Only 3 Ulster teams left and the rest have either been put out by Wicklow or other Ulster teams.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 09:40:33 PM
Hope this draw is true. Have tickets for U2 next Saturday but I'd be getting rid of them if Kildare were playing.

If it is true, they're hardly doing an awful lot to convince the conspiracy theorists by not holding it live.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 09:42:18 PM
DH, I hope not would hate to play Meath if they win next week.
Post by: Tyrones own on July 19, 2009, 09:43:52 PM
We'll get Kildare.
I have forseen this.

Galway v Kerry
Limerick v Wicklow
Antrim v Donegal

Self explanatory really .... one Ulster team at the business end is one too many for most of them them down there.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 09:45:46 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 19, 2009, 09:40:08 PM

Not usually a conspiracy theorist but I was thinking they might well have wanted Monaghan out of the Championship- they got a bad draw both times.  Only 3 Ulster teams left and the rest have either been put out by Wicklow or other Ulster teams.

Well that seems to be the case nearly every year, it might be my imagination but I'd love to see some stats on it.. 
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 09:46:37 PM
When did the first predictions that the draw was pre-recorded emerge? Christy Cooney was in Clones until 5.30/6pm - he would have never made it to RTE Donnybrook in two hours?? First signs of the "draw" emerged here at 8pm - it's just purely speculation I guess.

With so few draw permutations the draw nearly always gets predicted correctly on here anyhow and not just this year either
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 09:49:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 09:42:18 PM

I'd prefer Meath (would expect them to beat Ros) in Tullamore than Kerry in a half empty Thurles. Meath would have a bit of momentum behind them if it is to be them, but they'd focus Kildare minds especially after the way the league match finished.
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 09:53:08 PM
Just heard that the draw was outed on KFM Radio earlier!!!!!!!!!! That's where all of this came from  - the 'live' draw will be up shortly.
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:04:57 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 19, 2009, 09:43:52 PM
We'll get Kildare.
I have forseen this.

Galway v Kerry
Limerick v Wicklow
Antrim v Donegal

Self explanatory really .... one Ulster team at the business end is one too many for most of them them down there.

When you are drawn against Leinster teams you tend to lose so I think this is one way of keeping Ulster fans interested.  ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2009, 10:07:27 PM
Heard again that it's definitely Galway v Kerry. Are they still claiming that it's a live draw?
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 10:14:33 PM
http://www.wicklowgaaonline.com/index.php/2009/07/wicklow-to-face-limerick/
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2009, 10:18:45 PM
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 19, 2009, 10:20:59 PM
There was a bit of a scandal about these live draws not being live a few years back and now the idiots in the GAA have gone and done the same again. Unbelievable.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 19, 2009, 10:24:10 PM
Des has just claimed again that it's live.
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 10:25:00 PM
Des adamant it's live despite the rumours going around the country!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Rois on July 19, 2009, 10:25:14 PM
Haha Des Cahill's been reading the board.
Post by: heffo on July 19, 2009, 10:26:25 PM
A senior Croke park source just texted me to say that's bull and it's definitly live
Post by: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:27:02 PM
Sure he'd have to do that anyway!!
Post by: gerry on July 19, 2009, 10:27:26 PM
We will soon see, who is telling fibs
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 10:28:01 PM
Quote from: gerry on July 19, 2009, 10:27:26 PM
We will soon see, who is telling fibs

maybe they've changed them  :D
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 10:28:43 PM
Could they be doing a second draw??????????
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:29:06 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 09:49:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 09:42:18 PM

I'd prefer Meath (would expect them to beat Ros) in Tullamore than Kerry in a half empty Thurles. Meath would have a bit of momentum behind them if it is to be them, but they'd focus Kildare minds especially after the way the league match finished.

I think it would be a savage game (if we get over the Rossies).
Would Portlaoise not be a more likely venue?
Post by: slievegullion on July 19, 2009, 10:33:36 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 10:28:43 PM
Could they be doing a second draw??????????

Nothing would surprise me.

Anyone remember the same craic a few years ago and after the pre-recorded draw was shown Michael Lyster did a fake kind of 'I've just sat down kind of thing' so it looked hed just walked back from the part of the studio where the draw had just taken place? ridiculous stuff?
Post by: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:34:26 PM
About to find out
Post by: slievegullion on July 19, 2009, 10:36:29 PM
thats that conspiracy beat
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 19, 2009, 10:36:37 PM
Definately live.

Antrim v Kerry first out.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:37:04 PM
Theres not much mixing of the 'balls'

They twirl the things around but the 'balls' stay in the same position that they were originally.

Kerry Antrim, great!
Post by: gerry on July 19, 2009, 10:37:24 PM
Go on antrim
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 19, 2009, 10:37:36 PM
Kildare v Wicklow
Galway v Donegal
Limerick v Meath/Roscommon
Post by: laoisgaa on July 19, 2009, 10:37:47 PM
Antrim v Kerry; Kildare v Wicklow; Galway v Donegal; Limerick v Meath/Roscommon - so much for the conspiracy theories
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 10:38:23 PM
Hmmmm
Post by: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:38:38 PM
Fcukin fix! They never even mixed up the pods in the drum!
Post by: sam03/05 on July 19, 2009, 10:38:53 PM
do they get played at neutral venues??
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 10:39:04 PM
KFM - first for breaking news!  ::)

Kildare v Micklow. Shouldn't be hard for our lads to raise themselves to face Wiclow. We really owe them one for last year's debacle in Croke Park.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:39:20 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:38:38 PM

Thats what I said earlier. Even when they spun the drums the pods as you call them never moved.
Post by: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:39:36 PM
Poor Antrim, Pity they didnt get Wicklow or Meath / Roscommon
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:39:57 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on July 19, 2009, 10:38:53 PM
do they get played at neutral venues??

Yup
Post by: johnpower on July 19, 2009, 10:40:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2009, 10:38:23 PM
Hmmmm

Not surprised to be honest all of the beaten provincial finalists worried me

Kildare V Wicklow very interesting

wonder where they will be played ?

Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:40:36 PM
Quote from: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:39:36 PM
Poor Antrim, Pity they didnt get Wicklow or Meath / Roscommon

Kerry didn't look like world beaters yesterday, Antrim would be well up for it.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:41:21 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 19, 2009, 10:40:27 PM
Hmmmm

I would say the venues and times will be announced tomorrow... Has been the format so far this year.
Post by: slievegullion on July 19, 2009, 10:41:35 PM
when would the venues be decided, where the hell would be the venue for antrim kerry?
Post by: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:42:14 PM
Quotewonder where they will be played ?

Parnell Pk, Or would that be too small?

Post by: sam03/05 on July 19, 2009, 10:42:34 PM
Pity its not at Casement. If it was I would give Antrim a great chance
Parnell Park/ Portlaois then you would have to fancy Kerry big time.
Post by: RMDrive on July 19, 2009, 10:43:04 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 19, 2009, 10:39:20 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:38:38 PM

Thats what I said earlier. Even when they spun the drums the pods as you call them never moved.

Surley we can divert the monies from one of the U2 concerts and but a couple of round bottomed drums FFS. It's the same old perspex crap that the wheel out every year and every year the cannisters don't move!!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 19, 2009, 10:43:11 PM
Its a conspiracy ! Kerry get another  "weak" team....oh no, wait, hang on.....werent two Ulster teams supposed to be drawn against each other ....... ::)
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 19, 2009, 10:43:49 PM
Can't see Kerry progressing, Antrim by two.
Post by: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:44:02 PM
Quotewhen would the venues be decided, where the hell would be the venue for antrim kerry?

Mullingar?

Galway - Donegal will be Castlebar if its available - they played an all-Ireland QF there a few years ago
Post by: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:44:51 PM
Kerry v Antrim will be Portlaoise I'd be thinking.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2009, 10:45:35 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 19, 2009, 10:40:27 PM
Hmmmm

Carlow or Portlaoise for ourselves I'd say
Post by: mckieran on July 19, 2009, 10:46:24 PM
I think we might see Antrim - Kerry & Kildare-Wicklow pushed into a double header. Portlaoise could be ideal for this.
Post by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:47:04 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:44:51 PM

probably but its an awful pity its not in casement or killarney...
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:47:33 PM
I'd say Kildare and Wicklow might go to Navan and Antrim/Kerry will go to Portlaoise.
Post by: INDIANA on July 19, 2009, 10:48:49 PM
Antrim to put it up to them but Kerry to win.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 10:49:40 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:44:51 PM

We've a good qualifier record from there
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2009, 10:52:35 PM
Given that Donegal are probably celebrating their victory and even a weakened Kerry is probably a step too far for Antrim, I only see Tyrone of the Ulster teams in the Quarters. From 3 Ulster teams in the semis to 1 in the Quarters in a half decade.
Post by: Shortso79 on July 19, 2009, 10:53:00 PM
Tommy Lyons actually make a valid point there

The defeated finalists should get home advantage - bit of an incentive
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:53:16 PM
So the winners of Meath and Roscommon play Limerick.
The winners of Meath and Roscommon really owe them one for last year!
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2009, 10:53:44 PM
Kerry fans never travel, so why not play Antrim in Clones... or Newry  :)
Post by: RMDrive on July 19, 2009, 10:54:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2009, 10:52:35 PM
Given that Donegal are probably celebrating their victory and even a weakened Kerry is probably a step too far for Antrim, I only see Tyrone of the Ulster teams in the Quarters. From 3 Ulster teams in the semis to 1 in the Quarters in a half decade.

Yeah Ulsters strength is waning all right. Tis the way of things.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 10:57:23 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:47:33 PM
I'd say Kildare and Wicklow might go to Navan and Antrim/Kerry will go to Portlaoise.

Double header in Portlaoise possibily?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 19, 2009, 10:57:34 PM
FFS...how embarrassing is that being kept alive at all costs :-[
Post by: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:59:00 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 19, 2009, 10:53:44 PM

or casement! the neutral venues are bullshit imo and no the losing provincial finalist should not get the home game it should be a toss for who gets it
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:59:48 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 10:57:23 PM

I would have thought Kildare and Micklow would fill Portlaoise on their own.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:01:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 10:59:48 PM

Does Portlaoise not hold near 50,000?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 19, 2009, 11:01:58 PM
Antrim hurlers play Offaly in Parnell in the relgation play-off. Would a double header not make sense?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 19, 2009, 11:02:55 PM
It was a cert for Limerick to get Meath/Roscommon. The hurlers are due to play this weekend and have some dual players and worked out well that they drew Meath/Roscommon as they play this weekend.
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:03:26 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:01:26 PM

More like 25,000.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 19, 2009, 11:03:55 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 19, 2009, 10:59:00 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 19, 2009, 10:53:44 PM

or casement! the neutral venues are bullshit imo and no the losing provincial finalist should not get the home game it should be a toss for who gets it

I wouldn't agree with you on this one magickingdom. Progress in the provincial championships should mean something or else scrap them. Besides I'd promised to take Mrs Casey across the border for shopping if we drew the saffrons away (I was going to drop her in Newry and pick her up on the way back - serious brownie points). ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:09:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:03:26 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:01:26 PM

More like 25,000.

27,000 I see. Dunno where I got the idea it held far more than that. Been in it a couple of times too. I think I take the Fr Dougal award for crowd perception.

Would a double header attract more than 27,000 though? Augrim only holds 5 or 6 thousand doesn't it? So assuming Wicklow only take their Aughrim support with them and Kerry about 2,000. Couldn't see Antrim taking many more than 5,000 or so. Would Kildare take much more than 10,000?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2009, 11:12:53 PM
QuoteWould Kildare take much more than 10,000?

We took about that to Tullamore, feel good factor in the county is high plus the hype around Micko means we could bring around 15K.
Post by: Jinxy on July 19, 2009, 11:13:50 PM
Kildare would bring approx 15K I'd say.
Add in a few neutrals and 5 or 6K from Wicklow.
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2009, 11:20:53 PM
Interesting draw, Galway  V Donegal should be good
Post by: paddypastit on July 19, 2009, 11:24:46 PM
Ky will hardly have many travelling.  Expect the two antrim games to be an all ticket double header in Parnell  - on the assumption that they won't split the two Antrim teams?

Expect Ke - Wk to be in Carlow.

A triple header in Portlaoise is also an option - but would be tight.

Gy - Dl will be in Castlebar, assuming that the work there is not ongoing.  Assume not given that Mayo played Rosc there.  If it isn't available, Sligo is an option but a bit far for Gy, but theyt have played there this year.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 19, 2009, 11:32:01 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:09:16 PM
27,000 I see. Dunno where I got the idea it held far more than that.

I remember seeing a scale model of O'Moore Park ahead of its redevelopment, at the GAA Centenary exhibition in the RDS way back in 1984. The plans at that stage were definitely for a 50,000 capacity ground.
Title: Gluaisteáin
Post by: drici on July 19, 2009, 11:33:53 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on July 19, 2009, 11:24:46 PM
Ky will hardly have many travelling.  Expect the two antrim games to be an all ticket double header in Parnell  - on the assumption that they won't split the two Antrim teams?

Gy - Dl will be in Castlebar, assuming that the work there is not ongoing.  Assume not given that Mayo played Rosc there.  If it isn't available, Sligo is an option but a bit far for Gy, but theyt have played there this year.

Good idea maybe to have the XKZ 5412 v KY Football game and the XKZ 5412 v OY Hurling match both in Parnell Park.
Title: Re: Gluaisteáin
Post by: Rav67 on July 20, 2009, 12:11:33 AM
Quote from: drici on July 19, 2009, 11:33:53 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on July 19, 2009, 11:24:46 PM

Good idea maybe to have the XKZ 5412 v KY Football game and the XKZ 5412 v OY Hurling match both in Parnell Park.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 20, 2009, 12:18:27 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 19, 2009, 11:32:01 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2009, 11:09:16 PM
27,000 I see. Dunno where I got the idea it held far more than that.

I remember seeing a scale model of O'Moore Park ahead of its redevelopment, at the GAA Centenary exhibition in the RDS way back in 1984. The plans at that stage were definitely for a 50,000 capacity ground.

I wasn't born until 1985 so doubt that's where I got the idea from!
Post by: deiseach on July 20, 2009, 12:29:38 AM
For eveyone who fell for those rumours earlier in the evening: did you know Paddy Cullen was the man in the X case? It's true, I read it somewhere online.
Post by: Jinxy on July 20, 2009, 12:58:52 AM
A lot of "talk" that there were 2 draws.
I don't think we've heard the last of this.
Post by: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 02:33:51 AM
what 2 draws?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 20, 2009, 05:25:22 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 02:33:51 AM
what 2 draws?

Kerry had initially drawn Galway in the pre recorded draw, until O'Connor got wind of it that is,
spat out the dummy and forced their hand to have another live draw fearing that Galway would probably
have the measure of them...chose Antrim in that they'll hopefully cause them fewer problems as they limp closer to
the business end having played and scraped by two Div 3/4 teams and one top team who made them look like an average club outfit
35 and counting me hole.....not too hard to know how, embarrassing actually in your arrogance :-[
Post by: Bod Mor on July 20, 2009, 05:57:47 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 20, 2009, 05:25:22 AM
what 2 draws?

Kerry had initially drawn Galway in the pre recorded draw, until O'Connor got wind of it that is,
spat out the dummy and forced their hand to have another live draw fearing that Galway would probably
have the measure of them...chose Antrim in that they'll hopefully cause them fewer problems as they limp closer to
the business end having played and scraped by two Div 3/4 teams and one top team who made them look like an average club outfit
35 and counting me hole.....not too hard to know how, embarrassing actually in your arrogance :-[

I don't know how to react after reading that, I feel sick after it. Are you the full shilling at all?
Post by: Hound on July 20, 2009, 07:26:09 AM
They always do two draws. A practice draw then the real draw. For the last two years they've usually done the real draw live.

I would have liked to see Kildare and Wicklow kept apart, but so be it. Funny that the Leinster fans don't go on about conspiracy theories when they get drawn together unlike our northern friends!
Post by: deiseach on July 20, 2009, 02:22:52 PM
what 2 draws?

The first draw was rigged to ensure the two big Ulster teams were placed together (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12567.msg597598#msg597598). The second draw was rigged because Kerry had to have a soft draw. I pity the GAA, all those competing interest groups to satisfy.
Post by: meathie on July 20, 2009, 02:48:53 PM
Find it hard to believe any of this is true. I dont nthink the GAA would bother trying to do this to be honest, with a risk of being found out, whats the point? So much about this today, cant understand it...
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 20, 2009, 03:02:31 PM
So let me get this straight...

For years the argument was that Kerry had it handy  in Munster, and they'd never have won all those all-Irelands if they had to play in Ulster.   And now the argument is that the draw was rigged so as to give Kerry a handy draw against... the defeater Ulster finalists?
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 20, 2009, 03:04:55 PM
Don't know why there is all this fuss about Kerry, I've watched their last few games and they have been woeful, a group of footballers from Kilkenny would give them a game.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 20, 2009, 03:23:54 PM
All the talk about 2 draws - there's normally a multitude as part of rehersals, but only 1 official live draw, or so I'm told from an eye witness at a live draw 2 yrs ago.  Suppose that's why the bits of paper with county names look a little ragged at times.
Post by: blanketattack on July 20, 2009, 03:29:53 PM
If they want to give Kerry the softest draw why did they give them Monaghan last year?
Post by: Main Street on July 20, 2009, 03:34:28 PM
Quote from: meathie on July 20, 2009, 02:48:53 PM
Find it hard to believe any of this is true. I dont nthink the GAA would bother trying to do this to be honest, with a risk of being found out, whats the point? So much about this today, cant understand it...
First you stop believing in Santa now you are saying you don't believer in GAA conspiracies.
What an empty life you have.
Post by: timmyot501 on July 20, 2009, 04:25:26 PM
Sat 25th July

Round 3 Qualifier
Meath v Roscommon in Navan at 7pm

Round 4 Qualifier
Galway v Donegal in Sligo at 3pm
Kildare v Wicklow in Portlaoise at 7pm

Sunday 26th July
Kerry v Antrim in Tullamore at 3pm
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 20, 2009, 04:29:31 PM

Galway Donegal @ 5.00 according to official website

--------------------------

This Week's Fixtures25.07.2009 (Sat)
Qualifier Round 3
Páirc Tailteann 7.00pm An Mhí v Ros Comáin
(E.T. if Necessary)

Qualifier Round 4
Portlaoise 7.00pm Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin TV3
(E.T. if Necessary)

Markievicz PK 5.00pm Gaillimh v Dún na nGall RTE2
(E.T. if Necessary)

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship
Relegation Round 1
Parnell PK 3.00pm Aontroim v Uíbh Fhailí
(E.T. if Necessary)

Portlaoise 5.00pm An Clár v Loch Garman
(E.T. if Necessary)

ESB GAA Hurling All Ireland Minor Championship
Quarter Final
Parnell PK 1.15pm Aontroim v Gaillimh
(E.T. if Necessary)

Portlaoise 3.00pm Loch Garman v Tiobraid Árann
(E.T. if Necessary)

26.07.2009 (Sun)
Qualifier Round 4
Tullamore 3.00pm Aontroim v Ciarraí
(E.T. if Necessary)

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship
Quarter Final
Thurles 2.00pm Áth Cliath v Luimneach RTE2
(E.T. if Necessary)

Thurles 4.00pm Port Láirge v Gaillimh RTE2
(E.T. if Necessary)
Post by: magickingdom on July 20, 2009, 07:02:28 PM
what 2 draws?

get help :)
Post by: magickingdom on July 20, 2009, 07:03:30 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 20, 2009, 03:04:55 PM
Don't know why there is all this fuss about Kerry, I've watched their last few games and they have been woeful, a group of footballers from Kilkenny would give them a game.

course they would, but they'd lose ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on July 20, 2009, 11:02:58 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 20, 2009, 07:02:28 PM
what 2 draws?

get help :)

Lord knows there's lots of it going round these past three weeks ;)
Post by: slievegullion on July 20, 2009, 11:15:40 PM
I dont for a second think there was anything underhand with the draw this week but I don't know why people on here are ridiculing the idea? Do you all not remember the rubbish we had to put up with 4-5 years ago? Being treated like absolute fools by the GAA and RTE.

You can't blame anyone for being a little paranoid this time around.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 01:26:40 AM
Serious rumours going round that Croke park will not be ready after the U2 concert. Not for all 4 games. What a potential shambles.
Post by: mckieran on July 21, 2009, 01:38:43 PM
According to the Irish Independent today, the rumours arose from how TV3 displayed the teams that were in the draw. They had provinical losers on one side, qualifer teams on the other. Galway & Kerry were straight across from each other. I was on the phone when this was shown and the person on the other end said to me "Did Galway get Kerry in the draw"? as they were looking at the TV3 pictures (As was I)
Post by: paddypastit on July 21, 2009, 01:55:57 PM
I see Bradley is bucking about the fixing of the game in Tullamore - he is bloody right
Post by: magpie seanie on July 21, 2009, 02:03:01 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on July 21, 2009, 01:55:57 PM
I see Bradley is bucking about the fixing of the game in Tullamore - he is bloody right

He'll be more annoyed about the way it will be reffed I dare say.
Post by: mckieran on July 21, 2009, 02:18:22 PM
In fairness to Bradley, he has got a point. It was a perfect opportunity to stage a double header with these two matches. It is asking a lot of any supporter to go to both of these matches.