GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Waterford Lurker on June 08, 2009, 10:45:44 PM

Title: Waterford vs Limerick, Thurles
Post by: Waterford Lurker on June 08, 2009, 10:45:44 PM
Prediction1 : Waterford to beat Limerick by two points on Sunday with Waterford's forwards just shading a low scoring contest. Eoin McGrath to be bursting out of his skin.

Prediction 2: Davy Fitz to hog the limelight to "take the pressure off the team"

Prediction 3: Poor Crowd of 26,759

Prediction 4: The winner to beat a vastly over-rated Tipp team in the Munster final (apologies to any Clare fans)

Prediction 5: The chip vans of Thurles to have their most profitable day of the year with both sets of fans reknowned for their love of battered greaseballs

Prediction 6: Limerick fans wearing Munster rugby jersies to be pilloried mercilessly (well maybe that's just my personal wish)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00148/gaa1_148403t.jpg)
Title: Re: Waterford vs Limerick, Thurles
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 09, 2009, 09:14:55 PM
Quote from: Waterford Lurker on June 08, 2009, 10:45:44 PM
Prediction1 : Waterford to beat Limerick by two points on Sunday with Waterford's forwards just shading a low scoring contest. Eoin McGrath to be bursting out of his skin.

Prediction 2: Davy Fitz to hog the limelight to "take the pressure off the team"

Prediction 3: Poor Crowd of 26,759

Prediction 4: The winner to beat a vastly over-rated Tipp team in the Munster final (apologies to any Clare fans)

Prediction 5: The chip vans of Thurles to have their most profitable day of the year with both sets of fans reknowned for their love of battered greaseballs

Prediction 6: Limerick fans wearing Munster rugby jersies to be pilloried mercilessly (well maybe that's just my personal wish)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00148/gaa1_148403t.jpg)
More obvious ones:
7: Davy Fitz to get in a jostling match with Justin McCarthy on the side line

8: Waterford goal scorer to kiss the crest

9: Limerick players to go on the sauce if they lose...or if they win either

Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 10, 2009, 11:04:59 AM
 I'm expecting  a great game  . Hickey is in but should expect some serious attention . Breen will have a massive challenge on his senior Championship debut .  Please God Shocks will show us some of his 07 form . We need Mark Foley with a strong pair of legs , Mark at least is consistantly solid every year which cannot be said for Ollie . Niall Moran seems to be motoring these days and hopefully he'll maintain his very impressive league form into the Championship , but he will need to shake off this goody goody image and   tare out onto the field like a man possesed . Reale , Lucy and Walsh/Condon /RMoloneyl (backline) will need theiir SportBilly boots on to take care of the Decie forward line  . Geary isn't to quick but can read  a game well and is a strong as a horse , he has another massive task on Sunday .   All around the field Limerick have to stand up and play out of their skin and once and for all keep the sliothar between the posts . If half of their normal wide count go over this Sunday IMHO and the forwards start hitting form early on in the game Limerick with their tails up should romp home . Alternatively the reverse could happen . It's really too close to call .  Limerick are fickle and regularly throw wobblers and Sunday maybe no different so Waterford deserve their favourites tag . Limerick traditionally have it over Waterford though so maybe that will stand to them and will bouy them up to drive on for victory . It really is a very hard game to call but I'll go with my heart and  say Limerick by two .
Post by: INDIANA on June 10, 2009, 02:01:51 PM
Really in 2 minds on this one. Two key issues:

- have Waterford recovered from last year's all-ireland mauling mentally

- Have Limerick the sufficient firepower to see off Waterford.
Post by: heffo on June 10, 2009, 02:18:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 10, 2009, 02:01:51 PM
Really in 2 minds on this one. Two key issues:

- have Waterford recovered from last year's all-ireland mauling mentally

- Have Limerick the sufficient firepower to see off Waterford.

I was talking to two Waterford players on the first 15 two weeks ago and neither are Davy Fitz fans.

Waterford also have a lot of niggly injuries and it looks like these guys are going to start anyway
Post by: Waterford Lurker on June 10, 2009, 09:12:22 PM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on June 10, 2009, 11:04:59 AM
Limerick traditionally have it over Waterford though so maybe that will stand to them and will bouy them up to drive on for victory . It really is a very hard game to call but I'll go with my heart and  say Limerick by two .

Is this the same Limerick who've beaten Waterford once in the championship in the last 8-10 years?   ;D (the day of Clem Smith skullduggery on Mullane / the big comeback )   :-*
Post by: awfulynice on June 11, 2009, 09:39:30 PM
I would bet on this being a dead rubber, waterford to win by 6-7 points at least....another great munster match  ::)
Post by: orangeman on June 11, 2009, 10:26:38 PM
Waterford should win with plenty to spare - but thrn Rcihie isn't with Limerick anymore - it's Justin. I'm expecting a ding dong battle with Limerick to emerge with a moral victory but Waterford to win the game.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 11, 2009, 10:34:42 PM
I think Limerick will do them. Waterford's older heads will be trying to prime for August and September, and Limerick will be gung ho with Justin dying to get one over Waterford.

I think Limericks physicality will restrict some of Waterfords better hurlers, and Limerick will win a tight one by 2-4 points.
Post by: heffo on June 11, 2009, 11:12:08 PM
Waterford team named:

Clinton Hennessy, Eoin Murphy, Declan Prendergast, Noel Connors, Aidan Kearney, Michael Walsh, Kevin Moran, Shane O'Sullivan, Stephen Molumphy, Jamie Nagle, Ken McGrath, Seamus Prendergast, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Kelly, John Mullane

Risky starting Nagle and Mullane and Hennessy has only played one club game (I think?) since his long layoff..
Post by: Zulu on June 12, 2009, 12:56:06 AM
What's risky is starting Brick at CB and Ken at CF, I can't figure that one out.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 12, 2009, 12:31:38 PM
Quote from: Waterford Lurker on June 10, 2009, 09:12:22 PM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on June 10, 2009, 11:04:59 AM
Limerick traditionally have it over Waterford though so maybe that will stand to them and will bouy them up to drive on for victory . It really is a very hard game to call but I'll go with my heart and  say Limerick by two .

Is this the same Limerick who've beaten Waterford once in the championship in the last 8-10 years?   ;D (the day of Clem Smith skullduggery on Mullane / the big comeback )   :-*

I think it's honours even in the last 8-10 years but prior to that The Decie haven't beaten Limk since 82 in the Championship . That was not the  thrust of my previous post there Waterford Lurker and I don't think it's important anyway . The closer I get to Sunday the more I doubt Limk's chances but we'll wait and see .
Post by: EddieMerx on June 12, 2009, 12:43:35 PM
This is a really hard game to call, We don't have two great teams so it's probably going to come down to hunger. If Waterford are up for it they will win.
Post by: INDIANA on June 12, 2009, 12:46:45 PM
think in limerick- they'll be hard to beat and the fact that justin knows the what the waterford lads have for breakfast will help limerick as well.
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 01:05:37 PM
What lads, no, I hope Waterford get destroyed because of the way they treated Justin, attitude? ;) ;)
Post by: EddieMerx on June 12, 2009, 01:15:05 PM
Nah, we can only hate one county at a time Reillers ;) Sorry but until another county pisses us off you may just accept that Cork are public enemy number 1.
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 01:42:15 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 12, 2009, 01:15:05 PM
Nah, we can only hate one county at a time Reillers ;) Sorry but until another county pisses us off you may just accept that Cork are public enemy number 1.

Meh, been there, done that.. ;)
A small bit hypocritical, but whatever, people love to hate Cork.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 12, 2009, 01:44:13 PM
Honestly, I'd love for Justin to get revenge for the way he was treated.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 12, 2009, 05:45:48 PM

Where are all the hurling people ? Thiss forum has a serious shortfall in hurling posters . Drip drip drip is all it is , FFS , what are your  opinions ?
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 06:03:27 PM
I hope Limerick do a number on Waterford. I really, really do.
Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2009, 06:08:26 PM
Isn't it ironic that a year on from the whole bitterness in Wateford that Big Dan is on the bench and there's hardly a word about it ??
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 06:45:10 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 12, 2009, 06:08:26 PM
Isn't it ironic that a year on from the whole bitterness in Wateford that Big Dan is on the bench and there's hardly a word about it ??

Almost 500 pages of people whining about the Cork hurlers and not a word about Waterford when at the end of the day what they did was 100 times worse, but no, lets not give out about them right.
Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2009, 06:53:26 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 06:45:10 PM

Almost 500 pages of people whining about the Cork hurlers and not a word about Waterford when at the end of the day what they did was 100 times worse, but no, lets not give out about them right.

I have alluded to it but to suggest that what Waterford did was 100 times worse ??? The perpetual prize for bringing the association into disrepute belongs exclusively to the lads in Cork whose strikes are now the stuff of legend !!.  ;)
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 07:24:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 12, 2009, 06:53:26 PM

I have alluded to it but to suggest that what Waterford did was 100 times worse ??? The perpetual prize for bringing the association into disrepute belongs exclusively to the lads in Cork whose strikes are now the stuff of legend !!.  ;)

The Waterford players wanted Justin out because they hadn't succeeded with him, they blamed him for their failings year after year, despite him being the reason why they had been so good for so long.
Cork's actions were not a witchhunt because of failures in the previous year, the Cork players actions were based on actions of the CCB, they didn't intentionally go out to stab the man in the back.
It's pretty clear to me. I don't know how you don't see it.  ;)
Post by: anglocelt39 on June 12, 2009, 07:52:11 PM
Christ Reillers you've proved yourself on one thread, not another, your warped logic knows no bounds
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 08:04:52 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on June 12, 2009, 07:52:11 PM
Christ Reillers you've proved yourself on one thread, not another, your warped logic knows no bounds

But I'm bored.  ;) ;)
Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 12, 2009, 08:56:54 PM

Please please Limerick will you win on Sunday . The pain is too much . I won't be able to hack the pressure of losing another Championship match in Thurlas . I could possibly jump out of the train on the way back if we lose . Oh the pain the pain of losing , it's just too much . We need a win to lift this dark cloud of gloom that's hanging over our city .   

If they can stand up and shake off history and negative expectation and hurl like the clappers for the full seventy I can't see Waterford beating them . Their mental approach is the key factor for this match . If their minds are right their perfomance will be lifted . Limerick hurling now more than ever need success to instill confidence on our youngsters . A confident win on Sunday would be a great start .
Post by: anglocelt39 on June 12, 2009, 09:53:03 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 08:04:52 PM

But I'm bored.  ;) ;)

Boring is the word you're looking for ya little scamp.

But I suppose you are right that Waterford were pretty much on the low side, hounding a legend of the GAA out of his job, a Cork man by the name of McCarthy, now where did I hear that one before. Unlike another group I can think of they did have the decency to publicly acknowledge their very great debt to the same man over several years. As far as I know they didn't organise any funeral boycotts either.
Post by: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 10:29:29 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on June 12, 2009, 09:53:03 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 12, 2009, 08:04:52 PM

But I'm bored.  ;) ;)

Boring is the word you're looking for ya little scamp.

But I suppose you are right that Waterford were pretty much on the low side, hounding a legend of the GAA out of his job, a Cork man by the name of McCarthy, now where did I hear that one before. Unlike another group I can think of they did have the decency to publicly acknowledge their very great debt to the same man over several years. As far as I know they didn't organise any funeral boycotts either.

As far as I know, no one organised any funeral boycott, and there's no proof for that, but I suppose that's what happens when you've simple minded folk listening to all kind of rumours, everything suddenly becomes fact with no evidence to proof so. ;) ;)
Post by: heffo on June 12, 2009, 11:13:05 PM

Perhaps the man who's mothers funeral was boycotted in a premeditated act by the GPA ringleaders and who received death threats from the shoppers might beg to differ.
Post by: Reillers on June 13, 2009, 12:09:16 AM
Quote from: heffo on June 12, 2009, 11:13:05 PM

Perhaps the man who's mothers funeral was boycotted in a premeditated act by the GPA ringleaders and who received death threats from the shoppers might beg to differ.

I'm not getting into this again, but unless you can back up your allegations, then don't bother spinning stories about them at all.

Waterford's intentions were worse, their reasons for doing what they did were based purely on the players failing again and again, year after year. Their motives were for nothing other then not being able to finish games and instead blaming the manager, who had made them as good as they are today. The only reason that this isn't getting as much ridiculous hype if because Justin knew when his time was up and did the right thing for Waterford GAA, even if he didn't agree, and the county board didn't force the players into a situation they did not want to be in.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 13, 2009, 12:57:25 AM
Being honest here chaps but this is the Limk v Waterford thread .

There's the G Mc thread for all that pallava .

Ignite it up back there again and I'll gladly join ye .  :)
Post by: heffo on June 13, 2009, 01:07:50 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 13, 2009, 12:09:16 AM

I'm not getting into this again, but unless you can back up your allegations, then don't bother spinning stories about them at all.

Waterford's intentions were worse, their reasons for doing what they did were based purely on the players failing again and again, year after year. Their motives were for nothing other then not being able to finish games and instead blaming the manager, who had made them as good as they are today. The only reason that this isn't getting as much ridiculous hype if because Justin knew when his time was up and did the right thing for Waterford GAA, even if he didn't agree, and the county board didn't force the players into a situation they did not want to be in.

I'm simply repeating the assertions Ger Mac made when he resigned Reillers - are you calling him a liar?

Post by: imtommygunn on June 13, 2009, 01:10:44 PM
Is ruining one thread not enough for you boys to ruin. Sure start a Justin McCarthy thread and we can avoid reading it.

I fancy Limerick for this. I think Waterford are aging and I think it's a bad idea taking Ken McGrath out of centre back and they will suffer for it.
Post by: Reillers on June 13, 2009, 01:13:05 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 13, 2009, 01:07:50 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 13, 2009, 12:09:16 AM

He sa

I'm simply repeating the assertions Ger Mac made when he resigned Reillers - are you calling him a liar?

He was guessing, he like you and your lot never had any proof.
And it wouldn't be the first time he has lied, but like I've said, I'm not going into it again, and we shouldn't discuss it here.
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2009, 10:01:44 PM
Big corwd expected in Thurles tomorrow ?.
Post by: heffo on June 13, 2009, 10:42:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 13, 2009, 10:01:44 PM
Big corwd expected in Thurles tomorrow ?.

I think there will be - Waterford normally travel to Thurles in big numbers.

I'm travelling down in the morning - looking forward to it.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 14, 2009, 10:15:11 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 13, 2009, 01:10:44 PM
Is ruining one thread not enough for you boys to ruin. Sure start a Justin McCarthy thread and we can avoid reading it.

I fancy Limerick for this. I think Waterford are aging and I think it's a bad idea taking Ken McGrath out of centre back and they will suffer for it.

But will he play there, if he does start there i can see him in defence if Limerick play high ball to edge of square.
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 10:22:37 AM
It will be interesting to see the reaction Big Dan gets and gives this year when he is taken off.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 05:00:10 PM
Poorish crowd awful game Limerick get 3 points in 35 minutes in a hurling match.
Yes we've definitely got to keep this Munster Championship it's so wonderful. ::)
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 05:09:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2009, 05:00:10 PM
Poorish crowd awful game Limerick get 3 points in 35 minutes in a hurling match.
Yes we've definitely got to keep this Munster Championship it's so wonderful. ::)

Better 2nd half -

25,000 in the crowd.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 05:23:03 PM
Worst game I have seen in a very long time. Munster hurling is great  ::)
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 05:28:54 PM
Waterford haven't turned up for the 2nd half at all. 8 minutes left momentum is all with Limerick. Big 65 miss there by Limerick.

Ken Mc Grath taken off ??? Ruthless by Davy Fitz.
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 05:33:26 PM
That was some war dance by Mullane.  :D :D :D
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 05:36:57 PM
Limerick should have won it.  Better team in the 2nd half.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 05:43:02 PM
Good God, a bloody replay for us to watch... this was so bad it's like watching Police Academy 3 and then having to watch Police Academy 4 next week. Why can't the RTE pundits be fecking honest, if this game was in Leinster they would be telling us how bad the game was.
Post by: Gnevin on June 14, 2009, 05:43:19 PM
Terrible game of Hurling . The reply can only be better.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 14, 2009, 05:44:25 PM
Goal came at the right time for the game. Made it a moderately exciting finish. Poor stuff overall though.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 05:53:26 PM
Wtf is up with the analysis of this game!!!!!!!!!!!! they are not being critical at all. Is it rule in RTE that you can't be honest about how far Munster hurling has slipped?
Post by: muppet on June 14, 2009, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 05:53:26 PM
Wtf is up with the analysis of this game!!!!!!!!!!!! they are not being critical at all. Is it rule in RTE that you can't be honest about how far Munster hurling has slipped?

It was poor fare alright but the hurling pundits have it right. People regularly whinge here about the lack of promotion of our games but for me the most damaging advert is the sneering sarcastic putting down of every team except the Championship favourites, by the football pundits

Loughnane couldn't call it the greatest game in the world today but he does every time he gets the chance. Hurlers always promote their game and rightly so. Why can't the footballers do the same?
Post by: INDIANA on June 14, 2009, 08:04:51 PM
Because anyone who watches the game knows they are talking through their arse. that was garbage today. They can make all the right noises on TV but the fan knows at the end of the day from viewing it. Munster championship my arse. Its dead and gone its with O Leary in the grave. Time to get rid of the provincial championships at hurling- period. They have no relevance anymore and might breathe some life into hurling. Why couldn't Kirwan do the decent thing and play an extra minute and award a handy free to somone to ensure we wouldn't have to sit through that again.
As Spillane was saying about the Westmeath v Wicklow game it should be used in Guantanamo Bay as punishment viewing.
Post by: muppet on June 14, 2009, 08:17:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 14, 2009, 08:04:51 PM
Because anyone who watches the game knows they are talking through their arse. that was garbage today. They can make all the right noises on TV but the fan knows at the end of the day from viewing it. Munster championship my arse. Its dead and gone its with O Leary in the grave. Time to get rid of the provincial championships at hurling- period. They have no relevance anymore and might breathe some life into hurling. Why couldn't Kirwan do the decent thing and play an extra minute and award a handy free to somone to ensure we wouldn't have to sit through that again.
As Spillane was saying about the Westmeath v Wicklow game it should be used in Guantanamo Bay as punishment viewing.

Why do people encourage adolescent punditry?

What does Spillane want? Wicklow and Westmeath to give up and pull out of the Championship. Is that what you want?
Post by: neilthemac on June 14, 2009, 08:29:42 PM
its rare in the coverage of rugby, soccer or even cricket that the commentators or pundits will say it is a poor game. they always want to hype it up so more peple will watch the next game!

they always try to talk it up. a small bit of that from a few GAA pundits wouldn't go astray. or else fire them
Post by: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 08:34:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 14, 2009, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 14, 2009, 05:53:26 PM

It was poor fare alright but the hurling pundits have it right. People regularly whinge here about the lack of promotion of our games but for me the most damaging advert is the sneering sarcastic putting down of every team except the Championship favourites, by the football pundits

Loughnane couldn't call it the greatest game in the world today but he does every time he gets the chance. Hurlers always promote their game and rightly so. Why can't the footballers do the same?

So we bury our heads in the sand and don't question why hurling is dying on its feet, lets just be happy that the guys on the pitch are giving it a go. Hurling is f*cked and lets be honest it's because people aren't critical enough
Post by: slow corner back on June 14, 2009, 08:38:45 PM
Hurling is dying because not enough people are willing to put the effort in to coach properly or as players to train properly, Gaelic and soccer are much easier to pick up to a semi respectable level and that is why more people play them than hurling, nothing to do with what pundits say on TV.
Post by: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 08:46:36 PM
QuoteKen Mc Grath taken off  Ruthless by Davy Fitz.

You think? Davy is the same clueless dimwit that put one of the best center backs in the country center forward and one of the best midfielders center back - madness.

Half way through the second half I was so wet and bored that I was hoping the ref would just toss a coin to see who could play in the Munster final. I've been to some great Munster championship matches over the years but it is dying a death and is as over hyped as the Heineken Cup.

QuoteGaelic and soccer are much easier to pick up to a semi respectable level and that is why more people play them than hurling,

It's got nothing to do with that either.
Post by: INDIANA on June 14, 2009, 08:55:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 14, 2009, 08:17:02 PM

What does Spillane want? Wicklow and Westmeath to give up and pull out of the Championship. Is that what you want?

We don't - we just can't understand with players training 5/6 days a  week how the standard is so poor. Hurling isn't  a patch at the minute on the 90's. The Munster championship matches in that era you could smell the cut of the grass from Dublin. That was just insipid today.If thats what the munster championship has become lets get rid of it and go for an open draw instead and breathe some life into the thing. W e can't keep pretending everything is rosy in the hurling garden when we know it isn't.

Its not the thread for the Westmeath V Wicklow game- but how can guys who train 5/6 days a week not be able to kick pass the ball accurately 20 yards 8 times out of ten. i simply can't understand it anymore.
Post by: Gnevin on June 14, 2009, 09:12:37 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 14, 2009, 08:55:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 14, 2009, 08:17:02 PM

. That was just insipid today.If thats what the munster championship has become lets get rid of it and go for an open draw instead and breathe some life into the thing. W e can't keep pretending everything is rosy in the hurling garden when we know it isn't.

Agreed if Munster was constantly serving up this sort of dire Hurling but one dire game doesn't mean we should panic.
Post by: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 09:18:02 PM
Todays game was particularly woeful but there has been quite a number of poor games in the past number of years, in fact I'd say the Waterford/Cork games of recent years have papered over the large number of mediocer games. The provincial championships in both codes should be done away with and the myth of the Munster championship is one of the biggest stumbling blocks.
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 10:06:48 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 08:46:36 PM
QuoteKen Mc Grath taken off  Ruthless by Davy Fitz.

You think? Davy is the same clueless dimwit that put one of the best center backs in the country center forward and one of the best midfielders center back - madness.
Half way through the second half I was so wet and bored that I was hoping the ref would just toss a coin to see who could play in the Munster final. I've been to some great Munster championship matches over the years but it is dying a death and is as over hyped as the Heineken Cup.

QuoteGaelic and soccer are much easier to pick up to a semi respectable level and that is why more people play them than hurling,

It's got nothing to do with that either.

Agree with you on Mc Grath - but Walsh wasn't cutting the mustard in the middle. Fitzy thought that he could get more out of Wlash by putting him at 6 - Walsh is doing ok at 6 - But Mc Grath is lost at 11. He's been at 6 for most his time, then 3, now 11. Felt sorry for Mc Grath today.
Post by: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 10:14:18 PM
Brick wasn't doing it at midfield, are you mad? He was one of the best midfielders in the country over the past number of years, I'd say one thing if there was obvious replacements but there isn't. Davy is a bluffer and everyone knows it.
Post by: highorlow on June 14, 2009, 10:16:31 PM
What did the crowd do to Davy Fitz today?

I heard an interview with him on the radio, he was giving out like f..k but it wasn't clear what he was giving out about?
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 10:28:31 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 10:14:18 PM
Brick wasn't doing it at midfield, are you mad? He was one of the best midfielders in the country over the past number of years, I'd say one thing if there was obvious replacements but there isn't. Davy is a bluffer and everyone knows it.

Davy was like a Messiah last year. What's happened ? Will there be another late night meeting called this week ? Is Gerald available ?
Post by: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 10:47:23 PM
QuoteDavy was like a Messiah last year. What's happened ?

No he wasn't and many people in Waterford were never happy about his appointment or his performance last year. Waterford got to the AI semi final without by beating Offaly and Wexford and were lucky to do so, especially against Wexford. Davy is a spoofer of the highest order and most Waterford GAA folk want him gone.
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 10:52:19 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 10:47:23 PM

No he wasn't and many people in Waterford were never happy about his appointment or his performance last year. Waterford got to the AI semi final without by beating Offaly and Wexford and were lucky to do so, especially against Wexford. Davy is a spoofer of the highest order and most Waterford GAA folk want him gone.

It might not be entirely due to his managerial / coaching ability. Did Waterford lose their trainer there recently ?  ;)
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2009, 10:55:39 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 14, 2009, 10:47:23 PM

I think you'll find hundreds of pictures of Davy being carried shoulder high round Croke Park after beating Tipp last year. I saw it myself.

But then again I seen Gerald being shouldered around Thurles last summer as well.
Post by: awfulynice on June 14, 2009, 11:19:49 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on June 14, 2009, 08:38:45 PM
Hurling is dying because not enough people are willing to put the effort in to coach properly or as players to train properly, Gaelic and soccer are much easier to pick up to a semi respectable level and that is why more people play them than hurling, nothing to do with what pundits say on TV.

I wouldnt agree that hurling is dieing, in fact it is probably becoming more competitive now than it ever was. The simple fact is that we have a monopoly of Kilkenny in hurling at the moment, if you took them out of the championship it would be a toss up between 7 - 8 counties for the all ireland imo with a lot of teams being in with a shout of winning an all ireland...that was never the case even in the "golden" nineties. Kilkenny are just way too good at the moment, but im sure their mantle will slip eventually, Henry Shefflin turned 30 so may not have much left in the tank, missing a player of his calibre could knock them from invincible to very good and it could happen in the space of a year or two. Also then look at the emergence of tipp / galway / dublin all looking competitive, there are some positive aspects aswell.

You are correct in saying that it is easier to get a football team to be competitive than a hurling team.You only have to look at mick o dwyer and what he has done in about 4 or 5 different counties in his career.

BUT there is great work being done at underage and senior level, in my own county offaly, the clubs to the north who traditionally were football players are taking to hurling in a  big way and have become very competitive in the last 4-5 years, if they continue to progress it will undoubtedly improve the club championship and the county team. At underage level developement teams have been set up in most counties now, also hurling is being started at U-8 level which has never happened before, all this will pay off in 10 - 15 years and i foresee a bright future for hurling.

On todays game, it was bad but in fairness it was a monsoon so I will reserve judgement on the standard until i see the replay.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 14, 2009, 11:31:16 PM
The demise of hurling being touted on this thread is a bit premature.

Being honest Waterford and Limerick are two teams who are half decent but not brilliant. Also Waterford are heavily reliant on a select number of key players and without them firing they're an ok, but not great, team.  Waterford are aging too. Limerick still couldn't beat them so obviously they're not great either.

In the coming months there should be enough games to reignite things.

I wouldn't expect munster to be great from now on  as Tipp should be too strong but Leinster's two semi finals should be good. (Well assuming Galway challenge KK which I think they will).

I'd also expect a lot of good games to come in qualifiers between Galway, Cork, Kilkenny and Tipp who would be the big four.

Teams like Dublin, Wexford Offaly Waterford and Limerick playing each other will also provide good games. Oh yeah and I forgot about Clare too.

Post by: Reillers on June 15, 2009, 12:14:55 PM
One bad game, ok, well one terrible game and what, suddenly the worlds ending? The sport's dead? Because of one shitty game in crap conditions. No need to hit the panic buttons just yet.
Whatever about Limerick, who were in the AI final 2 seasons ago, but we all know Waterford are better then that. Both teams are much better then that and the replay can only be better, and I think that if there's anything to take from this game then it's the fact that they both get to go out again and try and put some respectibility to their names again because really, you can't get much worse then that.

But if Cork U21 team can preform like they did this season against Tipp, and have before, with no structures, no nothing, then there's hope for anyone.

Cork and Tipp will always be there, as will Galway and KK, then you've got Limerick Waterford and Clare, Waterford are always there or there abouts with Cork and Tipp and have been right up there for the last few seasons, and then the other 2, who's form changes season to season but one of the 2 manage to put in a decent enough season every year.

One bad game means nothing. And hopefully when they play again next time, it'll be a good game and wont have us almost in tears because of the boredom, and will stop us from declaring the end of the world.
Post by: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 12:52:54 PM
Can't agree at all . Waterford have little or nothing coming through to replace the current crop Reillers- you should know that.
Limerick hurling is decimated by Munster rugby. Again little or nothing coming through.
Clare- similar to the above but I'd fancy Clare to beat either of them as their players have a couple of years left.
The provincial championships are dead in the water -its time to recognise the fact and move on. If the Munster championship was still so good- why is it 4 years since Liam made a visit past Urlingford?
Post by: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 01:04:21 PM
Why do people always say Galway are in the top 4?????? seriously what have they done for nearly 20 years to be warranted as contenders?

So we might have some competitive games but a junior match can be competitive it still doesn't mean the quality is good. Hurling is dying whether we like to believe it or not. Honestly outside of KK, Tipp and Cork who has a hope of winning an All Ireland in the next 10 years?
Post by: Reillers on June 15, 2009, 01:09:47 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 12:52:54 PM
Can't agree at all . Waterford have little or nothing coming through to replace the current crop Reillers- you should know that.
Limerick hurling is decimated by Munster rugby. Again little or nothing coming through.
Clare- similar to the above but I'd fancy Clare to beat either of them as their players have a couple of years left.
The provincial championships are dead in the water -its time to recognise the fact and move on. If the Munster championship was still so good- why is it 4 years since Liam made a visit past Urlingford?

They've nothing coming through, but I didn't say they had, I said Cork and Tipp will always be there.
The current Waterford team they have now is better then what they showed on the day against Limerick.
Munster is Munster, you don't get rid of Munster, not much better days out, Leinster means nothing to Leinster but it still means something down here.

And what exactly do you propuse because going by you're talk there's Cork Tipp, KK, Galway and that's it and everyone else is about 5 levels bellow, we can saw well done to the likes of Dublin and the rest of them for improving and such every season, but the reality is that they're still all another level bellow the 4 I named up there.
And by going with that talk there's 4 teams who'd compete, and even then we know that's not true, because there's 3 and there's Kilkenny.
Going by what's said there then IC hurling sounds pretty dead to me, and I know it's not.
Post by: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 01:39:55 PM
The problem is that we are in danger of losing some of the traditional counties over the next 3-4 years and probably gain one non-traditional county in Dublin. And I don't mean dublin are going to be winning all-irelands but I think they will get to being very competitive with most teams in about 3 years. The problem is I think we're going to lose the likes of Limerick hurling and Clare are in danger as well. Waterford are trying to arrest the slode at underage but they've been so poor at underage for years now- they really are starting at square 1. Munster rugby is killing Limerick hurling.
The idea was to get the likes of Dublin strong and maintain the currrent counties - not lose some of them which we're in danger of doing. Down the scale a bit the likes of Antrim and Laois are in terrible trouble as well. What is the Gaa doing to help these counties?
Hurling is now greater in participation numbers at all levels but at the highest level its struggling.
But look at Westmeath for example- doing terrific work at underage- beat offaly at minor level a few weeks back and the leinster council won't even let them into the Leinster senior championship. Carlow beat Antrim and  nearly beat Offaly this year and again- same old story. No entry to the leinster championship. How can the game ever develop with that sort of attitude.
Wexford and Offaly have arrested the slide at underage and are now back at a competitve level at senior. Some of the sides in Munster have to do the same. Otherwise we're going to lose them. When was the last time a Waterford underage side was seen in Croke Park bar De La Salle who were backboned by kilkenny players
Post by: awfulynice on June 15, 2009, 02:04:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 01:39:55 PM
The problem is that we are in danger of losing some of the traditional counties over the next 3-4 years and probably gain one non-traditional county in Dublin. And I don't mean dublin are going to be winning all-irelands but I think they will get to being very competitive with most teams in about 3 years. The problem is I think we're going to lose the likes of Limerick hurling and Clare are in danger as well. Waterford are trying to arrest the slode at underage but they've been so poor at underage for years now- they really are starting at square 1. Munster rugby is killing Limerick hurling.
The idea was to get the likes of Dublin strong and maintain the currrent counties - not lose some of them which we're in danger of doing. Down the scale a bit the likes of Antrim and Laois are in terrible trouble as well. What is the Gaa doing to help these counties?
Hurling is now greater in participation numbers at all levels but at the highest level its struggling.
But look at Westmeath for example- doing terrific work at underage- beat offaly at minor level a few weeks back and the leinster council won't even let them into the Leinster senior championship. Carlow beat Antrim and  nearly beat Offaly this year and again- same old story. No entry to the leinster championship. How can the game ever develop with that sort of attitude.
Wexford and Offaly have arrested the slide at underage and are now back at a competitve level at senior. Some of the sides in Munster have to do the same. Otherwise we're going to lose them. When was the last time a Waterford underage side was seen in Croke Park bar De La Salle who were backboned by kilkenny players

In fairness saying Clare is a traditional hurling county is incorrect. There are probably only three traditional hurling counties. Cork, Tipperary & Kilkenny. Galway came on the scene in the seventies / eighties, Offaly broke through in the eighties, Clare broke through in the nineties. Waterford in the naughties. Wexford & Limerick were always competitive i suppose but werent as succesful as the other three. The simple fact is look at the titles..there has been what 125 all ireland titles since the GAA started give or take, and of the 125 about 90 are shared between Cork, Tipp & KK. So looking at the history, hurling is actually growing rather than dieing in the last few years.

So if you really look at it, hurling is becoming more competitive with the emergence of Dublin. As has been stated before Westmeath beat Offaly in the minor, and Offaly came close to beating KK in the U21 this year and have been competitive the last few years so there should be players coming through. The nineties were seen as a golden era in hurling as Offaly,Clare,Wexford,KK,Tipp & Cork all won all irelands which hadnt happened in any other decade before...we have to face facts we are looking at an exceptional KK hurling team at the moment and until they are knocked off their pedastel there wont be a competitive championship.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 02:10:05 PM
I think I would be of the same opinion as Indy here. Limerick, Clare and Waterford I would have serious concerns for. I just can't remember them doing anything for a while now in underage. If KK give Galway a beating of 6 points or more then it could spell another shocking year in the hurling championship.

The standard of all the second tier counties has slipped at a level below what it has been for a longtime. I think the fact that Westmeath and Carlow are now challenging some of the bigger names is due to standards slipping back more so that Carlow and Westmeath becoming really good.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 15, 2009, 02:19:23 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 01:04:21 PM
Why do people always say Galway are in the top 4?????? seriously what have they done for nearly 20 years to be warranted as contenders?

While I wouldn't agree with putting us up there with the likes of Kilkenny, Cork and Tipp I think people tend to rate us a bit higher than your Limerick's, Offaly's and Wexford's, etc because Galway usually consistently produce good underage teams and good club teams. Plus they have been to two All-Ireland finals this decade. I think it's more an acknowledgment of the potential there more than anything else.

However we haven't beaten anyone of note in the championship in a couple of years so we don't really deserve to be mentioned as contending for anything at the moment. However with the Galway hurlers you never know what you're going to get. They can go from being abysmal to being able to hurl anyone up a stick within a couple of weeks.
Post by: johnneycool on June 15, 2009, 02:42:38 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 02:10:05 PM
I think I would be of the same opinion as Indy here. Limerick, Clare and Waterford I would have serious concerns for. I just can't remember them doing anything for a while now in underage. If KK give Galway a beating of 6 points or more then it could spell another shocking year in the hurling championship.

The standard of all the second tier counties has slipped at a level below what it has been for a longtime. I think the fact that Westmeath and Carlow are now challenging some of the bigger names is due to standards slipping back more so that Carlow and Westmeath becoming really good.

Were Clare U-21's not within a few seconds of winning the Munster championship against a much vaunted Tipp team, something about a keeper getting penalised for taking a puck out outside the square?
Post by: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 03:20:02 PM
They were, but you can't base your entire future on one decent team, they will be luckly to get 5 players off that team
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 03:32:36 PM
Japers lads, I think ye are being a bit previous in pronouncing hurling dead. It may be very predictable now in terms of Kilkenny's dominance, especially in relation to the mighty 90s, but in fairness there's been very few decades like the 90s. Maybe the biggest shame is that counties like Offaly, Wexford (until recently), Clare and Limerick have not kicked on from those days, and in fact have faded drastically in varying degrees since then. This allows the old reliables in Kilkenny, Cork and Tipp to dominate again.

However, over the past few years there have been good games, some very good games indeed, involving Waterford, Cork, Galway, Tipperary, Limerick etc etc, so one poor game on a wet day in Thurles in a provincial semi final is not a harbringer of hurling's demise.

I do take the points about the development of the game in counties outside the big 3, but that is still a remediable situation, if the nettle is grasped. So I don't think hurling is dead. I think Kilkenny are savage, I think Tipp are coming, Cork are hanging on and I think there's feck all between another 4 or 5 of them.

Post by: An Laoch on June 15, 2009, 03:44:45 PM
There have been 3 different winners of the Liam McCarthy in the last 10 years, coincidentally the same number of winners of the english premiership soccerthingy....but nobody writes an obituary for that particular tinpot every few weeks. Every sport has its dominant sides. It's called tradition. There's no problem here.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 03:49:38 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on June 15, 2009, 03:44:45 PM
There have been 3 different winners of the Liam McCarthy in the last 10 years, coincidentally the same number of winners of the english premiership soccerthingy....but nobody writes an obituary for that particular tinpot every few weeks. Every sport has its dominant sides. It's called tradition. There's no problem here.

Wouldn't be as blasé as that either An Laoch. There's definitely been a lack of planning in a good few counties since the 90s, and it's a real pity. Small counties like Offaly, Clare, Wexford, Laois etc etc can only rely on genetics and timing to produce good batches of hurlers every so often. That's not a sustainable strategy, but it seems to be what was followed in those counties. You need to invest in the proper coaching at those underage levels to ensure you get a decent level of new blood every couple of years.

Mól an oige agus tiocfaidh siad.
Post by: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 03:56:11 PM

You just keep telling yourself that. Just go down to places like Laois and Antrim and see no problems. You're not part of Brian Cowen's Government are you?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 15, 2009, 06:25:01 PM
Yeah but was that not also the case about 5 - 10 years ago too. Only difference in strong counties is that maybe Dublin are on the up, though after the antrim performance they still have to prove that.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 15, 2009, 07:54:24 PM
Guys do you not think that the Wexford, Offaly, Laois, Clare, Limerick and Antrim teams of 10 years ago would beat their counterparts of this year?
Post by: Reillers on June 15, 2009, 10:10:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 03:49:38 PM

Wouldn't be as blasé as that either An Laoch. There's definitely been a lack of planning in a good few counties since the 90s, and it's a real pity. Small counties like Offaly, Clare, Wexford, Laois etc etc can only rely on genetics and timing to produce good batches of hurlers every so often. That's not a sustainable strategy, but it seems to be what was followed in those counties. You need to invest in the proper coaching at those underage levels to ensure you get a decent level of new blood every couple of years.

The weak "strong" counties like Wexford and Antrim etc get little help from the GAA, but the likes of Cavan, Carlow..etc. get feck all help from the GAA, the GPA do better work with them then the men upstairs who are paid to do so, and that says a lot.

Nothing will function without structures, (with the exception of Cork, Cork will always be there unless or untill the CCB kill the game in Cork..which wouldn't surprise me. But they, especially the underage continue to do well despite no structures, and dictatorship in the CB, but anyway) and untill the mess at underage is sorted in the likes of Waterford and Clare etc then no one will go anywhere, get the mess at underage sorted out and the rest should sort itself out......Should.
Post by: heffo on June 15, 2009, 10:16:05 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 15, 2009, 10:10:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 03:49:38 PM

The weak "strong" counties like Wexford and Antrim etc get little help from the GAA, but the likes of Cavan, Carlow..etc. get feck all help from the GAA, the GPA do better work with them then the men upstairs who are paid to do so, and that says a lot.

Can you be more specific Reillers wrt your point above
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 10:31:16 PM
Jaysus heffo, if young Walsh could have man marked Mullane as well as you man mark Reillers Limerick would have bate the Deise out the gate on Sunday.

Seriously, every time he posts you are there to pick up the breaks quicker than a man could say 'Unhealthy obsession'.
Post by: heffo on June 15, 2009, 10:35:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 10:31:16 PM
Jaysus heffo, if young Walsh could have man marked Mullane as well as you man mark Reillers Limerick would have bate the Deise out the gate on Sunday.

Seriously, every time he posts you are there to pick up the breaks quicker than a man could say 'Unhealthy obsession'.

Nonsense AZ - I'm just looking for him to put a little flesh on the bones as it were - young Reillers seems to have fashioned a deep dislike for anyone in an administrative role in the GAA and I'm simply looking for clarification on what he means
Post by: imtommygunn on June 15, 2009, 10:48:51 PM
EddieMerx you make a fair point...

- Wexford of 10 years ago were significantly better than now as were Clare, Offaly, and Cork.
- Tipp are hard to assess. About ten years ago their good teams were coming to and end were they not? So they are potentially better now.
- Waterford are definitely better now though are on the way down.
- Antrim were definitely worse ten years ago as they could barely win ulster. Laois would be about the same now.
- Galway and Limerick are about on a level.
- Kilkenny are a lot better now.
- Dublin are definitely better though it remains to be seen how much.

That's 4 worse, 5 better and 3 the same by my reckoning. Not much of a difference in standard then
Post by: INDIANA on June 15, 2009, 11:04:28 PM
Laois are a lot worse now Tommy now than 10 years ago. Any Laois man will tell you that. back then camross were going well and they had the cuddys and rigneys hurling well for them. Now they have James Young, Willie Hyland, ZaC Keenan and not much else.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 16, 2009, 08:53:27 AM
I would also say Antrim were better
Post by: orangeman on June 16, 2009, 10:30:28 AM
Davy's not happy :

By Jackie Cahill

Tuesday June 16 2009

MUNSTER Council officials are looking into the controversial claims made by Davy Fitzgerald following last Sunday's Munster SHC semi-final at Semple Stadium.

The irate Waterford boss lodged a formal complaint with Munster Council PRO Jim Forbes immediately after the draw with Limerick and Forbes last night expressed his hope that there will be no further problems with teams and officials for the remainder of the season.

Fitzgerald claimed that his son, Colm, was physically restrained by an unnamed official from entering the field before the game while the former Clare goalkeeper alleged that he was verbally abused by another official at half-time.

Fitzgerald also indicated that he was unhappy at being told not to patrol a certain area of the touchline during the game by a sideline official and insisted that he was entitled to walk between both 45-metre lines.

Forbes revealed: "Davy spoke to me in a very friendly, orderly way when he need not have been. His discussion was very genuine and I give him credit for that. He didn't raise his voice and didn't use a nasty or derogatory word."

Allegations

Munster GAA Chairman Jimmy O'Gorman, a Waterford native, declined to comment on Fitzgerald's allegations but Forbes countered Fitzgerald's claim that there was no knock on Waterford's dressing-room door at half-time.

Having returned to the pitch first for the second half, Limerick dashed back towards the tunnel because of a heavy downpour, only to be met by Waterford on their way out.

Forbes insisted: "I'd dispute that. There are a couple of lads there in Thurles and as long as I'm going there with teams, I'd be of the opinion that they do that (knock) all of the time.

"A team has 15 minutes from the time they leave the field at the end of the first half to be back out in time for the second half."

Deciders

Forbes, however, has vowed that measures will be taken to ensure that similar problems do not arise again at next weekend's semi-finals and the forthcoming hurling and football provincial deciders.

The former Cork County Board chairman said: "We're not in the business of creating hassle for anybody at our stadiums. I know myself, from being involved, that when teams arrive at the stadium all geared up, the last thing they want is hassle.

"They just want to get off the bus and into the stadium. We will certainly look at last Sunday and try to get to the bottom of it and make sure that if something happened, it won't happen again.

"We will speak to the people concerned over the next 24 or 48 hours and hope that from next Saturday, there won't be any problems encountered."

Waterford were also angered by Sunday Game panellists Michael Duignan and Pete Finnerty, who slammed John Mullane and Eoin Kelly for their celebrations at stages during the game.

County Board chairman Pat Flynn declined to comment on the criticism of the players but it is understood that Waterford may respond in some form after next Saturday's replay with Limerick.

- Jackie Cahill
Post by: awfulynice on June 16, 2009, 11:24:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 15, 2009, 10:48:51 PM
EddieMerx you make a fair point...

- Wexford of 10 years ago were significantly better than now as were Clare, Offaly, and Cork.
- Tipp are hard to assess. About ten years ago their good teams were coming to and end were they not? So they are potentially better now.
- Waterford are definitely better now though are on the way down.
- Antrim were definitely worse ten years ago as they could barely win ulster. Laois would be about the same now.
- Galway and Limerick are about on a level.
- Kilkenny are a lot better now.
- Dublin are definitely better though it remains to be seen how much.

That's 4 worse, 5 better and 3 the same by my reckoning. Not much of a difference in standard then

I wouldnt agree with this assesment at all tbh

The Wexford team of ten years ago is about level or perhaps a little worse than the current crop
Tipp are definately better than ten years ago
Waterford
Dublin
Kilkenny
Galway
Offaly are worse but in '99 were nearly at the end of the Brian Whelan etc era so have been trying to rebuild since then
Limerick - Level
Clare - Worse

But this analysis does not prove that hurling is worse or better than ten years ago, if you went back 20 years ago you would get a totally different picture and i gurantee you in ten years it will be changed again.

Teams come and go, and its usual for a county to have a dip after a high, it cant be just a conveyor belt of talent all the time.

Some of the nineties good teams, for example Offaly were picking from about 5 - 6 clubs so it im afraid they were an exceptional bunch of lads to all come together. Nowadays there is developement on the club scene in offaly with the more traditional footballing clubs fielding hurling teams and this will have a positive impact in the future. The coaching at underage remains a problem but has improved beyond recognition to what it was when i was U12 /U14. Offaly will have glory days again as will Clare / Waterford / Limerick and it could be sooner than you think. Kilkenny have a tremendous crop of hurlers but they wont last forever!
Post by: EddieMerx on June 16, 2009, 12:53:45 PM
Wexford are alot worse than the team 10 years ago, Paul Codd, Larry O'Gorman, Rory McCarthy, Storey, Dunne... the current crop are not a patch on them.

Are Galway much better than in 99? seriously what have they done in the last 10 years to warrant being considered great (apart from Joe)

Waterford, B. Landers; T. Feeney, S. Cullinane, B. Flannery (capt.); P. Queally, S. Frampton, B. Greene; T. Browne, F. Hartley; D. Shanahan, B. O'Sullivan, K. McGrath; M. White, P. Flynn, D. Bennett. Subs: P. Walsh for Hartley (second half); A. Kirwan for Greene (50th minute); M. Malumphy for Bennett (65th). This team lost in the munster semi against Cork, I would bet €20 that this team would beat the team that in their last 2 championship games have given 2 of the worst performances I have seen in a long time

Post by: awfulynice on June 16, 2009, 01:55:59 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on June 16, 2009, 12:53:45 PM
Wexford are alot worse than the team 10 years ago, Paul Codd, Larry O'Gorman, Rory McCarthy, Storey, Dunne... the current crop are not a patch on them.

Are Galway much better than in 99? seriously what have they done in the last 10 years to warrant being considered great (apart from Joe)

Waterford, B. Landers; T. Feeney, S. Cullinane, B. Flannery (capt.); P. Queally, S. Frampton, B. Greene; T. Browne, F. Hartley; D. Shanahan, B. O'Sullivan, K. McGrath; M. White, P. Flynn, D. Bennett. Subs: P. Walsh for Hartley (second half); A. Kirwan for Greene (50th minute); M. Malumphy for Bennett (65th). This team lost in the munster semi against Cork, I would bet €20 that this team would beat the team that in their last 2 championship games have given 2 of the worst performances I have seen in a long time

Wexford have some great hurlers at the moment, Banville, both Jacobs, Travers, Lyng all stand up to O'Gorman / Codd etc. The standard of hurling has improved immensley over the 2 decades, the reason you might think they were so good is the fact they got so much time on the ball...not so nowadays.

Galway have a much better all round team today than in '99. If you look back ten years ago they had 1 forward and a fairly ok all round team. Now they have a fairly good defence and midfield and 3 - 4 free scoring forwards along with Joe. I didnt say Galway were "great" but definately improved.

You cant pick Waterfords last 2 championship games and use that as a measure of how good they have been. They were a bag of nerves against an experienced and lethal kk team in the all ireland final. and the match against Limerick was a monsoon. I could easily point out that Waterford beat KK in the league and therefore are contenders for the all-ireland but i dont base assumptions on one or two games.  Name out Waterfords team of ten years ago and apart from a few great players they were ordinary enough, they have improved immensley since then.

Post by: Bing Crosby . on June 16, 2009, 04:23:38 PM
A very dissappointing game . No positives to be taken from this match what so ever .  The future looks bleak in Limk although I do expect them to win the replay .
I also agree  with that assessment below .

The Wexford team of ten years ago is about level or perhaps a little worse than the current crop
Tipp are definately better than ten years ago
Waterford
Dublin
Kilkenny
Galway
Offaly are worse but in '99 were nearly at the end of the Brian Whelan etc era so have been trying to rebuild since then
Limerick - Level
Clare - Worse

Post by: slow corner back on June 16, 2009, 04:48:58 PM
10 years ago 1999 Cork won the all ireland with a young side beating KK in the final on a wet day.KK are better than they were although they were decent back then. Cork are not as good and the age profile is nowhere near as promising. Offaly were all ireland champs in 1998 and are nowhere near that level now, Clare were a great team then but no longer. Other teams its harder to say, Tipp had promise in 1999 and have promise now. Waterford had a great run in 98 and were a dangerous team still about the same level although hard to say if they are on an upward or downward slope just yet. Limerick were in flux in 1999 rebuilding the Ciaran Carey inspired team of the mid nineties still trying to recreate that era. Wexford were much stronger in 99 Leintster champions in 97 and still a lot of good players in that side not as good today. Laois not sure about didnt upset too many in Leinster in thelate 90s and still dont. Antrim were on the slide in 99 which led to Derry winning back to back ulsters early in the century slighly better now but not much. Derry much worse.
From a very local perspective ulster hurling has gone back badly not close enough to other provinces to comment in detail although I suspect Leinster is back a bit.
Post by: EddieMerx on June 16, 2009, 06:04:12 PM
Quote from: awfulynice on June 16, 2009, 01:55:59 PM

Wexford have some great hurlers at the moment, Banville, both Jacobs, Travers, Lyng all stand up to O'Gorman / Codd etc. The standard of hurling has improved immensley over the 2 decades, the reason you might think they were so good is the fact they got so much time on the ball...not so nowadays.

you are kidding me I hope! Seriously the two Jacobs are the most overrated hurlers to wear the Wexford shirt, Mick has been there for 7 or 8 years and has rarely produced. Rory might score 2 or 3 points a game but I can guarantee he will have chalked up 8 or 9 wides to get his 2 or 3 points. Travers has been cleaned out by many good hurlers. Lyng is good and Banville well to be honest I would much prefer a Paul Codd in there scoring 7 or 8 points a game than Banville maybe nabbing a goal or two against a leaky defence. I don't think think Banville would get much off Hickey.
Post by: Ash Smoker on June 16, 2009, 09:14:23 PM
The replay of this won't be televised btw, so it should ensure a better attendance.