Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: liihb on May 27, 2009, 12:46:50 PM

Title: What to have with a cuppa
Post by: liihb on May 27, 2009, 12:46:50 PM
Now I like a nice cuppa tea, and I usually like either the rich tea butter sandwiches, or a pink snack - savage. But I'm back training after injury, and have changed my diet pretty well, but just can't stop having something sweet with the tae.
Any suggestions on a heathly alternative?
Title: Re: What to have with a cuppa
Post by: thebandit on May 27, 2009, 12:48:48 PM
A fag
Post by: full back on May 27, 2009, 12:49:22 PM
Quote from: thebandit on May 27, 2009, 12:48:48 PM
A fag

A cigarette
Post by: ziggysego on May 27, 2009, 12:49:53 PM
Rivetta
Post by: longball on May 27, 2009, 12:50:49 PM
My ole doll has took into a fit of baking this weather, its because the hens are laying so we have a loada eggs, so i usually have a bun with a cupa!
Post by: liihb on May 27, 2009, 12:54:10 PM
whats rivetta??
Post by: fitzroyalty on May 27, 2009, 12:55:37 PM
Wheaten bread with your tae saan. Its the way forward
Post by: Onion Bag on May 27, 2009, 12:57:22 PM
Tray bakes

(http://www.freefoto.com/images/09/29/09_29_2---Tray-Bakes_web.jpg)

Post by: johnneycool on May 27, 2009, 01:40:53 PM
a choccie bar, my favourite with a good cup of team is a snickers currently but it can vary with a chocolate digestive or hobnob good to.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 27, 2009, 02:32:50 PM
Can't bate a HobNob.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 27, 2009, 02:33:27 PM
Wispa
Post by: heganboy on May 27, 2009, 02:36:29 PM
Jaffa cake
Post by: The Iceman on May 27, 2009, 02:43:29 PM
Best dippers:
A twix with a cup of tae is hard to beat
Digestives are a healthier alternative

Personally i love the Crunchie
Post by: Bud Wiser on May 27, 2009, 02:46:33 PM
A few spare ribs and a vodoo doll dressed in GPA or Cork colours for sticking the tootpicks in when I am finished.  (All out of Hat Pins since last October)

(http://www.thegreenhead.com/imgs/ouch-voodoo-toothpick-sm.jpg)
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 27, 2009, 02:48:44 PM
I haven't had a cigarette in years and got such an urge for one when I saw the title of this thread.
Post by: Minder on May 27, 2009, 02:49:08 PM
A bowl of custard
Post by: SidelineKick on May 27, 2009, 02:52:11 PM
Rocky bar. Either variety. Plain preferred.
Post by: stpauls on May 27, 2009, 02:54:11 PM
An M&S white chocolate cookie!!
Post by: Bud Wiser on May 27, 2009, 02:55:00 PM
QuoteI haven't had a cigarette in years and got such an urge for one when I saw the title of this thread.

I'm using an office down me back garden today and I drove down to the shop and bought 20 Silk Cut Blue, first since last Saturday night !!!
Post by: Orior on May 27, 2009, 03:04:42 PM
Quote from: thebandit on May 27, 2009, 12:48:48 PM
A fag

Perv.
Post by: liihb on May 27, 2009, 03:06:28 PM
QuoteI haven't had a cigarette in years and got such an urge for one when I saw the title of this thread.

I'm using an office down me back garden today and I drove down to the shop and bought 20 Silk Cut Blue, first since last Saturday night !!!

Ah jaysis lads, that wasn't the point of this at all!
Post by: hectorsheroes on May 27, 2009, 03:09:11 PM
Kit Kat - best by miles.

By the way anyone seen there are strawberry jaffa cakes - Jaysus - no no no
Post by: Celt_Man on May 27, 2009, 03:26:53 PM
Hob Nobs... They're a different class of biscuits. As Peter Kay says they are the marines of the biscuit world
Post by: venter on May 27, 2009, 04:21:04 PM
a snickers just out of the freezer. It lasts longer... a regular snickers would be devoured with the first few mouthfuls of tea. You are just left wanting more.

Post by: Drumanee 1 on May 27, 2009, 04:25:55 PM
Quote from: liihb on May 27, 2009, 12:46:50 PM
Now I like a nice cuppa tea, and I usually like either the rich tea butter sandwiches, or a pink snack - savage. But I'm back training after injury, and have changed my diet pretty well, but just can't stop having something sweet with the tae.
Any suggestions on a heathly alternative?

i am like you just cant have a cuppa without a biscuit or bun,but good alternatives if you are in training would be jaffa's,fig rolls or kimberly,macado.all are low in fat.
Post by: the scenic route on May 27, 2009, 04:33:15 PM
Quote from: stpauls on May 27, 2009, 02:54:11 PM
An M&S white chocolate cookie!!

Flashy hoor not here theres a recession on.

Chocolate chip cookies or if there in the house a twix finger
Post by: johnneycool on May 27, 2009, 04:53:02 PM
Quote from: venter on May 27, 2009, 04:21:04 PM
a snickers just out of the freezer. It lasts longer... a regular snickers would be devoured with the first few mouthfuls of tea. You are just left wanting more.

true, true. There's some fun melting it in the tae then a good suck off the soft bits to be repeated until the fingers need licked..
Post by: stew on May 27, 2009, 06:46:42 PM
Kit Kats with tae, frozen are impossible to beat since banjo's went away. Breakaways are brilliant as well. I hate hob nobs, they are disgusting.
Post by: Square Ball on May 27, 2009, 06:50:03 PM
the heel of a plain loaf toasted on both sides with loads of butter, Yummmmeeee
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2009, 07:28:09 PM
Double Decker - soft bit off the top followed by the biscuit base.

Wheaten with butter and jam. Fruit loaf with butter. Veda with butter and jam.
Post by: Square Ball on May 27, 2009, 07:30:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2009, 07:28:09 PM

Do you put cheese on it?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2009, 07:40:48 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 27, 2009, 07:30:30 PM

Do you put cheese on it?
f**k no. Some people toast it too. Cut thick with butter and jam only.
Post by: maggie on May 27, 2009, 08:39:50 PM
A slice of plain loaf, toasted and then smothered with real butter.

Half a soda farl, grilled and then when its turning brown, pop some grated cheddar cheese on it and then back under the grill til the cheese is melted.
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2009, 11:00:25 PM
Drumanee hit the nail on the head...if your cutting down Jaffa's or Fig Rolls are the only option i'm afraid

Personally my favourite is the jam & coconut tarts from M&S with a hot cuppa ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 27, 2009, 11:04:23 PM
Quote from: maggie on May 27, 2009, 08:39:50 PM
A slice of plain loaf, toasted and then smothered with real butter.

Half a soda farl, grilled and then when its turning brown, pop some grated cheddar cheese on it and then back under the grill til the cheese is melted.
The heel of a plain loaf is divine toasted!
Post by: maco on May 27, 2009, 11:28:30 PM
A Club Orange biscuit, followed by a 2 fingered Kit Kat.

Dairy Milk.
Post by: NetNitrate on May 27, 2009, 11:41:35 PM
Jersey Creams. Rich tea great for dipping and usually don't fall in on you so long as you don't dangle it too long.
Post by: stew on May 27, 2009, 11:43:20 PM
Apple turnovers.

If we are talking bread a sody farl from John Begg's in Newry is the way to go, still warm from the oven, hit it with hard butter and blackcurrant or strawberry Jam.

I miss soda farls more than anything in the country except Armagh and Armagh Harps football.  :'(

Sniff.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2009, 01:35:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2009, 07:40:48 PM

Do you put cheese on it?
Veda with mouse anyone?

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45896000/jpg/_45896170_mouse.jpg)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8092921.stm

Post by: Doogie Browser on June 10, 2009, 01:36:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2009, 01:35:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2009, 07:40:48 PM

Do you put cheese on it?
Veda with mouse anyone?

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45896000/jpg/_45896170_mouse.jpg)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8092921.stm

Just read that story too!  Its the most read story on the BBC website, bad publicity for them.
Post by: Derry Dolly on June 10, 2009, 01:40:25 PM
OMG..there ws a woman near me that found a mouse in a veda loaf aswel bout a yr ago!dnt no if its the same company though..i remember it cos my mother refused to buy it for ages aftr an i love veda..

for a cuppa..time out,with the both ends off an suck the tea through the bar,the chocolate is completely melted an gorgeous :) :)
Post by: JohnMitchellInman on June 10, 2009, 02:52:18 PM

for a cuppa..time out,with the both ends off an suck the tea through the bar,the chocolate is completely melted an gorgeous :) :)

Ah dolly, that quote just might get you my vote, the image in my head now  :-* ;D
Post by: Derry Dolly on June 10, 2009, 03:02:22 PM
Quote from: JohnMitchellInman on June 10, 2009, 02:52:18 PM

Ah dolly, that quote just might get you my vote, the image in my head now  :-* ;D

:D :D :D for the love of god..peoples minds constantly in the gutter..suppose u r a glenullin man :D :-*