GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: moysider on May 20, 2009, 12:48:41 PM

Title: Top Scorer
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2009, 12:48:41 PM
Any ideas who will finish up top scorer in the championship 09? Think it was John Doyle last year. Michael Meehan looks one of the more likely ones.  Meehan plays London this weekend and should score heavily. You would expect Galway to have at least 4 games this Summer.
Title: Re: Top Scorer
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 20, 2009, 01:39:48 PM
Yeah Meehan must be favourite, dont think theres another stand out candidate in Connaught though.

Speaking from a northern perspective, Paddy Bradley and Tommy Freeman would be his nearest Ulster rivals. You wouldnt expect many games from Down, Cavan or Antrim. Fermanagh dont score much and Donegal dont seem to have a consistent candidate, maybe McFadden or Murphy but I dont think they will be up there with Bradley or Freeman. Armagh free takers dont score that much from play and Tyrone can score heavily but with a good spread of scores, though a fully fit O'Neill would definitely be in contention. That leaves Derry and Monaghan who have clear leading scorers in the Bradleys, Freeman and Finlay, with Tommy and Paddy out in front.

From the rest of the country Cork seem to have a good spread of scorers as do Kerry but you would have to fancy the Gooch to be up there, maybe one of Donnacha O'Connor or Daniel Goulding. Harder to predict how Leinster teams will do, being a more competitive province than Munster or Connaught, but think John Doyle is definitely in contention. I dont think Wexford will do as well this year so not including Mattie Forder.

So heres my list of contenders, im sure its missing someone!

Meehan
Paddy Bradley
Freeman
O'Neill
Gooch
O'Connor/Goulding
John Doyle

Had a look at the odds on Ladbrokes, Eoin Bradley at 50/1 is good value IMO. He was Derrys best forward in the league, think he just scored a couple less than Paddy. Also think he is due to have a big championship as the signs are he has really come on under Cassidy. Colm McCullagh and Mark Vaughan are also available at 50/1
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 01:47:34 PM
Funny I just pm'd SidelineKick and corn02 about this very thing this morning as I am looking to have a couple bets on this... Also the player of the year betting which can be very heavily influenced by high scoring...

Meehan has to be in with a shout big time and if Derry are going to go as far as they would like then Paddy Bradley should be up there, maybe even Eoin too??
Post by: highorlow on May 20, 2009, 01:49:28 PM
Is Meehan not injured?
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 20, 2009, 02:02:34 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 01:47:34 PM
Funny I just pm'd SidelineKick and corn02 about this very thing this morning as I am looking to have a couple bets on this... Also the player of the year betting which can be very heavily influenced by high scoring...

Meehan has to be in with a shout big time and if Derry are going to go as far as they would like then Paddy Bradley should be up there, maybe even Eoin too??

What counts against Eoin is that he doesnt take the frees. Paddy B from the right and Barry McGoldrick/Mark Lynch from the left. Even if Paddy goes off James Kielt may be elected to take them from the right.

However he scored 18 in the league and I think he will improve more than most of the other contenders with summer football. Also he is probably Derrys top goal scorer at present, though we have been short on green flags.

Its not likely but 50/1 is very good value IF you have Derry down to have a good championship
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 02:05:27 PM
Quote from: highorlow on May 20, 2009, 01:49:28 PM
Is Meehan not injured?

Where did ya hear this?? If he is then this will seriously influence my bets
Post by: ildanach on May 20, 2009, 02:15:28 PM
the gooch is normally a good bet
Post by: mountainboii on May 20, 2009, 04:29:42 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on May 20, 2009, 01:39:48 PM
Armagh free takers dont score that much from play

:o

Steven McDonnell?

I expect him to have a very good year in what could be his last. Though, I don't think we'll get far enough to allow him to get close to top scorer  :(
Post by: D4S on May 20, 2009, 04:51:03 PM
What about the guy Carson with the terrible nickname.....Blobby?  He scored 0-6 on Sunday for fermanagh!
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 20, 2009, 05:37:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 20, 2009, 04:29:42 PM

Steven McDonnell?

I expect him to have a very good year in what could be his last. Though, I don't think we'll get far enough to allow him to get close to top scorer  :(

Sorry lad, just assumed the Kernans were taking frees for armagh who dont score much from play. TBH havent been following who's been scoring for armagh all that closely this league but for some reason had it in my head that mcdonnell wasnt playing up to his usual and seem to remember some folks giving out about his free taking, but could be dead wrong there.

In fairness, I would have mcdonnell in there but for the fact that I think himself and armagh might be in slight decline.

Then again, armagh seem to have been getting pegged as in decline for years now!
Post by: mountainboii on May 20, 2009, 05:54:10 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on May 20, 2009, 05:37:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 20, 2009, 04:29:42 PM

Steven McDonnell?

Sorry lad, just assumed the Kernans were taking frees for armagh who dont score much from play. TBH havent been following who's been scoring for armagh all that closely this league but for some reason had it in my head that mcdonnell wasnt playing up to his usual and seem to remember some folks giving out about his free taking, but could be dead wrong there.

In fairness, I would have mcdonnell in there but for the fact that I think himself and armagh might be in slight decline.

Then again, armagh seem to have been getting pegged as in decline for years now!

He seems to have been showing patches of top form again recently, and I think his free taking is more consistent now. I've no doubt he'll finish as Armagh's top scorer this year but sure we might only get 2 or 3 games. Maybe if we got a couple of handy draws in the qualifiers and Stevie knocked in a few goals you never know, but I wouldn't be rushing out to put any money on it  :-\
Post by: tyssam5 on May 20, 2009, 07:22:40 PM
Has anyone a list of winners from past years?
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 20, 2009, 07:33:18 PM
Or prices for this year? Nothing on boyles or pp. Think Meehan might be worth a few quid alright
Post by: 118cmal on May 20, 2009, 07:35:11 PM
There's prices on Ladbrokes, but I can't access them where I am at the min.  Can anyone post them?

Think Meehan and gooch are favs at around 8s
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 07:41:38 PM
Bet365:

C Cooper (Kerry)    7/1
Paddy Bradley (Derry)    8/1
D Goulding (Cork)    8/1
M Meehan (Galway)    8/1
S O'Neill (Tyrone)    9/1
J Doyle (Kildare)    10/1
C Mortimer (Mayo)    12/1
A Brogan (Dublin)    20/1
M Forde (Wexford)    20/1
S McDonnell (Armagh)    20/1
C Ward (Meath)    20/1
S Cavanagh (Tyrone)    20/1
T Freeman (Monaghan)    25/1
MJ Tierney (Laois)    25/1
C McCullagh (Tyrone)    33/1
C Keaney (Dublin)    33/1
D Dolan (Westmeath)    33/1
M Doherty (Donegal)    33/1
P Joyce (Galway)    33/1
N McNamee (Offaly)    33/1
R Carson (Fermanagh)    33/1
I Ryan (Limerick)    40/1
C McFadden (Donegal)    40/1
C Lyng (Wexford)    40/1
S Bray (Meath)    40/1
A Marren (Sligo)    50/1
A Carr (Down)    50/1
B Coulter (Down)    50/1
S Johnston (Cavan)    50/1
Denis Glennon (Westmeath)    80/1
B Kavanagh (Longford)    100/1
P Earls (Wicklow)    100/1

Boylesports:

Meehan, Micheal    6/1
O'Neill, Stephen    7/1
Cooper, Colm    8/1
Mortimer, Conor    10/1
Goulding, Daniel    10/1
Bradley, Paddy    12/1
O'Connor, Donnacha    12/1
Doyle, John    12/1
Cavanagh, Sean    16/1
Mcdonnell, Steven    25/1
Ward, Cian    25/1
Carr, Aidan    33/1
Mcfadden, Colm    33/1
Freeman, Tommy    33/1
Sheehan, Bryan    33/1
Ryan, Ian    33/1
Brogan, Alan    33/1
Vaughan, Mark    33/1
Tierney, Mj    33/1
Mcnamee, Niall    33/1
Forde, Matt    33/1
Dolan, Dessie    33/1
Clarke, Ronan    50/1
Coulter, Benny    50/1
Finlay, Paul    50/1
Johnston, Sean    66/1
Breheny, Mark    66/1
Heneghan, Ger    66/1
Post by: Schkite on May 20, 2009, 07:43:09 PM
Ladbrokes:

Colm Cooper   8.00
Michael Meehan   8.00
Paddy Bradley   9.00
Daniel Goulding   11.00
John Doyle           11.00
Stephen O'Neill   11.00
Tomas Freeman   13.00
Conor Mortimer   15.00
Donnacha O'Connor  15.00
MJ Tierney           17.00
Mattie Forde   17.00
Steven McDonnell  17.00
Barry Grogan   21.00
Cian Ward           21.00
Sean Cavanagh   21.00
Brian Sheehan   26.00
Conal Keaney   26.00
Seanie Johnston   26.00
Colm McFadden   29.00
Ian Ryan           29.00
Benny Coulter   34.00
Paddy Cunningham 34.00
Ronan Clarke   34.00
Bernard Brogan   41.00
Ciaran Lyng           41.00
Niall McNamee   41.00
Paul Finlay           41.00
Colm McCullagh   51.00
Eoin Bradley   51.00
Mark Vaughan   51.00
Stephen Kernan   51.00
Padraig Joyce   67.00
Stephen Griffin   67.00
James Kielt           81.00
Nicky Joyce           81.00
Tomas Quinn   81.00
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 07:47:49 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on May 20, 2009, 07:22:40 PM
Has anyone a list of winners from past years?

Last year:

John Doyle Kildare 2-26 (32)
Colm Cooper Kerry 2-25 (31)
Sean Cavanagh Tyrone 2-24 (30)

2007:

James Masters 3-30 (39)
Tom Freeman Monaghan 3-23 (32)
Mark Vaughan Dublin 1-28 (31)

2006:

Conor Mortimer     Mayo 1-32  (35)
J Masters    Cork    1-29    (32)
Mattie Forde Wexford    1-25    (28)

2005:

Stephen O'Neill  Tyrone  5-49  (64)
Paddy Bradley Derry 2-29 (35)
Colm Cooper Kerry 4-22 (34)

2004:

Mattie Forde  Wexford  3-38  (47)
Conor Mortimer Mayo 1-42 (45)
Paddy Bradley Derry 2-38 (44)

Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 07:53:11 PM
Any word on Meehan for the weekend?? A start against London would be great to get off the mark for him...

I am owed money for my spectacular win over corn02 and SidelineKick in the spreads so could invest in him... All places are going top three each way so could go that way, still get 2/1 for the place...
Post by: Schkite on May 20, 2009, 07:55:55 PM
And here's Boylesports odds:

Meehan, Micheal    6/1
O'Neill, Stephen    7/1
Cooper, Colm    8/1
Mortimer, Conor    10/1
Goulding, Daniel    10/1
Bradley, Paddy    12/1
O'Connor, Donn   12/1
Doyle, John    12/1
Cavanagh, Sean    16/1
Mcdonnell, Steven25/1
Ward, Cian            25/1
Carr, Aidan            33/1
Mcfadden, Colm    33/1
Freeman, Tommy 33/1
Sheehan, Bryan    33/1
Ryan, Ian            33/1
Brogan, Alan    33/1
Vaughan, Mark    33/1
Tierney, Mj            33/1
Mcnamee, Niall    33/1
Forde, Matt    33/1
Dolan, Dessie    33/1
Clarke, Ronan    50/1
Coulter, Benny    50/1
Finlay, Paul            50/1
Johnston, Sean    66/1
Breheny, Mark    66/1
Heneghan, Ger    66/1

Maybe it's just my Monaghan bias but Tommy Freeman at 33-1 looks quite good to me! He was only 7 points off the top in 2007 and we only got to a quarter final, if we had a bit of a run he could rack up a bit.
Post by: Rav67 on May 20, 2009, 08:07:14 PM
Freeman 33/1  :o 
There's a lot of value in that bet
Post by: pearseog on May 20, 2009, 08:28:07 PM
if armagh have a good run in the qualifiers ronan clarke at 50/1 is amazing value
Post by: mountainboii on May 20, 2009, 08:33:39 PM
Quote from: pearseog on May 20, 2009, 08:28:07 PM
if armagh have a good run in the qualifiers ronan clarke at 50/1 is amazing value

Nah don't think so, he doesn't take frees. Look back through the top 3 players for the last few years and every single one of them was a free taker.
Post by: Caid on May 20, 2009, 08:56:39 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on May 20, 2009, 08:07:14 PM
Freeman 33/1  :o 
There's a lot of value in that bet

That has to be the bet.  He's only 12-1 on Ladbrokes!
Post by: tyssam5 on May 20, 2009, 09:03:30 PM
For the years were the scores were posted, it is strange that in the 3 years Kerry won it they didn't have a player featured in the top 3, but in 2005, 2008 Cooper made the top 3. Does this suggest a greater range of score-takers is the key to them being successful?

(aside obviously from not meeting Tyrone  ;))
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2009, 09:13:42 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 20, 2009, 07:55:55 PM
And here's Boylesports odds:

Meehan, Micheal    6/1
O'Neill, Stephen    7/1
Cooper, Colm    8/1
Mortimer, Conor    10/1
Goulding, Daniel    10/1
Bradley, Paddy    12/1
O'Connor, Donn   12/1
Doyle, John    12/1
Cavanagh, Sean    16/1
Mcdonnell, Steven25/1
Ward, Cian            25/1
Carr, Aidan            33/1
Mcfadden, Colm    33/1
Freeman, Tommy 33/1
Sheehan, Bryan    33/1
Ryan, Ian            33/1
Brogan, Alan    33/1
Vaughan, Mark    33/1
Tierney, Mj            33/1
Mcnamee, Niall    33/1
Forde, Matt    33/1
Dolan, Dessie    33/1
Clarke, Ronan    50/1
Coulter, Benny    50/1
Finlay, Paul            50/1
Johnston, Sean    66/1
Breheny, Mark    66/1
Heneghan, Ger    66/1

Maybe it's just my Monaghan bias but Tommy Freeman at 33-1 looks quite good to me! He was only 7 points off the top in 2007 and we only got to a quarter final, if we had a bit of a run he could rack up a bit.

Just lobbed £5000 on McCullagh
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2009, 10:39:09 PM
I had Mortimor at 10/1 in 2004 thinking he might score heavily in the first game and hoping for a run after that. He scores something like 1-13 in New York and went into AI final only needing 3 points to finish top. He scored one - the scut. A Kerry friend of mine was into him for about 200 quid. He got some funny looks above. Roaring for Kerry and going nuts every time Mort got near the ball as welll. The point he got was a great goal chance and there was yer man effing and blinding when he put it over. Gas. Well ye had to be there I suppose.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2009, 10:52:17 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 20, 2009, 07:53:11 PM
Any word on Meehan for the weekend?? A start against London would be great to get off the mark for him...

I am owed money for my spectacular win over corn02 and SidelineKick in the spreads so could invest in him... All places are going top three each way so could go that way, still get 2/1 for the place...

As far as I know Meehan's fine. I think PJ has a slight knock though.
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2009, 11:03:15 PM
What about the prodigy Aidan O'Shea of Mayo? On 1-3 already.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 20, 2009, 11:25:43 PM
dont know about meehan, mayo always do a great job of keeping him quiet. After tyrone NFL game against dublin i was ready to put my house on Stephen O neill. If he can keep fit and tyrone take the back door then he is the man. But will he stay fit..... doubtful.
I genuinely believe mayo will reach last 4 at the very least so Conor Mort would stand out but will he play against Leitrim/ Roscommon. John Doyle a great bet, fancy Kildare to go far, Mcgeeney has them in some shape.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 20, 2009, 11:43:07 PM
No one think there might be a bit of value in cavanagh at 20-1? Third highest last year I think.
Post by: Schkite on May 20, 2009, 11:48:14 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 20, 2009, 11:43:07 PM
No one think there might be a bit of value in cavanagh at 20-1? Third highest last year I think.

Doubt he'll get near it again with O'Neill back and Mulligan fit.
Post by: Logan on May 20, 2009, 11:52:18 PM
I'd stick a few bob on Eoin Bradley this year as a dark horse
A goal a game last year which you can't often get
Playing better than Paddy to date also
Post by: moysider on May 21, 2009, 12:23:59 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 20, 2009, 11:25:43 PM
dont know about meehan, mayo always do a great job of keeping him quiet. After tyrone NFL game against dublin i was ready to put my house on Stephen O neill. If he can keep fit and tyrone take the back door then he is the man. But will he stay fit..... doubtful.
I genuinely believe mayo will reach last 4 at the very least so Conor Mort would stand out but will he play against Leitrim/ Roscommon. John Doyle a great bet, fancy Kildare to go far, Mcgeeney has them in some shape.

Christ, dont be tempting fate. We re not sure we ll be playing them at all yet. Only messing. I ve factored that in. He plays London, then Sligo. Sligo at home no daws but you d expect Galway to be mean about this after 2007. So you d expect them to reach the Connacht final where I would hope Mayo will be as well. Thing is we might do a reasonable holding job on him from play but he can nail 45s and loads of dead ball. And even from scraps he could bag 1- 2 from play besides no problem. What I m saying is even well held he could score 1-8.

Fact that Conor did nt play against NY gives him zero chance. Even in 2004 he only scored one goal (v New York). He s not a real goal threat. Surprised he s so mean odds now. Dillon and O Sé as likely maybe.
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 21, 2009, 01:07:21 AM
You'd think that whoever loses the Kerry/Cork clash could have a run of extra games through the qualifier route...I think they join the qualifiers in round two since their clash in early June is a provincial semi-final.

So Gooch or Goulding would be the choice following that logic.

A lot goes on the luck (or fix) of the qualifiers draw though.
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 21, 2009, 01:20:39 AM
Freeman at 33/1 is the best value bet ive seen on here. If Monaghan can make an all ireland semi or draw a weak team or 2 in the qualifiers he will have to be right up there.

Eoin Bradley at 50/1 isnt bad either but not as generous as the odds for Freeman who apparently has scored 5-18 in division 2 this year. He is a proven, consistent scorer who takes the frees and penaltys and plays for a consistent, solid, top 7/8 team.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 01:27:03 AM
mayo have a meaner defence this yr but see ur point about meehan, always has a few scores in the bracket no matter how bad he is playing. Still wouldnt be my bet, galway very flaky, nice footballers but missing a kevin walsh/dara o se. Until they get someone right to partner bergin (at full fitness) then they wont be doing anything special...

My top 4 bets:
John Doyle (kildare will get to quarter finals at the least)
Tommy Walsh ( will we see him take over the right footed frees for kerry with sheehan presumably losing his place, goal threat also and with donaghy out will be right in small square. I think cork gonna win munster with all kerrys injury probs and failure to get a no.3 in the league. Kerry will have a few extra games in the qualifiers)
Paddy Bradley (Derry could win ulster this year, i expect tyrone to go back door route)
Colin Cooper (will take more frees with sheehan gone)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 21, 2009, 12:12:44 PM
LoneShark goes for Meehan

http://betdiary.ie/kevinegan/2009/05/13/mm-the-sweet-selection/

Call it a team ethic thing, or perhaps it's simply the result of a culture where being too public is to put yourself in the firing line, but one thing we don't really do in Ireland is the cult of the MVP. Followers of American sports will know all too well of our transatlantic cousins' fondness for nominating one player to rule them all, the famed Most Valuable Player -  but in Ireland, that's not really our thing. We do hurler and footballer of the year certainly, but how many hurling fans out there, if picking an All Ireland XV, would have Eoin Larkin as the first name on their teamsheet? That's not meant as any disparagement towards the James Stephens forward who had a fantastic season in 2008, however not even his most fervent admirer would say that Larkin is likely to be remembered in the same revered way as Mullinahone's Eoin Kelly, or King Henry, or even Joe Canning.

In football, the title of Ireland's best player is even more contentious. Does one go for the unstoppable power of Kieran Donaghy, or the tireless work ethic and immaculate support and link play of Brian Dooher? Perhaps Mattie Forde's lethal scoring instinct or Seán Cavanagh's dynamism is what floats your boat, or even the utter dependability and impregnability of Graham Canty? Any one of these answers would be legitimate shouts for the accolade, as would four or five others, but as far as Off the Ground is concerned, if any one player could be persuaded to move to his native Ferbane and to don the green jersey of the west Offaly club, his first choice would be the magical citóg from Caltra, Michael Meehan.

Any great player steps up on the biggest stage and last season's display by Meehan against Kerry in Croke Park was one of the finest individual displays that this writer has ever witnessed. In the absence of any great scoring support from his team-mates, Meehan single-handedly took the fight to Kerry in a crucial challenge match and converted scores from all over the field. He was utterly unstoppable in a vital game against top class opposition and as a player, that's essentially ticking all the right boxes.

However Player of the Year, as we have covered above, is usually a sop to the All Ireland winners, so instead Off the Ground is going to endorse Meehan in another fashion - by backing him to be top scorer in the All Ireland Football Championship.

Despite the championship getting underway last weekend, this market has only just hit the streets and while it is a very open contest, Meehan looks to have a lot of cards in his favour. He opens his campaign with a nice turkey shoot against London, while another large tally is likely to be on the cards in the Connacht semi final against Sligo. From there on the fixtures will be competitive, but Galway look very well equipped to perform strongly this year and this writer likes their chances of playing at least five games this year.

Unquestionably other counties who hit the qualifiers early on will play more, but very few other counties have players who are guaranteed to score six or seven points per game in the same way that Meehan is. Allowing for a goal or two along the way and maybe a few extras against London, Meehan should take no more than four games to cross the thirty point barrier which is generally the line that players have to cross to get into the top four places in this market. Galway are all but guaranteed to play four games, so Michael Meehan at 7/1 is well worth a 2pt each way bet on the Top Scorer market for this year's football championship.

The bulk of the value is in the place part of the bet, but even at 7/1, it's a good way to get involved in Galway this year. Off the Ground has put it on the record several times already this season that he expects good things from the Tribesmen this year (in the BIG BALL code only folks!) and if that happens, it's a safe bet that Michael Meehan will be one player who'll be getting his name on the scoresheet with regularity. Get this bet into your antepost book and unless you happen to be a native of Tourmakeady or Tourlestrane, you'll be cheering on every one of them.
Post by: meathie on May 21, 2009, 12:27:22 PM
Goulding or Doyle. If Kildare get a good start they could be a force to be reckoned with in the championship, Doyle is one of the best when on form
Post by: The GAA on May 21, 2009, 12:31:28 PM

Does joyce not hit frees for galway any more?
Post by: dodo on May 21, 2009, 12:49:16 PM
Quote from: The GAA on May 21, 2009, 12:31:28 PM

Does joyce not hit frees for galway any more?

He only hits the bookies nowadays !  ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 21, 2009, 12:55:33 PM
You cant go each way on Bet365, boo!!! They have 8s on Meehan but are win only

Boyles have cut Meehan to 6/1

Ladbrokes still have 7/1
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2009, 01:26:28 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 01:27:03 AM
galway very flaky, nice footballers but missing a kevin walsh/dara o se. Until they get someone right to partner bergin (at full fitness) then they wont be doing anything special...

That one came straight out of the big book of footballing cliches anyway. ;D
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 10:43:06 PM
nope made that up myself! It is the truth though. Lacking someone around the middle 3rd.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2009, 10:56:42 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 10:43:06 PM
nope made that up myself! It is the truth though. Lacking someone around the middle 3rd.

I was thinking more the first part.
Post by: moysider on May 22, 2009, 12:42:02 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 21, 2009, 12:55:33 PM
You cant go each way on Bet365, boo!!! They have 8s on Meehan but are win only

Boyles have cut Meehan to 6/1

Ladbrokes still have 7/1

Grumble. Should have kept me mouth shut.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 22, 2009, 12:54:59 AM
Meehan wont be top scorer. He's gonna be a very marked man, could see teams adopting 2 men on him if possible. Nicky joyce is a good outside bet if you want to pick a Galway player. Hitting a bit of form and i think he hits the frees from the right (maybe conroy). would be a good bet for connacht anyway.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 26, 2009, 07:24:44 PM
See Boyles have cut MM down to 9/2 now after Sundays exploits... By the sounds of things it was a very laxadaisacal (sp?) display from Galway so I am not happy, he should have got some more...

I have also done savers on P Bradley, Freeman and Goulding...
Post by: dodo on June 28, 2009, 10:11:48 PM
Michael Meehen scored around 0-5 today against Sligo
Bernard Brogan scored something like 2-7 today vs Westmeath, his odds will drop considerably.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 29, 2009, 01:38:51 PM
Bet365 new odds:

D O'Connor (Cork)    7/2
B Brogan (Dublin)    5/1
J Doyle (Kildare)    7/1
S O'Neill (Tyrone)    10/1
Paddy Bradley (Derry)    10/1
C Cooper (Kerry)    12/1
M Meehan (Galway)    12/1
D Goulding (Cork)    14/1
B Sheehan (Kerry)    20/1
M Murphy (Donegal)    25/1
I Ryan (Limerick)    33/1
C Ward (Meath)    33/1
A Brogan (Dublin)    33/1
S McDonnell (Armagh)    33/1
P Cunningham (Antrim)    40/1
R Carson (Fermanagh)    40/1
C Mortimer (Mayo)    40/1
MJ Tierney (Laois)    40/1
C Keaney (Dublin)    40/1
A Carr (Down)    50/1
B Coulter (Down)    50/1
T Freeman (Monaghan)    50/1
S Cavanagh (Tyrone)    50/1
N McNamee (Offaly)    50/1
C Lyng (Wexford)    50/1
C McFadden (Donegal)    66/1
M Forde (Wexford)    100/1
Denis Glennon (Westmeath)    100/1
B Kavanagh (Longford)    100/1
P Earls (Wicklow)    100/1
S Johnston (Cavan)    100/1
A Marren (Sligo)    100/1
P Joyce (Galway)    100/1
D Dolan (Westmeath)    200/1

Johnny Doyle could be in the hunt again come the business end if Kildare keep this up...

My investments just middling: I have done Meehan, P Bradley, Freeman and Goulding
Post by: Doire abú on June 29, 2009, 02:21:48 PM
does the top scorer get any sort of award like they do in soccer?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 30, 2009, 02:41:36 PM
B Brogan               Dublin               2-8     14
A Smith              Kildare              3-4    13
J Doyle              Kildare              0-13    13
M Meehan              Galway              1-9    12
D O'Connor      Cork                    1-8    11
I Ryan              Limerick              1-8    11
S Armstrong      Galway              1-8    11
J Kavanagh      Kildare              2-4    10
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 06, 2009, 05:09:28 PM
New odds after the weekend:

D O'Connor (Cork)    11/4
B Brogan (Dublin)    11/2
J Doyle (Kildare)    7/1
D Goulding (Cork)    7/1
S O'Neill (Tyrone)    10/1
C Cooper (Kerry)    12/1
M Meehan (Galway)    12/1
M Murphy (Donegal)    16/1
B Sheehan (Kerry)    20/1
I Ryan (Limerick)    20/1
C Ward (Meath)    33/1
A Brogan (Dublin)    33/1
P Cunningham (Antrim)    40/1
C Mortimer (Mayo)    40/1
MJ Tierney (Laois)    40/1
C Keaney (Dublin)    40/1
A Carr (Down)    50/1
B Coulter (Down)    50/1
C Lyng (Wexford)    50/1

Goulding has halved in price after bagging 1-03 yesterday

Donncha O'Connor in too after his goal yesterday

My bets are half cooked with PB pulling out and Freeman still suspended.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 08, 2009, 12:50:34 PM
B Brogan Dublin 2-10
D O'Connor  Cork 2-9
A Smith Kildare 3-4
J Doyle Kildare 0-13
M Meehan  Galway 1-9
B Grogan  Tipperary 1-9
S Armstrong Galway 1-8
T Hannon  Wicklow 0-11
R Carson Fermanagh 0-11
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 11:54:04 AM
Paddy Bradley has fairly catapulted up the list after his exploits at the weekend...

Brogan continues his rich vein of form at the weekend...

B Brogan                Dublin        2-17  23
P Bradley               Derry       3-12    21
M Murphy               Donegal      0-18    18
B Grogan               Tipperary    1-15    18
T Hannon               Wicklow      0-16    16
D O'Connor       Cork            2-9    15
I Ryan               Limerick      1-12    15
A Smith               Kildare      3-6    15
J Doyle               Kildare      0-15    15
C Ward               Meath      0-14    14

Looks like PB my best hope of getting some money, I am willing to forefeit my other bet of Derry exiting in the qualifiers to get the other bet, then hopefully get Meehan up for a place... Hoping Mayo beat Galway so they get an extra game under their belt...
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2009, 12:40:05 PM
M Murphy     Donegal     0-28     28
T Hannon    Wicklow    1-22    25
D Shine    Roscommon    0-24    24
S Furlong    Wicklow    1-21    24
B Brogan    Dublin    2-17    23
P Bradley    Derry    3-14    23
M Meehan    Galway    2-17    23
A Smith    Kildare    4-8    20

New odds:

D O'Connor (Cork)    2/1
M Murphy (Donegal)    2/1
B Brogan (Dublin)    7/2
C Ward (Meath)    8/1
C Cooper (Kerry)    10/1
D Goulding (Cork)    12/1
S O'Neill (Tyrone)    16/1
J Doyle (Kildare)    16/1
C Mortimer (Mayo)    66/1
A Brogan (Dublin)    80/1

My bets beat, needed Galway to go on a run.

A good run in the qualifiers is crucial it seems, the likes of Murphy racking up high scores along the way.

Brogan was going good, all depends on whether you think they can scalp Kerry or not?
Post by: SidelineKick on July 28, 2009, 12:52:00 PM
f**k sake, I shouldn't have put your bet on Nail. Rippin now.
Post by: ross4life on July 28, 2009, 04:42:16 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2009, 12:40:05 PM
M Murphy     Donegal     0-28     28
T Hannon    Wicklow    1-22    25
D Shine    Roscommon    0-24    24
S Furlong    Wicklow    1-21    24
B Brogan    Dublin    2-17    23
P Bradley    Derry    3-14    23
M Meehan    Galway    2-17    23
A Smith    Kildare    4-8    20

New odds:

D O'Connor (Cork)    2/1
M Murphy (Donegal)    2/1
B Brogan (Dublin)    7/2
C Ward (Meath)    8/1
C Cooper (Kerry)    10/1
D Goulding (Cork)    12/1
S O'Neill (Tyrone)    16/1
J Doyle (Kildare)    16/1
C Mortimer (Mayo)    66/1
A Brogan (Dublin)    80/1

My bets beat, needed Galway to go on a run.

A good run in the qualifiers is crucial it seems, the likes of Murphy racking up high scores along the way.

Brogan was going good, all depends on whether you think they can scalp Kerry or not?

who would have said at the start of the year that D Shine would score more than M Meehan & P Bradley  :o
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 28, 2009, 05:43:37 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 28, 2009, 12:52:00 PM
f**k sake, I shouldn't have put your bet on Nail. Rippin now.

You would have done some sweating though all through the Galway matches, praying for an injury!
Post by: Nailed On on August 05, 2009, 06:07:32 PM
Latest standings after the weekend, Gooch coming with a late surge...

M Murphy     Donegal     0-34          34
C Cooper    Kerry          1-25            28
B Brogan    Dublin        2-20            26
J Doyle    Kildare          0-26            26
T Hannon    Wicklow    1-22            25
D Shine    Ros             0-24            24
S Furlong    Wicklow    1-21            24
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 05, 2009, 07:34:56 PM
Quote from: Nailed On on August 05, 2009, 06:07:32 PM

2 Wicklow men in the top 7, thats Championship football :D
Post by: stpauls on August 06, 2009, 11:06:47 AM
Quote from: Nailed On on August 05, 2009, 06:07:32 PM

looks like it is the Gooch's to lose!!
Post by: Nailed On on August 10, 2009, 12:46:37 PM
Latest odds:

C Cooper (Kerry)                     11/8
D O'Connor (Cork)                   5/2
C Ward (Meath)                       7/2
M Murphy (Donegal)                 5/1
Any Other Player (Any Team)    20/1

Standings:

M Murphy     Donegal     0-34     34
C Cooper      Kerry         1-25    28
C Ward      Meath         2-22    28
B Brogan    Dublin         2-20    26
J Doyle      Kildare         0-26    26
T Hannon    Wicklow      1-22    25
D Shine      Roscommon  0-24    24
S Furlong    Wicklow      1-21    24
P Bradley    Derry           3-14    23
M Meehan    Galway      2-17    23

Shocking odds for O'Connor given he's not in the top ten!