GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 10:00:57 AM

Title: Sligo V Galway CSFC Markievicz Park 28 June 2009 2.00pm Throw in
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 10:00:57 AM
Should be a cracker, looking forward to it. Galway got over London fairly easily despite joyces criticism im sure they'll up it for ourselves, but Im confident they wont be at there best, based on there declining form during the NFL and last weekend.

For me I think Ross or Charlie can keep meehan  as quiet as possible but he'll still end up with at least 5 or 6 scores, Im worried about Ewing on Joyce. I think were better than 07 and definitly last yr, with a few new additions, costello will make his CSFC bow for us. Midfield Id hope TT will step up to his potential. FF i hope sweeney is fit and raring to go with marren alongside, I expect Coen to get the nod over Kelly, and Sean Davey to start HF and work his socks off. O Hara on the other wing. Confident enough but will be tight. At least we have a free taker this time.

Brehony, McPartland, Gaughan, and kelly gives us serious options in forwards and dont be suprised should one of them make the starting 15 with some if match fit definite starters.

In defence less options. Mcgovern hopefully back to form to oust McNamara unlikely but I would put him in.

Other big question with 2 Galway teams playing will the galway fans turn up this time?
Title: Re: Sligo V Galway CSFC Markievicz Park 28 June 2009 2.00pm Throw in
Post by: Mano on May 26, 2009, 11:06:06 AM
Good to see Brehony back playing at the weekend for Mary's. He could be an option for a corner forward slot if fully fit. O'Hara is a doubt after pulling his hammer again which would be a serious blow to our chances.
Can't see Ewing playing too light and inexperienced. Phillips will play centre back i think.

Can't read too much into Galway's display against London. They did what they had to do without much fuss and could have won by a bigger margin if they took all their goal chances. They will be much better fot the next game.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 11:25:34 AM
Quote from: Mano on May 26, 2009, 11:06:06 AM
Good to see Brehony back playing at the weekend for Mary's. He could be an option for a corner forward slot if fully fit. O'Hara is a doubt after pulling his hammer again which would be a serious blow to our chances.
Can't see Ewing playing too light and inexperienced. Phillips will play centre back i think.

Can't read too much into Galway's display against London. They did what they had to do without much fuss and could have won by a bigger margin if they took all their goal chances. They will be much better fot the next game.

:-[, not good news.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 12:25:12 PM
Quote from: mckieran on May 26, 2009, 10:58:28 AM
Yeah, sorry, I meant in the championship.

Whens the last time Sligo had back to back wins over Galway in the championship, I'd say you would have to be going back a while for that.

Last year, a few rossies were saying they fancied an upset against us too.

We are better than Roscommon at Senior, i think we have some justification for optimism this yr, last yr they had none, the first half of that match was the worst football id seen in a long time which kept ros in it at HT.

If your from Sligo, looking back into the past, all you will find is pain and suffering, simple as that, the programme will show all our previous meetings, with ourselves and ye and obviously we have a bad record, it can effect the mental side so Id advise the players to stay away from that. Back to back who cares i say, the past is in the past, all that exists is here and now and on the day we have every chance. Its the only way we'll break out the patterns of the past to know that all that exists is the present and focus on that, every ball, every moment of match, every altercation, every shot, every pass, every tackle, every block. These players have beaten Galway before and know they can do it again as ive said.

Post by: ross matt on May 26, 2009, 03:16:34 PM
Think Sligo under Kevin Walsh will be very well organised and tactically astute against Galway. But the tribesmen are light years better than the outfit that conceeded the 2007 Connacht Final under Forde. They have too much quality for Sligo. Roscommon are at least 2 years from being the competitive senior side Fergie will turn them in to. Mayo should have the u-21 talent coming through. It's betweem them and Galway....again :(
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2009, 03:38:00 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 26, 2009, 03:16:34 PM
Think Sligo under Kevin Walsh will be very well organised and tactically astute against Galway. But the tribesmen are light years better than the outfit that conceeded the 2007 Connacht Final under Forde. They have too much quality for Sligo. Roscommon are at least 2 years from being the competitive senior side Fergie will turn them in to. Mayo should have the u-21 talent coming through. It's betweem them and Galway....again :(

Under Forde being the operative word. When he was in charge in 2007 we were stuggling to score over 0-10 in a game such was the way he had the team set out. At least now I'm fairly confident we will rack up a big score against most teams. It won't always be enough to win every game like against Kerry last year but it should be enough to get over most hurdles.
Post by: ross matt on May 26, 2009, 03:47:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2009, 03:38:00 PM

Under Forde being the operative word. When he was in charge in 2007 we were stuggling to score over 0-10 in a game such was the way he had the team set out. At least now I'm fairly confident we will rack up a big score against most teams. It won't always be enough to win every game like against Kerry last year but it should be enough to get over most hurdles.

Agreed GBB. Sammon has them playing an attractive brand of football that usually yields high scores. Whereas Forde had turned them in to a very dour side with little creativity. But unless they want to come up short against the likes of Kerry again later in the summer they'll have to produce a game plan that's somewhere in between that of the current and previous manager.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2009, 04:13:25 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 26, 2009, 03:47:37 PM

Agreed GBB. Sammon has them playing an attractive brand of football that usually yields high scores. Whereas Forde had turned them in to a very dour side with little creativity. But unless they want to come up short against the likes of Kerry again later in the summer they'll have to produce a game plan that's somewhere in between that of the current and previous manager.

True you can't really go into a game against Kerry expecting to win a shootout with them. You have to have some kind of gameplan to restrict them and even though Sammon has done a lot of good in a purely footballing sense I'm not sure if he's the type to go out looking to implement a gameplan to stop other teams from playing.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2009, 06:22:44 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 12:25:12 PM

We are better than Roscommon at Senior,

Jaysus they win a Div 4 League and this starts. :o >:(
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2009, 06:24:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 26, 2009, 06:22:44 PM

In all fairness it is Sligonian though...
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2009, 06:35:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2009, 06:24:54 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 07:01:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 26, 2009, 06:35:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2009, 06:24:54 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D

It never takes long for the mayo kids to come on board and start the childish immature Sligonian slagging, grow up ffs, Do want to ruin another thread?

What i said is factual we are, its no big deal, we are 3rd best team in Connacht at the minute :o , very arrogant statement by me ::). Ros were terrrible last few yrs at senior, im still not convinced by them, ye stayed up by default in div3 besause of yer win over a managerless offaly and longford without kavanagh, ye even played limerick minus there club champions contingent and still lost and still only stayed up on pts diff, then mulligan gets injured for leitrim, the Gods are definitly smiling on yee, roll with it ;). Alot of rossies would agree, and arent too confident by the looks of SS about Sunday.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 26, 2009, 07:07:13 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2009, 04:13:25 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 26, 2009, 03:47:37 PM

True you can't really go into a game against Kerry expecting to win a shootout with them. You have to have some kind of gameplan to restrict them and even though Sammon has done a lot of good in a purely footballing sense I'm not sure if he's the type to go out looking to implement a gameplan to stop other teams from playing.

Fair points, Galway will be better than 07 no doubt, in fairness they couldnt be worse. Under forde galway did score 0-19 against us in Salthill in 06, so it wasnt all bad, I think people have got ahead of themselves with regards Sammon, 2nd yr is always harder and im not convinced Galway have kicked on from last yr performance against Kerry like there early league form suggested.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 30, 2009, 10:26:41 AM
Donegal 1-11 Sligo 2-12 not 100% sure of score but we won by 4pts according to my source,

We started slow 1-4 to 0-0 down, Team was Greene, Donovan, Phillips, Harrison, Mgovern, Ewing, McNamara, Mullen, Colleary, Scanlon, BREHENY, S Davey, Gaughan, Marren, Kelly,

Sweeney came on and scored 1-2, John mcpartland came on, J davey, mcguire... we looked sharp and are flying fitness wise but dont take this result too seriously.  Good to see breheny back and mcpartland, and sweeney back aswell. Mcgovern, Donovan, S Davey supposed of played very well, Breheny did well aswell according to my source.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 08, 2009, 02:00:10 PM
Nicky Joyce axed good news for us, no doubt but Galway are still hot Favourites.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 10:50:33 AM
On HS alot of the lads are coming in against me suggesting Brehony if fit(which has been confirmed to me by clubmates) he has to start even though he missed the NFL.

What do the sligo lads on here reckon?
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 11:04:17 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 10:50:33 AM
On HS alot of the lads are coming in against me suggesting Brehony if fit(which has been confirmed to me by clubmates) he has to start even though he missed the NFL.

That must be unusual for you
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 11:14:39 AM
Quote from: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 11:04:17 AM

That must be unusual for you

No, but Im usually right ;).
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 01:05:59 PM
Fair play
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 01:26:00 PM
Just to put this to bed, this is a huge game for Sligo and for everyone involved. Had a look back at the new sligo manager thread after seeing the donegal antrim one and the slating Saffron Sam2 is getting for comments earlier in 09 when they hired Bradley, and i reflected on alot of stuff i said.

Have to say looking back i got Kevin Walshs appointment wrong, he has done better than I thought and looks to have made the step up, he has made mistakes(in antrim div4 final game tactics and slowness to make changes) but we all do and he will have learned, and Im genuinely glad I was wrong and will hopefuly be confirmed against Galway with a victory, my worries over the selectors being to close to the older players, again wrong.

Id love to be wrong on McNamara aswell, hope he has a stormer against Galway because we will need him. I really appreciate the effort and time they put in, and give running up the sand dunes for Love of the county and they do it for themselves, there families and us supporters, and without all this collective effort and scrafice I would have nothing to cheer on. So thanks to all the squad for all the commitment they gave this yr. No words really can say how grateful I am. Id like to think most of my criticism is constructive and helpful although Im no angel I try to stick to the former and my intentions are that I want every player to reach his peak although I need to realise its an impossible expectation across the board.

It was a gamble no doubt KW appointment and so far its paid off so I apologise to Kevin and the Selectors, and wish them and players all the luck in the world in CSFC. I WAS waiting on the result of this game to pass judgement but I cant see anything else other than a extremely well prepared Sligo Team putting in a huge performance and maybe sneaking a win. I just think in the run up to the game whatever Sligo people, players read on here that this needs to said whatever the outcome of June 28th and really I dont say it enough.

Best of luck to all the players and management.

SLIGEACH ABU ;)
Post by: stephenite on June 16, 2009, 01:36:20 PM
Fair play Sligonian - nothing wrong with admitting you're wrong, and probably safer to get your spake in first unlike the unfortunate Saffron Sam2
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 01:48:48 PM
Its all good saying it now but you were equally confident last year.
If they suffer the same result and performance to last year will you come on and have the same reaction as last year ?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2009, 02:13:22 PM
Quote from: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 01:48:48 PM
Its all good saying it now but you were equally confident last year.
If they suffer the same result and performance to last year will you come on and have the same reaction as last year ?

I know this yr the training, atitude, fitness and focus is there, all 4 were not there last yr, unfortunetly last yr I didnt know what was going on inside the camp, this yr I do. Ohara called last yrs performance a embarrasment and blamed the players as stated on new sligo manager thread which i just reflected upon so i think my reaction was justified. I probably should of said nothing before the game last yr I will say, it was a naive false confidence and I honestly dont believe that to be the case this yr.

Nothing makes me more angry than seeing players not giving 100% that was the case last yr, ok Ive forgiven them as I know this yr its different, win,lose or draw, I know KW has the team prepared immaculaty and I know Im guarnteed 100% and I can ask no more.

Im saying this before the game, it would cowardly not to put my neck on the line before, if we win its easy to say the above but either way at this point in time they all deserve credit and acknowledgement. Im not saying I KNOW we are guarnteed to win although I do think we will win but its just an opinion and that doesnt mean jack shit in reality. I always believe in the best outcomes and I genuinely have belief in this group of players. Sometimes that belief is justified sometimes way off but I always back us before matches. I know the best of each player and I know what everyone is capable of and as a collective unit and I just hope they reach that level of performance on the day.

My reaction to games is based on the game solely and I call it as I see it and say what I think needs to be said and is mainly always from a footballing perspective which i think is fair although I prob crossed the line in the past but think im slowly getting better.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2009, 07:10:35 PM
IF Mayo and Sligo win, where will the final be played? Likewise IF Roscommon and Sligo win. All that's emanating from home is the long f**king trip to Salthill with traffic-jams on July 19th. You'd swear they never heard of upsets!
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2009, 07:58:33 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2009, 07:10:35 PM
IF Mayo and Sligo win, where will the final be played? Likewise IF Roscommon and Sligo win. All that's emanating from home is the long f**king trip to Salthill with traffic-jams on July 19th. You'd swear they never heard of upsets!

Sure aren't we upset every year, the only issue is which month.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 05:48:15 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 16, 2009, 07:10:35 PM

Mayo V Sligo final, i think had the choice in 97 so we chose the Hyde, I think Mayo have choice this time. It cant be played in McHale because no team can have home advantage because of Markievicz can hold one full stop. So Id say mayo will have to chose between Hyde or Salthill, we would have an advantage in Hyde because well in Championship I cant remember losing there, so mayo will probably chose Salthill to take the pyschological advantage away but maybe mayos superiority complex will make them chose hyde anyway because they will feel they can beat us anywhere.

There might be one upset with I think Sligo most likely, but I cant honestly see 2 upsets lads so I wouldnt consider a Ros Sligo final although it would be fantastic to see happening. Castlebar would be most likely venue.
Post by: Mano on June 17, 2009, 10:56:55 AM

If Brehony is fit and has been playing challenges lately he has to start. He has been our most consistent scorer from play for a number of years and is also a reliable free taker.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 11:17:48 AM
Quote from: Mano on June 17, 2009, 10:56:55 AM

If Brehony is fit and has been playing challenges lately he has to start. He has been our most consistent scorer from play for a number of years and is also a reliable free taker.

He played against Donegal challenge full match and did well, as i said on HS i saidi was talking to a few of club defenders who were blown away by his fitness, he was marked by P Wilson and J Kelly no mugs and got 0-12 6 from play in that game. One of the lads said hes stronger and bulked up that they have ever seen him and all my contacts were surprised how good he was considering he was out for so long. When I heard this I was delighted and for me he has to start, Imagine having a new and improved fresh Brehony sitting on the bench, it would be handicapping us surely. Has to start.

Will walsh go with EWING centre half back?, mcnamara and j davey seem almost certain to start in the wings, but I wouldnt rule out mcgovern if hes found form again.

I think O Hara will be fit and will start in a HF line of Sean Davey, Costello CHF. Davey does a serious amount of work and we need him although Guaghan could easily do a job there aswell. I mean he gives something different but would start Davey. Im sure KW has each Galway players weaknesses identified and will pick players to exploit them to a certain extent along with form of players taking more importance.

FF line will hopefully be Brehony, Sweeney and Marren. Midfield, FB line and GK pick themselves.
Post by: Mano on June 17, 2009, 11:27:29 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 11:17:48 AM
He played against Donegal challenge full match and did well, as i said on HS i saidi was talking to a few of club defenders who were blown away by his fitness, he was marked by P Wilson and J Kelly no mugs and got 0-12 6 from play in that game. One of the lads said hes stronger and bulked up that they have ever seen him and all my contacts were surprised how good he was considering he was out for so long. When I heard this I was delighted and for me he has to start, Imagine having a new and improved fresh Brehony sitting on the bench, it would be handicapping us surely. Has to start.

Will walsh go with EWING centre half back?, mcnamara and j davey seem almost certain to start in the wings, but I wouldnt rule out mcgovern if hes found form again.

I think O Hara will be fit and will start in a HF line of Sean Davey, Costello CHF. Davey does a serious amount of work and we need him although Guaghan could easily do a job there aswell. I mean he gives something different but would start Davey. Im sure KW has each Galway players weaknesses identified and will pick players to exploit them to a certain extent along with form of players taking more importance.

FF line will hopefully be Brehony, Sweeney and Marren. Midfield, FB line and GK pick themselves.

I wouldn't start Ewing. P Joyce would be too stong and cute for him. Think he should start with Phillips with Ewing on bench to cover full back and half back line. If he does start with him i can see O'Hara or Davey dropping deep to help him out. Think rest of the team picks itself assuming no more injuries.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 11:41:36 AM
Quote from: Mano on June 17, 2009, 11:27:29 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 11:17:48 AM

I wouldn't start Ewing. P Joyce would be too stong and cute for him. Think he should start with Phillips with Ewing on bench to cover full back and half back line. If he does start with him i can see O'Hara or Davey dropping deep to help him out. Think rest of the team picks itself assuming no more injuries.

Either way Im worried on that one, could mcnamara be put back there? thats our 3 options, and its something no manager has really fixed. Phillips had a poor NFL going by what I was told and some on here seen for themselves. Personnaly speaken I would have J Martyn in there the whole NFL and im sure he would of excelled there. I agree Joyce is cute and strong but mcnamara had a stormer in 07 on him, which credit were its due but only thing so many poor showings before and since proved it was a once off, could he do it again? Ewing isnt ready and doesnt have the experience for that job, but really we are left in limbo with it totally down to chance and once offs in terms of Sligo winning that position. A little disappointed more wasnt done to find the right man for that position last few yrs.

Looking forward to the team selection there maybe a shock or 2, its 10 weeks since the NFL so alot of that form is irrelevant although I wouldnt stray too much from the players that got us up.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 17, 2009, 12:12:30 PM
McNamara played well in the Connacht final but a lot of his defensive work was done for him by hard working mf and half forwards tracking back. Centre back and midfield are troublesome areas for us but luckily Galway have their own problems in the middle diamond.

Would agree with a lot of what has been said. Morale and prep for Sligo is a lot better and even though it was only Div 4 winning is a good habit. I'm expecting a close game and hoping if a few things go our way we might be able to pinch the result. Galway are a good team, there's no doubt. It's a big ask for us to take them but you never know.

Agree that if Breheny is flying he has to be included. Don't agree that S. Davey should start or that he does a serious amount of work. My forward 6 would be (assuming EO'H is right and Breheny is 100%) Gaughan, Costello, O'Hara, Breheny, Sweeney, Marren. I assume they'll have a plan for Meehan and Joyce. Harrison and Donovan have marked him before and while they'd get to the ball at the same time Meehans height and strength tends to win out for him. Good and all as our FB line is they'll be screwed if consistent good ball is coming in. Which leaves the middle. It could go wither way but my gut tell me we'll struggle to get an even break. That will be fine if we're putting pressure on their deliveries. If not we could be goosed big style.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 12:33:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 17, 2009, 12:12:30 PM
McNamara played well in the Connacht final but a lot of his defensive work was done for him by hard working mf and half forwards tracking back. Centre back and midfield are troublesome areas for us but luckily Galway have their own problems in the middle diamond.

Would agree with a lot of what has been said. Morale and prep for Sligo is a lot better and even though it was only Div 4 winning is a good habit. I'm expecting a close game and hoping if a few things go our way we might be able to pinch the result. Galway are a good team, there's no doubt. It's a big ask for us to take them but you never know.

Agree that if Breheny is flying he has to be included. Don't agree that S. Davey should start or that he does a serious amount of work. My forward 6 would be (assuming EO'H is right and Breheny is 100%) Gaughan, Costello, O'Hara, Breheny, Sweeney, Marren. I assume they'll have a plan for Meehan and Joyce. Harrison and Donovan have marked him before and while they'd get to the ball at the same time Meehans height and strength tends to win out for him. Good and all as our FB line is they'll be screwed if consistent good ball is coming in. Which leaves the middle. It could go wither way but my gut tell me we'll struggle to get an even break. That will be fine if we're putting pressure on their deliveries. If not we could be goosed big style.

Midfield, totally new partnership, never played a big Championship game before Mullen and Taylor,its merely speculation on whats going to happen there as said before. I think TT has serious potential, I played with him Sligo county vec team and he impressed me alot back then, has serious footballing ability, he was unlucky in 07 to get injured just as he was about to step up to a new level of performance like the wicklow game suggested, so he can do it and I remain convinced its only a matter of time before he does. I personnally think its all mental with him though, as he shys away from the battle sometimes and games pass him by probably suggest he lacks focus in games especially kickouts winning, if he worked on that and is the right frame of mind he'll give us a platform. Mullen I really know feck all to be honest one game, he worked his ass off and seems to be a decent foil for TT and I couldnt knock the amount effort he put in.

We'll have to agree to disagree on Davey, although if Gaughans selected I wont lose any sleep. Definitly going to take over from Sean there anyway and its just a matter of time. Thought Davey looked good against Antrim and his experience gets my nod.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 17, 2009, 01:49:04 PM
I'll be honest I havent seen many Sligo games this year so cant comment too much on the form. However, as has been said, there seems to be very good morale in the camp compared to last year so that can only bode well. Also Costello is a massive addition to the team and sorts out the long problem at CHF. It also takes some of the scoring responsibility away from brehony who, if fully fit, could thrive in the full forward line.

Midfiield & centre half back are big worries for me though. As has been said, the MF partnership isnt tried and tested so will be a huge task for them. Also dont fancy any of our options at CHB, but McNamara might be the better choice. As for michael meehan - I was talking to a Galway friend who asked if we had anyone to mark him. My response was that we have a very good full back line, argueably our strongest line on the pitch, but if Galway get 50-50 at midfield, then the supply in to meehan will be too much for our lads. My friend simply responded - if Galway get good supply of ball into meehan, then no team in the country could cope with it. Enough said.

Only other thing to be said is that I hear one of the Galway midfielders is a huge doubt for the game. Cant remember his name but a young player who is supposed to be playing really well....
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2009, 02:44:04 PM
Just for the record I wont be at this Game :(, i think it'll be my first Championship match on home soil since 89 to miss.

I cant take any leave in the first 6 months with my new company only under exceptional circumstances. I had all my hols worked up in my previous one and obviously had plans to go home but got let go there in May.

I have to get exit visa from new company to go home so ive made up a exceptional circumstance ;) to get home for Connacht final on July 19th. Its a no win situation but if I go home for the Galway game and we win Id be incosolable missing a Connacht final. Im taking a huge chance I know as alot of people think we have no chance but I do. If we dont make it I will rearrange date to suit our first qualifier and that'll be it for the summer.

To actually see the game on internet isnt easy either. justin.tv, its on at 4 our time i finish work at 5 in ras laffan it takes 1.25 hrs to get home so i have have a plan there aswell to be home at 4, hope it works. Yer lucky to home to be able to see it, pisses me off being out here with GAA on back home.

Im saying this cause I'll have feck all opinion on the game and will be relying on others. And people I know who read on here will want to know if Im back or not for it. Never take for granted being able to go to games.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 17, 2009, 02:56:42 PM
Wont be able to go to the game either. Have a wedding in Galway (on a sunday!!!). No mass, just straight to the hotel for the formalities and the reception after. The "wedding" starts at 3.30, so might be able to catch the game on tv if we go down early. Absolutely raging that I'll miss it..
Post by: magpie seanie on June 17, 2009, 05:38:23 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on June 17, 2009, 02:56:42 PM
Wont be able to go to the game either. Have a wedding in Galway (on a sunday!!!). No mass, just straight to the hotel for the formalities and the reception after. The "wedding" starts at 3.30, so might be able to catch the game on tv if we go down early. Absolutely raging that I'll miss it..

That's just shocking altogether. If Sligo do win though you shouldn't have to buy a drink all night!
Post by: stevo-08 on June 17, 2009, 07:39:23 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 17, 2009, 05:38:23 PM
Quote from: stevo-08 on June 17, 2009, 02:56:42 PM

That's just shocking altogether. If Sligo do win though you shouldn't have to buy a drink all night!

Yea, that'll be the least I deserve if i miss Sligo beating Galway. I'll be surrounded by galway & mayo ones at the wedding and Im sure they'll only be too delighted to congratulate us, should Sligo do the business  :P
Post by: Northknife on June 21, 2009, 10:56:19 PM
Does anyone know when the tickets go on sale for the Sligo - Galway match? If so please let me know asap, thanks.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 05:03:36 AM
Quote from: Northknife on June 21, 2009, 10:56:19 PM
Does anyone know when the tickets go on sale for the Sligo - Galway match? If so please let me know asap, thanks.

On tuesday in Sligo, check Sligogaa.ie and local papers, judging by the interest on here there be loads of tickets available on the day, there will be feck all from galway at the game. Id hope at least 10,000 from Sligo at it. mayo will have a few at it for the minor match aswell as to see the team theyll play in final.

Jees the monaghan v armagh qualifier has 4 pages already after 1 day whereas this match has 3, a joke.
Post by: baoithe on June 22, 2009, 08:39:31 AM
Haven't had a chance to look through this thread in over a week due to work demands. Also, there isn't much that can be said without repeating what the rest of ye have posted before me.

In terms of predictions I cannot see anything other than a Galway win. I'm not as worried as I was going to Castlebar in 2008 as I know this panel has been prepared properly. Further, I'm fairly confident they will not lack an intensity and focus that was so missing this time last year and which resulted in them rolling over to Mayo. Again, this has all been said before.

I expect lots of endeavour from Sligo and some nice passages of play that will flatter to deceive but ultimately I think Galway will shade it purely because they have that bit more quality than us and of course have been playing a higher standard of football to Sligo during the league.

Really hope I'm wrong though.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 09:20:27 AM
Quote from: baoithe on June 22, 2009, 08:39:31 AM
Haven't had a chance to look through this thread in over a week due to work demands. Also, there isn't much that can be said without repeating what the rest of ye have posted before me.

In terms of predictions I cannot see anything other than a Galway win. I'm not as worried as I was going to Castlebar in 2008 as I know this panel has been prepared properly. Further, I'm fairly confident they will not lack an intensity and focus that was so missing this time last year and which resulted in them rolling over to Mayo. Again, this has all been said before.

I expect lots of endeavour from Sligo and some nice passages of play that will flatter to deceive but ultimately I think Galway will shade it purely because they have that bit more quality than us and of course have been playing a higher standard of football to Sligo during the league.

Really hope I'm wrong though.

So do I. We will all be the wiser after Sunday. Hope the players Believe though or else were screwed.

Im going to focus on all the positives: reasons I think Sligo will win.

Solid FB line and keeper, saved us in 07 under severe pressure, consistent and have the ability to cover one another

Meehans in consistency, yes he his, hope he has an off day.

Strong forward line in O Hara, Costello, Davey/Gaughan, Marren, Sweeney, Brehony/coen/kelly.. Options aplenty, Marrens emergance a big bonus, the class of costello who will hopefully be flying, sweeney a little more consistent and showing signs of establishing himself. Free takers both left and right,(no repeat of 07 there) ;)

Kevin Walshs inside view has to be a help,

Mediocre Galway midfield, u21s havnt come through from AI wins, armstrong, bane, breathnach all not really kicked on from early promise,

Nicky Joyce omission,

Padraic Joyce not getting any younger.

Beating them in 07 psychological, we know we can beat them, we beat them u21s in 08.

Being at home is an advantage, despite our record, its actually good outside CSFC. Will for sure be more Sligonians at it to back our lads.

Sligo players renewed focus and fitness and style of play, winning is a habit and we finished the NFL strong, Galway the opposite.

Lastly Its all on the day so let battle commence.

Post by: mannix on June 22, 2009, 09:53:21 AM
sligonian, you are an optimist if nothing else, hard to see a win for you but you never know.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 10:21:20 AM
Quote from: mannix on June 22, 2009, 09:53:21 AM
sligonian, you are an optimist if nothing else, hard to see a win for you but you never know.

Im a realist too, everything I stated is possible to happen in my mind. If Meehan is in form then try to double up as much as possible by using extra defender or close out the space in front but I would go man for man for the first 10 mins, you have to be positive but be able to see things and adapt before its to late. I know we will have to hang in there in stages and just ride out waves of Galway attacks. Meehan is usually FF so that means McGuire will be marking him, Id have upmost confidence in McGuire.

Anyword on who the ref is?
Post by: mannix on June 22, 2009, 10:58:52 AM
no idea who is ref, good luck on sunday. by the way where are you living now?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 11:35:09 AM
Thanks we will need all the luck we can get, Im at work here in Doha, Qatar 8), no work at home for me at all so going to ride out the recession for as long as I can and save a bit, I actually thought Id be less obsessed with GAA being away from home, how wrong I was.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 22, 2009, 01:54:52 PM
Just checked the GAA website and next weekends fixtures are up. Derek Fahy of Longford will be in charge in Markievicz next Sunday.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 02:29:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 22, 2009, 01:54:52 PM
Just checked the GAA website and next weekends fixtures are up. Derek Fahy of Longford will be in charge in Markievicz next Sunday.

I think I know him vaguely,

Hope his relations are from Sligo.... ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on June 22, 2009, 02:33:01 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 22, 2009, 02:29:25 PM

With a name like Fahy?
Post by: Mano on June 22, 2009, 03:55:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 22, 2009, 02:33:01 PM

With a name like Fahy?

Fahy refereed the Leitrim Roscommon game a few weeks back
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 23, 2009, 07:24:20 AM
Quote from: Mano on June 22, 2009, 03:55:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 22, 2009, 02:33:01 PM

With a name like Fahy?

Fahy refereed the Leitrim Roscommon game a few weeks back

Obviously not then.... :-[..

Is the Sligo team to be named tonight after training? Id say Sligogaa.ie will have it first as there on the ball over there. Looking forward to seeing it as there are a few permutations surrounding it.

Is the NEW Sligo jersey on sale yet in any of the shops?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 23, 2009, 02:20:16 PM
http://www.sligoweekender.com/news/story/?trs=mhideycwql

Good article from a neutral... ;)

Interesting about EOH starting midfield with TT, and brehony CHF. might not be a bad call as no one knows what to expect from Mullen. I would still go with my previous posts though.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 23, 2009, 02:52:00 PM
Don't see any logic in his no. 11 selection though he's probably just saying that to get a rise out of some people. For the first time in my memory we have a chf who can pass, hold the ball up and score who has played in the postion well all year but he wants to change it? Wind up merchant!

Against Galway I'd see no reason not to start EOH in midfield though.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 24, 2009, 12:54:31 AM
Team was announced tonight.

Davey Costelloe and O'Hara the half forwards
Marren Brehony and Kelly in the ff line

Taylor and mullen at mf

Davey, Ewing and Mcnamara hb's
harrisson, mcguire and donovan fb's
Greene in goals

Membership of Club Sligo has it's priveliges

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 24, 2009, 05:15:24 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 24, 2009, 12:54:31 AM

Taylor and mullen at mf

Greene in goals

I know alot of Sligo people will write off our chances based on that selection but I think we should just wait and see. No one has any clue how the diamond is going to perform, its completely new to Championship football.

I am disappointed Sweeney doesnt start, but hopefully will be brought on quickly if anyone is underperforming, also Coen is better than Kelly IMO so disapointed there aswell.

On the diamond, you know Ewing a Maugherow man, has a massive challenge ahead of him. He is talented though, has football brain, on Joyce if I were him I never commit to tackling him 100%, as his physical advantage will break the tackle every time, I just stay with him and put him under pressure kicking, also Ewing is a good reader of the game so he has to minimise the possesion coming to Joyce by reading interceptions, and the supply to him something akin to what you see Charlie doing bursting out in front of his opponent, but play the situation at the time in terms of that as it can be high risk.

Mullen will work his socks off no doubt and thats what we need from him to leave everything out on the field akin to Durcan....TT the man with a huge amount of responsibility, the forwards will be relying on this lad for supply and quality, he can do it, this is a opportunity please take it..

Costello, forget about the league final it happens, and just hopefully get stuck in and get good ball in to the forwards, orchestrate them and take your score. Even Marren is kinda new and I expect big things...

McNamara will hopefully have a blinder on the wing, and wee Johnny. I wish all the lads the best of luck.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 24, 2009, 08:40:08 AM
would be worried about that half back line, but hopefully they can do the business. Also need massive games from the guys in midfield - get Tony on the ball early, he's a confidence player and if he settles into the game, could work well. Davey lucky to get in ahead of gaughan, Sweeney unlucky to lose out in FF line.

But at least we have some options on the bench - Sweeney, MacPartland, Coen, Gaughan.

Galway obvious favourites but I wouldnt be surprised to see an upset on sunday.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 24, 2009, 08:52:20 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 24, 2009, 12:54:31 AM

Taylor and mullen at mf

Greene in goals

Fair play having membership SLIGOMAN2, will get it this week myself.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 24, 2009, 09:51:07 AM
No real surprises in the team - is that a good or bad thing? Team is reasonably settled from a decent league run. Breheny deserves a place if he is at anything near his top form. We need a lot of things to go right and a good start I think. We also need to use our options from the bench wisely and in time. I wish Sligo the best of luck.
Post by: Buckass on June 24, 2009, 10:48:22 AM
Don't see the team lining out as selected. Think that midfield is only line that will. If it plays as selected we'll get opened at back. Ewing will likely go corner with Ross to 6
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 24, 2009, 10:59:17 AM
Quote from: Buckass on June 24, 2009, 10:48:22 AM
Don't see the team lining out as selected. Think that midfield is only line that will. If it plays as selected we'll get opened at back. Ewing will likely go corner with Ross to 6

Big call Buckass, theyve never tryed that even in challenges so not sure theyd do it starting in CSFC. I agree though in alot of ways. Ewing would be sound marking breathnach or armstrong and Id be less worried with Ross taking care of Joyce. I know people say dont t**ker with FB line and I agree to a certain extent but its a very attack minded HB line leaving the FB under alot of defensive pressure.

Still though think it will line out as selected.
Post by: baoithe on June 24, 2009, 11:11:51 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 24, 2009, 09:51:07 AM
No real surprises in the team - is that a good or bad thing? Team is reasonably settled from a decent league run. Breheny deserves a place if he is at anything near his top form. We need a lot of things to go right and a good start I think. We also need to use our options from the bench wisely and in time. I wish Sligo the best of luck.

I'd go along with this. I think everyone that looks at that team will have some reservations or doubts about it. Should matters go awry as long as changes are made in a prompt manner then damage will hopefully be minimised.

Looking forward to it. Weather should be good which will keep some from forking out €30 for a couple of hours in the stand. Robbery.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 24, 2009, 11:23:59 AM

with Joyce not 100% fit, i think he'll start with ewing at CB and see how he gets on. Meehan is the man in form, and we'll need our top guys in the fb line to be on fire, doubling up on meehan if needed.

Midfield is absolutely key - Cullinan is only back from injury so hopefully we can get some joy in this department. O'Hara to come back and help if needed.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 24, 2009, 11:33:09 AM
Quote from: baoithe on June 24, 2009, 11:11:51 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 24, 2009, 09:51:07 AM

I'd go along with this. I think everyone that looks at that team will have some reservations or doubts about it. Should matters go awry as long as changes are made in a prompt manner then damage will hopefully be minimised.

Looking forward to it. Weather should be good which will keep some from forking out €30 for a couple of hours in the stand. Robbery.

Even its its raining behind the dugouts is the spot to be.  ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 24, 2009, 11:40:43 AM
Quote from: stevo-08 on June 24, 2009, 11:23:59 AM

with Joyce not 100% fit, i think he'll start with ewing at CB and see how he gets on. Meehan is the man in form, and we'll need our top guys in the fb line to be on fire, doubling up on meehan if needed.

Midfield is absolutely key - Cullinan is only back from injury so hopefully we can get some joy in this department. O'Hara to come back and help if needed.

Is Joyce not 100% fit ?,

No offence lads I know its a recession, it'll cost me alot more than 30euro to get home for Connacht final if we get to it. I would gladly be in yer position. If we win itd be priceless.
Post by: Mano on June 24, 2009, 11:51:45 AM
Team near enough as expected. Only surprise is omission of Sweeney (is he injured?) which would have given the option of an longer ball. Full forward line has a very light look about it with all 3 all well under 6 foot. Ball in needs to be precise and also requires plenty of movement from the inside line - no high aimless balls similar to first half against Antrim as big Galway defenders will clean up.

Ewing in for baptism of fire but will probably get plenty of assistance from the half forwards. Donavan will not be moved out of the full back line and would be criminal if he was. There is a huge difference between the 2 positions. Galway will play long ball into Meehan where Donovan will hopefully be able to keep a close eye on him.
Post by: stevo-08 on June 24, 2009, 12:16:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 24, 2009, 11:40:43 AM
Is Joyce not 100% fit ?,

From what I hear, Joyce carrying an injury but will start. However, even a 70-80% fit joyce will be a handful for our defence.

Jaysus, there's a serious lack of galway lads on this thread. Maybe they're over on the connacht final thread discussing the preferred venue for their match v Mayo. :P
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 24, 2009, 02:31:16 PM
QuoteDamien Dunleavy has been ruled out of Galway's Connacht SFC semi-final against Sligo on Sunday.

The wing forward is struggling with a groin injury, and will play no part against Kevin Walsh's charges. But midfielders Joe Bergin and Barry Cullinane both return from injury for what is a repeat of the 2007 Connacht final which Sligo famously won.

Both players' championship preparations had been interrupted by knee injuries.

Dunleavy gone on top of Nicky. Won't leave us with a huge amount of options to change things up front.
Post by: paddypastit on June 25, 2009, 12:43:26 AM
A few quick comments, with the caveat that I haven't seen the team or any of the individual players play in the flesh this season so going on what I know of them from before, have seen on TV and have heard / read from others.

We have a small FF line - pace in the corners and two scorers for sure - but small. If you play the three inside, it has to be early low ball.

O'Hara won't stay on the wing.  That's not me saying that I know anything but knowing the way he thinks and works, he'll play all across the middle, which is no bad thing as we have a very raw MF. IMO though what we have in MF is two naturally suited to the position and as such we have to pick them and let them learn... Paul Durcan was raw in 1990 or '91 when he started but he carried a lot of causes from the mid 90's to his retirement and ye won't get there without being thrown in. O'Hara playing in among them will help that area.  The question then is how you play the other 5.  I'd not be surprised to see Brehony playing a little deeper than an orthodox FF thus creating space for the pace of Kelly and Marren. IMO  again Brehony is best coming onto a ball facing goals rather than playing in the FF line where as often as not the ball won is with back to goal. If we can get him coming onto ball won by Kelly / Marren then it could work.  There's merit in being worried about the defence mindedness of the wing half backs which puts a lot of responsibility on Ewing for a first timer, as if handling PJ was not enough. 

Again this is where O'Hara and the MF pairing will be vital. It may well be that one of that threesomne will drop off as soon as we loose the ball and expect S Davey too to come back, in fact it is likely that he will regularly be deeper than the wing backs...

Unfortunately I'm abroad myself over the coming week so won't be there. It's hard not to see Galway coming out on top but here's hoping otherwise.

Finally, Club Sligo must be patchy as despite having contact details checked last week, I only got team on RTE via Twitter c. 11.00 and the RTE website time log was 6.30 or so

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 08:22:59 AM
Quote from: paddypastit on June 25, 2009, 12:43:26 AM
A few quick comments, with the caveat that I haven't seen the team or any of the individual players play in the flesh this season so going on what I know of them from before, have seen on TV and have heard / read from others.

We have a small FF line - pace in the corners and two scorers for sure - but small. If you play the three inside, it has to be early low ball.

O'Hara won't stay on the wing.  That's not me saying that I know anything but knowing the way he thinks and works, he'll play all across the middle, which is no bad thing as we have a very raw MF. IMO though what we have in MF is two naturally suited to the position and as such we have to pick them and let them learn... Paul Durcan was raw in 1990 or '91 when he started but he carried a lot of causes from the mid 90's to his retirement and ye won't get there without being thrown in. O'Hara playing in among them will help that area.  The question then is how you play the other 5.  I'd not be surprised to see Brehony playing a little deeper than an orthodox FF thus creating space for the pace of Kelly and Marren. IMO  again Brehony is best coming onto a ball facing goals rather than playing in the FF line where as often as not the ball won is with back to goal. If we can get him coming onto ball won by Kelly / Marren then it could work.  There's merit in being worried about the defence mindedness of the wing half backs which puts a lot of responsibility on Ewing for a first timer, as if handling PJ was not enough. 

Again this is where O'Hara and the MF pairing will be vital. It may well be that one of that threesomne will drop off as soon as we loose the ball and expect S Davey too to come back, in fact it is likely that he will regularly be deeper than the wing backs...

Unfortunately I'm abroad myself over the coming week so won't be there. It's hard not to see Galway coming out on top but here's hoping otherwise.

Finally, Club Sligo must be patchy as despite having contact details checked last week, I only got team on RTE via Twitter c. 11.00 and the RTE website time log was 6.30 or so

See it that way myself, but I dont agree with the wing forwards dropping so deep, in the Antrim game it handicapped us, Stensons man did alot of damage in a attacking sense so Im not sure we'll do the same on Sunday. As I said above you got to play the situation and Id hope EOH and SD will dictate to there opponents rather than other way round. I do expect alot of space to be in front of FF line and I agree on Brehony, but I can see it working out very well. Costello will cover that space and hoepfully do some damage aswell.

Its kinda exciting going into the unknown with regards the new look diamond quartet, imagine they all step up the plate. What a platform that will give us and theyll all be in the shape of there lives from the conditioning county set ups give you.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 09:08:38 AM
Galway must be on red alert in Markievicz Park

It will take the loyal Galway supporters from the last 20 years a few moments to re-adjust their hard drive at Markievicz Park in Sligo this Sunday when they see one of the finest footballers of his generation, Kevin Walsh, marshalling the opposition in championship football.

It was one thing to know that Big Kevin was in charge of Sligo and that they would face Galway on June 28 in the Connacht championship semi-final. It is another to face that reality.

This Connacht semi-final has the classic "massive outsiders v hot favourites" feel to it and is a potential banana skin for Galway.

Galway are 2/11 in the bookies, whereas Sligo represent good value at 9/2.

When I asked the current Sligo manager what he thinks of his team being available at such odds, he says: "There're about right".

The Killanin man explain."We played in division 4 this spring and Galway were in division 1 and there is a massive difference in standard between those divisions. We all saw what Mayo did to Roscommon, who are a division 3 team last weekend, so we know we face a tough test next Sunday."

That said, Walsh is pleased how things have been going in the Yeat's county. Promotion from division 4 was his top priority.

"We were very pleased to get promotion and now my hope is that the lads do themselves justice next Sunday. They have lots of work put in and hopefully they will show what they can do.

"If we get beaten, so be it. Once the players and team as a whole can walk off the field and say they gave it everything they had, that is the main thing. You cannot ask for any more than that as a manager.

"They should have no fear of Galway as seven or eight of them played in the 2007 win in Hyde Park. That success will give them confidence that they can produce another shock this Sunday."

Walsh is not too pleased with the GAA fixture list as Sligo is the last team in the country to play championship football in 2009.

"We have not played real competitive football for 11 weeks since the division 4 league final and that makes it difficult to judge how a team is going. Galway have the advantage of their run-out against London and they will have learnt something from that game."

Walsh believes both counties have different aspirations for the coming months;

"Galway will have aspirations of getting to an All-Ireland semi-final or final whereas our objective is to win a Connacht Championship game. We are looking forward to the game and all we want is that the panel turns up on Sunday and does what they are

supposed to do. We will have to increase the intensity enormously from the standard that we played at in

division 4, but that is the challenge and one we are looking forward to."

Liam Sammon's view

Galway manager Liam Sammon is taking a pragmatic view. He is on red alert and is very aware of the danger that exists next Sunday for his team.

"It is never easy down in Sligo. We have been turned over there many times and they beat us down there back in 1975 and went on to win the Connacht championship, so I am well aware of the risk they pose this weekend.

"You see it every weekend in championship. The team that goes out and plays with hunger, fight, ability, and passion is exceedingly difficult to beat. Anything can happen in a championship game and unless we approach this game in the right frame of mind and with our attitude 100 per cent right, we will be in trouble. I know that, and the players know it too."

Galway's preparations have been troubled with injury and Niall Coleman's recent bereavement.

"Damien Dunleavy (groin), Fiachra Breathnach (groin) and Alan Burke (ankle) are all out and they are all big losses. Niall Coleman, who has been playing really well for his club and with us, may not be available after the terrible tragedy his family suffered recently. It would be ideal if we had everyone fit and ready for action, but that is not the case.

"On the positive side Paul Conroy, Declan Meehan, Sean Armstrong, and Gary O'Donnell are all going well and Kieran Fitzgerald is coming back to full fitness again which is a big plus. We know we have a huge task ahead of us on Sunday and it will take a top quality performance from our entire side to get back to another Connacht final.

"Championship games are never easily won and I don't expect this one to be any different."

Ray Silke's view

I would expect Sligo to be well organised and highly motivated under Kevin Walsh's guidance. They will have garnered a lot of self-belief and momentum from their success in winning the league title in division 4 in a final in which they beat Antrim, who beat Donegal recently in the Ulster championship.

They have nothing to fear, everything to gain, and very little to lose, as they are expected to be beaten by the vast majority of people already.

Home advantage is a major plus for them too and in forwards like Kenneth Sweeney, David Kelly, Mark Brehony, Sean Davey, Eamonn O'Hara, and Alan Costello, they have players to ask plenty of questions of the Galway rearguard.

Assuming the Galway midfield of perhaps Paul Conroy and Gary O' Donnell, with Joe Bergin drifting out from wing-forward, can get the better of Tony Taylor and Eugene Mullen, and provide plenty of possession, then the Galway forward division of Michael Meehan, Padraig Joyce, and Sean Armstrong should have too much scoring power for the Sligo rearguard.

However one note of caution, the Sligo full-back line of Charlie Harrison, 2007 captain Noel McGuire, and Ross Donovan are no slouches and are a very experienced trio who will be very difficult to break down.

Despite those health warnings, you would still expect Galway to advance, but only after a major battle and not by a huge margin.

In fact Sligo +5 at 10/11 looks quite a reasonable bet and could come good.

Both teams have different managers and some new personnel, but let's not forget that Sligo beat Galway 1-10 to 0-12 in the Connacht final less than two years ago in a game in which Michael Meehan, Cormac Bane, and Diarmuid Blake were all substituted.

That recent defeat alone should provide Galway with sufficient motivation to go to Markievicz and do a professional job and come home with a ticket for the Connacht final.

*The game is live on RTE2 at 2pm

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 09:31:20 AM
All very PC and what youd expect to be said, Respect for opposition on all sides but I think all of us in Sligo know Galway people will be a little worried if they dont beat us a decent margin. We know yere too cute to say it but ye expect to have at least 8 or 9 pt margin and that includes Sammon.

Whats the expected travelling support GI? Much interest or just going to wait for Connacht final as neutrals ;)
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 09:45:45 AM
Being honest Sligonian, if we had everyone available and fit I would expect us to be 7 or 8 points to the good after 70mins.  That is not the case and I do expect a good battle up there but I still think we will come through with a few points to spare.  Caoimhin Breathnach seems to have ye moving in the right direction but I think we are playing better football (better managed!) than 2007 and ye have slipped a little since then. 

I dont think there will be a big crowd up from Galway to be honest.  Our gang can be fickle enough at times but Im sure there will be enough of us there to make it a good championship occassion  :)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 10:06:37 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 09:45:45 AM
Being honest Sligonian, if we had everyone available and fit I would expect us to be 7 or 8 points to the good after 70mins.  That is not the case and I do expect a good battle up there but I still think we will come through with a few points to spare.  Caoimhin Breathnach seems to have ye moving in the right direction but I think we are playing better football (better managed!) than 2007 and ye have slipped a little since then. 

I dont think there will be a big crowd up from Galway to be honest.  Our gang can be fickle enough at times but Im sure there will be enough of us there to make it a good championship occassion  :)

I think were better than 07 btw. I Look at the Connacht Final DVD regularly over here, jees ye were sore losing that game, everyone associated with Galway at the end had a face like thunder. Suspect revenge is an issue for ye for sure.

We are going for Back to Back victories over Galway so theres a huge opportunity there.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 10:25:15 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 10:06:37 AM

I think were better than 07 btw. I Look at the Connacht Final DVD regularly over here, jees ye were sore losing that game, everyone associated with Galway at the end had a face like thunder. Suspect revenge is an issue for ye for sure.

We are going for Back to Back victories over Galway so theres a huge opportunity there.
We were there for the taking in 07 Sligonian.  We were playing a brand of football that was alien to us and did not suit the players at our disposal.  We were usually struggling to put 11 points on the board per game that year and we were goin to get caught at some stage.  Couple that with some strange "tactical" switches on the day by Ford (moving Nicky Joyce when he was destroying ye!) added to our woe and it all amounted to a fully merited win for Sligo.

Revenge is definitely on our minds but I dont think we were too sore to be honest.  I remember standing beside a father with 2 young lads that day and I never seen 2 young fellas as hyper in my life after a win.  Myself and a mate lifted the 2 young lads out on to the pitch after to join in the mayhem and i'd say it probably took their auld lad most of the evening to find them! :D  Hopefully I wont be repeating this exercise on Sunday  ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 11:09:28 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 10:25:15 AM

We were there for the taking in 07 Sligonian.  We were playing a brand of football that was alien to us and did not suit the players at our disposal.  We were usually struggling to put 11 points on the board per game that year and we were goin to get caught at some stage.  Couple that with some strange "tactical" switches on the day by Ford (moving Nicky Joyce when he was destroying ye!) added to our woe and it all amounted to a fully merited win for Sligo.

Revenge is definitely on our minds but I dont think we were too sore to be honest.  I remember standing beside a father with 2 young lads that day and I never seen 2 young fellas as hyper in my life after a win.  Myself and a mate lifted the 2 young lads out on to the pitch after to join in the mayhem and i'd say it probably took their auld lad most of the evening to find them! :D  Hopefully I wont be repeating this exercise on Sunday  ;)

Jees GI was it you that lifted me over ther fence that day :D :D

Are Galway that good this yr though. A bit like Roscommon, I was never convinced they had turned a corner despite the early season form(NFL and FBD) and Leitrim win, and with Galway IMO Im not convinced yet by yee either. All Im saying like 07 i think yere there for the taking however I dont expect Sammon to make the stupid mistakes Forde did in that final. There are alot of players in yer squad I dont rate to be honest. For me the forward line is totally reliant on Meehan for scores and for me he alone dictates the outcome of this match, question therefore is will he turn up or not. The contrast in 06 and 07 is valid here, ie he scored 0-13 in 06 against us but in 07 had a nightmare although supply was poor. (Cant remember exactly what he scored in 07).
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 12:04:38 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 11:09:28 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on June 25, 2009, 10:25:15 AM

Jees GI was it you that lifted me over ther fence that day :D :D

Are Galway that good this yr though. A bit like Roscommon, I was never convinced they had turned a corner despite the early season form(NFL and FBD) and Leitrim win, and with Galway IMO Im not convinced yet by yee either. All Im saying like 07 i think yere there for the taking however I dont expect Sammon to make the stupid mistakes Forde did in that final. There are alot of players in yer squad I dont rate to be honest. For me the forward line is totally reliant on Meehan for scores and for me he alone dictates the outcome of this match, question therefore is will he turn up or not. The contrast in 06 and 07 is valid here, ie he scored 0-13 in 06 against us but in 07 had a nightmare although supply was poor. (Cant remember exactly what he scored in 07).
We are definitely better than 07!  Let me put it this way, 1-10 wont beat us on Sunday  ;) 
Post by: paddypastit on June 25, 2009, 12:05:48 PM
Sligonian, I underestand your point on the wing forwards and you're right - it can be a dangerous game to play.

That said, some times when faced by a wing back that wants to run into space, the best thing to do is go deep and bring him into that space - if he's already there, he can't run into it.

A lot depends on how afraid he is of you - i.e. will he follow to mark or will he take the gamble that he will do more damage to you by holding the space and attacking forward than you will do to him by dropping deep and attacking from there or roaming.

If you are reliable with ball in hand, you will crucify his decision and force him to follow you or have the team sacrifice somebody else to do so. If not, and that would be the worry with the personnel that we have on the day...

Ye have to judge the player and the movement on the day.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 12:50:36 PM
On the wing forward wing back, totally understand what your saying.

Just to elaborate on playing the situation, thats in reference to the Midfield sector and whos on top, it give the wing back the platform as if his team is winning possession he can keep breaking forward to support the play and only has to worry about the timing of his runs. However im taking the optimistic approach on the belief we will break even in midfield. We have to force the issue then to sway the outcome and thats by taking the positive approach in dictating to them. We cannot have a situation where our wing forward gets the ball inside is own half and our FF line is inside the 15 yd line up the other end. This happened SD in div4 final a few times, there way too much space 70/80 yds to pass, our FF has to come running out to areas where he cant score  from and we were on top. I just see as negative and it throws off the shape of the team and isolates the FF line. It just makes the Forward line obselete but yes it keeps our half crowded meaning we'll keep the score down but against Galway this time it will be a damage limitation tactic if thats our plan. I would take this approach only when under the cosh and of course when we are dominating I stick to the WB up in attack as I said above when we are on top.

We all know McNamara does this for us as a WB but it leaves us isolated at the back because he does it all game no matter if we are on top or not. The 2 WFs have enough experience for us to have an advantage there IMO.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 25, 2009, 01:25:03 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 09:31:20 AM
All very PC and what youd expect to be said, Respect for opposition on all sides but I think all of us in Sligo know Galway people will be a little worried if they dont beat us a decent margin. We know yere too cute to say it but ye expect to have at least 8 or 9 pt margin and that includes Sammon.

I would take a 1 point win to be honest. We are very short on options up front thanks to assorted injuries and Nicky being ejected from the panel. Plus throw in that it's an away game. I fully expect there will be less than 3 points in it either way.

We can probably still field a pretty good set of forwards between Meehan, Bane, Armstrong, Joyce, Clancy and Conroy (unless he's put in midfield) but it leaves us with practically no cover at all up front to change things around.
Post by: paddypastit on June 25, 2009, 02:26:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 12:50:36 PM
The 2 WFs have enough experience for us to have an advantage there IMO.
The big unknown / challenge here is our mindset to keep our shape... If we do, that last point stands up.  If we don't...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 02:37:33 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on June 25, 2009, 02:26:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 25, 2009, 12:50:36 PM
The 2 WFs have enough experience for us to have an advantage there IMO.
The big unknown / challenge here is our mindset to keep our shape... If we do, that last point stands up.  If we don't...

I agree but both were disciplined in div4 final, EOH reading of the game was different class, didnt try to do to much and dominated that wing that stenson got roasted on. SD was a little inconsistent but worked hard I thought, needs to not get dragged so deep, hopefully learned that the last day. I think both will keep the shape.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 25, 2009, 09:40:18 PM
Galway team to play Sligo

Adrian Faherty    
Damien Burke    
Finian Hanley    
Niall Coyne    
Gareth Bradshaw    
Diarmuid Blake    
Declan Meehan    
Paul Conroy    
Gary O'Donnell    
Cormac Bane    
Padraig Joyce    
Joe Bergin    
Sean Armstrong    
Michael Meehan    
Matthew Clancy
Post by: Buckass on June 26, 2009, 12:50:33 AM
It might be the annual championship fever but this is definitely a game we can win. 6/1 with Boylesports?That's insulting. Galway should be favs but 3/1 would be generous.
Don't think Ewing will start cb, or that Breheny will start ff.
Big factors: Will midfield break even? With Galway starters I think we can. Watch for Galway variation on kickouts though..saw them recently and it's obvious they've worked hard on them.
Will Costelo perform? If he does we're en route.
Can we hold Joyce? If we do, we can hold Meehan. Having said that, Joyce was poor against Kerry last year and Meehan kicked 10 points.
All in all, it should be a tight game. Worse Sligo teams have held better Galway sides in the not-too-distant past. Here's hoping.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 26, 2009, 02:35:33 AM
Not terribly optimistic about Sunday, the team named wouldn't fill me with much in the way of confidence, though we're not blessed with options in certain positions. Ewing in at CHB for his debut is a bit of a gamble to me, but hopefully it might work out. Paddy's post is after giving more hope but I still can't see us winning. 3-4 points in it probably, might look at the spread on that.

Can see the grand opening of the new stand marked by a very sparse crowd in it too. The terrace will house the punters in their droves.
Post by: mckieran on June 26, 2009, 01:44:17 PM
QuoteBig factors: Will midfield break even? With Galway starters I think we can. Watch for Galway variation on kickouts though..saw them recently and it's obvious they've worked hard on them.

God, Sligo's midfield must be awful if you are only hoping to break even. I dont think any of Galways midfielders are natural misfielders to be honest. Neither are very big or physical, they are much more suited to other positions.

QuoteCan we hold Joyce? If we do, we can hold Meehan. Having said that, Joyce was poor against Kerry last year and Meehan kicked 10 points.

I certainly wouldnt go with the theory that stopping Joyce stops Meehan, Meehan has played well many times when Joyce hasnt been in the game.

QuoteWe can probably still field a pretty good set of forwards between Meehan, Bane, Armstrong, Joyce, Clancy and Conroy (unless he's put in midfield) but it leaves us with practically no cover at all up front to change things around.

Who exactly do we have as back up in the forwards? Breatnach & Dunleavy, Anbody else?
Post by: Barna Bee on June 26, 2009, 02:20:32 PM
whats the story with Nicky Joyce , it says on Hoganstand that he is out of the panel for disciplinary reasons....was he caught on the beer or something ?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 26, 2009, 05:23:53 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 26, 2009, 02:35:33 AM
Not terribly optimistic about Sunday, the team named wouldn't fill me with much in the way of confidence, though we're not blessed with options in certain positions. Ewing in at CHB for his debut is a bit of a gamble to me, but hopefully it might work out. Paddy's post is after giving more hope but I still can't see us winning. 3-4 points in it probably, might look at the spread on that.

Can see the grand opening of the new stand marked by a very sparse crowd in it too. The terrace will house the punters in their droves.

There won't be too many self promoting suit wearers over our side.
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2009, 08:56:50 PM
It would be lovely to see Sligo winning but I'm afraid there's not much chance.
Galway by 7 points unfortunately. :-\
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 27, 2009, 12:25:13 AM
I've seen a bit of Neil Ewing and I'd be surprised if he's able for the job of Joyce, even if PJ is in his twilight. Too light and also can be headless on occasion. I reckon bringing out one of the tigers from the corner - Donavan being the better option than Harrison - to man mark Joyce might work. Ewing could go on Matt Clancy and follow him out the field. McGuire needs to have a big game on Meehan. Sligo could also struggle with a right man to mark Joe Bergin, if Bergin can play like he can. But that's far from a certainty either.
I don't know much about the Sligo midfielders but they're not up against top quality Galway midfielders anyway. Galway have a serious full-back line and I think they'll need it. It will be interesting to see how Alan Costello gets on. I personally don't think he's good enough but I hope I'm wrong.
Galway will be out for revenge for 2007 but, by the same token, that win will have given Sligo confidence. Early in the week and all year really I thought Sligo would get hammered. The more I think about it though the closer I think it will be. Still can't see Sligo winning though but hope to see a good, close game and I can't see Sligo being anywhere near as bad as Roscommon.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 06:25:56 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 26, 2009, 08:56:50 PM
It would be lovely to see Sligo winning but I'm afraid there's not much chance.
Galway by 7 points unfortunately. :-\

Thanks for your insight mystic meg. 8)

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on June 27, 2009, 12:25:13 AM
I've seen a bit of Neil Ewing and I'd be surprised if he's able for the job of Joyce, even if PJ is in his twilight. Too light and also can be headless on occasion. I reckon bringing out one of the tigers from the corner - Donavan being the better option than Harrison - to man mark Joyce might work. Ewing could go on Matt Clancy and follow him out the field. McGuire needs to have a big game on Meehan. Sligo could also struggle with a right man to mark Joe Bergin, if Bergin can play like he can. But that's far from a certainty either.
I don't know much about the Sligo midfielders but they're not up against top quality Galway midfielders anyway. Galway have a serious full-back line and I think they'll need it. It will be interesting to see how Alan Costello gets on. I personally don't think he's good enough but I hope I'm wrong.
Galway will be out for revenge for 2007 but, by the same token, that win will have given Sligo confidence. Early in the week and all year really I thought Sligo would get hammered. The more I think about it though the closer I think it will be. Still can't see Sligo winning though but hope to see a good, close game and I can't see Sligo being anywhere near as bad as Roscommon.

I said we were 3rd best team in Connacht a few weeks ago before mayo game, and a few of the rossies got offended. How crazy i was. Im fairly confident about tomorrow and looking forward to it. No one knows the future so all our preditctions are pretty worthless sorry rossfan ;).
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 27, 2009, 08:09:49 AM
From independant.ie Colm Keys ON OHARA,

It remains the snapshot image of his career, one indelibly imprinted in the mind whenever his name is referenced. Eamonn O'Hara has made countless lung-bursting runs in his long association with the white or the black of Sligo but only one really seems to matter.

Unless something even more dramatic happens in the coming months or if he extends his now 16-year career by a couple of additional seasons, Dr Hyde Park on Sunday, July 8, 2007, will remain his most fitting epitaph. That goal!

Twenty four minutes in, having clawed back a three-point deficit, O'Hara, like an experienced chess player, read the moves as he saw them panning out and made his run.

Michael McNamara had not yet released his pivotal foot pass when O'Hara began making his run so when David Kelly had gathered and prepared to turn to off-load, his midfielder was already at full throttle.

There was still a lot of space to cross but O'Hara had spotted the gap and had momentum.

A hop, solo and hop later, he unleashed that ferocious shot with his left foot, off balance and under pressure from the closing maroon shirts of Galway.

The ground erupted, Sligo took the lead and they were never headed subsequently, claiming a famous 1-10 to 0-12 victory and their first Connacht title since 1975.

O'Hara didn't finish the game, yielding to a knee injury that would disrupt his preparations for a disappointing All-Ireland quarter-final defeat to Cork.

But as much as his goal, it was his resounding belief in his team's ability in the lead-up to the final that had inspired Sligo.

He was born only a couple of months after their previous provincial title in '75 and had been the undoubted marquee player in the county through the intervening years.

So when he told anyone who cared to listen that Sligo WOULD beat Galway for the first time in eight attempts in a Connacht final, his words had a certain resonance about them that stretched beyond the natural confidence that he has always oozed.

Many felt 2007 could have been O'Hara's perfect exit strategy, allowing him a soft landing after so many years spent at the coalface.

But it's a testament to his commitment to his county that O'Hara has extended his career by another two seasons at least, despite the plethora of injuries that have stalked him all season.

Among the current population of inter-county footballers only Kildare's Anthony Rainbow has given greater service in terms of years and only Kerry's Darragh O Se and Mayo's James Nallen are around as long.

He was only a fresh-faced 18-year-old when he made his debut in 1994 against Mayo, partnering Shane Tully at midfield. It was not a match he will recall with much fondness as he was hauled ashore after just 20 minutes in what was a baptism of fire.

But since then he has established himself as the most permanent fixture in a Sligo shirt, making 29 appearances in the Connacht championship and adding another 15 in Qualifiers (including three All-Ireland quarter-finals) since their inception in 2001.

The arrival of the back-door system may favour the best teams but there is little doubt that it has helped to showcase players from less successful counties on a more regular basis.

O'Hara was part of a losing Sligo team in the 1997 Connacht final to Mayo but when they lost to Galway again five years later they had the consolation of another day out and how they embraced it, beating Tyrone in a fourth-round qualifier just over 12 months before the northern county would claim their first ever All-Ireland title.

That afternoon in Croke Park, O'Hara delivered one of his finest individual performances and when he followed it up in two All-Ireland quarter-finals against Armagh, the 2002 All Star selection committee simply had to find a place for him. Later that year he was the team's centre-forward and only Sligo's third ever All Star (Mickey Kearins in '71 and Barnes Murphy in '74 were the others).

Earlier that year New York had put it up to Sligo in a first round Connacht match in Gaelic Park but with O'Hara at the peak of his powers the then-New York manager Paddy Kearney, a Kerry native, gave him perhaps the most glowing endorsement, likening his style to Jack O'Shea.

"It's not just O'Hara's speed, skill and class that makes him special, it's also that presence of mind and physical excellence that sets him apart. A player in the Jack O'Shea mould," said Kearney at the time.

"O'Hara looks like he has another gear when in possession, and it's more than that -- his passing is just first-rate."

His athletic prowess is perhaps his most striking feature. At full tilt he is an impressive picture of motion as those sallow-skinned legs go into overdrive. You can't help suspecting how, if a different sporting climate existed or if rugby had the same national fervour in Ireland as it does in New Zealand, O'Hara would have made the perfect centre.

A regular member of the international rules team in the early part of this decade, Brian McEniff, manager of the 2001 team successful in Australia, was taken by his levels of fitness.

With his local club Tourlestrane a short trip from the Mayo border, O'Hara has always been on Mayo's radar every time they have prepared for a game with their near neighbours.

David Brady had many midfield battles with him and always appreciated the benefits of not allowing him a good start.

"If you let him off to a flyer, if you gave him the head of steam, he could be relentless. But if things didn't go with him it could be different," recalls Brady. "He could get frustrated and if he started talking to referees, pointing things out to him you knew you were on the right road.

Frustrate

"We always understood that if you could frustrate O'Hara, check those powerful runs he made, you were hurting Sligo at their most vulnerable point."

Brady sometimes wonders if O'Hara, once mistaken in a 2006 qualifier game against Westmeath for his colleague, Sean Davey, and sent off in the wrong, accepts too much of a work load, and that he tries to do too much.

"There were times when you thought to yourself 'is he trying too much here'. He knew he had responsibility but sometimes he carried that too far.

"Sligo needed Eamonn O'Hara at midfield but they also needed him at centre-forward.

"It was difficult to commit to both positions."

The value of those runs has been appreciated by colleagues over the years, however, who saw the significance of them as much as the yards they made.

"Watching Eamonn break tackles was always an inspiring sight for any Sligo player," admitted one-time colleague Dara McGarty. "When he made ground we always felt we were going in the right direction."

McGarty attributes his longevity to his ability to look after himself and at 34 in September, he feels there is still time left on the clock for him.

Being a non-drinker and a fitness fanatic has also helped, as has the relatively low ration of games to years -- 44 in 15 championship seasons is less than three per year.

Eight different management teams -- Kevin Walsh is the ninth -- have figured ways to try and get the best about their most explosive player since Mick Laffey and Johnny Stenson first threw him in at the deep end in 1994. Deployment has ranged from half-back to full-forward and on Sunday he is posted at No 12.

For McGarty, O'Hara's decision to remain on is a case of necessity much more than an unwillingness to let go. "Sligo need him right now and I'm sure he's as determined as anyone to put the disappointment of last year behind him."

The bit in bold for all the clowns that wouldnt have him in the Connacht 25 team. O Hara Abu.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 07:44:49 AM
BEST OF LUCK TODAY SLIGO, know you can do it.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 28, 2009, 09:46:32 AM
The tragic news came to us yesterday that our good friend and former playing colleague in Coolera/Strandhill, Ciarán Shannon, had been killed in a car accident in his native Wicklow. As well as being a thorough gentleman, Ciarán was an excellent servant to both Coolera/Strandhill and Sligo throughout his time in the county. Its all the more poignant that we play Galway today as it was against them that he played so well in 1995 (draw and replay) and possibly he played in 1996 as well agaist the same opposition. I extent my deepest sympathy to his family. RIP.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 10:50:58 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 28, 2009, 09:46:32 AM
The tragic news came to us yesterday that our good friend and former playing colleague in Coolera/Strandhill, Ciarán Shannon, had been killed in a car accident in his native Wicklow. As well as being a thorough gentleman, Ciarán was an excellent servant to both Coolera/Strandhill and Sligo throughout his time in the county. Its all the more poignant that we play Galway today as it was against them that he played so well in 1995 (draw and replay) and possibly he played in 1996 as well agaist the same opposition. I extent my deepest sympathy to his family. RIP.

Sad news RIP
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 28, 2009, 02:00:41 PM
What are the band in Marcievicz Park doing playing a British Army marching song before the game?  >:(
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 02:05:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 28, 2009, 09:46:32 AM

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 02:17:25 PM
Not looking good for Sligo at the moment. Galway forwards out front for the ball all the time, even auld Joyce. He seems to be getting space way too easy. A hungry looking Galway side.
Galway 0-4 Sligo 0-1
12 minutes gone.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2009, 02:30:22 PM
Sligo have nothing to aim at in the FF line.
Clueless when they get across the halfway line.
Post by: Seamus on June 28, 2009, 02:34:22 PM
RTE 2 link incase justin.tv is not working

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/ngb/rte2-450.asx (http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/ngb/rte2-450.asx)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:36:05 PM
Kevin please bring on Sweeney at FF. The gameplan is costing, too deep wing forwards. We are better than this, poor stuff, Come on lads lucky to be only 6 down.
Post by: stephenite on June 28, 2009, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:36:05 PM
Kevin please bring on Sweeney at FF. The gameplan is costing, too deep wing forwards. We are better than this, poor stuff, Come on lads lucky to be only 6 down.

Think he just came on - great point by Ross Donovan there, only 3 in it now
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:38:13 PM
Stay with them lads, keep it up.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:39:13 PM
Get in there lads character thats it boys.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 02:39:24 PM
Galway should be out of sight of Sligo already, that they're only 3 2 points ahead is a concern I'd say -- Sligo are causing real problems when they run at their defence.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 02:40:25 PM
A soft free to Sligo followed by a Seán Davey run through the middle resulting in a Mark Brehony point. Scores badly needed.

A superb point by Ross Donovan, maybe because options not available from where he was out on the sideline. 4 scores on the run now with Jonothan Davey leaving 2 between the sides. Fair play to the Yeats county.

Half-time

Galway 0-8 Sligo 0-6
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:42:18 PM
Absolutely delighted were only 2pts down, we rode our luck and the storm and showed character. Interesting 2nd half ahead. We can do it. Sweeney on now will cause problems.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 28, 2009, 02:43:25 PM
Good comeback from Sligo but Galway look like they've taken the foot off the pedal. Bit of complacency in the last 10 /15 minutes has allowed Sligo back into the game. Galway were playing some lovely football in the first 20 minutes or so with great interchange play. Still think Galway'll win with a few to spare.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 02:44:31 PM
Pat Spillane is an awful pri*k, sums up the first half by questioning the quality and him having over estimated Galway. It's not all about you Prat. Surely the summation should have been the great comeback by Sligo which makes a game of it now having been 0-8 to 0-2 down.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 02:47:21 PM
I still fancy Galway to be honest. I can see them making more goal chances. Actually, I thought Matt Clancy going off made a difference. Half foward line has been poor since he has gone. Greaney coming on was a strange decision. Would have brought on Dunleavy instead (Is he fit?).

Gary O'Donnell not going well at the moment either, Cullinane will be introduced I think.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2009, 02:48:38 PM
Quote from: dodo on June 28, 2009, 02:44:31 PM
Pat Spillane is an awful pri*k, sums up the first half by questioning the quality and him having over estimated Galway. It's not all about you Prat. Surely the summation should have been the great comeback by Sligo which makes a game of it now having been 0-8 to 0-2 down.

I was just about to post the same thing.
Nothing is ever f*cking good enough for him.
He was asked if Galway had taken their foot off the pedal so why is he responding with this "nothing to get the blood pressure going" shite?
Brolly was right, he's all sound-bites and precious little else.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 02:49:26 PM
QuoteBrolly looks disinterested.

At least he can see that Sligo are winning midfield. Martin Carney mentiond twice during the commentary that Slgio were struggling at midfield ??? ???
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 02:51:20 PM
Brolly, O'Rourke & Spillane, whilst full of the usual quota of nuggets, are very civil and cordial with each other, what gives?
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2009, 02:53:54 PM
I'm actually glad TV3 have the Dublin-Westmeath game.
Won't have to listen to Spillanes perpetual negativity.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 02:55:34 PM
Weird half, I think its a bit disrespectful to Sligo saying Galway taken foot off the gas, the reason they looked so good was because we didnt start at all, its 11 weeks since our last competitive game. Also in a recent challenge we were down by 1-4 to 0-0. Against Antrim were 6-2 down. So no suprises there about Galway lead.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 02:56:14 PM
As a man said, if Brolly was any more laid back about it all, he'd be horizontal.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 02:57:30 PM
Coleman on for Greaney - Good move by Sammon. Now Cullinae needs to be come shortly.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:06:41 PM
Comh scóir
0-8 a taobh
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 03:06:59 PM
8 points each, and Galway haven't scored in the second half!
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:07:12 PM
Where the hell is Cullinane? Havent won a kickout in this half!!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:08:55 PM
Idiot EWING
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 03:09:44 PM
14 mean each, and both deserved to go, Galway's O'Donnell particularly stupid.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:09:52 PM
Feckin O'Donnell, He should have been taken off earlier.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:10:08 PM
Silly buggers
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:11:27 PM
Good man odonnell, good man breheny
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:14:00 PM
Dont self destruct, lads, giving away stupid frees,
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:14:21 PM
Meehan beginning to shine. Trouble for Sligo
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 28, 2009, 03:16:21 PM
"delicious pass"

wtf  :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 03:18:01 PM
10 points each, Sligo not to be denied.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:18:39 PM
Come on Sligo great football
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on June 28, 2009, 03:19:57 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:18:39 PM
Come on Sligo great football
cOME ON LADS!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:21:40 PM
Costello lacks composure under pressure, makes poor decisions at times.
Post by: JMohan on June 28, 2009, 03:23:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 28, 2009, 03:16:21 PM
"delicious pass"

wtf  :D
Yes ... he is a muppet at times!
LOL!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:24:26 PM
One last almighty push, come on lads,
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:28:29 PM
Like a bad under-fed Jack Russell
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:29:43 PM
Jees your a quick typer, nail biting finish,
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on June 28, 2009, 03:30:22 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:29:43 PM
Jees your a quick typer, nail biting finish,
JAYSUS LADS COME ON!!!
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:31:07 PM
Great finish....fu*k you Spillane
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on June 28, 2009, 03:31:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2009, 03:30:34 PM
Lands it.
Come on Sligo.
THIS IS A DISASTER NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE IT
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:33:38 PM
Is this the match winner ????
Post by: Caid on June 28, 2009, 03:34:04 PM
Hard to beat the sight of a gaggle of seventy year old men in farmers caps / sligo caps chanting sli-go, sli-go....
yer man pickin it of the ground for sligo -eejit
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 28, 2009, 03:34:24 PM
that's it then
Post by: jjjshabadoojnr on June 28, 2009, 03:35:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 28, 2009, 03:34:24 PM
that's it then
f*CK, ANOTHER MORAL VICTORY
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2009, 03:35:56 PM
Experience told in the end, but not the end of Sligo by any means.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:36:12 PM
It was there for the taking for Sligo. Really should have won it. Fair play to Bergin though. Some score to take. Good kickout from Faherty that led to that score too, Why not do more of this? Good goal from Armstrong in the end too, my man of the match.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:37:24 PM
Sligo had plenty of chances in the second half, lack of composure cost them. Galway struggled after dominating the first half, weren't worth a 4 point win.

Mayo will struggle now as the Tribesman have had a right test whilst we have had 2 facile wins.

F**K YOU SPILLANE YOU C**K SUCKING C**T
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:39:52 PM
Im proud of that effort, scoreline harsh, our anxiety in the end cost us, we could of easily won. Congrats to Galway.

Mullen was outstanding. Fair play. Johnny Davey, coen, kelly, mcgovern all excellent. Passing into the forwards was bad, too many high balls. We are not far away but need to make more of our possesion.
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 03:41:11 PM
Liam Salmon seem like a gracious down to earth person
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:41:20 PM
QuoteSligo had plenty of chances in the second half, lack of composure cost them. Galway struggled after dominating the first half, weren't worth a 4 point win.

In a way I am disappointed that we didnt draw it. A replay would bring us on so much.

Sammon made some bizarre decisions in my opinion. He left it far too late to bring on Cullinane. Gary O'Donnell struggled from the start and should have been replaced 5 minutes into the second half. Declan Meehan was left on a little too long too. Also, Would have brough Mullahy on instead of Sice. Someone more suited to carry the ball out of defence.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:42:36 PM
Brolly, "padraig Joyce rescues them"

What BS is this? The key score was Bergins point, not Armstrongs goal
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 03:43:25 PM
Quote from: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:37:24 PM
Sligo had plenty of chances in the second half, lack of composure cost them. Galway struggled after dominating the first half, weren't worth a 4 point win.

Mayo will struggle now as the Tribesman have had a right test whilst we have had 2 facile wins.

would you prefer if he had lied and said Galway are potential all ireland champions. Sligo should have won the game bottom line
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:48:04 PM
Mayo are favourites for connacht whether they want that tag or not, Today wasnt the greatest standard ive ever seen, thought we handicapped ourselves, won midfield hands down and one thing that cost was ball into the forwards, we never really gave our forwards the advantage. But after last yr and our new look team we have alot to look to forward to IMO.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:49:22 PM
Quotewould you prefer if he had lied and said Galway are potential all ireland champions. Sligo should have won the game bottom line

If Sligo were good enough, they would have won today. But in the end, they werent good enough
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:49:55 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 03:43:25 PM
Quote from: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:37:24 PM

would you prefer if he had lied and said Galway are potential all ireland champions. Sligo should have won the game bottom line

I would have preferred if he analysed the game a bit more honestly and not rehash the same old lines that quality was poor, that september will not be seen, etc. Look back at some of the Kerry golden years matches and it is not all highlights as he seems to think. Some matches have to be ground out and credit has to be give for this too, a bit of work to do alright. This is the same Galway team that very nearly took his beloved Kerry in the monsoon in Croke park last summer.

F**k you Spillane
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 03:52:35 PM
Galway were cleaned out at midfield. This has to be a major worry for them. culliane was not able to stick the pace four or five years ago, hard to expect him to do it now. The suspension of their other midfielder will limit their options, as will the injury to Finian Hanley. Padraig Joyce really beginning to show his age/lack of pace.

At the beginnging of the season, I thought Galway would beat Mayo at their ease, (based on their faboulous q/final v Kerry and their decent league form, where they should have hammered Mayo) I now think Mayo will have a slight advantage, provided they as aggressively as Sligo and do not repeat the performance of two years ago in Galway.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 03:53:59 PM
QuoteThis is the same Galway team that very nearly took his beloved Kerry in the monsoon in Croke park last summer.

He also mentioned that it was the same Galway team that have failed over the last few years. Players can improve! Especially when you play some of the matches that they have played in
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 03:55:08 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 03:48:04 PM
Mayo are favourites for connacht whether they want that tag or not, Today wasnt the greatest standard ive ever seen, thought we handicapped ourselves, won midfield hands down and one thing that cost was ball into the forwards, we never really gave our forwards the advantage. But after last yr and our new look team we have alot to look to forward to IMO.

On what basis would you have Mayo as favourites ? Having beaten New York New York and the worst Roscommon team of all time. Playing them in Salthill where our record is pathetic, they are the current provincial champions and we have lost the last few championship games to them also. Add to this what they will learn after todays match. Galway rightly favourites. Will travel in hope !
Post by: Caid on June 28, 2009, 03:59:09 PM
Michael Lyster just said "the Championship is taking life" as the programme ended. Then Michael Jackson "beat it" came on as the exit music....

Given board members (over?) reaction to other MJ related incidents I expect the RTE website to be hounded with requests for Lyster's resignation
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 04:00:34 PM
Galway have no midfield. Mayo will punish that more than us. I think mayo will win.

Lads I seen 95% of the game clear streaming but I missed the goal chances the pundits keep going on about as my screen froze from time to time. Anyone describe them and what minutes?
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:00:42 PM
QuoteGalway were cleaned out at midfield. This has to be a major worry for them. culliane was not able to stick the pace four or five years ago, hard to expect him to do it now. The suspension of their other midfielder will limit their options, as will the injury to Finian Hanley. Padraig Joyce really beginning to show his age/lack of pace.

But Cullinane will compete for kickouts. I do not see the point of lumping kickouts down on top of Conroy & O'Donnell when they are not winning them. Cullinane is better in this respect. For Bergins last point, Galway varied their kickout. Why not do this more?

I actually thought Joyce had quite a decent game. Hanley too battled hard. If his injury rules him out against Mayo, it would be a serious blow.
Post by: orangeman on June 28, 2009, 04:00:50 PM
Woeful from both sides. Galway won't care that much this evening all the same. Mayo massive favourites now - get on Galway.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:02:46 PM
QuoteLads I seen 95% of the game clear streaming but I missed the goal chances the pundits keep going on about as my screen froze from time to time. Anyone describe them and what minutes? 

Galway had two in the first half. Sligo had one in the second half that Faherty deflected wide.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 04:03:53 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 03:52:35 PM
Galway were cleaned out at midfield. This has to be a major worry for them. culliane was not able to stick the pace four or five years ago, hard to expect him to do it now. The suspension of their other midfielder will limit their options, as will the injury to Finian Hanley. Padraig Joyce really beginning to show his age/lack of pace.

At the beginnging of the season, I thought Galway would beat Mayo at their ease, (based on their faboulous q/final v Kerry and their decent league form, where they should have hammered Mayo) I now think Mayo will have a slight advantage, provided they as aggressively as Sligo and do not repeat the performance of two years ago in Galway.

O'Donnell's sending off will reduce their options but in reality he was poor again today. Cullinane has done well against Mayo the last few years (league game in Tuam this year excepted), he has been found out bigtime in Croke park etc. Hanley would be a big loss. Time Joyce to be played out of no. 11, maybe at corner forward as he can still cause serious problems.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2009, 04:07:49 PM
I was actually keeping track of the midfield battle today out of curiousity's sake and it was actually nearly the reverse of what the panel and Sammon himself said (which indicates to me he doesn't use statistics for a start). Sammon said Galway did alright in the first half in midfield. In fact Galway only won 5 kickouts to Sligo's 10. The second half it was even at 8 apiece believe it or not. This is not including the 5 or 6 times the ref blew for frees for pushes or something.

Either way it was symptomatic of our league displays. We'd be excellent for 20 or 30 minutes and then completely fall asleep for the remainder of the game and let the opposition get a run on us. There is obviously something wrong there and Sammon doesn't seem to be able to correct it.

Certainly though Mayo will be raging hot favourites for the Connacht final now after the two respective semi-finals displays. I have no idea what kind of team we'll even have out on the park at the rate we are picking up injuries.

Anyway will talk more on the game when I get a break later.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:07:58 PM
QuoteO'Donnell's sending off will reduce their options but in reality he was poor again today. Cullinane has done well against Mayo the last few years (league game in Tuam this year excepted), he has been found out bigtime in Croke park etc. Hanley would be a big loss. Time Joyce to be played out of no. 11, maybe at corner forward as he can still cause serious problems

After his performance today, I cannot imagine that O'Donnell would have started against Mayo. If Culliane doesnt get his place, then Coleman will. I dont really see why everybody is so keen for Joyce to be moved from no. 11. He was fairly influential today.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 04:16:45 PM
Quote from: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:07:58 PM
QuoteO'Donnell's sending off will reduce their options but in reality he was poor again today. Cullinane has done well against Mayo the last few years (league game in Tuam this year excepted), he has been found out bigtime in Croke park etc. Hanley would be a big loss. Time Joyce to be played out of no. 11, maybe at corner forward as he can still cause serious problems

After his performance today, I cannot imagine that O'Donnell would have started against Mayo. If Culliane doesnt get his place, then Coleman will. I dont really see why everybody is so keen for Joyce to be moved from no. 11. He was fairly influential today.

Legs gone, need the HF line to be mobile and involved. He will cause havoc still from the FF line. Just my opinion.
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:20:32 PM
QuoteLegs gone, need the HF line to be mobile and involved. He will cause havoc still from the FF line. Just my opinion

Who would you play at no.11? We have enough trouble filling the three positions in the HFL without taking Joyce out of it!
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 04:30:46 PM
Quote from: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:20:32 PM
QuoteLegs gone, need the HF line to be mobile and involved. He will cause havoc still from the FF line. Just my opinion

Who would you play at no.11? We have enough trouble filling the three positions in the HFL without taking Joyce out of it!

Not really in the know on Galway football but maybe someone like Conroy at 11
         8.Cullinane       9.Bergin
10.Armstrong    11.Conroy      12.Clancy
13.Joyce          14.Meehan     15.Bane
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 04:33:19 PM
Quote from: dodo on June 28, 2009, 04:30:46 PM

Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 04:33:52 PM
Conroy at 11 would be interesting. I dont think he has been tried there since coming onto the Galway senior panel. He has played at no. 12 a few times. But I would still prefer Joyce out there.

I wonder if there is any chance N.Joyce will be back for the Mayo game? Armstrong looked great today and Meehan will be better against Mayo. Bringing N.Joyce back into that would be a huge addition.
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 04:36:05 PM

While Bergin was a very good footballer 5-7 years ago, injuries appear to have taken their toll. If that is Galways midfield, I would not be overly worried. My guess is Coleman will be there
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 05:15:45 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2009, 04:36:05 PM

While Bergin was a very good footballer 5-7 years ago, injuries appear to have taken their toll. If that is Galways midfield, I would not be overly worried. My guess is Coleman will be there

The midfield is not perfect but Cullinane on his day will field ball with his height and strength, seems to like getting physical with the less bulky Mayo boys too ! Bergin has the football but can sometimes go missing there. Conroy is too small for MF as is Coleman. Conroy has loads of football in him, still only 20.

McKieran, I agree Nicky Joyce is a big loss what is the story on the ground in Galway, is he gone for the year ?
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 05:23:30 PM
QuoteMcKieran, I agree Nicky Joyce is a big loss what is the story on the ground in Galway, is he gone for the year ?

Thats all hush hush! I have heard a lot of different rumours about it. Dont know whats happening
Post by: mckieran on June 28, 2009, 05:27:43 PM
QuoteThe midfield is not perfect but Cullinane on his day will field ball with his height and strength, seems to like getting physical with the less bulky Mayo boys too ! Bergin has the football but can sometimes go missing there. Conroy is too small for MF as is Coleman. Conroy has loads of football in him, still only 20.

Cullinane likes getting physical with every team but I think his discipline improved towards the end of the league.

Some people in Galway think Bradshaw should be tried midfield. But I think he is too small. Conroy is actually quite tall, needs to bulk up a bit but as you say he is only 20. He wasnt terrible today. The difficulty is getting players who are big enough to compete for kickouts and mobile enough to keep up with general play.
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 05:36:34 PM
Bradshaw since last year has really impressed me, his all action style makes him very versatile. What height would Conroy be ? 6'/6'1"

Hush hush about Nicky.....I see, the games begin !!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 28, 2009, 05:43:40 PM
By the way, I though Jonathan Davey should be ashamed of himself after today. Clutching his face to get a man sent off after getting a dig in the ribs. The Galway man deserved his red surely but there's no need for that sort of play acting.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 05:45:43 PM
Just got skyped a few times from people at the game, Watching on tv you see less. There opinions, and most said the same thing, Coen and Kelly brilliant, Sweeney not near fit shouldnt of been risked, Sean Davey unlucky to be taken off compared to other performances.

Main negs were costello and Marren good League footballers and no more, pace way to intense for them, Id agree. The austin o malleys of Sligo. Listen we all remember marren in 07 against ros, and costello wasnt good today, hoofing the whole time, a few decent patches of play but overall wasted loads. He played well with his back to goal for Coolera  last yr in FF Line, with his strength I might put him FF, not fit enough for HF line. Chancy I know :-\.

Ewing was poor, McGovern way better. So in most peoples opinion McGovern in for Ewing, Coen in for Marren and Id have Davey or Guaghan on for Sweeney The next day. Still not liking mcnamara at allm never got near his man.

On the management, Ross started CHB, not 1 min there all yr, great planning. What happened Harrison at HT? Some lads said to me EOH went over to the bench to get moved to a more defensive position, not sure myself he went CHB, just thought he dropped deeper.

Anyways I think EOH has to start CHB next day.

Greene
Harrison McGuire Donovan
J Davey EOH Mcgovern
Mullen Taylor
Gaughan Brehony S Davey
Coen Costello Kelly

Weve nothing to lose with that team, loads of changes but so many positions were carried today and we still ran Galway close. Maybe might work might not, sweeney needs top get fit, wheres mcpartland?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2009, 07:34:19 PM
A pretty poor performance from Galway today. Started off like a train for the first 20 minutes knocking the ball about in nice pretty patterns and building up a 6 point lead which could have been even more only for some lazy wides. As per usual though there seemed to be a collective mental slackening off and at this level you should never give a sucker an even break because it will come back to kick you in the teeth. Faded out of the game completely for the entire middle period of the match before somewhat stabilising the ship towards the end. Galway were exactly the same all during the league. Brilliant for one half of football. In a coma for the other half. Not going to go anywhere with this lackadaisical attitude.

Midfield again a problem. By my count we won 13 kickouts while Sligo won 18. I would nearly give Gary O'Donnell the road from the panel for his stupidity in giving the Sligo lad a dig in the ribs barely one minute after a Sligo player was sent off. You know you shouldn't give a ref any excuse to even things up because they will jump at it. He actually made some nice passes while he was on the field but was a non-event as far as winning ball goes. Paul Conroy isn't ready for intercounty midfield yet and indeed I suspect will be more suited to the half-forward line anyway. Joe Bergin had a woeful game. Kicked some bad wides and fumbled ball even though he ended up kicking a great point at the end. Not sure about Cullinane. I know he's been injured recently as hasn't played much club football even. He also looked to be carrying a fair bit of timber when he came on. Not sure if he's ready to play a Connacht final.

Our corner-backs especially Niall Coyne had a tough enough time holding the Sligo lads but they were up against two fast nippy lads. Strangely enough they might be more suited to bigger men. Deccie Meehan has been a great servant and has been a fantastic wing-back but I think his best days are well behind him now. His distribution is getting worse by the month. Gary Sice raided forward effectively after he came on so I think he'll probably replace him for the final. Bradshaw is a tremendous talent and was nearly in for a goal in the first minute of the game but he does give some loose passes at times.

On the plus side Sean Armstrong is finally showing what he can do. All he needed was an injury free spell which he's gotten this year and he was excellent today. 1-3 and popped up all over the field.  Hopefully will take some of the pressure off Meehan. Meehan himself a lot quieter than he's usually been during the past year but stil got some vital scores in the second half. PJ got 0-3 and it was his pass for the goal. Cormac Bane is terribly frustrating. Capable of kicking points from anywhere but also capable of being completely anonymous during games. Has a lot of talent but doesn't get himself involved enough. Needs to assert himself more. Overall too many poor casual wides kicked including two that hit the post.

Not sure what the story with the injuries are. Dunleavy and Breathnach out before the game. Mattie Clancy and Finian Hanley carted off with injuries. Nicky off the panel. Will there be a temptation to bring him back now? What kind of team will even be available for the Connacht final? Haven't a clue. Sammon has a lot to do. While he's undoubtably a very good technical coach I wonder has he been left behind a little by modern coaching methods. I couldn't believe some of the space behind some of our defenders today. Acres to run into. You'd never see Tyrone for example leave space like that. Plus he has to show yet that he can motivate these players. Their whole attitude seems far too casual for my liking.

Mayo certainly though must be strongly favoured now to win in Pearse Stadium for the first time since the 1960's. Another performance like today's and we will be struggling to stay within 6 points of them.

Hard luck to Sligo and all the best in the qualifiers.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 28, 2009, 07:53:33 PM
It's actually a pity that O'Donnell got sent off because that means he won't be able to play against Mayo. If he did he'd be a lamb to the slaughter. As things stand Salmon will have to start Cullinane, who could be a more difficult proposition. We certainly won't dominate the middle as much with him around.

Galway looked very poor in a lot of places. Coyne's reading of the game was poor. Diarmuid Blake offered feck all at centre-back and neither wing-back offered any protection. Cat at midfield and then it was Joyce, Meehan and Armstrong who saved Galway.

Sligo had the chances to win it - Kenneth Sweeney will have sleepless nights about that pick up off the ground while he should have done better with the goal chance at the start of the half. They were very impressive though for a Division 4 team (Division 3 now of course and capable of pushing on from there). Midfield was very good with Mullen outstanding. O'Hara worked himself to a standstill. Couldn't understand why he was started at full-forward playing into the wind though.

David Kelly had the beating of Coyne all the time while Coen should have been on for Marren a lot sooner because he was a handful for Damien Burke when he came on. Brehony looked somewhat off the pace but probably did enough to merit a start. Alan Costello did struggle with the pace. You won't get as much time on the ball in championship as in Division 4 of the league and that was the big step-up. He got on so little ball in the first half but, to be fair, did improve in the second half with one delicious! pass to David Kelly. Thought he was going to try to kick the winner too.

Sligo lacked that bit of composure at the end though when the chance to win the game was there for them.

Galway will improve, of that there's no doubt. But there's no doubting that Mayo will be favourites. O'Mahony will have to work some magic to have us as underdogs! (Just after checking Paddy Power and the match betting sees both teams as evens so maybe we might be underdogs yet :P)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 28, 2009, 08:03:10 PM
I think he'll find it easy enough to have us as underdogs to be honest. Especially when you factor in our recent Salthill record.

What Galway got today was a good strong test - just what we could have done with. Sure, they're moaning that they didn't play well and its true that they didn't, but had Sligo rolled over they'd have probably started a similar team against Mayo and been found out. Now they know they have to change midfield and maybe the half back line.

On the other hand, we saw enough against Dublin, Derry and the first half against Donegal to know that we're a long way from the finished article. But we haven't had a serious test since the league games against Galway and Kerry (Tyrone game was played at a challenge match pace) so its difficult to know where exactly our weaknesses are, but if Galway can find them, we could be in real bother.

So for me Galway are still the favourites and I think unfortunately this game today will have brought them on further than we'd have liked. We'll still fulfill the fixture though, just in case.
Post by: Barney on June 28, 2009, 08:06:47 PM
QuoteLads I seen 95% of the game clear streaming but I missed the goal chances the pundits keep going on about as my screen froze from time to time. Anyone describe them and what minutes?

Sligonian, this proves that you only ever see what you want to see.

Anyway Galway pulled it out of the fire - a win is a win and they have something to work at and obviously they may not admit it but like Mayo they have been looking at July 19th by the sea.

Neither Mayo or Galway have a powerhouse midfield, in fact I think the Mayo midfield is weakend by having Heaney there in place of Parsons (whatever people may say about his form). The last few years we have had this talk of Galway midfield struggling and they have outplayed Mayo aerially and tactically - they will now probably start with Cullinane and Coleman and that in my opinion is their best pairing to play against Mayo.

I'm confident the green and red can take them this year but as ever there will be nothing in it.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on June 28, 2009, 08:12:06 PM
Despite Galway's glaringly obvious vulnerability to teams running at them, I'd make them favourites for the CF. Unlike Mayo, they at least have had a test, and when it was put up to them (eventually), they responded in decisive fashion. If Mayo start the next day like they did in '07, it's impossible to tell how they will react. Maybe they'll surprise us all and fly into Galway. Who knows.

Bottom line, both Mayo & Galway should be in the mix at quarter-final time (barring a trip to Killarney for the loser of the CF)...
Post by: magpie seanie on June 28, 2009, 08:27:59 PM
I take issue with the criticism of Costello. If Sligonian was there himself he'd agree with me. Cos had a good second half and while he was made to look poor at times in the first half it was becasue he was the only forward showing and got hit a few shit balls. If he'd hidden like others he'd be better off in the eyes of most of the idiots that support Sligo. Putting on Sweeney and not taking him off after 2 minutes when it was obvious he was away with the fairies cost us the game. I'm sick.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 29, 2009, 05:42:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 28, 2009, 08:27:59 PM
I take issue with the criticism of Costello. If Sligonian was there himself he'd agree with me. Cos had a good second half and while he was made to look poor at times in the first half it was becasue he was the only forward showing and got hit a few shit balls. If he'd hidden like others he'd be better off in the eyes of most of the idiots that support Sligo. Putting on Sweeney and not taking him off after 2 minutes when it was obvious he was away with the fairies cost us the game. I'm sick.

Id usually come in strong here, but I wont, I wasnt there as you said. Most of points were from others to be honest and I did state that, I did pick up certain things. I seen Costello in the div4 final aswell. I wouldnt say he had a good 2nd half to be honest. Under pressure he lacked composure and poor decision making followed. It over uses the long high ball into the forwards IMO. Needs to not be so ambitious with his passing, dont always go for the spectacular long range pass. Thats as constructive as I can be, take it or leave it. I do give him credit for showing all the time and getting on the ball and taking responsibilty but the end product wasnt there near to level of consistently required.

In the first 20mins, Galway will think they were good but as you said some of our lads were hiding out there. We have a basis now, but jees we were a mess in the first half, and with mcgovern and coen doing so well youd have to question the management. What went on with Sweeney I do not know? He is alot better than that. Not at the races. Where was Gaughan? On HS someone said marren had to get injection in knee because of injury, not sure how this affected him but he was disapointing.

All I can say about yday is we let Galway off the hook big time. There was too much left to chance with us. Game was there for the taking and I was proud of the effort and character, i was disappointed we didnt maximise our potential on the day, we have a few positions to sort out yet.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 29, 2009, 05:44:52 AM
Quote from: Barney on June 28, 2009, 08:06:47 PM

Sligonian, this proves that you only ever see what you want to see.

Anyway Galway pulled it out of the fire - a win is a win and they have something to work at and obviously they may not admit it but like Mayo they have been looking at July 19th by the sea.

Neither Mayo or Galway have a powerhouse midfield, in fact I think the Mayo midfield is weakend by having Heaney there in place of Parsons (whatever people may say about his form). The last few years we have had this talk of Galway midfield struggling and they have outplayed Mayo aerially and tactically - they will now probably start with Cullinane and Coleman and that in my opinion is their best pairing to play against Mayo.

I'm confident the green and red can take them this year but as ever there will be nothing in it.

How so? My screen went blank. ::)
Post by: baoithe on June 29, 2009, 09:04:27 AM
Feck it. That was an opportunity lost but there are positives to take from it. Whether its class or experience Sligo lost this game due to an inability to avail of scoring opportunities when they presented themselves. Ah its a shame though.

I hope that the squad give the qualifiers a good lash and sure who knows what might happen?

Seanie, Costello upped his game big time in the second half and his kick pass into Coen was class. However, he is without question overweight and is not doing himself justice by remaining that way.

Great displays all around the park but Mcnamara would drive a man insane watching him. He simply cannot/won't defend and in fact (although this is probably just his demeanour) he doesn't look interested.

Barney that was an unwarranted swipe at Sligonian and judging by that post, it's you that only sees what you want to see.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 29, 2009, 10:17:25 AM
Quote from: baoithe on June 29, 2009, 09:04:27 AM
Feck it. That was an opportunity lost but there are positives to take from it. Whether its class or experience Sligo lost this game due to an inability to avail of scoring opportunities when they presented themselves. Ah its a shame though.

I hope that the squad give the qualifiers a good lash and sure who knows what might happen?

Seanie, Costello upped his game big time in the second half and his kick pass into Coen was class. However, he is without question overweight and is not doing himself justice by remaining that way.

Great displays all around the park but Mcnamara would drive a man insane watching him. He simply cannot/won't defend and in fact (although this is probably just his demeanour) he doesn't look interested.

Barney that was an unwarranted swipe at Sligonian and judging by that post, it's you that only sees what you want to see.

I watched the RTE feed but listened to oceanfm for commentary, Barnes said he rang T Brehoney several times early during his tenure to play McNamara as a back. Thanks Barnes :(. It is quite shocking to me McNamaras consistency in not marking his man, and not defending which is pointed out here after every game but yet 4 greats on our line cant see it. How?

Thanks Boaithe, but sure im used to it at this stage, usually that or they read my post with 20 positives and 1 neg, and rein in on the neg, they do there best to twist my words all the time aswell which means several posts from trying to clear it up after.

On yday there are more positives than negatives, but we learned alot more from 1 game than the whole league. Im already thinking of next yr. We need to sort out CHB, CHF and FF, any ideas lads? Would Donnacha Gallagher be worth a shot, got 5 from play for juniors...any big physical forwards in clubs? Jees if we had a Eoin Liston at FF with Coen and Kelly either side we'd be in business.

On Costello is it possible for him to lose weight, some people cant, like if hes trained hard all yr, and ate the right stuff, what more can he do?

Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:24:34 AM
QuoteI watched the RTE feed but listened to oceanfm for commentary, Barnes said he rang T Brehoney several times early during his tenure to play McNamara as a back. Thanks Barnes . It is quite shocking to me McNamaras consistency in not marking his man, and not defending which is pointed out here after every game but yet 4 greats on our line cant see it. How?

Thanks Boaithe, but sure im used to it at this stage, usually that or they read my post with 20 positives and 1 neg, and rein in on the neg, they do there best to twist my words all the time aswell which means several posts from trying to clear it up after.

Was this the guy that should have been marking Armstrong for the goal? Bizarre to leave him all alone in beside the goal when ye were just losing by 1 point.If a back was there, he could have won that ball into Armstrong and ye could still have had tome to get an equaliser (I know that Joyce might not have kicked the ball into him if there was a back there, but you get my point)

QuoteOn Costello is it possible for him to lose weight, some people cant, like if hes trained hard all yr, and ate the right stuff, what more can he do?

Read an interview with Niall Sheridan, the big Longford full forward a few years ago. He was saying that trainers spent years trying to get him lose weight but he couldnt do it. They even put him on the atkins diet! But he couldnt do it because he didnt have enough energy to do the training. Costello looks a lot more overweight out on the football pitch than he does when he's not on the pitch
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 29, 2009, 10:28:58 AM
Quote from: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:24:34 AM
QuoteI watched the RTE feed but listened to oceanfm for commentary, Barnes said he rang T Brehoney several times early during his tenure to play McNamara as a back. Thanks Barnes . It is quite shocking to me McNamaras consistency in not marking his man, and not defending which is pointed out here after every game but yet 4 greats on our line cant see it. How?

Was this the guy that should have been marking Armstrong for the goal? Bizarre to leave him all alone in beside the goal when ye were just losing by 1 point.If a back was there, he could have won that ball into Armstrong and ye could still have had tome to get an equaliser (I know that Joyce might not have kicked the ball into him if there was a back there, but you get my point)

QuoteOn Costello is it possible for him to lose weight, some people cant, like if hes trained hard all yr, and ate the right stuff, what more can he do?

Read an interview with Niall Sheridan, the big Longford full forward a few years ago. He was saying that trainers spent years trying to get him lose weight but he couldnt do it. They even put him on the atkins diet! But he couldnt do it because he didnt have enough energy to do the training. Costello looks a lot more overweight out on the football pitch than he does when he's not on the pitch

Ewing picked up Armstrong. You wont really see McNamara like unless at the game, doesnt come across on tv, him not marking.

Point taken on Sheridan, jees he gave a few FB from us a torrid time over the yrs even still.
Post by: Mano on June 29, 2009, 10:30:00 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 28, 2009, 05:45:43 PM
Main negs were costello and Marren good League footballers and no more, pace way to intense for them, Id agree. The austin o malleys of Sligo. Listen we all remember marren in 07 against ros, and costello wasnt good today, hoofing the whole time, a few decent patches of play but overall wasted loads. He played well with his back to goal for Coolera  last yr in FF Line, with his strength I might put him FF, not fit enough for HF line. Chancy I know :-\.

Ewing was poor, McGovern way better. So in most peoples opinion McGovern in for Ewing, Coen in for Marren and Id have Davey or Guaghan on for Sweeney The next day. Still not liking mcnamara at allm never got near his man.

Some lads said to me EOH went over to the bench to get moved to a more defensive position, not sure myself he went CHB, just thought he dropped deeper.

O'Hara came to sideline after Ewing sending off to see how Walshe was re-organinsing things and went in centre-back.
Harrison went off injured at half time with a shoulder injury.

An opportunity lost to qualify for a Connaught final. Galway goaway with a terrible performance and we weren't able to capatilise.

A lot of good performances from our lads especially at midfield but there were also some passengers. Full forward line in the first half was non-existant. Starting O'Hara ar full forward was good idea as he seemed to have the beating of Hanley when he got the ball however there was very little coming in as Galway harassed and harried out the field. Kelly and Marrens movement in the the first half was non-existant-they just stood there beside their taller markers making it very difficult for players to pick them out with a pass. Costello made some runs but very often was beaten to the ball. I too was calling for Sweeney to be brought in but not for Davey (Marren had no impact up to that).

Mullen and Taylor supplemented by O'hara were very good in midfield and any clean possession won was cliamed by those 3. Galway have serious problems in this area and i cannot understand why Bergin doesn't play in midfield as Conroy is a more natural forward.

Sweeney was not fit and went for glory on 2 occasions (when scores were level) would have been better to pass to a better positioned teammate. Goal chance also should have been put away if he had dummied the keeper and finsihed with his left similar to Armstrongs finish. Galway seemed to be more clinical and composed in the forward line and that was what proved to be the difference.

Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:38:18 AM
QuoteEwing picked up Armstrong. You wont really see McNamara like unless at the game, doesnt come across on tv, him not marking.

Yes, this is the problem when watching on TV. It is hard to know who exactly is marking who. So Where was Ewing when Armstrong scored the goal? That is most definitely a question I would be asking if I was Kevin Walsh.

QuoteGalway have serious problems in this area and i cannot understand why Bergin doesn't play in midfield as Conroy is a more natural forward.

There are a lot of people in Galway who think Bergin has played his best football for Galway at wing forward. Many of his bad days have been at midfield. On the other hand, Conroy has pretty much always been a midfielder at underage level
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 29, 2009, 10:42:03 AM
Quote from: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:38:18 AM
QuoteEwing picked up Armstrong. You wont really see McNamara like unless at the game, doesnt come across on tv, him not marking.

Yes, this is the problem when watching on TV. It is hard to know who exactly is marking who. So Where was Ewing when Armstrong scored the goal? That is most definitely a question I would be asking if I was Kevin Walsh.

QuoteGalway have serious problems in this area and i cannot understand why Bergin doesn't play in midfield as Conroy is a more natural forward.

There are a lot of people in Galway who think Bergin has played his best football for Galway at wing forward. Many of his bad days have been at midfield. On the other hand, Conroy has pretty much always been a midfielder at underage level

Ewing was sent off at that stage(probably in the dressing room ;)), dont know who picked up armstrong after that to be honest.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 29, 2009, 10:43:27 AM
First 20 minutes were a shambles and we were lucky to not be completely out of the game. Defence was all over the place and when we did have the ball the gameplan seemed a bit strange to me. Marren and Kelly never really showed, even when they had acres of space to run into. It looked like it was a deliberate tactic. Eventually Kelly started showing but Marren was obviously hampered and never got into the game. I had heard the evening before that he was having an injection to play and we just didn't get the Adrian Marren we have been used to. When we settled down and got into our rhythm we played some good stuff but crucially never took the lead. I'd agree with the previous poster who said McNamara looked a little disinterested. It came as no surprise to me that Galway looked to Bergin when the chips were down at the end.

Obviously there is more in Costello but you couldn't fault his work rate and attitude. Took a couple of wrong options a few times and looked a little nervous, unusual for him. Second half though he provided a few bits of quality and the move that lead to a free (he missed a goal chance that wouldn't have counted) was started by him working back to nick a ball in midfield. I know he has trained very hard and is in very good shape. He looks very heavy but that's just his shape. He is our best option at centre forward. It must be remembered that Blake is a damn good player and Galway had their homework done. All things considered I don't think he did badly.

I don't want to criticise the management too much as they did act quickly to get Davey off (never should have started anyway) and made good switches throughout but all that good work was undone by Sweeney.

As usual the day after Sligo lose, the qualifiers hold no interest for me. By the time of the draw I'll have drummed up a bit of enthusiasm. All in all a huge disappointment. not often we have Galway on their knees like that and we never came up with the killer blow.
Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:45:20 AM
QuoteEwing was sent off at that stage(probably in the dressing room ), dont know who picked up armstrong after that to be honest.

Oh yeah, thats right. Would be curious to know who was supposed to be marking him at that time
Post by: Mano on June 29, 2009, 10:55:01 AM
Quote from: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 10:45:20 AM
QuoteEwing was sent off at that stage(probably in the dressing room ), dont know who picked up armstrong after that to be honest.

Oh yeah, thats right. Would be curious to know who was supposed to be marking him at that time

I think it may have been McGovern however he made himself available to J Davey when he was been tackled on the sideline and was caught out of position when the pass was intercepted by Joyce. Not his fault - we had to get the ball upfield quickly into a scoring position.
Post by: kevmy on June 29, 2009, 11:54:58 AM
Galway obviously have no idea who to play at midfield. And I think they still don't after yesterday. True enough Colemann and Cullinane will probably start the next day but Sammonn seems to have no faith in them and who can blame him - I've never seen either of them play a good 50 mins never mind 70. Sligo who midfield all day even when Galway were on top near the start - they just gave away the ball awfully easily after winning it.

Mayo should win midfield and with O'Sé inside we should do damage - he got 1-1 off Hanley in the league who is a good FB and if he's injured for the final Galway are in serious trouble. I'd prefer to see McGarrity and Parsons the next day - Parsons mobility would give awful trouble to a lumbering midfielder like Cullinane.

Guys are talking Galway up and Mayo down cos they want us to be underdogs and fair enough but we ran them to a point last year after getting destroyed in the first half in defence. We have definitely improved but Galway still have the same problems - no midfield, too reliant on Joyce, Meehan and Armstrong. All things being equal we have a very good chance of taking them. If it was in Castlebar I'd be very confident but it's in that hole Pearse so I'm tempering my optimism.

A word on Sligo. I think they needed that game against a Div 1 side to figure out a few things and now will be a danger in the qualifiers. They would be unlucky to pull a team the couldn't defeat (only the winners of Armagh/Monaghan would cause them sleepless nights) and if they get a run going who knows?
Post by: Main Street on June 29, 2009, 12:09:28 PM
Sligo need fear no one left in the qualifiers for the 2nd round draw.
I enjoyed that game and Sligo's attitude.

Post by: myball22 on June 29, 2009, 01:03:33 PM
So at least we know where Galway are now, no further on than last year and probably worse off!!!

Our midfield is still a disaster area and half forward line are disaster areas fofr us. I would exempt Conroy and Joyce here. They did a lot of work and it's expecting a lot for a 19/20 year old to be our main midfielder at this stage. We still keep coming back to the same guys, Barry Cullinane and Niall Coleman who aren't the answer but who is?
At least we tried to vary some of the kickouts but some ended out over the sideline. It's really hard to know what to do here. Tyrone have recycled some forwards here in midfield in recent years with some success -Enda McGinley, Ryan Mellon. Maybe we need to put guys here but have talents but are not ball winners and look to break everything in midfield. Bradshaw may be worth a punt here or Kieran Fitz??

Our half forward line is another disaster area, Joyce excluded. Bane is infuriating, offers nothing in general play but can score if given opportunities. Coleman, Matthew Clancy are same as ever, good but not good enough.
And how did Coyne stay on for 70 mins? He was being cleaned and looks short of confidence.
Unless we shape up soon, we'll lose to Mayo fairly comfortably and be cannon fodder for some team full of confidence after a run in the qualifiers!!!

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2009, 01:19:14 PM
Quote from: myball22 on June 29, 2009, 01:03:33 PM
And how did Coyne stay on for 70 mins? He was being cleaned and looks short of confidence.

In fairness to Coyne he's not a corner-back but Sammon seems to love him there. He plays nearly all his football for Carna-Caiseal up in the forwards. Time to give Kieran Fitz that spot I think. At least he's a natural defender.
Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 01:26:18 PM
QuoteIn fairness to Coyne he's not a corner-back but Sammon seems to love him there. He plays nearly all his football for Carna-Caiseal up in the forwards. Time to give Kieran Fitz that spot I think. At least he's a natural defender.

Bit harsh n Coyne, He has some fine games at bith corner back & wing back for Galway. yesterday wasnt great but he kept battling hard right to the end. I think he is a better option at corner back than anybody else at the moment.

QuoteAt least we tried to vary some of the kickouts but some ended out over the sideline. It's really hard to know what to do here. Tyrone have recycled some forwards here in midfield in recent years with some success -Enda McGinley, Ryan Mellon. Maybe we need to put guys here but have talents but are not ball winners and look to break everything in midfield. Bradshaw may be worth a punt here or Kieran Fitz??

Those Tyrone players were big enough to play midfield. Galways are not. I thought trying Kieran Fitz there would be worth a look during the league, maybe a bit lightweight too though and a connacht final v Mayo is not where you want to be trying something like that

Bradshaw did ok yesterday but MOTM on the Sunday Game? I thought Armstrong weas far and away the best player on view yesterday.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 01:38:27 PM
Lads you don't have to be 6' 4 to play midfield, Seamus Moynihan played for Kerry at midfield on more than one occasion and he'd be about 5'10 I think. Anyway if you have big men who lack the necessary quality or smaller men who have the quality then you play at least one smaller man at midfield IMO. Develop tactical kickouts and ensure your 'small' midfielder is using his mobility to cause problems on the ground. Galway don't need two big men at midfield as they'll probably have Conroy and Bergin on the park too so one big man is enough, I'd give Bradshaw a run at midfield bring in Fitz at corner back and move Coyne to wing back. By the way I thought playing Meehan at wing back was a very poor decision by the management, as great a player as he once was I wouldn't even have him on the panel.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 29, 2009, 01:48:17 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 01:38:27 PMBy the way I thought playing Meehan at wing back was a very poor decision by the management, as great a player as he once was I wouldn't even have him on the panel.

Deccie is well past his sell by date alright. Great wing-back in his day but just doesn't have the legs to make those lung-bursting runs forward he used to. He just gets bottled up now. Gary Sice was a lot more effective when he replaced him.
Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 01:53:06 PM
QuoteLads you don't have to be 6' 4 to play midfield, Seamus Moynihan played for Kerry at midfield on more than one occasion and he'd be about 5'10 I think. Anyway if you have big men who lack the necessary quality or smaller men who have the quality then you play at least one smaller man at midfield IMO. Develop tactical kickouts and ensure your 'small' midfielder is using his mobility to cause problems on the ground. Galway don't need two big men at midfield as they'll probably have Conroy and Bergin on the park too so one big man is enough, I'd give Bradshaw a run at midfield bring in Fitz at corner back and move Coyne to wing back. By the way I thought playing Meehan at wing back was a very poor decision by the management, as great a player as he once was I wouldn't even have him on the panel.

Well this is the point that a lot of people are making. Why havent we seen "tactical kickouts" being developed all throughout the year? It has been well known since the start of the year that Galway will struggle at midfield. Why then, do they spend almost the entire match lumping kickouts down on top of them? When they were winning so few of them, Why not change? I cannot see them developing "tactical kickouts" now if they havent done it all year or didnt do it more against Sligo. Also, If Bradshaw was midfield against mayo, he would end up against a man who is much bigger than him. All Mayo would have to do is target him for their kickouts and they have midfield won. So I do think you need two reasonably big men there. Or at least big enough to compete.

I think Faherty varied his kickout just twice in the match. One went over the sideline, the other led to Bergins point at the end. But why not do it more?

I agree somewhat about Meehan. I think he's still good enough to be on the panel but would keep him as a sub instead.
Post by: kevmy on June 29, 2009, 02:11:02 PM
I don't think small men always lose the ball. All the have to do is prevent bigger men from winning clean ball. Shane Ryan is a good example of this, doesn't win much clean ball but his man doesn't either. He then looks to win 2nd ball and use his mobility to drag his man around the place (well he did up until recently). Tommy Griffin rode shotgun to Darragh for a long time with Kerry and he's not massive. Sure Jaysus Darragh himself is only 6 foot.

It can be worked by small men but not by stupid players or big hard oafs.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 02:19:04 PM
QuoteAll Mayo would have to do is target him for their kickouts and they have midfield won.

Don't think it is that straight forward in fairness, I mean you could just drop Bergin back into the middle for kick outs and as kevmy says you don't have to be as big as your man to outfield him or break the ball. The point is you need to address things that aren't working by doing something different, it may not work either but at least you tried. I also think many county teams don't use tactical kicking in the league because it shows your hand for championship so I'm sure Galway are working on a few things that you may see against Mayo.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 29, 2009, 02:21:00 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 02:19:04 PM
QuoteAll Mayo would have to do is target him for their kickouts and they have midfield won.

Don't think it is that straight forward in fairness, I mean you could just drop Bergin back into the middle for kick outs and as kevmy says you don't have to be as big as your man to outfield him or break the ball. The point is you need to address things that aren't working by doing something different, it may not work either but at least you tried. I also think many county teams don't use tactical kicking in the league because it shows your hand for championship so I'm sure Galway are working on a few things that you may see against Mayo.

I got the feeling that they didn't try hitting Bergin until the sh1t was really hitting the fan and they then did it twice in a row near the end. The winning score came off it I think.
Post by: mckieran on June 29, 2009, 04:40:56 PM
QuoteDon't think it is that straight forward in fairness, I mean you could just drop Bergin back into the middle for kick outs and as kevmy says you don't have to be as big as your man to outfield him or break the ball.

Ok, you drop Bergin back to the middle. Where does the Mayo guy hes marking go? Hes hardly going to follow him! All Mayo would have to do is put one midfielder one side of the field and the other on the other side of the field.

I see your point about you not always having to be bigger than your opponent. But if I saw a kickout hurtling towards McGarrity & Bradshaw, I would most definitely fancy McGarrity to win it.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 07:05:50 PM
QuoteOk, you drop Bergin back to the middle. Where does the Mayo guy hes marking go?

Well he probaly would go with him but even if he didn't you could drop your corner forward back and get your full forward to split the full and corner back. Just look at how well Tyrone do without a big midfield, if you have two good big men then by all means play them but if you don't then you need to come up with something different.